Amarnath Yatris killed in terror attack. Allahoakbar

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Amarnath Yatris killed in terror attack. Allahoakbar

Per Prime Minister Vajpayee L-e-T was responsible for the last (2000 ?) terror attack on Amarnath Yatris.

Amarnath yatra attack: Hizbul hand suspected says IB
The attack was planned well in advance and was meant to avenge the designation of the Hizbul chief Syed Salahuddin as a global terrorist. The Hizbul has not claimed the attack as yet.

IB officials further say that the Hizbul with the backing of Pakistan had planned and coordinated this attack. The attack was meant to be launched on a police party, but the bus came under cross fire.
Last edited by Amber G. on 11 Jul 2017 06:13, edited 1 time in total.

The timing too is suspect, with India and China facing off over Doklam, Bakis probably thought this would be a good time to stir up the pot in J&K. There's no mistaking that this terror attack was orchestrated from Pakistan, they probably gamed that India will not retaliate while China is mobilising in Tibet.

Let us see how GoI responds to this.

Request - Can one post statements (link) of official reactions of other countries in this thread.

Narendra Modi (Twitter)‏:
I have spoken to the Governor and Chief Minister of J&K and assured all possible assistance required.
India will never get bogged down by such cowardly attacks & the evil designs of hate.
My thoughts are with all those who lost their loved ones in the attack in J&K. My prayers with the injured.
Pained beyond words on the dastardly attack on peaceful Amarnath Yatris in J&K. The attack deserves strongest condemnation from everyone.

I have not seen any international reaction yet.. here is per newspapers some reactions, documented..

PM Narendra Modi wrote:Pained beyond words on the dastardly attack on peaceful Amarnath Yatris in J&K. The attack deserves strongest condemnation from everyone. My thoughts are with all those who lost their loved ones in the attack in J&K. My prayers with the injured. India will never get bogged down by such cowardly attacks & the evil designs of hate. I have spoken to the Governor and Chief Minister of J&K and assured all possible assistance required.
Rahul Gandhi wrote:India will never be intimidated by these terrorist cowards. This is a grave and unacceptable security lapse. The PM needs to accept responsibility and never allow it to happen again.
Mehbooba Mufti wrote:It is an assault on our values and traditions. I have no words to condemn this, hope those involved will be arrested and punished soon
Vijay Rupani wrote:Condemn cowardly attack, India will never get bogged down by such acts. Six people from Gujarat’s Valsad have lost their lives in Anantnag terror attack. Our government is in contact with J&K government and military to ensure proper treatment and medical attention for the injured.
Deputy CM J&K Nirmal Singh wrote:Those attacking innocent people won’t be spared. All 15 injured people are out of danger.
Arun Jaitley wrote:Terrorist attack on Amarnath Yatra is the most reprehensible act. This should add to our determination to eliminate terrorism. This incident should add to our determination to eliminate terrorism.

Amit Shah wrote:I have no words to express my deep pain on the killing of innocent pilgrims traveling to the holy shrine of Amarnath. It is a henious act. I pray for the families of those who have lost their lives and wish speedy recovery to the injured. Cowards responsible for this barbaric act will not be spared. I have spoken to the BJP District President and MLC from Anantnag and asked our karyakartas in Kashmir to help the pilgrims in need.
Meira Kumar wrote:Any attack on the secular fabric of the nation is condemnable
Mirwaiz Umar Farooq‏ wrote:As the unfortunate news of the Yatris Killing reaches us leadership & people of Kashmir are deeply saddened &strongly condemn it. To us … the pilgrims have and will always be respected guests.
Tejashwi Yadav wrote:Strongly condemn the cowardice and shameful attack on Amarnath Yatra pilgrims by bloody terrorist. My prayers and thoughts with bereaved families
Sanjay Nirupam wrote:Strongly condemn the terror attack on Amarnath Yatra.Why was not proper security arrangements there? Condolences to the families of yatris.
Poonam Mahajan wrote:Attack on innocent Amarnath Yatra pilgrims is a barbaric display of inhumanity. Such cowardly acts are completely unacceptable.
Piyush Goyal wrote:Deplorable attack on Amarnath Yatra deserves strong condemnation. My condolences to the grieving & prayers for rapid recovery of the injured.
Naveen Patnaik wrote:Strongly condemn horrific attack on Amarnath Yatra pilgrims by terrorists at Anantnag. Such dastardly act should not go unpunished..

Ndtv claiming a let guy sandip Sharma aka adil from up arrested as terrorist

And some malsis on Facebook that it's conspiracy

The bus operator lapsed in his judgement and could have parked for the night at a police station or army post asking for protection

But harping on it will bring forth the msm sickular meme
That the victims deserved it for not following the protocol

We should not aid that play
BharataTalwar

Post by BharataTalwar »

Could I recommend renaming this ridiculous title?

BharataTalwar wrote:Could I recommend renaming this ridiculous title?
yeah let's set that terror has no religion except for victims

ArjunPandit wrote:
yeah let's set that terror has no religion except for victims
How about simple: AmarnathYatra: Pakistan-backed jihadi terrorists kill seven Hindu pilgrims on their way to Anantnag.

By all means recommend a good secular title that offends no one.

