Page 72 of 120
Re: India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011
Posted: 29 Sep 2012 09:03
by svenkat
The KKNPP is not going anywhere.GOI will have to ensure the safety of fishermen and see no harm is done to their livelihoods.The fishermen have the right to protest.
The tamizh Church has some nuisance value.Its fibre is now well known.
Posted: 29 Sep 2012 09:34
by sum
Now some Japanese birathers deported for turning up to support the "noble cause" of Shri.Udayakumar and the church flock around him:
Japanese nationals deported
Three Japanese nationals, including a woman, who arrived here apparently to participate in the ongoing stir against the Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant, were deported by immigration officials, airport sources said today.
The three-- Nakai Shinsuke (45), Undos Yoko (49) and Watarida Macula (61)-- arrived here on Wednesday night by an Air Asia flight from Kuala Lumpur on way to Idinthakarai, focal point of the protests against the Indo-Russian project.
Airport officials, who received a tip-off from central Intelligence officials about their arrival and plans to visit the agitation site, took them into custody and after questioning deported the three within an hour of their arrival at 7 PM, the sources said.
Posted: 29 Sep 2012 21:45
by pentaiah
My savior was a carpenter and a fisher man too to take interest in Kundankulam project.
GOI is not dumb to put its citizens in an unwarranted risk, there are vested interests like Areva who want this to fail or the prolonged agitation makes it unviable and fade away like many public sector projects...
In 1967 when Konya dam was being built there was a hull Gullah saying the dam was sitting on seismically active zone and hell would break loose... See the Heavenly Father in his kindness has protected us the poo folk
. The dam has withstood many earthquakes in the recent past, including the devastating 1967 Koynanagar earthquake, resulting in the dam developing some cracks. After the disaster grouting of the cracks was done. Also internal holes were drilled to relieve the hydrostatic pressures in the body of the dam. Indian scientific establishment has formulated an ambitious project to drill a deep borehole in the region and intensely study the earthquake activity. This would help in better understanding and possible forecast of earthquakes. The proposal is to drill up to 7 km and study the physical, geological and chemical processes and properties of the reservoir triggered earthquake zone in real time. It would be an international project to be led by Indian scientists.[3]
In 1973 the non-overflow portion of the dam was strengthened, followed by strengthening the spillway section in 2006. Now the dam is expected to be safe against any future earthquake even of more intensity than that of 1967.
Italics are mine with due apology to Carpenters of the earthly kind not heavenly at all
I'm on the top of the world lookin' down on creation
And the only explanation I can find
Is the love that I've found for thou art in heaven
ever since you've been around
Your love's put me at the top of the world
Everything I want the world to be
Is now comin' true especially for me in Kudanakulam
And the reason is clear, it's because you are here
My father thou art JC in the worlds above
You're the nearest thing to Heaven that I've seen
Posted: 30 Sep 2012 04:10
by RamaY
I wonder why people who prostrate at the feet of western science do not believe Indian nuclear scientists who say KK is safe, and instead enslave their minds to Christian fathers and JNU-bachelors of Arts NGOs?
Posted: 01 Oct 2012 18:49
by Neela
Caught up with the thread over the weekend.
And some insights into the possible workings of babudom and protests from someone working 100m from a reactor core - more on that later.
"..cannot run a post office properly".

. The metrics for comparison! What is this ..some teenage debating competition?
But seriously, not only is this a totally crude line of reasoning, it is patently false.
The fact is that they have a running system, serving millions and millions not just in rural India, but also in large cities quite efficiently. It *is* the largest running postal system in the world reaching places as high as Badrinath in summer! The last time I went to my local post office to update my passbook and Monthly Income Scheme, it took me all of 5 minutes to get the job done. And I speak for the services I get from the local post office. Had no issues as well with my letters. And the postman gets a well deserved Diwali "bonus" Rs.300 for his work throughout the year.
I do not think a silly comment is going to change things but I guess when left unchallenged, these get to become some truths which then appear repeatedly.
Again ,why this running around like a headless chicken bringing up even weirder stuff when a main reason cannot be found?. From the posters here , to the protestors in KKNPP, it is the same - strange demands, no clear focus and nothing in black and white. Intentionally keep the whole motive muddled. Having followed this thread for several years now, I am beginning to see humour in these. Our system is probably not perfect but definitely it need not respond to derision from unqualified and non-scientific backgrounds.
