Delhi Rape Victim Dies-Express your outrage.

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Delhi Rape Victim Dies-Express your outrage.

Shonu wrote:
SaiK wrote:Why this hurry for cremation? Is it per the girl's religious needs or something else? Why are the gov people attending the funeral?
As per our tradition, the body is cremated the very same day (if death before a certain time) or early next day. This is assuming she is hindu.

This was a purely political move as was the diabolical move to shift the poor girl to singapore when there was no medical need to do so. Such is the honest government of shri mms. His personal integrity is still intact, one supposes.

rajmata and mms recieved the body in the dead of night to show their (?) compassion, cremation done in the dead of night / very early morning to minimise the fallout as was done in kasab's case.

when the deed was done, resigned acceptance was what the GOI was looking for and that is exactly what they got from the fooled and long suffering populace.

They lost the game and set but won the match. Results will be that dixit will not make it back to the CMs gaddi and her son will also lose his seat. mms will be quitely led to some senile pasture where he will eke out the remainder of his days wondering at what could have been.

Not a single halo left shining on the Indian political firmament.
JohnTitor

Post by JohnTitor »

chetak wrote:This was a purely political move as was the diabolical move to shift the poor girl to singapore when there was no medical need to do so. Such is the honest government of shri mms. His personal integrity is still intact, one supposes.

rajmata and mms recieved the body in the dead of night to show their (?) compassion, cremation done in the dead of night / very early morning to minimise the fallout as was done in kasab's case.

when the deed was done, resigned acceptance was what the GOI was looking for and that is exactly what they got from the fooled and long suffering populace.

They lost the game and set but won the match. Results will be that dixit will not make it back to the CMs gaddi and her son will also lose his seat. mms will be quitely led to some senile pasture where he will eke out the remainder of his days wondering at what could have been.

Not a single halo left shining on the Indian political firmament.
The cremation itself so soon wasn't political as such. It might have coincided with their agenda but as per Hindu tradition, the body is not kept around (I'm not too sure if this varies with caste though). If the death is before a certain time, the body is cremated the same day - like for instance, if the person dies at 9am, the cremation has to be done before sunset the same day. Otherwise it is done just after sunrise the next day.

However, it was in kangress interest that it was done ASAP because it means the whole thing can be brushed under the carpet (which .. it will happen in a few days). Protests will die down and nothing will change.

I hoped you were right in that these morons and anti nationals will be voted out, but HP proved us otherwise. If after all the scams and the "growth" of the people movement with AAP and AH et al., they wrested control over HP, it just goes to show that nothing will change - I am saying this with a very sad feeling and helplessness. Looks like bread crumbs to various castes and "minorities" will always pay off. Sadly, this is the state of affairs in our country.

For those who want to reply with posts regarding "self-flagellation", pray tell me what great positives to be upbeat about? The lawlessness, the corruption, the inept rulers, the inflation making food expensive or the fact that the wealthy are unaffected. I bet most of those accusing me (and others) of this live in the US or UK where ofcourse although this pains them, doesn't affect them directly.

yogendra wrote: So the case would not rest on the accused's own acceptance of guilt. This I hope becomes the standard for all rape case.
Forensic evidence is already a SOP in any rape case. I mean seriously guys here should educate themselves a little before leaving such goat droppings.
yogendra

Post by yogendra »

Sagar G wrote:
yogendra wrote: So the case would not rest on the accused's own acceptance of guilt. This I hope becomes the standard for all rape case.
Forensic evidence is already a SOP in any rape case. I mean seriously guys here should educate themselves a little before leaving such goat droppings.
Sorry if this comes off wrongly.

But for what percentage of the rape cases is it followed. For it to be a SOP it must also be standardly implemented. And based on the reluctance of police to file an FIR or delay in filing an FIR (when most of the evidence is already washed/healed) i would wager that it is anything but standard. A sad reflection of our unsuccessful prosecution rate.

Sagar G wrote:
It is generally a bad idea to use expletives on members post.It invites more garbage.

And if it was SOP why police did not follow the same in Arushi Murder case? Clearly Police does not always follow their own procedure and lack of accountability makes things worse.

yogendra wrote:Sorry if this comes off wrongly.

