Indian Autos Thread

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Rye

Post by Rye »

rachel wrote:
we dont have the pride to 'hold our noses' or manifest that level of hatred towards our oppressors.
Other than increasing your bile circulation, what else do you think your "hatred towards the oppressors" will get you? Is hating really more important than getting ahead in the one life that you need to live well?

Perhaps you should stop pulling down your pants and cr@pping on various threads whenever you feel like it. Go ahead and try to your puerile flaming as you have done with others who have tried to warn you.
rachel

Post by rachel »

Rye wrote:rachel wrote:
we dont have the pride to 'hold our noses' or manifest that level of hatred towards our oppressors.
Other than increasing your bile circulation, what else do you think your "hatred towards the oppressors" will get you? Is hating really more important than getting ahead in the one life that you need to live well?

Perhaps you should stop pulling down your pants and cr@pping on various threads whenever you feel like it. Go ahead and try to your puerile flaming as you have done with others who have tried to warn you.
Listen, if you want to call this 'flaming', if the admins want to ban me for this, then fine, let them do so. Some of you people on this forum want to remove all opposition to YOUR opionions or views.

It is MY view that Korea-style dislike against oppressors is a good thing, and to BACK UP MY VIEW, I point to KOREA itself: a successful nation. So who says that 'hatred towards oppressors' will get you nowhere? Are you suggesting that Korea has gotten nowhere?

Korean auto workers use their dislike vs Japanese to motivate themselves to produce Hyundais, and every day at work they tell themsleves that they MUST beat Toyota...so you see, there is such a thing as 'constructive hatred'. Seems to work just fine for them.

But I really am disliking this whole attitude by some people on BR that if I dare to express an opinion that contradicts yours, you'll call it 'flaming' or 'cr^pping'. You need to learn to be a bit more tolerant towards views that differ from your own.

It's not as if I dont contribuet anything positive on this board: here is an example of a very positive piece I found on Fortune and posted. If despite this, the majority of people on BR cannot tolerate dissent then I will leave. You decide, Rye: do you want a forum for discussion or do you want a mutual back-scratching board where all contrary opinions are silenced?

Posted: 04 Apr 2008 01:05 pm Post subject: Fortune CNN blog post

http://ridingtheelephant.blogs.fortune.cnn.com/

March 26, 2008, 9:22 am
Tata buys into 40 years of trouble

Ratan Tata, who runs the Tata Group, one of India’s two biggest conglomerates, is buying into a history of trouble with his $2.3 billion cash deal, announced today, to acquire the Jaguar and Land-Rover companies from Ford (F). Transfer of ownership to Tata Motors is due to be completed by the end of June, and the question is whether Tata can then break a cycle of decline.

It’s been 40 years since the British government, in a bid to rebuild the country’s automobile industry, cobbled together ailing car brands such as Jaguar, Rover, Austin, Morris and Riley into a giant called British Leyland. BL, as it became known, was a failure, mainly because of endemic labor problems, uninspired products and poor quality. Since 1968, there have been many rescue attempts, but only rare short bursts of success. Several of the once proud names are long forgotten and none is British-owned; the iconic MG brand was bought three years ago by China’s Nanjing Automobile to make sports cars in China and the U.K., and the Morris Mini cult car is with BMW.

So could Tata succeed where others have failed? Market and industry analysts have their doubts, fearing the companies do not fit and that Tata’s optimism about growth could be hit by worsening economic problems in the United States and elsewhere. Tata Motors shares lost 4.4% on the Mumbai stock market today as brokers awaited the announcement.

But there is some reason for optimism. Ratan Tata isn’t expected to treat Jaguar and Land Rover like a traditional takeover: He says he’s not planning to overhaul senior management, close factories in Britain, or cut workers. He said today: “We have enormous respect for the two brands and will endeavour to preserve and build on their heritage and competitiveness, keeping their identities intact. We aim to support their growth, while holding true to our principles of allowing the management and employees to bring their experience and expertise to bear on the growth of the business.â€
Abhijit

Post by Abhijit »

rachel bhai/didi

hatred is a very potent emotion. Just like a potent medicine that can be potentially lethal too, one needs to use hatred sparingly and at the right time and place and in right quantity. Indiscriminate display and feeling of hatred is not only counterproductive, it diminishes its edge with constant use.

just some unsolicited advice. take it fwiw.
KarthikSan

Post by KarthikSan »

rachel wrote:Korean auto workers use their dislike vs Japanese to motivate themselves to produce Hyundais, and every day at work they tell themsleves that they MUST beat Toyota...so you see, there is such a thing as 'constructive hatred'. Seems to work just fine for them.
Constructive hatred is an oxymoron! What the Koreans have is a healthy competitive spirit. What the Pakis have is hatred which is digging themselves into a grave.

