Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Stan_Savljevic

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

BijuShet wrote: Stan, while we are all savouring this sweet moment in our sports history can you pass me some of the good stuff from your stash. Looks like yours was not a pipe dream after all.

Just follow the news/progress boss. Nothing better than that. If you keep track of where things stand today compared to where they were 10 yrs back, you will see the direction we are headed. I guess crikkit analogy is best: We recently crossed the threshold of having more ODI wins than losses, speaks volumes about how far we have come from the 83 days. Most folks know that we win more away than at home in tests these days. Long term average, boss. Nothing more.

That plus, just observe the oozing creativity that is flowing from India. I dont watch tv that often. But whenever I catch up with the local tam language shows, I see a sense of spark. When I was a kid, I never laughed so badly at any jokes. I am sure the same is true in other languages too. What we are witnessing is that India has silently crossed a threshold of multiplicative creativity. Thats why I am willing to bet my ass on some things. I dont know how else to put it.

I had a friend who covered a chess event in Madras, and boy, he saw 1500 kids jampacked in one hall that can stand no more than 300. They were patient to get their chance at fools-mating their opponent :rotfl:, and he seemed impressed that Anand could single-handedly inspire so many kids. Every small effort helps. GoI will never be able to channelize all the energy thats possible. The very same energy can be disastrous if left unutilized creatively. That also explains first order all kindsa stupidities in India.
sum wrote: Stan, In which other (remaining) disciplines do you see us doing well??

I am hoping Vijender will win at least a bronze. He is ranked 4 in the world {One Thai boxer was kicked out of the rankings for doping}, so that should be statistically normal, no puns intended. I just hope he does nt end up meeting some Russkie or Ukrainian or Turkmen with a desperate need to win before he gets to the semis. All others, Vijender can and does match. The other boxer, Jitender, is a super dark horse. The Cuban coach has been touting him even higher than Vijender, but he has nt had results that match this though. Again, if it is India's day, what the heck is kismat to stop our guys?

Bhupathi-Paes are spikes, one day they can win, the next they can turn up from sleep and lose to Chinese no-names. Remember they lost in peak form in 2004 in the semis. Sania-Paes is a winning bet unless they manage to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory. I guess Sania-Bhupathi would have been the perfect match, but the Bhupathi-Paes feud has spoiled so many medals for us, directly as well as indirectly.

Saina's case is one where if luck aligns with her, she will get a medal. Same for womens 4x400 relay team and Anju. I have read so many good things about Mandeep Kaur, but she has been recovering from some ligament tear. I just hope she is back in peak form by the time of the event. She still has a week to heel herself to peak fitness.

Anju's recent form has been terrible, but she has the capability of making giant leaps in big events. The world championship bronze came on the back of a disastrous season. Vikas Gowda in discus is another dark horse, more hope than real chances. We have always had someone or the other entering semis/finals at 400 ms women. There is another Manjit Kaur who is entering 400. I would like to see what she is capable of. Beenamol is like 36+, else I would have happily bet on a finals visit from her.

To be honest, I was hoping for a few more medals from shooting. Unfortunately, some of them were near-misses. Still it is better to be 1-0-0 than 0-0-1. I have nt seen Sanjeev Rajput in news. The shooting event has 15 golds, as far as I can tell, 6 or 7 have been decided. So there is one more round where a subset of the guys will have to take part. I may be wrong here. But I believed Manavjit Sandhu was a double specialist. Same for Gagan Narang.

Do you still stand by the 2-1-1 formula( after 3 days of the olympics and most of the shooting done with a medal to show)?

Its all hunch work boss, nothing scientific here. Heart says yes, and 1 more gold will kick some sense into the politicians who also double up as administrators for SAI, SFI, IWF etc. Head says, I will take a couple more medals of any color happily. Lets wait and see. I did nt lose hope with the crikkit team even after the victory target was 120 odd. I was hoping for a magick 81 all out or something :rotfl:. Given that with the crikkit team, I must be a doofus of sorts if I gave up on these guys so soon.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

What a difference Ronjan Sodhi's (the world record holder in Col. Rathore's pet event) presence could have been?! Quota system..

