Page 9 of 63
Re: Indian Foreign Policy
Posted: 27 Jul 2009 21:10
by RajeshA
somnath ji,
A superpower has soft-power, when it has a message for the world, when it can package its national interest in a rhetoric which inspires the larger humanity.
France had its egalité, Britain had its fairness, Soviet Union had its communism, United States has its freedom. India too needs a dialectic. In fact we already have a dialectic, and it has given us an international profile without us even having been a superpower. India needs to build upon it.
There are many things we can project from our domestic core beliefs into that dialectic in due time, principles like plurality, democracy, secularism (true variant), inclusive development, etc. Without a variety of people out there to clap you for your political beliefs, the reach of one's soft power remains limited.
None of the powers who advanced their principles on the world stage, really adhered to them. It was always about power. The point is, with NAM, India has an additional horse pulling our carriage forward.
Of course all NAM countries also think first of their own national interests and money. However NAM allows India a platform through which we can play our games of influence and money far more efficiently and get a better bang for the dollar. Besides hardly any NAM country has grown to wield so much influence and power, that it could offer other NAM countries a viable option within the ranks of the NAM members themselves. India would be the first such power.
NAM has uses beyond just a talking shop and high-rhetoric.
It may increase the irritation of our interlocutors. So what? This is a case of "log kya kahenge"! Hell with log kya kahenge. India should be India, and let others learn to live with her!
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 07:43
by somnath
RajeshA,
The only dialectic there ever was over the years for powers (super or otherwise) was only twofold - military and economic power, and both together...The rest, as is so aptly put in my world, is "story"....India's emphasis should be max our potential on both these counts, and use the same in a meaningful way in our engagements with the world to expand them even more..
Civilisational influences help only to the extent of supplementing the real hard power, its no substitute (else Egypt too would be counted as a major power!)..
Your basic premise seems to be that there is something in common bewteen all NAM members - fact is there is nothing but fuzzy anti Americanism..There is no "bang" for the NAM platform for any dollar we spend..Being a NAM leader through the decades did not help our case when OIC was taking our trip repeatedly (and OIC consist of predominantly NAM members!)..The African potentates do not give us a bargain on their resources access on NAM connections - they give it to whoever pays them (personally more than the state, of course!) the biggest buck..We learnt that rather late, and now we are recovering some ground..Our Africa initiative in Delhi last year (or was it the year before?) had more bang for our buck than all the NAM sessions we have attended till date..Bring those leaders in, show them the money, and buy off thier natural resources (and votes in the UN) - thats all that is to the usefulness of Africa for example...Tools for ME will be different, and ditto for Latam..
The irritation of interlocutors is not a "log kya kahenge" syndrome. It is about the image we want to present..When we do an Africa summit of all African leaders in Delhi cooking deals, thats a rational initiative..attending NAM only brings back our image of the "dark days" of the '60s and '70s and '80s...Wasted decades when all we did was America bashing in the company of lesser mortals..It was quite shameless in a way, bash America one day and plead for another shipment of PL480 wheat the next

Posted: 28 Jul 2009 09:00
by RajeshA
somnath wrote:Your basic premise seems to be that there is something in common between all NAM members - fact is there is nothing but fuzzy anti Americanism.
Your problem is that you feel very uncomfortable with Anti-Americanism. That is fine. There are others who don't look at it that way.
Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Jordan have an importance to America, because America thinks they can influence the Arab Street, which is strongly anti-American. The leadership in these countries are able to bridge that divide, because they live on both sides of the divide. If they were purely pro-American they would be of no use to America (in this context).
You'd opt for American pats on the back, rather than for grudging American deference. I see it differently.
China has earned its Anti-Americanism on the battlefields of Korea and Cambodia. They used hard raw power for that. It has earned them grudging admiration from others as well as America. Today they make billions doing trade with USA as well as trade with all those, who do not see eye-to-eye with the West, including Iran, Sudan, Myanmar, North Korea, Venezuela, Bolivia, etc. They get all-round respect.
India on the other hand has opted for a soft Anti-Americanism. Anti-Americanism without the blood-shed. The profits from such a path, are not as high as the path chosen by China, but it still helps. Other countries would respect India more and feel comfortable with us, especially in doing business with us, if they knew that there is some distance between India and USA.
India does not become a pole in the multi-polar world, if India is not willing to put some distance between her and USA. NAM is a forum which allows us to state our Anti-Americanism without getting into a conflict with USA.
somnath wrote:There is no "bang" for the NAM platform for any dollar we spend..Being a NAM leader through the decades did not help our case when OIC was taking our trip repeatedly (and OIC consist of predominantly NAM members!).
Why should that be surprising?
There are national interests and domestic pressures in OIC countries which overrule the commonality of 'non-alignment'. Why would one expect something different?
somnath wrote:The African potentates do not give us a bargain on their resources access on NAM connections - they give it to whoever pays them (personally more than the state, of course!) the biggest buck..We learnt that rather late, and now we are recovering some ground..
That we learned that lesson late, is our shortcoming. Why is NAM being made the scape-goat for our stupidity?
somnath wrote:Our Africa initiative in Delhi last year (or was it the year before?) had more bang for our buck than all the NAM sessions we have attended till date..Bring those leaders in, show them the money, and buy off thier natural resources (and votes in the UN) - thats all that is to the usefulness of Africa for example...Tools for ME will be different, and ditto for Latam..
All these Initiatives are great. I concur. Why should these not be considered great in their own right? Why should they be looked upon as a replacement for NAM?
NAM is a gathering of 115 countries in the world. They all choose to get together on a regular basis. They all have their reasons to be there. Singapore despite being a pro-American city-state is also a NAM member. And if they are there, what is wrong with allowing ourselves the opportunity to meet all the heads of these countries in one place. Indian leaders can choose, which countries they would like to target for special attention and get to chat with them.
somnath wrote:The irritation of interlocutors is not a "log kya kahenge" syndrome. It is about the image we want to present..
