The Levant crisis.(Israel,SYRIA,Lebanon,etc)

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: The Levant crisis.(Israel,SYRIA,Lebanon,etc)

Santosh wrote: Is the YPG even close enough to Raqqa to mount any serious offensive?
that, I do not know. all I know is what the Iraqi PM has reputed to have said.
Santosh wrote: Kurds and IRNG claim that if it wasn't for US meddling, they would have cleaned up ISIS from Mosul. Unkil saving ISIS skin in Iraq?
so far, I have seen no evidence that the Kurds have done anything exceptional w/o US assistance of all types.

Mosul is isolated. It is going to be cutoff from ISIS. I don't even think al Bagdadi lives there anymore. I think he was severely wounded on the road to Raqqa.
Y. Kanan

Post by Y. Kanan »

Ask yourselves this: what are the long term strategic implications for India if Russia fails?

Think about it:
1) Putin weakened or thrown out of office (Color revolution?)
2) Russia on its knees (1990's redux) - no global counterweight to US-GCC axis.
3) Desperate Russia forced to sell advanced arms to Pakistan; embrace them diplomatically.
4) Desperate weak Russia cozies up more to China at India's expense
5) Emboldened Wahabbi bloc shifts focus to Central Asia, Afghanistan, India
6) Pakistan emboldened and cockier than ever
7) Global jihadists flush with victory and looking for new conquests (1990's redux)
8 ) India having lost only ally (Russia) is now in weaker strategic/diplomat position than ever.
9) NWO/globalist cabal strengthened No end to Petrodollar reign. No chance of multipolar world where India is anything but a vassal state.

These are just off the top of my head; I'm surely missing some angles here.

TSJones wrote:
Santosh wrote: Is the YPG even close enough to Raqqa to mount any serious offensive?
that, I do not know. all I know is what the Iraqi PM has reputed to have said.
Santosh wrote: Kurds and IRNG claim that if it wasn't for US meddling, they would have cleaned up ISIS from Mosul. Unkil saving ISIS skin in Iraq?
so far, I have seen no evidence that the Kurds have done anything exceptional w/o US assistance of all types.

Mosul is isolated. It is going to be cutoff from ISIS. I don't even think al Bagdadi lives there anymore. I think he was severely wounded on the road to Raqqa.
I think what the Iraqi PM meant by "US meddling" was its covert support to ISIS in form of mistaken arms drops in wrong areas, allowing ISIS oil trade through Turkey, etc. I am sure he does not doubt the US military capability against ISIS if and when the US seriously decides to use it against ISIS. But that is not going to happen, is it?

Y. Kanan,

before directly taking on Putin, NATO & munnas will try to assasinate Obama. Because he is a failure. Not that he did not try, but that he tried and failed. there is 1 more year for him to go, a lame duck year. No big military ventures can be launched in this period. So he has to be got rid off before loss becomes all but inevitable. So I sense tremendous danger to Obama's life. 1 year without any parakram and slow slide to defeat of strategy in Syria will mean permanent loss of face for NATO, US, CIA, Poodle and their standing in the world.

deep state desperate needs hillary or some warlike president.

after that they will try to have a go at Putin.

brics are in step-by-step mode, they are not at all totally hands-off this situation. At every stage of NATO escalation new players will enter the field. There is tacit understanding between all most non-NATO powers in this regard. But nobody is openly exposing their cards now. It is very risky and troubled situation. Because in 1 step, a somebody can become a nobody. It just takes one slip, this situation is that precarious.

my reading of situation.

deejay wrote: I think what the Iraqi PM meant by "US meddling" was its covert support to ISIS in form of mistaken arms drops in wrong areas, allowing ISIS oil trade through Turkey, etc. I am sure he does not doubt the US military capability against ISIS if and when the US seriously decides to use it against ISIS. But that is not going to happen, is it?
we are not going to be Iranian cat's paws via the Iraqi government. get that notion out of your mind. we made an attempt for federalism in Iraq, rather foolishly, which nobody had any allegiance to, and they dropped their weapons and ran and they are blaming us for ISIL?
Last edited by TSJones on 05 Dec 2015 12:45, edited 2 times in total.

