The Red Menace

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: The Red Menace

News channels reporting:
16 policemen including Dy SP gunned down near Nagpur by Maoists... :cry: :cry: :x

From TOI: Naxals kill 16 cops

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Indi ... 561463.cms

The amazing thing here is that this "naxals killing cops/people" have become so commonplace that it gets mentioned only in passing. You can almost miss reading this news item. Its gut-wrenching.

Time for aerial drone decapitation strikes. Something needs to be done to put the fear into them.

Op-ed in Pioneer,
OPED | Saturday, May 23, 2009 | Email | Print |

Road to Renaissance-2

Udayan Namboodiri

Can we be certain that May 16 was India's day of liberation from the Communist scourge? Much depends on how the Bengali clinches the bigger war ahead recalling the Tagore-Gandhi vision

October 20, 2007 had coincided with Maha Navami, the penultimate day of the Durga Puja festivities. It's a day when the celebrations reach a wistful peak. For, on the morrow, Bijoya Dashami, the Devi returns to her husband's abode, and it will be back to the daily grind for her people, the Bengalis.

I saw that year's merry- making through the prism of Singur, Nandigram, the Rizwanur incident and the ration shop scandal. Perhaps, I thought, the Devi had noticed a new pluck in the Bengali. Missing was the defeatism, gone was the self-flagellating Bengali reconciled to his predicament. In place was an unbelievable peasant-bhadraloke alliance to wage peaceful, democratic war on a criminal regime which, apart from destroying everything that was decent in Bengal over 30 years of deceit, terror and corruption, had also emasculated Bengal's ability to contribute substantively to the greater Indian good.

Last Saturday, May 16, we were vindicated. The CPI(M) and its allies were smashed in the Lok Sabha election; reduced to just 15 seats from a state they counted as their strategic depth in their anti-national crusade. The disaggregated results shows that the once-unconquerable alliance had trailed in 194 of the 294 Assembly segments. This, clearly, is the beginning of the end.

But it's not the time to strut about in malicious satisfaction. Forget the pipsqueaks who mocked the farmers of Singur on the afternoon of September 3, 2006 when they rose for the first time against the powerful Communist-Tata-Media triumvirate, filling every cell of the Bengali collective being with profound energy. Now is the time to prepare for not only the last battle which is officially programmed for April-May 2011, but also the years of reconstruction that would follow.

Before reconstructing Bengal's democracy, industry and agriculture, the Bengali mindset has to be recast in the modern mould. I now suggest the algorithm:

1. New Leftism:

Some people are frightened that the Left Front may be replaced by a 'Lefter' Front. Sunanda K. Datta-Ray wrote in The Pioneer this week that the new 'M' in CPI(M) may be 'Mamata'. By a series of historical accidents, India's Communists have come to hog the entire 'Left' space. It is forgotten that even the RSS, which the Communists condemn as 'rightist', has a Left-wing economic outlook which the late Dattopant Thengadi articulated through a powerful trade union movement. As for the CPI(M), it is guilty of everything but practicing socialism in Bengal. Under Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, the State has withdrawn the economic rights of the poor and has turned Bengal over to land grabbers and freebooters. Viewed from the perspective of the global economic slowdown, the Left (not Communism) has a new relevance in the 21st century. Barack Obama is nationalising banks. On December 10, 2008, Germany's finance minister Peer Steinbruck launched an outspoken attack on Britain's Thatcherite shibboleth of credit-financed growth. Everywhere else, yesterday's free marketers are re-learning their economics. So, why deny Mamata Banerjee's entitlement to seek the revitalisation of the original Leftist energy of Bengal.

Post May 16, the campaign of some Buddhajeebis (see Lookback for definition) to cast the anti-CPI(M) struggle in Maoist colours has become irrelevant. However, the essential Leftist core of the Bengali worldview, to which Rabindranath Tagore's humanism and Vivekananda-Aurbindo's spiritualism contributed much, remains unaffected by the CPI(M)-led 'Left Front's' distortion of the socialist dream.