------------
And one more myth of peaceful protestors torn apart.
Posted: 01 Oct 2012 19:39
by vishvak
Imagine a Hindu priest had organized a violent protest in France where a French policewoman were to be kidnapped.
So where is the policewoman kidnapped and how does kidnap of policewoman aid in increasing any safety measure of any nuclear plant. How does lying about police protecting the nuclear plant help?
It appears that gunda elements have taken hold areas around a nuclear power plant which could be a plan. Hopefully the rowdy mobs will be shown their place which is inside prison. The question is those who give cover of any kind to rowdy mobs - these inciters should be kept away too.
Posted: 01 Oct 2012 20:02
by PratikDas
RamaY wrote:I wonder why people who prostrate at the feet of western science do not believe Indian nuclear scientists who say KK is safe, and instead enslave their minds to Christian fathers and JNU-bachelors of Arts NGOs?
Well said.
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 06:13
by Theo_Fidel
RamaY wrote:I wonder why people who prostrate at the feet of western science do not believe Indian nuclear scientists who say KK is safe...
They have never said anything of the kind. Go read AG and then comment. The truth is they are all under a gag order. Privately many have quietly expressed more caution. KKNPP is not Indian technology. It is a full order of magnitude larger than anything Indian engineers have previously operated. If blind faith is now necessary to be a citizen I suggest we can all go home now. Not one more mention of 2G or Railway accident or Narora fire or Kaiga collapse or Kaveri engine.....
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 09:51
by svenkat
Discontent over denial of jobs to local youth in Kalpakkam plant
Discontent is brewing among the villagers of Puthupattinam abutting the Kalpakkam nuclear power plant in Kancheepuram district. The villagers, mostly fishermen, are not worried over possible disasters of a nuclear power plant. But their concern is more about denial of employment opportunity to local youth and the depleting natural resources, which they believe, is a result of the nuclear plant operations over the years.
Years of simmering discontent have now evolved into a charter of demands that include uninterrupted power for the village, suitable employment for educated youth in the locality and creation of basic infrastructure, police sources said on Monday.
With the villagers often gathering to discuss further course of action, the Kancheepuram Superintendent of Police S. Manoharan held discussions with them last fortnight. Even on Sunday evening, he visited the village and spoke to the community representatives.
“I had to intervene because some kind of discontent was brewing among the villagers. The local people wanted jobs for eligible persons, power supply from the nuclear power plant, potable water etc. I have conveyed their grievances to the Madras Atomic Power Station authorities. They have promised to take up the issue with the Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd.,” he said.
According to the Puthipattinam panchayat president Kaliaperumal, a majority of employees in the Kalpakkam nuclear plant and atomic research station belonged to other States.
“Though there are hundreds of educated youths in our village, they are never considered for a suitable job. Thousands of our people are employed as daily wage workers in the plant and are paid Rs. 150 per day…we are demanding that their services be regularised,” he said.
Sustained suction of water had caused depletion of the groundwater table.
“The groundwater level which was 10 feet some 20 years ago is more than 120 feet now. At least 30 varieties of fish have vanished along the Kalpakkam coast. how true ?Hundreds of fishermen have lost their livelihood. We are not protesting against nuclear energy…we are only saying give us some facilities,” he said.
Another resident of Puthupattinam said the local people had given lands for the plant and supported all its activities.
Generating employment for the local community and providing basic amenities such as power, water and roads is the fundamental principle of any major industry. “Now they are supplying nuclear power to other States while we are living in darkness due to prolonged power cuts. In the event of any eventuality owing to the nuclear power plant, we will the first to suffer. If the same situation continues, we will have no other option but to take the agitation to the next level,” he said adding that the district SP had held several rounds of talks and the local people were confident that he would take up their grievances at the appropriate level.
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 13:33
by Neela
The story goes like this.
A Russian nuclear scientist was visiting Kanyakumari as a tourist. He thought "What a great place to build a nuclear plant". He went back to Russia. Told Brezhnev. He phoned his Indian counterpart! And KKNPP was born. Everything was decided within days. AERB signed blank papers and forwarded to Power ministry. Power ministry and environment ministry are best buddies...in fact beer buddies! So much so, power ministry could sign on behalf beer ministry...err...sorry environment ministry! All this took all of 3 days!