Somnath ji,
its not the interlocuters who suffer from "log kya kahenge" syndrome. It is the pro-Americanists like you, who feel uncomfortable - "American friends kya kahenge"! This need to justify one's positions indicates an inferiority complex viz-a-viz the Americans. We should get over that.
somnath wrote:When we do an Africa summit of all African leaders in Delhi cooking deals, thats a rational initiative..
Let's cook deals in as many summits we can. All these should complement NAM activities, not replace them.
somnath wrote:attending NAM only brings back our image of the "dark days" of the '60s and '70s and '80s...Wasted decades when all we did was America bashing in the company of lesser mortals..It was quite shameless in a way, bash America one day and plead for another shipment of PL480 wheat the next

Somnath ji, no need to cry. Those days are gone, and gone for good. Who knows, if we had not wasted those 'dark days' of the 60s, 70s and 80s, we may have ended up like Pakistan, a shithole about to explode. We used those decades for building our institutions and allowing them to mature. We used those decades for some introspection. Non-alignment gave us the space and time to go about it, without the superpowers trying to dictate us how we should build our country, without the interference. I wouldn't call them wasted.
The shift in perspectives of the world is not only limited to us. Other NAM members have also gone through the change and 'reformed' their viewpoints. We do not sit any more with 'die-hard' Anti-Americanists. We sit with normal countries who know the rules of business and want to do business. "Anti-Americanism" is to the most-part simply an old-fashioned poster on the wall.
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 09:49
by somnath
RajeshA,
Anti Americanism, the hard kind or the soft kind, is not the point..National interest is..I am not looking for American "pats on the back", I am looking for ways and means to expand India's power..your defence of the "dark decades" is touching..As some reference points, through the '60s to the mid '80s, all we managed to achieve was the "Hindu rate of growth"..With its concommitant impact on all aspects of national power..The institution building you are referring to was all but over by the late '50s/early '60s - we did nothing after that (the '50s was different - I dont think we put too many feet wrong then)..Surprise, surprise, all these instituion building (IITs/IIMs being the single most influential ones) came with large dollops of US aid/support! this is how it worked, we bought US grains, paid for it in Indian rupees, and the rupee balances got utlised to build instituions in India! (my alma mater was one such beneficiary!)...While all this was happening, we made trips to Bandung and other such places to bash the US!!
Allied with the US or not - and one is not talking alliances here, only pragmatism - our democracy is not a "non alignment benediction", it is a civilisational trait - I agree fully with Amrtya Sen's hypothesis on this..We would never have become another Pakistan..
What I am uncomfortable is anti Americanism for the sake of it - so vote against Iran is a sellout because US wanted it, stand against the expansion of the jurisdiction of UN is sellout to US, nuke deal is a sell out to US, for heavens sake even a teeny weeny EUVA is a sellout - never mind that each of these have solid national self interest reasons behind....
I do feel uncomfortable in a forum that has no objectives of its own besides anti Americanism..that ha got nothing to do with "Americans kya kahenge"..It seems that we are yet to outgrow a colonial hangover...By attending NAM, we meet a bunch of guys as equals who are clearly lesser mortals - our aprpoach has to be more rational, more business like with them - throw the money and get their resources and votes...Our dialectic with the big powers cannot be influenced by fuzzy NAM associations...
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 11:07
by Philip
"Barack Obama: US and China will shape 21st century ".
No mention of India,pet poodle Britain,the EU,Russia,etc.!
So much for India's great Indo-US strategic embrace.Look what Obama is saying,and Hillary Clinton is being deliberately sidelined in Washington according to other reports by the "O-Team".So much for MMS's great tilt towards the US too.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... ntury.html
US President Barack Obama said the US and China will "shape the course of the 21st century" as he opened high-level talks in Washington.
By Alex Spillius in Washington
Published: 7:24PM BST 27 Jul 2009
Mr Obama said he was under 'no illusions that the United States and China will agree on every issue' Photo: REUTERS
To the satisfaction of the Chinese at talks designed to usher in a new era of friendship, "not confrontation", Mr Obama said that the ties between the two powers were "as important as any bilateral relationship in the world".
"That reality must underpin our partnership. That is the responsibility we bear," he said at the first meeting of the Strategic and Economic Dialogue in Washington.
Mr Obama said he was under "no illusions that the United States and China will agree on every issue", but insisted closer co-operation on a range of challenges from lifting the global economy to nuclear proliferation and climate change was vital for the whole world.
In what appeared to be a co-ordinated new slogan, both Mr Obama and Hu Jintao, the Chinese president, who sent a message to the meeting, said they sought a "positive, constructive, and comprehensive relationship".
The talks are a revamped version of a meeting launched by George W Bush that focused solely on economic issues.
The new dialogue, to be held every year in alternate capitals, involves the US state department and Chinese foreign ministry and firmly underlines China's growing global footprint.
Beijing sent 150 officials to Washington for dozens of meetings with their US counterparts, bringing much of the capital to a virtual standstill.
The Chinese are still sensitive about their inferior status and pushed hard for Mr Obama to open the meeting, according to sources close to the administration, because "they are still looking for validation".
But the hosts were happy to pay tribute to China's ascendance and were optimistic about its ability to act as a responsible member of the global community.
Mr Obama and Hillary Clinton, the US secretary of state, made only brief reference to China's poor human rights record, which used to loom much larger in discussions.
Speaking just weeks after the eruption of ethnic violence in China's Muslim-majority Xinjiang province, which left at least 192 people dead, Mr Obama said: "We strongly believe that the religion and culture of all peoples must be respected and protected, and that all people should be free to speak their minds. That includes ethnic and religious minorities in China."
But he bracketed his criticism with acknowledgement of China's great "ancient culture" and the vibrant contribution of Chinese Americans to the US.
For the Chinese, Dai Bingguo, the state councillor, acknowledged the two states "could never be the same", and echoed his hosts by saying neither country could solve the world's problems alone.
"We are actually all in the same big boat that has been hit by fierce wind and huge waves," Mr Dai said of the economic and other crises.
The strongest message behind the scenes from Timothy Geithner, the US Treasury Secretary, and his staff was that Americans are learning to save more and spend less, meaning China cannot rely on exports to the US for its growth and will have to raise domestic consumption.
