Indian Army: News and Discussions 15 Apr 2012

nelson

Re: Indian Army: News and Discussions 15 Apr 2012

Post by nelson »

Notwithstanding the (f)article in chindu and unadulterated gossip, mainly because of the ignorance of the Indian public, i am compelled to post the link once again.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... 412907.ece

...in order to bring out the fact that the system of 'batmen' continues in Armies by some euphemism or the other.
As a British Army officer; there is a reason and purpose for having batmen.
The officers are trained to take high risks & endurance defending the country. Such performance comes with a supportive structure. While the British army may have done away with the title of batmen, the duties are being done now without the name. Officers earn their titles through hard work, courage and study.
Let us not taint the entire cadre of officers due to the misgivings of a few. It is these very men who defend India.
Posted on: May 13, 2012 at 14:50 IST
a comment on the above mentioned article.
schowdhuri

Post by schowdhuri »

For those of you asking why the CO of the regt would get punished, if did not do anything 'very' wrong, Army Law is very harsh, and if things go wrong in the regt, the CO is finished. During the Sikh mutiny, the CO of one of the regts (also a Sikh), physically tried to stop the jawans from taking over the Qtr Guard, displaying great bravery. Finally, when he realised that that he could not do anything, he rushed to another close regt to get help. He was sacked for leaving his regt in a time of crisis. I distinctly remember this incident because I thought it extremely unfair, and was upset about it.

Families attending field firing is nothing new, or uncommon (irrespective of whether it is legal or not). I myself (with other families) have gone to Pokhran during exercises (towards the fag end of course), and it is never a great secret. If officers had brought their wives, you can be 100% sure the jawans would have known about it, and it would not have been a secret in the regt.

One of the things that has happened in the army over the years is that the gap between Officers & Jawans has narrowed. This is positive is some ways, but also has a negative side. In the army I knew Captains rode bycycles, today, naiks drive motorcycles. In today's army you have jawans asking during a regt durbar why a officer is not doing BPET, in the old days, this could not be imagined. The jawan is today much more educated & aware, so many of the older systems & procedures don't work very well. Officers too are much more career conscious nowadays, and given how difficult promotions are, they do lots of things, which they really should not. You will see lot of weak officers as a result (weak in terms of morality, not in terms of physique, or bravery).

I only hope that things will sort out in time, and it does not get worse.
anjan

Post by anjan »

ASPuar wrote:Haha, Anjan, an IPS officer is Additional Superintendent of Police for only the first 2 years of his (post training) service. After 4 years of service, he becomes an SP (equivalent to a major, regardless of the badges of rank they wear).

But let that be. Even an inspector has lots of chamchas shifting gamlas on official assignment at his house, and an inspector is the equivalent of a subedar!
Oh! I thought the pips were atleast indicative of service if no longer indicative of pay grades. Thanks for the correction.

nelson wrote:Senior officer in Cabinet Secretariat leaked Army Chief’s letter

and the Govt promptly denies it. Whereas the govt took its sweet time to come out in public that Army Chief enjoyed its confidence and deny reports of him spooking DM's office, it takes less than half an hour to issue a denial in this case.
A Joint Secretary-rank officer in the Cabinet Secretariat has been found guilty of leaking Army Chief General V.K. Singh’s letter to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh about the poor state of preparedness of his force and has been shunted out. :eek:

{note the word used shunted instead of transferred or reverted!}

A probe into the leakage by the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) has also cleared Gen Singh of any wrongdoing in the episode, highly-placed sources told PTI here.

In his letter, the Army Chief had highlighted the critical shortage of equipment and ammunition in artillery and armoured regiments.

The female officer belonging to the Indian Economic Service (IES) was handling the charge of intelligence agencies under the Cabinet Secretariat and was nailed after interrogation of some suspected persons, they said.

The officer has now been repatriated to her parent cadre and further action can be taken against her for leaking such a sensitive document, sources said.

After the letter surfaced, both the Houses of Parliament were rocked over the issue and certain parties had demanded action against Gen Singh also.

At that time, Gen Singh had said that incident should be treated as “high treason” and the source of leakage should be dealt with “ruthlessly.”

