Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

i thought nukkad may not be the place, so x-posting here:
any CPU gurus here.. I want to get some ball park comparisons for upgrades on third party cloud services.

I have ultraSPARC v490, v890s (will get to cores later). How do I say, these compare with current gen Intel based CPUs? How many virtual cpus I should convert them as?

http://zeenews.india.com/business/news/ ... 79627.html
Sibal wants media views for action against Android platform
Amid rising instances of adult content freely available on applications supported by Android phones, Telecom Minister Kapil Sibal today sought suggestions from the media to deal with the issue.

"I want you people to suggest how can we close it. If we want to close it, you will attack us. I want all the media to come together and tell the minister how to deal with it so that if I do something about it, you don't attack me,"

^^^Maybe Congi gobermint should ask Jolla to do an OS for them just like Chipanda gobermint asked them to do. :rotfl:

There was also ***** in Karnataka assembly. Legislatures should be banned too.

i was kind of surprised to see so much of that stuff while browsing google apps area, freely available

ibnlive

Beijing: A Chinese institute claimed to have successfully developed a 100-megapixel camera which could produce high-resolution imaging in the fields of aerial mapping, disaster monitoring and intelligent transportation systems.
The IOE3-Kanban camera was developed by the Institute of Optics and Electronics under the Chinese Academy of Sciences making it China's highest pixel camera, CAS said in a statement.
The camera is capable of producing images with 10,240 x 10,240 pixels, the statement said.

The 100 megapixel camera is capable of producing images with 10,240 x 10,240 pixels.
Moreover, it is small and light, with its widest part measuring only 19.3 cm, state-run Xinhua quoted the statement as saying, adding that it can be used at temperatures ranging from minus 20 degrees centigrade to 55 degrees centigrade.
Its high sensitivity and high dynamic range (HDR) features mean it will be useful in high-resolution imaging in the fields of aerial mapping, city planning, disaster monitoring and intelligent transportation systems, the statement said.
Intelligent transportation system is aimed to provide innovative services relating to different modes of transport and traffic management, enabling various users to be better informed and make safer, more coordinated, and 'smarter' use of transport networks.
The camera is equipped with advanced optical systems, camera control systems and high-capacity data recording systems, and it has proven successful in a recent trial use as a part of a national aerial remote-sensing system, it said.
The institute also developed an 81-megapixel camera during the 10th Five Year Plan period (2001-2005), and the latest achievement took the researchers two years to develop.
A megapixel is one million pixels, and is a term used not only for the number of pixels in an image, but also to express the number of image sensor elements of digital cameras or the number of display elements of digital displays.

previous efforts at very hi res cams seem to use many small sensors
http://www.gizmag.com/argus-is-darpa-gi ... ers/26078/

Nokia officially announces the Lumia 1020: 41MP camera, OIS, six lenses

Now expect Sammy to cram in more megapixels on their turd sensor and claims its the same. :mrgreen:

Chaiwallah sez the backlit sensor stuff came from one of the camera manufacturers who is not small fry - glad to see they saw the writing on the wall even if their fan base can't. :P

Raja Bose wrote:Nokia officially announces the Lumia 1020: 41MP camera, OIS, six lenses

Now expect Sammy to cram in more megapixels on their turd sensor and claims its the same. :mrgreen:

Chaiwallah sez the backlit sensor stuff came from one of the camera manufacturers who is not small fry - glad to see they saw the writing on the wall even if their fan base can't. :P
Too bad it isn't available on all carriers in the US and NOK/MSFT refuse to sell unlocked. They could have done what GOOG did with the GP edition of the HTC One and Sammy S4. If NOK/MSFT are serious about sales, they need to release it worldwide on all carriers and unlocked at roughly the same time. Just see what Sammy did with the S3, NoteII, and S4.

Sammy's S4 sensor isn't a turd, it is comparable to other models. And they have the S4 Zoom. Who could have done the backlit sensor? My guess it would be Sony or Fujifilm. Let's see if the camera is actually better than the 808. I'll wait to see.

They should bring out a 3.8 inch screen version of this phone. They should add a larger battery and wireless charging and even out the hump.

^^^Surely the flagship Nokia 1020 has wireless charging? I didn't see anything about it that it doesn't. Battery life of any smart phone is that you're able to make a couple of hours of talk on it, surf BRF and respond to Bose babu :), then give it to your kid while during an errand and he/she plays an hour of video games on it, stream 1/2 hours of music to your car stereo through BlueTooth on the way home, and finally still have half the charge left on it!

