Check the Indian Interest threadshyamd wrote:
Whats Indian interests? Same question goes to Acharya. Indian interests - also includes developing economy.
West Asia News and Discussions
Re: West Asia News and Discussions
RamaY ji,
Responded to you in Future Strategic Scenarios under hijab!
It is one thing that Sudais's speeches are accessible by turning the TV on from India, but completely a different ball game whereby he is seen as being freely preaching in public in India directly addressing the gathered IM. This is politics - tangible, psycho-social process. Even if he speaks here formally of "peace" and "cooperation", his other side will also be kept in mind by his listeners. Moreover, his words will be taken in the perfectly Islamically legitimate tradition of "deception" as "war" and "war" as "deception". Only his actuual physical presence here would be interpreted as the "qufrs" finally getting weakened, and actually inclined towards the theology.
There are too many memes of inevitability, subtle ways in which the one-and-only god of Islam gradually weakens the "polytheists" from inside, so that some of them secretly, other overtly change sides to Muslims, allows Muslim clerics/leaders/preachers to come into their midst, "because in their hearts Allah has already started working", etc, which will be recalled. For every such occasion there are "ahadiths". Precedence that will automatically be brought into the imagery - if not on the gathering spot, subsequently in the jamaats, casual talk, and Friday post prayer chit-chat.
A lot of us are unaware of the processes that maintain the Arabic connotations in the IM sublayers, the stories are a repository against which current experiences are measured and evaluated and classified.
There are too many memes of inevitability, subtle ways in which the one-and-only god of Islam gradually weakens the "polytheists" from inside, so that some of them secretly, other overtly change sides to Muslims, allows Muslim clerics/leaders/preachers to come into their midst, "because in their hearts Allah has already started working", etc, which will be recalled. For every such occasion there are "ahadiths". Precedence that will automatically be brought into the imagery - if not on the gathering spot, subsequently in the jamaats, casual talk, and Friday post prayer chit-chat.
A lot of us are unaware of the processes that maintain the Arabic connotations in the IM sublayers, the stories are a repository against which current experiences are measured and evaluated and classified.
ShyamD garu,
The issue was never GCC's right to protect their interests. The debate is about the ideas that propose sending a 'muslim-only' Indian force to stabilize GCC; all at the same time saying that Indian should not interfere in their internal matters. Looks like faith and demographics are the only internal matters GCC is worried about.
I can definitely spell my definition of Indian Interests, perhaps in GDF-strategic forum.
I think you are mixing democracy and mis-governance. Democracy cannot come with adjectives and selectivity; that is why India adapted universal franchise. If your issue is with the leaders that are getting elected, then education is not the solution but part of the problem. Even w.r.t democracy hindus are working towards a balance. The opposition (against democracy) is coming up with new tactics ever few years but their success will be temporary mainly due to the hindu-majority indian society.
India isn’t putting any pressure on GCC democratization before the recent color/fragrant revolutions. Now that GCC failed to foresee current turmoil it is not a bad thing for India to educate and hand-hold its little brothers.
I can’t argue if you don’t see any difference between an IM watching Al-Susais speech on some satellite tv and Al-Susais coming to India and conducting public meetings. Perhaps India should invite OBL or LET-head and arrange some public meetings as people see them on TV anyway.
My intention wasn’t offering a solution to black money issue here but to show how bad the idea of India prostrating before GCC for few $b.
RajeshA garu – will go thru that and respond.
The issue was never GCC's right to protect their interests. The debate is about the ideas that propose sending a 'muslim-only' Indian force to stabilize GCC; all at the same time saying that Indian should not interfere in their internal matters. Looks like faith and demographics are the only internal matters GCC is worried about.
I can definitely spell my definition of Indian Interests, perhaps in GDF-strategic forum.
I think you are mixing democracy and mis-governance. Democracy cannot come with adjectives and selectivity; that is why India adapted universal franchise. If your issue is with the leaders that are getting elected, then education is not the solution but part of the problem. Even w.r.t democracy hindus are working towards a balance. The opposition (against democracy) is coming up with new tactics ever few years but their success will be temporary mainly due to the hindu-majority indian society.