What's the story about Ronjon's exclusion from the Olympics ? He's the world record holder in the event and recent World Cup winner. Why was he excluded, exactly ?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Suraj, the IOA tried to make his case under the exceptional situations clause, given that he is the world champion at the recently concluded world cup and shot a WR etc. But the IOC, for all its inanities, chose to stick with its usual allotments of quotas for African/Latin Amrikan countries. There was a Maltese shooter who superseded Ronjan in the name of camaraderie, and as expected, he is down the bottom of the scales. {Oops, he just finished 7th in the quals. And most likely will make the finals. But it is true that he would nt have earned a spot in the first place unless for the quota.}

The quota system is weird in diff sports. In weightlifting, the team earns a fixed number of spots which Team India can allocate to anyone in that weight category. In shooting and athletics, there are A level marks and B level marks. "A" means automatic participation. "B" means some kind of an at-large dispersal of seats based on camaraderie {diversity} + quality. Some of our athletes could make it only by crossing the B level. Ronjan's case was a real weird one. He just shot into the record books a month too late for all the machinations of IOC to give way.

Btw, how many go to the final. Rathore stands at 12 now. Does the qual rounds count for the final medal standings? Or is it afresh tomorrow?

News elsewhere,
In chess, Dronavilli Harika leads the jr womens section with 4 rounds to spare. Parimarjan Negi has been doing ok, but he needs a cpl of victories to end in a respectable position. Winning the event from now on should be a real hard ask. The womens contingent has been faring a lot better than the guys'.

In hockey, a probing question on why the coaches are going to Beijing?

But dear friends, announcements are something, but what actually happens is something else. The truth is that these four coaches will go to Beijing on 16th, 8 days after the Olympic commenced!!!! Why all these coaches will go to Beijing 8 days after the Olympic started, and almost 50 percent of hockey matches will be over, is not known?

India's Somdev Devvarman qualified for the Legg Mason Tennis Classic in Washington DC with a straight sets victory over Japan's Go Soeda on Sunday.

That was a quick revenge. Gone are the days when revenge from Injuns meant waiting for years. Somdev got beaten by Go Soeda just two weeks back.

There is a lot of back-room diplomacy going on to include rapid chess, Twenty-20 and squash in the future OG. How I pity the Bakis, they dont have any medal contender in squash these days? :rotfl: At some point, the Injuns may even beat the Bakis out of the team championships, given the super enthu of the Indian contingent.

Stan, thanks.

Only top 6 went into the final in double trap last time. I don't know if that still applies; probably does. Col Rathore hasn't been in the best of form recently, and it's a pity Sodhi couldn't make it. Wasn't there any possibility of Sodhi superceding Rathore on the basis of form in the Indian contingent ? If we want to win, we want the best guy for the day, not someone based on emotions from the past.

http://www.freshnews.in/kerala-to-set-u ... ex-2-48685
Kerala to set up shooting complex
By Indo-Asian News Service on Monday, August 11, 2008
Filed Under: Latest India News

An hour after India won its first gold medal for shooting at the Beijing Olympics, state Sports Minister M. Vijayakumar announced Monday that a Rs.3 million shooting complex would be set up in Kerala.

The shooting complex will come up in Thodupuzha in Idukki district.

“Kerala has bright prospects in shooting and hence we decided to set up a shooting complex. We will soon be setting up more,” Vijayakumar told reporters.

A shooting complex has been on the cards for long as India’s national shooting coach since 1993, Sunny Thomas, who hails from Kerala, has been demanding one.

“One of the main reasons why India has not been able to do well in sports is the partisan attitude shown by the central government. Kerala has always done well in sports but the central government’s attitude is not conducive.” said the minister.
Bwahahaha, let me wipe the tears with my torn and tattered lungi. All they do is keep announcing plans. Who will take these idiots seriously !!

esp in shooting wherein a diff one of one shot seems to decide winners these
days...

for 30 lakh of coconuts he expects a intl std shooting range? a well equipped
shooters kit might come to 10L probably.
Last edited by Singha on 12 Aug 2008 10:05, edited 1 time in total.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Suraj wrote: Col Rathore hasn't been in the best of form recently, and it's a pity Sodhi couldn't make it. Wasn't there any possibility of Sodhi superceding Rathore on the basis of form in the Indian contingent ? If we want to win, we want the best guy for the day, not someone based on emotions from the past.
From what I read just now, shooting places are again earned for the team. Not for individuals. And apparently, RS Rathore had earned a spot a long time back in the double trap. And hardship spots are not assigned to teams that have already earned a spot before, so Ronjan's case was going nowhere right from the start. RS must have been delusional hoping that ISF folks could have fought his case successfully. I am tending to believe that he was just hoping against hope.