Some time in the summer of 2007, Mamata Banerjee corrected a close associate who was going on and on about being "Baam Birodhi" (anti-Left). She said: "I think you should stick to CPM Birodhi (anti-CPM) because we need the Leftists on our side". Now we know what she meant. She was astute enough to realise that no election could be won in Bengal by excluding the real Leftist -- the non-Communist socialist.

2. Tagorean socialitarian ideal

"The Bengali will remember me on occasions both joyous and sad, my poetry and songs will fill their lives at all times". Bengalis uphold this famous truism in their daily lives, but in a mechanical, soulless sort of way. The greatest gems of Tagore are largely forgotten and, if recalled, could prove instructive to planning the great Bengal rebound. Not one word uttered by Mamata Banerjee in the anti-Singur or Nandigram struggle is actually original. Her Ma-Mati-Manush war cry is unconscious revivification of Tagore's appeal for harmony. In his letter to Kalimohan Ghosh from Berlin in 1930, Tagore rued the lack of harmony in the western model of economic planning. What was needed for India, Tagore stressed, was: "harmony between man and man, man and nature, city and village, science and society and society and state".

So, Bengalis must rediscover the economist in Rabindranath. His plan for erecting proud, self-sufficient villages anticipated even Mahatma Gandhi’s gram swaraj. "The villages in the country must be built up to be completely self-sufficient and able to supply all their own needs", Tagore wrote in The Cooperative Principles, 1928. In an address to volunteers who worked on his rural project in Sriniketan village in 1937, Tagore said: "We must so endeavour that the villages themselves gain the strength to working along with us. If I can free only one or two villages from the bonds of ignorance and weakness, there will be built, on a tiny scale, an ideal for the whole of India". This also formed the nucleus of Mahatma Gandhi's great economic theories, which the world today is finally acknowledging. The leitmotif of the anti-SEZ campaign should be to preserve the essential India, which both Tagore and Gandhi held, lives in her villages.

Tagore believed that the State must maintain the conditions necessary to promote good life and help the expression of those moral and spiritual aspirations of man which belongs to his higher nature. He also opposed the Communist principle of class struggle.

3. Environmentalism

Globalisation's heyday is over. The United Nations is in the process of evolving the "Green New Deal" under which national development plans would discard energy-intensive industrialisation leading to global warming. The new mantra is 'more jobs, more social profit, less pollution'. Singur and Nandigram will be recalled as the world's biggest environment struggles. To Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, the environment is expendable. "Jobs first, progress lies in converting villages into cities", he said in a speech on the occasion of the golden jubilee of Ganashakti, the CPI(M)'s mouthpiece, in January 2007.

Bengal needs a 'green new deal' more than any other state. In the months to come, Bengali economic thinkers must evolve a sustainable development plan based on jute diversification, the proposals of the Bamboo Mission, food processing, floriculture and the small-is-beautiful model. After 15 years of Buddhadeb's suicidal Shilpayan (industrialisation), Bengal is the world's dumping ground of dangerous industries.

Conclusion: Aping the west is an old behaviorial disorder in Kolkata. The chattering Bengali, rolling off unidiomatic English in a funny accent has, thankfully, left Bengal and is busy think-tanking for other people's battles. The next Bengal renaissance must be home grown with the poorest Bengali's wholesome development at the centre.

-- The writer is author of Bengal's Night Without End (New Delhi, 2006) and Senior Editor, The Pioneer

I think reviving Tagore's humnaism is essential. I dont know about the older economic ideas. In the demise of the left the field should not be left open for soul harvesters of either kind to bring in Kingdom of God or Allah.

Joye Durga ma!

