inflation is not only based on the fuel prices. Equally important is crop management, their storage and export. That leads to infrastructure. Another imp fctor is middlemen who inflate the prices and create artificial shortage. Another factor is speculative derivative market. By just controlling gas prices the inflation of essential commodities is not going to come down.

How do you make real estate affordable to common man?

johnee ji, AP is perhaps not the right example ? for it was SS who led the parliamentary proceedings for bjp, not modi. and there are enough indicators she pursued an agenda different from what rest of bjp.

re : inflation
oil price is but one of the factors. inflation happens when there is increase in money supply without a commensurate increase in available goods & services. growth-less money injection schemes like MNREGA are perfect examples.

Rahul M wrote:johnee ji, AP is perhaps not the right example ? for it was SS who led the parliamentary proceedings for bjp, not modi. and there are enough indicators she pursued an agenda different from what rest of bjp.
Where are the indicators ? As far is seen BJP spoke in one voice on the issue in parliament and outside. It is not a off chance that TRS is not allying with congress.

NaMo seems to be very much a part of the exercise.

Latest heard on TV.

RaGa does not want to align with Laloo because of Laloo's corrupt image; and
Niku does not want to align with RaGa because of RaGa's corrupt image.

fact indeed is stranger than fiction.

johneeG wrote:Saar,
it seems to me that one of the main things driving inflation is the petrol/diesel/gas prices. In the past decade, these prices have sky-rocketed. This increases the cost of transportation(i.e. supply cost increases). Since the transportation costs of goods increases, their prices increase. It has nothing to do with demand.

To a layman like me, it seems that if the fuel/transportation prices are not curbed, then the inflation cannot be curbed. Similarly, it seems to me that there are bubbles all over in real estate which drives housing prices.

Improving the infrastructure will lead to growth & jobs. But, I don't know how it will reduce inflation. Will improving the infrastructure counter-balance the fuel rates? Will the salaries increase at the same rate as inflation(i.e. fuel rates & housing prices)?

But, you guys are the econ experts, so please correct me wherever I am wrong.
Actually no, crude prices peaked in 2007-08, and have been depresssed ever since:
Inflation on the other hand:
As you can see, overall inflation has been high since after crude prices peaked. While input costs may rise due to fuel costs, improving supply has a deflationary effect, by lowering prices. On the other hand, the lack of supply while simultaneously increasing nominal wage growth is a wasteful exercise, because most of the wage growth is eaten up by inflation. Now lets look at industrial output:
In the mid-late 2000s, it reported upto 15-16% nominal growth, and >10% real growth in some quarters. The most recent years though:
Industrial output has gone from growing gangbusters year after year, to basically flatlining - the last two years reported barely 1% growth in industrial output. The last time we had a single quarter of 5% industrial output growth was in Q3 2011. If you want to blame anything for the inflation and low growth, this is it.

Santosh wrote:Can anyone provide any information/stats on how GoI is dipping into temple funds? Most of the larger temple funds are managed by their trust e.g. TTD, Shirdi Sai Trust etc. Is it the smaller temples from where GoI is skimming funds?
http://rajeev2004.blogspot.in/2009/01/m ... ndhra.html
Sunday, January 25, 2009
Missionary agenda of YSR CM of Andhra Pradesh: From the Horse's Mouth
jan 25th, 2009

this is how the republic is supporting 'secularism', ie. the eradication of hinduism. very appropriate on republic day.

samuel reddy evangelizes at taxpayer expense.

---------- Forwarded message ----------

Rajeev,
This is from someone in the hinduism forum who compiled data on the christist YSR on distributing state money to the missionaries.

thanks
Sriram

There are always allegations about the missionary zeal of the Christian Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Y.S Rajasekhara Reddy or commonly known as YSR. But many times due to absence of hard evidence, these are often discarded as nothing more than chest-thumping.

For people who believe only in "evidences" here it is. its a collection of all the Government Orders (GO) by the Government of AP allotting funds to various Churches in AP. source of information is no secret either. It is the online portal of Govt of AP listing all the GOs it issued (the government portals are treasure houses of information; you just have to know how to dig out what you need). You can see the data in this page:

http://suryassk.googlepages.com/AP_GOs.htm

The following is the summary of the data from that sheet:

1. The GO portal is active only from February 2008, hence the data given is only of 1 year (ie., Feb 2008 to Jan 2009). Note that although vast, it is by no means comprehensive (ie., I have shown Govt 263.07 lakhs to Christian institutions. This amount is the minimum spent on them, not the maximum).