The only resistance came from DAE. The Russians and the other Indian ministries said :" Oye nigga DAE, what do you know of VVER-1000". DAE cowered and signed the papers!
That is the story of KKNPP.
Moral of the story: Brown man no understand science. BRown man no understand total installed VVER and and safety record. Brown man pray at mushroom cloud as it is angry spirits of forefathers! Brown man closes eyes and prays for magic that comes through wires.
White man , smokes beedi and says " heh heh hehe ...these niggah....it is like stealing candy from a kid"
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 14:20
by chetak
svenkat wrote:
“Though there are hundreds of educated youths in our village, they are never considered for a suitable job. Thousands of our people are employed as daily wage workers in the plant and are paid Rs. 150 per day…we are demanding that their services be regularised,” he said.
Sustained suction of water had caused depletion of the groundwater table.
“The groundwater level which was 10 feet some 20 years ago is more than 120 feet now. At least 30 varieties of fish have vanished along the Kalpakkam coast. how true ?Hundreds of fishermen have lost their livelihood. We are not protesting against nuclear energy…we are only saying give us some facilities,” he said.
Another resident of Puthupattinam said the local people had given lands for the plant and supported all its activities.
Generating employment for the local community and providing basic amenities such as power, water and roads is the fundamental principle of any major industry. “Now they are supplying nuclear power to other States while we are living in darkness due to prolonged power cuts. In the event of any eventuality owing to the nuclear power plant, we will the first to suffer. If the same situation continues, we will have no other option but to take the agitation to the next level,” he said adding that the district SP had held several rounds of talks and the local people were confident that he would take up their grievances at the appropriate level.
I recently returned from a five day visit to a very remote place where there were (only) two major PSUs within 20Kms of each other. No other industry or local administration worth the name.
The two PSUs have done all that the folks above are asking plus very much more.
Just like what has been done in the reactor surroundings.
Sophisticated company hospital facilities are being provided to the residents and way way above the permissible number of locals have been employed in temporary jobs and a great many also have permanent jobs. The claim of the locals of having
"Though there are hundreds of educated youths in our village, they are never considered for a suitable job" is just bunkum as it is usually the case. Schools, uniforms, books,fees,houses, stoves,houses and farm animals and what not is being routinely provided but still they are unable to satisfy the "requirements" because of the local frocks and local udayakumars. These folks are being willfully and maliciously stirred up to the frocks and udayakumars can consolidate their powers.
Such a radicalized population may also pose a security threat in terms of ease of entry and opportunity to create a reactor safety incident that will nicely serve some white skinned foreigner safely ensconced in europe or us of a whilst he is licking the wounds of not being "rightfully" awarded a nuke building contract to purvey his "superior western engineered reactors" to third world yokels. For us unpad yindoos, Russia is as "west" as they come.

Posted: 02 Oct 2012 14:26
by nakul
“The groundwater level which was 10 feet some 20 years ago is more than 120 feet now. At least 30 varieties of fish have vanished along the Kalpakkam coast
They have started blaming the reactor even before it went operational. Imagine how it will be when things start functioning.
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 14:34
by chetak
nakul wrote:^^^
“The groundwater level which was 10 feet some 20 years ago is more than 120 feet now. At least 30 varieties of fish have vanished along the Kalpakkam coast
They have started blaming the reactor even before it went operational. Imagine how it will be when things start functioning.
Naah, It's just the fruit of the loins effect, sirjee.
There would have been a lot of fruits in the past twenty years
The fish may have gone to the gelf for a better life

There is no concept of sustainable fishing so the fishermen empty out the seas on a routine basis. Can't fully blame them as the frocks do not spread knowledge on these aspects but solely concentrate on a different harvest.
Earlier the locals usually blamed the brahmins for everything and now it is the reactor.
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 15:47
by Anand K
AFAIK the raw water source for Kalpakkam Station is the sea...... so bhyfor is the plant blamed for depleting water table, hain?
I Googled and found that the plant sits almost on top of an aquifier system that serves a few villages.... is it possible some boreholes are used for..... say, make-up water purposes or to add to the main source? In that case depletion is possible.... plants drink a lot of water and one of the first things debated (even on during PFS/FEED stage) is the Water Balance Diagram.
