It's almost completely noiseless. Even regular electric bikes make a high-pitched whine that's fairly noisy, although obviously not as bad as gas-powered motorbikes.
Wouldn't this type of motorbike be excellent for special forces, etc? You could travel quite rapidly on this, covering much distance in silent stealth, without producing any noise to give you away.
In the civilian context, it would reduce noise pollution, as 2-wheelers do make a lot of noise.
Re: Technolgies useful for Indian problems
Posted: 10 Mar 2009 16:45
by Sanjay M
This bicycle achieves strength as a tensegrity structure, using cables:
I don't think this bike is designed to be collapsible, but I'd wonder if a tensegrity structure could be used to create a uniquely collapsible form, for portability purposes?
Imagine what could be done for personal mobility, if tensegrity structures could be used to make portable collapsible vehicles, for example.
Human hair can be used for making lot of important chemicals which are expensive instead of fertilizers.
Unfortunately, only Japs have the technology and we are exporting almost all the hair from Thirupathi to Japan. They sell it back as an expensive chemical.
Posted: 08 May 2009 02:39
by Sanjay M
The Sustain Mini-Home
Note that it's designed to be an off-grid dwelling, generating its own electricity, economizing on water, etc.
I am grateful this thread has started. Perhaps it can also be used to highlight what is actually being done and not just new technologies that might be useful ?
That being said and without meaning in any way to detract from the undoubted value of this thread sometimes I think the most useful technologies for India are as follows:
1) The broom
2) The shovel
3) The scrubbing brush
4) The bucket of water
5) The paint brush
6) The gallon can of paint.
Shovel, sweep, scrub and paint India and with little effort a new country will emerge. India looks poorer than it is and is really unnecessarily dirty and shabby.
Posted: 06 Jun 2009 14:36
by Sanjay M
That's mainly because India doesn't have Singapore-style laws to keep everything squeaky clean.
Posted: 06 Jun 2009 16:48
by Sanjay
True - but still a good scrub and a new India would emerge.
Posted: 07 Jun 2009 02:26
by vera_k
All the cleaning and upkeep like painting every 5-10 years takes money. People are choosing to spend that money on other things.
Posted: 07 Jun 2009 06:31
by Sanjay M
Yes, spending it on paan to spit onto the pavement
We Indians are notorious for our hygiene, such as it is
Posted: 07 Jun 2009 10:56
by John Snow
Sanjay M wrote:Yes, spending it on paan to spit onto the pavement
We Indians are notorious for our hygiene, such as it is
"hindu-yon ka Galli main , Musalmano ka ghar me nahi jana"
Old Hyderabadi saying
( One should aviod streets where Hindus live or enter Muslims Homes, implied meaning is Hindus dump the trash in the streets and Muslims don tkeep their homes clean)
No wonder Ganhiji started with the Broom, if you want proof visit Jersey City or Jackson heights or go to Devon street Jinnah-Gandhi Marg in Chicago)
Structures built from this concrete would require far less material, and would last hundreds of times longer. New structural applications would be made possible, that could not be achieved before.
Posted: 18 Jun 2009 16:51
by Abhijeet
I think the lack of cleanliness in India is because most cleaning is still done in the most antiquated, un-mechanized ways imaginable (using a broom to move dust around from one place to another); and because of people's disconnection with their environment that causes them to despoil even their immediate surroundings. Even in rural areas, where you would expect more of a "connection" between people and nature, I see garbage dumped everywhere, even right in the middle of dense living spaces.
Posted: 25 Jun 2009 15:09
by vipins
Gurus,
Is there any government project for large scale economical desaliantion of sea water to make it fit for drinking puposes?? Kalpakkam nuclear station has such facility but whats its scale and can it be upscaled??
Also Ratan Tata declared that after nano ,his next project will be to provide such a facility.
If he does a 'nano' on desalination facility,it would be one of the biggest innovations affecting directly
crores of people all over India.
Posted: 25 Jun 2009 20:05
by SwamyG
Like Obama's 'green job' push and allocation of billions of dollars for 'smart grids'; we might need some kind of push for "clean India" where it could create jobs and make a positive impact on the country.
Posted: 25 Jun 2009 21:51
by mmasand
Anyone got any idea as to what the new MNIC prototype looks like??? It almost seems that we have had 3 so far.Which one will Nilekani settle for?