Out-of-India - From Theory to Truth

Re: Out-of-India - From Theory to Truth

ManishH wrote:
Good luck convincing scientific community about bronze age society, chariots and horse domestication in the Pleistocene!
Scientific community? Why are you leaving the philologists out of this? They may have shown no scientific ability, but it seems a bit unfair seeing that it was philologists who built up the house of cards in the first place. Real scientists have very little to do with this because they look for science, not rhetoric, circular self referencing reasoning and mutual backslapping.

I was going to ask about foods in the Rig Veda. Horse meat must have been big in the diet of those pastoral central Asians in Panjab, Pakistan as they composed their praise poems about kings remembered in 1500 to 1200 BC, but I suspect they made soup out of the bones and consumed them all, and that would account for the lack of horse bones in India. In fact Rig Veda 1.162 refers to the aroma of horse being cooked, and the juices being a big turn on. Anthony, presumably a Sanskrit scholar in is own right, has his own translation in his book that you kindly mentioned on this forum where the people who smell the aroma of horse juices (soup?) say "Take it away!".
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

RajeshA wrote:Nilesh Oak ji,

the word "fantasy" is from the old Wit-mer school. There are several other phrases like "weekend reading", etc. Most of us have stopped being unnecessarily perturbed by such childish remarks!

ManishH ji has in the past been very helpful to the BRF community on this thread in understanding the rhetoric, argumentation and bottlenecks in thinking among Western Indologists. In fact, I would go as far as to say, that he has made the single-biggest contribution is raising interest in this otherwise dull topic!
Wit-mer school is indeed shrewd and savvy (same thing.. but as soon as I write wit-mer, I get in their shoes too). I encouraged 'mer' (under another handle) to discuss my book for their 'weekend reading'. he did not take the bet, at least not yet.

My comment is not to ManishH Ji, the person, but rather to his specific comment to my specific write up. To be daring is to be vulnerable. No new discoveries would be made otherwise. To quote Popper "Good tests kill bad theories, we survive to guess again"

As you would be aware the Arabian horse (the one with 34 ribs, as in Rig Veda) is considered to have been domesticated at the latest around 9000 YBP. Not all of Rig Veda need to have been heard/composed after that!
Rajesh the person who composed that poem was probably a bard, not an anatomist. He could have been mistaken about the number. I was surprised to find only one reference to horse meat as food in the Rig Veda and as you pointed out, no references to mare's milk. Mare's milk and horse meat were primary diet items of the people who composed the Rig Veda, and I think they just failed to mention it. Food was not on their minds much. So the rib count could be a minor error.

shiv saar,

I don't know! After reading your post, I just got hungry! I'll be looking for a horse-meat shop this weekend!

If only the idea of eating horse meat had popped into our heads 800 years ago, since then Indians would have eaten far less goat-meat!

RajeshA wrote:shiv saar,

I don't know! After reading your post, I just got hungry! I'll be looking for a horse-meat shop this weekend!

If only the idea of eating horse meat had popped into our heads 800 years ago, since then Indians would have eaten far less goat-meat!
Pity there are no horse meat recipes in the Vedas as far as I know. Horse meat formed 20 to 40% of the diet and the bones must have been consumed to leave so little evidence. I just wonder what made them waste the bones in central Asia and use them up fully in Pakistan where the Rig Veda was composed 1200 BC
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

chaanakya wrote:ManishH ji has raised some important points. I have two questions, rather simple ones.

1. How this fits into Geological timescale?
2. How it fits into evolutionary theory of natural selection and origin of species?

Perhaps one needs drastic changes in assumptions and axioms on which current view of cosmos or Universe is based.
Caanakya Ji,

"rather two simple questions" You got to be kidding! :rotfl:

I presume by 'this' or 'it' in your questions you are referring to "20,000 BC " timeline proposed for Rigveda.

What is the Geolotical timescale? Is it established (nothing is ever established in science.. it is just that one theory is better than other.. in the light of current background knowledge). One has to read a book such as 'path of the pole' to question everything we think we know about Geological scale.

The same book (path of the pole.. I am using this just as an example/illustration) also makes us question what we know about evolutionary biology.

Our knowlege would grow (and will have to be revised) as each of these disciplines grow (geology, evolution, ancient history...etc.). It is good to test each one of them as hard as we can and then use those on the solid (solid-er) footing to ask questions about the other.

