Page 10 of 13
Re: Hyderabad Bomb Blast 2/21/13
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 19:20
by vasu raya
Nitesh wrote:vasu raya wrote:The cost of a CCTV from the recent measures taken was put at 3500 cameras for 450 crores, thats about Rs. 12lacs/unit
Saar, wrong analogy, the CCTV installation is quite complex, it depends on lot of factors like type of cameras, resolution needed, civil work needed for particular camera, the associate network to stream the data, different nodes to monitor the data, associated analytic software, storage, back up, running the data center. And this is just tip of the ice berg. This figure also does not clarify how many years this network will be managed by the winner.
Humble request, this bashing was not needed

Guess the problem is getting into to 'detailed indenting mode' too quickly, the
average cost of CCTV system comes to Rs. 12lacs/unit,
such estimate includes all the infra needed to support it. when the discussion is about a system and its effectiveness and the investment needed, whats the point of componentizing the cost of the system except as a argumentative Indian?, an average estimate is good enough for viability check. if we take the average cost of a cell phone based system (Pandu-INSAS program), it could be at Rs. 10,000/unit making the ratio of CCTV vs. personal cell phone at 1:120, the latter is the typical size of a police battalion, now gauge its effectiveness. If govt could afford, they could be complementary systems.
Shiv was highlighting the corruption issue in his typical way, and I guess, its usually at 10-20% of the cost of the system/project
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 19:48
by RamaY
కాగా, పేలుళ్లకు పాల్పడిన ఇండియన్ ముజాహిదీన్(ఐఎం) ఆర్థిక కేంద్రం దుబాయ్గా అనుమానిస్తున్నారు. భారత గడ్డపై ఉగ్రవాద దాడులు జరిపేందుకు అక్కడి నుండే నిధులు వస్తున్నాయనే అనుమానాలు వ్యక్తమవుతున్నాయి. యాసిన్ భత్కల్ వంటి ఉగ్రవాదుల ఫోన్ కాల్స్ను పరిశీలిస్తే ఇండియన్ ముజాహిద్దీన్ ఆర్థిక కేంద్రం దుబాయ్ కావొచ్చుననే అనుమానాలు వ్యక్తమవుతున్నాయి.
Read more at:
http://telugu.oneindia.in/news/2013/02/ ... 12889.html
The bicycles used in the blasts are made by putting together junked bicycle parts, the police said.
But
Police suspect that the financial headquarters of Indian Mujahideen could be Dubai. Police are arriving with this suspicion based on the phone calls made/received by Yasin Bhatkal type terrorists.
The gift of GCC sources to Bharat, their strategic partners.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 19:52
by SwamyG
Cosmo_R wrote:^^^ Simple question: WTH is a Somali doing in Hyderabad India and how did he get there?
I mean they usually go to Minneapolis. Portland ME and Londonistan.
Who gave them visas or did they not need one?
Somalis used to go to Delhi and Bombay for education too, before Boston became a destination and Boston turned unfavorable.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 19:55
by IndraD
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city ... 676054.cms
Suspicious bags found at several places in Delhi, high alert sounded
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 20:04
by Nitesh
I would like to believe you, but at least in Bangalore it is obvious that money is made by government and corporation officials in every deal - be it road repair or garbage clearance. What is worrisome to me is that honest taxpayers like you and me who are also educated do not ask for accounts, but simply pay road tax, professional tax, property tax, cess for this, cess for that etc.
And while I do not want to enter into an argument with you - the absence of any accounts should be a pointer. After all you, as taxpayer are asked to keep accounts and your income and expenses are available online under your PAN number. Multiply that by several million for corporation accounts and you never find any details. Ever. And we accept the situation stoically.
Shiv sir, point taken, guess we need to use RTI for such things, but what is needed is through out reforms in the governance to set the things right, from top to bottom.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 20:07
by Nitesh
vasu raya wrote:
Guess the problem is getting into to 'detailed indenting mode' too quickly, the average cost of CCTV system comes to Rs. 12lacs/unit, such estimate includes all the infra needed to support it. when the discussion is about a system and its effectiveness and the investment needed, whats the point of componentizing the cost of the system except as a argumentative Indian?, an average estimate is good enough for viability check. if we take the average cost of a cell phone based system (Pandu-INSAS program), it could be at Rs. 10,000/unit making the ratio of CCTV vs. personal cell phone at 1:120, the latter is the typical size of a police battalion, now gauge its effectiveness. If govt could afford, they could be complementary systems.
Shiv was highlighting the corruption issue in his typical way, and I guess, its usually at 10-20% of the cost of the system/project
Vasu saar, I was just trying to convey that you are comparing two totally different things, sorry if I didn't came across clear enough.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 21:06
by vasu raya
^^^ agreed, we need all we can afford, meanwhile
AP cops may seek FBI help to analyse twin blasts CCTV footage
The Andhra Pradesh police may consider seeking the United States' Federal Bureau of Investigation's help to analyse and harvest images of suspected bombers from a closed circuit television (CCTV) camera near the twin blast site here, sources said here on Monday.
The footage obtained from the camera near the twin bomb blast site have not yielded any credible clues so far, as images of three persons lurking near a bicycle, believed to be strapped with explosives, is not clear enough, sources said.