BTW I know and work with a ton of Koreans who all own Japanese cars for the same reason an American won't buy an American car. Hyundai might be better than average now but they still have a long way to go before catching up with Toyota or Honda.
rachel

Post by rachel »

Well, it is Naidu who suggested the word 'hate'... and I do see a lot more anti-Jap feeling among the average Koreans than among us towards ..any of the many who oppress, rape, and enslaved us.

Whether you want to label it as hatred or something else, can anyone seriously doubt that they have a certain feeling towards their oppressors that we dont? As for the term 'contructive hatred', I am specifically using this term to differentiate from the Paki 'destructive hatred' that Karthisan referred to.

Anyway, let's return to auto talk..this is very OT right now!
Naidu

Post by Naidu »

rachel wrote:Well, it is Naidu who suggested the word 'hate'... and I do see a lot more anti-Jap feeling among the average Koreans than among us towards ..any of the many who oppress, rape, and enslaved us.
Thanks for taking something totally out of context and turning it into a self-spiting screed.

This is getting further and further away from the "Indian Autos" thread. So I'll keep this brief: My choice of 'hate' might have been the wrong word for the Korean feeling towards the Japanese; 'despise' is a better choice. But that doesn't mean you have jump all over the opportunity to put your own inferiority complex on display.
rachel

Post by rachel »

Naidu wrote:
rachel wrote:Well, it is Naidu who suggested the word 'hate'... and I do see a lot more anti-Jap feeling among the average Koreans than among us towards ..any of the many who oppress, rape, and enslaved us.
Thanks for taking something totally out of context and turning it into a self-spiting screed.

This is getting further and further away from the "Indian Autos" thread. So I'll keep this brief: My choice of 'hate' might have been the wrong word for the Korean feeling towards the Japanese; 'despise' is a better choice. But that doesn't mean you have jump all over the opportunity to put your own inferiority complex on display.
There you go with your 'judgementalism' again. Who says inferiority complex? You said Koreans 'despise' Japanese. I said: that attitude is good and we should adopt it wrt our oppressors. That's an inferiority complex?

Sheeesh..you people. Whenever you see an opinion you dont agree with, you just have to spin it into something negative, dont you?
Naidu

Post by Naidu »

rachel wrote: There you go with your 'judgementalism' again. Who says inferiority complex? You said Koreans 'despise' Japanese. I said: that attitude is good and we should adopt it wrt our oppressors. That's an inferiority complex?
That's not what you said. Read again. And it telegraphed "Look at the Koreans, they're so much better than us, their hate is better than our hate!" You might not have meant it, but that is what came across.
Sheeesh..you people. Whenever you see an opinion you dont agree with, you just have to spin it into something negative, dont you?
Rachel, you started the negativity. We all have opinions, and it is hard to get 100% alignment, but when people don't agree with you it doesn't automatically mean we all are conspiring against you. And don't use the "you people" line either; I'm expressing my opinions, nobody else's.

My last post on this subject. Let's agree to disagree. Hope we continue to interact! :-)

How many fuel injection mobikes in India?
rachel

Globe and Mail series on INDIA: Mahindra Tractors

Post by rachel »

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/ ... ss/?query=

The tractor maker who has John Deere on the run
Anand Mahindra is one of the architects of a new empire rising in India. Meet him, and hear him speak, in the first of a four-part series this week by Marcus Gee

MARCUS GEE

[email protected]
E-mail Marcus Gee | Read Bio | Latest Columns

April 8, 2008 at 7:08 AM EDT

MUMBAI — Anand Mahindra was at the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland, last year when Robert Lane, chairman of U.S. farm equipment concern Deere & Co., approached him.

"I've been to your dealerships and seen all your manuals," he told Mr. Mahindra, whose Mumbai-based Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd. has been taking on the maker of John Deere tractors in the U.S. market.