May be we need to support Russia here. Loss is not an option for Russia in this high stakes game. Those who say that we will invite sunni anger are forgetting that we always did invited their anger being infidels and will be attacked by them in future also. We may have to support Russia with logistics etc as a starting point.

With a media report saying that Dawood still controls the Bombay real estate biz,India should send an Agni or two up his nether end in his Karachi hideout. Pak will do b*gger all if we attack and exterminate him thus. Bombing Syria can wait for a later time.We should exterminate the TSP bandicoots first.

However,Sushma has recd. an invitation from the Syrians- a nice gesture,to attend a conference in Damascus.India should attend to show that we also have vital interests in the region.China will definitely be there,so should we.This way we will make it impossible for us not to have or demand a high table seat on Afghanistan too. Since the UN has now declared open war on ISIS,India's participation at the Damascus conf. will not be controversial. It will also show our independence in foreign policy.

^^^^with no thought of any economic consequences at all.

If US & all-lies win this round, oil will be $150, what economy will remain then ?

Turkey just shot down a Russian aircraft for 17 secs of alleged violation of its air space,but look at its duplicity? It invades Iraq!

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/d ... oss-border
Iraq orders Turkey to 'immediately' withdraw troops sent across border

Prime minister’s office says the deployment of an armoured regiment ‘is considered a serious violation of Iraqi sovereignty’
Kurdish peshmerga forces prepare for battle against the Isis.

Iraq has told Turkey to “immediately” withdraw forces, including tanks and artillery, it has deployed in the country’s north without Baghdad’s consent, the office of the prime minister, Haider al-Abadi, said on Saturday.
“The Iraqi authorities call on Turkey to ... immediately withdraw from Iraqi territory,” the statement said.

“We have confirmation that Turkish forces, numbering about one armoured regiment with a number of tanks and artillery, entered Iraqi territory ... allegedly to train Iraqi groups, without a request or authorisation from Iraqi federal authorities,” it said.

The deployment “is considered a serious violation of Iraqi sovereignty”, it added.

Turkish media reported that about 150 Turkish soldiers backed by 20 to 25 tanks had been sent by road to the Bashiqa area north-east of Mosul, the city that is Islamic State’s main hub in Iraq.

Peshmerga forces from Iraq’s autonomous Kurdish region are deployed in the area, and Turkey’s Anatolia news agency said the troops were there to train them.

Isis overran swaths of territory north and west of Baghdad in 2014, and Iraqi forces backed by US-led airstrikes are battling to push back the jihadis.

The peshmerga are one of the most effective Iraqi forces in the fight against Isis, but coordination between them and the federal government in Baghdad has generally been poor.

TSJ,

You mean the US will stop its economic dealings on some way with India and China? If just one of the two, Lucy will have some splainin' to do. Come on now. We know that won't happen. Just some empty generalized rhetoric, if that. And that's fine. It's as it should be. Business will go on.

I'm referring to Sushma's visit to Syria. The bombing of Pak is just a Googly by Philip
Y. Kanan

Post by Y. Kanan »

Philip wrote:With a media report saying that Dawood still controls the Bombay real estate biz,India should send an Agni or two up his nether end in his Karachi hideout. Pak will do b*gger all if we attack and exterminate him thus. Bombing Syria can wait for a later time.We should exterminate the TSP bandicoots first.
No argument on that score, but then why haven't we done this already, notwithstanding events in far-off lands like Syria?

Maybe the IAF could benefit from some real-world operational experience. The costs and risks are relatively low.

I am not advocating sending our AC to bomb. All I am saying is that we need to be active in ME. We can at least take care of ME munnas who support terror in India. No one can object to that. We shall be stop being passive. ME nations do take steps like funding Pakis regularly. Once we are active both diplomatically and also other covert missions of liquidating people like D Company, a message will go that they can not mess with our interests.

JE Menon wrote:TSJ,

You mean the US will stop its economic dealings on some way with India and China? If just one of the two, Lucy will have some splainin' to do. Come on now. We know that won't happen. Just some empty generalized rhetoric, if that. And that's fine. It's as it should be. Business will go on.