I hope what I am writing is making sense. I missed my breakfast this morning. :)

RajeshA wrote:shiv saar,

Pity there are no horse meat recipes in the Vedas as far as I know. Horse meat formed 20 to 40% of the diet and the bones must have been consumed to leave so little evidence. I just wonder what made them waste the bones in central Asia and use them up fully in Pakistan where the Rig Veda was composed 1200 BC
Well since I and SHQ would be preparing Horse Meat on the weekend, we will of course be developing a recipe! May be the recipe can then be backdated and included in the Rigveda surreptitiously, just like all these archaeo-astronomical references have been included! Somebody would of course have to make a hymn out of it in the right meter.

I am also thinking of publishing a book on Rig Vedic recipes! Many recipes use mare's yoghurt!

Online Books

Publication Date: September 24, 2005
Editors: Edwin Bryant, Laurie Patton
Indo-Aryan Controversy: Evidence and Inference in Indian History [@scribd]

Something ManishH ji referenced earlier

Publication: Indian Journal of History of Science 28(1), 1993
By K.D. Abhyankar
A Search for the Earliest Vedic Calendar

Extracts

Page 13
(a) Place of Origin

We have seen that the Aśvinī calendar speaks of three seasons. Now, if we look at the climates of the various regions of the earth, we find three main categories. In the equatorial belt, we have only one hot humid season thoughout the year. In the polar regions, there are only two seasons of summer and winter. And, in the temperate zones, we find four seasons of spring, summer, autumn and winter. It is only in the lands of the monsoon climate, like India and Mexico, that we experience three seasons with hot, rainy and cold weather. Since we are dealing with the Vedic literature of India, it is obvious that the Aśvinī calendar must have originated in India, which has typical monsoon climate. This is a strong evidence to show that the Vedic civilization developed indigenously in India and it is not the implant of any alien invaders.

(b) Epoch

At present, the winter solstice occurs when the sun is in the Mūla nakṣatra with the nirayana longitude of 247 degrees. As Aśvinī has a nirayana longitude of 14 degrees, there has occurred a precession of 127 degrees. At the rate of 50'2" per year, we get an elapsed time of 9100 years. Thus, the epoch of the Aśvinī calendar comes to about 7000 BC, as shown in Fig. 2.
Now you know, all Aryans come from Mexico!

I am also thinking of publishing a book on Rig Vedic recipes! Many recipes use mare's yoghurt!
Hmm. I see a pattern.
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

fanne wrote:And Nilesh ji you will find the usual suspects in that thread as well!!
Fanne Ji, :)

I will let Virendra ji post his query in that thread and then I will post Vartak's story and NASA evidence for Mars and Jupiter. Virendra ji, when do we begin?

Atri, ji, since you have read Vartak's books, do join there. I do have material (non-parapsychological) theories for some of his (Vartak's) data out of these experiments.

We all love (aham, aham) and practice 'fantasy' and desire 'fancy'. Only few care to admit.
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

Virendra wrote:Nilesh Ji, I have a small OT question if others manning the thread don't mind. You have assessed P V Vartak's Mbh dating conclusionin in your book.
The man had claimed to have done astral travel to Mars (and not much of astral stuff came from him after that). Your thoughts?

Virendra
Virendra ji,

Wanted to make a quick point about my assessment of Vartak work on Mahabharata dating.....

I have accepted is timeline for 18 days of war and have rejected his timeline for all pre and post war instances , say +/-3 months surrounding the actual war. In addition, I have shown that he was forced to employ mulitple theories to explain MBH astronomy observations. He was not successful (whether he realized it or not) in explaining all of them and many times his multiple conjecturs contradicted each other.

In summary - Right date (until someone proves me wrong) but wrong theory. This should not come out as surprising to anyone. History of science is filled with it. (Right prediction -wrong theory, Wrong prediction- right theory)

shiv wrote: I am also thinking of publishing a book on Rig Vedic recipes! Many recipes use mare's yoghurt!
What if pakis say this is all Out of Pakis theory, and nothing to do with India nor Europe?