The question was: RSR vs RS? And RS was in top form in June when he won the event with a WR. RSR ended up 24th or something. But since RSR had won the spot himself, and he is also the silver medallist, everyone including RS believed RSR would get to top form when the time for Beijing came around. As they say, hindsight is 100% perfect. Its hard to say send RS unless we drop the human touch and become chinese overnight. Thats anathema to the Indic brain.

SpiceJet announces Flying for Life for Abhinav Bindra
Mumbai, Aug 11 SpiceJet Limited has announced Flying for Life recognition for Abhinav Bindra, for winning the first individual gold medal for India in the men's 10 m air rifle event at the Beijing Olympics today.

Bindra can now travel free on SpiceJet's domestic network all his life.

Announcing this, Samyukth Sridharan, Chief Commercial Officer, SpiceJet Limited said ''Mr Bindra has brought great pride and joy to Indians all over the world. We at SpiceJet are happy to recognize his feat by including him in our family of SpiceJetters by offering him unlimited free personal travel for life. This is our special thank you for a remarkable Indian on the eve of our 61st Independence Day.''
Dang, I would have been happier if Mallya had announced the same. He would have thrown in a couple of lapdances by the pyts to keep his trigger-finger happy. Nice of spice jet though.

Stan_Savljevic wrote:The question was: RSR vs RS? And RS was in top form in June when he won the event with a WR. RSR ended up 24th or something. But since RSR had won the spot himself, and he is also the silver medallist, everyone including RS believed RSR would get to top form when the time for Beijing came around. As they say, hindsight is 100% perfect. Its hard to say send RS unless we drop the human touch and become chinese overnight. Thats anathema to the Indic brain.
If it was really a case of thinking RSR's form would improve by Beijing, then ok, I cannot argue against that since I am no expert on the intricacies of shooting form. But if it was really a case of RS being in better form but RSRs selection standing on the basis of his Athens achievement, then I have to say that is terrible decisionmaking.

Bindra's and Zhu's stories show there's no 'human touch' when it comes to the Olympics. Bindra did what he did after going through months of self-introspection in the aftermath of Athens, when faulty equipment left him gutted. There's an excellent article in Indian Express today by Suma Shirur, who was also an Athens finalist, and she talks about the angst and emotions Bindra went through after 2004. The only difference now is that Bindra largely pushed himself to the top, while Zhu had the might of the Chinese sporting establishment pushing him too, but he faltered.

I hope the private initiative in Olympic sport training also rids selection of choices based on emotions. With due respect to Col Rathore, if he really did know his form was weaker than Sodhi's going into the event, he owed it to the country to step aside for the latter. He's already done his part for India, and continues to have plenty of chances in future, since shooters remain prolific at the top level well into their 40s.

Raja Bose: any updates on OGQ ?

well...well...well....nothing has changed in dear motherland. The usual rush to announce plans to setup 'state-of-the-art' facilities after the competition is over, and the usual political finger-pointing where state blames center, center blames state. Where were these great politicians when Bindra was going around looking for sponsorship and our boxers were getting feet warped by chinese-sized shoes? Almost guaranteed that in another 2 years from now even if the complex is built, it will be in total shambles with most of the money pocketed by ministers, chamchas and contractors and the cycle will continue in 2012 once more. And why dont our ministers who are jumping over each other 'awarding' Bindra lakhs and crores of rupees invest the same amount in other athletes who are not doing that well. Bindra by God's grace is a wealthy individual (which obviously played a major major role in his success) and does not need their filthy cash. Where was all this 'prize' money when it was needed the most for equipment, boots, ammunition and gloves before the olympics? Nothing is going to change if one depends on GoI, our illiterate ministers and their corrupt chamchas. Only private ventures like Padukone's and Mittal's is our only hope.
Nayak wrote:http://www.freshnews.in/kerala-to-set-u ... ex-2-48685

An hour after India won its first gold medal for shooting at the Beijing Olympics, state Sports Minister M. Vijayakumar announced Monday that a Rs.3 million shooting complex would be set up in Kerala.

