India Nuclear News And Discussion

GuruPrabhu

Re: India Nuclear News And Discussion

Post by GuruPrabhu »

He can get insurance from various sources to protect himself against such incidents.

He cant do that for nuclear.
Are you saying that a citizen (who makes Rs 10 laks/year) can take out insurance that is specific to getting killed by the railways to the tune of Rs 3 crores? Not life insurance, mind you, but insurance specific to getting killed by the railways. If it were life insurance, it applies to railways as well as NPP.
You should think in terms of Rupees, not $, I find your thinking in terms of $ funny.
I believe the rules of engagement are not to make personal remarks about what is funny and what is not. Secondly, entire Indian media was talking in $ terms when discussing the liability issue. So were BRF members. It should be easy to search.
Again you miss a big difference, some one using Railways property has a choice of using or not using Railways. Some one getting effected by a Nuclear plant is not a willing participant.

Big difference.
How so? You can say that the person should take other means of transportation [which sucks if you are an average Indian citizen who finds airlines expensive but you have to travel from say Delhi to Chennai. What should he do? take a bus?]

I could just as easily say that if you don't like NPP, move away from the nPP and refuse to use electricity produced by that NPP. These sort of arguments are hardly relevant.

The point to discuss is that GOI is providing two services:

1. Railways
2. NPP

In one case GOI has set compensation levels without massive debate in parliament or in the media. In the other case, even though that industry hasn't killed anyone in India, there is a HUGE debate about liability issues based on hypothetical scenarios.

This is what GOI and various media pundits need to address.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Tanaji wrote:This is of course, if one is using the same yardstick as NPP. I completely agree that for Indian conditions by and large, such yardsticks are too high a bar for railways (except for the transport of injured).
Why are they a high bar for railways and not NPPs? It is the same GOI that has to pay and the same citizens who are threatened by both? Why should there be different yardsticks? I don't think that death from one is any less damaging than from the other.

Tanaji wrote: clear pointers that railways do not provide a safe working condition and hence they should be liable .
And they are.

This is of course, if one is using the same yardstick as NPP. I completely agree that for Indian conditions by and large, such yardsticks are too high a bar for railways (except for the transport of injured).

Absolutely. Railways guarantee compensation to willing users, of which they are informed in advance. It also pays uncapped liabilties to people who are not on railway property and are yet affected by railway lapse.
But to claim that user is to blame for his own death in railways is ridiculous.
I am only talking about the largest number of casualties that you listed, ones crossing the tracks directly and not using overbridge.

Are you saying that Railways should be blamed for people crossing tracks?

GuruPrabhu wrote:
Tanaji wrote:This is of course, if one is using the same yardstick as NPP. I completely agree that for Indian conditions by and large, such yardsticks are too high a bar for railways (except for the transport of injured).
Why are they a high bar for railways and not NPPs? It is the same GOI that has to pay and the same citizens who are threatened by both? Why should there be different yardsticks? I don't think that death from one is any less damaging than from the other.
No different yardsticks should exist for anyone.

GuruPrabhu wrote: Are you saying that a citizen (who makes Rs 10 laks/year) can take out insurance that is specific to getting killed by the railways to the tune of Rs 3 crores? Not life insurance, mind you, but insurance specific to getting killed by the railways. If it were life insurance, it applies to railways as well as NPP.
Irrelevant, a life insurance covers railway accident does not cover nuke accident. The amount is as per users need/ability.

How so? You can say that the person should take other means of transportation [which sucks if you are an average Indian citizen who finds airlines expensive but you have to travel from say Delhi to Chennai. What should he do? take a bus?
Yes, why not.
I could just as easily say that if you don't like NPP, move away from the nPP and refuse to use electricity produced by that NPP. These sort of arguments are hardly relevant.
No you cant, railways is not asking anyone to move. To not use != shift from your home.

And yes, if Indian electricity user has a choice that claim can be made, today it cant be since he does not have a choice. In case of railways they do.
there is a HUGE debate about liability issues based on hypothetical scenarios.
No lets be clear, it is well understood what potential fallout from each kind of disaster is. That is why there is discussion around liability of one vs the other.

Its because people fully understand the real extent of issues in a Nuclear incident.

For example the entire Tusnami clean up is 300 billion $ (see I used $) and Fukushima alone is 150 billion $.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Sanku wrote: No lets be clear, it is well understood what potential fallout from each kind of disaster is. That is why there is discussion around liability of one vs the other.

Its because people fully understand the real extent of issues in a Nuclear incident.
Well, you just keep saying "issues are well understood" and "costs are well known" [in the other thread], but when asked for specifics, you are shy to present them.

So, there are two sides to this debate.

One side is "well understood" but not presented.

The other side is "well presented" but not being understood.

Chalo. Enough for now.