But for what percentage of the rape cases is it followed. For it to be a SOP it must also be standardly implemented. And based on the reluctance of police to file an FIR or delay in filing an FIR (when most of the evidence is already washed/healed) i would wager that it is anything but standard. A sad reflection of our unsuccessful prosecution rate.
I don't have data to show for what percentage of cases it is followed but as soon as a rape victim files an FIR cops take her for a medical checkup which then forms a strong forensic evidence while fighting for the victim. I haven't come across any news where a rape victim hasn't been taken for a medical exam and if she isn't taken for one then it is considered negligence on part of the cops and the court will surely rap the cops for such gross negligence. Only the testimony of the victim or accused is not considered enough for proving or disproving rape (though there have been exceptions in this as well). If the victim comes out quite some time after the crime has been committed then I guess medical examination will be irrelevant since by then forensic evidence might be lost.

Police apathy towards rape victim and failure of our judiciary to prosecute is a totally different thing.

I hoped you were right in that these morons and anti nationals will be voted out, but HP proved us otherwise. If after all the scams and the "growth" of the people movement with AAP and AH et al., they wrested control over HP, it just goes to show that nothing will change - I am saying this with a very sad feeling and helplessness. Looks like bread crumbs to various castes and "minorities" will always pay off. Sadly, this is the state of affairs in our country.
+++1

Long given up hope of such kind of events really leading to actual visible results in elections!

brihaspati wrote:I still wish, if ever my "kind" gets to power, to turn internal policing almost etirely over to women. And keep more of men in the army at the borders.
Tathaastu!
yogendra

Post by yogendra »

Sagar G wrote:
yogendra wrote:Sorry if this comes off wrongly.

I don't have data to show for what percentage of cases it is followed but as soon as a rape victim files an FIR cops take her for a medical checkup which then forms a strong forensic evidence while fighting for the victim. I haven't come across any news where a rape victim hasn't been taken for a medical exam and if she isn't taken for one then it is considered negligence on part of the cops and the court will surely rap the cops for such gross negligence. Only the testimony of the victim or accused is not considered enough for proving or disproving rape (though there have been exceptions in this as well). If the victim comes out quite some time after the crime has been committed then I guess medical examination will be irrelevant since by then forensic evidence might be lost.

Police apathy towards rape victim and failure of our judiciary to prosecute is a totally different thing.
The data on the compliant to fir to chargesheet to prosucution to conviction was there in the other thread. My point is not that forensic evidence is not collected. It is - that it is collected lots of times after it is no longer valid. Maybe that is how slow the police are to file an FIR or that is an intentional decision to go slow made by the police based on their 'personal' opinion on the character of the girl.

What if we have a law that makes it compulsory for police/hospital to immediately (within 2-4 hrs) have the swabs taken and stored with a receipt and unique token number given in return. Whether they file an FIR or not is immaterial. Because evidence here dies fast ending into a tu tu main main trial in court trying to establish if even an act of sex (whether consensual or forced comes later) took place between the accused and victim.

This allows a woman to walk into a police station or directly to an hospital (therby short circuiting the police) and ask for the evidence to be collected / swabbed and preserved. The police/doctor will not have any discretionary power over accepting or declining such a request coupled with a time bound action taken (2-4 hrs) response. If the local pandu/doctor fails to act on it then they will be dismissed.

Once the victim has the confidence that the evidence is preserved, they will feel more comfortable about filing the case of rape.

This would also help immensely the victims of rape done by known persons.

On a higher level, you cannot cure apathy by giving/maintaining discretionary powers to authorities. Remove their discretionary powers when it come to matters of facts (science, forensic..) and you will find that their views on religious, social, economic, political angle matters not one bit.

Peace.

Yoendra, you have raised a very valid point. Notwithstanding any SOP being in place, police often do not do their duty. The rape victims have to suffer ignominy of going through horrendous and often downright insulting procedure. There is not much to protect them. The suicide case of Patiala victim, in which ASP has now been arrested ( for the fear of bad publicity) or Kolkata Park Street case. When theo talks about our ( and consequently that of police) attitude towards women , he is so right. But to add to this the entire criminal justice system is insensitive towards victims , of whatever gender, and women bear double the brunt of it.

Just think of few prominent cases where lawmakers have been involved in moral turpitude

ND Tiwari .
Kanda
One of the old case comes to mind is that of stalin. I hope somebody remembers
We have seen officers/their wards too in that category.

No wonder we are forced to ask ourselves these questions.