No reply yet from them (its already 2 days). I hope they regularly check their email and hopefully are not doing the usual chalta-hai-hope-for-best type of organization.

Is anybody based near Ahmedabad?...might help to call them. This is the contact info as given on their website (on the contributions page):

Foundation for Promotion of Sports & Games
3 Neel Kamal, Gandhibagh Society
Law Garden, Ahmedabad - 380006 - India

E-Mail: [email protected].
Suraj wrote: Raja Bose: any updates on OGQ ?

looks like even al maktoum ahmed of UAE the athens gold medalist at #7 would
fail to enter the shoot off (if its 6 only) and also mark russel who I think was gold medalist in sydney.

Does anyone know the contact for Sharda Ugra ? She wrote a pair of excellent articles about Mittal Champoins Trust and Olympic Gold Quest just two weeks back in India Today. Obviously she'll have access, and would be a good way to get these entities aware of the interest in supporting their efforts.

Even col.Rathore and Archery(women) bite the dust!!!! :((

Who do we have remaining? IIRC, paes-bhupati, saina , one boxer standing(Vijender??)....Thats it? Did i miss anyone?
wrdos

Post by wrdos »

Stan_Savljevic wrote:The question was: RSR vs RS? And RS was in top form in June when he won the event with a WR. RSR ended up 24th or something. But since RSR had won the spot himself, and he is also the silver medallist, everyone including RS believed RSR would get to top form when the time for Beijing came around. As they say, hindsight is 100% perfect. Its hard to say send RS unless we drop the human touch and become chinese overnight. Thats anathema to the Indic brain.
If it was really a case of thinking RSR's form would improve by Beijing, then ok, I cannot argue against that since I am no expert on the intricacies of shooting form. But if it was really a case of RS being in better form but RSRs selection standing on the basis of his Athens achievement, then I have to say that is terrible decisionmaking.

Bindra's and Zhu's stories show there's no 'human touch' when it comes to the Olympics. Bindra did what he did after going through months of self-introspection in the aftermath of Athens, when faulty equipment left him gutted. There's an excellent article in Indian Express today by Suma Shirur, who was also an Athens finalist, and she talks about the angst and emotions Bindra went through after 2004. The only difference now is that Bindra largely pushed himself to the top, while Zhu had the might of the Chinese sporting establishment pushing him too, but he faltered.

I hope the private initiative in Olympic sport training also rids selection of choices based on emotions. With due respect to Col Rathore, if he really did know his form was weaker than Sodhi's going into the event, he owed it to the country to step aside for the latter. He's already done his part for India, and continues to have plenty of chances in future, since shooters remain prolific at the top level well into their 40s.

Raja Bose: any updates on OGQ ?
Zhu is the only son of a poor mountain villager family. His life changed when a shooting coach noticed his talent in 2001 at a small town of Zhejiang province. He lived there with his grandparents by then because his parents had to work as immigrant workers in Guangzhou to surpport the family. 3 years later, he won a gold in Athen.

He's unlucky to lose his chance of winning a second olymipic gold, but he is also lucky to lose it to an Indian. The breaking news of India's first golden medal are broadcast around the world, with Zhu's name also mentioned. He is famous now.

Before yesterday, few people knew his name even in china.
Last edited by wrdos on 12 Aug 2008 11:31, edited 1 time in total.

He's unlucky to lose his chance of winning a second olymipic gold, but he is also lucky to lose it to an Indian. The breaking news of India's first golden medal are broadcast around the world, with Zhu's name also mentioned. He is famous now.

Before yesterday, few people know his name even in china.
Do people in China remember any gold medallist's name given that China keeps scooping golds by the bucketful?? :mrgreen:
Olympain gold medallists must be dime a dozen by now in Han land.... :oops:
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Suraj wrote:Does anyone know the contact for Sharda Ugra ?
The power of giggle. sharda AT intoday DAWT com

Suraj sir, please edit it once you have the info. The addr is circa 2002, so it maybe stale.
Last edited by Suraj on 12 Aug 2008 11:43, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Edited to prevent bots grabbing the email address.

sum wrote:Who do we have remaining? IIRC, paes-bhupati, saina , one boxer standing(Vijender??)....Thats it? Did i miss anyone?
Gagan Narang has 50m Rifle 3 positions, and Prone position events. But 10m Air Rifle (which Bindra won) was his best event. To medal, he'll have to score his best ever score, just as Bindra did.