Well, replied Mr. Mahindra with a laugh, "that's good news and bad news."

The bad news is that the world's biggest tractor maker has put Mahindra & Mahindra in its sights. The good news, both for Mr. Mahindra and India, is that a behemoth like John Deere is worried enough to bother.

============================================
Bio

Name: Anand Mahindra, managing director and vice-chairman, Mahindra & Mahindra
Residence: Mumbai
Main Industry: Vehicle manufacturing
Family: Married, two grown daughters
Education: Parents sent him to the renowned Lawrence School in Tamil Nadu at age 11. He later studied film, then business, at Harvard
Biography: Sole male heir of the Mahindra family, he joined the family firm after earning his Harvard MBA and helped his father Harish clean up troubled Mahindra Ugine Steel. Took over as M&M chief executive in 1997. Gambled and won when he launched the Scorpio SUV, a hit in India that M&M plans to sell in Britain and the United States.
Financial results for Mahindra & Mahindra:
• Net income in 2007: $4.5-billion, up 87 per cent from 2005
• Market capitalization of M&M group companies (on April 4, 2008): $7.93-billion

============================================
Indian manufacturers have never troubled the sleep of executives in the rich world. India is well known for its outsourcing and information technology skills - even, more recently, for the global shopping sprees of its acquisitive billionaires - but its manufacturers are minnows beside the sharks of China, South Korea and Taiwan.

Gradually, that has begun to change.

India's manufacturing industry grew at an annual rate of 9 per cent over the past four years, on pace with its booming economy. Boston Consulting Group predicts that India will be the 11th-biggest global manufacturer by 2015 and the seventh-biggest by 2025, up from 14th in 2005.

Mr. Mahindra, 52, is one of the reasons. The urbane, Harvard-educated business leader has taken his family firm from a staid domestic maker of jeeps and tractors to a global player with ambitions in everything from SUVs and auto parts to movie making and time share resorts. In naming him Businessman of the Year for 2007, Business India magazine called the M&M managing director "the poster child for the global Indian."

His M&M has dealerships in 25 countries and subsidiaries in Europe, Australia and South Africa. Its revenue has grown 20-fold in 17 years.

Already the largest tractor maker in the world's largest tractor market - India - it has become third largest in the world by units sold and plans to be first by 2010. It makes India's most popular SUV, the Scorpio, and has joined with France's Renault to make the Logan, a no-frills sedan for Indians. It plans to launch the Scorpio and two models of pickup truck in the U.S. market next year.

"On the manufacturing side, they're top class," said Jamshed Dadabhoy, an analyst with Citigroup in Mumbai.

Mr. Mahindra is the first to admit that Indian firms still cannot compete with the cheap skilled labour and first-rank infrastructure of Chinese manufacturers. "If we had to put out a million Barbie dolls, we just couldn't," he said.

But India has some distinct advantages: a sophisticated stock market where companies can go to raise money in a hurry; a young, eager work force; the English language; and, above all, well-managed, forward-looking companies such as M&M.

While China's leading companies tend to be run or heavily influenced by the state, India's are more often private, family-owned conglomerates - sprawling business houses with storied names like Birla, Tata and Ambani. After decades of stifling government regulation, these firms are emerging as fierce global competitors under a new generation of leaders.

Mr. Mahindra is a typical product of that generation. Like many educated Indians, he is charming, hospitable and effortlessly articulate. A sought-after luncheon speaker, he mixes quotations from T.S. Eliot with references to Hindu mythology. Instead of poring over earnings reports on the weekend, he sets sails on his 45-foot catamaran Dreamcatcher, taking the helm while his fashion-editor wife, Anuradha, "balances her champagne glass."

Around the dinner table when he was growing up, his family talked about jazz and politics, not the business. His mother, a teacher and author who escaped her modest background to try acting in Bollywood movies, was as much an influence as his father, himself a "reluctant businessman" who studied diplomacy at Harvard.

The younger Mahindra studied film at Harvard before taking an MBA at the business school, finally joining the family firm in 1981 and working his way up. "I'm not someone who's going to recite the 10 commandments of business and tell you I slaved from the age of 17 and had a lemonade stand," he said.