No, it doesn't. You need to tack on a wireless charging capable cover on it.

^^^What? Kanha hai haamare pyare? Kya jawab hai?

Arrey Mortu tau, kyon itna tension lete ho? :mrgreen:
Mort Walker wrote:Let's see if the camera is actually better than the 808. I'll wait to see.
How will you know? - you haven't used the 808 either :P

I charge my 928 once every 2 days approx though sometimes I have to charge it daily. Smartphones have dragged battery life backwards - major innovation is needed there. Sammy needs any charging it can get given how piss poor their phones' battery life is in real use. Battery and call quality are two things I dont worry about in a GB phone :mrgreen:

^^^How much talk time do you use and do you have kids constantly pulling it from your hands? Besides, I don't use a Sammy all the time, and when I do it too lasts 2 days. Yell-jee on the other hand is abysmal on battery life.

^^^I use quite a bit of data every day for voice/video conferencing since I do some office work from it plus moderate talk time and some games (got the new FIFA game which is pretty nice). The last straw for me chucking away my Sammy GSIII was it lasting only half a day offsite when used for turn-by-turn nav onlee and taking some pics - one more reason why having offline nav is a must (data downloads continuously hogs battery like a paki sucking on IMF).

Raja Bose wrote: How will you know? - you haven't used the 808 either :P
Hum use karta, likin hoshyar Nokia left off the 1700 MHz up for HSPA+. :P
Aab dehko kya hota 1020 ke saath. The 920/925 has 1700 MHz HSPA+.

Raja Bose wrote:^^^I use quite a bit of data every day for voice/video conferencing since I do some office work from it plus moderate talk time and some games (got the new FIFA game which is pretty nice). The last straw for me chucking away my Sammy GSIII was it lasting only half a day offsite when used for turn-by-turn nav onlee and taking some pics - one more reason why having offline nav is a must (data downloads continuously hogs battery like a paki sucking on IMF).
Did you use the GSM or CDMA version of the GS3? The GS3 CDMA is bad about battery, and the GSM version is somewhat better. The GS4 is suppose to be better on both GSM and CDMA.

^^^GSM unlocked GT-i9300 on ATT.

Arrey use nahin karega to compare kaise karega - baaki band-shand sab excuse hai :P

^^^Now I know your problem. ATT coverage is bad in SV, so the use of data defaulted to EDGE, which is a battery hog.

On 808, Band ka matlab hota hai. Kyon paise kharch karain jab data nahi hai? I'm not on ATT, I have TMO and VZW. My phone has to support TMO data frequencies of 1700 MHz down and 2100 MHz up for HSPA+21, otherwise I'm stuck on edge. ATT uses 1900 MHz up. Hopefully Nokia didn't cripple the frequencies on the 1020.

The MOTO X Phone is planning to be launched on all 4 major carriers in the US come end of August. At least MOTO learned from Sammy unlike Nokia/MSFT.

^^^Arrey baba, it is not up to the device manufacturer to determine which carrier will carry their devices, its up to the carriers. So Moto X phone coming on all carriers has more to do with the carriers rather than Moto. Same for Sammy.

I never saw the GSIII go to EDGE while I used it so I doubt that is the reason plus this has happened outside CA too unless you are saying ATT coverage sux :P . Even if it is, half day of usage onlee before requiring a charge is unacceptable.

Hum use karta, likin hoshyar Nokia left off the 1700 MHz up for HSPA+. :P
Aab dehko kya hota 1020 ke saath. The 920/925 has 1700 MHz HSPA+.
After the exclusivity period is over, you can probably unlock tmo frequencies on the 1020.

It's not just EDGE. LTE is also a huge battery hog. I agree with Boseullah, offline navigation is sorely needed. It is a puzzle why Chacha and Apple haven't followed in GB's footsteps. They could run Garmin and Tom Tom out of the personal NAV business. And GB needs to create a Nokia Maps app for Android.

