Page 72 of 99
Re: India-US Relations : News and Discussion
Posted: 01 Feb 2015 20:44
by UlanBatori
Today there is a German belt extending from eastern Pennsylvania to Oregon. Bloomberg describes data from the American Community Survey:
A majority of counties in Pennsylvania, Michigan, Illinois, Missouri, Iowa, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Kansas, Nebraska, Wyoming, Montana and the Dakotas are predominantly German, and they make up a plurality of Ohio and Indiana counties.
Census figures show German-Americans are slightly older and better-educated than the general population, with one-third having a bachelor’s degree or higher. More than 85 percent live in the same place as they did in 2009, and 40 percent are employed in management, business, science or the arts.
Read more:
British Americans are Americans whose ancestry originates wholly or partly in the United Kingdom (England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland). People seldom use the term to describe themselves (1,172,050 chose it in the 2009 American Community Survey); it is primarily a demographic or historical research category.
According to American Community Survey in 2009, Americans reporting British ancestry are 40,234,652, or 13.0% of the total U.S. population, a significant drop from the 1980 United States Census where 49,598,035 reported as having English ancestry and 61,311,449 reported as having British ancestry.[2] Using the self reported 2010 census figures British Americans are the second largest European ancestry group after German Americans. However, this figure is likely an undercount, as a large proportion of Americans of British descent tend not to claim British ancestry or identify solely with other ancestry. Eight out of the ten most common surnames in the United States are of British origin.[4]
As to the wealth, let me think REAL hard:
Group A cheated and mass-murdered the natives, even using smallpox-laden blankets brought from other parts where they were cheating and mass-murdering the natives, using slaves to transport the blankets to America and the loot to their homes. They thus ended up OWNING most of the arable land, the towns, the factories and farms.
Group B came as immigrants and worked as laborers in the fields and in the factories, generating profit for Group A.
TWO world Wars were fought, where the home country of Group A 'won' and the home country of Group B was totally crushed. In between the Group B home country was bled dry with "war reparations" and their economy was utterly destroyed with hyper-inflation.
Let's see... which one should be holding more of the wealth 70 years later ?
REALLY tough to figure that one out, isn't it?
The One that Hyphenates their names!
People seldom use the term to describe themselves (1,172,050 chose it in the 2009 American Community Survey)
Posted: 01 Feb 2015 22:01
by Arjun
UlanBatori wrote: As to the wealth, let me think REAL hard:
Good one,
Mr. Mongolian American
I am the last person to carry water for the Brits, but unfortunately since we are on the topic of the entrenched elite of the US - it is they that represent this elite, more so than the Germans. Language advantage could be one more strong reason for the differential in income statistics over the years.
This doesn't in any way change the broader picture of the last few decades - where there is not much to differentiate between the various shades of Germanics or of European ethnicities for that matter. The outperformance of Jews and Asians (primarily Chinese and Indians) in elite education IS the real story - and that is only gathering further steam. Check out the latest Intel Science awards - neatly divvied up between the BIG 3 races and leaving crumbs for the lone German American, or Irish or Italian American.
The majority of British Americans, German Americans and Irish Americans do self-report as such - in other words they do hyphenate.
All that the above quote is saying is that most British Americans chose a different hyphenation (English American or Scot American) rather than British.
Posted: 01 Feb 2015 22:02
by Amber G.
CNN’s Fareed Zakaria GPS today featured a wide-ranging interview with President Barack Obama in
New Delhi as the President concluded his state visit to India. Worth watching. There are Videos and a full transcript of the interview can be found
here
Posted: 01 Feb 2015 22:17
by ramana
Folks most of what tyou are talking about is not germane to his thread but to Understanding US hread. Finally folks now get why I started that thread. Will transfer most of the posts there.
No more on this topic here. Continue there.