wrdos: Thanks for the information on Zhu. Quite a young achiever.
durvasa

Post by durvasa »

Vijender Singh seems to be winning his first round 51kg bout against a turk; Current score 12:3

Live update at http://www.nbcolympics.com/boxing/resul ... index.html

Update: Won!!
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

US Mens gymnastics team has a person of Indian origin - Raj Bhavsar. Came on as an alternate after failing to make the team the last two times. He is 27 and participating in still rings, vault, parallel bars, pommel horse

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/olympics ... vsar_N.htm

American's win the bronze. Congrats Raj - staying with your dreams.

I noticed another guy of Indian origin in one of the other US teams participating in this years Olympics....didn't get his name (and now have forgotten his sport).
Ameet wrote:US Mens gymnastics team has a person of Indian origin - Raj Bhavsar. Came on as an alternate after failing to make the team the last two times. He is 27 and participating in still rings, vault, parallel bars, pommel horse

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/olympics ... vsar_N.htm

American's win the bronze. Congrats Raj - staying with your dreams.
wrdos

Post by wrdos »

sum wrote:Who do we have remaining? IIRC, paes-bhupati, saina , one boxer standing(Vijender??)....Thats it? Did i miss anyone?
Gagan Narang has 50m Rifle 3 positions, and Prone position events. But 10m Air Rifle (which Bindra won) was his best event. To medal, he'll have to score his best ever score, just as Bindra did.

wrdos: Thanks for the information on Zhu. Quite a young achiever.
Sure. He won an olympic gold by a new world record when he was under 20. Not old enough to drink a beer in many countries.
He has 2 younger sisters also. You know, those countriside people don't respect the 1 child policy very much. :D
durvasa

Post by durvasa »

Apologies for spoiling the thread but 10m air rifle had a paki too
Pakistan’s lone marksman Siddique Umer finished 48th in the 10-metre Air Rifle Shooting event of Olympics at the Beijing Shooting Range on Monday.

Siddique collected 578 points following rounds of 97, 94, 98, 96, 98 and 96 in the field of 51 shooters who featured in the qualification round.

Source not important

Why India does not produce more Abhinav Bindras
Pupul Dutta
8/12/2008 11:36:00 AM

Email

Print

Rate the story

Close
Your Name *
Your Email *
Recipient's Name *
Recipient's Email *
Your Message*
Enter the code :

India may rejoice over Abhinav Bindra's golden feat at the Beijing Olympics but shooters - and ex-shooters like me - know it is not easy to achieve wonders in an expensive sport where individuals are mostly left to fend for themselves.

Though the Sports Authority of India (SAI) recruits foreign coaches and conducts national camps for those with talent, only a handful survive to make it big in the country - let alone represent the nation at the international level.

In my own case, a possible career in shooting - where I have won the silver medal at the national championships - was cut short the day my pistol was stolen from the New Delhi railway station.

I was 15 years old then, a student of the Sophia Girls School at Meerut, and a member of the Uttar Pradesh shooting team. My desire was to make it big nationally. The pistol I lost had cost my father Rs.65,000 - a huge sum for a middle class family.

With no one to buy me another pistol, the theft effectively ended my shooting dream.

Of course, the sports ministry gives out grants but much of this is spent on paying the foreign coaches. Shooters - like their poor hockey cousins - get only ammunition and free boarding and lodging besides consultancy from coaches.

If a shooter does not have a weapon or loses one, there is no one to bail her out. The Karni Singh shooting range in Delhi does rent out a few weapons but these are archaic compared to what is used in the Olympics.

For someone who aspires to emerge on the top but with limited financial means, it can be a bumpy road. A box of pellets, or ammunition used in air rifles and pistols, cost Rs.500 some four years ago - when I finally gave up shooting.

I was in many ways lucky. Before I got to represent Uttar Pradesh, I was part of what was known as Infantry Kids - made up of children of military personnel who were into shooting. When my father was attached to the army, I could practice and fire as many shots as I wanted before state or national championships.

Innumerable Indians are not that fortunate.

For many sportspersons who come into shooting from small towns or villages, firing even 20 rounds a day is a luxury. And that cannot help you get into the global league.

