India-US Relations : News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
KrishnaK

Re: India-US Relations : News and Discussion

Post by KrishnaK »

KrishnaK wrote:I concede your point that assigning qualitative 'like'/'dislike' to balance of trade makes no sense. I should've argued just trade instead. The US has consistently and clearly articulated countries it sees as a threat and has consistently used economic sanctions and withholding access to the American market as a foreign policy instrument.
Do you know what Super 301 and Special 301 are ? Those are unilateral trade sanctioning regimes that the US used to apply to sanction nations ? They still use it, to the extent the WTO lets them do so unilaterally. Check out the Special 301 country list. India has never been downgraded to WL or lower status - it has always been a PWL country. Super 301 rules were used to armtwist India through the 1980s and 1990s, only being curtailed when it became apparent that the GATT Uruguay Round would be impacted and it would delay the creation of the WTO. Far from being benign in its trade dealings with India, the US has a long history of belligerence. It didn't bite so much simply because we traded very little with the outside world for a long time. As late as 2000, our total exports were $35 billion. Our current annual exports are 10x that. We gained a lot once the US could no longer unilaterally impose their trade sanctions on us thanks to WTO.

The entire basis of your argument is wrong, whether you use trade, GDP or any other economic metric.
Suraj,
I do know about the Special 301. That the US has been pretty high handed to downright arrogant, pushy to coercive is hardly news. Every country that can get away with that has tried it in some arena or the other. The only reason I can think of for putting India on what list was they thought it would be easy to pry India open with that crowbar Carla Hills talked about. That in no way implies that the US had built up or was building up some sort of persistent enmity with us, which is what containment would imply. How many articles, opinion pieces can you point out where the US has portrayed India as a threat to it's security ? Being unfriendly to belligerent hardly implies containment. That is the sole point of my argument.

KrishnaK: So your argument is, after the US has done plenty of things that impact us negatively, whether by the State Department-driven foreign policy, economic sanctions, military sanctions or otherwise, that - to quote Godfather - it wasn't personal, it was just business ? What difference does that make ? Of course we're just one of 205 other countries in the world from the US, or anyone else's, perspective. All that matters is, have we faced negative sanction ? We have. A lot. Much more than most of those other 205, though not the most. No one cares if it's because they explicitly hate us or otherwise. This is like dwelling on the aftermath of being robbed with 'does the robber personally hate me ?' It's completely irrelevant whether you choose to view it as explicit malice from the US, or just that of an imaginary loving parent dishing out tough love. Those actions harmed us for decades, and that is all that is relevant.

Not all policies are advertised via articles, opinion pieces.

The only country that gave Bakis anti-tank missile to fight Al-keeda is US. Am yet to hear ONE allegation on Al-Keeda in Bakistan having tanks even from Americans. So why anti-tank missiles provided?

BTW, Who was the driving force behind the NPT and which country was the target hanji? That is one explicit Americans containment policy directed at India.

There are many such examples but if one wants to believe it all was done out of benevolence for India what more can be said.

ramana wrote:I guess we need to send money to ACLU for their good work. Also after DOJ report on abuses iN Ferguson, it would be a good thing if PDs all over the country think about their own modus operandi and introspect if they have been equally misbehaving.
Ramana,

Save your money for a good cause. ACLU exists only as a vent for frustrations. They have offices, and means of contact. Try getting to know them before you decide they are worthy of support.

I would put thrm in the same bucket as PETA and EFF.

They exist, so people wont demand protection/rights.

Air to Air missile to Bakis to fight terrorism i.e al-keeda and taliban!!?
Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618 2m2 minutes ago New Delhi, Delhi

So how many of those AMRAAMs given to the Pakistani Air Force to fight terrorism have been used yet?
Indeed! How many have been used for the purpose they were supposed to have been given?
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

American foreign policy is a disaster. In fact their entire attitude to the world is a disaster.
They know nothing of the world or it's people.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=p ... 1Unvoc#t=0

US cannot counter China in Asia without India's support:Ex-NSA
KOCHI: Former national security Adviser M K Narayanan today said the US cannot counter China in the Asian region without India's support.

"India is the only country in the Asian region capable of standing against China," Narayanan said while delivering a keynote address at a two-day conference on 'US Rebalance and the Asia Pacific Region', here.