The Chinese, holding $801.5 billion (£485 billion) of US treasury debt, meanwhile sought further explanations of what the Obama administration plans to do about the soaring deficits.
Though expectations are low for immediate breakthroughs on a variety of sticking points, even committed China watchers have been surprised by the speed of the growth in bilateral relations.
"There will be areas without a lot of traction," said Drew Thompson, director of China studies at the Nixon Centre think tank, running from the value of yuan to the Dalai Lama and intellectual copyright protection. "But if you don't start to build a relationship you will never achieve the progress that you want.
"There are a lot of things we can't get done without having China on board, and the Chinese are learning that they have a new role and they are leaving big footprints around the world. A certain responsibility comes with that," he added.
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 11:17
by RajeshA
somnath wrote:What I am uncomfortable is anti Americanism for the sake of it - so vote against Iran is a sellout because US wanted it, stand against the expansion of the jurisdiction of UN is sellout to US, nuke deal is a sell out to US, for heavens sake even a teeny weeny EUVA is a sellout - never mind that each of these have solid national self interest reasons behind....
India under UPA voted against Iran at the IAEA. It was not the Congress shouting sell-out. It was the Commies. So the INC/MMS have voted against Iran but have also visited NAM. They don't see any conflict.
We can show solidarity with NAM except when it is against our national interests.
somnath wrote:I do feel uncomfortable in a forum that has no objectives of its own besides anti Americanism..that has got nothing to do with "Americans kya kahenge"..
Anti-Americanism is not THE objective behind NAM, but rather it is a quest to retain a modicum of independence in international dealings with superpowers.
somnath wrote:It seems that we are yet to outgrow a colonial hangover...By attending NAM, we meet a bunch of guys as equals who are clearly lesser mortals
Yes, lesser mortals have their advantages too. Just because we meet some guys as equals does not make us and them equals. Our power-differential is self-evident. It just makes the others feel good and you lose nothing. Funny, this almost sounds like 'racism', 'casteism'.
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 13:10
by somnath
Anti-Americanism is not THE objective behind NAM, but rather it is a quest to retain a modicum of independence in international dealings with superpowers.
There is only one superpower left, and he is struggling! Why does one have to be "aligned" to a non aligned movement to frame independent policies? NAM at its best was nothing more than a camp of Soviet proxies..
Funny, this almost sounds like 'racism', 'casteism'.
Well international pecking orders are very casteist - we are not in the game to change the order, just to get a seat for ourselves in the order...For the "lesser" guys, well too bad..
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 13:48
by RajeshA
somnath wrote:Why does one have to be "aligned" to a non aligned movement to frame independent policies?
Framing independent policies is meaningless if one doesn't have the capacity to withstand pressure from a superpower, and needs to give in and do its bidding. Countries were seeking solidarity and support in numbers in NAM.
somnath wrote:NAM at its best was nothing more than a camp of Soviet proxies..
I guess the Soviets were really able to charm quite a few. One ought to study a bit more why they were so good.
somnath wrote:Well international pecking orders are very casteist - we are not in the game to change the order, just to get a seat for ourselves in the order...For the "lesser" guys, well too bad..
We went into that earlier. Some repetition.
You can enter the club as the lowest caste. Of course there will be others outside the club whom you can

. Inside the club, no one is going to take you seriously. Why? Because we went into the club without ever fighting a war with any other power, and have not earned ourselves the right of passage. So be ready to be treated like $hit in this exclusive club. Unadulterated Pro-Americanism will get you nowhere, except you will remain in the 2nd rung for a lot longer, than there is a need for.
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 14:35
by somnath
You can enter the club as the lowest caste. Of course there will be others outside the club whom you can . Inside the club, no one is going to take you seriously. Why? Because we went into the club without ever fighting a war with any other power, and have not earned ourselves the right of passage. So be ready to be treated like $hit in this exclusive club. Unadulterated Pro-Americanism will get you nowhere, except you will remain in the 2nd rung for a lot longer, than there is a need for.
Not true. In the 21st century, entry to the club will not be by fighting wars. China is not gaining entry because of the Korean war..We are not going to be offered entry because of any war we fought/or not offerd because of what we didnt! Entry to the club is not a matter of invitation, its a matter of right - and only a few develop that right..It is on the basi of national power muscles - economic and military..And there is no question of whether someone takes us seriously or not...
UK talks to us not as an ex-colony, but as the home base of the owner of its largest steel company (ies), its marquee car brand, one of its largest s/w employers, owner of one of its largest oil companies, and its largest potential defence customer...Not to mention as an investment destination that all British companies salivate over...
That is the definition of a caste order in the high table - we dont need to fight wars to define it..
Withstanding pressure by "standing" in numbers?! When did that ever happen? Which non aligned country came to Yugoslavia's defence when super powers were balkanising the country?
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 15:20
by RajeshA
somnath wrote:You can enter the club as the lowest caste. Of course there will be others outside the club whom you can . Inside the club, no one is going to take you seriously. Why? Because we went into the club without ever fighting a war with any other power, and have not earned ourselves the right of passage. So be ready to be treated like $hit in this exclusive club. Unadulterated Pro-Americanism will get you nowhere, except you will remain in the 2nd rung for a lot longer, than there is a need for.
Not true. In the 21st century, entry to the club will not be by fighting wars. China is not gaining entry because of the Korean war..We are not going to be offered entry because of any war we fought/or not offerd because of what we didnt! Entry to the club is not a matter of invitation, its a matter of right - and only a few develop that right..It is on the basi of national power muscles - economic and military..And there is no question of whether someone takes us seriously or not...
That is the definition of a caste order in the high table - we dont need to fight wars to define it..
Economy alone is not a criteria. EU countries, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, New Zealand are all well-to-do countries. Their citizens enjoy a high standard of living. There is money to be made there. There are reasons, why nobody considers these countries as superpowers. Some EU countries like France and UK still value military power, so there is still some admiration.
Also a mighty military not a superpower makes. That is just flab you carry around all the time, a huge budget hole.