“The leakage of the letter should be treated as high treason. Cynical approach to tarnish my reputation should stop. Sources of the leakage should be found and dealt with ruthlessly,” Gen Singh had said in a statement issued by the Army Headquarters.

Following the incident government had asked the Intelligence Bureau (IB) to investigate the matter and find out the person responsible for it.

The letter was leaked to the media after Gen Singh made a sensational disclosure in an interview that he was offered a bribe of Rs 14 crore by a retired Lt General for favouring a sub—standard defence deal regarding purchase of Army trucks.

Keywords: Army Chief Letter, Army Chief V.K. Singh, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Cabinet Sedretary, leakage
Lets see what happens. This person holds JS rank but is not IAS but the secondary services.

rohitvats wrote:From Orbat.Com:
From Mandeep Singh Bajwa on India-Pakistan military exercises Indian Army corps on the Pakistan front used to exercise every 2-3 years, but now the tempo has accelerated to once every year and the trend has become multi-corps exercises. In India the HQ above corps is the Command, which is both a geographical and a tactical arrangement. There are no field army HQs, though the matter comes up for discussion from time-to-time.

{Multi corps exercises are field Army units in any other country!}

Before Cold Start, the army on the Pakistan front was divided into strike and holding corps. So XV, XVI, XI, X, and XII Corps were holding, and I, II and XXI were strike. The holding corps defensively protected their area of the front. Now all corps are to go on the offensive; indeed, most of Cold Start will be conducted by the former holding corps. As part of the offensive doctrine - a major change because since 1947 India has used the defensive-offensive configuration - the assumption is a war will be short. There will be neither time for mobilization, nor for learning on the job.

Accordingly, there has been a steady shift of formations closer to the front as a way of reducing mobilization time. The process is slow, because creating new permanent bases is not just expensive, in a crowded country like India land for new bases is not easily obtained. Equally, under Cold Start, there is to be no waiting for strike formations to concentrate at the front. The corps in place (now XV, XVI, IX, XI, X, and XII, from north to south) are to begin offensives at very short notice. The offensives will be conducted by eight armor battle groups, each of brigade size and heavily reinforced, each operating on a separate axis.

If the war is short, the battle groups will seize territory out to 30-km before shifting to the defensive. If the war continues, the three strike corps will enter play. Each of the three Pakistan-front plains commands - Western, South Western, and Southern - has an assigned strike corps. From north to south these are I, II, and XXI Corps.

The new posture requires considerably higher readiness, which is the reason for the increased tempo of exercises. I Strike and X Corps in South Western Command have finished an exercise, and now all of Western Command - II Strike, IX and XI Corps - is starting an exercise. It may be noted that by staging the exercise in May, at a time of maximum heat, the Indian Army is giving notice there is no more "fighting season". In the past this was the late fall/winter/spring. Now India is prepared to fight in the summer. The monsoon is still off limits because the torrential rains turn the ground to mush so that even tracked vehicles get into trouble.

Similarly, India is now prepared to go on the offensive in the mountains even in the dead of winter.

Pakistan, naturally, has not been sitting back passively. Despite its limited resources it has also stepped up its exercise tempo. Units from its I Strike plus X Corps and II Strike plus XXXI Corps have finished training at the ranges. A major exercise for IV Corps (Lahore) designed specifically to respond to a Cold Start grab is planned soon.
No wonder Bharat Karnad wants the Pakis to watch the exercises to understand what could happen to them.

War in summer time when the wind blows Westward is good signal to Poaqarmy that Nukes wont protect them.

Jhujar, Its leading to stalemate and TSP's hamartia{fatal flaw-Greek} for they need to expand else the kabila has to settle down and leads to stasis.

Lt. Gen Vinod Bhatia, AVSM, SM, Director General Infantry, Indian Army in an exclusive interview to India Strategic.

Indian infantry needs to modernise itself

speaks of additional infantry units, FINSAS etc...

ASPuar wrote:The issue is very much so, that how can you ask the army officer to give up his orderly, when others will not?
Sir, were'nt you earlier saying that Army is all okay to stop the practise of Sahayak and that it was MoD civilian staff who will through the spanner in the works? And I guess this was one thing which you wished chackojoseph to check up.

