India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Satya_anveshi wrote:Interestingly there is so little information in open source known about Chris Steven's marital life (status, kids, photos etc). Lot of detail on his mother, great grand parents, great great grandparents but not immediate.
He was playing with fire and got consumed by it. US helped so called "rebels", actually a bunch of louts to slaughter Quaddafi, and those loyal to Quadaffi got their revenge. From a US standpoint, this real truth would be impossible to accept so instead, all kinds pf bogus conspiracy theories, Obama's alleged Muslim predilections etc are hammered day in an day out by useless well paid idiots on Faux nooge.

But my question to Faux nooge chutiyas would be why don't you obsess as much and ask hard questions to Obama, Pentagon, Patreus (while he is not busy with Paul and other chickies) etc as to why so many Americans, not just 4 as in Libya, are dying every day due to TSP perfidy. How can anyone like us on BR, or for that matter anyone with brains, take these idiots seriously?

(many post on this topic are borderline OT for this thread but on the other hand may fit in these threads due to the implications)
CRamS wrote:He was playing with fire and got consumed by it. US helped so called "rebels", actually a bunch of louts to slaughter Quaddafi, and those loyal to Quadaffi got their revenge. From a US standpoint, this real truth would be impossible to accept so instead
CRamS ji,

Agreed.

Just to develop on your thoughts above, these same forces are being sent to Syria. Heavy ammunition captured in Libya by US/"rebels" were rationed to forces in Syria not all of which may have been totally loyal to the agenda.

Here are some info bits on this line
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

While this is factionalized it is very instructive to read and understand how the system works.
. The Company Novel
The Company: A Novel of the CIA is a work of fiction written by American novelist Robert Littell and published by Penguin Press in 2002.

Must read

matrimc wrote:...critical "crossover" into the other side happened during high school years...
As far as Governor Jindal is concerned, I have on good authority that he had converted much later. He was already married by the time he converted and requested his wife Mrs. Supriya to convert as well. The conversion is for political reasons only. AFAIK.[/quote]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Jindal
"Jindal was raised in a Hindu household, but he converted to Christianity while in Baton Rouge Magnet High School. During his first year at Brown University, he was received into the Catholic Church. His family attends weekly Mass at Saint Aloysius Parish in Baton Rouge.[32]"
PS It is pointless to speculate why he converted, just as it is pointless to speculate why Mir Jafar supported the British. But he has shown the typical ways of the first generation convert. I hope rich NRIs are not supporting him. His name comes up often as possible Republican candidate in future. But I do not think it will come to that.

This interview was given before she was elected

Tulsi Gabbard :'Concerns of Hindus are near to my heart'
Tulsi Gabbard is considered a shoo-in to winning Hawaii's 2nd Congressional District November 6 on the Democratic ticket and becoming the first Hindu American in the United States Congress.

Gabbard, 31, was last week again felicitated by the Indian-American community in the Washington, DC area in a manner unprecedented in terms of the community's embrace of a Congressional candidate of its own, even though she's not Indian American.

Earlier last month, Gabbard, fresh from her rock star status at the Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina, had visited Washington, DC to meet with party leaders and Democratic National Committee officials. Then too, she had been accorded a reception and fundraiser by the Indian-American community.

Her popularity among Indian Americans, particularly Hindu Americans, is so palpable that leading Indian-American operatives in the DC area like Shekar Narasimhan brought her over to a reception-fundraiser organized by another longtime Democratic operative Toby Chaudhari in his home for US Senate candidate Tim Kaine, just so that she could be a crowd-puller for Kaine.

In August, Gabbard defeated her main opponent, former Honolulu mayor Mufi Hanneman, in the Democratic primary by 55.1 to 34.3 per cent in a come-from-behind victory, which put her in the driving seat to win the general election in the predominantly Democratic district.

Gabbard said she would be "honoured to join the India [ Images ] Caucus", and that she is "eager to visit India and plan to do so within the first year of my term if I am elected."

You have been embraced by the Indian-American community, particularly the Hindu-American community, like no other Indian-American Congressional candidate has. And you are not even Indian American. What's your take on this unprecedented and enthusiastic embrace?

That question would probably be best asked of my supporters from that community. However, I suspect it is because they appreciate the timeless and universal nature of our Hindu Dharma.

Your dad is Catholic. Your mom, I believe, is Hindu. So does your Hinduism flow from your mom? How deep is it?

I grew up in a multicultural, multi-religious household. My father is of Samoan/Caucasian heritage and he is a deacon in the Catholic church. However, he also likes to practice mantra meditation, including kirtan. My mother is Caucasian and a practicing Hindu.

Are you a practicing Hindu?

Yes, I am a practicing Hindu. Some people are Hindus because they were born into a Hindu family, but may not have seriously studied or applied the Vedic teachings and practices.

In that sense it's very much like many people in America who consider themselves Christians because they were born into a Christian family. But that's not my situation.

I fully embraced Sanatan Dharma after serious deliberation and contemplation in my later teens -- it's not because my mother was a Hindu.

I'm a Vaishnava in the Brahma Madhva Gaudiya Sampradaya. As a Vaishnava, my perspective of Hinduism or Sanatan Dharma comes from the Bhagavad Gita.

I have been studying the Bhagavad Gita since childhood and have, especially beginning in my teenage years, been trying to apply the Bhagavad Gita's principles of karma yoga and bhakti yoga to every aspect of my life. And of course I am very familiar with the Mahabharat, Ramayana [ Images ], etc.

On my two deployments to the Middle East, I daily practiced my japa meditation and contemplating on the truth of the Bhagavad Gita.