India isn’t putting any pressure on GCC democratization before the recent color/fragrant revolutions. Now that GCC failed to foresee current turmoil it is not a bad thing for India to educate and hand-hold its little brothers.
I can’t argue if you don’t see any difference between an IM watching Al-Susais speech on some satellite tv and Al-Susais coming to India and conducting public meetings. Perhaps India should invite OBL or LET-head and arrange some public meetings as people see them on TV anyway.
My intention wasn’t offering a solution to black money issue here but to show how bad the idea of India prostrating before GCC for few $b.
RajeshA garu – will go thru that and respond.
Bhai, not my idea and I was actually against it from the beginning for the record - its RajeshA's idea. I don't even want a single Indian soldier there apart from value addition like planning, logistics or some form of training in exchange for some $$'s. Faith/Culture and demographics is a serious worry plus Iran (swiftly moving to top of list). Demographics - funnily enough, asked a source about this. They said, they have thought about this and they will give Indians citizenship plus equal wages with locals and assorted benefits such as housing. But they say not yet - mainly, they are a little worried that too many low skilled labourers will qualify is the gist I got out of that. But again, this GCC country is relatively liberal.RamaY wrote:ShyamD garu,
Please do. I encourage others to do so too.I can definitely spell my definition of Indian Interests, perhaps in GDF-strategic forum.
Misgovernance and Democracy go hand in hand. There is a book based on research on Congress party and a lot of India stuff over the last 10 or so years. Its called Growing for prosperity - read the first chapter - its about 6 or 7 pages long.I think you are mixing democracy and mis-governance. Democracy cannot come with adjectives and selectivity; that is why India adapted universal franchise. If your issue is with the leaders that are getting elected, then education is not the solution but part of the problem. Even w.r.t democracy hindus are working towards a balance. The opposition (against democracy) is coming up with new tactics ever few years but their success will be temporary mainly due to the hindu-majority indian society.
Quite frankly, India still isn't. Only the US is, and has the influence to shove it down their throats. Ultimately, it is being done and will be done. Kuwait already, Oman has now. Bahrain is somewhat to an extent. KSA has municipal elections - but you change here, rest swiftly follow in line. Qatar won't because they are happy with status quo and they are all fairly wealthy. UAE has come under some pressure to give more powers to their parliament the FNC.India isn’t putting any pressure on GCC democratization before the recent color/fragrant revolutions. Now that GCC failed to foresee current turmoil it is not a bad thing for India to educate and hand-hold its little brothers.
mmmmm..... okay.I can’t argue if you don’t see any difference between an IM watching Al-Susais speech on some satellite tv and Al-Susais coming to India and conducting public meetings. Perhaps India should invite OBL or LET-head and arrange some public meetings as people see them on TV anyway.
Whether we like it or not, India/our strategists are doing this. Why can't we allow them to invest, but at the same time limit the "cultural" with the KSA religious wallah's? I am all for limiting these Sudais type visits, I am just explaining GoI view on it and what they are trying to achieve. But inviting Sudais types is not a good idea and I agree with that.My intention wasn’t offering a solution to black money issue here but to show how bad the idea of India prostrating before GCC for few $b.
I got further confirmation that India will play ball with GCC in a GCC-Iran conflict.
Last edited by shyamd on 29 Mar 2011 03:38, edited 2 times in total.
Pakistanis endangered in Bahrain as anti-government protests fester
This is well known here - just a few quotes for data purposes onlee.
It is estimated that almost one-third of Bahrain’s 25,000-strong police force comes from Pakistan, according to the Wall Street Journal (WSJ).
There are reportedly about 65,000 Pakistanis in the kingdom.
The Bahraini English language daily, The Express Tribune, reported that 1,000 Pakistani men are currently being recruited by the army-run Fauji and Bahria foundations for the Bahrain National Guard
Similarly, Jean-François Seznec, a professor at Georgetown University who studies Bahrain, told the WSJ: "The royal family of Bahrain feels much more comfortable having foreigners to guard them than locals. They are mercenaries and they are reliable to whoever hires them." Plus, Pakistani recruits in Bahrain can earn much more money than they ever could at home, so they are likely to keep coming.