He said Chinese "exceptionalism poses a danger" to all countries which have an interests in Asia and India's approach to the situation that prevails in the region is different.

Citing loopholes in the way Washington operates in the region to counter China, Narayanan said, "The US cannot hope to go it alone or hope to succeed only with the support of smaller nations. India must factor very highly in the designs of the United States."

There are certain incompatibilities between Washington's rebalancing strategy and India's priorities, he said in the conference also attended by former RAW chief P K Hormis Tharakan.

The former West Bengal Governor said India's effort is to see that the situation in the region "does not reach a point where China feels it could threaten India's position in Asia".

He said India does not want to see itself as a nation seeking to contain China individually or in association with the United States in the region.

Referring to the defence capabilities of both the nations, Narayanan said the current reality is that despite the Chinese military build up, China does not have any major advantage vis-a-vis India.

Speaking on the occasion, US Consul General Phillip Min said, "India's Act East policy and our rebalance to Asia are complementary approaches based on our shared democratic values and respect for the stability and prosperity that the rules-based international system has brought to the world."

"And as the United States implements our rebalance, we see India as a fundamental provider of economic growth and security across the region," Min said.

The two-day conference, which began today, is hosted by the US Consulate General, Chennai, in association with the Center for Public Policy Research (CPPR).

two-day conference on 'US Rebalance and the Asia Pacific Region'
Thats a lot of chai and biscuits.
Manny

Post by Manny »

From Patheos: Farce or Dialogue - Who Should be Discussing Proselytism & Pluralism?

http://www.hafsite.org/patheos-farce-or ... -pluralism

This is no coincidence.
The rise and fall of Aaron Schock
by JAKE SHERMAN and ANNA PALMER, politico.com
March 6th 2015 4:33 AM

His party was wrestling over immigration policy and funding for the Department of Homeland Security, but Illinois Rep. Aaron Schock wanted his colleagues to know he’s still working hard for Republicans, despite a scandal that now threatens his career.

In a closed party meeting Tuesday at the private Capitol Hill Club, Schock stood up and acknowledged that the last few weeks had been tough on him personally, but he’s focused on his job. And, to prove that, he announced that he had raised a half-million dollars for the National Republican Congressional Committee over the last several months.

[..]

Typical of the mistakes in Schock’s record keeping is a until now unreported $200 expense billed to his political action committee for an October fundraising meeting. The only problem: that dinner was in New Delhi, India, while he was on official business there. Asked why his political arm was holding fundraising meetings in India, a Schock spokesman admitted the charge was a mistake.

“One part of the compliance procedures review will include meals and other expenses in connection with officially related travel by Congressman Schock,” a Schock spokesman said in an email. “At the conclusion of the review any necessary amendments to FEC reports will be filed, including any other remedial actions. For example, the FEC report will be amended to clarify that there was no fundraising meeting in India.

Yes, when you wake up in DC, with your morning cuppa, you want to read about India. Thusly, http://m.washingtonpost.com/news/mornin ... applicant/

http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 919_1.html
Bullish about growth potential in India, a top US lawmaker today said bilateral trade between the two countries could jump from current USD 100 billion to USD 500 billion if the Modi government continues with reform initiatives and removes regulatory hurdles.

Chairman of the powerful US House Foreign Relations Committee Ed Royce called the government's budget proposals "big jump" to boost economic growth and attract foreign investment into India.

"We are absolutely bullish on the opportunity for economic growth in India today. We looked at the changes that are occurring and we looked at the achievements and we believe that

the bilateral trade could well be USD 500 billion from current USD 100 billion," he told reporters.

Hailing government's efforts to encourage infrastructure spending and decision to cut corporate tax by 5 per cent over the next four years, he said though budget proposals were not "quantum leap", they were big jump forward in revitalising the economy.

"It was not a quantum leap but it was a big jump and I think the commitment for infrastructure spending is important. I think the 25 per cent (corporate) tax rate down from 30 will bring more investment. I generally agree with Prime Minister's thesis of minimal government, maximum governance.

So you have an Indian-American as Ambassador and a Korean-American as CG. Far cry from the Cabots, Lodges, and other Boston Brahmins.