Although Abhinav Bindra comes from an affluent Chandigarh family and had a shooting range right in his backyard, one cannot in any way take away the credit from him for winning the gold for India. He had grit, determination and the will to win.

Predictably, money has already started pouring in for Bindra. As the country celebrates the momentous event and governments and others announce huge cash awards, some pressing questions need to be asked - and answered.

Such rewards are certainly encouraging. But why does the government shy away from investing in more such shooters who have immense potential but fail to forge ahead due to lack of amenities and funds?

(Pupul Dutta, a journalist with IANS, was a silver medallist at the National Pistol Championships at Ahmedabad in 2000. She can be reached at [email protected])

Abhinav's father wants him to dedicate gold medal to soldiers
New Delhi/Chandigarh, Tue, 12 Aug 2008 ANI

New Delhi/Chandigarh, Aug 12 (ANI): Abhinav Bindra's father, A.S. Bindra, wants his son to dedicate his prestigious gold medal to the country's soldiers.

"Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh has invited Abhinav. I would suggest him to dedicate this medal to the soldiers of the country," said A.S. Bindra, Abhinav's father.

* E-mail Article
* Printer Friendly
* Text-Size

A successful businessman who has provided his son with an air-conditioned shooting range where he can train, A.S. Bindra welcomed all to his home in Chandigarh on Monday and offered sweets to well wishers. :shock: :shock: :shock:

The family had held a special prayer on Sunday and brought out a newspaper advertisement urging people to pray for their son.

Bindra's victory eclipsed everything else on TV channels, which hailed the achievement as a morale booster for a country with few global sporting stars.

People poured onto the streets in several cities, strangers hugged each other and exchanged sweets and congratulatory messages after the victory.

As the shooter fixed his gaze on the final target, the moment condensed the hopes of an entire nation starved of a solo Olympics gold.

He hit a near perfect 10.8 in a brilliant final shot to pull ahead of Henri Hakkinen of Finland, who stumbled in his last shot allowing China's Zhu Qinan, the favourite, to take the silver.

India had only won four individual medals, none of them gold, since sending their first team to the Summer Games in 1928.

The men's hockey team has won the Olympic tournament eight times, but the last time was in 1980. (ANI)

Rediff

Los Angeles, Aug 12: The first-time pairing of Rohan Bopanna and Eric Butorac capped a successful week by capturing their first ATP title together with a 7-6(5), 7-6(5) victory over Travis Parrott and Dusan Vemic at the Countrywide Classic in Los Angeles on Sunday.

Bopanna collected his first career ATP title in his fifth finals appearance.

The 27-year-old Butorac, who was appearing in his first ATP final of the year, earned his fourth career ATP title in fifth final.

"It was great," said Butorac. "We've never played together before. We started out a little slow and kind of got better with each match. I think we're a pretty good team. We both serve pretty good. I'm left-handed, he's right-handed so there's different looks on the serve. It's a good situation to be in."
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

I hope Rohan has put an end to the Indi-Baki equal equal baichara with this. I dont know, time will tell. Given that doubles campaigns are roddax affairs on the atp charts, Aisam and he may be sticking together soon. As much as I would like to be unbiased about Aisam and his anti-Injun credentials {imagined or otherwise}, I hate to see the ndtv/wkk psy-ops whenever they win something or the other.

We need to de-hyphenate our sporting relationship with Bakis with this OG. Done. But with crikkit still around, it will take a while to de-hyphenate. At least the other games can begin their long overdue processes. In a single stroke, AB has put aside all the prafool-fest and KN-wagah kissing. And it is fitting that the chance missed 40 yrs back by one Flying Sikh has come full circle. Destiny... I am waiting to see op-eds in baki rags about how a Punjaban has made Bakis proud.. Very soon. :rotfl:

Vijender,Jitender both in pre-quarters....
Two more wins and bronzes(atleast) for both!!! Hoping for the best....
But, Vijender has a Uzbek oponent next!!! :(

events left :

Archery :
12th aug
Women's Individual 1/32 Eliminations
India VARDHINENI Pranitha
vs
Australia WALLER Jane

13th aug
Men's Individual 1/32 Eliminations
Iran HOJJATOLAH Vaezi
vs
India CHAMPIA Mangal Singh

Boxing :
12th aug
Men's Bantam (54kg) Round of 32
France HALLAB Ali
vs
India KUMAR Akhil

16th aug
Men's Middle (75kg) Round of 16
Thailand CHOMPHUPHUANG Angkhan
vs
India KUMAR Vijender

Jitender Kumar has won his 1st round bout in the 51 kg category, that should get him a second round bout, dunno when. site not updated.