16 people were killed and 117 injured in the twin bomb blast at Dilshuknagar here on Thursday.
"The footage was sent to a film laboratory in the city. However, there has been no headway. The quality of the picture could not be improved. So, the footage may be sent to FBI which has advanced technology," an official said.
The police have begun collecting call data transmitted before the twin blasts through cell phone towers located in the vicinity of the Dilshuknagar.
Investigators are also of the view that the twin blasts were not triggered by a remote control but by a timer device, sources said.
"It is difficult to use remote control for triggering the second blast as the first explosion would disturb waves and frequency. It would have made the second explosion difficult. So, the bombs might have been triggered by a timer," they said.
Intensifying the probe, the police collected guest registers of some hotels and lodges around the blast area and are verifying credentials of the occupants.
The police are yet to achieve a breakthrough even as 15 teams comprising officials from Hyderabad and Cyberabad police are investigating the blasts, besides the National Investigation Agency (NIA).
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 21:19
by ramana
So what they need is image enhancement software. Have they tried the DRDO or ARC? Or is this psy-ops to show being tight with massa?
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 21:33
by RoyG
We are truly pathetic. It's 2013 and we are still relying on foreign powers for technology to solve terror cases. Everybody in the central establishment has his or her own agenda. We have so many agencies with inflated budgets and our police are lacking in even basic training, equipment, and proper procedures. LeT, JeM, HuJI, etc are small fish. The real terrorists are these fat cat congress/sec-left types who sit at the very top and weaken our immunity like the HIV virus. They kill more Indians through their policies than any of these jihadi groups and will break up the entire country if they remain in power. We can't even give decent living quarters to our NSG who are supposed to be our "elite" anti-terror unit and we expect to somehow blunt a growing pakistani proxy war which has just beat the americans in afghanistan? Gl India.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 21:39
by ramana
RoyG, Its psy-ops to show they are asking help from everyone and coverup for their failure. The Mecca Masjid guys did this DS Nagar blasts. UPA has let them off and came up with the bogey of Hindu terror. Now they are caught in a cleft and want to weasel their way out with hazy images and seeking help.
When so many image enhancement facilites exist in India DRDO, ARC and IITs why did they send it a film lab? Which one was it? Prasad Labs?
And now they want to send to FBI like its an extention of Indian Police service!!!!
And why are not there any civilian spokesperson in charge instead of local level pandus?
In every past bomb blast case its some low level police man without situational awareness making bombastic announcements.
This reduces their credibility all the time.
But then they are a govt servce and don't care for credibility.
Even now we don't have an official death toll or injured list.
Every news outlet has its own account of the casualties.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 21:52
by RamaY
Ramanaji
Watch this:
http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/we-the ... ostpopular
Burkha Dutt already complained that five/six of the Mecca Masjid Blast acquitted were picked up for questioning again. Imagine if any of them are convicted in this case. It will be not much time before we hear that by court acquittal they were innocents and now the police bias made them convicts.
This is what happens when Law and Order are colored by Secularism and Vote-bank politics.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 21:54
by Anindya
Folks - if I recall, one of our politicians did admit to lying post the 1993 blasts, to maintain sanity (essentially to hide Islamic malevolence). Does anybody remember the incident or have a link to share?
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 22:19
by ranjbe
Anindya wrote:Folks - if I recall, one of our politicians did admit to lying post the 1993 blasts, to maintain sanity (essentially to hide Islamic malevolence). Does anybody remember the incident or have a link to share?
It was Sharad Pawar, who added fictitious Muslim-majority locations as targets of the bomb blasts in Mumbai. He later confessed that he did it to stop Hindus (read Shiv Sena) from starting revenge counterattacks.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 22:23
by pentaiah
This the reason all our problems are home made
With so many people hell bent on destroying the country
Where is resumption where is The Lord savior?
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 22:41
by ramana
My gut instinct says the Mecca Masjid six etc were involved in DS Nagar blasts.
While I see the IM, ISI, LeT and all taking credit and passing on knowledge etc in the end its a local action. The fact that all those external actors are being bandied about shows that the AP govt doesnt want to take action against the actual perpetrators for some reason.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 22:47
by Anindya
Hyderabad blasts: NIA's claim baseless, alleges Bukhari
"If the investigators have pointed fingers towards the Indian Mujahideen, then let them declare the location of its office and disclose identities of its activists," said the cleric while interacting with media persons here last evening. Official statements are not supported with evidence, the Shahi Imam of Delhi's Jama Masjid said.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 23:01
by member_22872
Why will anyone deny the possibility of the involvement of a known terrorist organization? the only reason I think of is, this Bukahri guy too is a terrorist sympathizer and/or is a terrorist himself.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 23:02
by vijayk
ramana wrote:RoyG, Its psy-ops to show they are asking help from everyone and coverup for their failure. The Mecca Masjid guys did this DS Nagar blasts. UPA has let them off and came up with the bogey of Hindu terror. Now they are caught in a cleft and want to weasel their way out with hazy images and seeking help.
When so many image enhancement facilites exist in India DRDO, ARC and IITs why did they send it a film lab? Which one was it? Prasad Labs?