Posted: 02 Feb 2015 20:13
by pankajs
Learned maulaners, It is all over media that Modi hugged Ombaba and some commentary even in India seems to imply that Modi forced himself on Ombaba. To me it appears that it was Ombaba who seems to have made the first move. He is the one who move towards Modi. Not really earth shattering but still would love to hear your views.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XfoM377Bs5g
Start @ 3:00
Posted: 02 Feb 2015 20:18
by KJo
pankajs wrote:Learned maulaners, It is all over media that Modi hugged Ombaba and some commentary even in India seems to imply that Modi forced himself on Ombaba. To me it appears that it was Ombaba who seems to have made the first move. Not really earth shattering but still would love to hear your views.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XfoM377Bs5g
Start @ 3:00
Yes, looks like Ombaba made the first move. I can only imagine how much khijli this would be giving to the Pakis, with the "Hindoo fundamentalist" PM we have.

Posted: 02 Feb 2015 20:24
by pankajs
You should watch the video where the ARY anchor talks of the *Gujarat ka kasai*. Another goes into details of the hug, Modi was sweating and how Ombaba had a grimace and was looking elsewhere during the hug ... all to prove that Modi had forced himself on sam bahadur.
Baki commentary does not trouble me but the Indian ones do.
Posted: 02 Feb 2015 20:57
by vishvak
"Gujarat ka Kasai" is another version of "butcher" word tomtomed about in so-called NGOs. There is a wikipedia entry
linkfor it, with comments from
wiki-consensus discussion stressing how it is referred from political speeches by a paki editor. Another bunch of people supporting such nomenclature
link are ofmi.org as per
this link. Some names such as Mohan Ram Paul, director of Ambedkar Sikh foundation etc. Going by name, he is not Sikh but whatever works in USA really.
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 00:33
by Amber G.
pankajs wrote:..
Baki commentary does not trouble me but the Indian ones do.
Yes, it is not only Bakis, who without shame, use "Gujarat Ka Kasai" type adjectives.. and it is not only against NaMo.. One has "O'Bomber", "rent boys", "House n*g**s" and other vile stuff thrown in for Indian leaders, it's friends and even ordinary citizens with absolutely no justification.. Tells more about the author's mindset than anything else.
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 01:09
by ramana
Shreeman wrote:^^^
Little Italy -- great! Eeaat souuume peeezza.
Chinatown -- fabulous. Lets hold a dragon parade.
Japantown, koreatown (now with own sniper security!) -- ok?
Indian-town?
Artesia, Ca.
A suburb of Los Angles. The stretch of Pioneer Blvd.
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 01:27
by Shreeman
ramana wrote:Shreeman wrote:^^^
Indian-town?
Artesia, Ca.
A suburb of Los Angles. The stretch of Pioneer Blvd.
Yes, though devon street/avenu in chicago probably takes that crown nationally. In the light of the "shedding labels" debate one has to recognize neither of these areas find themselves in the limelight as tourist attractions or sources of pride as this other lot do.
If you were to takea duckboat in boston, or a hoho in san francisco, you are sure to know, face, eat this heritage. Indian, not so much.
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 10:32
by Philip
The claim is that the Russian plants produce power at half the cost of US/French reactors.full details in appropriate tds.
There are many unresolved details in the Indo-US N-deal follow through,and if the cost is going to be exorbitantly high in comparison to Russian of even French reactors,why buy them?
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/t ... epage=true
Kudankulam power cheaper than U.S. proposals: Russia
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 11:43
by schinnas
Shreeman wrote:
Shreeman wrote:^^^
Indian-town?
If you were to takea duckboat in boston, or a hoho in san francisco, you are sure to know, face, eat this heritage. Indian, not so much.
Boston and several cities also have a well publicized dragon race and celebrate Chinese new year in big way. On the other hand, even Indian restaurants are shy of celebrating India new year. I have seen several restaurants not even lit up for Diwali! We suck at brand building big time. Indian temples are also notoriously insulated compared to Buddhist temples in USA that are more welcoming of US visitors.
Even the yoga parade, etc., in US are often done by American practitioners of Yoga! Except for Sri Sri's Art of living and late BKS Iyengar very few have actually helped in India brand building in US.