Tagore's main experiments in Sriniketan were about economic reforms - (1) microcredit (2) cooperative store (3) small scale and cottage industries - handlooms, pottery, you name it (3) cooperative agriculture and agrarian innovation.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

We need a separate thread to discuss the biased reporting and propaganda lies of the Stalinist media which is a subset of the Red Menace. Suggested thread name 'Rapist goon/Mass murderer/Eye gougers/Traitor propaganda yellow media thread'

brihaspati wrote:Tagore's main experiments in Sriniketan were about economic reforms - (1) microcredit (2) cooperative store (3) small scale and cottage industries - handlooms, pottery, you name it (3) cooperative agriculture and agrarian innovation.
And what did he say on ways to improve Military?

If nothing, doesnt that prove that he was an intellectuals planted by West to misguide Indian youth? For if any person is worried about Nation, the two things he will NOT ignore is poverty reduction and improving Military. If Tagore refused to give details about Military can be improved, isnt he useless for modern day India?

Rahul Mehta wrote:
brihaspati wrote:Tagore's main experiments in Sriniketan were about economic reforms - (1) microcredit (2) cooperative store (3) small scale and cottage industries - handlooms, pottery, you name it (3) cooperative agriculture and agrarian innovation.
And what did he say on ways to improve Military?

If nothing, doesnt that prove that he was an intellectuals planted by West to misguide Indian youth? For if any person is worried about Nation, the two things he will NOT ignore is poverty reduction and improving Military. If Tagore refused to give details about Military can be improved, isnt he useless for modern day India?

brihaspati: Tagore's main experiments in Sriniketan were about economic reforms - (1) microcredit (2) cooperative store (3) small scale and cottage industries - handlooms, pottery, you name it (3) cooperative agriculture and agrarian innovation.

Rahul Mehta: And what did he say on ways to improve Military? if nothing, doesnt that prove that he was an intellectuals planted by West to misguide Indian youth? For if any person is worried about Nation, the two things he will NOT ignore is poverty reduction and improving Military. If Tagore refused to give details about (how) Military can be improved, isnt he useless for modern day India?

Rahul M: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Rahul M,

I was about to log out from BR after I had typed the post which was supposed to be my last post on the BR for today.

But two of your ROTFLs has raised high curiosity and so I am positing this post.

1. Pls explain me the meaning behind first ROTFL
2. Pls explain me the meaning behind second ROTFL

And pls explain me as fast as possible. I have never been more curious in my life.

Why drag "Kaviguru" into this?

RM, by your logic, he was a communist - since he admired what the Russians could potentially achieve, as expressed in his "Letters from Russia" : ...we cannot be certain if she [Russia], in her tribulations, is giving expression to man's indomitable soul against prosperity built upon moral nihilism. All that we can say is that the time to judge has not yet come. It is not unlikely that, as a nation, she will fail; but if she fails with the flag of true ideals in her hands, then her failure will fade like the morning star, only to usher in the sunrise of a new age".

So here obviously revolutionary violence is okay, if it was based on idealism.

By the way, there was certain P.N.Tagore who slipped out of India with the British hot on his heels and not for his very "peaceful" and non-military activities. His connections and the circumstances of his escape could be of interest. Such incidents, and Rabindranath's concern for "Subhas" may point out some oddities about his attitudes towards "violence" of the armed and idealistic kind. Let me not even go into some of his poems and his plays - about the character "Durgesh Dumraj", and of course the notorious arguments in the long speech of Raghupati in Visarjana - "hatya sarvatra" - it is Raghupati who dominates the entire polemics, whatever be the poetic justice meted out at the end.
Tilak

Post by Tilak »

‘Four lakh tribals displaced due to Maoists' activities’
New Delhi, May 24: More than four lakh tribals have been displaced due to extremists activists by Maoists in various parts of India, a non-government organisation has claimed in its latest report.

"A total of 4,01,425 tribals have been displaced due to armed conflicts and ethnic conflicts across India," Asian Indegenous and Tribal People's Network (AITPN), which has special consultative status with the UN's Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), claimed in its report.

