Eastern Europe/Ukraine [Feb 6th 2015]

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Eastern Europe/Ukraine [Feb 6th 2015]

In the last few years. I think we are averaging one evacuation every 2 years.

Something is very wrong that our people are ending up in so many conflict zones.

If IAF (plus civil aviation) can evacuate 20k+ from a war zone in a short timeframe, does it imply the reverse?

That they can (with some favorable conditions) deploy the same number of soldiers in the same timeframe?

Just posing the Q as food for thought.
Yes. Our capacity is not constrained by the number of aircraft. Govt has the right to requisition all civil aircraft in a national emergency.
Indigo alone has 280 aircraft and growing.
(I worked in an airline and was part of the discussion with Govt on Libya evacuation).

The capacity of an aircraft for a full equipped soldier will probably be 2/3 of a regular passengers.
The constraint will be the number of soldiers available to deploy. The runway length & aircraft handling capacity at the destination are
also important. Multiple flights will require stockpiling of some spares and engineering support in the destination airfield.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_4R4X7AWtU

Why Russia Can’t Replace TSMC

SwamyG wrote:https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... plant.html
Russian tanks set reactor at Europe's biggest atomic power plant ON FIRE: Zelensky accuses Putin of 'nuclear terror' after shelling starts blaze at unit housing radioactive material sparking fears of disaster '10 times larger than Chernobyl'
Assuming that shelling will cause `radioactivity to leak' suggests an inadequate understanding of nuclear physics. Its quite possible that operations
will stop, which will reduce the power supply to Ukraine. Consumption has probably reduced anyway.

Atmavik wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_4R4X7AWtU

The foundries in PRC should be able to manage 28 nm and above. That ought to be sufficient for Russian needs for the moment.

Within the next 5 to 7 years. It should be able manage 7 nm and below.

^^^ The video discusses SMIC but they also heavily depend on ASML and Japanese companies.

I don’t think Russia can provide any high tech military equipment without Chinese help.

Ps: hopefully a 28 nm fab comes up in India

Atmavik wrote:
I don’t think Russia can provide any high tech military equipment without Chinese help.

Ps: hopefully a 28 nm fab comes up in India

That will have unfortunate consequences for India.

However, more than the fab itself.

I am more interested being able to build a lithography machine in India with Indian technology.

Remember, the Trump ban on ASML supplying lithography machine to PRC that had US technology.

Given the US history of creating tech denial regimes. We should focus on building our own technology.

How many Helicopters USA lost in iraq war?

Apache ~ 34

UH Blackhawk ~ 28

Ah-1w super cobra ~ 8

Gen. Stephen Mundt said that 130 helicopters had been lost in both Iraq and Afghanistan, about a third to hostile fire, and he was concerned that they were not being replaced fast enough.

Raja wrote:Any clue why Russia is apparently shelling the nuclear power stations? Seems slightly irresponsible...

The russkis are not foolish.

This is biased SM anti russki fantasies

the fire was inky admin bldg. it was contained. false flag by Ukies?!

It had to be said

pravula

Post by pravula »

That's not how nations work. People do not abandon their country just because they migrate. And people in the middle of a war zone cannot be compared to some ya-hoo sitting in front of a computer and judging people. India has an exit control/stamp on its passport. Why have it if they are not going to own the outcome?

Atmavik wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_4R4X7AWtU

China can to some extent., they are on the way to build their own IP for litho machines as well

pravula wrote:India has an exit control/stamp on its passport. Why have it if they are not going to own the outcome?
An exit control stamp is only to allow a person to leave the shores of India. It is not a guarantee for any thing else. That stamp does not mean all the passport holders problems would be sorted out free of cost and to the full satisfaction of the passport holder. These folks also got a VISA from Ukraine stamped on their passports. With your logic, the VISA provider also has some responsibility on handling people who they allowed inside?

To be brutally honest; the attitude shown by many of these daaktar/injeneer wannabes seems show a sense of entitlement and a false hope that their money power should get them all benefits. A few cannot board the planes without their pets :roll:. Are they on some college excursion or in some life threatening situation??