I'm referring to Sushma's visit to Syria. The bombing of Pak is just a Googly by Philip
no, I mean gulf states with India. you have a lot of interests there that are vulnerable. I suspect the GOI understands this if certain posters do not.

Y. Kanan wrote:Ask yourselves this: what are the long term strategic implications for India if Russia fails?

Think about it:
1) Putin weakened or thrown out of office (Color revolution?)
2) Russia on its knees (1990's redux) - no global counterweight to US-GCC axis.
3) Desperate Russia forced to sell advanced arms to Pakistan; embrace them diplomatically.
4) Desperate weak Russia cozies up more to China at India's expense
5) Emboldened Wahabbi bloc shifts focus to Central Asia, Afghanistan, India
6) Pakistan emboldened and cockier than ever
7) Global jihadists flush with victory and looking for new conquests (1990's redux)
8 ) India having lost only ally (Russia) is now in weaker strategic/diplomat position than ever.
9) NWO/globalist cabal strengthened No end to Petrodollar reign. No chance of multipolar world where India is anything but a vassal state.

These are just off the top of my head; I'm surely missing some angles here.
US & Russia are very powerful countries because they manufacture their own weapons. In realistic sense, they don't have any allies. They only have client states. China is also emerging to be a new power. So far, it doesn't have many client states. But, many states seem to flirting with China as it is seen as the next-superpower.

As for meddling in middle-east, first we should set right our near-abroad(Indian sub-continent). Then we can worry about the rest of the asia. China is already putting pearls around our neck.

+108.

Taking on pakis and others is a must and shall be our first priority. We need to ensure that they are our munnas or afraid to do anything against us. But two of the munnas are basically wannabe ME nations. They act like ME nations only. So ME for India is in its borders.
Y. Kanan

Post by Y. Kanan »

Six reasons why India should join Russian air strikes in Syria :twisted:
8 October 2015 RAKESH KRISHNAN SIMHA
http://in.rbth.com/blogs/stranger_than_ ... ria_480837

TSJones wrote:^^^^with no thought of any economic consequences at all.
There are no downsides to attending Damascus conference. Upsides are potentially some reconstruction offers when NATO is eventually kicked out.
Bhurishrava

Post by Bhurishrava »

Peshmerga forces from Iraq’s autonomous Kurdish region are deployed in the area, and Turkey’s Anatolia news agency said the troops were there to train them.
:eek: :shock:

Peshmerga is to turks what Shias are to Sunnis. And Turks are training them. Guardian seems to be high or its another wmd in iraq.

Y Kanan ji points are valid. The goal that west and the western backed terrorists have set is to eliminate Assad. If Assad goes, Russia is weakened. If Russia is weakened, US does become stronger. It gives US time and place to escalate the pivot to asia. No wonder China is staying out of this. Somehow, India is still a client state- but its better to be a client state of Russia for the short term than the US. With billary in office we are going to be even greater trouble. Perhaps sending military to Syria may not be a bad idea. JUst my thoughts.

>>no, I mean gulf states with India. you have a lot of interests there that are vulnerable. I suspect the GOI understands this if certain posters do not.

Oh no, not at all TSJ. Both GoI and GCC understand the equation very very well. First, they won't sanction us and leave China out of it - again, splainin to do. Second, they know very well that business will come to a grinding halt if the Indians leave or their remittances are cancelled. Dreaming that the Filipinos will step in is just, well, a dream. But the most important thing is this: the GCC states know that India will not do anything against our own interest. What's the trip to Damascus? Just maintaining relationships with an old friend, Assad. Did you see them whining about our relationship with Iran? We know how to deal with those gentlemen in the Gulf. Nothing will be jeopardised if Sushma goes to Damascus, although a few editorial pens may be exercised.
Bhurishrava

Post by Bhurishrava »

Russian problems are economic. Not military. If you want to help Russia. Just buy oil from them. Or weapons.