I would reiterate my stand that professionaly trained people (be it police, army or even a railway gang man) should NOT be employed in the capacity of personal servant. Especially at the homes of the senior officers, with no one to see what work is getting allocated to them.
Sachin in the interim is the first to pounce on the sahayak issue, (even though turns out it wasnt true), but he will forgive any number of IPS officers who have their constables clean their toilets at home.
Can you show me one post of mine in which I have supported the IPS officers in keeping the police constables as Orderlies/Sahayaks?
anjan wrote:Given the setting of the incident I was confused by the leap of faith taken in immediately assigning the blame without a full incident report.
I go by media reports. Sorry, the media may have it own negative aspects. But I for sure would not take a stand that Army is 100% perfect, and the remaining folks in the country are 100% bad, corrupt people. I for sure, am not going to see any official report in this case, because I am not authorised to.
It's especially interesting coming from a person who spends his time strenuously defending the police and asking people not to draw general conclusions based on the conduct of a few.
I am talking about a system which can be misused. Others have also shared their own observations on this misuse. No one has said that every Army officer misuses the system. But there are folks who do it. So either chuck out the system, or bring in more checks and balances which can be verified.

Any way I am happy to see that discussion on Sahayaks have become more in the lines of "The IPS wallahs have umpteen, why cant the Army wallahs have a few".
anjan

Post by anjan »

Sachin wrote: I go by media reports. Sorry, the media may have it own negative aspects. But I for sure would not take a stand that Army is 100% perfect, and the remaining folks in the country are 100% bad, corrupt people. I for sure, am not going to see any official report in this case, because I am not authorised to.
Can you find a post where I said the Army was 100% perfect and the others are corrupt? I was pointing out the speed at which you jumped to Sahayak, Mangal Pandey and whoever else when next to nothing was known. It seemed to be just a convenient handle to beat the Army with. Lacking all the extra emotionally charged content that would have been kind of hard.
Any way I am happy to see that discussion on Sahayaks have become more in the lines of "The IPS wallahs have umpteen, why cant the Army wallahs have a few".
No, I was pointing to the fact that you're making fallacious assumptions about how the Army works based on the perceived behavior or knowledge of whoever you know. Especially since you regularly point out how people do the same to the police.

You're correct though. My earlier comment about the Police was misplaced. I know of an official purpose for a sahayak in the Army. Misused or not. I should not have conflated that with the 4 chaps around the police officer for which I can't think of a reason. Secondly I drifted from my point which is that they're two different subjects that should be treated as such. I was trying to address the Army = colonial, british leftovers crowd by pointing out other organizations and on reflection I probably shouldn't have.
I am talking about a system which can be misused.
It does need reform. There is little doubt about it. When abuse takes place it needs to be corrected and institutional procedures put in place to prevent them. What might that be? I don't know, but that might actually be a sensible and interesting discussion. What it doesn't need is the type of discussion here with epithets thrown left, right and center with no understanding of the issue at all.
ManishH
Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic

Post by ManishH »

Nyoma incident is just poor local leadership. Officers always used to say - best way to discipline the men is to instil pride in them. Even in 80s, several officers had voluntarily stopped using batman/orderly. They'd only be used to fetch the uniform and apply brasso and polish boots.

The batman used to be like a family member. A few notable real life incidents:

- Batman's father is visiting the unit from his village. The officer asks his child to touch the father's feet because he's in no different from a family elder.

- This officer had retired and was asleep after a long dining out night. But the next day early morning, he's woken up by the batman who voluntarily showed up and rang the bell.

- I remember the names of almost all batmen my father had because the bond with them was deeper in some cases than my own father.

I think a Major used to have maximum punishing power of 20 days RI (rigorous imprisonment). I haven't heard of any good officer ever having to resort to thrashing. Allowing liberal leaves and pushing men to physical extremes would be very good means of keeping good discipline.

Usual army punishment was group-punishment. Send a whole company on pitthoo parade. The jawans would anyway know who amongst them was the culprit and would peer-pressure the guilty jawan to confess his mistake voluntarily.

This is not a one off incident and such things happened in the past as well. One such incident also happened during my stay in Kota.