He would rather talk about "the right brain," and how creative thinking can foster innovation. To keep his senior executives mentally flexible, he takes them to Harvard every year for sessions not just on business strategy but science, public policy and philosophy, with concerts to enliven the evenings. He calls the program Mahindra Universe.

But don't mistake his sense of balance for detachment. Like many Indian business leaders, he is impatient to see India catch up with its global rivals. "A company like ours - whose DNA is Indian, whose character is Indian, who wants to become an Indian multinational - well, if this succeeds, it's a sign that Indian business in general has what it takes to succeed," Mr. Mahindra said in an interview in his company's Mumbai office tower. "If we don't, there's something wrong."

Mr. Mahindra traces the firm's competitive zeal to its founders. His paternal grandfather, J.C. Mahindra, became India's iron and steel czar during the Second World War, rationing the precious commodities in a time of shortage. J.C.'s brother, K.C. Mahindra, was the head of India's supply mission in Washington. He channelled U.S. material to Britain's forces in India. They went into business together after the war, trading iron and steel, then assembling jeeps - "two salaried blokes," as Mr. Mahindra puts it, "who got patriotic and decided to start a company with the princely sum of 100,000 rupees" (about $2,500 at today's rates).

In 1947, just as the company was starting up, India won its independence from Britain. "So in a sense they were born at the same time, born with the same ideals as the country: To prove that this new country could survive and compete with the best in the world."

Like many others, the company languished under the "licence raj," the strict regime of protectionism and government micromanagement that prevailed until a financial crisis forced New Delhi to open up the economy in 1991.

So when Mr. Mahindra took over from his uncle Keshub and father Harish in 1997, "we decided we should live up to the founders' expectations."

As India emerged from decades of stultifying government regulation, Mr. Mahindra shaped it up for national and global competition. He took on the company's powerful unions. He shut unproductive plants. He hired away top executives from Xerox and General Motors and India's Tata Group.

As India's economy took off, he launched new products like the hardy Scorpio, which withstood competition from established brands such as Honda, Ford and Toyota to grab a quarter of the domestic market. Plans for an eco-friendly hybrid are on the books.

But Mr. Mahindra seems proudest of M&M's success against Deere & Co., the Illinois company founded in 1837 whose green-and-yellow vehicles are a symbol of American industrial might.

"John Deere considers us enemy No. 1," says Mr. Mahindra. "We are the little baby cobra they have to kill."

M&M has found a niche in the United States with its sturdy, relatively low-horsepower tractors, popular among hobby farmers and suburban lawn masters who don't need a monster tractor and like Mahindra's reliability. Sales have grown 25 to 30 per cent over the past four years, putting Mahindra fourth in the market, inching toward third.

Deere was worried enough that it offered a $1,500 (U.S.) rebate to anyone who would trade in his or her Mahindra for a John Deere. Mahindra, for its part, tried to lure Deere customers with an ad showing a pretty blonde riding a Mahindra. "Deere John," read the caption, "I have found someone new."

Success or failure in the United States won't make or break M&M, but Mr. Mahindra takes the Frank Sinatra view: "If you can make it there, you can make in anywhere."

"That's why you go to certain sophisticated markets, because it pulls you up to a different weight class of competition," he said. "That's why you do the U.S., that's why you do the U.K. They're the ones that keep yanking us into the future."

Companies like Mr. Mahindra's M&M are doing the same for India.

The Series

By Marcus Gee, in Mumbai

Wednesday: Airport developer G.M. Rao is modernizing India's crumbling infrastructure.

Thursday: Information-technology wizard Azim Premji leads

India's rise as a flat-world competitor.

Friday: Industrial magnate Ratan Tata shakes up the global auto market by launching the world's cheapest car.

Does anyone here have experience with Tractors ? I need a small 18-25 bhp one for maintaining a 2-3 acre farm. Is an Indian brand better than the John Deere or New Holland types. Spares will be more expensive in bideshi brands but hopefully they will be longer lasting. Is there any other criteria ?

there is also another option of using a tiller, something like this, but I do not think moving it around is as easy as they make it look.
shyam

Post by shyam »

Raju wrote:Does anyone here have experience with Tractors ? I need a small 18-25 bhp one for maintaining a 2-3 acre farm. Is an Indian brand better than the John Deere or New Holland types. Spares will be more expensive in bideshi brands but hopefully they will be longer lasting. Is there any other criteria ?

there is also another option of using a tiller, something like this, but I do not think moving it around is as easy as they make it look.
Mitshubishi Shakti MT 180d is a nice compact model. spares availability
is bit iffy in North India though.

shyam wrote:green-tilling
I'm in love with horses, so if it came to that i would prefer something like this.
ajay pratap wrote:Mitshubishi Shakti MT 180d is a nice compact model. spares availability is bit iffy in North India though.
yes, that seems like a very good option.
http://www.vsttillers.com/htm/tract.htm

Argentum may roll out luxe cars for Karmann.