Suraj wrote:. A reading of economic history shows that they only calmed down when they realized their actions could impact the GATT to WTO transition, that they were championing.
They have hardly calmed down. They seem to getting manic pretty much every day. Every day worse than the day before.

Shreeman wrote:Yes, when you wake up in DC, with your morning cuppa, you want to read about India. Thusly, http://m.washingtonpost.com/news/mornin ... applicant/
This is a GREAT opportunity to correct the image perception problem. All India has to do is deny visa to few German males and females for their racism, xenophobia of German females and of course rapist attitude of German males which is troubling to us and which we cannot condone. Along with that some per capita rates of rape and other violent crimes of Germany (Compared against India) should be provided and the visa denial letter should be leaked to international media. That will set right the perception to these racist and rapist pigs.

Besides, India is the one of the very few nations in the world where Jews lived for centuries without any prosecution. We wouldnt want to endanger that by admitting Germans into the country, would we?

If this is the standard of German professors, decline of Germany is given.
rgosain

Post by rgosain »

Schinnas, German men and priests are known to frequent Cambodia, Thailand and Sri-lanka to prey upon the young and distressed. It is not uncommon for groups men to go on all inclusive vacations to parts of Asia and now West Africa to seek out these activities. The German ambassador was complaining recently that very few Indian schools teach German. Well if they can't get the teachers because of this negative perception, then fewer schools will be teaching the language.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

Not just the Germans, the americans and swedes and a whole bunch of goras from all over EU acquire asian women (thailand, vietnam, and cambodia and surely any other place where poor women are willing to take up anything to get out) half their age, mostly not to play board games from what I hear. These scum have the audacity to preach to the rest of the planet about respect for women...isn't it all really peachy..

Cosmo_R wrote:So you have an Indian-American as Ambassador and a Korean-American as CG. Far cry from the Cabots, Lodges, and other Boston Brahmins.
Cosmo_R ji: Any observations about USAID and Rajiv wahtachammacallhissurname?

pandyan wrote:Aaron Schock is quite close to Modi. May be that is why he is getting some extra attention and scrutiny.
That is beyond doubt. I hope some of the compatriots (of all colors) from my state realize that and rally around him in a small way. I am a little skeptical of that outcome though. :(

vayu tuvan wrote:
Cosmo_R wrote:So you have an Indian-American as Ambassador and a Korean-American as CG. Far cry from the Cabots, Lodges, and other Boston Brahmins.
Cosmo_R ji: Any observations about USAID and Rajiv wahtachammacallhissurname?
Not sure what you are referring to. Rajiv Shah? Seems like good guy. Another example of how far the the US has come from the Cabots/Lodges to reflect its ongoing societal makeup.

Can't vouch for his effectiveness but it's got to be better than the Boston Brahmins.

Cosmo_R wrote: Rajiv Shah? Seems like good guy.
Yeah that is the surname. But good guy? He was a good sepoy. But then a second/third generation immigrant (from where? India?). Let me say I disagree. I am sure you are in the know about USAID shenanigans in Haiti. Our man Rajiv Shah was verfy sure of USAID and by extension US policy towards Haiti's Duvalier. Problem with 22 year olds getting PhDs/Masters they don't deserve.

svinayak wrote: This is grand strategy around the world from 1960. India was promised access and other economic benefit if India helps in supporting the fight against the communism. INC may have been told to keep the reforms subdued until the fall of the communism and beginning of the global trading system. INC and Indian elites may have been betrayed somewhere in the last 25 years resulting in India falling behind and without sufficient reforms and trading bloc support.
Some of these questions are asked in this book
India Unbound: The Social and Economic Revolution from Independence to the Global Information Age
by Gurcharan Das (Author)
Promised by whom? G8? Lets say it was G8 who promised India the moon. But before we think about this, we have to look at the whole idea.

The idea of western economics comes from 1776 book by Adam Smith and his 'invisible hand' hypothesis. The theory works for an ideal economic man - who is rational, thoughtful, individualistic and self centred. This theory has a foundation in the idea that ideal man is fundamentally a Christian who goes to the church. And like the man who is worshipped in the church, there is no place for a woman in this discourse.

American exceptionalism though not implicitly stated so (open to be corrected) - has basis in the ideas of the church.

What will an economic man do- he will get everything he can for his self. He cares none about the environment. Loot. take. steal. beg. borrow. whatever. And this is still what the American economic models work on.