So I am pondering about the situation we are in now. Russians are going to have quite a supply problem by the end of this war. Does that mean a delay in delivering S400 systems? I am hearing we already canceled a few other orders. While that happens we can also see the US showing its real face and they are contemplating sanctions against India. As usual, it sounds like we never anticipated such a scenario and hopefully, our people are working on a plan to wean out our dependence on these countries.

SwamyG wrote:https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... plant.html
Russian tanks set reactor at Europe's biggest atomic power plant ON FIRE: Zelensky accuses Putin of 'nuclear terror' after shelling starts blaze at unit housing radioactive material sparking fears of disaster '10 times larger than Chernobyl'
This is more exaggeration that is peddled by the former comedian. Two floors of a training building are on fire which got translated as the nuclear reactor is in danger.

A thumb rule is any and all reports that you read are fake or exaggerated until verified 24-48 hours after the fact.

In all this mess in ukraine, how can the dravidians stay aloof, they too have to play a vital part.

a little disappointed that stalin has not yet deployed some dreaded dravidian divisions to teach putin a lesson

hallelujah onlee
M.K.Stalin@mkstalin

Wrote to Hon'ble @DrSJaishankar requesting him to increase the number of Tamil students to be evacuated from #Ukraine by focussed intervention and sought MEA clearances for the team proposed by GoTN to coordinate with the Indian embassies in Romania, Poland, Hungary and Slovakia.

9:21 pm · 3 Mar 2022

I thought that in order to be a politician you need certain degree of intelligence. But the more I observe most politicians. The more disappointed I get in them and those who support such politico's.

In an active war zone. Indian government should discriminate on the basis of origin of the state?

The fact that the airlift is actually taking place is in it self a remarkable accomplishment.

Sachin wrote:
pravula wrote:India has an exit control/stamp on its passport. Why have it if they are not going to own the outcome?
An exit control stamp is only to allow a person to leave the shores of India. It is not a guarantee for any thing else. That stamp does not mean all the passport holders problems would be sorted out free of cost and to the full satisfaction of the passport holder. These folks also got a VISA from Ukraine stamped on their passports. With your logic, the VISA provider also has some responsibility on handling people who they allowed inside?

To be brutally honest; the attitude shown by many of these daaktar/injeneer wannabes seems show a sense of entitlement and a false hope that their money power should get them all benefits. A few cannot board the planes without their pets :roll:. Are they on some college excursion or in some life threatening situation??
Well it is not exit control stamp or visa that count, it is the passport that count. Every developed country will care for every passport holder when abroad. So it is duty of GOI ( if it values its passport) to take care of her citizens in stranded in conflict. Developed countries do this without hula hup. Heck even court cases are taken by Govts (in some cases.So yes it is Govts duty to take care of citizens and govt may charge the evacuees afterward if it wants.
It is pathetic that people are playing politics over it.
What is wrong with somebody aspiring to be "daaktar/injeneer". Does it means that that they are low class doctors? thesedaaktar/injeneer are trained institutions which give better health and technology to the host country far far better then India.I never expected this from moderators. Take a break, get informed.

Pratyush wrote:I thought that in order to be a politician you need certain degree of intelligence.
Actually your thoughts are right. A politician has to be intelligent; intelligent enough to device schemes which make others actually vote for them and enable them to win elections. It is not an easy job. But here the 'intelligence' shown is more vile or out right criminal in nature, and that is the problem. What M.K Stalin & Co is trying to do is to create an us v/s them image and attempt to show that only TN state's machinery independently can help 'citizens' of TN. This is all attempts to show that the state is some how different from the Indian Union.