GuruPrabhu wrote: Well, you just keep saying "issues are well understood" and "costs are well known" [in the other thread], but when asked for specifics, you are shy to present them..
So lets stick the liability discussion to one thread only please. Two threads have different contexts.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Sure, let's choose this thread and keep it India specific. You may use Fukushima and Chernobyl data, but let us keep the discussion about liability as determined by GOI.

Your claim is that both nukes and railways are well understood.

Firstly, I am arguing that Railway accidents are under-compensated (not of people crossing tracks but two trains colliding due to negligence).

Secondly, I am arguing that the nuclear compensation (hypothetical in Indian case) is over-estimated.

If you have data on these estimates for nuclear, please present them.

If you believe that Railways compensation (Rs 4 lakhs) is adequate, please argue your case. I have argued with an example why it is grossly inadequate.

The data on *actual* harm caused by Chernobyl, to both life and environment, has been presented here many times over. You have stated that you understand the cost. Please present them.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Also, the insurance topic needs clarification:
GuruPrabhu wrote: If it were life insurance, it applies to railways as well as NPP.
Irrelevant, a life insurance covers railway accident does not cover nuke accident. The amount is as per users need/ability.
Why does life insurance not cover death by nuclear accident?

GuruPrabhu wrote: Firstly, I am arguing that Railway accidents are under-compensated (not of people crossing tracks but two trains colliding due to negligence).
And I have put on record that a willing user of a facility that he has a choice using, coupled with pre use information available, can not be compared with a person who is impacted for something
1) Did not chose to do
2) Was not made aware of consequences of.

Hence a passenger is not germane to the discussion. A railway passenger may be meaningful if compared with a airline crash victim.

This will be the last time I will respond to it.
Secondly, I am arguing that the nuclear compensation (hypothetical in Indian case) is over-estimated.
There is no maximum liability for death by railways for a non-passenger. Similarly there is no maximum liablity for a person not belonging to nuclear industry and working on premises. Hence they are same.

Non estimated and estimation only at accident.

However the clean-up costs of railways for a railway accident are fully borne by railways in its entire history and hence we know that railways can bear the cost of clean up.
If you have data on these estimates for nuclear, please present them.
I expect that Indian clean-up costs should mirror the costs outside India, for two main reasons
1) Imported nuclear plants, have a significant imported content priced at global rates, and their clean-up will in turn involve use of imported contents at similar rates.
2) The differential cost of labor is not important since manpower costs are not the significant cost into NPPs.

Assuming that Soviet Union was roughly speaking at the level of India 20 years ago a comparison with Chernobyl can be made

http://www.iaea.org/Publications/Bookle ... rnobyl.pdf
However, the magnitude of the impact is clear from a variety of government
estimates from the 1990s, which put the cost of the accident, over two decades, at
hundreds of billions of dollars.6

The scale of the burden is clear from the wide range of costs incurred, both direct and indirect:
— Direct damage caused by the accident;
— Expenditures related to:
• Actions to seal off the reactor and mitigate
the consequences in the exclusion zone;
• Resettlement of people and construction
of new housing and infrastructure to
accommodate them;
• Social protection and health care provided to the affected population;
• Research on environment, health and production of clean food;
• Radiation monitoring of the environment; and
• Radioecological improvement of settlements and disposal of radioactive waste.

Indirect losses relating to the opportunity cost of removing agricultural land and
forests from use and the closure of agricultural and industrial facilities; and
— Opportunity costs, including the additional costs of energy resulting from the loss
of power from the Chernobyl nuclear plant and the cancellation of Belarus’s nuclear
power programme.

22.3 percent of the national budget in 1991, declining gradually to 6.1 percent in 2002.
Total spending by Belarus on Chernobyl between 1991 and 2003 is estimated at more than
US $13 billion.
The above is from IAEA and hence should be acceptable to you I think.

So we are talking of 100 billion+ $ here.
somnath

Post by somnath »

Series of non sequitor beign presented...

First, there is abolsutely a cap on individual liability on airline accidents...Every airline has a different cap, but international levels are pretty standard...And the liability is not on the airplane manufacturer, but on the airline...

Second, airlines are NOT responsible for collateral damage caused by black swan events resulting in an airline crash..So United Airlines did not have to settle liabilities of 5000 killed in the WTC on 9/11...Or for that matter settle clean-up costs of the WTC (and Pentagon) sites....Or indeed the cost of the enormous financial meltdown that happened soon after the event.....These were all collateral damage, no?

Its absolute bunkum to be talking of taking insurance coverage for black swan events - insurance policies pointedly "excclude" such events from coverage...And the same principle is also applied for the famous Nuke Liability Act of India, which is supposed to be a "nationalist" strike back against MMS cabal - it has been posted before on this thread, but then you can take the horse to the water.....