And now they want to send to FBI like its an extention of Indian Police service!!!!
And why are not there any civilian spokesperson in charge instead of local level pandus?
In every past bomb blast case its some low level police man without situational awareness making bombastic announcements.
This reduces their credibility all the time.
But hten they are a govt servce and don't care for credibility.
Even now we don't have an official death toll or injured list.
Every news outlet has its own account of the casualties.
This is 100% right conclusion. The blasts were committed by the same folks. The CON MAFIA led by ITALIAN MAFIA screwed India using Hindu Terror created to screw us and win in 2009. The murderers decided to re-enact. They know that the MAFIA doesn't have any other choice than to leave them even now. The enemies of India occupying the power need to be prosecuted and hanged like Afzal Guru.
Posted: 25 Feb 2013 23:16
by vijayk
Folks! Don't panic. This is being done at the instance of Shinde, Dogvijay and Sonia. This is just to fool people into thinking that IM/LeT are all in this to avenge Afzal. Diversionary tactic.
They can't prosecute Mecca masjid bombers after implicating some ex-RSS elements and releasing all the real culprits by paying them Rs 3 Lakh each. Now they have done it again. What is the MAFIA going to do? Can you imagine the consequences if one of them comes out saying "We did both you idiots"? The MAFIA will collapse. So they have to do some "SHOW AND TELL" along with the help of Burkha Dutts, Katjus, Sagarika Ghosts and divert this.
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 00:30
by ShyamSP
shiv wrote:Nitesh wrote:[="vasu raya" -The cost of a CCTV from the recent measures taken was put at 3500 cameras for 450 crores, thats about Rs. 12lacs/unit
]
Saar, wrong analogy, the CCTV installation is quite complex, it depends on lot of factors like type of cameras, resolution needed, civil work needed for particular camera, the associate network to stream the data, different nodes to monitor the data, associated analytic software, storage, back up, running the data center. And this is just tip of the ice berg. This figure also does not clarify how many years this network will be managed by the winner.
Humble request, this bashing was not needed

Audited accounts are more easy to believe than reassurances. Subjects like CCTVs for Hyderabad come under the Hyderabad City Corporation I guess, or maybe police dept. Have you ever seen audited accounts for government departments? Sorry it is OT but the number of news reports of crore-patis I read about who were government "servants" firmly convinces me that less than 50% of 450 crores would have gone towards CCTVs
A six camera domestic CCTV set up with 2 weeks backup costs about Rs 35,000. Multiply that by a factor of 1 lakh simply to account for 3500 cameras and other stuff and we still get only 360 crores.
Yes if you consider they may install similar ones that are in the area of blast, it is total rip off. I evaluated 300-ft looking commercial grade cameras for my outdoor. Commercial and military grade camera systems don't cost $25000.
I want to get this 450 crore contract.

Posted: 26 Feb 2013 01:16
by vasu raya
Another Veerappan in the making?
NIA wants custody of IM men in Tihar jail
With investigators pursuing the Indian Mujahideen (IM) angle to the Hyderabad blasts, the National Investigation Agency has sought custody of IM operatives Syed Maqbool and Imran Khan, currently lodged in Tihar jail.
The duo, arrested last year for the August, 2012 blasts in Pune, had recced the Hyderabad locality of Dilsukhnagar, where twin blasts on last Thursday claimed 16 lives. They had scoured the area in July, 2012 on the instructions of IM's Pakistan-based founder Riyaz Bhatkal.
The special NIA court in Delhi on Monday issued production warrants and the duo will be produced on February 27 and remanded to NIA custody.
With Maqbool and Imran being the strongest leads in the investigation so far, NIA hopes their interrogation will help the agency understand the exact plan envisaged by Riyaz and reveal some more clues about the executors of the blasts.
NIA teams have fanned out across the country, including places such as Darbhanga in Bihar and Beed in Maharashtra, apart from its Hyderabad unit interrogating suspects in Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka.
NIA is also likely to seek fresh custody of some of the accused held in the Bangalore-Hubli-Nanded terror module, first reported by TOI on February 23, as it has been found to be linked to Maqbool's module through Hyderabad-based LeT suspect Obaidur Rehman. Rehman is the nephew of Maulana Naseeruddin, a radical preacher accused in the 2003 murder of Gujarat home minister Haren Pandya.
NIA sources said their suspicion was largely on three absconding and active IM operatives, including Tahseen Akhtar alias Monu, Waqas alias Ahmed and Tabrez alias Asadullah Akhtar, who may have executed the blasts under the guidance of IM's India chief Yasin Bhatkal alias Ahmed Zarar Siddibappa. However, no concrete evidence has been found of them being involved in the blasts, sources said.
Yasin Bhatkal has dodged security agencies for over five years as he has struck with impunity across the country. This, despite being at the top of the IM watch list ever since his name cropped after an IM terror module was busted by Mumbai Crime Branch in September, 2008.
Yasin has always escaped the clutches of the law because of his extremely cautious and suspicious nature that resulted in a minimal or smart use of modern communications. "He basically knows how intelligence agencies and police function. He knows where and what we are going to look for. He has also learnt from all the mistakes that his arrested associates have committed," an official who has tracked him for several years said.
