Serial Blasts in Mumbai

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Serial Blasts in Mumbai

I will not be surprised if ISI is watching this thread. I will not be surprised if some IM/LET members are a member. There was a person last week who was a clear paki sympathiser . And his IP was found to be from hyderabad. While it is possible that he spoofed his IP and may not be from HYd. I would request the admins to share the IP with police as he could have something to do with it. I know this sounds childish. But it is plausible. Worst case scenario- they harass an innocent paki sympathiser. I don't see anything wrong with that.

Unarmed people? Spying is not same a covert action.

What is being done in India is not by "unarmed" people.

You were making unsubstantiated claims about India's covert action capability -- something that would warm the cockles of Gilani's heart for sure and he can have 1000000 references to Baluchistan put in while they are bleeding us to death.
Easy Sanku. Not unarmed. Unamed.

WHAT RAW did to pakis in 1980s made them cry through their musharrafs . A pity we don't do such business anymore.

sanjeevpunj wrote:When will India start looking for a chance to hit back, there are so many lost opportunities. Seriously,inaction should not become the only policy in such times, as it leads to development of cold feet and so on,military loses its enthusiasm,people in general remain dis-satisfied, and nothing happens, and we wait for the next news headline.
It's funny how - one week after 9-11 Al Qaeda in Afghanistan had been blamed and the US took over the country, after bribing and threatening Pakistan. It's extra funny because Pakistan was the problem all along.

India on the other hand hums and haws and reaches a conclusion that Pakis were responsible after 3 months - by which time it's too late to garner the political support for action. But then again we don't find ourselves with our military in Sri Lanka or some third country. At least we are sure that it is Pakistan even if we do nothing about it.

shiv wrote: You see we are not going to be able to stop attacks on us covert attacks on them.
That is not entirely true. It depends on who is targetted in the covert attacks. If we target the aam abduls, nothing will change. If the RAPEs bleed, there will be an effect.
But this is mental masturbation anyway, since we do not have any covert action capability there. We are just doomed to die, few dozen at a time.

Rakesh wrote:uddu: You can blame the Kangress all you want and I will agree with you, to a point though. The opposition has not been effective either when they were in power. Where was the will to attack when the Indian Airlines airliner was highjacked in 1999 or when Parliament was attacked in 2001? What did we do then? Capitulate and surrender. Pakistan has got us by the balls (oh I am sorry...we don't have any) and they know it.
Accepted, Rakesh Accepted

KARGIL !

Rakesh Remember Kargil.

It was the BJP government.
Would a Congress government allowed IA to use artillery to throw out the Pakis. I doubt it.
Would a Congress government allowed IAF to bomb out the pukes. No chance

And what did the Congress do during the Kargil war ? SG was the leader of the opposition. And when all of us realised that this was not just a few jihadis, SG asks for the resignation of the PM and RM. Imagine. A war is on the nation and opposition leader asks for resignation of PM and RM. What do you expect such politicians to do for the nations.

Guys, just tuning in, but has MMS or any of his minions like PC made an official statement? Has DogSingh accused the RSS of this yet? Has Bakara told NDTV to shut up and not mention TSP yet?

Post by amdavadi »

tanaji,

Grew up in dadar too & have attended antonio de silva for few years. Kabootar khana is very busy area at times.
Last edited by amdavadi on 13 Jul 2011 22:26, edited 1 time in total.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2 ... hotos.html

graphic photographs of today's blast.. viewers beware...

We need Parsi Persia as our neighbor.
Vikram W

Post by Vikram W »

10 crore on Kasab's security.. What about people's? :(

Atri wrote:http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2 ... hotos.html

I feel there should be no such pictures on this thread.

suryag wrote:Shiv ji but cant a Covert ops strategy hitting RAPES help in getting us quid pro quo type concessions from the other side ? that way it will prevent future attacks right ?
Well I recall having had anguished rants in this forum after after every attack. My personal feeling is that we should hit Pakistan openly. No covert action.