The next state following the same strategy is Kerala, even though more than the government machinery it is the main stream media who is doing this. Refer my earlier post on one"Ousaf Hussein" (from North Kerala). There was also a video telecast by a Malayalam news channel in which the Kerala students can be heard saying that they are Malayali students (not Indian students) and they want to be rescued immediately. At least in Kerala, I also saw that lot of common people were irritated by this demand with trolls out there asking these 'Malayali students' to seek the help of K.S.R.T.C (loss making public transport scheme in KL) to send a few buses with comrades to rescue them :lol:.

rsingh ji,
We agreed on many points before, but you are quite off on this one. Take a break, have a Kit Kat and think through the arguments. Perhaps you will change your mind. Jai ho !

rsingh wrote:It is pathetic that people are playing politics over it.
Who started playing politics over it? The opposition parties who make issues out of non-issues and the very group of 'students' are playing along. These 'students' ignored the early warnings, and now expect some kind of commando operation by Indian forces in Ukraine to air lift them. And naturally free of cost :roll:.
Does it means that that they are low class doctors?
84% foreign-educated doctors flunk screening test required to practice in India - this report (dated 2019) does not show much credibility among these 'daaktars'. It seems more of a scheme of throwing money to get a medical degree from some country.
So yes it is Govts duty to take care of citizens and govt may charge the evacuees afterward if it wants.
There have been already whines about increase in air ticket pricing, then demands to carry pets in the flights etc. There is the duty of government; but there is also some kind of thankfulness and support which needs to be shown by the passport holders to their mother country as well. It could be selective reporting by the main stream media; but I can only see a sense of entitlement amongst the 'students' being rescued.

chetak wrote:In all this mess in ukraine, how can the dravidians stay aloof, they too have to play a vital part.

a little disappointed that stalin has not yet deployed some dreaded armoured dravidian divisions to teach putin a lesson

hallelujah onlee
M.K.Stalin@mkstalin

Wrote to Hon'ble @DrSJaishankar requesting him to increase the number of Tamil students to be evacuated from #Ukraine by focussed intervention and sought MEA clearances for the team proposed by GoTN to coordinate with the Indian embassies in Romania, Poland, Hungary and Slovakia.

9:21 pm · 3 Mar 2022

is he running a separate kingdom all by himself or what

A more leaderly attitude would have been to offer help. For instance, Stalin could have offered to mobilise Tamil community residing in those transit countries (assuming there are some) to volunteer and help the embassy officials in arranging food, accommodation and any other assistance for all Indian students. Or TN being a relatively prosperous state, offer to bear the cost of helping all students reach their homes once they land in India. Or at the very least ensure these MLAs he is offering to take care of landing TN students to reach homes and foot the bill. That would have made Tamilnadu shine instead of trying to break the line and whine.

Seems he just wants to dump some go his people to grab some free limelight since BJP at the center is getting all of it. What a turd !
pravula

Post by pravula »

Sachin wrote:

I am sorry, but does the exit control stamp prevent people from leaving India? If Yes, then that means the state has subsumed responsibility from individuals, saying "I know better than you". So who pays if the govt is wrong? They need to walk the talk...

Exit control stamp records the date of exit, the emigration officer stamps after checking no look out notices are issued on the person by Indian authorities for crimes or pending investigations etc. They are not vouching for the safety, well being and happiness of every Indian going out. Thats just plain impossible.

Indian passport on page 2 says
"THESE ARE TO REQUEST AND REQUIRE IN THE NAME OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF INDIA ALL THOSE WHOM IT MAY CONCERN TO ALLOW THE BEARER TO PASS FREELY WITHOUT LET OR HINDERANCE, AND TO AFFORD HIM OR HER, EVERY ASSISTANCE AND PROTECTION OF WHICH HE OR SHE MAY STAND IN NEED"
- "BY ORDER OF THE PRESIDENT OF REPUBLIC OF INDIA"

So it is fair to expect Indian missions overseas to help Indians abroad. How far can this expectation be borne out in over 180 countries around the globe depends on the circumstances, and on the ability of the Indian state to intervene in a foreign land where Indian law and jurisdiction do not not apply. A mission abroad has very little of the plethora of means Indian Govt has in India. What they can do depends on the relations we have with that country and the circumstances. There many countries where there are no Indian missions at all. During your air transit, Montreal Convention (MC99) applies, where certain responsibilities are the onus of the airline. You are of course subject to ALL rules and guidelines issued by the countries you are transiting and travelling to, the law of the land applies, and ignorance of law is no excuse. Indian state cannot bypass local laws and ditto for foreigners in India.