2. But even for a single year, an amount of 263.07 lakhs was given as aid to various Christian institutions.

3. More than 258 churches benefited from these grants for construction/renovation of churches.

4. An amount of 1316.54 lakhs was given as aid to various Muslim institutions through Wakf boards.

5. Not a single GO granting any aid to a Hindu temple can be found. This in spite of the fact that in AP, the Hindu temples are managed by the Endowments Ministry (put it simply they take all the money which the temples generate).

6. Govt takes away all the money which Hindu temples generate, but do not grant a single penny to any of its temples. It does not touch the money from Christian and Muslim institutions, but grants them huge amounts of money.

I have always argued that the "Missionary Charity" is just a myth ( http://ssksurya.blogspot.com/2006/05/qu ... arity.html ). These new evidence only reinforce my earlier points. I do not want to waste more words how the Christian CM of AP is perusing his missionary zeal not just through individual actions, but also through direct grants from the Government of AP. As I said, the facts speak louder. Let the reader judge for himself.

subhamoy.das wrote:
gandharva wrote:Congress targets Narendra Modi after its youth wing sweeps Gujarat university polls

Congress students' wing, the National Students' Union of India (NSUI) won six out of eight seats in Gujarat University polls, while the BJP's student wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) managed to win two seats.

http://www.ndtv.com/elections/article/e ... lls-490890
Not good. Not good at all......
Wow. Rona-dhona will not help! :rotfl: Remember, Gandhi/Patel/Desai/... were all Gujjus first and Congressis later. Guj. still has a significant Congress presence. And this is no impact on 2014 LS elections., neither 2019 elections., but yes in 2024 and *that is a good thing*., BJP needs a viable opposition in Guj.

To use RaGa analogy, Modi has achieved exit velocity to enter national politics at the right time. If he continues for the 4th term i.e. 2017, it will be unfair to BJP leadership team in Gujarat, since sooner or later people will want a change and at that time, the second rung BJP leaders will appear puny after 1.5 decades of Modi and almost 3 decades of non-stop BJP. If BJP can continue in power at the center for 2 terms, there is a strong possibility of India getting its second establishment-party. Can Gurus here comment, if there is a possibility of a de facto bipolar polity in India (at the national level)?

The news report has wrongly put on the name of Energy minister's name as Saurabh Dalal, it should be Saurabh Patel.

prahaar wrote:if there is a possibility of a de facto bipolar polity in India (at the national level)?
You mean a strong two-party system ? We already have a bipolar polity in India. They're almost in cuckooland, in fact...

from twitter:
>>thiruvalluvar ‏@tiru_2000 49m
Amma in her poll campaign speech did not say a word against NaMo/BJP/NDA.only asked for destruction of UPA and place for ADMK at centre

Well, modi playing coy with both jaya and mama. frenemy management in full force. He's spoken out against maya already, IMO.
Comer

Post by Comer »

johneeG, am no economist,which is more important to you. a. Not allowing FDI in retail b.taming inflation at consumer level.

prahaar wrote:
To use RaGa analogy, Modi has achieved exit velocity to enter national politics at the right time. If he continues for the 4th term i.e. 2017, it will be unfair to BJP leadership team in Gujarat, since sooner or later people will want a change and at that time, the second rung BJP leaders will appear puny after 1.5 decades of Modi and almost 3 decades of non-stop BJP. If BJP can continue in power at the center for 2 terms, there is a strong possibility of India getting its second establishment-party. Can Gurus here comment, if there is a possibility of a de facto bipolar polity in India (at the national level)?

ABVP had won the DUSU elections and BJP did not form the govt in Delhi (lost?).

ABVP Gujarat is most likely in the trenches right now.

In any case good luck to Congress - Hope this becomes the fountain of their new leadership. It would be really sad if the only ones to oppose NaMo after GE-2014 are two bit hustlers like AK420 & SaPa-BaSaPa. Imagine these people getting to be highlighted like brave aware opposition leadership of India.