Now JLN and his cronies may not be as smart as VD Savarkar or Tilak or BC Pal but still they had some love for the motherland. If they were offered a deal by G8, which they refused to take as they believed the model did not work for India. We are not into just thinking economic man who has no heart.

Our ideas are still based in conservation, vegetarianism, live and let live philosophy. India thinks with its head but still has a heart and listens to it.

The western powers did not like it and perhaps approached the Chinese. The Chinese leadership saw benefits for their sakes and went along. But TBH Chinese culture is just a shell now. Inside the western universalism is very dominant.

Lets not be too sad that the promises made were not kept. We should be thankful that our progress was and is not beholden to the destructive economic ideals of the west.

We are much better than that. My understanding is- we are at the edge of something remarkable in Indic Civilisational terms. Fortunately we have Modi leading us.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 527648.cms
Government trying to get US' charges against Devyani Khobragade dropped
"India and the US have initiated an official dialogue to comprehensively address all aspects related to the case against Khobragade and all issues arising from differing perspectives on diplomatic privileges and immunities.

"Our government is making all attempts so that all charges levelled against her are dropped," External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj told the Lok Sabha during the Question Hour.
Swaraj also cited other instances of mistreatment of Indian diplomats in the last few years which occured in Slovenia, Romania, Albania and Pakistan, besides such treatment meted out to eminent Indian citizens, including former President A P J Abdul Kalam who was subjected to frisking at New York airport against protocols.

Such actions have not been repeated in these countries except Pakistan after the matter was taken up with the respective governments, Swaraj said.

In Pakistan, members of the High Commission have been subjected to "intrusive surveillance, including "tailing by the intelligence and security personnel of the Pakistan government".

panduranghari-ji, nice post!

panduranghari wrote:
svinayak wrote: This is grand strategy around the world from 1960. India was promised access and other economic benefit if India helps in supporting the fight against the communism. INC may have been told to keep the reforms subdued until the fall of the communism and beginning of the global trading system. INC and Indian elites may have been betrayed somewhere in the last 25 years resulting in India falling behind and without sufficient reforms and trading bloc support.
Some of these questions are asked in this book
India Unbound: The Social and Economic Revolution from Independence to the Global Information Age
by Gurcharan Das (Author)
Promised by whom? G8? Lets say it was G8 who promised India the moon. But before we think about this, we have to look at the whole idea.

The idea of western economics comes from 1776 book by Adam Smith and his 'invisible hand' hypothesis. The theory works for an ideal economic man - who is rational, thoughtful, individualistic and self centred. This theory has a foundation in the idea that ideal man is fundamentally a Christian who goes to the church. And like the man who is worshipped in the church, there is no place for a woman in this discourse.

American exceptionalism though not implicitly stated so (open to be corrected) - has basis in the ideas of the church.

What will an economic man do- he will get everything he can for his self. He cares none about the environment. Loot. take. steal. beg. borrow. whatever. And this is still what the American economic models work on.

Now JLN and his cronies may not be as smart as VD Savarkar or Tilak or BC Pal but still they had some love for the motherland. If they were offered a deal by G8, which they refused to take as they believed the model did not work for India. We are not into just thinking economic man who has no heart.

Our ideas are still based in conservation, vegetarianism, live and let live philosophy. India thinks with its head but still has a heart and listens to it.

The western powers did not like it and perhaps approached the Chinese. The Chinese leadership saw benefits for their sakes and went along. But TBH Chinese culture is just a shell now. Inside the western universalism is very dominant.

Lets not be too sad that the promises made were not kept. We should be thankful that our progress was and is not beholden to the destructive economic ideals of the west.

We are much better than that. My understanding is- we are at the edge of something remarkable in Indic Civilisational terms. Fortunately we have Modi leading us.
As a Keynesian I am glad to hear you reject the Austrian School which among its other tenets presupposes:

(1) Methodological Individualism: In the explanation of economic phenomena we have to go back to the actions (or inaction) of individuals; groups or "collectives" cannot act except through the actions of individual members.

How soon are you divesting your gold bullion in order to invest in India? Soonest I hope, especially with you being an adherent to India's unique economics.