Sunnis and Shias are murdering each other. Rather than sitting back and enjoying yourself, you want to get involved.
And that when you are being wooed by both the Sunni and Shia block. Modi visited UAE in a jiffy. Got cooperation from them against terrorists. Saudi king calls Modi to discuss issues. India has vital economic interests in the Gulf.

Even Israel is least interested in interfering on either side. The shia-sunni war is going to continue for another 20 years. We will do well to embark on a strong economic programme while the Americans and Europeans try to extinguish the fire they have lit. No getting involved in this shyte.

illegaly occupy a hilltop overlooking 712 highway on turkish border. they are on there to protect ISIS oil shipments from raqqa to tukry.
BREAKING: Turkey Invaded Syria, Captured Tal Ziyab

The Turkish army has built foritications at Tal Ziyab to defend the supply route which ISIS uses for smuggling the Syrian oil from the ISIS-controlled city of Raqqa to Turkey.

http://southfront.org/turkey-invaded-sy ... tal-ziyab/

The Turkish army invaded the Syrian territory and took control of the hill Tal Ziyab.

Troops crossed the border accompanied by bulldozers.

After occupying the high ground (50 meters), the Turkish force built fortifications.

Also, 3 battle tanks, 2 armored infantry fighting vehicles and several SUVs were deployed there.

Considering the location of Tal Ziyab, Turkey wants to cover the smuggling route of the Syrian oil which is taken out of the ISIS-controlled Raqqa.

“It is a challenge to the sovereignty of Syria from the point of view of international law, and we encourage the Syrian government to protest against the international courts at the official level, – Lifenews cites one of the locals. – In the past, support for the terrorists conducted in secret, but now it is official action of the Turkish army, which requires a formal protest to the United Nations “.

It seems that Ankara has decided to act much more aggresively after the Ministry of Defense of Russia were released pictures and videos of oil delivery convoys at the border between Syria and Turkey.

We remember, on Nov. 24, the Turkish Air Force shot down Russian Su-24 in Syria.

Discussing the incident Russian President Vladimir Putin has said that the Su-24 was shot down by Turkey to protect oil deliveries of the ISIS terrorist group.

US is escalating quickly to save at least part of their original plan. Most of the moves are being made by Proxy Turkey. They are repeating their lifelong mantra of "Act crazy to intimidate the rational players"

This time it'll be interesting to observe the asymmetric route taken by Putin because he also read Robert Jervis's book: Perception And Misperception in international politics (Required reading for State Dept. higher ups. :mrgreen: Delicate situation ahead.

http://press.princeton.edu/titles/1257.html

Top Israeli officer: In our worst nightmares, we never saw Russia’s S-400 in Syria

http://www.timesofisrael.com/top-idf-of ... -in-syria/

“In our worst nightmares, we never dreamed we would have the S-400 system in our backyard with Syria, or that there would be cruise missiles here,” the member of the General Staff told Israeli defense correspondents

European Internet Service Providers Know Coordinates of Terrorist Centers of Daesh Internet Propaganda

Militants and accomplices of the Islamic State (ISIL, or Daesh in Arabic) extremist terrorist group use European Internet service providers to disseminate their propaganda and such European operators know the coordinates of these users, who are reportedly based in Syria and Iraq, German media reported Friday

http://sputniknews.com/europe/20151204/ ... ation.html

BERLIN (Sputnik) — The militant terrorist group is known for recruiting people from all over the world via social networks.

The publication cites documents that show that at least several hundred sets of equipment, including satellite dishes and modems for receiving and transmitting signals, are installed in Daesh-occupied territories.

These devices are connected to satellite installations operations by:

European firms, including

British Avanti Communications

French Eutelsat

"Spiegel Online received 2014 and 2015 GPS coordinates, and this data shows that the facilities are precisely in Daesh-controlled areas, many are stationed in the Syrian city of Aleppo.

Other locations are in the Daesh capital of Raqqah, Al Bab, Deir ez Zor, and along the Euphrates to Iraq…," the article reads.

According to the media outlet, the technology and the Internet access are sold through a network company-distributors.

The equipment is delivered via Turkey.

no permission needed by USA or NATO munna to set up whorehouse, smuggling dens in Syria
US AND YPG BUILDING A MILITARY AIRBASE IN NORTH-EASTERN SYRIA !