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 15:41
by pankajs
A thought > The noclear deal between India and US being a *done deal* is not really about its commercial implementation. It seems more to indicate that it will no more be an issue between Indian and US.
US will still be interested in getting some returns BUT once India implements its part of the bargain US will accept that as closure irrespective of commercial outcome. I think that is a very good outcome and an indication that we are over the hump.
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 15:42
by Shreeman
Do all threads get their 72? edit -- never mind, they dont.
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 21:16
by svinayak
vishvak wrote:"Gujarat ka Kasai" is another version of "butcher" word tomtomed about in so-called NGOs. There is a wikipedia entry
linkfor it, with comments from
wiki-consensus discussion stressing how it is referred from political speeches by a paki editor. Another bunch of people supporting such nomenclature
link are ofmi.org as per
this link. Some names such as Mohan Ram Paul, director of Ambedkar Sikh foundation etc. Going by name, he is not Sikh but whatever works in USA really.
DO not use any words from foriegn TV and Pak TV
Do not use terms and analogy used by NGOs who work for foreign govts
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 21:19
by svinayak
matrimc wrote:
The system is evolving. How many people in the US go to church Sunday morning or vespers on a weekday? My informal observation is that it is small fraction of the populace.
They have home churches now. DOnt be fooled
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 21:22
by svinayak
Guddu wrote:
Problem with Piyush Jindal is that he is ashamed of his Indian roots, he converted his religion, all so that he could in his mind be indistinguishable from Americans. I imagine if Piyush bhai was to run for prez, someone would ask about his pagan religion and sdre background.
While he is running from his roots, most white immigrants are proud of their roots. I don't think Piyushbhai would be caught dead visiting his relatives in India. This is no commentary on his skills and ability as a governor.
http://www.deccanherald.com/content/455 ... risis.html
Jindal has to deal with his own deamons. Also this identity crisis will affect his image and also his chance for role
He will be seen as confused and unable to overcome his crisis
American Presidents dont have these kind of problems
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 21:26
by KLNMurthy
svinayak wrote:Guddu wrote:
Problem with Piyush Jindal is that he is ashamed of his Indian roots, he converted his religion, all so that he could in his mind be indistinguishable from Americans. I imagine if Piyush bhai was to run for prez, someone would ask about his pagan religion and sdre background.
While he is running from his roots, most white immigrants are proud of their roots. I don't think Piyushbhai would be caught dead visiting his relatives in India. This is no commentary on his skills and ability as a governor.
Jindal has to deal with his own deamons. ...
And he is good at dealing with demons. He conducted an exorcism on a girl when in college.
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 21:43
by Mort Walker
svinayak wrote:
Jindal has to deal with his own deamons. Also this identity crisis will affect his image and also his chance for role
He will be seen as confused and unable to overcome his crisis
American Presidents dont have these kind of problems
Interestingly enough Jindal's brother and parents never converted. However, none of them have given interviews to the press on this topic. There was one report sometime back that they were either part of the OFBJP or RSS supporters. Bobby is trying to set himself up as a VP candidate on the Republican ticket.
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 22:01
by svinayak
Amber G. wrote:Slightly amusing to see Kissinger and Albright's testimony in recent US Congressional (Senate Armed Services Committee) hearing.
(The one in which McCain got mad and called the police because a few people chanted inside "Arrest Kissinger the War Criminal")
Here is a story in one paper..
India is now entering the Asia equation: Henry Kissinger
India was a target in the last 40 years and rest of Asia was told not to partner with India deliberately.
Now the signal is that they can form alliance with India to contain China. India needs to get out of this fake trap of Uncle.
Is the agreement between US and India has 90% trade and commerce and 10% defence then it is normal
IF the defence trade crosses 30% then it is a problem and it means India is inside the US geo political game
India need to guard this very carefully.
India needs independent allaicne with Japan, Vietnam, Thailand, SL, Nepal , Myanmar
India need trade allaince with ASEAN, AUstralia, Indonasia
Posted: 03 Feb 2015 22:37
by vishvak
svinayak wrote:matrimc wrote:
The system is evolving. How many people in the US go to church Sunday morning or vespers on a weekday? My informal observation is that it is small fraction of the populace.