:P

Saik, No more Siaklogical atyachar!!!
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

Rigveda and 26000 BC

Keeping aside for a min if Rigveda reference (Rigveda 1:161:13) alludes to Summer solstice near Canis Major/Canis Minor or not,

Here is how the situation would have appeared in ~26000 BC

(1) Canis Minor (Procyon) would have had +11 degree (Declination- Latitute) in Equatorial coordinate system (Not Ecliptic coordiante system that ManishH Ji was referrign to). Equatorial is modern system and mimics better how any astral body would appear (be seen) in the sky against the ecliptic and with respect to NCP.

Ecliptic system (mentioned by ManishH ji does not take into account (correct me if this is not the case) change in the position of the North celestial Pole, easy to use especially when softwares/simulations were not available, but less accurate).

(2) Canis Major (Sirius) would have had -10 degress (declination-latitude) in Equatorial coodrinate system.
In addition, it is critical to know that Canis Major (Sirius) has very high magnitude for proper motion (in comparison to many other stars). Thus position of Sirius was farther to the North than it is today against the rest of background Star field.

(3) Summer solstice was near these Stars during ~26000 BC

(4) I may also mention that the declination (latitude) attained by Sirius (-10 degree) is the closest that Sirius had been to ecliptic during last ~30000 years.

(5) If one goes through another complete cycle of the precession of equinoxes, back in the past, i.e. around 50,000 BC, Summer solstice would be near Sirius , with Sirius attaining declination of +1 Degree. But for now (1) through (4) will do.

Not visited this thread for a long time. Interesting discussions going on in positional astronomy. However, just to get back to the original linguistic discussions that set me on the linguistic exploration path : so far -

(1) I have checked almost 80 different references and major paper/mono/texts about the so-called internal-ordering-within-RV chapters evidence. No significant effort after Oldenburg - that is 19th century.

(2) Oldenburg is highly propagandized, but Arnold hardly ever mentioned. My suspicion, that is because Arnold's critique of earlier workers including Oldenburg raises the severe problems of using "patterns" within text for ordering. Depending on patterns chosen by each "scholar", different orderings result.

(3) All orderings are dependent on the prior assumption and dogma that "Atharva Veda" came "later" than RV, and "classical Sanskrit" cam "later than AV". Hence anyone claiming that "internal ordering" of chapters in RV is based entirely on "internal" features and not linguistic/external comparisons is lying.

(4) The time ordering of AV as after RV, is primarily based on linguistics. This in turn is based on the assumption that "Sanskrit" is the latest.

(5) Historical linguistics "laws" are based on this ordering assumption of PIE >>RV>>AV>>CS. The so-called claims of "phonological support" is based on modern supposedly PIE derivative languages. However, strictly speaking, the precursor forms/parental forms from which these are supposed to have been derived - and which would be necessary to justify the phonological transitions - are unknown, rather assumed. So in that sense the whole historical phonological argument is a tautology.

At some stage I will try to discuss the mythical status "laws" of language change, and even one single one of them would be enough to illustrate the hocus-pocus that goes on.

Regardsing the shift of the ecllpitic, etc - for all concerned, the numerical models used in even the "most advanced" of software are tentative approximations. To kindly remind everyone:

(a) the planetary motions are not a two-body problem, but a n-body problem. Its nearly impossible to model all the point masses needed to be accounted for in the simplistic non-extended body version.

(b) the currently used multivariate PDE' systems are approximations, [the Lagrangians are approximated] and hence they are typically expanded in power series forms up to a required level of supposed accuracy. Note however that the coefficients are not theoretically computed but fitted from observed data. Hence every such equation set comes with a time-span of expected reasonabl accuracy. If you try to expand them to time periods they are not meant for - you will get very funny results.

(c) the stability of earths rotational axis, and relative shape of the orbit - is an assumption, based on other theoretical considerations such as the presence of the moon, etc. However, people do not rule out cyclical or other disturbances to the assumed stable shape and positions - beyond recent human experience.

Anyone claiming that so-and-so could not have been seen in such-and-such year should be as cautious of his claim as someone claiming that so-and-so must have been seen in such-and-such.

The other thing I note is the tendency to clump a text as a monolithic account of a single instant in time. When it come sto claiming different period of construction of different verses/chapters within the same text - that is in tune with a required dogma - no problem. When it comes to facing up to the possibility that parts of that very narrative could be handed down records of a much earlier event - it becomes absolute unscientific.