Sources said he rarely uses cellphones and mostly makes calls from PCOs. He leaves the place after making such calls. If he uses a cellphone, he generally borrows it from someone in a village and makes a few calls before switching to another phone soon.
He has also been found to procure mobiles on fake identities. He then gives one phone to the operative he needs to contact and speaks only to him through that phone. This leads to very little activity on the phone line and keeps it off the radar of security agencies. {These phone calls are definitely outliers}
He also at times relays information by using human chain. Conversations, if any, are held in code words. "He always keeps a phone, but uses it only to store contacts. He also uses emails and chat rooms on the internet to communicate with Riyaz Bhatkal. There have been times when he has been on our surveillance and we have not realized. It has been revealed later in interrogation of arrested accused," the official said.
This failure is also a reflection of how dependent our agencies have been on technical intelligence rather than human network.{Pandu level surveillance helps}
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 01:25
by ramana
NIA should talk to Doggy Singh he seems to know all the IM operatives!
The above narrative makes Yasin bhai a "Scarlet Pimpernal" of IM. Is that feasible?
Just a few pages ago on this thread they had claimed that he had himself planted one of the bicycle bombs in DS Nagar!
Also if IM has so much takleef against Indian state that they set off bombs everywhere, how come they dont set off in Gujarat?
Its always in a INC ruled state with exception of Karnataka, the police is still INC secular minded.
BTW this constant need to pretend to be successful has undermined the NIA and all other three letter agencies. Recall in the Saffron terror story they claimed that they had traced a bicycle using the serial number to the poor Sadhvi and tortured her in jail. Well now IM has leaarnt to assemble a bicyle from miscellanous parts to avoid tracibility.
Why reveal sources when they are not needed?
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 03:09
by ramana
Pioneer Op-ed:
Kanchan Gupta
Hyd blasts show Congress isnt incapable, it is complicit
In pursuit of its crass vote-bank politics, ever since it came to power in 2004, the Congress has not only dismantled anti-terror instruments like Pota but also allowed jihadis a free run of India
It’s amazing how ‘sources’ in security and intelligence agencies rush to plant information in media, especially news television channels, within minutes after a terrorist attack in this country. As much was witnessed last Thursday when two bombs went off within minutes of each other on a crowded street of Dilsukhnagar of Hyderabad (a third bomb was later found and defused), killing at least 16 people and injuring scores of others.
As is usually the case, the excited chatter of blabbering television anchors and reporters soon gave way to ‘exclusive’ stories quoting ‘sources’ in security and intelligence agencies on possible groups behind the attack, how there was prior knowledge of ‘something being planned’ but nothing was done by way of preventive action, and the need to ‘revamp’ our intelligence gathering system.
Much of what is said is as unintelligible as the commentary on and reportage of events. What is amazing is that these ‘sources’ do not feel the necessity to push the envelope and force their organisational and political bosses to take pre-emptive action. For instance,
if there is adequate knowledge of sleeper cells of jihadi organisations, then why aren’t those cells busted before they can be activated to carry out a terrorist attack? And if these ‘sources’ have tried to force precipitate action but failed, and feel frustrated by the ‘system’, then they should boldly blow the whistle and expose their bosses who are no less than collaborators. That is unlikely to happen, for these ‘sources’ either do not exist or, if they do, they are just as thoroughly useless as the bosses to whom they report to in the organisational hierarchy and political leadership of the day.
That said, little or no purpose is served by getting distracted by the media’s obsession with grabbing eyeballs by needlessly sensationalising events that have a bearing on national security. It would be in order to point out the sharp contrast between the coverage of a terrorist attack in our media and that of, say, Israel. While our media, more so news channels, do not hesitate from indulging in what can be described, without fear of contradiction, as reckless kite-flying, the Israeli media would double check every word and weigh every utterance before putting it out in the public domain. An example would suffice. The Jerusalem Post had commissioned me to report on the terrorist bombing of a car in which the wife of the Defence Attache posted at the Embassy of Israel in New Delhi was travelling and the subsequent investigations and arrest of a key suspect in the crime. Each story was checked, edited, revised and played back to me for approval before being printed. On the first day I was slightly irritated by what to me appeared to be gratuitous changes made in the copy, but over the next few weeks I sensed a pattern to the fine but rigorous filtration process.
It so happened that I was in Israel a couple of months after the incident and mentioned my experience with the desk at The Jerusalem Post to some senior journalist friends.
They said it was a standard practice, largely meant to keep speculation and crucial information out of the public domain. It made eminent sense. Speculation does not change facts or alter the reality. And crucial information if put out in the public domain, even in bits and pieces, can seriously compromise both investigations and the larger counter-terrorism strategy. Much as the media would want it that way, the state cannot combat terrorism, either by way of preventive strikes or reactive action, in the glare of television cameras or by taking the media into confidence. It does not work that way anywhere in the world; in India it is doubly undesirable because the integrity of many journalists is, to put it mildly, suspect. Public memory is notoriously short but let us not forget that a senior journalist on the rolls of Deccan Herald was arrested for plotting jihadi attacks not many months ago. There are others who would happily sleep with India’s enemies for either ideological reasons or to flaunt their ethical promiscuity.