Could you elaborate please? Is "moving to suburbs" from cities connected to this?
Reminds of this article
Why Sunday morning remains America's most segregated hour
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 01:20
by SBajwa
by UlanBatori
Soon Jindal began dating a girl named Kathy. Cute and blond, she was Catholic. According to Jindal's writings, their relationship began on the top floor of a downtown hotel after a high school dance. That night, in between their attempts to toss quarters into the large ornamental fountain twenty-two stories below, Kathy told Bobby that "she wanted to be a lawyer so she could serve on the Supreme Court and stop the country from killing babies.
OT but!!!
This happens to lots of people Including myself and my 2-3 friends in 80s. A typical story is a flirting blonde invites you to a date and which follows like this "Church to a Restaurant to her house" where you meet the parents who first would admire your running away from lions/tigers/elephants in India and then ask you to convert. One funny incident (now it is funny) is one of my friends (19 years old then) used his reverse charms and got the girl pregnant., now she refused to abort. We friends took turns to take him to Temple every monday and after fasting of 21 mondays Lord Shiva listened to him and there was a miscarriage.
BTW. politicians are made of different variety than us common folks. I am still teaching people around me the correct way to pronounce my name while many have changed their names to suit the people around us.
There is an old saying in Punjab that the person who has changed his parent's given name is not a MAN of TRUST. "Jinne apna naa wata liya ooh banda hi nahi"
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 02:08
by SBajwa
Richard Verma is actually Rahul Verma. His wife is Armenian-American renamed as "Pinky Verma".
His father Prof. Kamal Verma teaches English
http://www.ratemyprofessors.com/ShowRat ... tid=151432
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 02:13
by member_22733
SBajwa wrote: We friends took turns to take him to Temple every monday and after fasting of 21 mondays Lord Shiva listened to him and there was a miscarriage.
Rather than Lord Shiva, the girl herself might have found a way in order to avoid shame (if this was a bible thumping neighborhood in the 80s). That apart, its cruel to wish something like a miscarriage (but thats OT )
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 03:06
by Shreeman
svinayak wrote:matrimc wrote:
Indeed. It is an extremely myopic view that *either* christians or jews are becoming less religious. Sunday masses are just as packed as ever -- you may just be looking up the walls of your well. Outreach in person by bible carrying old ladies and young kids alike remains troublingly high. And this is in urban areas, the rural heartland remains insanely religious.
Religious insanity (and xenophobia resulting from it) is the greatest danger to US, and will be the reason for its eventual downfall.
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 03:33
by Vayutuvan
I am in rural heartland - bible belt err necklace. But again it is a cosmopolitan micro metro - so don't know how it is in urban/rural in the rest of the bible belt.
By the way, I have seen what SBajwa says even as recently as late 1990s. Christian women are into love jihad as much as muslim men. The silver lining with the former is that no divorce is allowed in Catholicism. So the marriages do last longer (but not "till death do us part"). When the divorce happens they are not given the sacrament or baptism or whatever they do Sunday mornings in the Church - where the priest places a small piece of bread and wine in the mouth of devotees. Something similar to hindu temple practice of the temple priest distributing teertha prasada and bless using shaTha gOpam.
The rituals seem to be very similar, surprisingly.
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 03:49
by Shreeman
^^^ Indeed, the well may be only a small pennsylvania microcosm. The dutch are not getting any better. Visits to UP, PSU, and Lehigh revealed nothing that should reverse the trend nationally. Or there wouldnt be a republican presence/resurgence that has ocurred in the last two decades.
This whole outcasting business is encouragement of spousal abuse. And discrimination against anyone who walks out. And its not the last thing on the agenda of equality agitators.
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 03:55
by Vayutuvan
No not PA.
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 04:04
by Shreeman
matrimc wrote:No not PA.
Well pick a state, then. PA is as far as I have ventured *extensively* towards midwest/south. The rest of the lot VA, andd south/west --eg TN, LA that might have had some relevence to me are too scary. Carolinas are certainly not any better. You end up eating out on business with nothing on the menu you can eat and nothing the kitchen knows to make for you.