Here is a pointer for what might happen despite SOP
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_gu ... st_1783489
A 14-year-old gang rape victim had to visit three community health centres (CHC) before she could find a gynaecologist at a government hospital to conduct a medical test that would prove the rape. She is the daughter of a grocer of Lapani village in Kadana taluka, Panchmahals district. In the complaint filed by her father at Kadana police station, it is stated that on Thursday she was abducted by one Javed Qureshi and his friend on a bike and taken to a deserted place near Tatroli bridge on the outskirts of Antalwada village (also in Kadana taluka).

There she was raped by the duo who later abandoned her in a deserted place. She was found unconscious by her brother on Thursday afternoon. When she regained consciousness, she told her family members about the incident.

After her father lodged a police complaint, she was referred to Santrampur CHC for a medical test. The victim’s family took her to Santrampur CHC, then to Kadana CHC and then to Godhra civil hospital.None of these had a gynaecologist to conduct the required medical test. Then she was taken to SSG Hospital in Vadodara where a gynaecologist finally conducted the medical test and confirmed the rape.The victim, who was raped on Thursday, could substantiate her allegation only on Friday afternoon at the SSG Hospital, 24 hours after the incident.

No policeman had accompanied her when she was referred to the health centre after the police complaint.
Talking to DNA over phone from Santrampur, Dr BR Patidar, medical officer of Santrampur CHC, said that the girl was brought in an 108-ambulance by her parents without any policemen.

“She was brought here but as there is no gynaecologist in this hospital, we had to refer her to Kadana CHC,” Patidar added. Other sources in the Santrampur hospital said that she had received primary treatment there.

However, as there is no gynaecologist even at Kadana CHC, she was referred to Godhra civil hospital. But the hapless family’s quest for a medical test did not end there as the Godhra hospital too does not have a gynaecologist.

The girl and her family members spent more than 20 hours visiting these hospitals. “Finally, she was taken to SSG Hospital where she was examined by a gynaecologist,” a relative of the girl said. The gang rape victim was examined 24 hours after the crime

here goes the SOP down the drain.
We need accountable procedure. The fellow should be dismissed. Far too long govt servants have enjoyed protection in the name of natural justice and good faith . There should be summary dismissal if lapses are detected. They dont have fundamental right to a Govt Job.

Chaanakya ji are you referring to Staling and a TV reporter case?

http://www.firstpost.com/delhi/this-cro ... 73352.html

A policemans thoughts

even policemen try to avoid having their children take this job

Surya wrote:http://www.firstpost.com/delhi/this-cro ... 73352.html

A policemans thoughts

even policemen try to avoid having their children take this job
The article deserves to be posted in full
“We just follow orders. There is nothing in our hands,” says the head constable deputed at Jantar Mantar, when asked about the clashes between police and anti-rape protesters last Sunday. People here must note this point as many here think that cops are an autonomous body

A week later, as he watches crowds pouring at the protest venue, one can feel the emotion creep into his voice, “They (the accused) did a very wrong thing with that girl. I hope her death will bring changes in rape law,” he says.

Policemen like this head constable, who will be stationed at Jantar Mantar until next morning, have become punching bags for protesters and citizens alike. They face the flak, abuses and stones on Ground Zero while the political class chooses to monitor the protests — like the ones witnessed in Delhi after Munirka gangrape — from swanky buildings in Lutyen’s Delhi.

“Look at that woman with a child. Her husband is also here. You think they will a create ruckus here?” he asks as his fellow police personnel frisk those entering the protest venue. “This is not a paid crowd. These are all agitated people who have come here. Ye akroshi log hai,” he adds.

Protestors at Jantar Mantar clash with police. Naresh Sharma/Firstpost
The policeman who speaks in a Haryanvi dialect is happy about these protests. “Even I am a common man. And trust me, this crowd is our only hope if we want a safer society for our children.”

But on second thoughts, after a smoke, he sounds a bit pessimistic and concerned. The ground realities have dawned upon him. “The biggest challenge on making a stricter rape law will become from politicians,” he says. :lol: reality strikes hard

Hold on.

One understands politicians opposing the anti-graft law as many of them will land up behind bars. But why will they oppose something as basic as a stringent rape law? In fact, it will only help them woo the voters.