By doing this, I was able to achieve great inner peace, despite being in an environment of fighting and death. One of the first things I saw when I arrived in Iraq was a giant sign at the gates of our base that read, 'Is today the day?'

I saw that sign every day and it was a constant reminder that today could be the day that I have to leave this world. This forced me to constantly remember and contemplate upon the truth of my eternal identity as taught in the Bhagavad Gita.

First thing in the morning and the last thing at night, I meditated upon the fact that my essence was spirit, not matter, that I was not my physical body, and that I didn't need to worry about death because I knew that I would continue to exist and that I would go to God.

What made you initially reach out to the Indian-American community on the mainland? Was it a case of some sophisticated and strategic outreach, because I believe the Indian-American community, and particularly the Hindu-American community in Hawaii is pretty negligible? Some cynics could argue that your outreach to this community on the mainland was some sort of expediency. How will you counter such criticism? (Gabbard tossed this question to her finance director Erika Tsuji to answer).

Apparently, you are under the erroneous impression that the Hindu or Indian communities on the mainland have been responsible for a significant percentage of the monies raised by our campaign.

While we are very grateful for the help received from mainland Hindus and American Indians, their contributions constituted less than 3 per cent of the total money raised by our campaign.

The first thing any candidate does is reach out to family, friends, and personal acquaintances to get the ball rolling.

After that, a candidate will naturally reach out to likeminded individuals, groups, organizations, PACs (political action committees), etc., who might want to help elect a candidate who shares their views, concerns, or outlook.

So understandably the main people our campaign reached out to for financial support were environmentalists and veterans' groups since Tulsi has been a lifelong environmentalist and is a war veteran. So Tulsi got most of her support from these groups and individuals.

Similarly, some of Tulsi's fellow Hindus here in Hawaii and a few Hindu acquaintances on the mainland began reaching out to Hindu Americans across the country.

However, although Tulsi got support from personal Hindu acquaintances in Hawaii before the elections, Hindus on the mainland were not interested in her candidacy --probably because in the past they'd experienced Hindus running for Congress who never made it to the general election or had a serious chance of winning.

But this all changed after Tulsi surprisingly trounced her more well-financed and well-known opponent.

Once Hindus realised that Tulsi would actually be elected and that there would finally be a Hindu elected to the United States Congress, they became very excited and began giving her more support.

Nonetheless, the percentage of financial support coming from this community, although much appreciated, is still relatively small and less than 3 per cent.

Even though there is excitement that you are a Hindu American and when elected to Congress will be the only Hindu American in Congress, you will first have to represent your constituency. How will you serve this community that has become so excited over the real possibility of having the first Hindu American legislator? More broadly, how will you serve, besides your constituency, the Indian-American community, particularly the Hindu Americans, who have supported your strongly with fundraising, etc.?

If I am elected to Congress, I will be representing all people of Hawaii, as well as all the people of our country -- including Hindus, Christians, Muslims, Sikhs, everyone. The fact is, people of every religion in our country want the same thing -- they want elected officials who know they are servants of the people, and not special interests.

All Americans want leaders who have a servant attitude. They want leaders to help improve the economy, stop wasting our limited resources, protect the environment, and ensure that their children will have a bright future.

Of course, since I'm a practicing Hindu, they also know that the more unique concerns of Hindu and Indian Americans are near and dear to my heart.

Some areas I will focus on will be legislation relating to H1-B visas and legal immigration, the economy and jobs, strengthening our visitor industry, including relaxing visa requirements for tourists, especially those coming from places like China and India, support for small business, energy independence for America, and permanent membership for India on the United Nations Security Council.

As a war veteran who knows the cost of war, I voiced an early, strong position on bringing our troops home from Afghanistan as quickly and safely as possible.

Our troops have served this nation honourably and sacrificed tremendously. They have decimated Al Qaeda [ Images ] in Afghanistan, Osama bin Laden [ Images ] is no longer a threat, and they have provided the Afghan people and government with the tools they need to succeed.

In order for Afghanistan to achieve stability and peace, the Afghan people must stand up and determine the direction of their future.

Now is the time to stop the senseless sacrifice of precious lives, and bring our troops home.

We must take the $2.5 billion a week we are spending in Afghanistan, and invest those resources and our attention on rebuilding our own economy here at home.

I look forward to being a strong voice in Congress for improving US-India relations. I will work to increase participation between the US and India on international issues of global importance, boosting bilateral trade, and fostering economic, strategic and cultural ties between the two countries, working together as partners in the fight against terrorism.

The US should continue to unequivocally support India's bid for a permanent seat on an enlarged UNSC. India is an indispensable partner for the US in the coming century and would help to provide much needed balance between the world's powers.

Issues such as the plight of Kashmiri Pandits and human rights abuses of Hindus and other religious minorities in Pakistan are of concern to me.

If I am elected to Congress, I will do everything I possibly can to bring these problems to the attention of my colleagues and to do everything I can to end such abuses.

As an elected official, I will work towards defending fundamental constitutional rights of free exercise of religion and the separation of church and state, and adopt legislation that promotes a message of inclusiveness for Americans of all faith traditions.

I will uphold federal policies that support the religious accommodation of minority faiths in a variety of settings and preclude religious discrimination against any group.

Many people in America, including some in positions of power and influence, view Hinduism as foreign and even mysterious.

Lack of familiarity and understanding can breed fear and bigotry, so I won't shy away from opportunities to increase understanding and appreciation of Hinduism and Hindus.