Khalil Almarzooq, a senior member of Al-Wefaq, Bahrain's principal opposition party, complained to WSJ: "The reason for the security apparatus is to protect the regime, not the people.”
The royal family itself is an outsider and hence prefers outsiders to guard them. Same as the Slave Dynasty, Bahmani and Chagatai/Mughal sultans of India.
Unrest in the Arab world: Islamabad assures Riyadh of support
Now, Euros, GCC, Iraq, US & Israel are backing Bashar Al Assad to stay in power. Lets see if he can.
So the Bahraini Foreign Minister is now in Islamabad with a letter from the King. Things are happening folks.In the backdrop of the current political uprisings in the Arab world, Pakistan has decided to play a significant role in the region by supporting Saudi Arabia, sources told The Express Tribune.
The decision came following a string of meetings that Prince Bandar bin Sultan bin Abdulaziz, special emissary of the Saudi king, had with the Pakistani leadership over the weekend.
The Saudi royal family scion met the top political and military leaders, among them President Asif Ali Zardari, Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani, Interior Minister Rehman Malik and Army chief General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani.
Prince Bandar’s whirlwind tour came as mass protests are sweeping across most of the Gulf and Middle Eastern countries. Though there is no immediate threat of an uprising against the Saudi rulers, the situation in neighbouring Bahrain is a cause for serious concern.
In his interaction with Premier Gilani, the Saudi prince indicated that the oil-rich kingdom would extend meaningful support to Pakistan to improve its ailing economy, sources told The Express Tribune on Sunday.
Cash-strapped Islamabad has been asking Riyadh for oil on deferred payment for quite some time now.
Prince Bandar is said to have assured Islamabad of its help to address its immediate oil needs. He also reaffirmed that the kingdom would always stand by Pakistan to confront any challenge and support any initiative to expand bilateral ties.
According to sources in the Foreign Office, the Saudi move to seek help from Pakistan had a tacit endorsement from the United States whose forces are stationed in Bahrain. The US 5th fleet is stationed in Bahrain under an agreement reached between the two countries 15 years ago.
“The United States does not consider Saudi security forces’ entry into Bahrain as an invasion,” the White House said on Monday.
Riyadh sent about 1,000 troops into Bahrain to protect government facilities after protesters overran police and blocked roads.
Premier Gilani told Prince Bandar, who is also secretary-general of the Saudi National Security Council, that his country supports the Saudi stance in the Gulf and the Middle East and would stand by Riyadh for regional peace.
The prince briefed the prime minister on the Saudi perception of the situation in the Gulf and the Middle East.
Sources said that the main purpose of Prince Bandar’s visit was to evaluate Islamabad’s viewpoint on the rapidly changing political situation in the Arab world, particularly on the alarming situation in Bahrain, which borders Saudi Arabia.
In 1991, Riyadh was disappointed by Pakistan’s attitude towards the Gulf War when the then army chief Gen Aslam Beg had publicly opposed the then prime minister Nawaz Sharif’s decision of sending army and air force units to Saudi Arabia on the call of the kingdom.
Faced with the threat of a direct attack from Iraqi strongman Saddam Hussien’s forces, the Saudi authorities were further disappointed when Gen Beg agreed to send only 5,000 troops after a long delay and that too under strict conditions.
It took Islamabad several years to win back the trust of Riyadh.
The Saudis kept referring to this ‘betrayal’ during their talks with Islamabad on all forums, a former diplomat, who has served in Riyadh, told The Express Tribune.
Published in The Express Tribune, March 28th, 2011.
Now, Euros, GCC, Iraq, US & Israel are backing Bashar Al Assad to stay in power. Lets see if he can.
ShyamD, In the mid 80s the TSPA(Gen Zia) had troops in Riayadh supposedly to protect the holy sites from Iran. When Saddam was getting whipped, KSA wanted to rush all able bodied troops to the borders to prevent a breakout.