I think we have discussed all possible reasons as to why India has not done that - from cowardice and dhoti shivering to cost to US pressure to Cathoilc ladies. I have come around to thinking that US pressure has played a big role. As I have stated in several times - the US has a make or break control over an Indian attack on Pakistan. Their Intel capabilities are exceptional and they can warn the Pakis about what is happening. And they can make life miserable for India. This is my opinion. Instead of blaming Catholic ladies and 25 crore non Indics - I am blaming USA. Each to his own I guess.

Watching what is happening on this thread jogged my memory with a wonderful quote by John F Kennedy
ask not what your country can do for you; ask what you can do for your country.
Have times changed that much to make this irrelevant?

rajanb wrote: Easy Sanku. Not unarmed. Unamed.
Nevertheless, I think we should not make any noise about a mythical covert capability, when its easy to see that we dont have any and flame the Paki propaganda of 100000000 RAW consulates.

Pakistan has its own share of so and so's bringing more purity in their country, no need to drag India into the matter and make it easy for Pakis.

Chandragupta wrote:

I feel there should be no such pictures on this thread.
I disagree. Sometime we need to show reality of TSP to rid people of WKKitis.

Rudradev wrote:Cell phone networks are working. Just spoke to my father. He and my mother (aged 79 and 76) were actually shopping at Dadar Market, near Kabootarkhana. They heard one of the devices go off, a car bomb, and felt the blast wave from about 100m away. My parents were unharmed, for which I thank the gods, but (as could be expected) Kabootarkhana was extremely crowded and casualties are bound to be high. :( Police were very professional in clearing the area of those not injured, so as to assist victims and collect forensic evidence efficiently.
saar, good to know that parents are fine. Hope they is no psycological aftermath. Best of luck and god bless!

suryag wrote:Shiv ji but cant a Covert ops strategy hitting RAPES help in getting us quid pro quo type concessions from the other side ? that way it will prevent future attacks right ?
Well I recall having had anguished rants in this forum after after every attack. My personal feeling is that we should hit Pakistan openly. No covert action.

I think we have discussed all possible reasons as to why India has not done that - from cowardice and dhoti shivering to cost to US pressure to Cathoilc ladies. I have come around to thinking that US pressure has played a big role. As I have stated in several times - the US has a make or break control over an Indian attack on Pakistan. Their Intel capabilities are exceptional and they can warn the Pakis about what is happening. And they can make life miserable for India. This is my opinion. Instead of blaming Catholic ladies and 25 crore non Indics - I am blaming USA. Each to his own I guess.
Like it did in 1971 Shiv.

But, like the Pakis have the Khans shivering with their nuclear blackmail we have an added advantage. We are nuclear and have a booming economy. So damage to us will hurt the Khans and the Chinis?

Unfortunately, I do not see a leader on the horizon, who has the vision and the gumption to stand tall and play hardball when required. The closest who had this one trait, was Indira Gandhi.
Last edited by rajanb on 13 Jul 2011 22:41, edited 1 time in total.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

uddu wrote:
sanjeevpunj wrote:When will India start looking for a chance to hit back, there are so many lost opportunities. Seriously,inaction should not become the only policy in such times, as it leads to development of cold feet and so on,military loses its enthusiasm,people in general remain dis-satisfied, and nothing happens, and we wait for the next news headline.
:roll: Are you drunk? Don't you understand that we are supposed to bridge the trust deficit and ensure that Pakistan is prosperous (hell with India and Indians, I don't care, if some bhooka nanaga dies in some part of India due to food shortage or terrorist act, corruption) My aim is to make Pakistan the most prosperous nation in the world.
:roll: Dear uddu ji, I never took to drinking, either in college, or at this age.The only way to bridge trust deficit is wipe the ISI and its terror arms out of existence.

uddu wrote:Rakesh, BJP rule was for a very very short period of time. They were with coalition as well. I think we must give them a resounding victory in the coming election. Then judge them whether they are capable or incompetent. I do believe and know that they will be far far better than the congress. The BJP do also fall for the pseudo secular game. They also sometimes believes that fundamentalist appeasement is Secularism. Who is going to put the truth into their mind that true secularism means elimination of all fundamentalist ideas starting with the nation called Pakistan.
Yes compared to the Congress, they were in power only from 1998 to 2004. So much shorter…however they had an ample opportunity to do something in 2001. Our very seat of visible democracy was attacked! And we did nothing. Our Govt – BJP or Congress – just does not have any balls to do NOTHING.