"These displaced persons (tribals) have been living miserable lives without basic amenities including food, water, shelter, medical services, sanitation and livelihood opportunities," it added.

About 1.2 lakh members of Gutti Koya tribes of Bastar and Bijapur districts of Chhattisgarh fled to Andhra Pradesh's Khammam between January to June last year to escape violence by the Maoists and the Salwa Judum activists, the report said.
But, these benefits were later withdrawn by the Andhra Pradesh government soon after Maoists killed more than 30 Greyhound personnel in an ambush at Chitrakonda reservoir in Orissa on June 29 last year and police accused Gutti Koya tribals of being supporters of the Maoists, the report said.

Top Naxal leader killed in police encounter
Published by: Deepak Rana
Published: Sun, 24 May 2009 at 19:15 IST
Warangal/Hyderabad, May 24 : Maoists in Andhra Pradesh suffered a jolt today with top Naxal leader Patel Sudhakar Reddy, allegedly involved in several cases including a bid on the life of former chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu, and another cadre being killed in an encounter with police near here.

Sudhakar Reddy, a member of the central committee of CPI-Maoists, and Venkataiah were killed in the Lavella forest area in Tadwai Mandal of Warangal district about 6 am, Warangal SP V C Sajjanar said.
Reddy, a native of Kurthirao Cheruvu in Mahabubnagar district, was allegedly involved in the bid on the life of Naidu at Tirupati in 2003 and killings of then home minister A Madhava Reddy in 2000 and also senior IPS officers K S Vyas and Umesh Chandra. (MORE)
aditya

Post by aditya »

zeenews wrote: Reddy, a native of Kurthirao Cheruvu in Mahabubnagar district, was allegedly involved in the bid on the life of Naidu at Tirupati in 2003 and killings of then home minister A Madhava Reddy in 2000 and also senior IPS officers K S Vyas and Umesh Chandra. (MORE)
http://www.umeshchandra.org
derkonig
Location: Jeering sekular forces bhile Furiously malishing my mijjile @ Led Lips Mijjile Malish Palish Parloul

Post by derkonig »

Misscarriage of justice: Naxal terrorist Binayak Sen is granted bail by SC.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

derkonig wrote:Misscarriage of justice: Naxal terrorist Binayak Sen is granted bail by SC.
From twitter of binayak sen supporter :
justice rajinder sachar is also appearing on behalf of binayak.
case number 13 being heard now. It will take another 20 min to start hearing of binayak's bail plea
then the hearing starts...
judge did not even want to hear prosecution lawyer! dismissed him in one sentence 'bail granted'
binayak will be released in raipur today on personal bond.
Have always said, respect for judiciary aside that one person on the vacation bench is truly out of his mind.

Moreover, when SC has refused to admit the Special Leave Petition consistently, this vacation bench granted the permission. The hearing came within a week and BS is free.
As long as our judicial enforcers do not come out of the old 70s mindset of romanticism with various violent isms (disguised) as a representation of people's interest, they will continue to deliver strange judgements.

Fast justice indeed.

derkonig wrote:Misscarriage of justice: Naxal terrorist Binayak Sen is granted bail by SC.
Is Sen a terrorist or just a non-violent sympathizer?

Did he actively corroborated in any violent acts? If not, why should he be not granted bail?
derkonig
Location: Jeering sekular forces bhile Furiously malishing my mijjile @ Led Lips Mijjile Malish Palish Parloul

Post by derkonig »

AjayKK wrote:
judge did not even want to hear prosecution lawyer! dismissed him in one sentence 'bail granted'
Fast justice indeed.
I wonder how much of this speedy justice is due to the emboldening of EJ forces after the national elections.
As for BS, he stands accused of being a courier for naxals. If the accusations are right, he is a terrorist regardless of whether he yielded arms or not.