The TSP then said that their prime objective was to protect the holy sites and besides if they take on Iran then the Shia in TSP might get upset leadingto fracture. So they prefer to stay put and do nothing. The KSA then said get lost for they don't want hanger queens and sent them packing.
So it will be repeat of milking the Camel. When TSPA under Zia chose not to fight how will they develop nerve to fight under Kiya nahi?
The TSP then said that their prime objective was to protect the holy sites and besides if they take on Iran then the Shia in TSP might get upset leadingto fracture. So they prefer to stay put and do nothing. The KSA then said get lost for they don't want hanger queens and sent them packing.
So it will be repeat of milking the Camel. When TSPA under Zia chose not to fight how will they develop nerve to fight under Kiya nahi?
^^ Hehehe. Birather Ramanamullahuddin. Already told source about this. I said TSP can't do it - source stayed silent, he didn't know what to say. But this time Ramanaji its different, GCC strategy is different. Not like the old days. Drop me an email. Not for public consumption.
-------------------------------
Indian foreign minister rejects interference in internal affairs
-------------------------------
Indian foreign minister rejects interference in internal affairs
FAHEEM AL-HAMID
JEDDAH: The Indian Minister of Foreign Affairs has said that New Delhi is keen to strengthen its strategic partnership with Riyadh to promote peace and security in the region and the wider world.
Speaking to Okaz/Saudi Gazette during a single-day visit to Jeddah to discuss arrangements for Indian Haj pilgrims, Minister S.M. Krishna also said the Indian government “rejects any third-state interference in the internal affairs of any country”.
Krishna described Saudi-Indian relations as “excellent and going back a long way in history” and cited the visit to India of King Abdullah, Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques, in 2006 and the return visit of Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to the Kingdom the same year as “widening the base of the strategic partnership in politics, the economy, culture and trade”.
“It ushered in a new age in the long relations between the two countries,” Krishna said.
On the recent upheaval in the Arab World and parts of the Gulf including Bahrain, Krishna said that India “rejects any third-state interference in the internal affairs of any country” and said that dealings should be conducted “with the legitimate authority and no one else”.
On the sending of GCC forces to Bahrain, Krishna said he was confident that the proper coordination with the official authorities had taken place and through mutual understanding in order to end the violence. “New Delhi is keen to see that Bahrain enjoys security and stability and calm,” he said.
According to Krishna, India is closely observing the “big changes in the Arab region”. “It’s important to be aware of the roots of these changes and whether they are popular uprisings or have been engineered from outside,” he said. “I feel that the winds of democracy are blowing over the region, but the information revolution and Internet have played a big part in supporting the protests being seen in a number of Arab countries.” He said that India is “following events closely”.
“There are hundreds of thousands of Indian nationals living in countries which are witnessing large disturbances and protests, and the Indian government is concerned for their safety and wellbeing. We are fully aware of our responsibilities to our nationals, they are the government’s absolute top priority.”
On his government’s relations with Pakistan, Krishna said that “past relations are on the way to improving through dialogue to resolve pending issues”. “Officials from the interior ministries of both countries are meeting in New Delhi next Monday to discuss a number of issues of importance to both nations,” he said.
– Okaz/Saudi Gazette __
Last edited by shyamd on 29 Mar 2011 03:47, edited 1 time in total.
He was silent? Then it confirms this episode!
^^ Well, I didn't refer to that precise incident. I refered to current position and how they are just milking them. Can't explain fully on forum.
Nightwatch Comments on 3/27/2011
LINK
LINK
It is clear in Bahrain, Yemen and Libya that the secular youth characteristics of the initial uprisings have passed. The opposition movements have come under the influence of other, more sinister and more hostile interests in all three countries. A negotiated reconciliation agreement looks like an exit strategy that would enable the Arabs to sort out their own affairs
Bahraln was not the secular type and it was mostly shia. About 98% shia.
And Iran backed them.
So if Assad fails it will have to be because some other country than Euros, GCC, Iraq, US and Israel will responsible for it and who can neutralize these combined "influence/inputs"? 

klinton aunty has refused to intervene in syria, saying it is different than libya.