What stands out as the attribute of a great power is the political will to use raw force, and an indefatigable will to triumph. What marks a society as worthy of a great power status is when its political elite has an intuitive knowledge of what constitutes power, how one wields it, has the will to use it, and still at all times to remain civil about it. This is an attribute you win only by proving yourself, winning your right of passage. Vocal claims remain hollow. The Russians, the Chinese, the Americans, the Israelis all have this streak. If Israel had been a bigger country with a bigger population, it would have been a superpower. This is the area, where India fails pathetically. No two ways about it.
India is still relatively a small economic power. It is militarily dependent on other suppliers. And our balls don't show up on any map, regardless of the scale we use. We still have a long way to go. A big economy and a few military toys for the Republic Day parade is not going to fool anybody into believing we have arrived. We should stop all this talk of India being a great power BS. We just make ourselves look even more pathetic, looking around for confirmation, insecure.
Your concept of "high-table" and "power", I am afraid just confirms my message, that as it is right now, we will be treated as the lowest caste on the "high-table" where we can use our ears, but hardly have any voice. It is a second-rung leadership. Completely useless.
The principle of power remains the same whether it BC or AD, whether it is 1st Century, 19th Century, 20th Century or 21st Century.
We don't deserve to sit at the high-table, not until we have incontrovertibly proved to everyone otherwise. There are no short-cuts.
somnath wrote:UK talks to us not as an ex-colony, but as the home base of the owner of its largest steel company (ies), its marquee car brand, one of its largest s/w employers, owner of one of its largest oil companies, and its largest potential defence customer...Not to mention as an investment destination that all British companies salivate over...
UK lives on the precipice of memory!
somnath wrote:Withstanding pressure by "standing" in numbers?! When did that ever happen? Which non aligned country came to Yugoslavia's defence when super powers were balkanising the country?
I don't remember anybody suggesting that NAM was a military alliance.
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 16:13
by somnath
You are right, neither military nor economic muscle stand alone grants "major power" status..Bothy together do..
India is a "small" economic power? It is the fourth largest economy in PPP terms, and tenth largest in nominal USD terms..there are challenges with our MIC of course, but correction of the same is part of the leverage we have in our engagemetn with the rest of the world (in terms of having a buyer's influence)..
Indefatigable will etc is a bit of talk..Finally the "hard" things matter..Are we in the biddign process for Africa's resources? Are we in the frontlines of changin IMF's madate with our dollars? Are we in a posistion to mount serious naval expeditions? Are we in the "space race"? Are we influencing WTO negotiations? the wrold looks at these s symbols of hard power and respects its proponents..
Are we completely there yet? Of course not..But we are getting there - and we wont get anywhere by harking back to "indep[endence of foreign policy" rhetoric...Something like that is ceterus paribus, first basics - no country conducts its policies to benefit someone else, its a contradiction in terms..
Conduct of power is not the same across centuries..We will not again have the scenario of a super power on borrowed money and increasingly dysfunctional economy (aka UK between the two wars)..We will not have a major power cming into being just by forcing wars on neighbours (aka Germany in the '30s)..We will not have a power that comes out of the barrel of a gun held by an impoverished man (aka Soviet Unuion) Power is about having the capability, military and economic..And then the intent to drive an agenda with it, not of wars, but of influencing world events..
UK is still a major power - and it was but an example of interaction with major powers..The same can be extended for the US, China, France, whatever...
I don't remember anybody suggesting that NAM was a military alliance.
So NAM was not a military alliance, it never had wherewithals to become an economic alliance, member states had no congruity of political pbjectives barrign anti Americanism - Ergo, it is a gathering of anti aMerican rhetoric..Exactly my point!
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 17:26
by RajeshA
somnath wrote:Indefatigable will etc is a bit of talk..Finally the "hard" things matter..Are we in the bidding process for Africa's resources? Are we in the frontlines of changing IMF's mandate with our dollars? Are we in a position to mount serious naval expeditions? Are we in the "space race"? Are we influencing WTO negotiations? the world looks at these s symbols of hard power and respects its proponents..
It is not just the bidding for African resources that matter, but how do you react if somebody else is willing to get those resources by hook or by crook.
What if PRC decides to arm some faction, have them carry out a coup, and the new leaders feel obliged to sell the raw materials to PRC only? Would India react?
What if we get the rights over some resources in some African country, and PRC decides to foment trouble using some ethnic grievance around the area of extraction or in the transit path, thus stopping India to avail of those resources? Would India react?
Would India be willing to play dirty to stop PRC from availing those resources as in the above examples?
What are serious naval expeditions? Should there be a controversy over some maritime area near Myanmar, which has petrocarbons, and PRC decides to come to Myanmar's help in securing those petrocarbons from Indian claims? Would India react?
Do we have the wherewithal to be in the space race, should it become hot? What if PRC deploys some satellites or satellite-based missiles threatening Indian security, would India be willing to respond? What if we set up a small space station, to be used as a launchpad for further space exploration, and PRC decides to sabotage it, or destroy it claiming plausible deniability, but we have strong reasons to be suspicious? Would India react?
What if PRC decides to put up a naval blockade around Taiwan, and India is as per WTO rules allowed to carry trade with Taiwan? Would India push her luck and try to break the blockade and be ready to face the consequences?
These are questions a truly great power needs to answer! Everything else is just baniyagiri, important for prosperity but not decisive for claiming a great power status!
somnath wrote:Conduct of power is not the same across centuries..We will not again have the scenario of a super power on borrowed money and increasingly dysfunctional economy (aka UK between the two wars)..We will not have a major power coming into being just by forcing wars on neighbors (aka Germany in the '30s)..We will not have a power that comes out of the barrel of a gun held by an impoverished man (aka Soviet Union)
In most cases it was a case of capacity not keeping pace with one's will to wield power.
somnath wrote:Power is about having the capability, military and economic..And then the intent to drive an agenda with it, not of wars, but of influencing world events..
It is not a case of wanting to drive an agenda of wars. The best wars are the ones you win without firing a shot. Something one could influence without resorting to violence, and if, then only to limited and selective violence.
