Indian IT Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian IT Industry

Bade wrote:There are people who wear T-shirts with their office logos proudly displayed on them here in massa. Every University has its own branded apparel. What are you talking about Joishy. Maybe they take pride in their jobs and do not just look at it as a 9-5 affair that pays one's bills. :-)
I have free T-shirts from every ITvity top dog and once in a while will wear T-shirts of rivals and get startled looks in the cafeteria. :mrgreen:

I never got the motive for displaying badge outside work and that too proudly....working for somebody is hardly something to gas about.

KJoishy wrote:Yaar, what's all that got to do with badges? All you need to do is card in, put in wallet/pocket, work, and leave when you have to leave. The tendency of putting it around one's neck like some sort of necklace and drawing attention to it is very obvious. This was probably more common during the India Shining days during the first flush of a new career post college. I remember doing similar things in the first few months on the job many years ago. Until it hit me, wtf was I doing? :)
you have a certain view and you are pushing everything through that.

some of us (negi, singha, myself etc) have worked in both massa and in blr for meaningful periods..

you have to display id..it is policy. right from entry to building to the guard at the gate, to the guard at parking, to the person in the lift, etc etc..

First day my badge was in my bag. The next day it went on my neck when i left the hotel and I only took it down when I came back to room. I am hardly a corporate slave or a person who feels the need to brag about status whatever..

Raja Bose wrote:I never got the motive for displaying badge outside work and that too proudly....working for somebody is hardly something to gas about.
is it any more stupid than wearing a shirt with a number on it? at least the company pays you something...

Gus wrote: you have a certain view and you are pushing everything through that.

some of us (negi, singha, myself etc) have worked in both massa and in blr for meaningful periods..

you have to display id..it is policy. right from entry to building to the guard at the gate, to the guard at parking, to the person in the lift, etc etc..

First day my badge was in my bag. The next day it went on my neck when i left the hotel and I only took it down when I came back to room. I am hardly a corporate slave or a person who feels the need to brag about status whatever..
Bhai saab, of course, I have a certain view on this, don't we all? We BRFites are an opinionated bunch which is why we are here every day discussing and debating.

Let me repeat, I am not talking about ID display in the office. Many places may have rules demanding that (especially where there are terrorist threats). I was talking about ID display in malls, movie theaters, on the streets on weekends etc in non-work situations. That leads me to think that displaying work ID is some sort of status symbol in India. I can see 21 year old nanhas do it when they get a job at some chi-chi company. I have seen much older people do it as well which leads me to believe that it's a status thing.

I hope I have made my point clear enough. Feel free to disagree saar, you will still be my friend. :)

some do it to make sure it doesnt get lost, having it around your neck with id card tugged into shirt pocket , keeps it safe

Chandragupta wrote: They used to hand me those suspenders/cords (?) and I used to throw them into the dustbin a few steps away and carry on.
I had a racist 55 year old woman as my boss in PeechaKaroCo. She would openly laugh at long South Indian names and at "curry smell". She had a gaggle of TCS people from Chennai, mainly Christians with names like John, George etc and she was especially fond of those people. The Selvarajs and Balas got the short end of the stick. Anyway, she decided that she had some budget, so she ordered everyone those suspender cord thingies. Don't know why, maybe she thought we wanted them. I threw mine in the trash and eventually everyone else did as well. I heard her complaining to another manager that she ended up ordering for it from her own money thinking she would get a reimbursement, but then the senior management changed and they denied her request. :rotfl: :(( :mrgreen:

On all USA federal facilities one is required to display badge.
I almost got shot once for not displaying badge.
Complete with laser on my chest.

There is no difference between the USA and India in this regard.
Some like to strut their stuff in both places.
A couple of guys in my area always have their FBI jacket on, though they actually work for the FED.
The percentages may vary.

In USA I avoid anyone who tries the status garbage with me.
In India it is unavoidable. Everyone is constantly asking about job, money, house, kids, skin color, wife, car, etc.
One of my cousins asks me if I made more money than my wife every single time I see him.
Telling him to butt out has no effect. So I grin & bear it like everyone else.
It gets annoying after a couple of days, almost unbearable after a couple of months.

status, announcing that you have arrived, show off etc are all factors in varying degrees for some folks..i am not denying them....

for the vast majority it is just a force of habit thing that they don't think twice about..

if you ask an average IT emp in blr why he wearing his badge outside work..he will give a puzzled 'what is your question' look..

nobody thinks consciously about these things...at least in the blr office campus i was working in..

Last time we went to India, we were in BLR at my sasoorji's house. The neighbor house Aunty called us for breakfast. She sees my wife and asks "so which branch did you do engineering in?" :roll: :eek:

What kind of question is that? And what would she do with the information, size you up and slot you in a mental status range?
Mihir

Post by Mihir »

^^^ What's wrong with that question? It can make for interesting conversation and help people find common ground. She invited you for breakfast. People like to engage in chit-chat on such occasions.