Delhi-based Argentum Motors, which has taken over the Daewoo Motors’ plant in Greater Noida, is in discussions with Germany’s largest independent motor company, the e1.9-billion Wilhelm Karmann GmbH, for a multi-million dollar outsourcing deal. If the two companies are able to seal an agreement, Argentum will manufacture high-end luxury cars for the German company. This will be one of the first third-party outsourcing deals in the Indian automotive industry.

Interestingly, Karmann itself does not sell automobiles. It manufactures high-end sports cars and luxury vehicles for its stable of customers, which include big names such as Chrysler, Porsche, Mercedes Benz, Nissan, BMW, Land Rover and Volkswagen.

When contacted by ET, Argentum Motors chairman Ajay Singh said: “We are looking at several companies for technical tieups in Europe and the US at this stage. We are also exploring Karmann as one of the potential partners for a technical tieup to manufacture different vehicles.

With India as a lucrative low-cost manufacturing destination, we are looking at synergies with several automotive companies in Europe, as they are not able to sustain high manufacturing costs.â€

Raju, you are saying, HP better than BP.

Yes, horses are cool.

btw after I told the New Holland guys that I am after something as compact as this, (between 18-25 bhp) they are after me now. Looks like an outflow of 2-3 lakhs is imminent.

Raju, for lawns in desh? or firang? for desh, I'd rather expend that money on people who would the job regularly, and help them survive. good karma. ;-)

In desh onlee, but it seems employing somebody for the said purpose is equivalent to doing the job myself. i.e. I have to stick around to ensure that the person is doing his job. :) With this around, either me or anyone else can do the necessary job as and when required quickly. There is a lot of work in other areas, so labor employed can utilized more effectively rather than scratching around in the field.

What is the hep bike for youth now?

TVS Apache 220?
Bajaj Pulsar 220?
Honda Karizma 220?

Pulsar seems to be the favorite

Tata Motors set to launch Crossover.

After launching the Rs 1 lakh car Nano, and the recent acquisition of luxury brands Jaguar and Landrover, India's largest truckmaker, Tata Motors, is now planning to launch a crossover vehicle.

The new offering would take on competition from established products such as the Toyota Innova and General Motors Chevrolet Tavera, and will be manufactured at its plant in Pune, according to sources.

In March 2005, the company had unveiled Tata Xover, a crossover concept vehicle at the Geneva Motor show. The vehicle, a 7-seater sporting a new generation engine, navigation system, ABS and air bags among other things. The company had at that point said that the vehicle would be designed and engineered for markets in Europe, but there have been no further announcements on the project since then.

It is not clear whether the crossover to be made at Pune is the one that was unveiled at Geneva. Independent sources involved in the project said the vehicle, which will combine the comforts of a luxury car with the features of a sports utility vehicle, is being designed in collaboration with the London-based Tata Motors European Technical Centre (TMETC).

"About 50 per cent of the vendors have already been frozen for the model and the rest will be tied up in the next few weeks," said a Tata Motors executive who did not wish to be identified. "Plans are to start trial production of the crossover in June-July and commercial production for a October- November launch," said one vendor.

A Tata Motors spokesperson, when asked about the project, said "The company, as per policy, does not share information on future product launches".

The Indian market for crossovers has grown in the past few years, partly in tandem with the boom in call centres and outsourcing jobs. Vehicles such as the Tavera and Innova are in great demand with the taxi companies which ferry callcentre and BPO staff.

For instance, Toyota has sold 132,045 units of the Innova since its launch in 2005. Tata Motors has so far had no presence in this segment.

Tata Motor's Pune facility currently rolls out its light truck Ace and people-carrier Magic. These are in the process of being shifted to the company's facility in Pantnagar, Uttarakhand.