As you say, the intent to drive an agenda, is just as important as the capability. However one drives that agenda, of course with cunning, but one also aware of the need to be prepared to use force if needed to drive that agenda - the indefatigable will to triumph. Without having the option of force on the table, the agenda is hollow.
somnath wrote:UK is still a major power - and it was but an example of interaction with major powers..The same can be extended for the US, China, France, whatever...
Fine!
somnath wrote:I don't remember anybody suggesting that NAM was a military alliance.
So NAM was not a military alliance, it never had wherewithals to become an economic alliance, member states had no congruity of political objectives barring anti Americanism - Ergo, it is a gathering of anti American rhetoric..Exactly my point!
You ignore how world powers use the insecurity of others to anchor one's influence in a region. Anti-Americanism is a sign of insecurity. It always was. By playing a bit to the gallery, one can give a sense of protection to those who require a perception of security, thereby solidifying our influence over an area.
You seem to show an attitude that all are worthless, and we should only interact with those at our level or at a higher level on the power ladder. You ignore, that the weaker countries can be the building blocks of your own power. You can arrange for a naval base in the Caribbean, if you're willing to play ball with the lesser mortals. That is what works as a force multiplier to be recognized at the 'high table'. You're king only if you have followers. You're king if others come and plead with you for security cover.
Posted: 30 Jul 2009 08:33
by negi
I guess we on BRF had reached a right consensus on S.e.S thread i.e. India does not have a foreign policy to engage Pakistan; it seems every PM has taken decisions based on personal beliefs and sentiments and I believe MMS is no different .
Infact I see a lot of parallels between Gujraal and MMS when it comes to engaging TSP and I am not at all surprised 
PM still believes in his 'peace with Pak' dream
You can fault him for misplaced trust, you can rake him down for tactical problems in his dealings with Pakistan, but it is clear Prime Minister Manmohan Singh works on a vision for the sub-continent, which he believes he shares with one other man: Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
That vision is implicit in his opening statement that India cannot wish away Pakistan. "We should be good neighbours. If we live in peace, as good neighbours do, both of us can focus our energies on the many problems — our abject poverty that confront millions and millions of people in South Asia. If there is cooperation between us, and not conflict, vast opportunities will open up for trade, travel and development that will create prosperity in both countries," he said.
This also means that no matter how strong the opposition, the PM is likely to find some way of reopening dialogue with Pakistan, because of a deeply held belief that as neighbours, India and Pakistan have to keep their channels open. Singh had tried once before to delink India-Pak dialogue from terror attacks, when he pushed for a joint anti-terror mechanism that was intended to draw fire, while keeping the dialogue intact.
It's clear that the country is not yet ready for any substantive expanded dialogue with Pakistan at this moment when Pakistan is yet to take any credible action against the terror infrastructure.
But the PM remains convinced that "dialogue and engagement is the best way forward". That's an argument many in this country will accept, the problem is it's impossible to delink dialogue from terror attacks.
Does India trust Pakistan to take the right steps? Clearly, a cursory look at Pakistan in its present straits doesn't fill anyone with confidence. But the PM is willing to give Islamabad a lot more space than the average Indian would.
"Let me say that in the affairs of two neighbours, we should recall what President Reagan once said — trust but verify. There is no other way unless we go to war."
The PM also made it clear that his vision would depend on the Pakistan leadership taking the kind of steps necessary to help him go the rest of the way. "I hope and pray the leadership in Pakistan will have the strength and the courage to defeat those who want to destroy, not just peace between India and Pakistan, but the future of South Asia."
Ok I have only highlighted what according to TOI are words from MMS's mouth .
Imho this recent statement is a sort of a clarification for MMS's exploits in S.e.S ; while I am very pleased that MMSji remembers what Ronal Reagan or xyz president of US said , it would have made me even more happier if MMS would have taken a note of what each of the '44' presidents have done for their country whenever it came to foreign policy .
His last statement is no different from a layman on the nukkad sipping tea from a
kulhad and hoping against hope .
Posted: 30 Jul 2009 15:25
by Philip
The PM can put his "peace dream" with Pak in his pipe,smoke it and pass it around to pak too! His dream is India's nightmare.The only kind of "Peace" that Pak wants with India is a "Piece" of Kashmir,a piece of Kutch,a piece of Siachen,and a piece of flesh from ordinary Indians,demonstrated so "peacefully" during 26/11.
He has dealt the most devastating blow to Indian foreign policy ever seen,since the catastrophe of '62.He has managed somehow not just to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory,but rewarded the terror rapist Pak,whilst punishing its victim,the nation!
Posted: 30 Jul 2009 15:32
by somnath
Philip wrote:The PM can put his "peace dream" with Pak in his pipe,smoke it and pass it around to pak too! His dream is India's nightmare.The only kind of "Peace" that Pak wants with India is a "Piece" of Kashmir,a piece of Kutch,a piece of Siachen,and a piece of flesh from ordinary Indians,demonstrated so "peacefully" during 26/11.
He has dealt the most devastating blow to Indian foreign policy ever seen,since the catastrophe of '62.He has managed somehow not just to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory,but rewarded the terror rapist Pak,whilst punishing its victim,the nation!
Wow! A lot of us are prone to exxageration, but this takes the cake!!Last I checked, Pak is still fighting militants all over the place, we are only talking to them about the terrorism angle, they agreed to make "balochistan" a bilateral issue (akin to us agreegin to discuss Assam with them), they are still out of the cricket world cup, and the latest Bloomberg news download on pak is quite a depressing litnay of suicide bombers and Mushrraf...But we are in a 1962 situation!!

Posted: 30 Jul 2009 18:02
by rkirankr
somnath wrote:Philip wrote:The PM can put his "peace dream" with Pak in his pipe,smoke it and pass it around to pak too! His dream is India's nightmare.The only kind of "Peace" that Pak wants with India is a "Piece" of Kashmir,a piece of Kutch,a piece of Siachen,and a piece of flesh from ordinary Indians,demonstrated so "peacefully" during 26/11.