Even then, a drop of around 100 feet in 20 years? Might have something to do with the shape and volume of the aquifier but even then....

Posted: 02 Oct 2012 17:52
by pentaiah
When the foundation was dug and poured the water table got pushed down to more than 200 feet
as India does not have the necessary skills in soil mechanics, hydraulics and geology expertise.
Russian expertise is limited snow and permafrost onlee no?
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 20:34
by Theo_Fidel
BTW. The reactor uses vacuum distillation system for extracting sweet water from the sea using waste heat. It can only run once the reactor is running. At present all water is drawn using several borewells on site. There was a push to take water from the Pechiparai/Thamirabharani but strong opposition nixed it.
The plant requires about 5,000 tons of sweet water per day of which roughly 1,500 tons is potable water. This is roughly 5-6 acre feet of water per day. Or about 1500 acre feet per year for 15+ years. Since this is a low rainfall area with low soil permeability recharge in the plant area is many times slower than this. It is entirely likely that the plant is right now over drawing ground water. During normal operation desalination provides all of this sweet water. Right now during start up this is all supplied from bore wells. This was true during construction as well. Every time the plant is shut down for maintenance/refueling/etc often for weeks/months at a time the bore wells will be switched on. Still one hopes that after start up less pumping occurs and the ground water rebounds. If it does not it will be another long term heartburn for the locals.
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 21:25
by nakul
How efficient is distillation for producing sweet water from salty? With a nuclear power plant, power should not be a problem.
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 22:08
by Anand K
Re Theo
Errr.... I think you are confusing the Kalpakkam Plant Raw Water System with the new Desalination Plant that utilizes Waste Heat. The former is for raw water which is treated for plant use and the latter is a "spin-off"/CSR thingie. I don't think they planned to run a NPP through borewells! And that too in an area like Kalpakkam.
And this 5000 ton figure.... is this the total TPD, i.e. water consumed per day? There's the difference between "use" and "consume", right?
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 23:12
by Lilo
svenkat wrote:
“The groundwater level which was 10 feet some 20 years ago is more than 120 feet now. At least 30 varieties of fish have vanished along the Kalpakkam coast. how true ?
Not quite true ... even if Kalpakkam operation is really consuming groundwater at the phenomenal levels it is claimed .. the water level cannot fall so easily at the coast - simply because the drawn out fresh water will be replaced by seawater ingress in the watertable. So to be accurate the report should have mentioned it as groundwater salinity problem - but i guess ground water falling by 100ft is more catchy and able to stir up a crowd.

Posted: 02 Oct 2012 23:40
by pentaiah
Its not Kalpakam, its kundanakulam...
object of our discussions
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 23:51
by Theo_Fidel
This is not correct.
The plant is on ocean side and between the villages and ocean. Salt water ingress would affect the plant first!
Also the Site is underlain by Peninsular Gneiss a particularly resistant formation. Water only perches on top of it. It is quite easy for pumping to lower the water table. There is no backflow contact between the Ocean and the subsurface water in this area.
That said, there has been excessive pumping for agriculture for the past few decades. Compared to that the effect of the plant may be less than stated.
Posted: 02 Oct 2012 23:57
by nakul
Is there a solution that will not cause convenience to anyone? Everytime I go and use a vehicle, I am contributing to global warming. If we start using coal, air pollution will increase.

Do we want this daily or possible radioactive contamination? Union carbide showed that fertilizer production is unsafe. Let's go back to using gobar.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 00:43
by Lilo
Theo_Fidel wrote:This is not correct.
The plant is on ocean side and between the villages and ocean. Salt water ingress would affect the plant first!
Also the Site is underlain by Peninsular Gneiss a particularly resistant formation. Water only perches on top of it. It is quite easy for pumping to lower the water table. There is no backflow contact between the Ocean and the subsurface water in this area.
That said, there has been excessive pumping for agriculture for the past few decades. Compared to that the effect of the plant may be less than stated.
Theoji,
So are you saying that Kalpakkam groundwater has no contact with seawater even though its sited bang on the coast ??