TSJ, we should continue this in economics thread. But, for the sake of argument, I do not reject either the Austrian school nor Chicago school. I think there is a better school. It has its roots in Indian philosophy. I wish S Gurumurthy could come here and address this. Can't think of any other Indic who understands this better than him. Also he has stature that people will listen to him.

I tried a search and found this article not posted in the forum though similar articles have been posted.

The man who knew too much
He was the CIA's expert on Pakistan's nuclear secrets, but Rich Barlow was thrown out and disgraced when he blew the whistle on a US cover-up. Now he's to have his day in court. Adrian Levy and Cathy Scott-Clark report
Trawling through piles of cables, he found evidence that two high-ranking US officials extremely close to the White House had tipped off Islamabad about the CIA operation. Furious, Barlow called his superiors. "The CIA went mad. These were criminal offences," Barlow says. The State Department's lawyers considered their position. They argued that an inquiry would necessitate the spilling of state secrets. The investigation was abandoned just as Reagan made his annual statement to Congress, testifying that "Pakistan does not possess a nuclear explosive device."

But the Pervez case would not go away. Congressman Stephen Solarz, a Democrat from New Jersey, demanded a closed congressional hearing to vet the intelligence concerning Pakistan's bomb programme. Barlow was detailed to "backbench" at the meeting, if necessary offering advice to the White House representative, General David Einsel (who had been chosen by Reagan to head his Star Wars programme). An armed guard stood outside the room where the hearing was held.

Barlow recalls that Solarz got straight to the point: "Were Pervez and ul-Haq agents of the Pakistan government?" Without flinching, Einsel barked back: "It is not cut and dried." It was a criminal offence to lie to Congress, as other hearings happening on the same day down the corridor were spelling out to Colonel Oliver North, the alleged mastermind behind Iran-Contra. Barlow froze. "These congressmen had no idea what was really going on in Pakistan and what had been coming across my desk about its WMD programme," he says. "They did not know that Pakistan already had a bomb and was shopping for more with US help. All of it had been hushed up."

Then Solarz called on Barlow to speak. "I told the truth. I said it was clear Pervez was an agent for Pakistan's nuclear programme. Everyone started shouting. General Einsel screamed, 'Barlow doesn't know what he's talking about.' Solarz asked if there had been any other cases involving the Pakistan government and Einsel said, 'No'." Barlow recalls thinking, " 'Oh no, here we go again.' They asked me and I said, 'Yes, there have been scores of other cases.' "
Barlow's report was stark. He concluded that the US had sold 40 F-16 fighter jets to Pakistan in the mid-80s - it had been a precondition of the sale that none of the jets could be adapted to drop a nuclear bomb. He was convinced that all of them had been configured to do just that.
Officials at the OSD kept pressurising me to change my conclusions," Barlow says. He refused and soon after noticed files going missing. A secretary tipped him off that a senior official had been intercepting his papers. In July 1989, Barlow was hauled before one of the Pentagon's top military salesmen, who accused him of sabotaging the new F-16 deal. Eight days later, when Congress asked if the jet could be adapted by Pakistan to drop a nuclear bomb, the Defence Department said, "None of the F-16s Pakistan already owns or is about to purchase is configured for nuclear delivery." Barlow was horrified.

On August 4 1989, he was fired. "They told me they had received credible information that I was a security risk." Barlow demanded to know how and why. "They said they could not tell me as the information was classified." All they would say was that "senior Defence Department officials", whose identities were also classified, had supplied "plenty of evidence". The rumour going around the office was that Barlow was a Soviet spy. Barlow went home to Cindy. "We were in marriage counselling following my fall-out at the CIA. We were getting our relationship back on track. And now I had to explain that I was being fired from the Pentagon."