“What about netas who face rape charges?” the policeman counters. “And don’t you know the kind of pressure they face when son of a powerful businessman is involved in such cases? These businessmen will withdraw their support from the government the day this law is passed.”

And in case, a stricter rape law is passed in future, he says it will become another source of corruption.

“There is bound to be a misuse. I am not talking about genuine rape victims, but there will be girls who would just want to misuse the law. They will blackmail the guys,” he says. “And when police will talk about it, we will become the target once again. People will say we are speaking for the rapist.”
Another dose of reality

After 15 years in the force, the policeman who claims that he is content with his salary and does not beg (his terminology for taking bribe), did not allow his only son to join police force. “He wanted to become a sub inspector. He cried a lot when I opposed his decision. But you know… we are made to do a lot of dirty things. I don’t want this life for him.” and more doses of reality

That is the best article with a lot of honesty. Again some of these things are not purely law and order or governance things. The value system and moral stuff has a role to play with a trained-self-defense mechanism.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

This too shall pass

The problems of India are fundamental
These events are just symptoms of a society in rapid decay with crass commercialism and unfettered access to power with no accountability or ability

New Delhi has the highest number of sex crimes among India's major cities, with a rape reported on average every 18 hours, police figures show. Reported rape cases rose by nearly 17 percent between 2007 and 2011, according to government data.

Elsewhere just over the weekend
In Kolkata, one of India's four biggest cities, police said a man reported that his mother had been gang-raped and killed by a group of six men in a small town near the city on Saturday.

She was killed on her way home with her husband, a senior official said, and the attackers had thrown acid at the husband, raped and killed her, and dumped her body in a roadside pond.

Police declined to give any further details. One officer told Reuters no criminal investigation had yet been launched.
http://news.yahoo.com/body-india-rape-v ... 12253.html

When you have a society built on quality, then you returns are quality products. We have no merit based living from education to job placements, from infrastructure to governance, from cities to villages. These fundamental correction will take years to correct. Development is measured on wrong indices.
pentaiah wrote:This too shall pass

The problems of India are fundamental
These events are just symptoms of a society in rapid decay with crass commercialism and unfettered access to power with no accountability or ability
People have a drive to build bungalows and buy cars for personal happiness, by any means to be in riches without having to do any effort for these. People are having illegal free money growth path given a power and loophole structure.
rajithn

Post by rajithn »

Well, listen to BBC and their BBC Hindi correspondent.

"This rape would not have got the attention it got and the protests, had it been a dalit girl from a slum!!!!!!!! That this is a middle class protest!!!!!!!!!!!!"

The BBC Hindi correspondent is an "Indian". And he agrees to the BBC news anchor when he makes that supposition.

With "Indians" like these, who needs enemies.
member_23629

Post by member_23629 »

^^^ These are brown coolies still carrying the White Man's burden. Also, they have to toe the white man's line on India -- it is a condition of their employment.
rajithn

Post by rajithn »

This incident, as with any of the rapes or assaults on women in India, is shameful and the evil, bestial fiends who did this deserve NO mercy.

But what's even more infuriating is the fact that numerous "Indians" seem to be enjoying pummelling the whole nation for this. As if they are on the outside looking in and had no part to play in any of these. These "Indians" sense of being detached from what it happening is hypocritical at best.

We are as much responsible for the state of the nation

1. Each time we voted these ******** to govern us.
2. Each time we paid a bribe to a policeman or babu so that we can get things done a bit faster (imagine this - the culprits in this rape case in Delhi were nabbed because of a "haft" diary!!!!)
3. Each time we paid a bakshish that it has become a form of entitlement for the very people who are paid to deliver/maintain civic services
4. Each time we broke a law when we got behind the wheel
5. Each time we bent the law when we evaded taxes

Like someone here said, our problem is fundamental. We need to change ourselves first. We are as much a part of the problem.
rajithn

Post by rajithn »

uNDieTV reports that guys carrying ABVP banners tried to storm the police barricade and turn a peaceful protest to a violent one.

CONgis version of false flag ops??? And uNDieTV gladly playing the reporting role??

^^ 400% no doubt in that.No sane outfit would want to get itself into a spotlight during such solemn occasion.