And class tension is not a new thing. I have seen jawans acting smart and trying to act like officers (and misbehaving) despite failing numerous attempts to qualify as an officer. But when the time comes everyone falls in line. Army do give fair chance to move up in command chain, if your are qualified enough.

Things were same 20 years ago and they are same now.

Only difference is media exposure and their lack of accountability for sensationalizing every incident.

Well, I have a very fond memory of one such Sahayak....he was a Marathi and was a wrestler before joining the army. At that time, we were posted close to my hometown. Brother and me were kids in 1st and 3rd. I still remember him carrying us on his shoulders from bus stand back to house. The fellow used to go to annual mela in me village to take part in wrestling.

Cut to early 2000s and dad was posted in Command Hospital, Pune. His son was not well and was admitted there - while he was posted somewhere else. He came to know that dad is posted in the same hospital and came to meet him. Dad told us about him and brother/me came from our colleges to see him. To help him, Dad got him attached to the hospital from his unit, arranged for quarter for him/family and all the while he was there, food went from our house. And Dad ensured that his kid was well looked after in the hospital.

rohitvats wrote:Well, I have a very fond memory of one such Sahayak....he was a Marathi and was a wrestler before joining the army. At that time, we were posted close to my hometown. Brother and me were kids in 1st and 3rd. I still remember him carrying us on his shoulders from bus stand back to house. The fellow used to go to annual mela in me village to take part in wrestling.

Cut to early 2000s and dad was posted in Command Hospital, Pune. His son was not well and was admitted there - while he was posted somewhere else. He came to know that dad is posted in the same hospital and came to meet him. Dad told us about him and brother/me came from our colleges to see him. To help him, Dad got him attached to the hospital from his unit, arranged for quarter for him/family and all the while he was there, food went from our house. And Dad ensured that his kid was well looked after in the hospital.

That was truly the regard that sahayaks were held in the earlier days.

^^^Brother of a close friend did not join a particular famous battalion of J&K LI Regiment (of which his father was once CO) because some of the people who had tended to him/were shayaks over the time were Senior JCOs and even SM in the same paltan. Once while visiting the paltan during his academy days, he was feted as son of "ex-Co" sahab and the senior JCOs spoke to him with the same affection as they had for him when he was a kid. He was not sure that they'd take him seriously as an officer and he said he'll feel embarrassed giving commands to the same people whom he once called bhaiyya or played with... :P

Things like these cannot be understood by reading newspaper reports. There are many such fond memories, as there are instances of misbehavior. As I said sometime earlier, the main reason that the Sahayak system needs to be replaced is because the men have changed. With increased education level even for infantry jawans and many might not want to go as one...Having said that, it was an unique system and forged many a life long bonds between officers and men.

No big deals for Army since 2005
In what may be an endorsement of the Army’s poor state of preparedness, the Defence Ministry on Monday admitted that the Army was devoid of big ticket military purchase since 2005.

The admission, however, was not direct. Responding to a question on offset, Defence Minister A K Antony annexed his question with a list of 17 offset contracts inked by the miistry since 2005. None, however, was meant for the Army.

As offsets are mandatory for every foreign purchase, the 17 contracts are the only purchases made from abroad by the Defence Ministry since 2005, when the offset policy was introduced. In other words, procurement for the Army was restricted to domestic suppliers such as ordnance factories, defence public sector units and private industries.

With the defence minister admitting that level of indigenisation is limited to only 40 per cent, it is obvious that the Army failed to buy any significant military hardware from abroad as a part of its modernisation plan.
Responding to a separate query, Antony said the Army had lost 38 field firing ranges in the last decade due to encroachment, wildlife conservation and spreading of human population. The Army used to have 104 field firing ranges a decade ago, but the number has now come down to 66.

While there were 12 foreign contracts for Indian Air Force signed between 2007 and 2012, the Navy had only five contracts. The IAF deals include purchase of C-130J and C-17 aircraft from the USA, Harpy loitering ammunition from Israel, VVIP helicopters, upgrading of MiG-29 and Mirage 2000 as well as radar and electronic equipment. The total offset earned from 12 IAF deals stood at $ 3, 435, 483, 700.