Especially in today's world where religious misunderstanding and intolerance are at the root of many tragic and unnecessary conflicts, we all need to do whatever we can to increase understanding and tolerance of all religions.

Your father is a powerful politician who has a strong conservative bent and strongly opposes same-sex marriages, abortion, etc. How is it you came to be diametrically opposite?

I am committed to preserving a woman's right to choose. And I want to tell you how I got here. This wasn't always my position -- at one time, I was anti-choice. I also once supported a state constitutional amendment defining marriage as between a man and a woman.

But when I was 23, I went on the first of two tours of duty in the Middle East. Although I had always heard about how most governments in the Middle East maintain excessive control of people's personal lives, it was still eye opening to see women covered from head to toe with burqa, to meet people living in fear of being persecuted for any activity deemed inappropriate by the theocratic authorities, and to witness firsthand communities torn apart and people living in fear of being killed simply because of their religious beliefs.

In Kuwait, my assignment was to provide anti-terrorism training to the Kuwaiti National Guard. That task meant that I would have to go onto a Kuwaiti military base that no woman had ever set foot on before.

I was expected to train men who had never seen a woman on the base before, never mind a woman in military uniform in a position of authority telling them what to do.

As the Kuwaiti guardsmen walked down the line greeting and shaking hands with the newly-arrived Americans, many of the men refused to shake my hand and walked past me as if I was invisible. They refused to even acknowledge my existence.

As the weeks and months went by, however, and the Kuwaitis saw that I knew what I was doing, that I was a person just like they were, the barriers began to disappear.

I was genuinely moved when, on their graduation day, the commanding officer of the Kuwait army presented me with an award in appreciation of the training I had provided.

It was very interesting to see these men go from forbidding any woman to come onto the base to actually publicly honouring a woman for her work there.

It was heartening to see the veil of prejudice start to lift from the eyes of these men. But that was just one tiny victory, and unfortunately it was the exception rather than the norm.

Many times during the two years I lived in the Middle East, I said to myself, God, I would never want to live in this stifling, suffocating, oppressive society. Returning to Hawaii was indescribably liberating.

Before I had deployed to the Middle East I had sometimes heard people refer to the sweet taste of freedom. But it was only upon returning to Hawaii, to America, that I experienced that sweet taste.

The contrast between our society and those in the Middle East made me realize that the difference -- the reason those societies are so oppressive -- is that they are essentially theocracies where the government and government leaders wield the power to both define and then enforce morality.

My experiences in the Middle East eventually led me to re-evaluate my view regarding government's role in our personal lives and decisions.

Slowly, I began to realize that the positions I had held previously regarding the issues of choice and gay marriage were rooted in the same premise held by those in power in the oppressive Middle East regimes I saw -- that it is government's role to define and enforce our personal morality.

The next year was full of challenges and soul-searching as my long-held views were challenged by my newfound recognition of the absolute importance of keeping church and state separate.

I realized that whether or not I would choose to have an abortion ought to have no bearing on another woman's ability to do the same. And the government has absolutely no business telling either of us what we could do in that intensely personal situation.

I realised that a constitutional amendment defining marriage -- even the one I and most Hawaii voters had supported -- was anathema to the personal freedom we enjoy in America. And so my positions evolved.

I can promise that when I get to Washington I will fight any efforts to undermine our reproductive freedom. It's been a 30-year journey from my childhood to this day, and that journey has spanned continents.

My time in the Middle East forever changed me. I understand how precious our freedom is, and that allowing government to dictate these most personal aspects of our lives is diametrically opposed to what makes America great -- individual liberty and equal rights for everyone.

g.sarkar wrote:
matrimc wrote:...critical "crossover" into the other side happened during high school years...
As far as Governor Jindal is concerned, I have on good authority that he had converted much later. He was already married by the time he converted and requested his wife Mrs. Supriya to convert as well. The conversion is for political reasons only. AFAIK.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Jindal
"Jindal was raised in a Hindu household, but he converted to Christianity while in Baton Rouge Magnet High School. During his first year at Brown University, he was received into the Catholic Church. His family attends weekly Mass at Saint Aloysius Parish in Baton Rouge.[32]"
PS It is pointless to speculate why he converted, just as it is pointless to speculate why Mir Jafar supported the British. But he has shown the typical ways of the first generation convert. I hope rich NRIs are not supporting him. His name comes up often as possible Republican candidate in future. But I do not think it will come to that.
Apparently, he participated in some kind of exorcism while in college.. and claims that he could smell "Satan" or "Lucifer" or something.

From wiki :-
Jindal's pre-2001 writings include several articles in the New Oxford Review, one of which later made news during his 2003 gubernatorial race.[151] In that 1994 article titled "Physical Dimensions of Spiritual Warfare", Jindal described the events leading up to an apparent exorcism of a friend and how he felt unable to help her at the time. However, Jindal questioned if what he saw was actually an example of "spiritual warfare".[152]
http://www.nola.com/politics/index.ssf/ ... _on_e.html

IMVHO, he didn't participate in exorcism of his friend.. but of himself. Now he is free of evil pagan spirits. :)

g.sarkar wrote:Gautam
Sir, please see the following.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 9#p1362829
Rich would support who ever reduces taxes on them. Everybody - even a poor person - wants to get ahead. I don't see any problem with that. Who wants to be under the thumb of the elite?

An open secret to be used to blackmail...
Kelley alerted the FBI about the emails that appeared to be an attempt to blackmail Petraeus, which started the investigation, said the sources.
In addition, the threatening emails might not have come from biographer Paula Broadwell, as widely reported.