The thing about 3-seasons and monsoon dispute - as I have already pointed out many times before - it should be noted that the monsoon in the deep ice age was very weak. So an earlier date of composition of certain parts - claimed to be "unaware of monsoon" - need not be inconsistent with being in India.

brihaspati wrote: At some stage I will try to discuss the mythical status "laws" of language change, and even one single one of them would be enough to illustrate the hocus-pocus that goes on.
This is exactly the impression I got. Feynman's lecture posted by Nilesh Oak is instructive in this regard.

Nilesh Oak wrote: (5) If one goes through another complete cycle of the precession of equinoxes, back in the past, i.e. around 50,000 BC, Summer solstice would be near Sirius , with Sirius attaining declination of +1 Degree. But for now (1) through (4) will do.

Nilesh ji that is emotional atyachaar :)

brihaspati wrote: about the so-called internal-ordering-within-RV chapters evidence…Arnold's critique of earlier workers including Oldenburg raises the severe problems of using "patterns" within text for ordering….All orderings are dependent on the prior assumption and dogma that "Atharva Veda" came "later" than RV, and "classical Sanskrit" cam "later than AV". Hence anyone claiming that "internal ordering" of chapters in RV is based entirely on "internal" features and not linguistic/external comparisons is lying.

- Brihaspati ji to a layman like me thinking in simple hinglish, the conclusion seems to be that in cases where the pattern of RV is similar to AV, in those cases RV gets post-dated.

brihaspati wrote: (b) the currently used multivariate PDE' systems are approximations, [the Lagrangians are approximated] and hence they are typically expanded in power series forms up to a required level of supposed accuracy. Note however that the coefficients are not theoretically computed but fitted from observed data. Hence every such equation set comes with a time-span of expected reasonabl accuracy…
(c) the stability of earths rotational axis, and relative shape of the orbit - is an assumption, based on other theoretical considerations such as the presence of the moon, etc. However, people do not rule out cyclical or other disturbances to the assumed stable shape and positions - beyond recent human experience.

- And that would mean the risks are on account of essentially 2 factors:
(1) ‘force majeure’ in times before recent history
(2) Earlier you go greater the ‘margin of safety’ required hence the date should come with a range like in the Arundhati-Vashishta observation (say approx. 10000 BC to 5000 BC).

brihaspati wrote:Regardsing the shift of the ecllpitic, etc - for all concerned, the numerical models used in even the "most advanced" of software are tentative approximations. To kindly remind everyone:

(a) the planetary motions are not a two-body problem, but a n-body problem. Its nearly impossible to model all the point masses needed to be accounted for in the simplistic non-extended body version.

(b) the currently used multivariate PDE' systems are approximations, [the Lagrangians are approximated] and hence they are typically expanded in power series forms up to a required level of supposed accuracy. Note however that the coefficients are not theoretically computed but fitted from observed data. Hence every such equation set comes with a time-span of expected reasonabl accuracy. If you try to expand them to time periods they are not meant for - you will get very funny results.

Anyone claiming that so-and-so could not have been seen in such-and-such year should be as cautious of his claim as someone claiming that so-and-so must have been seen in such-and-such.
brihaspati garu,

At the moment, I think, accentuating and emphasizing the error factor is really shooting in one's own foot. Not all archaeo-astronomical calculations based on textual evidence would necessarily involve simulations and not all simulations would necessarily entail an error above acceptance level or would adversely affect the simulated dynamic that needs to be shown. Also it is unknown after which time period, the error adds up and becomes significant. It can be 1000 years or it could be 100,000 years.

However harping on this error factor would give detractors a handy lever to use to debunk all the astronomical dates that Indigenists may have arrived at pertaining to Rig Veda, Mahabharat, Ramayana, etc. In fact the "error factor" argument would be used much in the same way as AIT-Nazis and AIT-Sepoys today use "horse bones and spoked wheels" argument!

In the future we may develop astronomical software with a much higher level of accuracy, but I doubt there would be much difference in the outcome.

Even if one wishes to fly to the "Total Honesty" and "Satya" flag and in the shadow of this mast piss on one's own people (by no means am I saying that you are doing this), I think the demand should be him to prove that in the case of a particular calculation/simulation, the error was significant, and would have changed the outcome. We should never allow the AIT-Nazis to make the argument, "Aw, that astronomical software results are crap when one goes beyond 3500 years before present"!