How many travellers, students, residents abroad even register with their local Indian mission and inform their whereabouts? As a traveller, its your responsibility to check travel advisories for your destination and take required measures for your own safety, including medical insurance, because you are at risk first. This is basic common sense. Hope this helps.

Also note, the Indian govt helping Indians abroad in times of need is actually a manifestation of the solidarity of your fellow citizen, exercised through the organs of the state. Solidarity can be expected but can't be demanded. Therefore, I seriously doubt if such assistance can be considered as a (fundamental) right in a place where Indian laws and jurisdiction do not apply. Perhaps someone with legal knowledge can chime in.

pravula wrote:I am sorry, but does the exit control stamp prevent people from leaving India?
Exit Stamp only states that the person leaving India is legally allowed to leave. He has a valid Indian passport, does not have any travel restrictions imposed on him. It is not a certificate which give assurance to the traveller that he/she can do what ever he pleases where ever he goes and then GoI works over time to bring him/her back (with all expenses paid, and at the standards set by the traveller). If some travellers have such a belief/understanding that is precisely I call "sense of entitlement" which unfortunately many of these 'students' in Ukraine seem to have. There have been rescue missions from other parts of the world where Indians work in large numbers and often at lower wages. They had no complaints and umpteen demands. IIRC at times they were even rescued and brought back in Indian Navy ships.
Cyrano wrote:Perhaps someone with legal knowledge can chime in.
Can we ask Putin to stop the war, asks CJI Ramana while hearing plea on Indian students stranded in Ukraine. This is a statement made by Chief Justice of India :lol:. And we can understand the legal position in India; when two other countries are on war. Well these 'student' worthies may be expecting Indian Para Commandos etc to just start paradropping from the air, air lifting them (and their pets as well, please) and flying back to India in an all expense paid fully videographed mission :roll:.

All wildly off topic- Chetak ji I am of the opinion that if Stalin writes on behalf of stranded Tamil students there’s nothing wrong with it. He is supposed to be a state leader, it’s natural he speaks up for them. Plus a lot of this is optics. Can discuss elsewhere, lest moderators go bredator on my pichawara.

And to save previously referred to backside, on topic the controversial Russian strike on the nuclear plant was on a training centre and not the reactor itself as claimed by Ukrainian/ Western sources

https://apnews.com/article/russia-ukrai ... c1282524cb
After speaking with Ukrainian authorities on Friday, Rafael Grossi, the director general of the IAEA, the U.N.’s nuclear watchdog, said a building next to the reactors was hit and not a reactor itself.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... -dominance
will weaponisation of finance challenge $$

Can someone post full article here pls, behind pay wall. Also ways to go behind pay wall pls

IndraD wrote:https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... -dominance
will weaponisation of finance challenge $$

Can someone post full article here pls, behind pay wall. Also ways to go behind pay wall pls
Man this is a long a$$ article. No wonder journalism is dying out - what happened to keeping it short and succinct? :D
ByJoe Weisenthal and Tracy Alloway+Follow
2 March 2022, 2:30 PM IST

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine could mark the beginning of a turning point for the U.S. dollar, according to money market guru Zoltan Pozsar.
Speaking on Bloomberg’s Odd Lots podcast, the global head of short-term interest rate strategy at Credit Suisse AG noted that wars tend to turn into major junctures for global currencies, and with Russia losing access to its foreign currency reserves, a message has been sent to all countries that they can’t count on these money stashes to actually be theirs in the event of tension. As such, it may make less and less sense for global reserve managers to hold dollars for safety, given that they could be taken away right when they’re most needed.

Russia isn’t the first country to get this lesson in recent months. The Biden administration’s move to seize Afghanistan’s cash assets and prevent their access by the Taliban was another recent signal that reserves can be frozen.

Pozsar argues that this recognition may encourage central banks to diversify away from the dollar, or try to re-anchor their currencies to assets that are less susceptible to influence from U.S. or European governments. As such, recent tensions could usher in a new monetary order in which countries are far less interconnected through international bank accounts and reserves.