Barlow still would not give up. His almost pathological tenacity was one of the characteristics that made him a great analyst. With no salary and few savings, he found a lawyer who agreed to represent him pro-bono. At this point, more documents surfaced linking several familiar names to Barlow's sacking and its aftermath; these included Cheney's chief of staff, Libby, and two officials working for Wolfowitz. Through his lawyer, Barlow discovered that he was being described as a tax evader, an alcoholic and an adulterer, who had been fired from all previous government jobs. It was alleged that his marriage counselling was a cover for a course of psychiatric care, and he was put under pressure to permit investigators to interview his marriage guidance adviser. "I had to explain to Cindy that her private fears were to be trawled by the OSD. She moved out. My life, professionally and personally, was destroyed. Cindy filed for divorce."
It seemed Barlow had been vindicated. However, when the report was published it had been completely rewritten by someone at the Pentagon. Funk was appalled. When Barlow's lawyers called the Pentagon, they were told it was the department that had been exonerated. Now it was official: Pakistan was nuclear-free, and did not have the capability of dropping a bomb from an American-supplied F-16 jet and the reputation of the only man who claimed otherwise was destroyed. Later, Barlow's lawyers would find his brief to Cheney had been rewritten, too, clearing Pakistan and concluding that continued US aid would ensure that the country would desist from its WMD programme.

The Pentagon officials who were responsible for Barlow's downfall would all be out of government by 1993, when Bill Clinton came into the White House. In opposition they began pursuing an aggressive political agenda, canvassing for war in Iraq rather than restraining nuclear-armed Pakistan. Their number now included Congressman Donald Rumsfeld, a former Republican defence secretary, and several others who would go on to take key positions under George Bush, including Richard Armitage, Richard Perle and John Bolton.

Rumsfeld and Wolfowitz headed the Commission to Assess the Ballistic Missile Threat to the United States, which concluded in July 1998 that the chief threat - far greater than the CIA and other intelligence agencies had so far reported - was posed by Iran, Iraq and North Korea: the future Axis of Evil powers. Pakistan was not on the list, even though just two months earlier it had put an end to the dissembling by detonating five nuclear blasts in the deserts of Balochistan.

It was also difficult not to conclude that Islamist terrorism was escalating and that its epicentre was Pakistan. The camps that had once been used to train the US-backed mujahideen had, since the Soviet retreat from Afghanistan, morphed into training facilities for fighters pitted against the west. Many were filled by jihadis and were funded with cash from the Pakistan military.

It was made clear to the new president, Bill Clinton, that US policy on Pakistan had failed. The US had provided Islamabad with a nuclear bomb and had no leverage to stop the country's leaders from using it. When he was contacted by lawyers for Barlow, Clinton was shocked both by the treatment Barlow had received, and the implications for US policy on Pakistan. He signed off $1m in compensation. But Barlow never received it as the deal had to be ratified by Congress and, falling foul of procedural hurdles, it was kicked into the Court of Federal Claims to be reviewed as Clinton left office.

When the George Bush came to power, his administration quashed the case. CIA director George Tenet and Michael Hayden, director of the National Security Agency, asserted "state secrets privilege" over Barlow's entire legal claim. With no evidence to offer, the claim collapsed. Destroyed and penniless, the former CIA golden boy spent his last savings on a second-hand silver Avion trailer, packed up his life and drove off to Bear Canyon campground in Bozeman, Montana, where he still lives today.

Even with Barlow out of the picture, there were still analysts in Washington - and in the Bush administration - who were wary of Pakistan. They warned that al-Qaida had a natural affinity with Pakistan, geographically and religiously, and that its affiliates were seeking nuclear weapons. Some elements of the Pakistan military were sympathetic and in place to help. But those arguing that Pakistan posed the highest risk were isolated. Cheney, Rumsfeld and Wolfowitz were in the ascendant, and they returned to the old agenda, lobbying for a war in Iraq and, in a repeat of 1981 and the Reagan years, signed up Pakistan as the key ally in the war against terror.

Contrary advice was not welcome. And Bush's team set about dismantling the government agency that was giving the most trouble - the State Department's Nonproliferation Bureau. Norm Wulf, who recently retired as deputy assistant secretary of state for non-proliferation, told us: "They met in secret, deciding who to employ, displacing career civil servants with more than 30 years on the job in favour of young, like-thinking people, rightwingers who would toe the administration line." And the administration line was to do away with any evidence that pointed to Pakistan as a threat to global stability, refocusing all attention on Iraq.

The same tactics used to disgrace Barlow and discredit his evidence were used again in 2003, this time against Joseph Wilson, a former US ambassador whom the Bush administration had sent to Africa with a mission to substantiate the story that Saddam Hussein was seeking to buy material to manufacture WMD. When Wilson refused to comply, he found himself the subject of a smear campaign, while his wife, Valerie Plame, was outed as a CIA agent. Libby would subsequently be jailed for leaking Plame's identity (although released on a presidential pardon). Plame and Wilson's careers and marriage would survive. Barlow and his wife, Cindy's, would not - and no one would be held to account. Until now.