The example of Chernobyl is completely moot in this day and age...If one Chernobyl should hold up the nuke industry, then there are many more reasons why Bhopal should cancel out the entire chemicals industry from the face of the earth!

Lets not carry on with this farce....Operator liability on industrial accidents is a standard protocol..Post Fukushima, there would be newer models examined to enhance the coverage I am sure...However, no insurance policy will be able to cover for black swans, or force majeure events like these...

Oh and BTW, talking of Fukushima, there was a dam that burst on account of the earthquake/tsunami in the Fukushima prefecture...No one's counting (yet) how many of the 20-30k dead were on account of that...Extending the liability insurance logic, we should insist on similar 1000000000000000000 million dollar insurance for all dams...And especailly for dams like Tehri that are bang in the middle of a seismically active zone!

So in case of a major accident who is on the hook for the $100 Billion + in cleanup costs, as in Fukushima. And make no mistake our foreign masters(sorry suppliers) will make us cleanup to 'their' standards, using their equipment and contractors, if we want to be taken seriously. No matter how we clean up you bet they will use it as a stick against us. Look we gave them all this technology and they are so stupid to mess it up, its all their fault, our design was perfect, etc...

IMHO $100 Billion is a conservative estimate. Some of the Japanese papers are putting just the claims against TEPCO at 10 Trillion yen. It took Three Mile $1 Billion and ~ 10 years just to remove the fuel from one core back in 1980, with minimal radiation leak in the building, the plant itself is still not decommissioned. Fukushima is 4 cores with explosive/radioactive wreckage all around and the units 5&6 have probably also generated their last MW of power. That $10 Billion the private contractors put in is just to get their foot in the door. This sort of stuff always escalates, drastically...

Lets do some quick math. A 1000 MW nuclear plant, selling just the power at 5 cents a kilowatt or $50/MW, with a PLF of 75%, will generate income of 365x24x50x.75x1000 = $328,500,000 which after salaries, etc works out ~ $300 Million annually. I'm just looking purely at the wealth produced so lets ignore profits/capital cost for the moment and ignore economic activity generated with that power. Lets also ignore inflation costs both for electricity and clean-up which will both escalate.

In a fifty year or so life, some plants have much less life and some have much more, we can expect about $15 Billion in value. So a value of $100 Billion would require the entire lifetime output of 7 x 1000 MW plants. A single Level 7 accident at say Kudankulam would wipe out the entire value of all the Nuclear power produced in India right now, plus just about all the power produced in Jaitapur as well. You can also see how any sort of long term cost escalations as at Chernobyl will essentially wipe out any Nuclear wealth generated long term.

So the real question has to be whether we feel lucky...
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Sanku wrote:I expect that Indian clean-up costs should mirror the costs outside India, for two main reasons
1) Imported nuclear plants, have a significant imported content priced at global rates, and their clean-up will in turn involve use of imported contents at similar rates.
2) The differential cost of labor is not important since manpower costs are not the significant cost into NPPs.
1) What is this "imported content" required in clean-up?

2) Since you have estimated that manpower costs are significant, please provide your estimate of the manpower cost of Chernobyl. That pdf you posted is noteworthy in its complete lack of substance on costs and just "hundreds of billions" thrown in out of nowhere.
http://www.iaea.org/Publications/Bookle ... rnobyl.pdf

However, the magnitude of the impact is clear from a variety of government
estimates from the 1990s, which put the cost of the accident, over two decades, at
hundreds of billions of dollars.6
Please read this article yourself and you will notice that there is no defense of this number. I was hoping that you had a real estimate, not just a number thrown out there.

amit wrote:
chaanakya wrote:Amit , nice set of reports speaking in generalities..
Boss, you post a bland table from WiKi and then chide me for posting reports which speak of generalities? :D

I know very well that by 2020, nuclear's share of the total power mix in India will still be small. But having said that nuclear and coal will comprise a lion's share of the high base load generation capacity.

It seems that you've totally missed the central point of what I've been trying to say on this thread and in the Fukushima one. But I guess that would be understandable given the high volume traffic in both threads.

To cut the chase my point is that an energy deficit country like India which needs to build up generation capacity at a fast rate while also keeping an eye on the environment (the one over India and not over the Artic Circle) nuclear cannot be discounted from the mix.

Sure more mega coal-fired power plants will be built over the nex 10-20 years. But that should be side by side with Gen III 1,000 MW nuclear power plants and indegenous PHWRs and their follow-ons. If you think money is a problem for building plants then I'm afraid you've go it wrong.

And this leads to the other point I've been crying hoarse about. If we agree that nuclear needs to be in the mix, then what's the purpose of all these doom and gloom articles trawled from the internet - stuff like 983,000 people died because of Chernobyl etc - being posted here.

If one is out and out against nuclear like Theo, then that's a very valid POV. But to say no we are not against nuclear and then coming out with arguments of how dangerous nuclear is a waste of time.