For the Navy, major acquisitions involve fleet tanker, long range maritime reconnaissance aircraft and unmanned aerial vehicle. The total amount of offset generated is $ 843, 758, 600.

Two good topics for general reading on IA here: http://www.indianmilitaryhistory.org/index.html

Indian Army Corps 1947-2006 - A good primer on Indian Army Corps.
A Short History of Indian Division Deployments Against China 1961-2001
schowdhuri

Post by schowdhuri »

rohitvats wrote:Well, I have a very fond memory of one such Sahayak....
We had one batman (no sahayak those days) who I knew from as far back as I can remember. Dad always managed to get him posted with us whereever we went. My mother and I always turned out to see him in battledress to much merriment whenever dad took him for practice camp, because we always saw him only in civil dress.

He was much in demand whenever any relative was getting married, and as soon as he arrived all keys were handed over to him, and everyone relaxed. Usually within a few hrs he would round up a few people caught stealing various stuff, and march them up army style for aprropriate punishment. Once in a while he even marched up a relative caught opening presents etc in suspicious circumstances.

To give another example of the bonding that happens, my mother once left a diamond ring somewhere, and it went missing. The way my dad asked her about it, mom was sure that dad had found it and hidden it somewhere, but could do nothing. She asked this batman for help, and the same day, he got a locksmith, got dad's cupboard opened, and returned the diamond ring to my mother.

After dad retired, he became GM of a 5 star hotel and found lot of problems among lower level staff. He went to the ex-batmans village in Ranikhet (who had also retired) and employed him to generally keep a check on the staff. Within a few weeks all problems were gone :mrgreen:
Last edited by schowdhuri on 15 May 2012 11:45, edited 1 time in total.

Garwhalis? Or Kumaon?
schowdhuri

Post by schowdhuri »

ASPuar wrote:^^
Garwhalis? Or Kumaon?
Kumaon of course - Ranikhet
member_23455

So?

Post by member_23455 »

I see two welcome if unintended consequences of Nyoma:

1. The anachronistic Batman/Sahayak system that the Army is dragging it's feet on getting rid of, will get done away with soon.
2. The officer cadre especially Majors and up will get "strong reinforcement" that the buck stops with them. It's called Command for a reason.

1. Nyoma had nothing to do with any Sahayak or Batman. No Sahayak or Batman was involved in the incident.

2. What does it have to do with command authority for majors? Nowadays, company commanders are Lt. Colonels.

3. Some of the Majors involved in the incident were not from the Unit at all, but from the Army Medical Corps.
member_23455

Post by member_23455 »

1. Nyoma had nothing to do with any Sahayak or Batman. No Sahayak or Batman was involved in the incident.
Hence the usage of the term "unintended consequences."
What does it have to do with command authority for majors? Nowadays, company commanders are Lt. Colonels.
"Majors and up" not just Majors. That is pretty much the "senior management" for a unit, which will be put under the scope of the CoI, as will the CO, who is gone for sure, and rightly so.
Some of the Majors involved in the incident were not from the Unit at all, but from the Army Medical Corps.
Good to know.

I Let us see what happens wrt sahayak issue. I personally dont think anything will happen at all.

The army needs to really take a good look at what sort of persons its hiring. Standards have fallen terribly, but not necessarily because of the wrong people applying. A lot of it is the wrong people being selected. The selection methodology needs to be closely scrutinised.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/India-new ... 55241.aspx

Desi bofors to be tested in Thar today

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times

Jodhpur, May 13, 2012

A technologically improved version of the Bofors gun manufactured by the Ordnance Factory Board (OFB) will be test-fired in Rajasthan's Thar desert on Monday, a defence ministry source said.

This will mark a leap in the army's modernisation plans, as not a single 155mm artillery gun has been inducted since the Bofors controversy erupted in 1987. The test-fire comes on the heels of the defence ministry clearing the procurement of 145 M-777 Ultra Light Howitzers from the US.

The deals are part of the army's Rs. 20,000-crore artillery modernisation plan. The urgency for upgrading arsenal picked up after army chief Gen VK Singh's letter to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in March warned of "critical operational hollowness" in dealing with Pakistan and China.

Around the same time, the defence ministry had awarded the OFB a contract to manufacture 100 howitzer variants. The ministry had in mind the blueprint of the technology that was transferred to the OFB at the time of the Bofors deal in 1986.