I'm going to go out on a limb and say that not everyone in India is obsessed with status and salary and what not. You might be reading too much into an innocent question.
Last edited by Mihir on 08 Nov 2013 00:53, edited 1 time in total.
Mihir

Post by Mihir »

KJoishy wrote:I notice that almost ALL IT employees in India walk around with company badges dangling from their necks. Is this some kind of way to get some free scope? Impress the ladies? "I am from INFY", "I am from Chacha onlee"? During my last visit to BLR, we went to malls, and I would see "IT professionals" :roll: walk around proudly displaying their badges so much that I could read their names from it.

Is it some kind of status symbol? Or is it mandatory?[/img]
Maybe it is just inconvenient to put it away when they have left work? Maybe they forget to take it off? Could be several explanations. Happens in the US as well. You should see the sheer number of people walking around with blank HID cards hanging from their necks or card reels. Others wear shirts with the company logos on them, even on weekends. Are they too obsessed with status?

Mihir wrote:^^^ What's wrong with that question? It can make for interesting conversation and help people find common ground. She invited you for breakfast. People like to engage in chit-chat on such occasions.
That's not a polite question to ask someone you don't really know and meeting for the first time right off the bat. On what basis did she assume that my wife was an engineer in the first place? What if I had asked her "so how much money does your husband make?" or "Why didn't your son go to IIT? He didn't get in, aaaa?".

Funny thing is that this Aunty was US returned. they were in the US for 20+ years and R2Ied. Husband joined an "IT giant".
Last edited by KJo on 08 Nov 2013 01:01, edited 2 times in total.

Mihir wrote:
KJoishy wrote:I notice that almost ALL IT employees in India walk around with company badges dangling from their necks. Is this some kind of way to get some free scope? Impress the ladies? "I am from INFY", "I am from Chacha onlee"? During my last visit to BLR, we went to malls, and I would see "IT professionals" :roll: walk around proudly displaying their badges so much that I could read their names from it.

Is it some kind of status symbol? Or is it mandatory?[/img]
Maybe it is just inconvenient to put it away when they have left work? Maybe they forget to take it off? Could be several explanations. Happens in the US as well. You should see the sheer number of people walking around with blank HID cards hanging from their necks or card reels. Others wear shirts with the company logos on them, even on weekends. Are they too obsessed with status?
Could be. That's why I was asking.
And the reason I ask is that it almost never happens in the US in odd places like malls, movies, and rarely happens in companies unless it is mandated.

If people wear company shirts all over the place, then yes, it could be obsession with status. Esp if you work for a chacha or FB.
member_23651

Post by member_23651 »

Wearing ID Cards within company premises is mandatory in many IT companies. Outside of it I hardly see any wearing cards around neck, until someone uses a badge that hangs from the waist belt using a yo yo like cord extensioner. And mostly its because of sheer laziness or because someone totally forgot about it.
I have yet to see someone going to mall on saturday and sunday strutting their ID cards

AnantS wrote:Wearing ID Cards within company premises is mandatory in many IT companies. Outside of it I hardly see any wearing cards around neck, until someone uses a badge that hangs from the waist belt using a yo yo like cord extensioner. And mostly its because of sheer laziness or because someone totally forgot about it.
I have yet to see someone going to mall on saturday and sunday strutting their ID cards
Haven't been in India in 3 years. Going in Dec. Maybe things have changed since then. :mrgreen:

Gus wrote:
Raja Bose wrote:I never got the motive for displaying badge outside work and that too proudly....working for somebody is hardly something to gas about.
is it any more stupid than wearing a shirt with a number on it? at least the company pays you something...
shirt with a number? what number saar? :mrgreen:

KJo, at least feel lucky you already have a SHQ. Can you imagine what we single mards go thru at hands of such inquisitive Aunty jis. :(( :(( One such aunty ji not only wanted to know how much I earned but also what I did with it, what investments I have.....when I tried to fend off her questions, every once in a while in random conversation she would go....mumble mumble, XYZ's son went in 20xx and makes $XX, he is getting married to a girl I recommended, isn't that great...mumble mumble....
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

I think people are reading into it too seriously. I wouldn't be surprised if it started off as a 'status quo' symbol in the desi society at a certain point but its pretty helpful IMO to have the bage dangling/hanging around your neck or on the side pockets of your pants. There might be remnants or pockets of population using it to advertise their achievements. Eitherway its all good as majority of the industries still uses the badges in US including Janitors. So whats the big deal if the custodians or security guards use it at the Malls in India?
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

Sriman wrote:^^
Had a chance to work briefly with a captive unit based out of Hungary. Very smart folks and they were very thorough.
Concur. I've worked with many in the past. Many still believe in writing things down on a paper before designing/implementing.
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

Singha wrote:Micromax builds its own logo and glues it on. Or maybe that too is made and glued in china.
The chinese can build and brand anything any which way you like including with a Made in India or Made in USA sticker/logo/embosing :) Complete solution providers for the manufacturing industry :)
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