One of the article I posted has an estimate. It say's 300,000 people die each year in India due to pollution emanating from coal-fired plants. Now I can't vouch for how authentic that figure is but I can cenrtainly say the actually figure will be several orders of magintude greater than the number of people that are likely to die due to the Fukushima accident.

Hence to me it's a nobraineer to say that India's nuclear power ambitions should stay on track while at the same time all efforts need to be made to learn from Fukushima and build even more safer plants.

IMHO everything else is just hot air, like the postulate that the nuclear deal was to impose CRE. If that were the case then it has been a spectacular failure on the part of the NPAs.

The rest of it just technical details. While I won't be able to discuss the physics of it with you as it ain't my subject, I'm more than willing to discuss the economics of power generation if you so want.
Well , do you dispute the figures posted by WIKI? I think that ranking is correct. If you have some other ranking for India do tell us.

And there goes the point about carbon emission.

What is the share of Nuclear in energy mix being planned. Currently it is 2.75%.
Coal is say abt 93,000 MW i.e. 54% of total energy Mix.
The total power generation capacity is abt 1,73,626 MW.

Say what is the requirement by 2020. How much of it would be coal and Nuclear? Can you give some idea?

Coal addition would be abt 43000MW in 11th plan

Planning Commission talks abt 78000 MW additional capacity for 11th Plan. So we have abt 45000 MW for other energy sources. Now what do you expect Nuclear to be in this. How is that going to help in carbon mitigation.

If we are going to need 2,93,000 MW by 2020( as per Planning Commission document) and if we get 10% from Nuclear still we would not be helping in Carbon emission unless one wants all 1,20,000MW from Nuclear alone?

Now coming to Doubling carbon emission from

India ------1,612,362.00==== 5.50% to say 3,224,724.00 i.e. 11% we would still be at the same rank.
So no point in teaching by West. And do remember , to increase to that massive carbon emission pattern we would need to really scale up thermal and all other forms of carbon emitting techs to much higher level from the present one since mostly it would come from Industries.

Now if it is clear that carbon emission is a red herring for selling nuke tech we can talk abt other points one by one.

So worried abt gloom and doom articles . Well its mostly from Fukushima and from Japanese media and how they are reporting it. If you think that is inappropriate that is your problem boss.
I think we should know the details .

The question of whether we need or not to go nuclear is altogether a different point from radiation dangers which is just one aspect , though very serious one, of it.

Again quoting from Planning commission

This is the current situation in nutshell ( 11th plan)

Power

13.8% peaking deficit; 9.6% energy shortage;
40% transmission and distribution losses
;
absence of competition

Target
Add 78577 MW; access to all rural households

There are studies to show that you can save 25% out of this loss. This is besides the fact that our PLF is hardly touching 50-60 % even in thermal. ( in Japan plants were running at >40% efficiency and >100% PLF. So think how much is being lost besides T&D or AT&C.)

I am not sure why do you bring in CRE and NPA here which is not the point I have discussed. I guess habit.

Regarding deaths from coal plants, I find it little strange that you don't demand same strict causality of attribution as is demanded in case of radiation related morbidity and mortality.

I also find it strange that NPP has to trash Coal or even alternatives to prove its worth. Is it not capable of standing on its own. That being so, data presented above shows no respite from Coal at least for the time being.

I will touch upon base load and peak load separately once your emission issues are over. I think that is the second important point , third being the cost effectiveness and energy density.

chaanakya wrote:FLASH News Coming in

One killed in Jaitapur Police Firing. Details awaited.
Violence and arson marked the Shiv Sena-sponsored bandh in Ratnagiri district on Tuesday against the police firing on anti-nuclear power project demonstrators in Jaitapur.

Prohibitory orders were promulgated under section 144 CrPC in the coastal district after the largely successful shut—down called by opposition Shiv Sena turned violent.

Meanwhile, the Maharashtra government announced a magisterial inquiry into the police firing yesterday that left one person dead.

Mob ransacks hospital

Angry protesters today vandalised the district hospital where the post-mortem of Tabrez Abdul Sayanekar, who died in the police firing, was to be conducted, set afire some state transport buses and burnt tyres to block Ratnagiri-Kolhapur highway, police said.

With the Opposition sharpening its attack on the State’s Democratic Front (DF) government over the proposed 9900 MW nuclear power project, Leader of the Opposition in the State Assembly Eknath Khadse demanded a judicial probe into the police firing.

Though the government mounted a strong defence of the controversial project, it announced a magisterial inquiry into the firing. At the same time, it said the probe would also ascertain if Monday’s violent protests were part of a pre-planned political conspiracy.

“An inquiry will be conducted whether the violent protests at the plant site and the attack on Sakhrinate police station were politically motivated and part of a pre-planned conspiracy,” Home Minister R. R. Patil told the House.