What should instead worry us is the Congress-led UPA Government’s unwillingness to fight terrorism. It
would be easy, and is indeed tempting,
to describe the stunning failure of this regime to wage war on terror as incapacity and inability. But that would be patently untrue. Ever
since the summer of 2004, the Congress has actively followed a policy of dismantling the counter-terror mechanism, including a legal framework, that had been put in place by the BJP-led NDA regime. This is because the Congress believes the best way to consolidate the Muslim vote in its favour is to go easy on terrorists. Crude as it may sound, that is the truth. Hence the speed with which
POTA was rescinded; hence also the reason why
senior Congress leaders known for their proximity to the party’s first family have visited Azamgarh to commiserate with the families of terrorists, cast aspersions on Delhi Police for its raid on Batla House (External Affairs Minister Salman Khurshid wants us to believe Congress president Sonia Gandhi wept inconsolably when shown visuals of Indian Mujahideen terrorists responsible for bombings in Delhi who were killed in that raid), use the CBI to penalise upright police officers who take on jihadis (as was done with policemen involved in intercepting and killing LeT operative Irshad Jehan and her associates in Gujarat) and defame Hindus (as was done first by P Chidambaram who spoke of ‘saffron terrorism’ and then by his successor in the Home Ministry Sushil Kumar Shinde who luridly accused the BJP and RSS of training ‘Hindu terrorists’) in the hope that this will titillate the fanatics among Muslims. The Congress maligns Hindus, secure in the knowledge that Hindus are a fragmented community who place caste and community above self-dignity; the educated feel that it is imperative to demean Hindus and Hinduism to prove their secular credentials; and, whether we like it or not, abusing Hindus and Hinduism does have an appeal among non-Hindus.
{We see this last bit on the forum too!}
If the ruling political elite, namely the Congress, is to blame for compromising national security in the interest of crass vote-bank politics,
spineless bureaucrats are guilty of facilitating this dangerous pandering to minorityism. The Union Home Secretary seems to be more keen on sucking up to the Home Minister and seconding his absurd assertions about ‘Hindu terrorism’ than in going after the real terrorists. He is also the person who showered fulsome praise on Delhi Police after the terrible gang-rape and murder of a young woman, glossing over the serious lapses of the police that allowed the criminals to commit their hideous crime. He should now hold another media briefing and
inform the nation as to why he, his fellow babus, the Intelligence Bureau and the Andhra Pradesh Police, all kept in clover by us tax-payers,
did not act on the information that Indian Mujahideen activists arrested by Delhi Police in October 2012 had visited Dilsukhnagar and surveyed the same spot where the bombs went off last Thursday. Were they busy concocting tales about ‘Hindu terror’ to keep the Congress in good humour?
We can be sure it was not incompetence that caused the failure.
(The writer is a senior journalist based in Delhi)
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 03:16
by Anindya
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 03:33
by member_22872
India is in a very dangerous situation. This will drive a wedge between Hindus or make them dhimmis just to prove that they are secular. We have terrorists and terrorist sympathizers right among us. If you know your enemy who they are we can fight them, if you have turncoats and enemy within, it is like cancer.
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 03:43
by RamaY
Tinderbox- India & its Neighbours, with MJ Akbar
MJA says (answering some Sindhi) sub-continental Muslims got Pakistan, Bengali linguistic ethnicity got them Bangladesh. But Hindus did not get India.
Secularists got India for themselves.
MJA says
India did not become Secular because Gandhi is Secular. Gandhi became secular because India is secular. Where was India when Gandhi was formulating his intellect/worldview/secularism?
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 04:06
by ramana
People on chopper investigation travel all over the world. NIA teams travel all over India!
Police search Kanyakumari area
Throw in Madurai too at same time.
A few days ago it was Nepal border.
One would think IM is rampant all over India!
very clear case of not finding anything.
Hyderabad: As the probe into the Hyderabad twin blasts gets underway, the National Investigation Agency will be questioning 12 alleged Lashkar-e-Toiba members against whom a chargesheet was filed two days ago in Bangalore. The investigating agencies are not leaving any stone unturned and are trying to gather information from anybody who falls under the radar of suspicion. Eyewitnesses are also being questioned, while records at cyber cafes near the blasts sites are being analysed.
Investigators are also scanning jail records to see who all visited key prisoners in the city ahead of those blasts. A certain prisoner called Feroze Khan in the high security Nellore jail is also being questioned about a visitor he had in January in 2012. A jail official reportedly told the NIA that Khan was visited by Indian Mujahideen suspect Syed Maqbool, who was arrested in October 2012 in connection with the Pune blasts.
The Hyderabad Police is analysing CCTV footage to see if any of the blast suspects have been caught on camera. Investigation also showed that the cycles used to keep the bombs had been rented from local shops. The CCTV footage showed five men on cycles near the blast site and the police are trying to verify their identities.
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 04:20
by RamaY
They are searching for Saffron-terror.
Abu Azmi already demanded why Muslims are always blamed for terror attacks. For a change we should blame Yindus.
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 05:08
by ramana
He is right in demanding them to produce evidence. So far INC has ensured none is caught or prosecuted.