Seems very similar to the sacred thread worn by Kasab and co during 26/11 which till today would have been called a RSS conspiracy( based on visuals of the saffron thread) by NDTV and co if not for Shri.Tukaram Ombale

suryag wrote:Chaanakya ji are you referring to Staling and a TV reporter case?
Aama sir.

x-post...
I think we are not paying attention to the protesters in Delhi and all other urban areas. The are asking for izzat from a feudal governing class. They represent the aspirations of new India that has urbanised in search of a better life from the rural but they find the same feudal treatment in the urban.

They are not into thod/phod like other protesters. They haven't used stones like the rage boys of Kashmir nor burnt buses like the Old Hyderabad faithfools. Yet they got lathi charged.

When this generation grows up ten-fifteen we will see the change. Only India cant wait that long.

The reality is India is urbanizing from the rural yet the political ruling establishment(pols, business, police, IAS etc) is feudal and give the new India no hope.

All they need is match to their dry grass and Uncle will provide it.

The Delhi Bullice lathi charge reminds me of the Tsar's cossack charge in 1917 ib brutality and insensitivity.

Marie Antionnette is said to have "Let them eat cake!"

MadamG looks like "Let them eat lathis"

Kiran Bedi's take on bureaucracy is power without accountability.
http://ibnlive.in.com/videos/313095/pol ... nment.html

A beat cop? There is a long road from the current - a cop who beats sleeping wimmen, to being responsible beat cop friendly to wimmen.
BTW, was there any investigation/charges filed in the case of beating/killing of RajBala?
When there is lack of accountability and lax standards and no enquiry to set things right by who are supposed to uphold law, the criminals too get a clue or two about the persisting conditions.
When cops become mere cat's paw in uniform, to do the bidding of the kakistocracy, criminals take a cue and casually commit henious crimes.
yogendra

Post by yogendra »

ramana wrote:x-post...
I think we are not paying attention to the protesters in Delhi and all other urban areas. The are asking for izzat from a feudal governing class. They represent the aspirations of new India that has urbanised in search of a better life from the rural but they find the same feudal treatment in the urban.
They are not into thod/phod like other protesters. They haven't used stones like the rage boys of Kashmir nor burnt buses like the Old Hyderabad faithfools. Yet they got lathi charged.
When this generation grows up ten-fifteen we will see the change. Only India cant wait that long.
The reality is India is urbanizing from the rural yet the political ruling establishment(pols, business, police, IAS etc) is feudal and give the new India no hope.
All they need is match to their dry grass and Uncle will provide it.
The Delhi Bullice lathi charge reminds me of the Tsar's cossack charge in 1917 ib brutality and insensitivity.
Marie Antionnette is said to have "Let them eat cake!"
MadamG looks like "Let them eat lathis"
Till the urban population which constitues 35% of the population has 35% of the seats in lok sabha, things wont change. Currently it has 20% thanks to the last delimitation which came into effect in 2008. And the next round of delimitation is set for 2026. So a long way to go.

Till then the urban population will have to learn not just to start protest but to end their protest at the ballot box.

yognedra, Gujarat has shown that urbanisation is on fast track.
And 2026 is long ways to go. Shame on India if they let the vinal INC politicians in power till then.

@TRISH00L: Parents pressurized to cremate before sunrise. They didn't yield. RT @MukulAgarwal66: http://t.co/OaXy3DpJ Have a read

^^reading it, it appears Gupta of BJP was there to assist in ensuring that the antyeshti was after sunrise as the family wanted.

viv wrote:^^reading it, it appears Gupta of BJP was there to assist in ensuring that the antyeshti was after sunrise as the family wanted.
Does not matter what the facts are, Congress == BJP, all politicians are the same, and anarchy is the best solution for India.

@KanchanGupta: Khapis step in now. Not to forget Navin Jindal supports khapis and Hooda protects them. Brilliant move, Congress. http://t.co/jhpSLl3z

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/bjp-d ... /1052153/0

BJP disapproves of restrictions, questions 'hurried' cremation
Expressing "profound condolences" to members of the victim's family and saluting her courage, the party also questioned the "hush hush" manner in which she was cremated.

Criticising the government for "converting Delhi into a chavni (cantonment)", he said this "unfair" act of authorities reminds of Emergency era and added that "a nation in shock is certainly entitled to display its sense of despair, anger and pain."

Prasad said that former President Pratibha Patil has "publicly stated" that capital punishment of some of the criminals convicted of rape and murder was converted to either life imprisonment or lighter sentences by signing the power of pardon on the recommendation of the Union Home Ministry.