TEHRAN (FNA) - US experts are reconstructing and equipping a desolate airport in the region controlled by the Kurdish forces in Hasaka region, Northeastern Syria, to turn it into a military base. The Lebanese al-Akhbar newspaper reported on Saturday that a number of US experts have entered the region since 50 days ago to develop and prepare the runways with 2,500m length and 250m width to be used by fighter jets. Abu Hajar airport which has not been used since 2010 is located in Tal al-Hajar region in the Eastern countryside of Hasaka which is controlled by the Kurdish People's Defense Units (YPG). The airbase is located Southeast of the town of Rimelan, which is one of the YPG’s main strongholds and “largest arms and ammunition depots.”

The US has not received or even asked for a permission from Damascus for reconstructing the airbase. The United States does not have a UN mandate for interventing in the Syria war.

The report came over a week after the Kurdish region said that the US and Kurdish forces were working together to construct a 10 hectare military airbase South of the town of Rimelan in the village of Rimelan al-Basha. “American experts are directly supervising the airbase with a Kurdish workforce,” the reports claimed, saying that US unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) had been flown from the facility to test it. The report also said that two helicopter had flown over the town of Rimelan on November 24 and landed eight US military specialists at the airport.
http://en.farsnews.com/newstext.aspx?nn=13940914000257
mohanty

Post by mohanty »

Y. Kanan wrote:Six reasons why India should join Russian air strikes in Syria :twisted:

Send the Rakesh Simha to Syria to fight for Russia or US. And he should be free to sell his possessions to pay for the expenses to achieve "glory".

Check out @sayed_ridha's Tweet: https://twitter.com/sayed_ridha/status/ ... 49956?s=09

Shia militia organizing boycott of Saudi products

rus landing ship transits Bosporus with a manpad shooter on deck
Check out @JosephHDempsey's Tweet: https://twitter.com/JosephHDempsey/stat ... 75588?s=09

rus supply ships are going through Bosporus.

turkishnavy.net
One of the most discussed topics after the shooting down of a Russian Su-24 by Turkish F-16 was whether Turkey would allow Russian warships to pass through the Turkish Straits. The answer as evident from the photos is yes, Turkey did allow Russian warship to pass through the Straits.

We have observed Ropucha class landing ship Korolev and Alligator class landing ship Saratov going to south and Ropucha class landing ship Yamal going to north.

Date Number Name Direction Nationality
03.12.2015 71 USS Ross Northbound USA
02.12.2015 156 Yamal Northbound Russia
02.12.2015 150 Saratov Southbound Russia
01.12.2015 Yauza Northbound Russia
28.11.2015 130 Korolev Southbound Russia
25.11.2015 158 Tsezar Kunikov Northbound

Khan saheb is rotating a single ddg51 ship through the black Sea for months now...one is always there

turkey has gathered a coalition of 8000 nujaifis ( who are they?), pro ottoman Kurds and turkomans under a new banner in mosul region to create a lever. army advisors sent for training.

the pro Iran kurd outfit and pro USA peshmerga are the two other players in this three corner play.

further west the pkk claims the pesh don't help much and tried to claim sinjar glory etc.

they are allowing ships but restricting the movement in numbers, they may not entirely close down the strait but they can curtail the number of russian ships that pass through it.

look at this.
a huge IS convoy in sights of some Russian drone or jet.
RAW: Massive truck flow through Syrian-Turkish border at Reyhanli checkpoint
[youtube]Nk7pu7j_l6Q#t=16[/youtube]

mohanty wrote:
Y. Kanan wrote:Six reasons why India should join Russian air strikes in Syria :twisted:

Send the Rakesh Simha to Syria to fight for Russia or US. And he should be free to sell his possessions to pay for the expenses to achieve "glory".
You are not getting it!

We can deploy our paid media services to get a sense of things first! they have the capability and wherewithals to be on the frontline and take commands!

mohanty wrote:

Besides the fact that Rakesh is a resident of New Zealand, there are few flaws in that article (his thinking).