Different kinds of money
At issue are the types of money held by governments, which Pozsar divides into two categories: inside money and outside money. Most of the world’s money is inside money, meaning it’s money that you’re owed.  The number you see on your bank account doesn’t represent some kind of cash deposit in a vault somewhere. It’s simply a promise from the bank to you that it will pay you that amount should you need it. The same concept applies at the sovereign scale. 
Outside money, on the other hand, isn’t someone else’s liability. For an individual, that could be physical cash or even Bitcoin. For a country, like in Russia’s case, that could be gold. As of January, Russia held over $120 billion worth of gold, more than its actual dollar-denominated holdings. Now, given the loss of access to its dollars and euros, gold is effectively its primary holding. And Pozsar sees a potential for the ruble to become de facto, or literally, backed by gold. 

“Most FX reserves that exist in the world today are all forms of inside money, i.e. they are the liabilities of someone,” Pozsar said on Odd Lots. “Whether you hold the sovereign debt of a country, or you keep a deposit at a central bank of a foreign country, or if you keep deposits at Western financial institutions, these are all forms of inside money that you don't control. Someone owes it to you. And these things can be sanctioned.”

“If a central bank is in a situation like this and the currency’s under pressure, would it ever come to having to re-anchor your currency to something? Like gold? I think these are all questions that should be top of mind,” he added. “I don't know if it'll come to that, but if things get worse, you could basically re-anchor the ruble to a pile of gold because you need an anchor in situations like this.”

Pozsar’s not alone in his warnings about the dollar's vulnerability, with others seeing the same forces at play in the fate of the currency’s reserve status. Dylan Grice, the former Societe Generale strategist who’s since founded Calderwood Capital, described the recent moves as a “weaponization” of money. “You only get to play the card once,” he tweeted. “China will make it a priority to need no USD before going for Taiwan. It’s a turning point in monetary history.”

Steven Englander, a Managing Director at Standard Chartered Bank, echoed the idea. 

“It’s a very long-term thing, so nothing immediate or even say on a two- to three-year basis, but if what we are seeing is a demonstration of the power of economic and financial force, the logical response if there is a risk that you will be on the receiving end is to see what you can do to immunize yourself,” he said. “Weirdly enough there may be a second response – what essentials is your potential economic foe importing from you and what can you do to have the maximum impact on their economy and least on yours.”
Delinking from the dollar
To some extent, Russia has already recognized and reacted to the ‘inside-outside money’ framework described by Pozsar, working in recent years to reduce its holdings of U.S. dollar-denominated assets — including selling off all of its U.S. Treasuries in 2018 according to official data — and amassing its hefty pile of shiny rocks.

In a cooperative game, more global trade and the accumulation of FX reserves makes sense,” said Brent Donnelly at Spectra Markets. “In a competitive game, where your currency holdings are issued by an adversary and can be frozen or vaporized at that adversary’s discretion… Global trade and the accumulation of FX reserves makes … less sense.”

For years, the fate of dollar dominance has been a popular and contentious source of discussion with repeated warnings and terrible predictions about the currency’s demise. If anything, however, what’s surprised people is the growing strength of the greenback. At the 2019 Jackson Hole Symposium, then-Bank of England-chief Mark Carney delivered a speech on the problematic strength of the dollar, and the fact that while the U.S. accounted for a smaller and smaller share of the global economy, the dollar itself is as significant as when the Bretton Woods arrangement collapsed.

There were also numerous warnings about the dollar’s demise in the aftermath of the 2008 financial crisis, but if anything that period saw a strengthened greenback as the Federal Reserve took on an even more globalized role in helping to bail out the world’s financial systems.

There’s another problem facing countries with large amounts of reserves that no longer want to hold them in dollar-denominated assets: They’ll need to find something else to buy, and the pool of potential suitable assets could be limited. While gold is the obvious candidate, there’s only so much of it available (one reason why the rise of central banks’ collective dollar holdings has easily surpassed those of gold in recent years).

Others have floated the idea of Asian currencies or bonds. However, these markets are far smaller and much less liquid than U.S. or European ones, making it difficult for countries like Russia or China to stash their cash in these assets.