When the Republicans lost control of both houses of Congress in 2006, Barlow's indefatigable lawyers sensed an opportunity, lodging a compensation claim on Capitol Hill that is to be heard later this month. This time, with supporters of the Iraq war in retreat and with Pakistan, too, having lost many friends in Washington, Barlow hopes he will receive what he is due. "But this final hearing cannot indict any of those who hounded me, or misshaped the intelligence product," he says. "And it is too late to contain the flow of doomsday technology that Pakistan unleashed on the world."

To

TSP is US non-state terrorist.

pandyan wrote:

Aaron Schock is quite close to Modi. May be that is why he is getting some extra attention and scrutiny.
No "may be" about that.. according to a new complaint. he was
Taking too many staffers to a party with Indian prime minister Narendra Modi.
Some background, for US citizens who may be interested ..

Schock is one of the nation’s youngest congressmen, and seen as a rising star in the Republican party. He is from Illinois ( Home of Caterpillar.. Peoria Illinois -but it has manufacturing facilities in India) Schock has visited India (including one trip underwritten by Global Citizen, an anti-poverty nonprofit that is also funded by Caterpillar, as well other major US corporations.) Schock was part of a delegation that invited Modi to visit the US before he was elected prime minister.

I was impressed by his speech at Central park, introducing NaMo in glowing terms in front of 60K people and being a strong supporter to India. He was also present at Modi's MSG event.

So what is all this hulla-gulla? According to the Chicago Sun-Times, Schock spent $10,053 of his Congressional office budget to bring 10 staffers to the event. He was guilty of being a good boss to offset hotel bill/travel for those underpaid staff. (Nothing illegal or unethical - only problem as I see in the complaint is that the staffers - according to to accusers - did not do "any thing" :roll: )

And yes, he also supplied about 20 tickets/passes (?) for his staff and few guests to attend the Central Park event (which has 60K+ people).

And yes, one of the pictures, he put on his FB or website, was of him and Namo (see this picture) was taken by his staff.(Guilty of using his staff for unofficial duty ?? :eek: )
(If the staff member did take that picture, then he was NOT "doing nothing" ... If being a good host is not official business than what is official business ???)

Oh well - dirty politics is everywhere..

Aaron Schock is the one who introduces NaMo in Central Park, and is all the time behind him..
A speech in front of 60,000 crowd .. worth listening (Aaron's earlier intro about how a "chai Wala became a PM" was pretty good too)

Anyway if you have not seen it, it is worth watching.

Here is just one example of Schock's support for India...(video length < 2 minutes)

arshyam wrote:panduranghari-ji, nice post!
panduranghari ji: I concur with arshyam. Good one there.

The same thing happened to Steve Solarz whom I knew

Amber G. wrote:Aaron Schock is the one who introduces NaMo in Central Park, and is all the time behind him..
A speech in front of 60,000 crowd .. worth listening (Aaron's earlier intro about how a "chai Wala became a PM" was pretty good too)

Anyway if you have not seen it, it is worth watching.
(Youtube=Youtube link
Here is the Introduction which Aaron Schock gave --- this also gives some perspective that India/US relationship is not as negative as some posters here claim)
[youtube]NtX6IRkxqvM#[/youtube]

And now this:
Religious freedom slipped in India, US Senators told
zeenews.india.com | Mar 13th 2015

Washington: Religious freedom in India has slipped since last year's General Elections in the country, US senators were told even as the administration insisted the issue was an important agenda on its foreign policy as reflected in the blunt speech by US President Barack Obama during his visit to New Delhi in January.

"(In) mentioned India after their elections, religious freedom has slipped in that country."

"We need to be watching very closely what's happening not just with Christians but all religious minorities there in that country," Tony Perkins, president of the Washington-based Christian conservative group Family Research Council told a Senate sub-committee during a Congressional hearing on Wednesday.

"Under the International Religious Freedom Act, this has to be priority in our foreign policy."

"Our training for our Foreign Service officers is to be a priority," said Perkins.

Notably in 2010, the Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC) classified Family Research Council as an anti-gay hate group, a designation which generated controversy.