Badminton

13th aug
Women's Singles Quarterfinal 3
Indonesia YULIANTI Maria Kristin
vs
India NEHWAL Saina

TT
18th aug
Women's Singles Preliminary Round
Australia LAY Jian Fang
vs
India AGGARWAL Neha

I would be happy with just another medal, any type ! but next time, we should aim for five at least, it is doable.

Added later: I find it incredible that both baseball and softball find a place in the olympics while cricket doesn't. T-20 should be there next time round, well not in 2012, that's already decided but in 2016. a sure medal hope for us !! downside, may give the pakis their first olympic medal !
btw, both baseball and softball have been voted out of 2012.

ugly CQB

BEIJING, August 12) -- US shooter Walton Eller's first Olympic medal is golden.

"It felt awesome. I've been working at this for God knows how long now. The last two times I finished 17th and 12th, so I'm glad I finally made a final," said the 26-year-old Texan.

All his hard work could be witnessed in the qualification rounds, when he hit 145 targets out of a maximum 150, a new Olympic qualification record. Italian Francesco D Aniello finished the qualification rounds in second place, four points less than Eller. The other four shooters who qualified for the final were US shooter Jeffrey Holguin (140), China's Hu Binyuan (138), Sydney 2000 gold medal winner Richard Faulds of Great Britain (137) and Atlanta 1996 gold medal winner Russell Mark of Australia (136).

The final round saw Eller miss five targets, equal to the amount of targets he missed in the three qualification rounds. After Eller missed the first two targets, his opponents had some hope of victory, but the lanky American recovered and hit a total of 45 targets in the final, a good enough score to set a new Olympic record for the final score. Eller's 190 overtook the 189 targets hit by Ahmed Almaktoum of the United Arab Emirates at Athens 2004.

D Aniello and Hu both hit 46 targets in the final, earning the silver and bronze medals respectively with finals scores of 187 and 184.

Holguin (182), Mark (181) and Faulds (180) finished in the last three places. Mark's path to the final was tumultuous as he needed to win a shoot-off against three other shooters. All four shooters had hit 136 targets in the qualification rounds.

Mark needed to hit six targets in the shoot-off, eventually besting Athens 2004 gold medalist Almaktoum.

italy too silver, china the bronze

“Kerala has bright prospects in shooting and hence we decided to set up a shooting complex. We will soon be setting up more,” Vijayakumar told reporters.

A shooting complex has been on the cards for long as India’s national shooting coach since 1993, Sunny Thomas, who hails from Kerala, has been demanding one.

“One of the main reasons why India has not been able to do well in sports is the partisan attitude shown by the central government. Kerala has always done well in sports but the central government’s attitude is not conducive.” said the minister.
Bwahahaha, let me wipe the tears with my torn and tattered lungi. All they do is keep announcing plans. Who will take these idiots seriously !!
I promise to take a printout of this page and EAT IT if ONE RUPEE gets spent on this project.

The minister is right in one thing. Some of his colleagues are good at shooting (their mouth/foot off), taking potshots, shooting from the hips etc.

Let us see if there is ONE politician or business house does the right thing, ie build a good facility in honour of the fantastic achievement of Mr. Bindra. He doesn't need the money. The aspiring sportsmen do. What we owe Bindra is the honour.

our 16 yr old kid swimmer actually won his heat in 100m freestyle.

quite some progress in a tfta event where goras rule the roost-
check amanda beard pix after athens for ref.

with the # of close misses in this olympic, a couple of medals each in archery,shooting and boxing is highly possible if we get our act together.
also, women's weightlifting, badminton, tennis can add one each to the tally.
btw, wrestling is still popular in rural India, why don't we get more from this field ? is it because of the difference in rules ?

all in all, if we ensure at least 15-16 genuine medal contenders for 2012, we can be assured of at least 5-6.
Baljeet

Post by Baljeet »