The program's host, Bob Schieffer, noted that Syrian leader Bashar Assad's father "over the years, killed twenty-five thousand people ... at a lick."
"Why is that different from Libya," he asked.
IOW USG controls who will be toppled and who will not.She noted that there wasn't an international outcry over Syria in the same way the Libya situation has unfolded, with no U.N. Security Council resolution, no call by the Arab League for action and no universal condemnation.
Direct Briefing to PM on the latest developments.
Saudi envoy calls on PM, reiterates cooperation with India
Call for greater Indo-Saudi maritime cooperation2011-03-29 14:10:00
The Secretary General of the National Security Council of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Prince Bander Bin Sultan Bin Abdul Aziz Al-Saud, called on Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh here on Monday during which he reiterated Saudi Arabia's keen interest in further consolidating relations between India and the Kingdom in all areas of cooperation, without reservation.
The Saudi envoy briefed Dr. Singh on recent developments in West Asia, North Africa, and Gulf regions, and in particular the efforts being made by the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the GCC countries to bring peace, stability and prosperity for the people in the region.
He also indicated the desire of the Gulf States to meet the genuine aspirations of the people in an atmosphere of peace and stability.
Dr. Singh expressed his deep appreciation to Prince Bandar for his visit, and conveyed India's firm commitment to further developing its strategic partnership with the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
West Asia and the Gulf were regions of great interest to India because of the presence of almost six million Indians. The region was a major economic partner and source for energy for India. Cooperation between India and the Kingdom and the GCC States was a factor of peace and stability in the region.
The Prime Minister emphasized that differences should be resolved through peaceful dialogue and discussion and countries should be free to determine their own pathways to national development.
He expressed confidence that the wisdom and leadership of the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques His Majesty King Abdullah will contribute to peace, stability and welfare of the people of the region. (ANI)
By SIRAJ WAHAB | ARAB NEWS
Published: Mar 28, 2011 02:13 Updated: Mar 28, 2011 02:13
JUBAIL: Indian Navy Vice Admiral K.N. Sushil has called for joint and sustained efforts to contain and eliminate the scourge of piracy off the coast of Somalia.
He was speaking onboard the Indian naval ship INS Tir that is currently anchored at the port of Jubail along with the INS Krishna and ICGS Veera as part of a goodwill visit to Saudi Arabia.
“This is a vast ocean,” he said while referring to the Arabian Sea. “Just south of here is the Somali coast...to patrol such a large area we all need to pool in our resources.”
The senior naval commander referred to the 2008 Indian Ocean Naval Symposium (IONS) initiative, which sought to increase maritime cooperation among navies of the world.
“This is not a formal pact but an informal one. We started it to see how we can cooperate in keeping the ocean safe. It received an overwhelming response. Saudi Arabia is part of this initiative,” he said.
Describing the challenges of piracy, he said the pirates off the Somali coast are highly adaptive. “If you patrol the Somali coast, the pirates then move somewhere else. As we speak, they have gone very close to Lakshadweep Island. And when we challenge them in Lakshadweep they go down to Madagascar.”
According to Sushil no one nation can battle piracy single-handedly. “Unless everybody pools in a bit, we will not be able to overcome this scourge. Therefore, we need to broaden the horizon and come to the understanding that this ocean area belongs to all of us and it is in our mutual interest to keep it safe as much as we can.”
He said 14 navies of the world are conducting anti-piracy patrols along the Somali coast. “Their effectiveness is not what we think should happen with such application of force. Even larger navies are finding it difficult to contain this menace. All this underlines the need for a greater maritime cooperation.”
Sushil described the Saudi Navy as one of the finest in the world. “In terms of cadre and in terms of equipment, they are among the best, no doubt,” he said.
Indian Ambassador Talmiz Ahmad said the visit of the naval ships was part of a regular engagement that India has with the Gulf region. “The Indian Navy has always been on goodwill visits here in order to affirm our presence and our deep interest in what is happening here in this region,” he said. “We have enduring interests. They are linked with our energy interests, our economic interests, and the presence of our community.”