The radio chipset must be physically capable of generating these frequencies along with an antenna tuned for it. The Nokia 920 has 1700/1900/2100 for HSPA+21 even though Nokia doesn't advertise it as such. The Nokia 808 does not have the right chipset for 1700 MHz downlink. It has yet to be announced, or at least I haven't heard it yet, which radio chipset is in the Nokia 1020. It may use the same one in the Nokia 920 or it may not. The reason manufacturers use a different chipset is for less power consumption. A chipset that will work on all frequencies is costly, uses more power (different VCO), and needs a different antenna lengths (more cost). They've got to keep the BOM costs down.

nachiket wrote:It's not just EDGE. LTE is also a huge battery hog.
It depends on how LTE is implemented. Long Term Evolution - LTE is industry jargon for the idea of using spread spectrum technology more efficiently. It is an open standard for CDMA and eventually all voice will be LTE as well. The problem is how power efficient is the chipset for the many frequencies used. There are physical and engineering limitations on this.

Raja Bose wrote:^^^Arrey baba, it is not up to the device manufacturer to determine which carrier will carry their devices, its up to the carriers. So Moto X phone coming on all carriers has more to do with the carriers rather than Moto. Same for Sammy.
Theek hai. Tho app ka kehna carrier aur manf. must agree to the device on their network? Tho aap ka matlab carrier WP nahi pasand karte hain? Hum to samjhe ke carrier ko be khushi hoti hai aur unke big-O ata hai 41 lamba-chora MegaPixel WP se? :mrgreen:

^^^ carriers which push out most devices for a platform can ensure they get a device exclusive - example, Lumia 920 vs 928's delayed arrival on VZW. ATT does this type of pakiness, VZW doesn't otherwise you would have seen that happen during Android's early days too. Ab Samjhe tau? :twisted:

AFAIK all of GB's lumias support all the bands.

Fester has done a reorg of M$. The good thing is that there are now four engineering groups, with business and strat-e-jee moved to a separate group. Hopefully there will be lesser power-point giri and useless middle managers propounding their strat-e-jee.

But gawd so much yum-bee-yae giri in the memo!! Choice quotes

Going forward, our strategy will focus on creating a family of devices and services for individuals and businesses that empower people around the globe at home, at work and on the go, for the activities they value most
We will do this by leveraging our strengths. We have powered devices for many years through Windows PCs and Xbox. We have delivered high-value experiences through Office and other apps. And, we have enabled enterprise value through products like Windows Server and Exchange. The form of delivery shifts to a broader set of devices and services versus packaged software. The frontier of high-value scenarios we enable will march outward, but we have strengths and proven capabilities on which we will draw.
Each major initiative will have a champion who will be a direct report to me or one of my direct reports. The champion will organize to drive a cross-company team for success, but my whole staff will have commitment to the initiative’s success. We will also have outgrowths on those major initiatives that may involve only a single product group. Certainly, succeeding with mobile devices, Windows, Office 365 and Azure will be foundational. Xbox and Bing will also be key future contributors to financial success.
He could have just announced the reorg and included this line:
Improving our performance has three big dimensions: focusing the whole company on a single strategy, improving our capability in all disciplines and engineering/technology areas, and working together with more collaboration and agility around our common goals.

^^^Fester is a Hairbird YumBeeAye no? What do you expect? :mrgreen: Mickey makes profits hand over fist not becoz of Fester's ppt-giri but becoz its division heads are strong and have their $hit together. Companies which run like FruitCo under Mahdi may be more glamorous and get all the PR but rarely have long lives - companies which don't depend on one prima donna survive and thrive the longest. As an investor I would always prefer the latter.

Fester is a shrewd operator - this is Mickey's largest reorg (and probably the only company wide reorg till date) in its 30+ years of existence. By comparison Chacha has already had a reorg of this scale in less than 50% of that duration. Times change, companies change.

Mean-e-while, for pyaare Mortu tau,....

Visualized: the inside of Nokia Lumia 1020's six-element, 41-megapixel camera

GB needs to release a proper white paper for this. They stopped half way during the 808's intro.

41mp seems to be a huge number of pixels crammed into a smartphone level chip. Good work by nokia. But my doubt is why for such a high mp count? What does it gain by not being say a 20mp camera? Surely the people who take pictures on smartphones aren't going to print them poster size. Heck even professionals don't print poster-size all that often and they don't use high-mp cameras. The only people clamouring for high-mp cameras and who're currently using hasselblads and large format cameras are fashion types who have to get their stuff onto huge billboards and landscape photographers.