Take the nooklear weapons out of the equation and you have a different story.

So the question is…who really is scared? Them or Us?

A comment I found there
Jihad fisabilillah di kota Mumbai malam ni demi @Allah_Taala, Islam berjuang memerangi kafir laknat:
Malay to English translation.Fisabilillah Jihad in the city to Mumbai tonight @ Allah_Taala, Muslims fighting against unbelievers is the curse:

Why blasts? Why now?

We were on alert and knew something was coming. The UShad also warned us.

Target is soft, we can't protect every single area. There will always be weakness in soft areas. Ultimately, intelligence needs to be able to infiltrate these groups.

Anyway, why now?
- Mainly because of Indo-Pak talks. TSPA was always against things like MFN.
- I don't think this is related to GWOT this time.
- Easing of situation with Iran has given the flexibility for ISI to continue on track. Around Feb/March time, TSPA started making nice gestures to India, then as soon as things calmed down in the Iran front. His tone changed and it was back to biz as usual. Then OBL raid. Mehran and other attacks, huge internal problems. Peace process seemed to be progressing with regards to trade.
- So I think the main reason is Indo-Pak talks. They want it slowed down. The TSPA was really against hte trade issue initially and it took a lot of pressure for GoP to give up on the trade issue and as you know, I think yesterday TSP gave us MFN status.

Policy options?
- Covert (as always) strikes. Will it happen? Unlikely given the bigger picture, we don't want to give excuses.
- Do nothing - which is probably what will happen. However, given the current political scenario, some response will be likely, to save Congress from the current domestic mess. It will be interesting to watch. I think the first thing that will get hit will be the peace process - just when MFN status granted.

I think the optimal response is to continue investigating, continue diplomatic pressure - 26/11 case in the US. More international attention. If they are so pissed at the peace process, I think we should continue and keep talking terror and trade. 1 that achieves nothing, the other that irritates the TSPA.

Hold your guns folks....don't rush to your judgements yet. Javeri market
is a high value area, and local businessmen make every effort to keep it
safe......One theory just heard is the mafia's anger for picking up their
comrades after JD's murder. Wait for few more days to let the dust settle.........

Katiji Are you sayign ti is handiwork of that chota rajan? no way

Post Soviet withdrawal from Afganistan, the mujahideen factions (many of the offshoots we hear off today) started acting as mercenaries as well (ask any one in intelli). Basically terror for hire.
Even if the bomb blasts in India are traced to a particular group, it is not necessary that the group is responsible - it could be other factions and governments (not necessarily Pak either). On that note ISI does not only do the bidding for Pakistan - it is also terror for hire.
We desperately need a strong intelligence to crack the code on the sequence of bomb blasts in India. The motive seems muddy at best.

Kati wrote:Hold your guns folks....don't rush to your judgements yet. Javeri market
is a high value area, and local businessmen make every effort to keep it
safe......One theory just heard is the mafia's anger for picking up their
comrades after JD's murder. Wait for few more days to let the dust settle.........

nonsense. Mafia is mainly concerned with money. they dont have emotional ties with comrades. TSP and only tsp is behind this.

Kati, could be right. DI network runs the logistics for IM and all these guys. Lot of the LeT and IM guys are all DI boys anyway.

Kersi D wrote:Rakesh Remember Kargil.

It was the BJP government.
Would a Congress government allowed IA to use artillery to throw out the Pakis. I doubt it.
Would a Congress government allowed IAF to bomb out the pukes. No chance.
I remember Kargil, however you are now operating on assumptions and that is incorrect, because you cannot claim with any certainty what the outcome would have been had the Congress been in power. You certainly have the right to assume though, but that does not mean I should believe it.

shyamd wrote:Kati, could be right. DI network runs the logistics for IM and all these guys. Lot of the LeT and IM guys are all DI boys anyway.

di==let==al keeda==tsp. it is no way linked to journo murder arrest.
manum

Post by manum »

mumbai's like the minesweeper game, you gotto be lucky to not blow up...