Read more: http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2012/11 ... z2Bz6bi8x0
And the Jill Kelly person is a Lebanese immigrant...

http://www.philly.com/philly/news/20121 ... roots.html
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

There is lot more than what's on the desk I mean the presidents desk
There is lot going on here to be just a story of
Honey I shrunk my responsibilities

There us espionage angle, there is political intrigue there is cross winds of settling scores,
and finally political expediency.

The most possible foreign connections would be
The all powerful Mossad the Russian British French and not last or least Itallian
Very interesting times but may have to wait for another
10 years for this perfumo affair to come out
Recall Harold Wilson PM days and Willy Brandt

Kerry being considered for ... Defense?
http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/nat ... story.html

FBI have raided Paula Broadwell's home : -

ImageImageImageImageImage

WTF :shock: ?
Scandal probe ensnares commander of U.S., NATO troops in Afghanistan
By Craig Whitlock, Tuesday, November 13, 11:30 AM

ABOARD A U.S. MILITARY AIRCRAFT — The FBI probe into the sex scandal that led to the resignation of CIA director David Petraeus has expanded to ensnare Gen. John R. Allen, the commander of U.S. and NATO troops in Afghanistan, the Pentagon announced early Tuesday.

According to a senior U.S. defense official, the FBI has uncovered between 20,000 and 30,000 pages of “potentially inappropriate” e-mails between Allen and Jill Kelley:eek: , a 37-year-old Tampa woman whose close friendship with Petraeus ultimately led to his downfall. Allen, a Marine, succeeded Petraeus as the top allied commander in Afghanistan in July 2011.

The FBI first notified the Pentagon of its investigation into Allen’s communications with Kelley on Sunday evening, according to the senior defense official who spoke on the condition of anonymity to discuss details of the ongoing case.

In response, Defense Secretary Leon E. Panetta referred the investigation to the Defense Department’s Inspector General for further review, according to a statement released by Panetta early Tuesday as he was traveling to Australia.

The latest development in the unfolding scandal has shaken President Obama’s national-security staff and upended his carefully chosen plans for his military and intelligence team in his second term.

It also further calls into question the personal behavior of two of the U.S. military’s highest-ranking and most respected figures, who apparently ignored concerns about the highly sensitive nature of their jobs as they embraced personal relationships with younger women who were not their wives.

Petraeus’s fall from grace shocked the CIA but especially stunned his former colleagues in the Army, where he was considered one of the most brilliant and influential commanders of his generation. Allen, a Marine, was likewise seen as an intellectual, upstanding role model who first made his mark as a general in Iraq and later earned the professional and personal confidence of Obama.

In his statement, Panetta said Allen would remain as commander of U.S. and NATO forces in Afghanistan for now, “while the matter is under investigation and before the facts are determined.”

But his time there may be short. Panetta has also asked the Senate to expedite the confirmation of his likely successor, Marine Gen. Joseph Dunford.

Obama had nominated Dunford last month to replace Allen. Coincidentally, the Senate Armed Services Committee had already scheduled his confirmation hearing for Thursday. Panetta said he has asked the Senate to expedite its review of Dunford’s nomination.

Allen had been simultaneously nominated by the White House to take over as chief of the military’s European Command and NATO’s Supreme Allied Commander in Europe. That nomination is now on hold, Panetta said, pending the outcome of the probe.

The Pentagon chief also said he and his staff immediately notified the White House and the leaders of the Senate and House armed services committees about the FBI’s investigation into Allen.

Panetta’s statement did not shed any light into the nature of the probe, but said that Allen “is entitled to due process in this matter.”

It was unclear whether Allen could be subject to criminal prosecution. The senior defense official said the Pentagon was still reviewing the e-mails and declined to comment on the nature of the relationship between Allen and Kelley.

Under the military’s Uniform Code of Military Justice, adultery is classified as a crime.

Kelley’s name surfaced in the Petraeus scandal over the weekend after U.S. officials disclosed that she contacted the FBI last summer to complain that she had received anonymous harassing and threatening phone calls about her relationship with the CIA director.

An FBI field investigation determined that the sender of the e-mails was Paula Broadwell, a former Army officer and Petraeus’s biographer. Broadwell and Petraeus later admitted to the FBI that they had engaged in an affair.

Associates of Petraeus have said he was not romantically involved with Kelley, although they acknowledged she was a close friend of Petraeus and his wife.

The senior defense official said the voluminous collection of e-mails sent between Allen and Kelley occurred between 2010 and this year, but did not give details. The official also declined to say whether Allen sent or received any of the messages from his military or government e-mail accounts, or if classified material was compromised.
FBI Agent in Petraeus Case Under Scrutiny

by DEVLIN BARRETT, EVAN PEREZ and SIOBHAN GORMAN, DEVLIN BARRETT, EVAN PEREZ AND SIOBHAN GORMAN, DEVLIN BARRETT, EVAN PEREZ, SIOBHAN GORMAN

• Nov. 12, 2012

A State Department official's complaints about email stalking launched the months-long criminal inquiry that led to a woman romantically linked to former Gen. David Petraeus and to his abrupt resignation Friday as CIA chief. Photo: REUTERS.

WASHINGTON—A federal agent who launched the investigation that ultimately led to the resignation of Central Intelligence Agency chief David Petraeus was barred from taking part in the case over the summer due to superiors' concerns that he had become personally involved in the case, according to officials familiar with the probe.

New details about how the Federal Bureau of Investigation handled the case suggest that even as the bureau delved into Mr. Petraeus's personal life, the agency struggled with questionable conduct by one of its own—including allegedly sending shirtless photos of himself to a woman involved in the case.