Tabrez was killed in police firing at Sakhrinate village when around 600—700 locals protesting against the project, attacked the local police station.

Shiv Sena executive president Uddhav Thackeray said that the DF government will have to pay a “heavy price” for police firing.

“It is time for chief minister Prithviraj Chavan to pack up and go home,” Mr. Thackeray said.

The project with six nuclear rectors of 1,600 MW each would be one of the largest Nuclear power projects in the world.
Well to be sure I don't agree with the violence, sena has a history of this.

The Jaitapur debate was on Times Now with Arnab, incredible watch. Govt and UPA seem to be on backfoot, Manu Singhvi was desperately trying to say "in a democracy we listen to all voices nothing will be done without every bodies consent"

This is going to be another Singur.

GuruPrabhu, you have asked way too many questions without providing any useful information what so ever.

The writing is on the wall, if you cant read it not my problem
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

A debate consists of asking questions to ensure that the opponent is not making tall claims. If that makes you uncomfortable, we can stop.

As for me proving useful information or not, I will humbly let the readership decide, not my worthy opponent. That is why debates have an audience and judges.

GuruPrabhu wrote:A debate consists of asking questions to ensure that the opponent is not making tall claims. If that makes you uncomfortable, we can stop.
In a discussion only a troll always ask questions and never offers data from his/her side -- postulate by Shiv-ji
As for me proving useful information or not, I will humbly let the readership decide, not my worthy opponent. That is why debates have an audience and judges.
So you have nothing to say other than make arbitrary statements about well researched solid data.

I am not into winning a debate BTW, I thought for a moment that I can indeed help you given the lack of knowledge you professed about matters of nuclear clean-up. Now you have that. If you use the internet search (I assume you can do that) you can come across any number of studies stating 100 billion+ figures for Chenobyl as well as Fukushima.

Will you believe this?
http://www.time.com/time/daily/chernoby ... stin2.html
Four years have passed since the meltdown at the Chernobyl nuclear plant, but the grim legacy of the Soviet catastrophe is still unfolding. Large populated areas surrounding the reactor site in the Ukraine and in nearby Belorussia remain contaminated with high levels of radioactivity. The poisoning of the land has created dire health problems and economic devastation. A new study by the chief economist of a Soviet government institute calculates that the cost of Chernobyl, including the price of the cleanup and the value of lost farmland and production, could run as high as $358 billion -- 20 times as much as earlier official estimates.
Or many statements by Ministers of Belarus and Ukraine? You can find the detailed reports by them, and if you cant, I am not going to help frankly.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Sanku wrote:In a discussion only a troll always ask questions and never offers data from his/her side
You are crossing the line with personal characterizations. Attacking personalities starts when one runs out of arguments.

Your comments below are difficult to address without the ROFL icon:
So you have nothing to say other than make arbitrary statements about well researched solid data.
I thought for a moment that I can indeed help you given the lack of knowledge you professed about matters of nuclear clean-up.

If you use the internet search (I assume you can do that) you can come across any number of studies stating 100 billion+ figures for Chenobyl as well as Fukushima.
So, rather than ROFL I will stop with you here.

So who on this board is going to accompany the likes of Prafool Bidwai on his march from Tarapur to Jaitapur?

Come on, be honest!

Is it just me or does anyone find it ironic that the same set of people who criticized the nuclear deal and said it should not be signed since it was CRE, are now doing their level best to do the very same CRE by opposing nuclear plants?

If civilian nuclear plants are dangerous, then it automatically follows that the military ones are as well... which is CRE.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Tanaji,

Yes, the irony is delicious.

This may be discussed elsewhere in greater detail but the military reactors are very small right. There are only 2-3 in the 50 MW range. Also they are run at very low capacity factors to maximize Pu production. Military technology is a survival of the nation issue. It is entirely indigenous as well. Even a single Kundankulam reactor is ten times all the military reactors combined. AFAIK there has never been a major problem w/ the military as they shut down at the smallest sign of trouble and even derate the reactor as they don't care about power efficiency. All the accidents in India have been with civilian reactors.

Civilian reactors, despite the arguments about base load, are optional. They are at best a convenience issue. Not a single coal plant will shut because of them. It has been repeatedly noted that even if all of them work out flawlessly by the time they come online, say 2025-2030 or so they will be 10% or less of the power mix. They are not easily scalable. So much of the nuclear industry is mere talking points. They are promoting an addiction to nuclear power.

IMHO a major reason I oppose nuclear is that it fools people into thinking we have time to transition away from fossil fuels, when really we don't have much more time. As a nation we must start the transition now. Even then it will take 50+ years at a war footing to completely transition to a renewal dominant mix. We should be building on the order of 5000 MW of renewable right now to protect ourselves from supply disruptions in the future.