Besides at some point Congress too has to regain foothold as an actual party of ideology even if only left of centre. The way BJP has embraced subsidies wholeheartedly Congress will have to learn to embrace free markets. The longer they avoid the learning process the harder it will be for Congress. Dheeraj Dharam Mitr aru Nari, aapad kaal parakhiye chari.
member_28468

Post by member_28468 »

Is there anywhere some scenario on net with modi as Pm of india.
I tried to search on google baba but cant find one i am looking for something long and positive.
Anywhere?..
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

NAMO has made another bad move of tying up with LJP. Cadres and party MLAs are upset. This will hurt him as there will be sabotage now. NAMO making wrong moves close to finish line. And he also seems to have peaked early. As they say, too much of any thing is bad.
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

The way he is going, first muslim aplogy and the LJP alliance, his escape may not happen.

NaMo has virtually destroyed Lalu Prasad Yadav as a feasible front by taking away LJP.

Question in politics is one of "Relative Strength". So NaMo may have dented the cohesiveness in his own front, but he has decimated the cohesion in the ranks of his opponents.

Not to forget, after LS 2014, chances of Nitish Kumar's govt collapsing are quite high, especially if he does not do well in elections. So BJP Bihar politicos have a lot to fight for beyond the current elections.

Nitish has seen some of the Parliamentary leaders of JD-U deserting ship, going over to BJP. Also BJP is weak in some seats JD-U has e.g. Hajipur. So he has brought in Ram Vilas Paswan to win those seats where LJP is strong.

By taking away LJP from RJD+Con alliance, NaMo has weakened it, and then he is using LJP to fight against JD-U where JD-U is strong and BJP is not, thus weakening JD-U.

This is a sound strategy. Once Nitish's govt collapses, Bihar is for the taking.

The move with LJP is excellent in Bihar. I am not sure which cadre is upset. These seats are from JD(U) kitty mostly anyway.
jagga

Post by jagga »

The time will come when America can dictate to India, and expect to be obeyed
'A plausible American tactic,' Rajeev Srinivasan suspects, 'would be to try and prevent the BJP and Modi from coming to power by splitting the anti-Congress vote using the AAP, and in case that fails, to follow up with a Plan B to make India ungovernable, to create mass conflict through their agents.'
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

India's Muslims wary of Narendra Modi
Mohammad Jaffar Ali, a 27-year-old stockbroker who lives in a Muslim enclave in Lucknow, acknowledged hours after the rally that Modi seemed to be a good leader.

"But I think being a good human being is far more important than being a good leader," Ali said. "I'm not voting for him."

A crowd soon gathered around Ali, a common occurrence when politics are discussed here. Among the young men was Karim Jafar, a 25-year-old medical product wholesaler and Muslim, who made a point of saying he was a "an Indian first and a Muslim second."

Jafar said: "I'm young. I don't know much about the past, but I'm hopeful for a good future and I think Modi could help bring that. No leader is perfect. I'm going to vote for Modi and see."

Two-thirds of India's population is younger than 35, and half is younger than 25. Modi's efforts to remake his party into one friendlier toward Muslims could pay dividends with young voters, many of whom were children when the Bharatiya Janata Party undertook some of its most religiously divisive actions.

Modi's call for a more business-friendly government could also lure younger voters, many of whom are leaving school with few job prospects. India's economy must create more than 115 million additional jobs over the next 10 years to accommodate the country's youthful flood, a rate of growth its economy is far from achieving.
We need to get this kind of people invest in India and propagate the message. We need to wean away Muslims from Identity politics,communal benefits instead focus of business.

subhamoy.das wrote:NAMO has made another bad move of tying up with LJP. Cadres and party MLAs are upset. This will hurt him as there will be sabotage now. NAMO making wrong moves close to finish line. And he also seems to have peaked early. As they say, too much of any thing is bad.
why are they upset? all seats to LJP used to be of the JDU quota, BTW kirti ajad is in dilli being the perfect SIL, Singh was doing ground work for next NaMo chai PE charcha.

prahaar wrote:if there is a possibility of a de facto bipolar polity in India (at the national level)?
You mean a strong two-party system ? We already have a bipolar polity in India. They're almost in cuckooland, in fact ...

Sanku wrote:The move with LJP is excellent in Bihar. I am not sure which cadre is upset. These seats are from JD(U) kitty mostly anyway.
These are the upset folks, Sanku-ji.

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/lok-sabha-po ... 08-81.html
member_28468

Post by member_28468 »

I tried to search on google baba but cant find one i am looking for something long and positive.
Anywhere?..

anyone sirs is there any :cry: or we should make a tread in which we can float some ideas what gurus says?? :) :mrgreen:

subhamoy.das wrote:NAMO has made another bad move of tying up with LJP. Cadres and party MLAs are upset. This will hurt him as there will be sabotage now. NAMO making wrong moves close to finish line. And he also seems to have peaked early. As they say, too much of any thing is bad.
Are you serious? We are in March already and elections are hardly 45 days away! There is hardly any time left to 'peak' now.