FBI officials declined to identify the agent, who is now under investigation by the Office of Professional Responsibility, the internal-affairs arm of the FBI, according to two officials familiar with the matter.

The revelations address how the investigation first began and ultimately led to Mr. Petraeus's downfall as director of the CIA. The new developments also raise questions about the role played by the FBI and the adequacy of notification to administration and congressional leaders about the scandal.

The FBI agent who started the case was a friend of Jill Kelley, the Tampa woman who received harassing, anonymous emails that led to the probe, according to officials. Ms. Kelley, a volunteer who organizes social events for military personnel in the Tampa area, complained in May about the emails to a friend who is an FBI agent. That agent referred it to a cyber crimes unit, which opened an investigation.

However, supervisors soon became concerned that the initial agent might have grown obsessed with the matter, and prohibited him from any role in the investigation, according to the officials.

The FBI officials found that he had sent shirtless pictures of himself to Ms. Kelley, according to the people familiar with the probe.

That same agent, after being barred from the case, contacted a member of Congress, Washington Republican David Reichert, because he was concerned senior FBI officials were going to sweep the matter under the rug, the officials said. That information was relayed to top congressional officials, who notified FBI headquarters in Washington.

By that point, FBI agents had determined the harassing emails had been sent by Paula Broadwell, who had written a biography of Mr. Petraeus's military command.

Investigators had also determined that Ms. Broadwell had been having an affair with Mr. Petraeus, and that the emails suggested Ms. Broadwell was suspicious of Ms. Kelley's attention to Mr. Petraeus, officials said.

The accusatory emails, according to officials, were sent anonymously to an account shared by Ms. Kelley and her husband. Ms. Broadwell allegedly used a variety of email addresses to send the harassing messages to Ms. Kelley, officials said.

One asked if Ms. Kelley's husband was aware of her actions, according to officials. In another, the anonymous writer claimed to have watched Ms. Kelley touching "him'' provocatively underneath a table, the officials said.

The message was referring to Mr. Petraeus, but that wasn't clear at the time, officials said. A lawyer for Ms. Kelley didn't respond to messages Monday seeking comment, nor did a lawyer for Ms. Broadwell. Neither woman has replied to requests for explanation.

By then, what began as a relatively simple cyberstalking case had ballooned into a national security investigation. Mr. Petraeus and Ms. Broadwell, both of them married, had set up private Gmail accounts to contact each other, according to several officials familiar with the investigation. The FBI at one point was concerned the CIA director's email had been accessed by outsiders.

After agents interviewed Ms. Broadwell, she let them examine her computer, where they found copies of classified documents, according to the officials. Both Mr. Petraeus and Ms. Broadwell denied that he had given her the documents, and FBI officials eventually concluded they had no evidence to suggest otherwise.

Even as the probe of the relationship between Mr. Petraeus and Ms. Broadwell intensified in late summer and early fall, authorities were able to eventually rule out a security breach, though intelligence officials became concerned Mr. Petraeus had left himself exposed to possible blackmail, according to officials.

Finally, a day after the Nov. 6 election, intelligence officials presented their findings to the White House. Mr. Petraeus met with White House officials last Thursday and announced his resignation the following day.

Lawmakers on Capitol Hill have questioned whether Mr. Petraeus needed to resign over the affair, and some have argued that the FBI should have alerted both the White House and Congress much earlier to the potential security implications surrounding Mr. Petraeus.

In a separate twist in the tangled matter of Mr. Petraeus's resignation, the CIA disputed a theory advanced by Ms. Broadwell that insurgents may have attacked the U.S. consulate and a CIA annex in Benghazi, Libya, on Sept. 11 in a bid to free militants being held there by the agency. Ms. Broadwell suggested that rationale for the consulate attack in an address at the University of Denver on Oct. 26.

"I don't know if a lot of you had heard this, but the CIA annex had actually taken a couple of Libyan militia members prisoner and they think the attack on the consulate was an attempt to get these prisoners back," she said then. "It's still being vetted."

A CIA spokesman said there were no militant prisoners there, noting that President Barack Obama ended CIA authority to hold detainees in 2009. "Any suggestion that the agency is still in the detention business is uninformed and baseless," said the spokesperson.

Some critics pointed to Ms. Broadwell's remarks in Denver as an indication that she may have been passing on classified information, leading to speculation that Mr. Petraeus may have been the source. Based on descriptions by U.S. officials, the romantic relationship had ended by then.

In addition, the source of her comment may not have been intelligence information, but news reports. Earlier in her address, she cited findings of a report that day by Fox News. Immediately after, she mentioned the possibility that the CIA had held militants at the site, which the Fox report also mentioned.

The Sept. 11 consulate attack resulted in the deaths of U.S. Ambassador Christopher Stevens and three other Americans. One person briefed on U.S. intelligence said that reports focused on two main motives for the attack: inspiration from the violent protest that day at the U.S. embassy in Cairo, and the exhortation of al Qaeda leader Ayman al Zawahiri to avenge the death of his second in command. The possibility of attackers trying to free detainees never came up, this person said.

This week, lawmakers are slated to receive a series of closed-door briefings on the FBI investigation that turned up the affair between Mr. Petraeus and Ms. Broadwell. The Senate Foreign Relations Committee has one such briefing scheduled Tuesday. On Wednesday, leaders of the House intelligence committee—Rep. Michael Rogers, a Michigan Republican who chairs the panel and Rep. C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger of Maryland, the top Democrat—will be briefed by FBI Deputy Director Sean Joyce and acting CIA director Michael Morell.