Wow! A lot of us are prone to exxageration, but this takes the cake!!Last I checked, Pak is still fighting militants all over the place, we are only talking to them about the terrorism angle, they agreed to make "balochistan" a bilateral issue (akin to us agreegin to discuss Assam with them), they are still out of the cricket world cup, and the latest Bloomberg news download on pak is quite a depressing litnay of suicide bombers and Mushrraf...But we are in a 1962 situation!!

Exaggeration!!! Oh we never fought 3 wars with them, there was no Kargil, no terrorism, No bomb blasts, no 26/11 .. all exaggeration only. They may fight militants all over the place, but still there are training camps in POK, hafeez said is still out and LET is still powerful.
What is exaggeration? You mean pakistan does not lay claim to kashmir, some portions of kutch, siachen?

Posted: 30 Jul 2009 21:38
by putnanja
Philip wrote:The PM can put his "peace dream" with Pak in his pipe,smoke it and pass it around to pak too! His dream is India's nightmare.The only kind of "Peace" that Pak wants with India is a "Piece" of Kashmir,a piece of Kutch,a piece of Siachen,and a piece of flesh from ordinary Indians,demonstrated so "peacefully" during 26/11.
He has dealt the most devastating blow to Indian foreign policy ever seen,since the catastrophe of '62. He has managed somehow not just to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory,but rewarded the terror rapist Pak,whilst punishing its victim,the nation!
You are right Philip. And as regards to those suckers who think the paki army is fighting terrorists, well they are fighting anti-pak terrorists on their western border, not all taliban and terrorists out there, only those who don't follow the paki army orders. And there is no talk of fighting terrorists on their eastern border. I had linked an article earlier in the paki thread where the author says that the LeT has never made any attacks against paki army or its civilians. So why will the paki army fight them? And given the fact that the US/UK is looking for making deals with the "good" taliban and cut their losses and run, these "terrorists" on their western border will ensure that pakistan regain their "strategic depth" in afghanistan post US/UK withdrawl. They have sensed victory is near, and they are not going to destroy that by fighting the taliban. Unlike India, they are not foolish to snatch defeat from jaws of victory.
Posted: 30 Jul 2009 22:31
by RayC
This is my personal opinion but seeing the Parliamentary debate for two days, I am a bit concerned if the Foreign Policy is on the right track.
The Joint Statement maybe a mark of great statesmanship as remarked in a later panel discussion on CNN IBN in the opinion of Megnad Desai and the HT Editor in Chief, but it reminded me of JL Nehru, who was the original great statesman and while he has done much good for the country, yet in his avatar of being a great statesman, he left us with Kashmir and 1962, from which we are still to recover in a satisfactory manner!!
Posted: 30 Jul 2009 22:56
by putnanja
BJP attacks Krishna, says proving to be another Shivraj Patil
"
He (Krishna) is proving to be the former home minister Shivraj Patil whom Congress had to get rid of ultimately. It's only that he is taking much less time in proving to be another Shivraj Patil," senior BJP leader Yashwant Sinha told reporters outside the Parliament.
Sinha said Patil, who resigned in the aftermath of the Mumbai terror strikes last year after coming under attack for his handling of internal security issues, had taken some time in "destroying" the home ministry but Krishna "will do the same to external affairs ministry in very little time".
The BJP leader also questioned the need for finance minister Pranab Mukherjee to intervene in the debate in the presence of Krishna.
"We saw a very strange incident in Lok Sabha on Thursday. Government fielded finance minister Pranab Mukherjee to intervene in the debate. For the FM to intervene in the debate when the external affairs minister was present was strange.
"The Prime Minister and the finance minister will not be around on all occasions to hold his (Krishna's) hand," Sinha said.
This is what happens when you want a pliant Home/Foreign Affairs ministers who will do as their masters ask them to do. No accountability, no responsibility and no strategic foresight
Posted: 30 Jul 2009 23:28
by RayC
The Foreing Ministry has stalwarts like Tharoor and Nirupama (I know her personally and she is very competent)!
Maybe MMS is fed up of a backseat driver image and wanted to project himself beyond this image.
Who knows!
The Parliamentary debate did indeed Krishna as lacking confidence.
Posted: 30 Jul 2009 23:28
by svinayak
RaviBg wrote:
"The Prime Minister and the finance minister will not be around on all occasions to hold his (Krishna's) hand," Sinha said.
What this means is that three cabinet ministers in the government are being advised from outside the country and the rest of the Parliament does not have a clue. A small group is making all these policy changes without the rest knowing what is happening.
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 04:02
by brihaspati
The core within the Congress hierarchy cannot afford to have a large number of leaders in on the inner action plan. There are going to be leaks to the public and the opposition. They need to keep it small and tight. This was after all, as it appears now, one of the reasons for the extra and ugly haste in declaring ambitious programmes immediately after coming to power. The hype was needed to draw attention away from what was being planned.
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 10:12
by somnath
x posting from the other thread..
The next areas where we can expect our fearless leader and renowned economist to be economical with the truth is for sure the two agreements proposed by the US. The first is the logistics support agreement and the second is the Communication Inter-Operability and Security Memorandum of Agreement.
Both these agreements are land mines and have great potential for for being perpetual and unending headaches. The usa is squeezing the orchises hard.
The debacle of the EUMA is already playing out as expected.
Once they have us by the short and curlies, it's but a very short ride for our Armed Forces into afghanistan " where we will be fulfilling our global responsibilities as a world power".
Havent studied the latter in any great detail, but how is the Logistics Support agreement going to be a headache? It would only mean that every time the IAF goes to the Red Flag, they dont have to wait agonisingly for the budgets to be approved for the exercise by the MoD babus..
Here is the US-Korea Logistics Support agreement..
Cant find a single objectionable word here..And even then, this statement stands out
Each party agrees to utilize its best endeavors, consistent with national priorities, to
satisfy requests of the other party
I would trust the India negotiators to "pull" out something even better..
Every single engagement with the US is denounced as a sellout almost in a PAvlovian fashion!
Even people who should be "in the know" are simply overhwelmed by this reflexxive anti Americanism...Way past its sell by date unfortuntely, and way out of tune with the real India...