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 05:24
by PratikDas
Coincidence that the Daily Pioneer website is down?
Website and article are back up.
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 07:10
by vasu raya
The terrorists are wisening up, in another news report it is said that they stayed at a local hotel for 10 days, guess observing the whole scene while Maqbool might have done just preliminary work
Cops knock on Gujarat FSL doors in Hyderabad blast probe
The state police probing the Dilsukhnagar twin blasts will send vital CCTV footage to the forensic science laboratory in Ahmedabad for enhancing, which officials said is the only lead on the identity of the person caught with a bag hung to the bicycle he was riding on the fateful evening.
The same man was seen leaving without the bag or the bicycle, minutes before two powerful bombs ripped through the busy area, killing 16 and wounding more than 100 people, in an attack which authorities described as fool-proof.
"We tried enhancing the footage, which is a mammoth task as we have to do it frame by frame and then do an overlay to get the desired result. Only the FBI has the capability of doing it with precision, but first we will send it to Ahmedabad FSL to see how it goes," said a senior police officer, probing the case.
The state police have already received an enhanced footage from the National Investigation Agency, which was not good enough, so some officers are mulling sending it to the FBI. "That will be our last resort to get a high-quality enhancement," an officer said, adding Ahmedabad FSL which has the best video enhancing facility.
Local police officials said the attackers might have carried out a reccee of the area at night and were aware where the CCTVs were installed and its angular rotation.
"During 13/7 blasts in Mumbai at Zaveri Bazar and Opera House, the footage from the CCTVs there captured two bomb planters suspected to be Asadullah Akhtar alias Tabrez and Waqas alias Ahmed. But the perpetrators were well aware of the CCTV camera locations and they covered their faces with hands whenever they passed through the area," said an officer.
"As the duo is also suspected to be involved in Dilsukhnagar blasts, we do not think that they would have left any clues," said a senior officer. "They might have recceed, wearing a hat or scarf to hide their features."
Sleuths probing the blasts said the perpetrators were determined to shake off investigators and had not left any clues behind or claimed responsibility for the blasts, which is a new tactic the Indian Mujahideen (IM) is using, while planning attacks in India.
After a string of arrests and encounters, IM has now regrouped and has changed its modus operandi and were not emailing photographs of bicycles used in blasts or leaving tell-tale signs at the blast sites, officials said.
"There are no definite clues for us to work on and it is clearly hampering the probe at the moment. Other than the CCTV footage, we are largely depending on information provided by sources and pursuing the local element's involvement angle," a senior Internal security official from the home ministry told TOI.
So far, police did not get too far ahead from the wreckage of two bicycles and the remnants of IED used in the attack. It was revealed during the forensic examination that the mudguard of one of the bicycles had a white logo like symbol which a cycle rent shop owner normally uses to identify his pool of vehicles.
Based on the alert, a special team has gone to Jumemrat Bazar, which is also known as Chor Bazar, where such bicycle renting shops and assembled bicycle making shops exists.
Officials said in recent attacks carried out by the police in Delhi and the July 13, 2008 bombings in Mumbai, where 26 people died and more than 130 people got injured, no IM module claimed responsibility.
"They have realised the Indian police has the capability to at least track down the module, so the tactic is not to leave any clues at all for anyone to get to them," said U K Bansal, India's former internal security chief.
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 07:20
by vasu raya
The reason why mules helping in border crossing are important,
Four IM men plotting strikes in India in return for ISI hospitality
They had fled to Pakistan to escape the long arm of the law in India. Now, they are plotting terror strikes on India with unflinching regularity as a trade-off for their own safety.
Four top Indian Mujahideen (IM) operatives - Riyaz Bhatkal, Iqbal Bhatkal, Amir Raza Khan and Fayyaz Kagzi - have been enjoying Pakistani spy agency ISI's hospitality with a quid pro quo of carrying out attacks on their homeland.
The rein of IM's terror machines is in the hands of the quartet, who have been operating through their commanders, including head of India operation Yasin Bhatkal, in various Indian cities.
Besides, there are others who keep shuttling between Pakistan (mainly Karachi) and Gulf countries (Saudi Arabia and UAE) on Pakistani passports. Their job is to establish contact with Indians who have been working in those countries, and are tasked with developing them as unsuspecting conduits to send remittances to India. The funds are used for creating sleeper cells for plotting future strikes.
They have been working in sync with the charter of the IM that was set up by ISI as an Indian proxy of the Pakistani terror outfit Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) to project to the world at large that terrorism in India is homegrown in both form and content. Consequently, most of the recruits in IM are Indians, who have been reporting to their bosses in Pakistan.
Indian security agencies, however, suspect that eight out of 15 key IM absconders continue to be in the country. "Couple of them must be in Nepal and keep coming to India," said a senior government official, adding India had shared dossiers on these fugitives with both Pakistan and Saudi Arabia.
Though Saudi Arabia had cooperated and helped deport three terrorists, including Abu Jundal (26\11 Mumbai terror attack accused) of LeT and Fasih Mohammed (IM operative), Pakistan has been in denial over the presence of Indian fugitives on its soil.