Still, it's hard to compete with the dollar, said Cameron Crise, a macro strategist for Bloomberg. “It’s not clear that anyone other than the United States has both the ability and the will to ‘manufacture’ safe assets and sell them to foreigners as the bedrock of a global financial system.”
IndraD wrote:…. Also ways to go behind pay wall pls
As we say in Uttarakhand - “in’ch bheji” it’s this way brother - PM is the way, but only as per site policy. Not sure what that is. Been here too long to get bredatored para nada. :((

Vayutuvan wrote:the fire was inky admin bldg. it was contained. false flag by Ukies?!
Anyway, the power plant has now been occupied by the Russians and there was no radioactive release.

On the subject of SM in this war, we’re seeing footage and pictures on the fight for Hostomel (near Kyiv). The pictures themselves aren’t relevant from a strategic perspective but, for the rest of us, are possibly the most glimpses into the actual intense fighting.

I know there are a lot of images and videos out there but in terms of sheer intensity and impact, the aftermath pictures and videos of Hosmotel stand out. Hence my comment.

All NSFW and not for the finicky, mind. Hence just wanted to mention and not post here.

KL Dubey wrote:
Vayutuvan wrote:the fire was inky admin bldg. it was contained. false flag by Ukies?!
Anyway, the power plant has now been occupied by the Russians and there was no radioactive release.
Russian teams were there - BUT they were not firing at the plant but at an adjacent training building from the look of things. There never was a chance of a radioactive release.
The whole paranoia over a firefight in a nuclear setting, right or wrong? is Western created, IMO.

thank u saar Baikul!

Sachin wrote:.
Cyrano wrote:Perhaps someone with legal knowledge can chime in.
Can we ask Putin to stop the war, asks CJI Ramana while hearing plea on Indian students stranded in Ukraine. This is a statement made by Chief Justice of India :lol:. And we can understand the legal position in India; when two other countries are on war. Well these 'student' worthies may be expecting Indian Para Commandos etc to just start paradropping from the air, air lifting them (and their pets as well, please) and flying back to India in an all expense paid fully videographed mission :roll:.

Sure summon Putin and ask him to stop. Is this some kind of joke ?

notice how US is cancelling Russians, war is not against Putin or Russia. It is against Russians.Russian cancer patients, cats, people,students..there is no limit to shamelessness! This is new US of A.

https://thehill.com/opinion/finance/596 ... r-standard
The weaponization of finance threatens the future of the dollar standard

Powerful countries that bully weaker ones and target non-combatants are bound to invite a strong response. In the context of the ongoing war in Ukraine, any direct Western military action can essentially be ruled out. (The Cold War concept of Mutual Assured Destruction (MAD) is still in play if it involves a direct conflict with Russia.) This has led many to call for wide-ranging financial sanctions and restrictions to be imposed on Russia.

The decision to remove several Russian banks from the SWIFT financial messaging system and sanction the country’s central bank has been popular among the general public but has raised concerns on Wall Street. Further sanctions on Russian commodity exports might roil the global market and further fuel the inflationary dynamics that have caused food and energy prices to skyrocket in recent months. Potentially destabilizing consequences for the emerging and developing world cannot be ruled out.

Given the heated global political environment, it is necessary to inject a note of caution into ongoing debates centered on the weaponization of dollar-based global finance. If we take a step back and calmly evaluate the potential long-term strategic and economic threats facing the U.S., one in particular stands out. Ever since the U.S. dollar replaced the UK’s pound sterling as the global reserve currency, America has come to depend on its “exorbitant privilege” to a considerable degree.

ADVERTISEMENT
The dollar’s pre-eminent status as the world’s reserve currency ensures that there is a strong and persistent demand for dollar-denominated assets worldwide. It also enables the U.S. to run persistent trade and current account deficits. Furthermore, the desire among foreign central banks and private parties to hold U.S. Treasuries is to a large extent dependent on the dollar’s critical role in the international financial system. It has also allowed U.S. policymakers to pursue profligate fiscal policies for decades without having to face significant market discipline.