Senate intelligence committee staffers are working to schedule similar briefings. On Thursday, both the House and Senate intelligence committees were already slated to receive testimony on Benghazi from top intelligence and law-enforcement officials. The investigation that uncovered the affair is now expected to also be a central issue at those hearings, which won't be public.

Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D., Calif.), who chairs the Senate intelligence committee complained Sunday that she and her colleagues should have been told of the Petraeus-Broadwell affair when the FBI discovered it because of national-security concerns.
Last edited by anmol on 13 Nov 2012 12:36, edited 1 time in total.

got this from LAtimes. US is probably the world leader (or among top3) in technologies for smart grids, solar, fuel cell and wind energy as well.
---------------
The U.S. will become the world’s top producer of oil within five years, a net exporter of the fuel around 2030 and nearly self-sufficient in energy by 2035, according to a new report from the International Energy Agency.

Recently, however, an “energy renaissance” in the U.S. has caused a boost in oil, shale gas and bio-energy production due to new technologies such as hydraulic fracturing, or fracking. Fuel efficiency has improved in the transportation sector. The clean energy industry has seen an influx of solar and wind efforts.

By 2015, U.S. oil production is expected to rise to 10 million barrels per day before increasing to 11.1 million bpd by 2020, overtaking second-place Russia and front-runner Saudi Arabia. The U.S. will export more oil than it brings into the country in 2030.

Around the same time, however, Saudi Arabia will be producing some 11.4 million bpd of oil, outpacing the 10.2 million from the U.S. In 2035, U.S. production will slip to 9.2 million bpd, far behind the Middle Eastern nation’s 12.3 million bpd. Iraq will exceed Russia to become the world’s second largest oil exporter.

At that point, real oil prices will reach $125 a barrel. By then, however, the U.S. won’t be relying much on foreign energy, according to the IEA’s World Energy Outlook.

Globally, the energy economy will undergo a “sea change,” according to the report, with nearly 90% of Middle Eastern oil exports redirecting toward Asia.

“No country is an energy ‘island,’ and the interactions between different fuels, markets and prices are intensifying,” according to the report.

And what of energy efficiency efforts?

Fossil fuels, which enjoyed a 30% jump in subsidies last year to $523 billion worldwide, will still surpass renewable energy sources, according to IEA. But so-called green power will become the world’s second-largest form of generation within three years and will threaten coal’s supremacy by 2035.

That progression, however, “hinges critically on continued subsidies” for wind, solar and bio-fuel technologies, which last year amounted to some $88 billion and needs to reach $4.8 trillion through 2035, according to IEA.

Even then, however, “the world is still failing to put the global energy system onto a more sustainable path,” according to the report.

Global energy demand will boom by more than a third by 2035, rising to 99.7 million barrels a day from 87.4 million last year. China’s demand will rise 60% over the period; India’s will more than double. Demand in developed countries will increase just 3%, with the desire for oil and coal losing share in the overall energy mix.

Energy-related carbon dioxide emissions will creep up, causing a long-term average temperature increase of 3.6 degrees Celsius. Energy production will continue to suck at the world’s water resources – it already accounts for 15% of total water use.

One thing in common...
Paula Broadwell, Jill Kelley,......Monica Lewinsky.....all belong to the tribe - J....
Were they serving their motherland by getting hooked to powerful?

again..there is hardly a good place/thread to post these things...

I read of a current scandal where another highup armed forces personnel (serving in Iraq?) charged with sexual abuse of female compatriots. Can't seem to find the link as b/w is hogged by betrayus/allen.

Perhaps reflecting on the general culture but sounds pretty f'd up. Just as folks blame Indian incompetence in certain professional matters on general social factors, probably the same applies to US.

US election: Unhappy Americans ask to secede from US
More than 100,000 Americans have petitioned the White House to allow their states to secede from the US, after President Barack Obama's re-election.

The appeals were filed on the White House's We the People website.

Most of the 20 states with petitions voted for Republican Mitt Romney.

The US constitution contains no provisions for states to secede from the union. By Monday night the White House had not responded.

In total, more than 20 petitions have been filed. One for Texas has reached the 25,000-signature threshold at which the White House promises a response.

'Blatant abuses'
The last time states officially seceded, the US Civil War followed.

Most of the petitions merely quote the opening line of America's Declaration of Independence from Britain, in which America's founders stated their right to "dissolve the political bands" and form a new nation.

Currently, the most popular petition is from Texas, which voted for Mr Romney by some 15 percentage points more than it did for the Democratic incumbent.

The text complains of "blatant abuses" of Americans' rights.

It cites the Transportation Security Administration, whose staff have been accused of intrusive screening at airports. :P

The irony is, the Latino population explosion means Texas will be solidly Democrat in a decade.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

I cant bare the tension in Petraeus's story. Will he at least see the completion of his biography? who will complete it if his mistress and biographer can't? what will be the ending? will he go to jail? if not will his mistress go to jail? can't wait for the release of next episode of his soap opera. Now the plot is also thickening with the entry of new characters. No wonder American story tellers are so good, cant miss even a single episode.

Sexual harassments in US armed forces is pretty wide spread !

Military rape: The invisible war
According to Department of Defence estimates [PDF], more than 19,000 women and men were assaulted in 2010 alone. As many as 500,000 women and men have been raped or sexually assaulted since World War II. And nearly 80 per cent of survivors never report for fear of retaliation and intimidation.
Clips of the documentary and interview with the maker can be watched here

What I've been posting for aeons.The deliberate cover up of the mountain of rape and human rights abuses by US forces
worldwide is the most disgusting act of hypocrisy by the so-called leader of the democratic world. It stinks.