The biggest one is "India’s counter-terror expertise can be a game changer". He either did not do his homework or his blind faith led him to that, but, India is highly integrated with the Western/US intel agencies and especially Israeli!!!!

IF at all India was forced to go in there she will be as neutral as possible and if pushed too much would lean towards - ever so slightly - towards the "West".

Having said that even Russian presence is more to ensure Russian seat at the high table in the emerging world order. I very much doubt Putin cares for Assad. All she wants is a base in that region. And, as long as Iran is funding Russia will be there.

NRao wrote:, India is highly integrated with the Western/US intel agencies and especially Israeli!!!!
& it helped india tremendously during 26/11, integrated western agencies gave advance info ...

.....to LeT
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

The situation here is so fluid that no one knows how it will play out in the long term. In the short term it may be advantage Russia's 4+1 but does Russia have the resources and perseverance for a long drawn out war?
US and NATO is going to fight till the last Turk/Turkmen. It is pretty much clear with the Iraq situation. If they can enter Iraq, they will enter Syria.
Assad will mostly to go, it's only a matter of time. There can be no political solution with Assad in power. It will be a major loss of face for Unkil and Aunties and they will not allow it.
US will get Qatari/Saud/Arab gas to Europe, most likely through a new Sunni client state or Kurdistan. Question is what will Ru get in return for this and Assad.
Russia is simply moving fast enough so that when everybody is tired and ready to come to table, Ru can negotiate from a position of power.
It is in India's best interest to stay out and watch the game unfold over the next couple years. There is no hurry.
2 naya paisa onlee.

BTW, I am curious what will be the Russian response to latest NATO escalation in Iraq. Looks like everyone will forget pretty soon that this is a war on terror to eradicate ISIS.
mohanty

Post by mohanty »

IF at all India was forced to go in there she will be as neutral as possible and if pushed too much would lean towards - ever so slightly - towards the "West".

Having said that even Russian presence is more to ensure Russian seat at the high table in the emerging world order. I very much doubt Putin cares for Assad. All she wants is a base in that region. And, as long as Iran is funding Russia will be there.
We saw how the "neutral" and peacekeeping worked when IPKF went to Sri Lanka when the elitist Rajiv Gandhi sent them there.

Syria and Iraq are entirely engineered wars as is the puppet show called ISIS running around with Nike shoes and AK47 and getting orders from London/Telaviv.

No Indian should die or our precious money spent fighting these foreign drama so a few armchair generals can post some IAF bombing pics and feel "glorious" achieving superfluous things like "international prestige".

We focus on trading with everyone and be friends with all sides and grow.

Singha wrote:Check out @sayed_ridha's Tweet: https://twitter.com/sayed_ridha/status/ ... 49956?s=09

Shia militia organizing boycott of Saudi products
What products, other than gasoline which doesn't have a Made in Xxxx. Label?

Russian-Bullied Turkey Gets a Hug from Azerbaijan - Dec 04, 2015
Pounded with threats and sanctions from Russia, Turkey on December 4 went to its Turkic cousin Azerbaijan to get some much-needed love and economic reassurance. Turkish Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoğlu received not only an ardent, mi-casa-es-su-casa welcome in Baku, but also promises of more business and energy supplies just as Russia is trying to starve Turkey of both of those things.

Sitting next to Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev, the Turkish prime minister melted into a lengthy toast to kinship between Azerbaijan and Turkey; one country that fate divided in two, he said. Azerbaijan is Turkey’s “soul,” “spiritual homeland,” and Turkey’s ministers are Azerbaijan’s ministers, in Davutoğlu's telling.
Azerbaijan oil rig fire kills 32 - Dec 05, 2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zOem442PARo

mohanty wrote:

Rakesh Simha for once even if he cannot stop hyperventilating about his bleeding heart for Rodina, he just simply has to copy what china is doing. Looks like chinese have lot better handle on this situation than hyper-ventilating about Russia. Why is China silent? and SDREs seem to be extremely energized and think about lobbing missiles, flying aircrafts and other assorted fantasies? Oh well, where are the 50 centers when you need them?