The issue is that archaeo-astronomical evidence and its verification through astronomical software may be one of the best means for Indians to be able to stitch our Itihaas to a timeline, which is both truthful and underlines our claims to antiquity, and at the same time satisfies the requirements of scientific proof. And we should not unnecessarily undermine this means.

Atri wrote:Orion has few pretty good archaeo-astronomical pointers from Rigveda, though.. The famous of all -
Who awakened the Rubhu? Dogs, because its beginning of Monsoon.
Here, RBhu is clouds and it refers to period when monsoon began in Mriga nakshatra.. (around 6000 BCE)..
Those who are interested to know more about this interpretation, please do read Tilak's Orion. It has been linked here.

The relevant chapter would be Chapter V.

ManishH ji:

(1)
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... h#p1280862

“What most of these astronomical back-calculations do not provide is the error probability.”

(2)
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... h#p1281335

"Most of the articles which date epics to old era using "astronomical data" do not do due diligence to mention error of probability - which in any scientific work should be mentioned. They confidently assign dates down to the year eg. 3783 BC without mentioning what factors could change dates by thousands of years."
Query:
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/search ... &start=200

RajeshA ji,

The ‘error probability’ is not self flagelation that our people would be indulging in. It is not a stick we would be giving to the AIT-Nazis to beat us with. These 'suggestio falsi' is something that they already do. Now some action/reaction is in order. Above are just two of the examples held out by our resident linguist. You just have to get to other such places.

By restricting exchange of views on ‘error-probability’ you are merely stopping new guys from learning from those how have already gone through the grind in OITs favour. And if our people don’t learn to confine their claims their claims they will never be able to define them either. What is the point having a bunch of morons support OIT the way AIT gets its support. We should avoid being = = AIT supporters.
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

Nilesh Oak wrote:Fanne Ji,
I will let Virendra ji post his query in that thread and then I will post Vartak's story and NASA evidence for Mars and Jupiter. Virendra ji, when do we begin?
ehh .. I'm just a nobody. Got confused due to astral travel controversy for whether I should read Vartak or not.
Anyway hoping that there won't be any attention on me between all the biggies here, I'll post the same in that thread (Astrology,Numerology,Palmistry,and Paranormal Sciences).

Virendra

ravi_g ji,

brihaspati garu is right that there is a certain error probability. Perhaps there is some way of quantifying it dependent on how far back we rewind it. I don't know.

However there is a general tendency to see things in black and white. Whereas scientific minded would understand that if a process has a error-probability, then some additional info on error would be attached and that would be the end of it. As long as the error is not significant, the results would be accepted. However if among the laymen, the notion is perpetuated that the process is error-prone, then that is often a white and black decision.

And that is exactly how this "horse bone and chariot wheel" argument would be used.

Instead of AIT-Nazis doing the work to prove a date given by us as wrong, all they will be saying is the whole system is broken, it is error-prone and can mean a difference of thousands of years.

It is not about the numerical error, that I see a problem, but I see a problem with how the others will use some error-probability to get at us.

They should be doing the hard work of proving us wrong, and that too based on each single calculation and showing that our error is more than significant. I agree in scientific papers it may help to include the error-probability of some simulation, but otherwise in normal articles and books, from our side we should forget the error, and make our case.

brihaspati wrote: The thing about 3-seasons and monsoon dispute - as I have already pointed out many times before - it should be noted that the monsoon in the deep ice age was very weak. So an earlier date of composition of certain parts - claimed to be "unaware of monsoon" - need not be inconsistent with being in India.

Bhai log, views requested.

1. Holocene (12000 ybp) monsoon not strong enough.
2. RV comes (? Ybp) monsoon doing great as Saraswati has strong flow.
3. MBH comes (~ 7500 ybp) mentions weak Saraswati flow.
4. SIVC comes (5300-3300 ybp) reasonable monsoon but Saraswati flow is nothing to dance about.
5. Saraswati finally dries up (3900 ybp) but Indus and other west flowing rivers continue strong. SIVC begins to break up into IVC and several other minor civilizations.

Shows a lot of monsoon fluctuations. Such fluctuations cannot just go away, surely they must have left some ‘background radiation’ traceable till today and much the same way these fluctuation should be apparent in Holocene periods also.
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

Modern research shows that Monsoon is a gradually weakening phenomenon and is on decline.
They say the monsoon rivers of the sub continent were once extremely wild.