Please read the below snippets - especially the conclusion.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Posted: 03 Oct 2012 00:43
by Lilo
Pji,
My quoted portion of Hindu article itself contains the reference to Kalpakkam and it being held responsible for water table falling 100ft in the area. In the article a same same comparison to kundankulam is being made by some to rile the crowd.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 00:47
by Theo_Fidel
Nakul,
Technically Shale gas is Gobar so in effect yes we are going back to Gobar onleee...
So let me ask a question. Have you done the math on how Nuclear power will replace coal. Or even take up 1/2 the load that Coal does.
-----------------------------------------------------
Lilo,
There is no backflow contact between the ocean and the land due to Granitic (Charnockite) rock, mostly impermeable. Your sketch showing ocean water flowing below the freshwater below the land surface is incorrect. The Saline ingress is only within the sedimentary stratum on the Eastern edge.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 00:54
by nakul
Technically even a banana is radioactive.
Who is talking about replacing. We need to add more. Would Mumbai or Chennai have been where they are without nuclear power plants in their vicinity? Scientists who work at BARC choose to stay with their families within walking distance of nuclear plants. So do 1 crore people. These are research reactors not the consumer walla safe & tested that Kudankulam is getting. Its not that there is any shortage of air pollution where it is diffcult to stand on the edge of a busy road.

Add coal pollution if you will and the villagers' nightmare of diseases will actually come true.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 00:59
by disha
nakul wrote:Do we want this daily or possible radioactive contamination? Union carbide showed that fertilizer production is unsafe. Let's go back to using gobar.
Nakulji, cows kill more people than nuclear power generating plants.
Killer cows in US
http://tierneylab.blogs.nytimes.com/200 ... rous-cows/
Killer cows in UK
http://www.independent.co.uk/environmen ... 76775.html
However Udhaykumar and the "non-state" frocks from the tamizh church are milking the Kudankulam issue and made it a "green" cash cow . All maya onlee.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 01:10
by pentaiah
one should travel by road in UP and Uttar Khand and pass by granite quarry or pass by Shahabad in Maharashtra, Karnataka the amount of abrasive dust in the air is as good as dirty bomb explosion...
any we cant win with self appointed gurus who are hell bent on thwarting any....
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 01:14
by Theo_Fidel
Ah yes! we are back to the famous homeostatic banana.......
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 01:38
by Lilo
Theo_Fidel wrote:
Lilo,
There is no backflow contact between the ocean and the land due to Granitic (Charnockite) rock, mostly impermeable. Your sketch showing ocean water flowing below the freshwater below the land surface is incorrect. The Saline ingress is only within the sedimentary stratum on the Eastern edge.
Theoji,
Did you read the snippets i took the pain to post ?
It clearly mentions "unconfined" aquifier system (meaning ground water flowing into sea) contained in a
sedimentary and weathered charkonite (didnt you call it gneiss according to you first post ?? now you call it granite - and granite is super weathered in tropical climes because of chemical weathering and jointing process - how will such a weathered rock in substratum prevent seawater ingress ? ) substratum. Anyway how can anyone expect an emergent coast like coramandel coast to lack sedimentary substratum in the first place ? hain ?
Atleast you could have used that "lack of backflow contact" argument to the Jaitapur plant (when protests begin there) - its situated on a submergent coast (konkan) .
Please provide logic/evidence to anything you claim which is wildly out of the bounds of ordinary - like when you calim that seawater is not ingressing in the groundwater of a coastal site.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 04:02
by RamaY
Theo_Fidel wrote:RamaY wrote:I wonder why people who prostrate at the feet of western science do not believe Indian nuclear scientists who say KK is safe...
They have never said anything of the kind. Go read AG and then comment. The truth is they are all under a gag order. Privately many have quietly expressed more caution. KKNPP is not Indian technology. It is a full order of magnitude larger than anything Indian engineers have previously operated. If blind faith is now necessary to be a citizen I suggest we can all go home now. Not one more mention of 2G or Railway accident or Narora fire or Kaiga collapse or Kaveri engine.....
Weren't you the one who said one should BLINDLY accept the constipation ooops constitution of India?
If you doubt Indians so much that they are responsible for 2G, Railway accident or narora fire or anything else, then why are you living in India?