He said India is in the process of developing a strategic partnership with Saudi Arabia to improve political, security, defense, economic and cultural ties. “These visits are important because they indicate the Indian interest here, they show our technology and various other capabilities that we have developed. There is a deep interest in what we have and what we have to show to the host country.”
The Saudi-India defense ties will see an upswing in coming days with the visit in early May of Indian Defense Minister A.K. Antony. “We are looking forward to the visit of A.K. Antony where many of the ideas that have been expressed at various levels since Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s 2010 visit will be given concrete shape.”
The ambassador pointed out the two countries used to have goodwill visits at the level of service chiefs, but now there is going to be a coordinated and comprehensive approach in this area for the two countries’ mutual benefit.
“We are looking at training programs and joint exercises and dialogue at different levels on issues of common interest. All of this has emerged from an understanding that both sides share that we have common interest with regard to security in a troubled neighborhood,” he said, and added that a new era of Indo-Saudi strategic partnership was taking shape beyond what was agreed in the Riyadh Declaration.
Last edited by shyamd on 29 Mar 2011 20:20, edited 3 times in total.
my inner chankiyan sense tells me that GOI is cutting a deal with saudi to gubo the paquis
Is there a devout reporter working for the ANI service. MMS couldn't have said what is being attributed in the last line!
-------------
LM what do you mean?
Was Bandar (not an India friendly guy. He was the lead diplomutt during the Reagan mujh days in DC. Very TSP friendly guy) over in Delhi to get assurances India wouldn't take advantage in case of TSP commits to ME? Isnt this replay of US visits to Delhi for similar reasons? Anyways under MMS will not do anything to TSP for India. He and his Def Minsters ensure that forces dont get any hardware: less allocations, scams to deny procurement etc.
Also recall under NDA, India got an agreement with Iran to base aricraft in Iran in case of hostilties with TSP. So what about that one?
-------------
LM what do you mean?
Was Bandar (not an India friendly guy. He was the lead diplomutt during the Reagan mujh days in DC. Very TSP friendly guy) over in Delhi to get assurances India wouldn't take advantage in case of TSP commits to ME? Isnt this replay of US visits to Delhi for similar reasons? Anyways under MMS will not do anything to TSP for India. He and his Def Minsters ensure that forces dont get any hardware: less allocations, scams to deny procurement etc.
Also recall under NDA, India got an agreement with Iran to base aricraft in Iran in case of hostilties with TSP. So what about that one?
All this throws up interesting questions. Bandar has the "hustler" mentality rather than the religious type. He is all about the paisa. His record speaks for itself.
Yes, Yindu's have decided to side with GCC I think. Its obvious that there will be only one winner in that war. So India is just siding with the winner. India won't take advantage of anything. MMS cares more about the economy than anything else.
Maybe the MMS invite to watch the cricket match had higher objectives?
Bahrain FM to visit India for three days
Foreign Minister of Bahrain Shaikh Khalid Bin Ahmed Bin Mohamed Al Khalifa will begin a three-day visit to India beginning today.
Bahrain Foreign Minister will arrive at the Indira Gandhi International Airport here around 8: 30 p.m. this evening.
The Deputy National Security Advisor (NSA) will call on Shaikh Khalid Bin Ahmed Bin Mohamed Al Khalifa at 10: 30 a.m. tomorrow.
The visiting dignitary will meet External Affairs Minister S M Krishna at 12: 30 pm. tomorrow.
He will emplane for Dhaka at 11: 45 a.m. on Thursday.
^^ Yup. Its all security business. He just touched down in Naye Dilli, following Prince Bandar's visit yesterday. Also, keep in mind he is spending 3 days here.. He'll probably find some time tomeet with Shashi Tharoor, since they were quite close during their time. ST was handling some sensitive West Asian files too.
Any update on the London conference about post-Gaddafi Libya?
Here is something about the prince to grace us with his shoes : a possible overwhelming interest in paisa and no religious motives at all.
http://www.inthesetimes.com/issue/27/04/news1.shtml
Instead, when Newsweek reported in December that checks from the wife of the Saudi ambassador to the United States had been sent to associates of two of the September 11 hijackers, Saudi and Washington officials revved up their spin machines.