Faces of terror
Amir Reza Khan: The mobster of Kolkata (36) who along with the American Centre attack convict Aftab Ansari and two Bhatkal brother - Iqbal and Riyaz - had formed IM and been instrumental in carrying out a numbers of attacks across the country between 2005 and 2008. After fleeing India, he used to operate from Dubai, Riyadh and Oman. But, later he had shifted his base to Pakistan and largely confined to Karachi under ISI patronage after an Interpol Red Corner Notice (RCN) issued against him.
Riyaz Bhatkal: An engineer by profession, the Karnataka-born terrorist (36) had lived in Kurla, Mumbai, where he used to run a tannery business of his father before turning to the Students Islamic Movement of India (SIMI). He was known to Mohammed Sadique Israr Sheikh, a known criminal who worked for both Amir Reza and Aftab Ansari. He had fled India in 2008, when his name first cropped up in Bangalore and Ahmedabad blasts the same year.
Iqbal Bhatkal: Elder brother of Riyaz, Iqbal (44) is considered an IM ideologue, who was responsible for the August, 2007 serial blasts in Hyderabad along with his younger brother. He is a master in imparting instructions via electronic means to the terror outfit's cadres without leaving a trail. He is the one who has been supplying written\pictorial materials to the cadres to motivate them to carry out attacks on Indian soil.
Fayyaz Kagzi alias Abu Amir: He is the youngest (31) among the top four IM fugitives who have been running the show from Karachi. Originally a resident of Beed in Maharashtra, Kagzi was involved in a blast at Ahmedabad railway station. He had fled to Pakistan via Iran after his name cropped up in the Aurangabad arms haul case in 2006. Later, he had shifted his base to Saudi Arabia in 2008. He again moved to Pakistan when Saudi authorities had started cooperating with India in identifying and deporting Indian fugitives.
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 09:03
by ramana
Recall FSL Ahmedabad was the one that cracked the Varanasi bomb blast when the NIA had given up on it.
So why is FSL, Ahmedabad a center for excellence?
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 09:38
by vasu raya
Ramanaji, apparently yes
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_fo ... rs_1350247
In another statement, the Forensic Science Laboratory, Gandhinagar says lot of similarity between explosives used in Pune and Ahmedabad.
The FSL which is analysing the content and explosives used in the Pune blast have primarily said that there are a lot of similarities between the Improvised Explosive Devices (IED) used in Ahmedabad and Pune blasts.
The circuits used to blast the LPG cylinders in the car parked in civil hospital and the one used in the German Bakery are very similar. However, no official confirmed this on record.
Small LPG cylinders were used in Ahmedabad civil hospital blasts, while there was one cylinder along with other explosives used in Pune blasts. The FSL has to submit its final report to National Investigative Agency. FSL had been intimated by NIA to give its expertise in the analysis of the bomb blast and its content.
Primarily, the analysis had also confirmed that RDX, ammonium nitrate and detonators were also used in the Pune blast.
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 09:42
by ramana
So did FSL evaluate the Hyd blasts for explosives?
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 09:55
by vasu raya
seems like NIA is the go-between agency, and NIA had collected samples from Hyd, however NIA has other options as well, all from news only
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 14:54
by IndraD
नमस्कार, गृह मंत्रालय के बम धमाका हेल्प लाइन में आपका स्वागत है...
अभी ताजे-ताजे हुए धमाकों की जानकारी के लिए एक दबाएं।
धमाकों पर गृह मंत्री के प्री रेकॉर्डेड सदाबहार बयानों के लिए 2 दबाएं।
धमाकों पर प्रधानमंत्री की निंदा और कड़े कदम उठाने के बयानों के लिए 3 दबाएं।
धमाकों पर प्रधानमंत्री के और ज्यादा कड़े कदमों के बयान के लिए 4 दबाएं।
किसी ने धमाकों की जिम्मेदारी ली या नहीं ये जानने के लिए 5 दबाएं।
धमाकों पर दिग्विजय सिंह के RSS का हाथ है वाले बयान के लिए 6 दबाएं।
गलती से अगर कोइ आतंकी पकड़ा गया है और उसे कोंग्रेस सरकारी दामाद बनाने जा रही है तो उसका नाम जानने के लिए 7
दबाएं।
अगर आपका कोइ अपना इन धमाकों में मारा गया है तो गांधी जी की रामधुन सुनाने के लिए 8 दबाएं।
पिछले मेनू है ही नहीं, इसलिए ये मेनू फिर से सुनने के लिए 0 दबाएं।
और अगर आप खुद धमाके का शिकार हुए हैं, और अभी तक जिन्दा हैं तो अपना गला दबाएं।
कॉल करने के लिए धन्यवाद, केन्द्र सरकार के बचे हुए साल आपके लिए शुभ हों..
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 21:18
by shiv
IndraD wrote:नमस्कार, गृह मंत्रालय के बम धमाका हेल्प लाइन में आपका स्वागत है...