"The country today is certainly entitled to know as to why did the government recommend a lighter punishment when the Court has given a very very serious punishment" to those who were found involved in rape with murder, he said.
yogendra

Post by yogendra »

ramana wrote:yognedra, Gujarat has shown that urbanisation is on fast track.
And 2026 is long ways to go. Shame on India if they let the vinal INC politicians in power till then.
Replied in Modi Vs Dynasty thread sir.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 8#p1385078

Now that the victim has been cremated and INC is planning to introduce chemical castration by ordinance since the Lok Sabha is not in session(why cant tthey call an emergency session?) we can all sit back and enjoy the new year festivities and Republic Day celebrations of unity in diversity. They might even give out awards to Delhi Police for their brave work.

I take back my remarks on Mr Gupta of BJP.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/w ... 256042.ece
Why this hush-hush cremation, asks BJP leader
Gaurav Vivek Bhatnagar
Share · Comment (8) · print · T+
TOPICS
India Delhi
crime sexual assault & rape
parties and movements political parties
politics national politics

Delhi BJP president Vijender Gupta, one of the few persons present at the cremation of the 23-year-old gang-rape victim here, alleged a “conspiracy” in the “hasty and secret’ manner in which the last rites were performed early in the morning on Sunday. He claimed that the family members were not allowed to perform the last rites according to their customs and tradition.

Mr. Gupta, who along with the former Delhi Minister Jagdish Mukhi attended the cremation at Dwarka, said the body reached the family’s home around 4.30 a.m. and by 5.30 a.m. it was taken to the cremation ground. “It reached there around 5.45 a.m. and by 6 a.m. the police, rushing the family, got it placed on the pyre.”

Pointing out that the girl’s father wanted to take bath and change into a new dhoti and kurta before performing the last rites, the BJP leader said the family also objected to the haste. Therefore, the body remained on the pyre for 90 minutes before it was cremated around 7.30 a.m.

“The hush-hush manner of cremation was a reminder of the days of Emergency… In a conspiracy the body was brought from Singapore to Delhi at 3.30 a.m. The government was in such a hurry to cremate the body that it wanted to do so even before daybreak.”

But, the BJP leader said, “the family members refused to give mukha-agni [lighting the pyre]” and therefore the “body remained on the pyre” for some time. It was only when the sun rose did the family members agree to cremate the body. He said they were so offended at the turn of events that they did not want to talk to any government representative.

Mr. Gupta said: “Had the intention of the government been good it should have allowed all those concerned to participate in the last rites and pay tribute to this brave daughter of India.”

One more reason why the Police needs reforms:

http://www.hindustantimes.com/India-new ... 82780.aspx

the girl was raped and they are quibbling whether charges on IT act should be filed or not!

Cremated in stealth in darkness,with a posse of policemen and "cats" of all colours ready to protect the VVIPs,Sonia and her Sancho Panza,both afraid to be seen in the light of day,who have denied the courageous "unknown daughter of India" a people's funeral which she deserved. What scum!

I agree with Ramana,the migration of the rural youth to the cities in search of a better education and life has been a steady growth for at least two decades.The last 10 years has seen an increasing trend.All that the youth have seen is that they have exchanged their feudal landlords in the villages for a neo-monarchist system in the cities that takes its legitimacy from so-called "democratic elections",where the elected from an increasingly smaller spectrum off candidates,dominated by a group of political families,passing on their "legacy" to their progeny and relatives,are behaving in far worse fashion than our erstwhile colonial rulers.

The first duty of a ruler is to establish law and order in society and this is what the Congress-led UPA is failing to do,leaving ordinary citizens to the mercy of goondas,rapists and the criminal class on the one hand and their "cousins",the uniformed police on the other.If you have no money or influence,then only the Dear Lord can help you in case of peril,as I have also found out in the past to my disgust.

And now the ignominy of it all..

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/de ... all-action

India gang-rape victim cremated as UN chief calls for action to protect women

UN secretary general Ban Ki-moon urges Indian government to act urgently following death of 23-year-old Delhi student

I think upon reflection the victim's injuries reported are more heinous than the early explanation of rods etc. Something worse happened. And sarkar fears the public outrage if this is realized.
The murders wanted to rob the victim of her womanhood. This is the grimmest of crimes.