Vinaayak Sen was a wrong target and a tactical mistake to pick on. Even if he has had connections with the Maoists, it would be difficult to prove. His official cover is excellent. It did smell of typical administrative vindictiveness in being thwarted or being unable to deal with clever dissenting voice with counter voices. This was a knee-jerk reaction from authority - the only thing it knows - silence the voice. That way, you popularize the "cause". Now it has gone beyond national borders and he hads been made into an international celebrity.

One part of tackling "undesirable ideologies" is to be able to counter them "ideologically". This means open attacks on the ideology, deconstructing them, if you have the capability. Choosing physical targets for liquidation, either mildly by gagging them, or strongly by eliminating them, is less effective and has possible negative offshoots which shoul only be resorted to very selectively.

http://news.rediff.com/slide-show/2009/ ... ak-out.htm

Notice the psyops here. Where did the Psy Ops thread go btw?
After spending 22 months in prison, human rights activist Dr Binayak Sen was granted bail by the Supreme Court on Monday.
Note how the article portrays Binayak Sen is a simple doctor just working for the poor people. Also note how Prasanna Zore has the original letter that he has posted up.... when was the last time Rediff put up original letters?

Zore belongs to the same category of creatures such as Teesta Setalvad, the five star NGO jholawalas.
derkonig

Post by derkonig »

Psy ops thread for some strange reason was wound up with the LMU, L&M nukkad & nukkad in the Tora Bora General dis-cuss-shun cave complex.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

Trial of Sen begins today in Raipur Court today.

The argument of counsel of CHG was that Binayak's detention is necessary during trial. And maybe some other things we dont know.

But Justice Katju denied him an opportunity to speak and granted bail in a minute.

Moreover, PUCL has appealed against the Chhattisgarh Special Public Security Act and Unlawful Activities Prevention Act in SC.
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

Hmm.... so Katju sahib has struck again. He has a long history.

A lot of deranged jholawalas entered government services in seventies and eighties. They have risen up to senior ranks now. Fortunately, in the next 15 years, we will see the last of this crop and we as a nation can go back to being normal like other races.

Justice Katju denied the governmen counsel an opportunity to have his say. Is this exalted method of arriving at a judgement constitutional?

Just a general doubt about Mr.Katju. Seems to make a lot of weird statements from saying that "if a wife asks something, better listen or else", "Do you want to be Taliban" to a muslim kid asking about some case about growing a beard or blasting a stuent who had filed case against her school for expelling her for holding a procession.

Not that his judgements are wrong, but he seems to blurt out some horrible things in the final judgement.

sum wrote:Not that his judgements are wrong, but he seems to blurt out some horrible things in the final judgement.
I hope he does'nt make such statements in the formal judgement (a written document) :lol:.

Let me tell a little story about myself - but I am not telling this story for the first time on this forum.

I was educated in a British style "Public School" that had the ISCE syllabus - the so called "Senior Cambridge" syllabus. (O-levels for us Indians). The school was started in 1864 for the children of British soldiers and the ethos of the school had much in common with the "Public Schools" of Britain made famous in the books that we read in that ear - "Billy Bunter" and "William" (as well as other books that we read out of curiosity and did not admit reading - such as the girls books "Fifth Form at Mallory Towers")

My childhood in the early sixties, in keeping with the social class of my birth was (believe it or not) - not too much different from the lifestyle of 1960s suburban America depicted in "DELL" comics. We lived in an area of similar households with people of a similar background. Dad went to the office every day. Mom was at home. I did not understand in those days that my family was one of very few who owned a car. We had a refrigerator for "Coke" and ice, and we had bikes and a gramophone player and a telephone. From this I graduated on to "Mad magazine" that satirical American phenomenon that merely firmed up my psychological connection with the "West".

My school curriculum in ISCE did not include "social studies". I was not taught one bit about political parties of India and hardly learned about independence (in school). However I did learn my social studies from Mad magazine. Mad magazine - reflecting a humorous (to some) side of McCarthyism in America taught me that if you do not like your school teacher, you could write "teacher is a commie" on the blackboard and get her arrested. For me, as a child, America, Britain and India were all rolled into one.