"In your view, has the current administration shown more clarity on issues of religious freedom?" Senator Steve Danes asked Senator Perkins.

"In my conversations (with diplomats), this (religious freedom) has never been a topic that is brought up to them as a priority in our foreign policy; in fact, it's been contrary."

"So to answer your question, Senator, I would say no, they have not spoken with clarity. It has been not a priority that has been put forth by this country, this administration," Perkins said in response.

"As a result, we see record levels of religious persecution."

"And according to the experts that track this, it's not about to crest, it's continuing to rise and the foreseeable future does not look good," he added.

Citing the speech by US President Barack Obama in Siri Fort in New Delhi this January, Rabbi David Nathan Saperstein, Ambassador at Large for International Religious Freedom at the Department of States, argued that religious freedom is a key part of the Administration's foreign policy.

"I think there is legitimacy to different narratives and another narrative would be this President in India dealing with religious freedom as bluntly as he's done, at the National Prayer Breakfast has being so forceful, in terms of the imprimatur that the administrations has given me to empower me and the work that I'm doing, the fact of how open the entire State Department has been to this religious freedom agenda, as a crucial agenda," he argued.

"Whether it is a change or just different things going on at the same time, I actually think that there is a legitimate narrative that says that this is an administration and a secretary of State and a president that cares deeply about this issue of religious freedom," Saperstein said.
PTI

^^Wow. Thanks. Wish BS like the above gets hajaar more publicity in India. Wonder why US SD's munna rNDTV doesn't carry fawning reports on amriki judgments of India. Will do more to expose the ecosystem of sepoys and victimhood that supports US efforts here.

Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1T66suSEd1o&t=93

Fast forward it to 1:34

[youtube]1T66suSEd1o&t=93[/youtube]

full video:

http://www.appropriations.senate.gov/we ... dom-abroad

http://projects.nytimes.com/clinton-donors/

On the list: pretty much ALL(really) countries, corporations, foundations, "charities", ministries, embassies, princes and sheikhs etc etc.

Not on the list: Government of India.

Some of the top Indian donors:

Mala Gaonkar Haarman
Vinod Gupta
Dave Katragadda
Lakshmi N. Mittal
Amar Singh (Yes that amar singh)
Tulsi Tanti (Suzlon)
(^top donors who have given more than Waltons & Rothschilds, many countries & corporations like google)
Malini Alles
Confederation of Indian Industry
Ashok Mahbubani (EKTA Foundation)
Raj Fernando
Ajit Gulabchand
Lalit Suri
Bal G. Das
Frank Islam
Lata Krishnan
Mike Patel
Malvinder Singh (Ranbaxy)
Mukesh Ambani (Reliance Europe Limited)
Suresh Khosla
Manish Mittal
Ajay B. Shah
Niranjan S. Shah
Lekha Singh
Sudhir S. Singh
Hindujas
Khorakiwalas(Wockhardt Limited)
Rana Kapoor(Yes Bank)

Quote from what was told to US senator by a Christian conservative group:
the fact of how open the entire State Department has been to this religious freedom agenda, as a crucial agenda
Regardless of shortcut to heaven and other assumptions by religious groups, this does show kind of asymmetrical agenda pushing by a department funded by US taxpayers - since there is supposed to be distinction between state and religion in the first place (wiki link).

Somewhere sometimes we have to be clear about this distinction, especially when the conservative group talks about minorities in India but not about minorities in USA - just like USCIRF, the chairman of which is member of Christian sect Letter Day Saints. It seems most of the freedom of religion orgs are run by Christian majority of USA, and not minorities in USA.

Wow! This is getting brazen.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/internatio ... 991274.ece
Allow us to visit India: U.S. panel on religious freedom
In an interview with The Hindu, Katrina Lantos-Swett, Chairperson of the U.S. Congress-established Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF), said, “I would also say that we would really welcome the opportunity to travel to India and we’ve been saddened that until now India has not been yet ready to welcome a USCIRF delegation to come for a visit.”
The Commissioner also underscored the U.S.’ concerns regarding continuing violations of religious freedom rights of minorities in India, including attacks on churches in New Delhi, reports that “Hindu nationalists forced some Christians and Muslims to convert,” and the police detention of activists, including John Dayal, who were protesting the church attacks.