Perhaps you should immigrate to the safe hands of .... (you know... Three miles island, 9/11, concord, and you can use this map
http://www.google.com/search?q=europe+% ... 24&bih=672)
Good luck...
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 05:13
by Virupaksha
ramay garu, Please revisit your post.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 05:44
by RamaY
I tried my best virupaksha ji.
Here is a poster who oscillated from Vatican being against nuclear energy to Indian engineers being the reasons for 2G

. My peanut brian cannot take any more of this BS after the past few pages where the reasons against KK project ranged from ones in a 26 million year meteoroid collision to TN Christians paying for the benefits to India.
Here are few gems
Theo_Fidel wrote:
The source of angst is lack of benefit for locals compared to risks being taken in their backyard without adequate consensus. Kalam had the right idea but GOI/DAE is too hard headed to listen. They are losing the nuclear consensus. Opposition will persist. Local have the time to do this indefinitely.
Per this moronic logic BSF should stop protecting the borders and all the border states must give up being the front-line states in indian protection.
Theo_Fidel wrote:Bade,
Opposition is to present set up. GOI should not be in charge of nuclear energy. It can't even run a post office properly. Even Kudankulam is being done on the cheap without adhering to modern western standards. If Kudankulam conformed prices/true cost would go up dramatically.
------------------------------------------------
Yes folks on the sea shore are apparently less important. And you know no one depends on the ocean for lively hood. 'Affecting' the ocean is apparently not a problem.
Per this post
1. Since GoI, which is good enough to release the Italian sailors and implement the secular (read christianity without church) constitution but is not good enough to run even a post office.
2. But the same GoI is good enough to have disproportionate Christian leadership.
P.S 1: we don't even know if this poster is a real Christian. This is what passes our secular verification systems.
3. Western systems that led to Hiroshima, Nagasaki, three-miles island and recently the Fukushima orgy are good only... Anything Indian is bad bad onlee.
Theo_Fidel wrote:RamaY,
What kind of nonsense is this. Nuclear technology itself is Western technology. In fact the entire Nuclear plant is 90% west manufactured technology. For that matter modern Hinduism has almost appropriated all the aspects of Jesus freaks and Islam freaks to now create Hindu freaks. You yourself have repeatedly denigrated modern India and wished for its end how can you now pretend to be its defender. One or the other boss, if you don't want pain in your crotch from straddling the fence....
As you usual we are now OT on this thread as well.....
This takes the cake

. If there was no west, humanity would have never discovered the potential of nuclear energy. How divine it is... What a slave one should be to comeup with this gem?
The "modern" India I wished for its end was this dhimmi India which lost its self-respect and self-realization that knowledge is not one's property and it always existed for a true seeker.
I can dig deeper in to this lamb-shit (that is what Jesus called the stupids of his time) to get us more gem.
P.S2: I am part of the Indian majority. Per democracy majority rules. Secondly it is majority comminity's benevolence that allowed the survival of slaves of foreign faiths and lands. As an Indian, I too have equal rights to propagate my religion and fight for MY BHARAT's destiny.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 05:52
by Virupaksha
Lets just say with all that into consideration, you dont gain by getting kicked out of this forum. Please pick your battles carefully.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 06:23
by RoyG
As I said before, Theo_Fidel will not change his views. Please don't waste your time responding. We must focus on other nuclear topics.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 08:13
by disha
RoyG wrote:As I said before, Theo_Fidel will not change his views. Please don't waste your time responding. We must focus on other nuclear topics.
I think we are all for *valid* points where safety has been compromised and it is okay for posters to bring out the safety issues. At the same time it has to be balanced. It is nobody's case to change Theo's views.
However it becomes a case for Theo to acknowledge the truth that the Tamizh church is in cahoots in this protests and introduced a religious angle to an objective debate. Further innocent Indian lives have been lost due to the Tamizh church and nary a pipsquick of remorse and of course no criticism of the tamizh church or even certain leaders of the tamizh church. The question does arise "Does religion come first?"., that is exhibit objectivity everywhere except when the church is involved., even if it has become an inadvertant accessory to murder. Defending such a position, is not just an assault on logic., but an assault on our belief systems as well.
The sham of PMANE was to be seen, "relay hunger strikes" for example! They did not even have the conviction of potti sri-ramulu to sit on a permanent hunger strike till death comes calling. And what about surrendering to police? Did they? They are hiding in the church knowing fully well that any entrance of police in the church will lead to "religious conflagaration".