Is it some kind of status symbol? Or is it mandatory?
The only other thing I can think of is 'future prospectus' for both the bride and the groom :wink: for the single professionals? Too many future in-laws walking around ? :lol:

Raja Bose wrote:KJo, at least feel lucky you already have a SHQ. Can you imagine what we single mards go thru at hands of such inquisitive Aunty jis. :(( :(( One such aunty ji not only wanted to know how much I earned but also what I did with it, what investments I have.....when I tried to fend off her questions, every once in a while in random conversation she would go....mumble mumble, XYZ's son went in 20xx and makes $XX, he is getting married to a girl I recommended, isn't that great...mumble mumble....
Yeah man it's good to be out of the race. I remember my nanha days post madrassa with new job, single and getting lot of demand. This was before every Ravi, Raju and Sunder came to US on "project". Konk Aunties can be very brutal. One year I went to a Konk Association picnic and felt hazaar Aunty eyes scanning and evaluating. Those were the days when eligible men were in big demand. 8) Now it is the other way. :((

Yindoos whine too much. You want all the indic arranged bizness to fall back on, but still fume about auntys ogling at your pay-checks and doing a mental evaluation on you to seek a fit. :-) Pick one and move on.

Raja Bose wrote:
those highly idiotic sports team jerseys that everyone seems to wear these days..

i swear..got in a plane and half of them were wearing team jerseys..

KJoishy wrote:The issue is not badges being displayed at work, you may have to do it in some places, it is how munnas wear their badges EVERYWHERE. I saw many at malls after hours, sometimes in weekends. And they tug on it as if to draw attention to passersby that they work for so and so "MNC".

Badges are nothing but a sign of corporate slavery. We cannot do without it because of paapi pet, but why wear it on one's sleeve, that was the surprising part.
it becomes a habit for most people, security asks you to show your badge everywhere, so you need to have it readily accessible. having said that i am one of the lazy bums who keeps it in the pocket and yanks it out only if i need to swipe it or show it to security. the more organized types have it around their neck or on the yo yo style thingies. i really dont think badges carry any cachet in bangalore. perhaps they did in 2000-2001 when IT was a new thing. now everybody is in someplace or the other so what does it matter.

KJoishy wrote:
Chandragupta wrote: They used to hand me those suspenders/cords (?) and I used to throw them into the dustbin a few steps away and carry on.
I had a racist 55 year old woman as my boss in PeechaKaroCo. She would openly laugh at long South Indian names and at "curry smell". She had a gaggle of TCS people from Chennai, mainly Christians with names like John, George etc and she was especially fond of those people. The Selvarajs and Balas got the short end of the stick. Anyway, she decided that she had some budget, so she ordered everyone those suspender cord thingies. Don't know why, maybe she thought we wanted them. I threw mine in the trash and eventually everyone else did as well. I heard her complaining to another manager that she ended up ordering for it from her own money thinking she would get a reimbursement, but then the senior management changed and they denied her request. :rotfl: :(( :mrgreen:
whats peechakaroco..man i dont get half of these acronyms on the forum. :oops:

PeechaKaro Ka matlab kya?
La ilaha illallah! :rotfl:

Gus wrote:
Raja Bose wrote:
those highly idiotic sports team jerseys that everyone seems to wear these days..

i swear..got in a plane and half of them were wearing team jerseys..
nothing worse (imho) than wearing some futbol jersey and having a big paunch spoil the effect.

KJoishy wrote:PeechaKaro Ka matlab kya?
La ilaha illallah! :rotfl:
i am pretty sure somebody explained this at one time.. i forgot. :| :((

Chase, baba :)

Aahhh!! makes sense. darnit.

took me a while to decode that one as I dont hang around much in bositiv neuj threads...but rolling with the dregs in nukkad does built up adaptability to take these in stride.

i figured out chacha, motor-oil, veggie oil, netzilla and most respected company ..but this was just too much.

I had a tough time with gum-boot.

i cheated there and googled. :P
KrishnaK

Post by KrishnaK »

Singha wrote:I had a tough time with gum-boot.
:roll: i tried to google but couldn't find it. what is it ?

KrishnaK wrote:
Singha wrote:I had a tough time with gum-boot.
:roll: i tried to google but couldn't find it. what is it ?
KrishnaK,
https://sites.google.com/site/brfdictio ... ng-company
KrishnaK

Post by KrishnaK »

Thanks hanumadu.

Folks! Is really Hadoop a hot-cake in the market? Especially for people with the usual java/j2ee experience?
KrishnaK

Post by KrishnaK »

Sachin,
Hadoop has most market/mind share when it comes to doing MapReduce. There are some other solutions in the same space but they'd have marginal market share. Java helps, but is in no way necessary to use Hadoop or even understand MapReduce. Other Hadoop based technologies are also used widely, even in isolation. HDFS, HBASE.
Hadoop is just one software component in an area of technology referred to as Big Data.