Namaskaar, the Home ministry's bomb blast helpline welcomes you
अभी ताजे-ताजे हुए धमाकों की जानकारी के लिए एक दबाएं।
For the latest information on bomb blasts, press 1
धमाकों पर गृह मंत्री के प्री रेकॉर्डेड सदाबहार बयानों के लिए 2 दबाएं।
For a recorded message of the Home ministers daily platitudes about bomb blasts, press 2
धमाकों पर प्रधानमंत्री की निंदा और कड़े कदम उठाने के बयानों के लिए 3 दबाएं।
To hear the Prime Minister's condemnation and strong steps to be taken, press 3
धमाकों पर प्रधानमंत्री के और ज्यादा कड़े कदमों के बयान के लिए 4 दबाएं।
To hear about the Prime Minister's even stronger steps, press 4
किसी ने धमाकों की जिम्मेदारी ली या नहीं ये जानने के लिए 5 दबाएं।
To hear if anyone has claimed responsibility for a blast, press 5
धमाकों पर दिग्विजय सिंह के RSS का हाथ है वाले बयान के लिए 6 दबाएं।
To listen to Digvijay Singh blame the hand of the RSS in the blast, press 6
गलती से अगर कोइ आतंकी पकड़ा गया है और उसे कोंग्रेस सरकारी दामाद बनाने जा रही है तो उसका नाम जानने के लिए 7
दबाएं।
If by chance anyone has been caught and the Congress government is about to make him a son-in-law, press 7 to hear his name
अगर आपका कोइ अपना इन धमाकों में मारा गया है तो गांधी जी की रामधुन सुनाने के लिए 8 दबाएं।
If anyone close to you has been killed in a blast, press 8 to listen to Gandhijis' Ramdhun
पिछले मेनू है ही नहीं, इसलिए ये मेनू फिर से सुनने के लिए 0 दबाएं।
There is no previous menu, so press 0 to listen all over again
और अगर आप खुद धमाके का शिकार हुए हैं, और अभी तक जिन्दा हैं तो अपना गला दबाएं।
If you have yourself survived a bomb blast, strangle yourself.
कॉल करने के लिए धन्यवाद, केन्द्र सरकार के बचे हुए साल आपके लिए शुभ हों..
Thank you for calling. May the rest of the central government's term be good for you.
Posted: 26 Feb 2013 21:58
by vera_k
"We tried enhancing the footage, which is a mammoth task as we have to do it frame by frame and then do an overlay to get the desired result. Only the FBI has the capability of doing it with precision, but first we will send it to Ahmedabad FSL to see how it goes," said a senior police officer, probing the case.
I wonder if the agencies are reading the news. There was a report that the Life of Pi visual effects were done in Hyderabad. So what is this about only FBI or FSL having the ability to enhance images?
Posted: 27 Feb 2013 02:01
by vasu raya
LeT’s Bangalore module helped IM in Hyderabad recce
In a crucial lead in the investigations of the Hyderabad blasts, the National Investigation Agency (NIA) has found that not only are Indian Mujahideen's (IM) Pune blast module and LeT's Bangalore-Hubli-Nanded terror module linked to each other, but the latter has even helped the IM accused conduct reconnaissance of Dilsukhnagar, where twin blasts claimed 16 lives last Thursday.
Investigations have found that Obaidur Rehman from the Bangalore-Hubli-Nanded module helped IM's Syed Maqbool and Imran Khan conduct reconnaissance of Dilsukhnagar and Begum Bazaar last July.
A resident of Hyderabad, Rehman was arrested in September, 2012, barely two months after he helped Maqbool conduct the reconnaissance in Dilsukhnagar, by Bangalore Police as part of LeT terror module that had procured weapons and was planning to assassinate certain right-wing figures in Karnataka. Maqbool and Imran were arrested a month later in October by Delhi Police in connection with the August 1, 2012 Pune blasts.
This joint reconnaissance by IM's Maqbool and LeT's Rehman is suspected to have been later used by other IM accused under Yasin Bhatkal's instruction to plant bombs in Dilsukhnagar on February 21. The revelation has led NIA to believe that Maqbool, Imran and Rehman, perhaps, know more about the Hyderabad blasts than they may have revealed so far.
Investigations had earlier revealed that both modules were connected through IM operatives Asad Khan, Syed Maqbool and LeT's Rehman. "In fact, after Rehman's arrest Asad Khan and his associates ran away to Roorkee in Uttarakhand and hid at a mazaar fearing that Rehman would spill the beans on them. That did not happen, but the IM operatives returned to Delhi on instructions from Riyaz Bhatkal only to be caught by Delhi Police. Both modules knew of each other's plans," said an official privy to investigation details.
The official added that often terror suspects reveal only what they think is known to the interrogators hiding other vital information; it is tactic that is part of their terror training. "So it is likely that both Rehman and Maqbool have not revealed everything that they know about the Hyderabad blasts as is evident from their cooperation on reconnaissance," said the official.
{if all the information obtained so far and leads are from existing set of sources such as those previously involved in crimes or from those already in jail, some of these blasts were entirely avoidable
}
While NIA is likely to get the custody of Maqbool and Imran on Wednesday, sources said the agency will also take custody of Rehman for further interrogation. Rehman's family has been in the terror crosshairs with his uncle Maulana Naseeruddin — a radical preacher from Hyderabad accused in the 2003 murder of Gujarat home minister Haren Pandya and his cousin Riyazuddin Nasir — in jail for plotting to carry out attacks in Karnataka.