This one time, the best restaurant in a large city (favored by the local hosts) couldnt tell me what they will make, just that they will try to put together something that doesnt have a)meat, b)eggs. Thats not even that restrictive. If I added the medical restrictions, the state would have not had a place. How do you communicate under these circumstances?
Only the absolute west or north east has some italian influence that comes handy. And I will exclude IL for obvious reasons, thats an exception due to chicago. Wander out to UIUC types and you run into the same usual issues.
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 05:03
by Vayutuvan
You got me there. In any case, you have to go further south on 57 till you hit the town named after the king who cut the guardian knot, freed, and wielded Excaliber. One would get a taste of "no electricity, no machinery, horse buggy", if one is so inclined. I think you know what I mean - Harrison Ford character in the movie Witness.
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 07:50
by Shreeman
^^^ But thats not even remotely the south. Thats central new-jewish county. There is no bigger well, if thats where one gets stuck. Go north until you cross into proper upstatery to test hypotheses.
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 08:23
by Vayutuvan
That is south of UIUC

Posted: 04 Feb 2015 08:38
by JE Menon
Gents could we please take the cuisine and availability discussions to understanding the U.S thread. It is better suited there
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 08:39
by UlanBatori
Outrageously hilarious: Parthiv Parekh, Editor, publisher, owner and chief writer of Khabar, desi rag of Dera Atlanta Khan, Great Satanistan, suddenly discovered his devotion to Shri NaMO after the Indian elections, forgetting his 10 years of screeching against Hindus.
Now he has written a stinker blasting 'Bawbie" Jindal for not saying 'INDIAN-american'.

Posted: 04 Feb 2015 09:59
by pankajs
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 116890.cms
India a fundamental provider of security and economic growth: White House - PTI via ET
WASHINGTON: A day after President Barack Obama unveiled his annual budget, giving a new thrust to the Asia Pacific re-balance, the White House has said it sees India as a "fundamental provider" of security and economic growth across the region.
"In so many ways, as the US implements our re-balance, we see India as a fundamental provider of security and economic growth across the region," Phil Reiner, senior director South Asia Affairs at the National Security Council of the White House, told reporters here.
During the recently concluded summit meeting between Obama and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in New Delhi last month, Reiner said the two nations have agreed to "develop a bilateral road map" to put the essence behind this strategic vision going forward.
Describing Obama's India visit "highly successful" and as a "game-changing opportunity", Reiner said that with the meeting of two leaders in just five months, the two countries have really turned things towards a new beginning - a new energy and a new momentum. "The future (of India US relationship) is bright, and I believe the sky is the limit," he said.
This bilateral strategic partnership is a priority that the President has made since the beginning of his Administration, he said.
"The Republic Day invitation itself represents a seminal moment in our bilateral partnership. I think many were surprised by the Prime Minister's issuance of the invitation, and the President was excited and gratified to accept to be the first chief guest as US President," he said.
Reiner said the efforts with this visit was to not just ride the current wave of the moment, but to look for opportunities to try and step up what the two countries have been trying to do in recent past.
"As the first President in US history to have the honour to be chief guest and the first President to visit India twice during his tenure, we were incredibly excited to use this as a game-changing opportunity," he said.
At the same time, the White House official cautioned that there might be challenges in the relationship despite the two successful summits in the last five months.
"I'm not interested in overselling what it is that we've accomplished. There will be a time in the coming months where we again encounter a tough set of issues that we need to work through, a policy crisis or a policy difference that will require senior-level engagement," he said.
"What we have been able to take advantage of with the opportunity presented in September but here in January is to institutionalise the elevation of this partnership and create a certain amount of momentum that really cannot be reversed," Reiner said.
With the January visit, Obama and Modi moved to institutionalise their September vision by putting in place a framework that actually creates action behind the vision so that it's not just another piece of paper, he said.