Tying up with Paswan is a good decision. Not all decisions can be amicable to everyone. That is a test of a leader and given that NaMo is a good leader he will manage those who are not happy.

Let him win 200plus and form a stable govt first sirs. We are jumping the guns. There is too much at stake for many mafia forces and gora gangs and they will try their level best to stop BJP coming to power. Even within BJP D4 will try its level best. Hemu moment or a red wedding can not be ruled out even now.

April 2 election will be announced and a 7 stage elections with ample time for EVM and PAAP manipulations. Limited workers of PAAP will visit various places one after other election stages with mafia/gora paid/owned media acting as force multipliers.

This is a fourth generation war now.

^^ Dr Praveen Patil ( five43.com) says Priety Zinta (on BJP ticket) to contest against P.Dutt in Mumbai

I don't know what scenario you are seeking with NM as PM, but i've written why it will shift what is considered the center of discourse. Today Pseudo left liberals hold the center of academic forums. They control what goes in and out of lit fests. What can be put in text books and what cannot. What can be written in MSM and what cannot. The 'objective' center has been hijacked by a left pseudo liberal discourse. That has happened primarily because of Nehruvianism and passing out of Patel and uneducated larger section of society all of which institutionalized this pseudo liberal discourse. Modi changes that equation possibly forever. That is the biggest inherent fear of the pseudo liberal elite sections. That of irrelevancy. You can read more here if you like:

http://vicharprachar.wordpress.com/2014 ... discourse/

Basically the govt under NM will be Bharathiya one than the brown sepoys one. Atalji rule was ok and some attempts were made but Atal himself will not much into idelogical action. MMJ tried as HRD minister but seriously opposed by the lies of the leftist traitors who are not confronted by the state in any seriousness. That hopefully change.

But NM will have his hands full on economy, security internal-external etc due to the scorched earth policies of mafia.

Post by amdavadi »

prahaar wrote:
The news report has wrongly put on the name of Energy minister's name as Saurabh Dalal, it should be Saurabh Patel.
It is indeed saurabh dalal.

sum wrote:^^ Dr Praveen Patil ( five43.com) says Priety Zinta (on BJP ticket) to contest against P.Dutt in Mumbai
Preity zinta ‏@realpreityzinta 5h
Where did u read this? Pls tear dat paper cuz its 100% UNTRUE @Neerugupta92: @realpreityzinta R U fighting lok sabha election on bjp ticket?

Re the LJP alliance in Bihar, last time BJP+JDU won 32 is 80% of the seats. This time the best case scenario according to opinion polls for BJP going alone is 25. With RJD, JDU and the congress possibly going it alone, I think an a number equal or close to last years tally is possible IMO.

Guys i have been a Gujarat university and MS university student. Those elections are completely rigged and won on the basis of money power and force. I have had friends stand in both elections, lets just say they dont mean a thing with respect to normal populace. Its like saying JNU DU elections have a bearing on general elections.
sunnyP

Post by sunnyP »

sum wrote:^^ Dr Praveen Patil ( five43.com) says Priety Zinta (on BJP ticket) to contest against P.Dutt in Mumbai
Preity zinta ‏@realpreityzinta 5h
Where did u read this? Pls tear dat paper cuz its 100% UNTRUE @Neerugupta92: @realpreityzinta R U fighting lok sabha election on bjp ticket?

Ganguly, Kumble, Srinath, Sunny Deol, Rajinikanth , Salman Khan etc and now Zinta. Some of these rumours are getting silly.
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

abhijitm wrote:Are you serious? We are in March already and elections are hardly 45 days away! There is hardly any time left to 'peak' now.
Also, unlike the other elections; for LokSabha the voter tends to decide on his vote well in advance.
It is not a last day decision.

I just realized swami vivekanda and namo share their first name.
and while the first was from rmk mission, the second wanted to join there too.

K Mehta wrote:Guys i have been a Gujarat university and MS university student. Those elections are completely rigged and won on the basis of money power and force. I have had friends stand in both elections, lets just say they dont mean a thing with respect to normal populace. Its like saying JNU DU elections have a bearing on general elections.
most univ elections are like that

Singha sir, if you look further, you may discover more similarities.