As usual, follow the money, and just like Pope Leo X., PMANE and some members of the tamizh church are using the name of christ and the innocent members of the church to line up their pockets with money and power. I will not be surprised if this mafia is interlinked with drug running or land grabbing.
I think it is duty bound for people who believe in India (or Bharat) to save the innocent souls of the tamizh church mislead by their leaders in cohort with PMANE. Indeed several lives are at stake.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 19:25
by vishvak
To say that people should benefit as per risks in backyard is baseless meaning there are no such standards. This does not happen in Mumbai where locals do not gather around energy plants to blackmail and goonda elements don't run amok. In fact Christians in Mumbai have not done so. Koli people in Mumbai, the original inhabitants of islands have not indulged in blackmail and goondaism. There are no such standards at all in fact no such standards even for goonda elements to run riot around nuclear plants. This must be curtailed at the earliest lest nuclear power plants safety and energy become bargaining chips for dirty politics.
I am not sure if in any first world country the Church gives such shelters to people wanted by police.
The country has paid enough for delay in commissioning of nuclear power plants and people are paying huge sums every day for alternate energy sources till now which are more polluting than nuclear power. Hopefully people around gather up and force police to arrest wanted elements who are creating baseless troubles and allegations for which people have to pay individually and collectively.
Posted: 03 Oct 2012 20:29
by RoyG
disha wrote:RoyG wrote:As I said before, Theo_Fidel will not change his views. Please don't waste your time responding. We must focus on other nuclear topics.
I think we are all for *valid* points where safety has been compromised and it is okay for posters to bring out the safety issues. At the same time it has to be balanced. It is nobody's case to change Theo's views.
However it becomes a case for Theo to acknowledge the truth that the Tamizh church is in cahoots in this protests and introduced a religious angle to an objective debate. Further innocent Indian lives have been lost due to the Tamizh church and nary a pipsquick of remorse and of course no criticism of the tamizh church or even certain leaders of the tamizh church. The question does arise "Does religion come first?"., that is exhibit objectivity everywhere except when the church is involved., even if it has become an inadvertant accessory to murder. Defending such a position, is not just an assault on logic., but an assault on our belief systems as well.
The sham of PMANE was to be seen, "relay hunger strikes" for example! They did not even have the conviction of potti sri-ramulu to sit on a permanent hunger strike till death comes calling. And what about surrendering to police? Did they? They are hiding in the church knowing fully well that any entrance of police in the church will lead to "religious conflagaration".
As usual, follow the money, and just like Pope Leo X., PMANE and some members of the tamizh church are using the name of christ and the innocent members of the church to line up their pockets with money and power. I will not be surprised if this mafia is interlinked with drug running or land grabbing.
I think it is duty bound for people who believe in India (or Bharat) to save the innocent souls of the tamizh church mislead by their leaders in cohort with PMANE. Indeed several lives are at stake.
This is what I meant. He wont be able to acknowledge valid arguments. The minute he does his agenda will go up in flames. This issue has spanned many pages and nothing else on the nuclear front has been adequately touched upon. Nothing on research, future reactor designs, fissile reserves and management, nuclear weapons program, three stage program, FMCT, etc. But hey, perhaps I'm being selfish. This can last another 30 pages. Jai ho!
Posted: 08 Oct 2012 06:40
by Suppiah
In addition to engaging in contract killing and preparing mafiosi style hit list of political rivals to be eliminated, comrade Beijing puppets of Kerala block important national projects ...
http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp ... 976037.ece
As usual the objective is to destroy progress and allow Beijing to steal a march..
As it is, the inability to proceed with the project at the original Nilgiris site has set back the project by at least six-seven years. Consequently, China has upstaged INO in one of its main science goals....Politicians are doing a great disservice to scientific advance in India by whipping up unfounded fears about the neutrino project
One wonders the reasons why Chindu chooses to highlight just this one aspect of Marxists anti-national stance...perhaps because this guy has been a thorn in the flesh of the 'establishment'
Posted: 15 Oct 2012 10:14
by SSridhar
A Liability for our Nuclear Plans - Dr. MR Srinivasan in
The Hindu
A must read.