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 10:20
by somnath
For a long time now, Indian PMs have tended to keep foreign policy very close to their own chests..We havent had an influential foreign minister for a long time, not after Krishna Menon actually...Barring brief intereugnums..and their chief interlocutor has always been outside the foreign ministry..
PVNR kept the ailing Dinesh Singh as FM, and ran foreign policy with the able JN Dixit...ABV kept foreign policy close to his chest as well - for a long time he didnt have a foreign minister and Jaswant Singh acted as the intermediary..Jaswant Singh was the other influential policy wonk officially in as FM - but again for a relatively brief period..
MMS has run the foreign policy pretty much on his own as well - and has had quite a few people now populating the FM's post..Barring Pranab Mukherjee, no one really had enough clout to really drive "policy"..And even PM was really only firefighting rather than drive policy..The real foreign policy interlocutor has been MK Narayanan and Shiv Menon for MMS..
With foreign policy being such an important handle of governance today, most PM's dopnt want to enturst it to someone else!!
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 10:35
by RayC
"Balochistan issue will haunt India in near future," Sinha told the Lok Sabha.
Raising a question that why Balochistan issue was included, Sinha said now Pakistan will raise the issue constantly before the world leaders.
Slamming Pak's U-turn on Hafiz Saeed, he said that Pakistan has freed Nov 26 Mumbai attacks mastermind LeT chief on lack of evidences. Despite being tightening noose on Islamabad, government included Balochistan issue for discussion, Sinha alleged.
Describing the drafting of dossier as a sensitive issue, he said that the drafting should be done carefully. He sought reply from the External Affairs Minister that where he was when drafting was done.
Sinha fired an array of questions on Government during the debate.
He asked whether Indo-Pak relations has widened or narrowed with this step?
He also sought reply from the government saying that it was a diplomatic failure by the government and one of the biggest mistakes witnessed by the country.
Meanwhile, the Prime Minister Manmohan Singh said that no such dossier on Balochistan has been received.
Balochistan issue to haunt India in future: Yashwant Sinha
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 11:24
by putnanja
PVN had Pranab Mukherjee as EAM after Dinesh Singh. And ABV initially had Jaswant singh as defacto EAM as Jaswant lost the lok sabha election. Yashwant Sinha too was no weak minister. And PVN himself was an EAM under Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi.
Till the end of cold war, India was sort of isolated diplomatically too. We weren't big enough for US to pay any attention. However, once the reforms started under PVN, the economy started growing. The cold war was coming to an end and there was sort of chaos with the Gulf war, collapse of SU etc. And later on with the nuclear explosions etc the engagement with other countries reached a different level. The NDA government was the first to create the cabinet committes. And the Cabinet Committee on Security was created so that all relevant ministries ( home, finance, defence and EAM) can chip in with their inputs. And the NDA govt had senior people in these ministries. PVN had Pranab too, and PVN is a different league all together.
If there is good coordination between PM and EAM, then there won't be paronia by the PM. If the PM wants to take unilateral decisions, then of course, having someone like SM Krishna is good politics, have a dummy person sitting in office while policy is driven by PMO. Witness how the CCS consensus on joint statement was overwritten unilaterally by the PM in S-e-S. While the PM is the first among equals, the arrogance and insecurity that others aren't as smart as them and so not trusting anyone costs the country in the long run
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 11:50
by somnath
Its a question of what degree of political clout does the FM wields..He either gets it from the PM (Jaswant Singh), or has it on his own (Pranab Mukherjee in MMS's cabinet)..Pranabda was not the influential politician in PVNR's cabinet that he is now - he was in fact making a "comeback" into Congress and had to contend with a lightweight Commerce portfolio for most of PVNR's term..Yashwant Sinha was never a heavyweight - in fact the only person who thinks he is a heavyweight is Sinha himself!

Even Rajiv Gandhi did not trust PVNR all that much (after all he dismissed a foreign secretary in a press conference!) - read Natwar Singh's accounts (admittedly a bit biased) - he ran foreign policy pretty much himself with Natwar Singh as his sidekick..
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 12:08
by putnanja
You need a politically strong person, but along with it you also need someone who is basically street smart. Pranab and PVN were good EAMs, irrespective of the fact that they may or not have been politically strong. however, the fact that Pranab had commerce when India was negotiating the WTO during PVN's regime shows how much PVN valued Pranab's capabilities. Pranab in fact has no loyal following in the congress. He has seniority and experience and that is valued. But he doesn't have popular support like Sharad Pawar or even SM Krishna etc. SM Krishna at least has state level support in congress in Karnataka. Yashwant was the finance minister in NDA govt too. You don't give finance ministries to junior people in the party. Yashwant was no pushover, and he would speak his mind to the opposing party whichever country they were from.
The EAM doesn't have to be politically strong. It is a powerless ministry in a sense that there are no electoral benefits nor can you make money, nor can you wield it to settle scores. However, it is a prestigious ministry and has a bearing on the nation's long term interest. NDA went by CCS on most important matters including talks with pakistan and even the joint statement in agra. .
The PM appoints ministers who enjoy his confidence. And usually the PM and the ministers work in unison with both having a stake in the govt. However, in cases where the PM himself is appointed, and has no powers to appoint people of his choice, and the only people he trusts are bureaucrats and ex-bureaucrats, then you try to deal with the hand you are dealt. So it is with MMS that he got a pliant person as EAM, while his coterie of ex-bureaucrats and bureaucrats run the govt, whether it is commerce or foreign affairs. He wanted to give finance to montek or rangarajan, but thankfully Sonia put her foot down and Pranab got the assignment. Sonia probably didn't think that the PM would start behaving the way he is now. Even if one looks at her comment, she basically says the PM explained the position in Parliament, but she never said anywhere explicitly that there is nothing wrong in the joint statement.
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 12:18
by somnath
The EAM doesn't have to be politically strong
Not true, for any influential minister in a democracy, political backing is paramount - else he will be reduced to bureaucraticc platitudes..And precisely becasue foreign policy is so crucial to the broad agenda of the govt does the PM typically like to keep it close to himself..