Till March, the Pune facility was producing some 6,000 units per month of both these vehicles. This was brought down to 2,000 units in April .

Tata Motors confirmed that the Ace and Magic production is being moved. "It is indeed the purpose of the company to produce the Ace and all related vehicles at Pant Nagar. The Pune plant, where the company is investing Rs 6000 crore over 5 years, will be concentrating on passenger vehicles, pick-ups and light commercial vehicles", the company spokesperson said.

I believe it so.. Bajaj is always the leader in two wheeler, and front running. TVS is going to have a big challenge.. and they would be always trailing, and losing that market share.

After parting with Suzuki, did they ever made it to #1 spot yet? As they inch, the bajaj has leapfrog footed.

Hail the fuel injection tech for bikes. I would like to have a FI-Diesel 200Cc hep bikes for desh market.. A hybrid version could give that much leapfroggin, perhaps TVS can do if they want to catch up.

hybrid-diesel-200cc fi bike, giving about 60 miles per litre is great thing to have, and having at least 10-12bhp.

FOlks any updates on Tata Nano. When are we going to see them on road,is everything as per schedule... Gas at $117 dollars per barrell, Nano is the only hope in the near future

well first they would have to build a plant. And then it seems Nano will be sold on some PDS-type scheme. Not free for all.

I thought plant was already built and its in finishing stage that was two months ago

First ‘test’ Nanos roll out from Uttarakhand

[quote]Pune, April 23 The first two test units of the Nano have just rolled out from a new assembly line at Tata Motors’ Uttarakhand plant that is now nearly ready, suggesting that commercial production of the small car will actually begin at Pantnagar nearly a month before it begins at Singur.

These are the first units of the small car to be actually made on the assembly line as against R&D prototypes that were showcased at the Delhi Auto Expo earlier this January. According to a source, some 70 more such test vehicles will be produced to test the assembly line that is being installed at a cost of around Rs 300 crore and is now around 80 per cent complete.
Testing drill

The cars will be subjected to extensive testing before trial production will begin, to be followed by commercial production by September, he said, adding that at full ramped up capacity the plant can produce 60,000 cars a year.

Responding to a question on this, a Tata Motors spokesperson said, “As stated earlier, there will be satellite plants for the car, locations of which will be announced in due course.â€

Mahindra launches its Scorpio SUV in Chile
Mumbai (PTI): Mahindra & Mahindra (M&M) today announced the launch of its Mahindra Scorpio SUV in Chile in partnership with Fortaleza, a part of the Automotores Gildemeister group.

Fortaleza SA is a subsidiary of the Gildemeister group, a leading and diversified Latin American conglomerate.

Earlier, M&M had launched its Mahindra Pik Up Double Cab in Chile in July last year.

"The Mahindra brand is already well-known in Chile and the launch of the Scorpio will only help us further consolidate our presence in the region," M&M's Executive Vice-President, Pravin Shah, said.

"The response to the launch of the Mahindra Double Cab in Chile has been very good," Automotores Gildemeister's President & CEO, Ricardo Lessmann, said.

"With its unique combination of ruggedness, reliability and style, the Mahindra Scorpio SUV offers a strong value proposition and is sure to emerge as the diesel offroader of choice in the Chilean market," he added.

Automotores Gildemeister is the Chilean arm of the Gildemeister group. In addition to Mahindra, the company also represents Hyundai and Ford in Chile.

In addition to Chile and Peru in South America, Mahindra has its presence in Brazil and Uruguay as well.
shyam

Post by shyam »

Paul wrote: I have thought of that too. Koreans are showing signs of displaying out of the box thinking for quite some time. Their foreign policy is also more independent than...say Japan, which is unkil's other poodle.
Anything with global evangelical order setting base in India thru Korea.
It is OT, but following old news must be analyzed with Acharya's perspective
Ayodhya to host Indo-Korean cultural centre

Tata explores new small car platform.

Tata Motors is planning a new platform for a compact car codenamed X4.

The idea is “purely at an exploratory stageâ€
Himanshu

Post by Himanshu »

News..

Ford is to launch the Next Generation Fiesta in 2009

Honda is going to launch the all new 'Honda City' by year end..