To add to that the prospects of a civilian power were an incentive for West to get rid of the NSG sanctions on India to enable fuel for power plants and get out of the outhouse. Fukushima has really dampened the enthusiasm in the world over.

With Pak collapsing no point in offering targets for them.
somnath

Post by somnath »

Theo_Fidel wrote:This may be discussed elsewhere in greater detail but the military reactors are very small right. There are only 2-3 in the 50 MW range. Also they are run at very low capacity factors to maximize Pu production. Military technology is a survival of the nation issue. It is entirely indigenous as well. Even a single Kundankulam reactor is ten times all the military reactors combined. AFAIK there has never been a major problem w/ the military as they shut down at the smallest sign of trouble and even derate the reactor as they don't care about power efficiency. All the accidents in India have been with civilian reactors.
Theo-ji, thats not what Dr Gopalkrishnan was saying when he was complaining about lack of supervision over mil reactors in India! But really, I dont get this "indigenenous" business...Was Cirus indigeneous? Is INS Chakra indigeneous? Are the PHWRs indigeneous?
ramana wrote:With Pak collapsing no point in offering targets for them
Ramana-ji, there are enough "targets" already..At the margin, the target list doesnt get richer by having a few more reactor parks...BTW, we have a treaty on that with Pak (about not attacking each other's nuke facilities)...

Thats with state actors only!

8)
arnab

Post by arnab »

GuruPrabhu wrote:Tanaji,

Yes, the irony is delicious.
Yes, other ironies abound

Singur = Jaitpur; so
TMC = Shiv Sena;
Mamata = Thackerey

Now I suppose we will see a march of Purefool, Medha Patkar, A Roy and Shiv Sena protesting nuclear stations ! Politics does make some strange bedfellows. I wonder if Shiv Sena will take money from the NPA associates to continue the agitation (widely believed Mamta received money from rivals to scuttle Tatas Singur ambitions). :)

Revenue minister Narayan Rane, who had crossed over to the Congress from the Sena, told a TV channel that his former party had “hatched a conspiracy” to attack the site. Rane hails from the Konkan region, which includes Ratnagiri, and has been locked in a turf war with the Sena.
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1110420/j ... 877235.jsp

Risk-management or Risk-mismanagement is a mega business. There is tons of money to be made. The big ticket items of NPP is one ripe avenue to make money. The "import now nuclear lobby" is fully geared to exploit the situation by exaggeration and doomsday predictions. This is full of ironies that "import now nuclear lobby" while accusing others as Greens, is pitching that nuclear is only greenest possible source to meet the demands.

The import now business is good alignment of interest of politicians whose horizon generally doesn't extend beyond couple of elections and large business houses.
Developing home grown technology takes patience and time, which the "money diggers" whose term doesn't extend beyond 5 to 10 years can ill afford.
Beyond that investing a huge chunk that depends on begging two bit nations to supply fuel for the behemoths is a clear compromise on energy independence. Providing more avenues for foreign lobby to apply pressure in steering the direction of India's policies. No nation that has alternate sources would willingly expose such chinks to outsiders.
But there is money to be made and tons of it and the window of next couple of elections is the best time.
Where is plan B? (yep we have heard about stone age as plan B repeatedly)
arnab

Post by arnab »

JwalaMukhi wrote:Risk-management or Risk-mismanagement is a mega business. There is tons of money to be made. The big ticket items of NPP is one ripe avenue to make money. The "import now nuclear lobby" is fully geared to exploit the situation by exaggeration and doomsday predictions
But it is a fine line isn't it? if the 'risk managers' (who are they btw? would they be external to Areva / NPCIL in Jaitpur?) 'exaggerate' the risks, won't they play into the hands of Shiv Sena and make a case for stopping the construction of nuke plants alltogether? So alternatively wouldn't you say it is in the interest of the NPP lobby to understate risks? :)

Incidentally, conspiracy theorists also say that Chernobyl was hatched by KGB to put the fear of god about NPPs amongst western europeans and it worked. Of course now they are dependent on 70% of their energy through the oil and gas fields of Russia :)

So it is not a question of 'alternate' energy options, it is a question of utilising ALL options for Energy Security.