Raja Bose wrote:^^^Fester is a Hairbird YumBeeAye no? What do you expect?
He fininissed his "hair-brained" yumBAyee where as his roommate did not. His smart roomy was dumpster diving. What do you expect from "hair-brained" schemers?
Raja Bose wrote:Companies which run like FruitCo under Mahdi may be more glamorous and get all the PR but rarely have long lives.
Apple II was introduced on April 16, 1977 almost a year after it was founded on April 1, 1976

vs.
Wiki aunty wrote:Microsoft entered the OS business in 1980 with its own version of Unix, called Xenix.[12] However, it was MS-DOS that solidified the company's dominance. After negotiations with Digital Research failed, IBM awarded a contract to Microsoft in November 1980 to provide a version of the CP/M OS, which was set to be used in the upcoming IBM Personal Computer (IBM PC)
[mildPaki]
almost 5 years after it was founded in April 4, 1975 (in Albuquerque, New Mexico :eek: wither Redmond?)
[/mildPaki]

Lenses in stand alone cameras will offer 2-3 stops of image stabilization. That is a shot you take at 1/60s can be taken between 1/15s-1/30s. Anyway it will be interesting to see the Nokia Lumia 1020 in action. I'll get to try one from a friend.

Prasad wrote:41mp seems to be a huge number of pixels crammed into a smartphone level chip. Good work by nokia. But my doubt is why for such a high mp count? What does it gain by not being say a 20mp camera? Surely the people who take pictures on smartphones aren't going to print them poster size. Heck even professionals don't print poster-size all that often and they don't use high-mp cameras. The only people clamouring for high-mp cameras and who're currently using hasselblads and large format cameras are fashion types who have to get their stuff onto huge billboards and landscape photographers.
They're using pixel binning to resolve at 8MP, 5MP and 3MP. The biggest advantage isn't so much detail, but high dynamic range.

What will hurt Nokia is that the 1020 is $300, compared to $200 for the S4, HTC One, and iPhone 5. By the time this hits, we'll be seeing the Moto X Phone, iPhone 5s (although coming in late Sept.), and other new Android phones all at $200 or less.

Mort Walker wrote:Lenses in stand alone cameras will offer 2-3 stops of image stabilization. That is a shot you take at 1/60s can be taken between 1/15s-1/30s. Anyway it will be interesting to see the Nokia Lumia 1020 in action. I'll get to try one from a friend.
Try it out and let me know your impressions. GB is following a non-traditional route to pack in P&S type photo shoot quality in a much smaller physical form factor - I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of that HW IP finds its way to other uses.

Prasad wrote:41mp seems to be a huge number of pixels crammed into a smartphone level chip. Good work by nokia. But my doubt is why for such a high mp count? What does it gain by not being say a 20mp camera? Surely the people who take pictures on smartphones aren't going to print them poster size. Heck even professionals don't print poster-size all that often and they don't use high-mp cameras. The only people clamouring for high-mp cameras and who're currently using hasselblads and large format cameras are fashion types who have to get their stuff onto huge billboards and landscape photographers.
There should be a post and a link to GB whitepaper somewhere on this dhaaga explaining the why. 41mp is not meant for providing users with 41mp images.

matrimc wrote:
Wiki aunty wrote:Microsoft entered the OS business in 1980 with its own version of Unix, called Xenix.[12] However, it was MS-DOS that solidified the company's dominance. After negotiations with Digital Research failed, IBM awarded a contract to Microsoft in November 1980 to provide a version of the CP/M OS, which was set to be used in the upcoming IBM Personal Computer (IBM PC)
[mildPaki]
almost 5 years after it was founded in April 4, 1975 (in Albuquerque, New Mexico :eek: wither Redmond?)
[/mildPaki]
Mickey was founded in NM becoz MITS (of Altair fame) was based there and was their 1st customer (Altair BASIC). Billu dada moved Mickey back to Puget Sound area later as that's where his family comes from. Billu Dada came from serious money unlike the Mahdi and it shows in the difference of their world views and what drove each of them. Charles Simonyi (Martha Stewart's ex-boyfriend) was instrumental in getting MS Office to where it is today and co-founded Microsoft Research.

I know. Billu dada and his older sister were both millionaires even while somebody was changing their diapers. Granddad (maternal IIRC) was a wealthy lawyer.

Fruit Co. makes the computing devices, running OS X of course, that many of us love and are committed to. They simply work for the consumer and that is all we're asking for.