When the reports surfaced, Haifa bint Faisal, wife of Saudi ambassador Bandar bin Sultan, acknowledged that she sent nearly $150,000 to the wife of a Saudi living in San Diego. The recipient, Majeda Ibrahin Dweikat, signed over some of the checks to a friend whose husband, Omar al-Bayoumi (with Dweikat’s husband), helped hijackers Khalid Almidhar and Nawaf Alhazmi find housing in San Diego, open bank accounts, get Social Security cards, pay expenses and arrange flying lessons in Florida.
U.S. authorities suspected days after September 11 that al-Bayoumi, by then in Birmingham, England, had helped the hijackers. The British arrested him and, in a search of his house, found phone records showing calls to two diplomats at the Saudi Embassy in Washington. Lacking conclusive evidence, they released him, and he is now believed back in Saudi Arabia.
U.S. authorities continued to investigate his connections. FBI spokesman Ed Cogswell told In These Times that the bureau had discovered the bint Faisal money transfers when it examined al-Bayoumi’s accounts. (Records would have included the check endorsed to al-Bayoumi’s wife.) Bint Faisal insists she did not knowingly aid the terrorists—that she did not even know the woman—but was only giving charity to Dweikat, a thyroid patient, whose husband had written seeking funds to pay medical bills.
Bji, thanks for being a balancing voice on this thread
Bji, Are you suggesting he was the religious motivator for 9/11 or just happened to be playing a part because perhaps he was the most obvious person to do that job? Do tell us about his record too and how islamic he was/is.
Oh, on the contrary - as I have stated, I am simply speculating out aloud - if it was the "paisa" - the money angle that dominated in this prince's actions [a diplomat and a prince would be quite careful even about what his wife is up to, especially if it bordered on potentially literally explosive international interactions] or decision processes, and not really any religious motivation for such actions or decisions. The thing is then if a religion manages to pay well, will he modify his decisions and actions accordingly?shyamd wrote:Bji, Are you suggesting he was the religious motivator for 9/11 or just happened to be playing a part because perhaps he was the most obvious person to do that job? Do tell us about his record too and how islamic he was/is.
In may brief two lines - I mentioned about his possible "religious motivations" vis a vis the "paisa". This cannot be stretched into saying that I meant he "was religiously motivated to enact 9/11".
More interestingly, I know that repeatedly supposed features of "un-Islamic" practices are cited in individual's lifestyle to try to prove that these individuals are rather flexible on religion and this flexibility extends to all aspects of their decision making process. What is missed, first is that most such practices are about indulging in pleasures of the "flesh" (stomach, senses, ahem ahem), and there are various degrees of justification that exist in various texts provided to cover exactly for such cases. Second, the very flexibility on these terms should provide clues to a particularly dangerous character trait. Such a person will actually use religion when necessary to both psychologically free himself from any guilt from his actions, as well as use religion as a mobilizing tool.
But I am game to discuss personal and public histories of the princes from the peninsula and how it does not contradict but only reinforces Islamic injunctions. Mods let me know if this is allowed. I guess not.
ShyamD and others, here is mag devoted to the Wash DC diplomat beat. Might be useful to get the scuttlebutt and trends.
http://www.washdiplomat.com/
Confirmation: Prince Bandar asked TSP to deploy troops in the peninsula if unrest continues in Yemen, Bahrain and KSA.
- French intel's special action team is with the rebels in Libya. These guys were also liaisoning with Northern Alliance boys back in the day.
IOL says Bashar Al Assad personally asked Hamas and Islamic Jihad to bomb Israeli targets and kick off a conflict close to Gaza in order to deflect and divert attention from the internal unrest. He made sure KSA was okay with this before he did all this.
This is what gets my goat! Expect another 10 year extension of TSP life!shyamd wrote:Confirmation: Prince Bandar asked TSP to deploy troops in the peninsula if unrest continues in Yemen, Bahrain and KSA.

India should be the country to provide comprehensive security to the Arab Peninsula!