In my later years - our travel during holidays to my "hometown" was by train - my father had given up a lucrative earlier job - when we travelled only by plane (Dakotas in most part) in the late 1950s - for a lower paying one so that his children could acquire an education. During the night - I would see small fires burning in the countryside and I imagined that they were "campfires". It was only 7 or 8 years later, in Medical College that I learned that these campfires" were the only source of light and energy for 80% of Indian households of that era. I was that far removed from reality by my early education.

Eventually I joined medical college and in my first year there was a CPI meeting outside the campus - with communist flags flying all around, on poles. This shocked me. I had been taught (by Mad magazine, for my school taught me nothing) that communism was "illegal". Now here was a whole crowd of commies. It caused me some anxiety - and I believed that a revolution or riot might occur. On the one hand I had visions of Mao's China. On the other hand, I flicked one of the flags and put it up in my room as a symbol of social rebellion of that era - like Che Guevara. Both Che Guevara and Mao were alive and doing their thing in that era.

The point I am trying to make with my autobiography is that for all its faults, Communism is a valid and recognised political platform in India. It is hardly illegal (as I believe it is in America). While "Reds" may be a "menace" to many of us, I want to point out that for India the "red menace" is no more of a menace than Islamic exclusivism, the Church meddling in politics, "resurgent" Hindutva or even the menace of the life of the exclusive controllers social class that my life history indicates - which was unconsciously supported by the deprivation and misery of many other Indians. Only in America can you get away with a uniform dissing of communism and wear that attitude on your shoulder.

This is a politically partisan thread in a forum that does not entertain other politically inconvenient topics. This topic is entertained only because of vestiges of McCarthyite "American hawa" (fractal recursivity) and the fact that it is "secular' and does not tread on religious sensitivities. In other words this is a thread that is comfortable for a "secular American viewpoint". This thread represents a typical pseudosecular view of the controlling classes of Indian society who get their inputs from the West, just as my education did to me.

Does "Bharat-Rakshak" need this hypocritical bias?

political correctness is simply a sweetened word for hypocrisy, when the bias is towards the *ahem* correct side.

Shiv
you were yourselves part of it not too long ago. So pardon me, if I am not able to understand the reasons behind your "jihad" :twisted: against the "politically correct" actions of the BR jirga. We are all part of it, have been part of it and accentuating it.

You and I, everyone knows what will happen. There will be hair splits between the ideologies of CPIM and CPIML(basically the maoists) and statements that this thread is for the second type and because the collateral damage is only to CPIM, which is a chinese stooge- it doesnt matter. The same principle will not be applied to SIMI and SP, congress - because the collateral damage is to "politically correct" ones.

We are all part of this charade. Lets enjoy the show with some popcorns in hand

Correction RaviKu. I was instrumental in breaking out of hypocritical correctness. Hence my jihad. You are in my club of friends, but I am not in your club of political correctness.
raji

Post by raji »

Just a factual correction. Communism is not illegal in the US. There is a Communist Party of America and also a Socialist Party of America. The Communist Party of America is in much more dire straits than the Socialist Party. Banning any thought within the US is unconsitutional, therefore you also have organizations such as KKK, American Nazi party and other hate groups that can also operate legally, as long as they are only propogating their ideology.......not indulging in violence.

The confusion arises from the fact that when entertaining Visa applications, there is a US law which allows the US government to deny visa to any foreigner who has ever been a member of the communist party. Banning or penalizing any American citizen for his beliefs is unconstitutional.

Last edited by Virupaksha on 30 May 2009 09:59, edited 2 times in total.
raji

Post by raji »

Yeah.............so ??

During the McCarthy era there was a social stigma attached to being a communist. McCarthy outed a lot of communist sympathisers or soft on communist types who were influential people in the society, by having Congressional hearings and promoting government investigations, under the guise that these people were Russian spies. The result were black lists etc, which destroyed a lot of people's careers......because of the social stigma.......