Marten wrote:Sir, which land do you think Dawood Ibrahim and his men inhabit and where do they operate? Or are they not mafia any more? Or do you think they're only concerned with money -which is probably safer in Karachi than Mumbai then?
I MEANT ITS NOT LINKED to dey murder. as the previous poster said. the executioner may be common but orders were surely given by isi.

uddu wrote:Rakesh, BJP rule was for a very very short period of time. They were with coalition as well. I think we must give them a resounding victory in the coming election. Then judge them whether they are capable or incompetent. I do believe and know that they will be far far better than the congress. The BJP do also fall for the pseudo secular game. They also sometimes believes that fundamentalist appeasement is Secularism. Who is going to put the truth into their mind that true secularism means elimination of all fundamentalist ideas starting with the nation called Pakistan.
Yes compared to the Congress, they were in power only from 1998 to 2004. So much shorter…however they had an ample opportunity to do something in 2001. Our very seat of visible democracy was attacked! And we did nothing. Our Govt – BJP or Congress – just does not have any balls to do NOTHING.

Take the nooklear weapons out of the equation and you have a different story. So the question is…who really is scared? Them or Us?
We were few hours from rolling across IB with heavy armour and air borne ground attack raids. Please talk to the people those were part of Op Parakram deployment.
The strories that our IT bosses pressed upon GoI to hold back may be partly true or maybe fairy tales. Even if true that was not the factor for not carrying out the plans.

However, the allegation that NDA govt. too didn't act is a media propaganda to make a equal equal with congress govt.

Dilbu wrote:

A comment I found there
Jihad fisabilillah di kota Mumbai malam ni demi @Allah_Taala, Islam berjuang memerangi kafir laknat:
Malay to English translation.Fisabilillah Jihad in the city to Mumbai tonight @ Allah_Taala, Muslims fighting against unbelievers is the curse:
:) so you found the reason why I posted that link here.. wanted biraders to discover this comment on their own..

I agree with JEM anna's suggestion. Time has come to popularize this motto of TSP army amongst Yindus.. Yankees and Yahudis need not be taught..

The best pay back is to get one of the prominent Non Pakjabi ruling family's chap , blame on Pakjab and and watch Sindh burn.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

24 members and 116 guests, this thread is rolling fast.

From Twitter
@mrityunjoykjha: OMG..60000 sleepers cells in the country...conservative estimate..

SRoy wrote:We were few hours from rolling across IB with heavy armour and air borne ground attack raids. Please talk to the people those were part of Op Parakram deployment.
The strories that our IT bosses pressed upon GoI to hold back may be partly true or maybe fairy tales. Even if true that was not the factor for not carrying out the plans.

However, the allegation that NDA govt. too didn't act is a media propaganda to make a equal equal with congress govt.
The real factor – back then and even now – is the nooklear weapon. Our politicians are scared of them. They are bluffing and our netas on both sides of the political spectrum have fallen for it -> hook, line & sinker. We will not attack, as long as that noose is hanging over our head. We are scared, definately scared.

And I am not making an allegation, our politicians did nothing during Operation Parakram either. Why did our netas post out the Lt Gen who moved his troops closer to the IB just because Colin Powell made a noise about it? We lost a fine general that day.

SRoy wrote:We were few hours from rolling across IB with heavy armour and air borne ground attack raids. Please talk to the people those were part of Op Parakram deployment.

The real factor – back then and even now – is the nooklear weapon. Our politicians are scared of them. They are bluffing and our politicians have fallen for it -> hook, line & sinker. We will not attack, as long as that noose is hanging over our head. We are scared, definately scared. And I am not making an allegation, our politicians did nothing during Operation Parakram either.
Not nukes.
Something to do with the reason Lt. Gen. Viz was fired. That reason will never/cannot be made public. I think you can guess.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-14141454

most of the intl news see this as hand work of local mujahids.

may I ask about the progress of investigation on july 2006 blasts? any arrests/charge sheet so far?

SRoy wrote:Something to do with the reason Lt. Gen. Viz was fired. That reason will never/cannot be made public. I think you can guess.
If we shaft fine generals like Kapil Vij, then we really have no balls! :) And the BJP-led NDA Govt took that decision. A Congress-led UPA Govt would have done the exact same thing.