Ravi ji,

As far as I have read, the flow of saraswati is function of geological and seismic activity AND monsoon, not just monsoon alone.. Satlaj and Yamuna weaned away from Saraswati and towards Sindhu and Ganga respectively due to this seismic activity.

ravi_g ji,

we cannot really give a particular date for the Vedas. The Vedas may have been heard/composed/chanted anything between 26,000 YBP and 6000 YBP. Even in the Rig Veda, one may find references from many different ages (and yugas).

Atri ji seems like some Indian science establishment has stated that Ghaggar-Hakara sediments do not suggest an origin in high Himalayas. Even otherwise the drainage pattern of rivers coming from Himalayas shows a strong fragmentation in lower Himalayas. This I take to mean a huge catchment area comprising the whole of lower Himalayas and both these data points taken together I take it to imply a Mostly Monsoon fed Saraswati. Also it does seem like some distributory of Satluj did actually feed into the Ghaggar-Hakara. Though mostly for myself I discount these as the bigger factor.

I personally see Monsoon as the bigger factor with a monsoon shifting from west to east over very long periods and accompained by fluctuations in intensity.

wiki : "Near Sadulgarh (Hanumangarh) the Naiwala channel, a dried out channel of the Sutlej, joins the Ghaggar. Near Suratgarh the Ghaggar is then joined by the dried up Drishadvati river." - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saraswati_ ... Sarasvatis

Atri ji, I believe the reason why the mutation of SIVC is so puzzling is because these people themselves did not understand well enough the reason for their own civilizational dilution. The diversion of tributories is too obvious not to be noted down. But understanding of Monsoon is not exactly a science even to this day.

Folks I don't want to go too far OT, but if Vartak can travel to Mars, why can't he do it to Hafiz Saeed's den and say what the guy is planning? This is my biggest complaint about claims of Astral travel. It is never done to some nearby place that can be verified.

RajeshA wrote:ravi_g ji,

we cannot really give a particular date for the Vedas. The Vedas may have been heard/composed/chanted anything between 26,000 YBP and 6000 YBP. Even in the Rig Veda, one may find references from many different ages (and yugas).

And exactly for that reason the RV should have recorded some hymn about the fluctuations in fortune of theh whole civilization. Wonder if such fluctuation is there in RV. Fluctuations in reasons that lead to fluctuations in Monsoons have been linked to aridification of middle east over last 55000 years.

While I do agree RV got created over very very very long periods (26 kybp is your high end not mine, mine could actually be even earlier :) and I have given enough hints to my PoV), but the consolidation of it has to be started somewhere.

Aside - Is there any evidence in RV that says it is only 10 books? Nubie pooch

RajeshA ji,

Tradition holds that vedas are composed in stages.. various parts of Vedas were composed at different times by different people belonging to different clans. later Krishna Dvaipayana compiled them in 4 parts, hence earning the title of Veda Vyaasa (Vivasyaat Vedah, sa ved vyasa - one who gave "vyavastha" to vedas).

There may be some parts (bird songs, for example) from antiquity prior to beginning of language. And there are parts around the time when Iron was seen in India (900 BCE).

I see vedas as a database of "peer reviewed" opinions in different times. not all "opinions" are given place in vedas just like that. What the consensus thought as "worth preserving" was preserved.
nakul

Post by nakul »

shiv wrote:Folks I don't want to go too far OT, but if Vartak can travel to Mars, why can't he do it to Hafiz Saeed's den and say what the guy is planning? This is my biggest complaint about claims of Astral travel. It is never done to some nearby place that can be verified.

Proofs are only shown when you need to prove your capabilities. Yogis are known to live for years without food & water. They dont parade their abilities to all and sundry coz they don't desire money & fame. People who know will recognize them while the others will continue to believe that it is a myth until a gora comes along and writes a peer reviewed journal published by a TFTA publishing house. Until then, its maya onlee.

PS: Goras laughed about the sanitation properties of cow urine. Only the discovery of microscope & the anti microbial properties of cow urine changed their stance. It is too early to expect them to create machines than can see in the astral plane. Auras can be viewed but only in the physical plane by machines.

ravi_g wrote:And exactly for that reason the RV should have recorded some hymn about the fluctuations in fortune of theh whole civilization. Wonder if such fluctuation is there in RV.
Well I think more experienced Gurus here can shed light on it, but there is talk of Indra liberating the rivers and thus letting them flow.