There were no imprisonment of anyone during the McCarthy era simply because they were communists. Because there was no law under which that could occur.

I advise you to not question well known and established facts........stick to arguing opinions....

Shiv, we are moving OT and I could not find a better place, I am posting my reply in the whines thread.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 41#p678141

raji wrote:Shiv,

Just a factual correction. Communism is not illegal in the US. .

Which only goes to prove that my mind is a mixture of Macaulayism and Fractal recursivity.

But I am wiling to admit it. :D

ravi_ku wrote:Shiv, we are moving OT and I could not find a better place, I am posting my reply in the whines thread.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 41#p678141
and my response
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 38#p678238
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

People belonging to a organization, which believes in killing people and eating their flesh to terrorize villagers and killing students in exams halls and actively campaigns to deprive students of education, surrender.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Indi ... 608314.cms

Welcome to India’s newest, secret state
When the engineer came to this sylvan southwestern corner of West Bengal in May, his estimate for rebuilding a canal was Rs 2 crore. The government didn’t call him. The villagers didn’t call him. The man from Jadavpur University — an institution known for its engineering department — was called in by Maoists to this sylvan land of 1,100 villages where a seminal change is unfolding in the way India’s most-powerful and long-lived extremist movement works.
Here across a 1,000-sq-km area bordering Orissa in West Midnapore district, the Maoists over the last eight months have quietly unleashed new weapons in their battle against the Indian state: drinking water, irrigation, roads and health care.
Carefully shielded from the public eye, the Hindustan Times found India’s second “liberated zone”, a Maoist-run state within a state where development for more than 2 lakh people is unfolding at a pace not seen in 30 years of Left rule.
Well..more efforts to divide Mother India. I hope her sons that are in positions of power are not ostriches.

Meanwhile Binayak Sen's mates do what they do the best

http://news.rediff.com/report/2009/jun/ ... hedpur.htm

The scale of these Naxal/Maoist slaughters is really sad. Its deja-vu - I remember the times when I read the news of yet another transistor bomb going off in Punjab/Delhi & soon enough you develop a feeling of indifference.

That being said, I think we are over-reacting to Binayak Sen's release. Its very Rush Limbaugh'ish - "if you even try to understand the problems of tribals, you are a Naxalite". So far, there is no evidence that Binayak Sen is a Maoist sympathizer (or collaborator). By putting forward such polarizing views, we are pretty much eliminating the possibility of a moderating factor & informed debate.

Did anyone see the naxal propaganda video that was aired on Times NOW yesterday?

Pretty chilling stuff, esp the way they gloat over murdering 55 policemen in a raid..
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

This requires cross posting in multiple threads...anyways here it goes...

http://www.hindu.com/2009/06/12/stories ... 651200.htm
The paper described as “wishful thinking” that “gratitude for India’s restraint” in joining the “ring around China” established by the United States and Japan would see China deferring to Indian demands on territorial disputes.
The paper here refers to "People's Daily"...

Attention all Nandigram rapist goons and their yellow media cabals...your paymasters have given clear notice that they are not going to give us any credit for licking their rear orifices and antagonising US in the process, as you guys have been demanding all the while..

So we can see that the lefties were indeed sellouts, worshippers of cash payoffs:

British Trade Union Leader Was Soviet Agent
bhart

Naxal Violence

Post by bhart »

Just to keep track of incidents and steps taken to tackle this problem. For the uninformed, if you go by the BBC, 182 districts (there are approximately 600 in all) are affected by it. The whispered figure is of course, a lot higher.

For 12 June:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/New ... 649609.cms

The report mentions that a Mine Protected Vehicle was blown up by the Maoists- an indication of the quantity of explosives being used for each such incident.

Also note, when Chandrababu Naidu's convoy was attacked, they had used directional mines (IEDs).