Philip wrote:.... human rights abuses by US forces
worldwide is the most disgusting act of hypocrisy...
Philip sir
Is it worse than the British abuses in Iraq and British Bropaganda Corp child molestations?
Christopher Sidor

Post by Christopher Sidor »

krisna wrote:Shankar Sharma: Rajat Gupta - Less equal than others
If this is not giving out material, non-public information, then what is? If Rajat Gupta is guilty, why isn’t Paulson? If Gupta had given Raj Rajaratnam information that Goldman Sachs was going to get an investment from Warren Buffett (and suppose, if Rajaratnam had not sold an already long position in Goldman stock based on this material, non-public information), would this have amounted to a criminal offence on Gupta’s part?

Of the many things I don’t like about this Rajat Gupta affair, one is the Indian media’s sickeningly fawning portrayal of the American justice system as one that “doesn’t spare the rich and powerful, unlike ours where the well-connected get away", and “how justice is dispensed speedily in the US", and so on.

Nothing could be farther from the truth. The US protects its own rich and powerful better than we can ever do. Paulson got away clean. Not even an investigation. No investigation by the Securities and Exchange Commission into the trading by these attendee hedge funds. Nothing. Just a conspiracy of silence.

Then, we have the strange case of David Sokol. He was Buffett’s No. 2, and was widely tipped to take over from the old man. Sokol bought shares of Lubrizol, prior to getting Buffett to buy the company outright. After the deal was done, Sokol told Buffett of this purchase. Buffett waved it aside, saying it was no problem. No problem? Sokol traded on inside knowledge of material, non-public information, and Buffett joined him in keeping this a secret.

When the problem came out, Sokol resigned, Buffett shrugged. And, that was it. The cover up had happened. Because any serious investigation would have led to Buffett himself becoming a party to any offence, since he chose not to report this to the authorities. Consideration for his old age? Well...
Can the author specify one instance where Henry Paulson, actually benefited from this so called leaking information to the hedge funds regarding Freddie Mae and Fannie Mae? All the information that is coming out is based on the word of one Banker who was allegedly present in the meeting with Henry Paulson.

Everyone interested in evaluating the American "justice" system for its alleged equality and fair treatment of all races, should watch this developing story.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/11/0 ... 04184.html
News keeps getting worse for Denise Helms, the 22-year-old California woman whose racist, threatening Facebook status about President Barack Obama went viral this week. Helms has since been fired from her job at a Turlock, Calif., Cold Stone Creamery, and the Secret Service is now looking into her comments.

“Another 4 years of this (N-word),” Helms wrote on her Facebook Tuesday night. “Maybe he will get assassinated this term.”
What's the worst that happened to her? She lost her job. No arrest. No detention by the Dept. of Homeland Security. Latest reports say that nothing more is likely to happen.

Now compare Vikram Buddhi, who posted similar messages regarding George W Bush on an online discussion forum in 2005-6:

http://www.countercurrents.org/kotasubbarao210409.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vikram_Buddhi
Buddhi was arrested on April 14, 2006 and found guilty of threatening the life of a US President in 2007.Earlier on Friday, February 3, 2006, Buddhi was questioned by the Secret Service who made a formal report saying that Buddhi was not a threat to the US President or any Secret Service protected person.
So SDRE Vikram Buddhi, whom the Secret Service officially determined was NOT a threat to the POTUS, nonetheless served 57 months in prison for "threatening the life of a US President."

It will be very instructive to see what happens to the white Denise Helms, in comparison. Remember, it doesn't matter if the Secret Service determines that she is actually a threat to the POTUS or not. That determination apparently didn't matter in Vikram Buddhi's case either.

What matters is that Helms posted an internet message threatening the life of the POTUS (on Facebook, a far more visible forum than the Yahoo Business discussion group used by Buddhi). I wonder if we will see her face the same consequences for that act as Buddhi did.

A few points about independent judiciary system in USA, finest of the first world countries:
Obama’s judgement call
The choice of US Supreme Court justices can reshape America’s legal debates
The Supreme Court of the United States consists of nine justices who are appointed with life tenure.
The guarantees of the US constitution are often stated in general and rather vague terms.
It therefore matters a great deal who gets to appoint them. In the American system, when a vacancy occurs because of retirement or death, the president nominates a prospective justice and the US senate has to then decide whether to confirm that nomination.
presidents tend to nominate justices who share their perspective on the law, and although the senate sometimes withholds confirmation, it usually gives the president the benefit of doubt.
By American standards, all five of the justices appointed by Republican presidents are conservative in their approach to constitutional law, and all four of the justices appointed by Democratic presidents are liberal in their approach.
They dealt with such issues as the constitutionality of gun control laws, the death penalty, regulations of corporate expenditures in the political process, affirmative action programmes, the right to vote, and the rights of African-Americans, Hispanics, women, gay people, political dissenters, religious minorities, and persons accused of crime.

In these 20 cases, the conservative justices voted together 97 per cent of the time, and the liberal justices voted together 96 per cent of the time. Because there were more conservative than liberal justices, the conservatives were in the majority most of the time.
What, then, was at stake in the 2012 presidential election?
government restrictions on the amount of money that corporations could spend in the political process
gun control
A third example is affirmative action.
If I am right in this prediction, Fisher will have a dramatic and negative impact on equality in the US.
Meaning appointment of justice is not independent of politics, and may be all issues that affect politics as well as 'individual opinions of judges' too!