The PM appoints ministers who enjoy his confidence
Again wrong - there are far too may compulsions..MMS did not like A Raja, he didnt have a choice..ABV wanted Jaswant Singh as Finance Minster, the RSS didnt...Ministry formation is always a compromise - hecen for important minitries (foreign policy, defence etc), the PM pretty much takes charge by appointing all these special envoys, OSDs in the PMO etc..
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 12:24
by RayC
The fact that Pronob Mukhujay spoke in the Debate instead of the Foreign Minister indicates that though he is a political weakling, his Machiavellian acumen could not be given short shrift and so he was used to salvage the PM!
It also indicates that the PM has lost faith with the FM (?) and maybe even SG? (?)
The FM is already being dubbed as Shivraj Patil Mark II!
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 12:30
by somnath
RayC wrote:The fact that Pronob Mukhujay spoke in the Debate instead of the Foreign Minister indicates that though he is a political weakling, his Machiavellian acumen could not be given short shrift and so he was used to salvage the PM!
In this govt, PM is probably the most politically influential minister after SG and MMS...
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 12:35
by putnanja
somnath wrote:The EAM doesn't have to be politically strong
Not true, for any influential minister in a democracy, political backing is paramount - else he will be reduced to bureaucraticc platitudes..And precisely becasue foreign policy is so crucial to the broad agenda of the govt does the PM typically like to keep it close to himself..
The PM appoints ministers who enjoy his confidence
Again wrong - there are far too may compulsions..MMS did not like A Raja, he didnt have a choice..ABV wanted Jaswant Singh as Finance Minster, the RSS didnt...Ministry formation is always a compromise - hecen for important minitries (foreign policy, defence etc), the PM pretty much takes charge by appointing all these special envoys, OSDs in the PMO etc..
What are you talking about? When I meant politically strong, I meant as in "people support" and "key leaders support". Pranab doesn't have a vote bank, krishna does, but matters little in EAM.
and don't bring in the allies. in a coalition govt, you have to respect your allies. That is why key ministries like Home, Defence and EAM is kept by the single largest party. And Jaswant wasn't given any ministry because he lost the election. That is why no minster was sworn in by ABV but JS was given control through other means. And most of the special envoys are appointed by MMS. ABV had the NSA deal with the chinese too on border issue. MMS appointed OSD to take the nuclear deal forward.
somnath wrote:In this govt, PM is probably the most politically influential minister after SG and MMS...
How do you define influential? Even MMS is a political weakling. if tomorrow Pranab or MMS want to break up the UPA govt and form a govt of their own, how many ministers will even join them? This is what I meant by being politically strong earlier. They don't have a strong voters base like Sharad Pawar has, or Madhavrao Scindia or Rajesh Pilot had. Even Deve Gowda for all his faults has a much stronger political base than pranab or MMS can dream of. Sharad Pawar was able to break away from Congress and survive. Can MMS or Pranab do that?
Their influence flows from their position and the importance that Sonia gives them and nothing more.
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 12:37
by RayC
somnath wrote:RayC wrote:The fact that Pronob Mukhujay spoke in the Debate instead of the Foreign Minister indicates that though he is a political weakling, his Machiavellian acumen could not be given short shrift and so he was used to salvage the PM!
In this govt, PM is probably the most politically influential minister after SG and MMS...
So. he should answer for all ministries?!
There is something called protocol!
Each minister answers for his ministry. Even if a MOS wants to answer, he is to take the permission of the Minsister of Cabinet rank.
Therefore, Pronob standing in for the FM is a queer situation!
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 12:42
by putnanja
RayC wrote:The fact that Pronob Mukhujay spoke in the Debate instead of the Foreign Minister indicates that though he is a political weakling, his Machiavellian acumen could not be given short shrift and so he was used to salvage the PM!
It also indicates that the PM has lost faith with the FM (?) and maybe even SG? (?)
The FM is already being dubbed as Shivraj Patil Mark II!
Ray, MMS hasn't lost faith in Krishna, in fact Krishna was his choice. He doesn't want an independent thinking EAM, as PM wants to drive the foreign policy. All Krishna needs to do is to attend to the administrative side of his dept. He is a mask and nothing more. The PM has put Shashi Tharoor in EAM to do his bidding. I read in some article that Pranab was asked to respond so that Krishna being new wont screw up. He still managed to do it though
Like I mentioned before, if the PM was a stalwart in his party, like ABV was or IG was, then the ministers look upto them. And there is convergence of interest and good communication. Here, the PM himself is an appointed person, and I doubt any other minister would give him the time of the day if not for SG. And the PM has only ex-bureaucrats for advice, so he is naturally inclined to not trust any other politician.
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 12:42
by somnath
Not normal at all..shows who's runnign foreign policy!! Its the PMO - thats why MMS replied and now Pranabda..
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 13:12
by RayC
is Pronob a part of the PMO?
Both have not convinced!
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 13:41
by John Snow
Foreign to Policy, intimate with expediency
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 14:01
by somnath
RayC wrote:is Pronob a part of the PMO?
Both have not convinced!
He isnt - but he is the most influential political animal in this govt - obviously Krishna is the "mukhaota"...
Posted: 31 Jul 2009 15:20
by SSridhar
RaviBg wrote:. . . He doesn't want an independent thinking EAM, as PM wants to drive the foreign policy. . . .
RaviBg, I agree with you.
The PM has put Shashi Tharoor in EAM to do his bidding. I read in some article that Pranab was asked to respond so that Krishna being new wont screw up. He still managed to do it though

Like Pranab da covering up for SM Krishna, somebody else should cover up for Shashi Tharoor too. He is equally naive.
Posted: 01 Aug 2009 03:26
by negi
It helps if PM takes special interest as far as formulating FP is concerned and hence his/her influence over MEA is obvious having said that the downside is when PM's ideals/personal agenda conflict with what is in nation's interest . One can take examples from tenures of IG and JLN to actually realize as to how an influential PM can work wonders or at times harm Nation's interests while driving the MEA single handedly.