"We have done this via the US-India Delhi Declaration of Friendship, where we have firmly elucidated common principles for collaborative effort going forward, but then also set in place the elements of what can make that happen: leader-level hotlines, hotlines between our national security advisers, the Two Plus Two Strategic and Commercial Dialogue, more routine leader-level summits," Reiner said.
During the visit there were breakthroughs on civil nuclear cooperation, defense, trade, and technology. "We renewed our 10-year defense framework. We agreed to initiate discussion on the parameters of a bilateral investment treaty. We saw a significant announcement on clean energy, with a huge list of cooperative and collaborative efforts that we're undertaking, but also on climate change," he said.
"We saw a commitment by the two leaders to work very closely towards positive outcomes in Paris this year, but also under the Montreal Protocol when it comes to dialing down HFCs. So we've seized the momentum created by these two engagements, both in September but most recently with the visit for Republic Day, not only to lock in these top-level seminal documents to set the framework, but also to break through on some of the most critical bilateral issues," the White House official said.
During the visit, the two sides focused on a broad variety of strategic issues: defense, civil nuclear; regional, to include Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Russia, Iran, Pakistan, the Middle East, Japan, Australia; counterterrorism, health issues, human rights, economics, trade and education, he said.
At the same time, Reiner said the United States will continue to push for further progress on things like intellectual property rights and local content requirements.
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 13:11
by pankajs
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 118586.cms
India working to fix army modernisation glitches for edge over neighbours: Pentagon
WASHINGTON: Aimed at addressing the problems of ageing equipment and to better posture itself in defence against Pakistan and China, the new Indian government is making efforts to overcome impediments to its major military modernisation drive, the Pentagon has said.
"India is in the midst of a major military modernisation effort - undertaken by all three military services - to address problems with its ageing equipment and to better posture itself to defend against both Pakistan and China," Lt Gen Vincent R Stewart, Director of Defense Intelligence Agency, told members of the House Armed Services Committee during a hearing on global threat assessment on Tuesday.
India, he said, is working to address impediments to modernisation, such as its cumbersome procurement process, budget constraints, and a domestic defense industry that has struggled to provide military equipment that meets service requirements.
Noting that relations with Pakistan remain strained, he said India and Pakistan engaged in periodic skirmishes on or near the Line of Control that separates Kashmir, resulting in the highest number of civilian casualties since 2003.
Track-II dialogue between the two sides continued throughout the year, but resulted in little progress in resolving bilateral disputes, he observed.
Commenting on Sino-India ties, Stewart said they maintain limited military-to-military engagement and continue to discuss their longstanding border dispute, despite occasional altercations between troops patrolling the border.
"India is concerned over Chinese logistical improvements along the border and is raising additional ground forces, improving logistical capacity, and is basing advanced fighter aircraft opposite the China border. India also is concerned over China's increased activity in South Asia and the Indian Ocean," he said.
"India continues to conduct periodic tests of its nuclear-capable missiles to enhance and verify missile reliability and capabilities. In early December 2014, India successfully tested the Agni-IV intermediate-range ballistic missile, which New Delhi claims has a range of 4,000 kilometers," he said.
The top Pentagon intelligence official said India will continue developing an ICBM, the Agni-VI, which will reportedly carry multiple warheads, and is working on the development of several variants of a submarine-launched ballistic missile.
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 18:38
by svenkat
Jayant Sinhas tweets
https://twitter.com/ibnlive/status/559255080143044608
I find it difficult to figure out where India ends & US begins. Such is our relationship:
https://twitter.com/jayantsinha
Incredible Super Bowl win for the New England Patriots! Justice for them after losing two. I had discussed this with President Obama

Wonderful to spend time chatting with President Obama @BarackObama and discussing snowfall in Boston!
The President gave a moving speech featuring the hymn Abide With Me.
What a young confident MoS.
Posted: 04 Feb 2015 19:11
by SaiK
Every country will have the same problem.. where India ends, and where it begins.

Posted: 04 Feb 2015 19:14
by JE Menon
Well said SaiK, inshallah as the years go by little by little this will become the reality...