Mullah Nayak
You are right spot on. The stupidity of "Bharat Ke Neta" has no parallel in history. Just because we won One gold medal every state is running to build a shooting complex. WTF?? Typical of Indian System instead of developing something from this success there are alot of Knee Jerk Reactions, Tall Promises made just to fleece tax payers in the name of sports. Whoever builds this shooting complex will have to pay bribe to babus for permits, give some kind of partnership to Mantriji's relative, in few years it will be another dilapidated complex that was opened with much fan fare and left to rot just like everything else in Bharat. :rotfl:

the next major international games are (not counting the WC events) CW at Delhi, oct 3-14,2010 followed by asiad at guangzhou, china nov 12-27,2010.
these are last times performances :

ASIAD 2006, Doha.
Rank  Country       GOLD  SLVR   BRNZ   TOTAL
1 	China 	         166 	87 	63    316
2 	Korea 	         58 	53 	82 	193
3 	Japan 	         50 	71 	77 	198
4 	Kazakhstan        23    20    42     85
5 	Thailand 	      13    15 	26 	 54
6 	Iran 	          11 	15    22     48
7 	Uzbekistan 	    11    14    15     40
8 	India 	         10    17    26     53
9 	Qatar (host) 	  9     12    11     32
10   Chinese Taipei 	9     10    27     46

Commonwealth Games,2006.
Rank  	Nation 	Gold 	Silver 	Bronze 	Total
1 	Australia 	 84 	    69 	   68 	     221
2 	England 	   36 	    40 	   34 	     110
3 	Canada 	    26 	    29 	   31 	      86
4 	India 	     22 	    17 	   11 	      50
5 	South Africa  12 	    13       13 	      38
Two points to be noted :
a)in doha, India had one less medal than thailand, placed at 5 and quite a few more than either the uzbeks or the iranians, both placed ahead of us by virtue of their one extra gold.
b)in the CW, SA is placed under us with much lesser # of medals, both in terms of total and gold wise.
However, in 2004 Athens, their tally was :

South Africa (RSA) 	1 	3 	2 	6
while ours was the lone silver.
Now is that because of poor performance by them(and improvement by us in 2006) or that they sent a weaker team to CWG ??

Update: I emailed Sharda Ugra and got a response with contacts at both MCT and OGQ . I've emailed both, requesting secure online portals to contribute at. Let's see what they have to say.

RahulM: South Africa don't have a lot of breadth, but they have depth, especially in swimming and distance running. They won the marquee 4x100 freestyle relay men's swim that the US just won, in the last edition. They've multiple world champs in the pool, e.g. Roland Schoeman and Ryk Neethling.

Our performance just shows that we have a strong C'wealth Games performance level, and are also inching up the Asiad list. Ideally we should start by being strongly 4th in Asian level, behind only Chn and Kor/Jpn for a start.

Singha: The double trap is very much a 'manly' event - I saw some of the final live on NBColympics yesterday. No SDRE air guns and paper targets here. One big double barreled shotgun and fast clay pigeons shot in pairs - you have to shoot both with separate firings. It goes on and on for 40 shots in the final, where even the likes of Russell Mark cracked. The Chinese guy was in 2nd midway, but missed a few towards the end. The American who won was just robotic, knocking off pair after pair.

ASIAD 2006, Doha.
Rank Country GOLD SLVR BRNZ TOTAL
1 China 166 87 63 316
:eek: :eek:

Regd the CWG, maybe it was clashing with some major tournaments or maybe the SpringBoks do not consider CWG worthy competition and send their B team!!!

Suraj, if possible please forward me those contacts at naashak at gmail dat kawm. I will mail them also...more demand is always better. Havent received any reply from OGQ yet...but one would expect that they will atleast check the email listed on their contributions page, regularly. :roll: despite all the strides India is making we desis still need to polish up our act a bit.
Suraj wrote:Update: I emailed Sharda Ugra and got a response with contacts at both MCT and OGQ . I've emailed both, requesting secure online portals to contribute at. Let's see what they have to say.

Well if more is better, I might as well post information here. Please write nicely and let them know you got their information via Ms.Ugra :)

MCT:
Manisha Malhotra: manisha (AT) mittalchampionstrust (DAWT) com

OGQ:
Rakesh Khanna: rakeshkhanna14 (AT) gmail (DAWT) com