Since Indra is Meghavahana, rider of the clouds, it can mean that he brought the monsoons which made the rivers flow, especially the Saraswati, who some claim was solely replenished by monsoon waters.

So some geological history would be available in the Rig Veda!

Indra liberating rivers story comes in context of Vritra.. Vritra (the enveloper) blocked the rivers, Indra liberated them. This might be from the time when ice started melting.

There are also wonderful stories from Puranas. This one, again, I learnt from Vartak's books..

The legend of Asura "Dhundhu".. An Asura who harassed the sage Uttanka in his devotions. The demon hid himself beneath a sea of sand, but was dug out and killed by King Kuvalayaswa and his 21,000 sons, who were undeterred by the flames which checked their progress, and were all killed but three. Detailed story can be found in Vayu Purana and Brahma Purana.

This might be the story of creation of Deccan Plateau..

There need not be a civilized person present then to observe this at that time. May be Vyasa created this story much later (like other puranas) to explain people about the contemporary theories regarding ancient history. One also needs to look at the possible word-play regarding the names and descriptions involved. In fact, I have similar understanding of astronomical references in Smriti literature. Perhaps they back-calculated based on their knowledge then and wrote the treatises. This is a proud fact. Because even if we believe the Thaparite date of 400 BC-400 AD for composition of MBH and Ramayana, the intricacy of astronomical references therein means that Indians knew quite a lot and to know that much, there needs to be hundreds of years of tradition of maintaining almanacs and references to make a model and understand astronomical movements.

The fact that Indians speak of earth's Sampaata gati (rate of precession of earth's axis) itself means people have been observing and recording for hundreds of years. One cannot talk about fall of Abhijit, without having a decently solid database to model the system. This doesn't necessitate that person was actually making observations in 12000 BCE (which may or may not be true, other factors like ice age, availability of food, how much time could one spare to from day to make these observations during those cold times, etc need to be taken into consideration).
Last edited by Atri on 07 Aug 2012 18:05, edited 1 time in total.

Publication Date: October 1, 2005
Editor: Preston Preet
Underground! The Disinformation Guide to Ancient Civilizations, Astonishing Archaeology and Hidden History

Author: N.S. Rajaram
Chapter 3: Ocean Origins of Indian Civilization (Page 39)
Chapter readable online!

A proposal by the writer

Last edited by RajeshA on 07 Aug 2012 18:50, edited 1 time in total.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

On sarasvati river demise, posted an article, reposting for ready reference, a 2012 article:
http://m.geology.gsapubs.org/content/ea ... 1.abstract

And from this blog:
http://suvratk.blogspot.com/2012/02/yam ... o.html?m=1
Just posting relevant Excerpts:
The Yamuna stopped flowing into the Ghaggar / Sarasvati and shifted course eastwards into the Ganga as early as around fifty thousand years ago. The Beas and the Sutlej stopped flowing into the Ghaggar / Sarasvati and joined the Indus before ten thousand years ago, several thousand years before the beginnings of the Harappan civilization.
Ghaggar likely never had any glacial connection. That statement now needs to be modified to read that there is a strong possibility that the Yamuna flowed into the Ghaggar in the Pleistocene and the Sutlej until the early Holocene.
One of the main reasons given is a prolonged drying of the region which made agriculture unsustainable. Monsoonal strength over this region has fluctuated for the last ten's of thousands of years and evidence from many different sources indicates that this region began experiencing aridity by mid Holocene and this arid phase moved eastwards over time slowing making urban centers and agriculture unsustainable. The larger dried up channels point to this climate change.
Another explanation of many of these dried up channels is the hypothesis that large glacially fed rivers like the Yamuna and Sutlej once flowed into the Ghaggar. They shifted course away from the Ghaggar  in the late Holocene, dramatically reducing water supply to the Harappan urban centers and contributing along with climate change to their decline and eventual collapse.
The idea is that the headwaters of each of these rivers would be eroding sediment predominantly from different geological  terrains and therefore if enough zircon crystals were analyzed it would be possible to identify a geological age signal that is unique to each river. For that though large number of crystals need to be dated for a statistically robust result.
It was found that individual rivers do cluster at different ages i.e. they contain a population of grains within a distinct age range and could be discriminated from each other. For example the Beas showed a major population of zircon grains of age 300 -750 million years ago implying that its headwaters drained mostly the Tethyan Himalayas. Similarly the  the Yamuna sample contained a major population which clustered around 1875 million years. The Sutlej has two populations clusters, one at 750 -1000 million years ago and another at around 1830 million years or so.
The next step was to find out whether ancient sediments from dried up channels associated with the Ghaggar river contained zircon populations with age clusters that could be matched to modern rivers. If they did, then that would mean that that particular river was flowing in that channel in the past [...]The U-Pb technique dates the geological age of the rocks in the Himalayan headwaters of the rivers. The carbon-14 and OSL techniques date the timing of deposition of sediments in the various channels.
Analysis showed that ancient sediments did contain populations of zircons of distinct age ranges that could be matched to the Yamuna, Sutlej and the Beas implying that these rivers were flowing through these channels sometime in the past
Constrained by carbon-14 and OSL dates of the sediment, the patterns indicate that the Yamuna signal was lost around fifty thousand years ago implying a change of course of the Yamuna eastwards towards the Ganga at that time. The Beas and Sutlej signal was lost prior to ten thousand years ago, these two rivers migrating north-northwestwards and joining the Indus
This study by Clift and colleagues along with some earlier isotope dating and provenance work on Indus and Ghaggar sediments by some of the authors and independent work on oxygen isotopes of ancient Ghaggar /Hakra channel water are strong results in favor of the Yamuna and Sutlej leaving the Ghaggar river thousands of years before the beginnings of the Harappan civilization.