No sir, the pitch is "Import nuclear today" as the only route. The doomsday prediction is about if that route is shunned, India is staring at stone age as its future. Exponential growth of energy through nuclear is the exaggeration.
arnab

Post by arnab »

I don't think anyone has been arguing about a 'stone-age' future. Even today 40% of our villages do not have electricity. They can wait some more. But the issue really is this:
Load-shedding is a depressing fact of life every summer in our power-hungry nation. This year will be different—with an ironic twist. Despite a record 15,795 MW of fresh generation capacity being synchronised in 2010-11, the power situation is going to get worse.
A poor supply of fuel, particularly coal, will lead to rising power deficit in many states.
Not only is 40 per cent of the population denied power supply, in large parts of the country millions are still awaiting the light despite power supply infrastructure having been put in place. With the fuel supply agreements for over 13,000 MW upcoming capacity yet to be signed, the future doesn’t seem too bright. As Shinde admits, “For the current year (new generation capacity) target, we will have to see the availability of fuel
http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?271380

So bottomline: we need alternative fuels - Nuke is one such alternative

damn I deleted my earlier post !! I meant to add to it :( too bad.
Last edited by arnab on 20 Apr 2011 07:01, edited 2 times in total.

arnab wrote: I think there is a nice presentation by DAE on the subject. They have shown that importing 40 Gw worth of NPPs in the next 20 years will produce enough plutonium for the 2nd stage of the nuke cycle and eventually close the energy gap within 80 - 100 (?) years through the 3 stage cycle because of the exponential nature of growth. I don't think there is any exaggeration. It is maths.
I'm surprised if any politician worth his salt bought that prediction of 80 to 100 years. Politicians would not have anything beyond next one or two elections. That is for public consumption attaching some numbers to lend some credence to gullible public to buy the conclusion that import has to happen. If the math is extrapolated for say another 150 years, probably India would be supplying energy to whole of asian continent.
arnab

Post by arnab »

JwalaMukhi wrote: I'm surprised if any politician worth his salt bought that prediction of 80 to 100 years. Politicians would not have anything beyond next one or two elections. That is for public consumption attaching some numbers to lend some credence to gullible public to buy the conclusion that import has to happen. If the math is extrapolated for say another 150 years, probably India would be supplying energy to whole of asian continent.
Sure! and are you satisfied with the current power generation prospects in the country? Let me see, you don't live in the country :)
Load-shedding is a depressing fact of life every summer in our power-hungry nation. This year will be different—with an ironic twist. Despite a record 15,795 MW of fresh generation capacity being synchronised in 2010-11, the power situation is going to get worse.
Not only is 40 per cent of the population denied power supply, in large parts of the country millions are still awaiting the light despite power supply infrastructure having been put in place. With the fuel supply agreements for over 13,000 MW upcoming capacity yet to be signed, the future doesn’t seem too bright. As Shinde admits, “For the current year (new generation capacity) target, we will have to see the availability of fuel.”

arnab wrote:Load-shedding is a depressing fact of life every summer in our power-hungry nation. This year will be different—with an ironic twist. Despite a record 15,795 MW of fresh generation capacity being synchronised in 2010-11, the power situation is going to get worse.
The answer is right there.

Despite adding 15,000 MW we are unable to get the power from here to there. This 15,000 MW BTW is probably the entire crop of nuclear coming our way over the next 20 years. It is not even a drop in the bucket. The nuclear is being pushed because of pressures on the parties involved. Its just convenient. Several parts of our country are now power surplus occasionally, yet the grid and pricing systems don't allow this surplus to be used.

And let me take on this canard about the base load cr@p. Nuclear can not function in any other way. It either on 100% or off 100%. In fact it is the only power source with this weakness of inflexibility. So from a necessity we labeled it base load and turn it into a fetish. There are tons of countries, in fact the vast majority in the world, that function just fine without the nuclear 'base load'. Its just another talking point. Even Australia, that great champion of human rights in India, has no need for a nuclear plant. Happy to sell you the U3O8 however. At a nice fat profit once India comes to heel.

In North East Canada for instance cheap Hydel is often throttled or simply released just so expensive Nuclear juice can keep flowing. No doubt once the foreign NPP's come on line all the other plants will be expected to throttle themselves so we can pay for this expensive 'base load'. Kinda similar to the Enron deal.

Somnath,

WRT India CANDU can be pretty much considered indigenous as the Canadians cut us off in 1974, or 37 years. What the real problem was that our civilian reactors and our military reactors were under the same organization. Both were completely opaque. Now that we have separated them we can go for external transparency with civilian with some sort of classified safety protocol for the military ones.

I find it baffling that reactors models and suppliers have been chosen without any form of competitive bidding or disclosure of designs. Even environmental clearance has been given without final designs. This is exactly how you get into serious trouble and is similar to how 2G happened. Do you have anything to say to that.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Folks,

The DAE study was for 2050. That is the correct timescale because NPPs have a long gestation period, so if we take 10 years as a generation, that is only 4 generations away. The much-loved 3-phase program will need these 40 years to mature. If you look at the DAE roadmap, the neutron economics dictate a large scale infusion of LWRs in the next decade or two. Without that, 3-phase cycle would be an academic exercise.

The second data point is in terms of availability of coal. By 2050, coal will start a slow process of decline in production. So, comparing to the coal mix in 2020 is not the point. It is the coal mix in 2050 that is being planned for.

These studies have been documented and presented during the debate on nuke deal -- there is nothing new here.

The question is whether India should pursue Bhabha's dream or give it up in the face of hysteria created by a black swan event in far away lands like Japan.

I am not optimistic. I believe that the DDM has sunk Bhabha. What with Shiv Sena and all, India has managed to negate the dream of one of its most brilliant physicists.
arnab

Post by arnab »

Theo_Fidel wrote: There are tons of countries, in fact the vast majority in the world, that function just fine without the nuclear 'base load'. Its just another talking point. Even Australia, that great champion of human rights in India, has no need for a nuclear plant. Happy to sell you the U3O8 however. At a nice fat profit once India comes to heel.
I think the report was making the point about 'fuels' rather than 'capacity'. You can keep adding grid capacity with coal but by 2050 we will need to import 1.6 bn tonnes of coal per annum to keep up with this demand. Hence the search for alternative fuels

Australian reluctance to going nuclear is baffling. It is completely due to Labour Parties abhorrence to things nuclear.

http://news.theage.com.au/breaking-news ... -dvbs.html
The nation's nuclear science chief has described the renewable energy sector as "a cottage industry", saying it can't generate enough power to meet national baseload requirements. Nuclear energy was the only real alternative to use of fossil fuels if Australia wanted to meet planned emissions reduction targets, Dr Ziggy Switkowski said.
Dr Switkowski said he was concerned Australia was trying to replace an industrial strength, very efficient energy infrastructure in Australia with "a cottage industry made up of windmills and solar hot water services".

"It is chalk and cheese."
somnath

Post by somnath »

Theo_Fidel wrote:And let me take on this canard about the base load cr@p. Nuclear can not function in any other way. It either on 100% or off 100%. In fact it is the only power source with this weakness of inflexibility
Thats not true - "load followng" has costs...And all the "alternates" -solar, wind anything - are unsuitable for sustained base load operations simply on reliability considerations...Gen III LWRs are actually giving nuke power the flexibility of load following at the sort of marginal cost that nukes are famous for...Which is actually going to be the "killer app" for nuke power going forward...

I had posted this earlier..Again..
http://www.cessa.eu.com/sd_papers/wp/wp ... uttall.pdf

and yet again, compare the costs of imported coal-based power and nuke power, and emmissions from coal in general...(studies on both have been posted hre before)....
Theo_Fidel wrote:WRT India CANDU can be pretty much considered indigenous as the Canadians cut us off in 1974, or 37 years. What the real problem was that our civilian reactors and our military reactors were under the same organization. Both were completely opaque. Now that we have separated them we can go for external transparency with civilian with some sort of classified safety protocol for the military ones.

I find it baffling that reactors models and suppliers have been chosen without any form of competitive bidding or disclosure of designs. Even environmental clearance has been given without final designs
All reactors are still operated by the same entity, DAE, through its various arms...We have only agreed to put some reactors under "safeguards" - those safeguards relate more to ensuring the civilian use of the reactor rather than its "safety"...In any case, AERB, whhich is also under DAE does not have oversight over our military reactors - as Dr Gopalkrishnan has confirmed...Though it seems that is anyway the case internationally.

about competitive bidding, its a valid point - Santanan brought it up earelier...I would only say that the idea is to get exposure as many different Gen III tech as possible so that in the future, the bets of all can be used to desing an Indian Gen III...Somewht similar to our approach in getting both GE BWR and CANDU..and yes, if we could "indigenise" the CANDUs, why cant w do the same with EPR? What would you say for INS Chakra, whose reactor we most probably wont even be allowed to "touch" in any ways?
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Theo,

Please reflect on these two statements from you which are in direct contradiction of each other:
Theo_Fidel wrote:This may be discussed elsewhere in greater detail but the military reactors are very small right. There are only 2-3 in the 50 MW range. Also they are run at very low capacity factors to maximize Pu production.
Theo_Fidel wrote:And let me take on this canard about the base load cr@p. Nuclear can not function in any other way. It either on 100% or off 100%.
The fact of the matter is that you are wrong in both of your assertions.

Firstly, military reactors run on "low burn up" which is not the same thing as "low capacity factor". Moreover, they are not 50 MW objects. Dhruva plus other PHWRs are 200 MW plus.

Secondly, even basic NPPs can control power output via judicious use of moderating rods. They are not an on/off technology. Areva EPRs have even more advanced control systems to determine plant output.
somnath

Post by somnath »

GuruPrabhu wrote:Secondly, even basic NPPs can control power output via judicious use of moderating rods. They are not an on/off technology. Areva EPRs have even more advanced control systems to determine plant output.
On ArevaEPR specifically, this is what the company claims..

http://elektrownia-jadrowa.pl/pdf/3-ARE ... ntigny.pdf