Why should India be fighting internal wars of ME ?RajeshA wrote:This is what gets my goat! Expect another 10 year extension of TSP life!shyamd wrote:Confirmation: Prince Bandar asked TSP to deploy troops in the peninsula if unrest continues in Yemen, Bahrain and KSA.![]()
India should be the country to provide comprehensive security to the Arab Peninsula!
Anyways Who are we going to provide security against ?
1. Israel
2. Iran
3. Local Denizens
We make ME part of our Near Abroad!VikasRaina wrote:Why should India be fighting internal wars of ME ?
1. Al QaedaVikasRaina wrote:Anyways Who are we going to provide security against ?
2. Iran
3. Local Denizens (IInd rung security onlee)
1. Is there any animal called Al-Keeda outside Dod and SD ?
2. Are we going to pick fight with Iran to protect Sheikhdoms. I mean it moves into that grey area where you are Frenemy with Iran.
On one hand, you do mention about bringing Iran in our sphere of influence and on the other hand how would you reconcile if India were to don the role of protector of the ME. In case of war, who do we side with ? We wont have the luxury of passing judgement sitting few 100 miles away in that case.
3. Why should we take up local police duties like Pakies. If Local denizens want to throw away despotic govt or the local Sheikh or the King, What goes of our uncle. Let them be masters of their own destiny just like we are.
2. Are we going to pick fight with Iran to protect Sheikhdoms. I mean it moves into that grey area where you are Frenemy with Iran.
On one hand, you do mention about bringing Iran in our sphere of influence and on the other hand how would you reconcile if India were to don the role of protector of the ME. In case of war, who do we side with ? We wont have the luxury of passing judgement sitting few 100 miles away in that case.
3. Why should we take up local police duties like Pakies. If Local denizens want to throw away despotic govt or the local Sheikh or the King, What goes of our uncle. Let them be masters of their own destiny just like we are.
Well the more the Pakis go there to fight local anger - the better! We want the fundamental backbone on which Pak rests, and which is its theology combined with claims of racial superiority, to be erased and utterly destroyed. What better opportunity than make it face another delusional framework of "purest" theology and uncontaminated "racial superiority" in a murderous fight!
Okay folks, aside from all this. Just learnt: yindus will enter peninsula if the matter hits the fan.
So don't fear. But in dilli this is being seen as to protect the indian nationals. As you know Indians were targeted by Hezbollah of Bahrain.
Its a long story, can't share any more than this.
Let's wait for the truth to come out if it does... But GCC probably pulled off one of their biggest diplomatic moves and checkmated the US and Iran in a stroke!
So don't fear. But in dilli this is being seen as to protect the indian nationals. As you know Indians were targeted by Hezbollah of Bahrain.
Its a long story, can't share any more than this.
Let's wait for the truth to come out if it does... But GCC probably pulled off one of their biggest diplomatic moves and checkmated the US and Iran in a stroke!
Any Muslim who carries a gun and the West doesn't like is Al Qaeda!VikasRaina wrote:1. Is there any animal called Al-Keeda outside Dod and SD ?
Indians may one day also have to work with some similar vocabulary.
1) We protect the corrupt Sheikhs from everything - from malaria to "mal-arya"!VikasRaina wrote:2. Are we going to pick fight with Iran to protect Sheikhdoms. I mean it moves into that grey area where you are Frenemy with Iran.
2) We never send in ground forces into Iran.
3) We attack only when attacked!
No we should not do those duties! That is why I said IInd rung of security, i.e. only when the monarchies themselves are threatened.VikasRaina wrote:3. Why should we take up local police duties like Pakies. If Local denizens want to throw away despotic govt or the local Sheikh or the King, What goes of our uncle. Let them be masters of their own destiny just like we are.
In fact, I am all for Indian Forces on Arab Peninsula subcontracting Pakjabis to do those duties, and giving them T-Shirts with "Lahori" imprinted on them.
True.brihaspati wrote:Well the more the Pakis go there to fight local anger - the better!
Also I hope yindians are not sent to the peninsula at all. At times when we are facing the two-front conflict scenario we need every pair of boots on our soil and ready for immediate response.