Re. Atri ji - "Indra liberating rivers story comes in context of Vritra.. Vritra (the enveloper) blocked the rivers, Indra liberated them. This might be from the time when ice started melting."

- cannot really contest this. Seems contextually relevant. This is why I believe that most of the Hindu mythology should be taken in the form of Adhayatm yatra. I would be willing to take it as representative of the civilizational struggle for survival.

Re. Atri ji - "The legend of Asura "Dhundhu".. An Asura who harassed the sage Uttanka in his devotions. The demon hid himself beneath a sea of sand, but was dug out and killed by King Kuvalayaswa and his 21,000 sons, who were undeterred by the flames which checked their progress, and were all killed but three. Detailed story can be found in Vayu Purana and Brahma Purana.

This might be the story of creation of Deccan Plateau.. "

Deccan traps were formed about 68 MYBP. Homo habilis which evolved around 2.3 million years ago. Things do not gel.

Re. RajeshA Post subject: Re: Out-of-India - From Theory to TruthPosted: 07 Aug 2012 18:04

Preston Preet's proposal could be only best judgement assessments that seem to be gelling well for the Bond events.

ravi_g wrote:Re. Atri ji - "The legend of Asura "Dhundhu".. An Asura who harassed the sage Uttanka in his devotions. The demon hid himself beneath a sea of sand, but was dug out and killed by King Kuvalayaswa and his 21,000 sons, who were undeterred by the flames which checked their progress, and were all killed but three. Detailed story can be found in Vayu Purana and Brahma Purana.

This might be the story of creation of Deccan Plateau.. "

Deccan traps were formed about 68 MYBP. Homo habilis which evolved around 2.3 million years ago. Things do not gel.
Exactly my point. Person need not be present there to witness this. this story was perhaps created to educate people about past events. This is what the very name "Purana" mean. This story is either a memory OR a description of some volcanic activity (and not a mountainous cinder cone volcano, but a fissure volcano).

Now fissure volcanoes have created Deccan plateau. Perhaps, they knew it too (whenever they composed this story) and composed this story to transmit this theory down generations. The fact that perhaps they knew about it then, itself is a something worth pondering upon, IMO.. The right question to ask is, to create and sustain such tradition of knowledge and data-gathering (in absence of industrial revolution and fruits of it) requires an inquiry which ranges over considerable time period perhaps thousands of years. Which itself forces us to stretch back the time-scale currently acceptable by the "scholarly opinion".

ravi_g wrote:Re. RajeshA Post subject: Re: Out-of-India - From Theory to TruthPosted: 07 Aug 2012 18:04

Preston Preet's proposal could be only best judgement assessments that seem to be gelling well for the Bond events.
I have corrected that post. The contribution is from N.S. Rajaram!