The OFB-manufactured variant of Bofors gun can fire a shell up to 40 km, the source said.
Should've been done 20 years sooner, but oh well. Im sure the plans were "lost" somehow.

One more bust. Chinese made grenades found.

9 Rashtriya Rifles busts hideout in Kaiyinar Forest

When OFB manufatures a howitzer/gun do they have a proofing range at the factory to test fire it before handing it over for trials on firing ranges etc?

Guns don't have to be tested with live ammo. it has to meet quality standards laid.

chackojoseph wrote:Guns don't have to be tested with live ammo. it has to meet quality standards laid.

Really! I thought every gun that is manufactured is fired or proofed at the factory prior to delivery. Thats the process in any country. Otherwise how does the buyer know he is getting a good product? You know this for sure?

I understand other weapons are not proofed like missiles, ammo, etc.

I can just see the missile proofing test..

"Testing.. testing.. WHOOSHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! BADABOOM!"

"Well, that one works. Next!"

ramana wrote:Really! I thought every gun that is manufactured is fired or proofed at the factory prior to delivery. Thats the process in any country. Otherwise how does the buyer know he is getting a good product? You know this for sure?

Tell me ramana, are they testing the ammo or the gun? If the gun, then why fire live ammo? Once the designs are frozen, then its very unglamorous job. When the gun is ready, they need to test the mechanism as laid out by the r&d and described by quality manual. Then pack it and ship it.

There was a discovery science episode which lies recorded in my tata sky+ DVR box, which shows the M-16 being manufactured.

There every gun goes for a round of test firing before being packed and sent out! If you do that with a assault rifle, I think you might want to do that with a artillery piece as well.

ASPuar wrote:

I can just see the missile proofing test..

"Testing.. testing.. WHOOSHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! BADABOOM!"

"Well, that one works. Next!"

There is a periodic proof firing of missiles that is mandatory.

Period depends on the system.

Seen this done for surface as well as air to air missiles

There was a discovery science episode which lies recorded in my tata sky+ DVR box, which shows the M-16 being manufactured.

There every gun goes for a round of test firing before being packed and sent out! If you do that with a assault rifle, I think you might want to do that with a artillery piece as well.
Then I could be wrong.

ASPuar wrote:
Desi bofors to be tested in Thar today
Should've been done 20 years sooner, but oh well. Im sure the plans were "lost" somehow.
We have General VK Singh to thank for this.

Just think of how many 100s of crores of rupees he has saved this country. Not to mention we are finally getting arty guns.

One bust today. it makes 3 in a row.

Indian Army busts hideout in Trehgam

Indian Express asks for the mother of all embarrassments - Firstpost
he Indian Express, Editor-in-Chief Shekhar Gupta, and journalists Ritu Sarin, Pranab Dhal Samata and Ajmer Singh have sent a legal notice to Manu Joseph, Editor, Open magazine, R Rajmohan, publisher, Open magazine, Open Media Network Pvt Ltd, Hamendra Singh, Hartosh Singh Bal and Vinod Mehta, former Editor of Outlook, threatening to sue them for a total of Rs 500 crore (Rs 100 crore each for IE, the Editor-in-Chief, and the four journos).

The reason: the magazine published an interview with Vinod Mehta during the course of which Mehta discusses The Indian Express story that hinted at a possible coup.
At least we have got names of Sekhar Gupta's blue eyed chelas.

I have no idea about artillery testing, but to test properly you will need a firing range 15-20 km long I guess. Hitting a target 100 meters away at the factory will only be a sham test.

About small arms, I wonder if every single one of those Berettas that were sent to BSF were fired and tested in Italy, Beretta being such a famous company and all.
member_23455

Post by member_23455 »

Indian Express asks for the mother of all embarrassments - Firstpost
Maybe one day the BBC will sue Shekhar Gupta and NDTV for ripping off Simpson's World which they adapted as Walk The Talk without so much as an attribution.

Oh, and let's hope BR does not get sued by Shekhar Gupta for all the things we have called him :roll:

Justice Katju - please have one of your meltdowns against the mainstream media again :lol: