2020 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

Re: 2020 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

CRamS wrote:
chetak wrote:never knew that this shady lady was canadian,
ChetakJi, I stopped even reading a single tweet by this fraud of a woman (Rupa Subramanya) after her silly attacks on ModiJi (someone mentioned that she was expecting a kushy position under a BJP govt and she turned bitter when that wasn't forthcoming. Other cretins in the same league are Tavleen Singh and Arun Shourie who has been silent of later after his Rafale gambit against Modiji bounced). But this tweet shows how shameless elites like her are who run away from India at the first instance of trouble, and their sense of entitlement. I Recall the same post parliament attack by Pakis in 2001, when India mobilized, and US started issuing travel alerts, several NRI business men were urging US embassy to evacuate them. But trust these fly by frauds to pontificate about the 'poor' once they reach their comfort zones in NJ or Toronto. And then they get to be 'experts' on UndY or in WP and NYT.

But what surprises me is that Mohandas Pai who is normally a nationalist many-a-times by re-tweeting this fraud's pontificates, appearing to endorse her.

she self styles herself as one of the top economists in the world and in the past has gotten some of her sycophants to tweet this nonsense which was then retweeted several times.

I think that she's been off her meds for some time now.

chetak wrote:Any further proof required of the complicity of khujliwal and his hired goons in muscling the hapless UP/bihar migrants out of dilli :mrgreen:

Centre suspends Delhi State Transport Secretary for illegally plying buses to transport migrant labour to UP border. State’s Finance Secretary also suspended https://pgurus.com/centre-suspends-delh ... -suspended/ via @PGurus1
“It has been brought to the notice of the competent authority that the following officers, who were responsible to ensure strict compliance to the instructions issued by Chairperson, National Executive Committee, formed under Disaster Management Act 2005 regarding containment of the spread of COVID-19, have prima facie failed to do so.

“These officers have failed to ensure public health and safety during the lockdown restrictions to combat COVID-19. Due to the serious lapse in the performance of their duties, the competent authority has initiated disciplinary proceedings against the following officers:

Additional Chief Secretary, Transport Department, GNCTD – Suspended with immediate effect.

Additional Chief Secretary, Home and Land Buildings Departments, GNCTD – Show Cause Notice.

Principal Secretary, Finance, GNCTD & Divisional Commissioner, GNCTD – Suspended with immediate effect.

SDM Seelampur – Show Cause Notice,” said the suspension order issued by the Union Home Ministry.

Sunday evening, Delhi Police had filed First Information Report (FIR)s over 44 Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) buses headed to the UP border with migrant workers. The first FIR registered by the police had indicated that the buses had been deployed on orders of government officials. According to the FIR, when the police asked the bus staffer “why are they carrying migrant passengers, that too without issuing any ticket to them, all of them told that ‘they had orders from superiors’.” The FIR listed registration numbers of 44 buses. Anand Vihar Bus Station, where thousands of migrant labour crowded is under the jurisdiction of SDM Seelampur, who also got a Show-cause notice.
The IAS in Delhi are appointed by MHA and report to the L-G, not the CM.

https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/De ... 581987.ece
Speaking on the transfer of Mr. Prakash, AAP spokesperson Saurabh Bharadwaj said the elected government had not been consulted. He added that the BJP-ruled Centre had stopped consulting the government after a notification of the MHA in 2015 that said “services” would be under the L-G, not the elected government.

What are the services and facilities in Delhi that the local government is actually answerable for, and more importantly, has taken responsibility for, to the extent of accepting failure unequivocally ?

The case continues to build for Delhi to be entirely stripped of its elected government simply because they have no responsibilities that they actually stand behind. A setup where one can promise people the moon without any need to be responsible for failure combined with the ability to blame that failure on someone else, is the textbook definition of an artificial rentier class who serve no purpose.

Get rid of the Delhi state government system by legislative order - they're nothing more than an elected NGO, and can go back to being an unelected one.

agupta wrote:
ArjunPandit wrote: I too think so. While I'm not in Delhi right now, but whatever little I saw in 30 years.. You can't starve in the city. Families sharing food, giving good to homeless even now. I Heard some stories that many builders asked labours to leave the construction complexes b as they foresee no work in coming months.. That's what sparked the exodus. The side effects for ab population that's never done DIY woud be huge

I have no comments to offer on the politics etc - but worry that you sir are a bit out of touch of the reality of the lower classes ... do you seriously believe “ you cannot starve in the city”? Maybe a typo since u yourself indicate a reason as to why one could starve; so out of touch that we translate a politicians declaration “ no one should charge rent” into instant translation to reality on the ground?
i do not deny your things..but sir i have sseen the character of city up and close ..things may have changed a bit here and there in last 5 years..but the people not..they would pass through a dead body lying on accident or may be ignore eve teasing..but give food..have seen people helping with food..thats just delhi..i have been to the poorest areas of old delhi around jama masjid..beggarrs around..purana quilla and have seen people feeding the poor ..yes help reaching may be a problem..but help would be given to anyone who needs..

foreigner islamic preachers in India

^^^^^^^

he has spoken a lot and almost all of it is in the air.

Very little substance but long on rhetoric.

This guy usually does much better than this

Recruit young idealistic bright folks for anti-India activities. Slowly turn them into jihadinis. If it does not work, just use them and throw

Tina Dabi’s husband Athar Aamir Khan unfollows her on Instagram after IAS topper drops Khan from surname; IAS couple unfollows each other on Twitter exclusively reported how Tina Dabi had dropped Khan from her surname and removed the reference to being a Kashmiri bahu, the IAS topper from the 2016 batch has also unfollowed her husband Athar Aamir Khan on Twitter. Speculations about her relationship status have gained momentum on social media after many eagle-eyed users found that Athar has also unfollowed Tina on Instagram. साल 2015 की टॉपर टीना डाबी यूपीएससी की परीक्षा टॉप करने के बाद से ही लगातार चर्चा में ही रही हैं. दिल्ली की इस आईएएस टॉपर ने 2018 में यूपीएससी के फ़ेलो टॉपर अतहर आमिर खान से शादी की थी.. शादी के बाद टीना ने इन्स्टाग्राम पर अपनी बायो में "खान" सरनेम जोड़कर "कश्मीरी बहू" का टैग जोड़ लिया था... लेकिन अब खबर है कि उन्होंने सरनेम से खान शब्द हटा दिया है। टीना डाबी ने कश्मीरी बहू का सरनेम भी छोड़ दिया है। इतना ही नहीं टीना ने एक इंस्टा स्टोरी में हनुमान चालीसा की चौपाई का एक हिस्सा साझा करते हुए लिखा कि सबसुख लहै तुम्हारी सरना, तुम रक्षक काहू को डरना और बाद में जयश्री राम का नारा भी लगाया.
#Tina_Dabi #Athar_Aamir_Khan #IAS_couple #हनुमान_चालीसा_की_चौपाई
#रंग_दे_बसन्ती #राजीव_चौधरी #rajeev_choudhary #satya_sanatan

I am not sure how marriage with a peaceful can work in today's world unless the non-peaceful completely cows down and becomes very peaceful-like. Even in Whatsapp groups, it is not possible, my school group was a hindi section with most peacefuls in our batch in my section and political discussions led to fights and arguments and peacefuls left the group (and probably started their own). Religious groups are too polarized.

If the news is true, the husband might have been making snide comments which may have caused a rift.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/ne ... 786154.cms
India on alert as ‘China deploys dozen underwater drones in IOR'

International business magazine Forbes on Sunday reported China had deployed a dozen “Sea Wing” underwater drones from specialist research vessel Xiangyanghong 06 in the IOR in mid-December before recovering them last month. These long-range Sea Wing gliders made “more than 3,400 observations” for the winter survey of the “joint ocean and ecology research project”

Sniffing around to get a sonar signature of Arihant probably.

this should be interesting.

ISKON does not serve "food"

It serves "prashad"

Hare Krishna

many peacefuls accept it and yet again, many other peacefuls do not

Radharamn Das @RadharamnDas
Happy to announce that from today onwards ISKCON Kolkata has also started serving people cooked food. This is in addition to 1.5 lacs meals pan India which we are serving since #lockdown
12:51 PM · Mar 30, 2020

kagaz nahi abhi dikhayenge :mrgreen:

Da_Lying_Lama@GoofyOlives·Mar 29
No this is not a queue for grocery shopping but for registration for relief amount under PM package under corona and they do have papers.

Baffled. Should this really be happening when India needs medical protective equipment more than ever

UNDP in Serbia@UNDPSerbia · Mar 29
The 2nd cargo Boeing 747 with 90t of medical protective equipment landed from India to Belgrade today. The transportation of valuable supplies purchased by @SerbianGov has been fully funded by the #EU while @UNDPSerbia organized the flight & ensured the fastest possible delivery.

chetak, please stop your habit of crossposting in the coronavirus resource thread and here. The two threads are not overlapping entities.

chetak wrote:Baffled. Should this really be happening when India needs medical protective equipment more than ever

UNDP in Serbia@UNDPSerbia · Mar 29
The 2nd cargo Boeing 747 with 90t of medical protective equipment landed from India to Belgrade today. The transportation of valuable supplies purchased by @SerbianGov has been fully funded by the #EU while @UNDPSerbia organized the flight & ensured the fastest possible delivery.

Kerala firm exports 35L pairs of surgical gloves to Serbia

https://www.newindianexpress.com/cities ... 23625.html

Uncle desai spreading propaganda....in reality

Kerala firm exports 35L pairs of surgical gloves to Serbia

KOCHI: Around 35 lakh pairs of sterile surgical gloves were airlifted from the Cochin International Airport to Serbia on Monday, to bolster the east European country’s fight against Covid-19. The gloves — weighing 90,385 kg and packed in 7,091 carton boxes — were sent to Belgrade on the Boeing 747 cargo freighter aircraft of TransAVIAexport Airlines. The gloves were exported by St Mary’s Rubbers(P) Ltd, Kanjirapilly, said a release issued by the airport.

In the wake of the 21- day lockdown, the Cochin Customs gave its clearance and the cargo department of CIAL made it ready for the flight on a war footing. The airport said a another such airlift is planned on Tuesday. India lifted the ban on export of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) kits on February 9 and again imposed it on March 19, excluding surgical gloves and some other items. Now, the export ban is applicable only for surgical masks, especially N95 types.

Wish we could extend to missionaries too.... Anyway, next few yrs genuine tourist traffic will fall a lot so might as well stop giving or renewing tourist visas to goras of all hues. Except Israelis & Russians - they don't prosletyze here at least.

Many state governments are thinking about salary cuts for the government staff. Especially Kerala who was the first to declare a Rs. 200,000 crore package for Corona/COVID-19 recovery.
1. Kerala govt employees likely to face salary cut for not taking part in Salary Challenge.
2. Covid-19: Telangana govt announces up to 75% salary cuts for its employees.

and they say marxism is not a religion

what started out as a very routine community contempt and disregard for govt orders has now panicked and exposed the jamaat/markaz and the foreign preachers most of whom are also going to be banned from visiting India.

The partnership of jihadis and the left lunatics continues to flourish in India.

Kavita Krishnan@kavita_krishnan
Shame @AtishiAAP, that you are justifying this reasoning. Take responsibility. Did the Delhi Govt, SDM etc deny permission for this SPECIFIC gathering? Were they unaware it was happening? Don't throw #TableeghiJamaat under the bus.

Atishi@AtishiAAP
Delhi Govt had issued an order on 13th March, prohibiting gatherings of more than 200 persons. Therefore, the gathering was illegal.
6:54 PM · Mar 31, 2020

Hari Seldon wrote:
Wish we could extend to missionaries too.... Anyway, next few yrs genuine tourist traffic will fall a lot so might as well stop giving or renewing tourist visas to goras of all hues. Except Israelis & Russians - they don't prosletyze here at least.
after this fiasco, everyone will be in the cross hairs.

Not April fool prank! Vehicles will be seized if COVID-19 lockdown ignored, says Karnataka Police chief

I don't know who came up with this another brilliant plan.
The Karnataka Police Department has decided to seize all two/four-wheelers if they ignore the lockdown regulation and roam around in the city or any parts of the state. The state police chief Praveen Sood told DH that the Bengaluru city police have already seized nearly 5,000 vehicles as all the two and four-wheelers are banned from use till April 14. "We will seize their vehicle if they cease to ignore this lockdown regulation. People will be booked under the National Disaster Management Act and their vehicles will not be released till the lock-down period," he said.

"All the groceries and essentials are available in their own area, only entry and exits of layouts have been blocked and if anybody wants to purchase these essentials, they can go by walk and buy them.What is the job of a person staying in Koramangala and wanting to buy groceries from Yeshwantpur? Police are helping those who want to go to the hospital. Only vehicles and persons who are providing essential services are allowed to travel and others have to stay at home," Sood added.

People have to understand that this is a medical emergency and their lives are at risk, he said.
Actually walking increases the duration of exposure and would it not be better to step out once and shop as much as possible for the rest of lock down period rather than have to step out every 2-3 days to shop for groceries. And how would one carry 10Kg+ of groceries by walk even if the nearest shop is a 500m away, especially for senior citizens and/or women. Also the nearest grocery place has half of their shelves empty most of the time. So, we need to go another bigger grocery shop which is easily 1.5 Kms+...

Further, bigbasket always shows in BLR that all slots are full. And earlier, they did not have certain essentials like rice & wheat flour available. Also tried to reach big bazaar through the number we had and it was coming as switched off. So, its not like e-commerce/online portals can be relied upon.

I understand the concern of police but this seems like a badly or half-thought idea and this can only increase the stress on many citizens.

If cars are allowed then people will be all over the city. That is how it is. Police are all ways under pressure. Whatever they do their get blamed for it. If they do not do they get blamed.

KJo wrote:I am not sure how marriage with a peaceful can work in today's world unless the non-peaceful completely cows down and becomes very peaceful-like. Even in Whatsapp groups, it is not possible, my school group was a hindi section with most peacefuls in our batch in my section and political discussions led to fights and arguments and peacefuls left the group (and probably started their own). Religious groups are too polarized.

If the news is true, the husband might have been making snide comments which may have caused a rift.
Sir add committed Evagelist as well.
to tell U my own experience from work place of a South Indian Xian haranguing me for being overtly hindu in these times and supporting of all people BJP/Modi
There is a wider group at work here(on the social media), they try to shame U amongst friends or coerce you to accept their line :-?

Zynda wrote:Not April fool prank! Vehicles will be seized if COVID-19 lockdown ignored, says Karnataka Police chief

The Karnataka Police Department has decided to seize all two/four-wheelers if they ignore the lockdown regulation and roam around in the city or any parts of the state. The state police chief Praveen Sood told DH that the Bengaluru city police have already seized nearly 5,000 vehicles as all the two and four-wheelers are banned from use till April 14. "We will seize their vehicle if they cease to ignore this lockdown regulation. People will be booked under the National Disaster Management Act and their vehicles will not be released till the lock-down period," he said.

"All the groceries and essentials are available in their own area, only entry and exits of layouts have been blocked and if anybody wants to purchase these essentials, they can go by walk and buy them.What is the job of a person staying in Koramangala and wanting to buy groceries from Yeshwantpur? Police are helping those who want to go to the hospital. Only vehicles and persons who are providing essential services are allowed to travel and others have to stay at home," Sood added.

People have to understand that this is a medical emergency and their lives are at risk, he said.
Actually walking increases the duration of exposure and would it not be better to step out once and shop as much as possible for the rest of lock down period rather than have to step out every 2-3 days to shop for groceries. And how would one carry 10Kg+ of groceries by walk even if the nearest shop is a 500m away, especially for senior citizens and/or women. Also the nearest grocery place has half of their shelves empty most of the time. So, we need to go another bigger grocery shop which is easily 1.5 Kms+...

Further, bigbasket always shows in BLR that all slots are full. And earlier, they did not have certain essentials like rice & wheat flour available. Also tried to reach big bazaar through the number we had and it was coming as switched off. So, its not like e-commerce/online portals can be relied upon.

I understand the concern of police but this seems like a badly or half-thought idea and this can only increase the stress on many citizens.
Totally agree with the Police sir.
In some cities in Uk only two type of people on the road during the later half.: Taxi-cabs and leaner drivers(parents/partners/husbands/wife's teaching) as the roads are empty.
Have to say the young ones are not going crazy with scooters/bikes/quadbikes
It is the grown-ups who think this is an opportunity not to be missed :shock:

Zynda wrote:Not April fool prank! Vehicles will be seized if COVID-19 lockdown ignored, says Karnataka Police chief

I live in Bangalore and visit the grocery store for my requirements. In a couple of days from lockdown, the kirana stores across my locality got stocks, with the usual ingenuity that stores demonstrate in such times.
I used to run a grocery chain (100+ stores) and checked with my contacts that stock levels are reasonably high. I agree that cars and vehicles are not required - else there will be far too many, defeating the purpose of a lockdown. In fact, I have not used any delivery site, the local shop system (incl. delivering heavier packages) is working fine.

Zynda wrote:What is the job of a person staying in Koramangala and wanting to buy groceries from Yeshwantpur?
Sir, did you notice the above part in Com.Pol's message? :). There were lots of people who just 'misused' the empty roads to roam around. The police is after them. And from what I came to know maximum vehicles seized are two wheelers. People moving in cars and buying stocks at 'wholesale' level is only going to lead to panic buying and quicker depletion of stocks. The police has been quite liberal in allowing goods vehicles to ply.
Further, bigbasket always shows in BLR that all slots are full. And earlier, they did not have certain essentials like rice & wheat flour available.
Same story here. In fact they are much more unreliable than the nearest grocery shop at our place. There were some specific products which I had to rely upon them so had tried to place an order. Amazon is also in the same mode. What I realise is that all these fancy online stores etc works well when the situation is normal. Any other scenario, its only the age old practises which actually work.
Deans wrote:I live in Bangalore and visit the grocery store for my requirements. In a couple of days from lockdown, the kirana stores across my locality got stocks, with the usual ingenuity that stores demonstrate in such times.
+1. In my part of the woods, which is away from the city by a good measure things are pretty much normal. Only major differences would be lesser people on the road, the friendly wine shaaps and small darshini hotels closed. Two days after the lock down, there was a shortage of vegetables & groceries. But in next 24-32 hours the supply was restored. The grocery, vegetables shops are now well stocked. There is not even a mad rush of people in front of these shops. At present it looks like a well enforced hartaal/bandh. I even received my copy of Deccan Herald this morning, much thinner (and less advertisements) than the usual days.
manju

Post by manju »

Per this video the peacefuls are letting loose hundreds/thousands of suicide covid bombers!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BIRqVuk8ZR0

Wanted to post in internal security thread ..could not fine it.. Admins please move as appropriate

I was racking my brains as when I had hear about Tablighi Jammaat!!
If I remember correctly, the bomber of Glasgow Airport was a TJ member and I remember the interview of the Imam of his local Mosque in Bangalore refusing Kafeel's request for TJ and saying he would only conduct sunni jammat.
here is the link: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kafeel_Ahmed
Admins/Mods if inappropriate or digress please delete
I think we should highlight the TJ link to bomber in the social media!!
Mods what do u think??? :?: :shock:

Deans wrote: I live in Bangalore and visit the grocery store for my requirements. In a couple of days from lockdown, the kirana stores across my locality got stocks, with the usual ingenuity that stores demonstrate in such times.
I used to run a grocery chain (100+ stores) and checked with my contacts that stock levels are reasonably high. I agree that cars and vehicles are not required - else there will be far too many, defeating the purpose of a lockdown. In fact, I have not used any delivery site, the local shop system (incl. delivering heavier packages) is working fine.
Sir what all you used to run Airlines/Groceries...., admire you keep it going

Rsatchi wrote:^^^
I was racking my brains as when I had hear about Tablighi Jammaat!!
If I remember correctly, the bomber of Glasgow Airport was a TJ member and I remember the interview of the Imam of his local Mosque in Bangalore refusing Kafeel's request for TJ and saying he would only conduct sunni jammat.
here is the link: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kafeel_Ahmed
Admins/Mods if inappropriate or digress please delete
I think we should highlight the TJ link to bomber in the social media!!
Mods what do u think??? :?: :shock:
The 9/11 terrorist from France, Zacarias Moussaoui was also TJ member as per Wiki.

"In France, as many as "80% percent of the Islamist extremists have come from Tablighi ranks, prompting French intelligence officers to call Tablighi Jamaat the 'antechamber of fundamentalism.'"[68][69][70][71] Among those who have been members of TJ in France are Zacarias Moussaoui (the only person to be charged in the United States in 11 September attacks), Hervé Djamel Loiseau, a young Frenchman who died fleeing the 2001 American bombardment of Tora Bora in Afghanistan, and Djamel Beghal, an Algerian-born Frenchman and admitted member of Al Qaeda who was convicted in 2005 of plotting to blow up the U.S. Embassy in Paris.[30] In a foiled January 2008 bombing plot in Barcelona, Spain, "some media reports" stated that a Muslim leader in the city stated that the fourteen suspects arrested by police in a series of raids (where bomb-making materials were seized) were members of Tablighi Jamaat.[6][72] Other terrorist plots and attacks on civilians that members of Tablighi Jamaat have been connected with include the Portland Seven, the Lackawanna Six, the 2006 transatlantic aircraft plot, the 7/7 London bombings, the 2007 London car bombs, and 2007 Glasgow International Airport attack.[6]

Former Department of Homeland Security employee Philip Haney described Tablighi Jamaat as part of a "trans-national Islamist network" that was also affiliated with the Dar Al Uloom al Islamiyah mosque in San Bernardino, which terrorist Syed Rizwan Farook attended frequently.[73] Assistant FBI Director Michael Heimbach said "We have significant presence of Tablighi Jamaat in the United States and we have found that al Qaeda used them for recruiting."

Western media and public does not care too much about terrorism in India - 'brown people killing each other'. However, they will sit up and take notice if you tell them that the 9/11 perpetrator(s) were also from this organization that is now spreading CV all over India.

Any chance these gangs were part of Delhi riots of Fen 20.?

Deans wrote:

I live in Bangalore and visit the grocery store for my requirements. In a couple of days from lockdown, the kirana stores across my locality got stocks, with the usual ingenuity that stores demonstrate in such times.

In Mohali and Jalandhar., you call the local kirana or sabzi vendor. They come home and leave it by the gate that you pick up.

Allowing the congregation of TJ to happen will either prove to be a master stroke or a big mistake.

If the infection could not be controlled because of the attendees spreading it all over India, then it will prove to be a grave mistake and NM will be under fire.

If it is controlled, then entire India know how muslims are hiding foreign illegals in mosques, how they are instrumental in spreading the virus, how they are a law unto themselves, how they resisted quarantine and spit on doctors and police, how stupid they are to think corona virus will not affect them.

They will be the butt of jokes. All the videos circulating on social media how 5 time namazis wont get affected by the virus will be pulled out and rubbed into their faces.

But more importantly, now govt has a strong case for NPR and NRC. Opposition parties cannot oppose it nor can they oppose the use of force if NPR and NRC is resisted.

All the mofos and their contacts should be traced and quarantined.
Kaivalya

Post by Kaivalya »

Height of nonsense: Police is getting fired upon!

This has gone beyond Corona virus and general stupidity. If police can be fired at, this has gone beyond religion, politics to crime especially if foriegn/local have been given 3 days to come up and provide disclosure. I think we need a covid jail where they can figure out social responsibility and officials can figure out what these guys are hiding

https://www.financialexpress.com/india- ... i/1916135/
Sicanta

Post by Sicanta »

CPRO Northern Railway - ये लोग सुबह से अनियंत्रित थे और खाने पीने की अनुचित मांग कर रहे थे। उन्होंने क्वारंटाइन सेंट्रों के कर्मचारियों के साथ दुर्व्यवहार किया। इसके अलावा उन्होंने काम करने वाले सभी लोगों और डॉक्टरों पर थूकना शुरु कर दिया। हॉस्टल बिल्डिंग में भी घूम रहे थे

These people have been uncontrollable since morning. Making unjust demands. Started misbehaving with workers and spit on doctors there. Were loitering in the hostel.
https://twitter.com/AHindinews/status/1 ... 01376?s=19

Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

How can anyone not have seen paupers reduced to skin and bones in our cities? How can we employ people to cook and clean our homes and not know how hard their lives are? We have three-four hundred million people below the poverty line. They have no safety nets apart from their jobs, families and friends and loan sharks. The lockdown took away the first for those people, including their extended families and friends. They might as well commit suicide as go to a loan shark without a job because they'll be buried in debt feeding their family and themselves until the economy gets back on its feet.

People need to understand that once the flow of money stops, it can't be restarted easily. Demonetization took us how long to recover? And that was with slowdown of the velocity of money. This lockdown is going to bring it to almost a stop. My friend, who is manufacturing masks and PPE informs me all his customers have stopped payments. He still needs to pay upfront for his raw material. He needs to meet his EMI commitments - if not for the next three months, then after - and he needs to pay his staff. I received an email from HDFC - as must many of you from your banks - that the moratorium on EMIs does not come with a freeze on interest accrual. Interest accrues for the there months. You just don't get reported to the credit bureaus as a defaulter.

Oh, I heard from sources that organizations such as Pfizer are paying their employees 30% of their usual salary. They can subsist on it or quit their jobs. In this market. During a pandemic.
agupta wrote:
ArjunPandit wrote: I too think so. While I'm not in Delhi right now, but whatever little I saw in 30 years.. You can't starve in the city. Families sharing food, giving good to homeless even now. I Heard some stories that many builders asked labours to leave the construction complexes b as they foresee no work in coming months.. That's what sparked the exodus. The side effects for ab population that's never done DIY woud be huge

I have no comments to offer on the politics etc - but worry that you sir are a bit out of touch of the reality of the lower classes ... do you seriously believe “ you cannot starve in the city”? Maybe a typo since u yourself indicate a reason as to why one could starve; so out of touch that we translate a politicians declaration “ no one should charge rent” into instant translation to reality on the ground?
Kaivalya

Post by Kaivalya »

Arun.prabhu wrote:They might as well commit suicide as go to a loan shark without a job because they'll be buried in debt feeding their family and themselves until the economy gets back on its feet.
Saar...imagine all this and losing the one or two wage earners in the family because of covid. Or the same people incapacitated in a bed for 2 months. Yes it is hard - covid is making it harder not lockdown. With lockdown the spread rate is lower and hopefully we can come out of this with less than 3000-5000 people infected. Then we can think about economic stimulus, differential support system etc.
People need to understand that once the flow of money stops, it can't be restarted easily. Demonetization took us how long to recover? And that was with slowdown of the velocity of money. This lockdown is going to bring it to almost a stop.
When hit by a national calamity / worldwide calamity everyone is going to feel it for a while. For now, the fight is to stop spread, take care of people dying/incapacitated. Please do not compare apple to oranges whatever your opinion is about demonetization.

Once we win in terms of tactical battle, we can worry about strategy and longer term impacts. For now we don't know what the impact is going to be. Please see the khan president saying- "we will be good by Easter" then next day he says "200000 people are going to die and this might last till june" etc. Bottomline is no one knows the big picture except for his/her pain.

agupta wrote: I have no comments to offer on the politics etc - but worry that you sir are a bit out of touch of the reality of the lower classes ... do you seriously believe “ you cannot starve in the city”? Maybe a typo since u yourself indicate a reason as to why one could starve; so out of touch that we translate a politicians declaration “ no one should charge rent” into instant translation to reality on the ground?

Arun.prabhu wrote:How can anyone not have seen paupers reduced to skin and bones in our cities? How can we employ people to cook and clean our homes and not know how hard their lives are?
I can assure you the people who cook and clean in my house are not at all bothered right now. They are treating it as an extended holiday, know most of us (at least we are) paying them the full salary during the period. Their only gripe is their secondary source of income/side-hustle which was very lucrative (1-2K/day running small food joint etc) is shut down during the period.

You have a valid point about the homeless and that group - that's where NGOs and Govt are doing their bit but yes, they would be affected.
We have three-four hundred million people below the poverty line. They have no safety nets apart from their jobs, families and friends and loan sharks. The lockdown took away the first for those people, including their extended families and friends. They might as well commit suicide as go to a loan shark without a job because they'll be buried in debt feeding their family and themselves until the economy gets back on its feet.

People need to understand that once the flow of money stops, it can't be restarted easily. Demonetization took us how long to recover? And that was with slowdown of the velocity of money. This lockdown is going to bring it to almost a stop. My friend, who is manufacturing masks and PPE informs me all his customers have stopped payments. He still needs to pay upfront for his raw material. He needs to meet his EMI commitments - if not for the next three months, then after - and he needs to pay his staff. I received an email from HDFC - as must many of you from your banks - that the moratorium on EMIs does not come with a freeze on interest accrual. Interest accrues for the there months. You just don't get reported to the credit bureaus as a defaulter.
The GOI understands this, hence the focus on getting loan disbursals to SMEs and also, making sure money is directly reaching the needy. This will also spur the focus towards digitalization. Several of the folks including small scale guys I know refused it so far - they didnt want account tracking, tax hassles. But now, they will understand the need.
Oh, I heard from sources that organizations such as Pfizer are paying their employees 30% of their usual salary. They can subsist on it or quit their jobs. In this market. During a pandemic.
I am not sure all organizations are equally harsh. But personally speaking, I'd rather have a job with a lower pay for a fewer months than no job at all. I am more concerned that many Indian organizations still dont seem to understand WFH is a valid method of working and can be scaled up even beyond such a pandemic. Many cost-centers in India have become very used to billing their customers in their own org abroad heavily using exaggerated costs for real-estate. I suspect that's a big reason why they are so resistant to change.