Affirmative action is on the line too in USA, while lecturing others on equality. As usual moral keepers are silent on issues of equality and perhaps on the side of conservatives too that question affirmative politics and equality etc.

If this is the scenario in the supreme court, one can only imagine what happens in way of justice in individual counties and states.

The Petreus story is now assuming soap-opera like scenarios. Turns out now that Jill Kelley's identical twin sister (Natalie Khawam) is now in the picture as well. Apparently she was in a bad divorce case with her ex-husband last year and both Gen. Petreus and Gen. Allen tried to intervene on her behalf with the judge. The judge didn't buy it though and described Natalie Khawam as "dishonest and lacking integrity". He pulled her up for creating "an ever-expanding set of sensational accusations" against her ex-husband that were "numerous," `'extraordinary," and, "so distorted that they defy any common sense view of reality." He not only gave custody of the son to her ex-husband, but also directed her to pay his attorney fees. She declared chapter 7 bankruptcy and went to live with her twin sister.

http://seattletimes.com/html/politics/2 ... ecase.html

Well these boys should have known... Don't get tangled with Lebanese chix. It should be vin diesel style...fast, furious and outta there like a bullet....
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

Singha-ji, US is already meeting 83%+ of its requirements of oil domestically. See below. what's not mentioned is of the balance, a reducing share is coming from ME. Probably will drop to nothing in a few years.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/business/ ... story.html

Probably explains why some of the ME barbarians are now taking India's security challenges more seriously and arresting/deporting a few 'guests'. There are only two markets left, us and PRC. They know PRC hates beards and treats them like stool sample. They only want their oil not their presence or culture. Yet they can come here, act like bosses, fund terrorism, and cavort with 11 yr old brides with full approval of our secular, liberal elite. And of course, dance to Bollywood music.

vishvak wrote:
Affirmative action is on the line too in USA, while lecturing others on equality. As usual moral keepers are silent on issues of equality and perhaps on the side of conservatives too that question affirmative politics and equality etc.

If this is the scenario in the supreme court, one can only imagine what happens in way of justice in individual counties and states.
If you live in US, you will see that affirmative action is not on the line, but the beneficiaries are what will surprise you. The cacophony of reverse discrimination of the oppressed white people will reach a crescendo. Fox news and radio talk show fascists will drum beat this theme day in and day out. And of course there will be a large hue and cry about one white gal or one white guy who somehow did not get admission in some college, and there will be a supreme court case, legal scholars will weigh on the constitutional implications, the media including "liberal" Nina Totenberg on NPR will analyze the dickens out of this saying how denying the admission violates the vision of the founding fathers. And not to be outdone, the Christian right argue how this white gal/guy being discriminated against goes against the Juedo Christian ethics which is the foundationall basis of the country and how under Barak "Hussein" Obama, the country is loosing its moral clarity. Believe me, what I narrated is the surreal alternate reality that will be peddled from the man on the street to constitutional legal scholars.

ArmenT wrote:The Petreus story is now assuming soap-opera like scenarios. Turns out now that Jill Kelley's identical twin sister (Natalie Khawam) is now in the picture as well. Apparently she was in a bad divorce case with her ex-husband last year and both Gen. Petreus and Gen. Allen tried to intervene on her behalf with the judge. The judge didn't buy it though and described Natalie Khawam as "dishonest and lacking integrity". He pulled her up for creating "an ever-expanding set of sensational accusations" against her ex-husband that were "numerous," `'extraordinary," and, "so distorted that they defy any common sense view of reality." He not only gave custody of the son to her ex-husband, but also directed her to pay his attorney fees. She declared chapter 7 bankruptcy and went to live with her twin sister.

http://seattletimes.com/html/politics/2 ... ecase.html
Please somebody explain me in mango abdul language. what happened? I am lost and confused in this fast n fluid story. The two honorable Gens were after one mohterma of some dubious breed? KGB tried this but could not succeed. It was all that easy it seems :mrgreen:
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

Rudradev,

Vikram B is a foreigner in the US - you cannot compare that with a racist US citizen, with citizen being the operative word.

Rangudu, I am with Rudradev on this. The law in this case is not different for citizens, except that a foreigner might get deported after the jailterm.

Kati wrote:One thing in common...
Paula Broadwell, Jill Kelley,......Monica Lewinsky.....all belong to the tribe - J....
Were they serving their motherland by getting hooked to powerful?
The Khawam's are not Jewish. Neither do I see any evidence that Paula Broadwell is.
Where do you get this crap from?

Rangudu, there are some actions which are understandably criminal if performed by a foreigner in the US, but not criminal if performed by a US citizen. For example voting, overstaying a visa, applying fraudulently for certain govt.aid programs etc.

The action committed by both VB and DH is not among those actions. It is a crime no matter who commits it. Both of them committed it. What remains to be seen is how the American "justice" system treats the white person, vs. the brown person, in dealing out consequences. Apart from the additional deportation of a non-citizen there should be no difference under an "egalitarian" justice system.
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

Rudradev,

Then see if the crime was the same. One Facebook post vs. a campaign of posts across a long period of time by the Indian guy.

Prosecutors have to use their judgment on intent etc. and they do so all the time.

If a guy is saying threats again and again, using multiple IDs, building bot programs etc. does that compare with one facebook post?

I'm not seeing any big racism here.

Big picture: The very fact that a great big number of us live and thrive here in the US works against this constant claim of racism, to be honest. Yes, ceteris paribus, a non-White person statistically faces more issues in the US criminal court system but I'd be careful with extrapolating that to every case.

once deported, can any gov get hold of the "criminal" again?