Tata's new MPV/MUV is undergoing thorough road tests these days. Planned for second half 2009 launch.. to compete with Toyota Innova.

On the PSLV C9 page Wikipedia is referring to a TATA launch of a hydrogen fuel cell car in 2008. The hydrogen fuel cell is being developed with ISRO.

This appears dubious, unless TATA have managed a covert coup the fuel supply logistics would have to be in place and visible by now if the deadline was real. Its Wikipedia and therefore any other sources for this piece?

rahulm wrote:On the PSLV C9 page Wikipedia is referring to a TATA launch of a hydrogen fuel cell car in 2008. The hydrogen fuel cell is being developed with ISRO.

This appears dubious, unless TATA have managed a covert coup the fuel supply logistics would have to be in place and visible by now if the deadline was real. Its Wikipedia and therefore any other sources for this piece?
I remember reading poress reports a few weeks back to the effect that TATA was indeed working with ISRO on Hydro cells. Sorry, no links though.
Himanshu

Post by Himanshu »

rahulm wrote:On the PSLV C9 page Wikipedia is referring to a TATA launch of a hydrogen fuel cell car in 2008. The hydrogen fuel cell is being developed with ISRO.

Link[/url]
Last edited by Himanshu on 09 May 2008 15:22, edited 1 time in total.

rachel wrote:
Naidu wrote:If there is one nation that hates the Japanese more than the Chinese, it is the Korean nation. The Chinese might set aside their hatred to do bizness, but not so the Koreans. They will do business with Japan only if they absolutely have to; then too they'll hold their noses.

If you see street scenes from S. Korea you will rarely see a foreign car; almost never a Japanese car.
My personal belief is that Koreans, Japs, and Orientals in general are much more patriotic than us. This level of hatred that the Koreans have is the result of just a half century or so of occupation.

In contrast, Hindus were occupied for 1000 years, with massacres, genocide, and death toll far in xs of what was done to Korea. Yet we dont have the pride to 'hold our noses' or manifest that level of hatred towards our oppressors.

Very sad state of affairs.

Don't want to restart a "flame war" but while Koreans hate the Japanese the idea that Korean workers pump themselves up in order to "defeat" the Japanese in biz is a bit overblown IMHO.

Let's look at a few examples. Almost all Hyundai’s engines in its models till the 1990s and early 2000s were based on Mitsubishi engine technology. And the Japanese sold the Hyundai’s a lemon of sorts since they gave them technology, which was almost a decade behind what the Japanese companies themselves were using. Body styling was also derived from early versions of Japanese cars.

It is only now that that Hyundai has made breakthroughs in engine design and now the difference in very discernible. Its latest models like the Avante - labeled as a Corolla killer - have closed the gap dramatically. They will only get better. But the point is the Koreans turned to the Japanese initially for technology and help to set up the car industry, they did not puff up their chests in patriotism, they were more pragmatic.

If you look at Samsung, the other great Korean icon, the story is very similar. It got its Flash memory technology from Toshiba, where Fujio Masuoka invented both the Nor and Nand Flash techs. Samsung developed its LCD panel tech jointly with Sony, in fact even today Samsung and Sony get their panels from the latest Fab7 and they are planning their Fab8.

There are many more examples.

I've had extensive dealings with the so-called "Orientals" I can tell you they may be patriotic people but they are far more pragmatic than us emotional Indians. If it makes business sense they are not going to let perceived wrongs against them to stand in the way. That's true for the Koreans, Chinese and the Japanese. Note how, despite the hostility, China, Japan trade is shooting through the roof.

And one final point and this is for Rachel. The Brits were bad for India, but they were nothing compared to the rape and pillage that the Japanese did in the Korean peninsular. And Japanese domination and atrocities in China and Korea is not just a World War II phenomenon. It has its roots way back in history. Read it it's as fascinating as Indian history. By the way never called a Japanese a Jap, it’s considered the worst form of racial abuse in the Land of the Rising Sun.

Sorry for the long ramble. I get a sense that there are too many rigid notions being bandied about without checking the facts.

Cheers!

Thanks Amit

A few of us have mentioned these but it seems to be forgotten.

We have a long way to go understand the Far East and EAst more deeply.

Regarding cars I was having that argument in some other thread. hyundai is rapidly closing the gap and maybe ahead in the VFM stakes with certain segments of the market.