Back in 1960, Belgian-born economist Robert Triffin highlighted an inherent dilemma that arose from having an international monetary system that was centered on a national sovereign currency (the U.S. dollar). According to the eponymously-named Triffin Dilemma, the U.S., as the reserve-issuing country, needs to run persistent balance of payments (BOP) deficits in order to satisfy the ever increasing demand for liquidity that is generated by a growing world economy. Yet, the very act of running persistent BOP deficits will ultimately undermine global confidence in the U.S. dollar.

The pandemic shock had already raised concerns about the future of the U.S. dollar-centric global monetary order. The dramatic expansion of the Fed’s balance sheet and the explosive growth in public debt levels have led some to fear potential fiscal dominance of monetary policy in the years ahead. Furthermore, as stimulus-fueled spending patterns shifted from services to goods, the U.S. ran up a sizable trade deficit with China over the past couple of years.

Now, faced with the distinct possibility of the emergence of a China-Russia economic and strategic partnership, we may be entering a new phase that involves a geopolitical contest for global influence across multiple spheres. China has been open about its long-run desire to supplant the U.S. dollar-centric post-WWII global monetary order. Given recent geopolitical developments, the renminbi internationalization agenda will likely regain momentum.

China’s push to establish a digital yuan and create an alternate payments system is part of the plan. The massive Belt-and-Road Initiative (BRI) will also aid China in its attempts to broaden international acceptance and usage of its currency. Back in 2020, given already rising geopolitical tensions, China and Russia agreed to ditch the U.S. dollar for bilateral trade settlements.

From an American perspective, there is still the hope that Chinese leader Xi Jinping’s increasingly inward-looking policies may limit the attractiveness of Chinese currency and assets, and slowdown the pace of renminbi internationalization. Any genuine moves to increase the global acceptance of the renminbi/digital yuan will require China to fully open its capital markets to foreigners. But such a step may not be in accordance with Xi’s dual-circulation economic strategy.

Recent moves by the West to weaponize dollar-based global finance may yet provide the necessary spur for China to speed up measures to reduce its reliance on the U.S. dollar and create an alternate global financial payments system. Furthermore, given China’s increasingly aggressive stance towards Taiwan, a future flare-up with the U.S. cannot be ruled out.

If, for instance, the U.S. were to abandon its stance of “strategic ambiguity” in regards to defending Taiwan, China is likely to respond militarily. Having observed the West’s reaction to Russian aggression, China will rationally conclude that any significant exposure to the SWIFT network and the dollar-based global financial system will curtail its options.

Some techno-libertarians still dream of replacing the U.S. dollar-based global monetary order with a non-sovereign, cryptocurrency-based regime. Frankly, given the centrality of seigniorage and the immense strategic significance associated with having a U.S. dollar-centric global monetary order, it is quite unlikely that American authorities will ever truly allow a crypto-based non-sovereign system to threaten the current regime.

Given the emergence of the China-Russia alliance, and, considering China’s continuing rise as an economic and military power, we cannot underestimate the future risk to the U.S. dollar’s global status. Strengthening U.S. alliances with emerging powers (like India and Brazil) and establishing closer ties with the African continent will be essential for the West as we enter a new era of geopolitical competition.

Republic TV using other media reports say Zelenskyy has fled to Poland.

added: based on Russian media/sources
Last edited by SwamyG on 04 Mar 2022 19:29, edited 1 time in total.

Take this FWIW...Center for Countering Disinformation (CCD) reports Russia's estimated combat losses from 24.02 to 04.03, noting that the data are being updated as the calculation is complicated by the high intensity of hostilities:

Euromaidan Press Twitter link for the above infographic

1000 AFVs lost...number seems very high...of course its all Fog of war but there have been reports of Ukrainians adding (photoshopping) Russian letters (Z, V etc.) on either destroyed or abandoned Ukrainian loses and showcasing it as Russian armor/vehicles destroyed...Anyways, as of now, for West even unimaginable news/propaganda is justified...in the below thread...the lady justifies the value of propaganda

https://twitter.com/LauraEdelson2/statu ... 4056472578
Last edited by Zynda on 04 Mar 2022 21:28, edited 1 time in total.

SwamyG wrote:Republic TV using other media reports say Zelenskyy has fled to Poland.

added: based on Russian media/sources
with kievv surrounded by Russian troops?