^^^I don't think secular/nonsecular part is important..but I do think, "Pakistani backed jihadis' needs to be in title.

AmberG, Thanks for the posts.

Ramana

article in Jammu based newspaper with some facts on what happened

http://www.dailyexcelsior.com/7-amarnat ... or-attack/

the bus was registered in Gujarat and appears to not have been a part of the official convoy. IMVHO it was returning rather late at 2020 ist on the NH.
The bus bearing the registration number GJ09Z 9976 was attacked at around 8.20 pm near Khanabal when it was on its way to Jammu, police said.
Police said the bus was not a part of the yatra convoy which is being provided elaborate security.
The terrorists first attacked a bullet-proof bunker of the police at Botengoo, a police official said, adding it was retaliated. There were no injuries in this attack.
Thereafter the terrorists fired on a police picket near Khannabal, the police added.
When the police retaliated, the militants fled, firing indiscriminately in which the bus carrying the yatris got it.
Seven of the pilgrims were killed and 32 were injured, the police said.

List of dead. May they Rest in Peace and I pray that their kith and kin find strength to bear this irreperable loss

Surakha Ben R/o Udwada RS Near Bhagini Samaj School District Valsad Gujarat, Patal Lakshimiben S R/o Valsad District Valsad Gujarat, Hasuben Ratila Patal R/o Vadoli School Faliya, Valsad Gujarat, Thakor Nirmala Ben W/o Bharat Thakor R/o Dhanu District Palghar Maharashtra, Usha Mohanla Sonkar W/o Mohan Moti Ram Sonkar R/o Danu District Valgad Maharastra, Ratan Zeena Bhai Patal S/o Zina Bhai R/o Daman Kunta District Daman Gujarat and Praja Pati Champaben W/o Raman Bhai R/o Gandevi District Navsari Gujarat
http://www.dailyexcelsior.com/7-amarnat ... or-attack/
Pathik

Post by Pathik »

Apart from the registration plate, the media is harping about the bus being from Gujrat. Why is this Gujrat angle necessary? bl00dy mleccha rakshasas of MSM. Bus not following protocol, bus caught in cross fire etc, all unwarranted headlines. These are mere facts for investigation but msm is using every means to side with the muslim terrorists
For the NaMo bhakts across the country this is an acid test for their faith in the PM. If Modi lets this pass with just some surgical strike x months down the line or videos of a few bunkers blown then thats a clear indication of his inaction on hindutva cause. Killing Shri Shiva's innocent faithfuls on a pilgrimage and most of them women is as barbaric as it can get. This is ISIS happening within India. I want to wait and see what MAD does to Kashmir now.

If the mainstream media is talking about the bus being from Gujarat. Then you can rest assured that they've made up their Minds that they wish to cause Hindu Muslim riot in Gujarat or anywhere else in India that is the only reason why this angle is being highlighted.
Pathik

Post by Pathik »

Pratyush wrote:If the mainstream media is talking about the bus being from Gujarat. Then you can rest assured that they've made up their Minds that they wish to cause Hindu Muslim riot in Gujarat or anywhere else in India that is the only reason why this angle is being highlighted.
Its psy-ops to link it to 2002 - we told you so.

Akshay Kapoor wrote:Modi should make this a very big deal. Use this as leverage to go for the jugular and hammer the terrorises and stone pesters and media.
We know it will not happen. BJP lacks killer instinct. At max we will see some tactical action. Little more than what we are already seeing in Kashmir. IA is already quite active last 2-3months.
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/glo ... verything/
Barka Dutt in Washington Post.
Giving up on the Kashmir cause. She knows they have lost it.

Gentle folks one point to ponder

almost every year since 2000 Amarnath yatra has been stoned attacked and Yatris killed wounded, last year 11 were killed to stone pelting and delayed medical aide.
LokeshC

Post by LokeshC »

A Deshmukh wrote:https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/glo ... verything/
Barka Dutt in Washington Post.
Giving up on the Kashmir cause. She knows they have lost it.
She is not saying it's lost. Far from it. She is saying muslims in the valley are feeling disgusted... so it could be good for cashmere. And then she warns eeevil yindoos that they should not harm Muslims, like those innocent cattle "traders".

The article is 100% bullshit.
Sicanta

Post by Sicanta »

BBC tries to depict a case of bus being caught in crossfire, when the terrorists attacked police. No mention that

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/video/amar ... 99089.html
Tour operator Yogesh Prajapati, who was present in the ill-fated bus at the time of the attack, told India Today TV that because of a tyre puncture their vehicle got delayed.

He said they waited for about two or two-and-a-half hours because of the tyre puncture after they left Srinagar. Prajapati said the gunshots were being fired at the bus from the front when about 60 people were seated inside
Sicanta

Post by Sicanta »

Then this -

barkha duttVerified account @BDUTT
For months writ of the State has been missing in Kashmir -I would have held neither elections nor the Yatra in such times #AmarnathYatra

Amarnath Yatra 2017 Attack Live Updates: NSA Ajit Doval to brief PM Modi, Rajnath Singh monitoring situation
10:55 am: National Security Adviser Ajit Doval attended Home Minister Rajnath Singh’s meeting in Delhi.

shiv wrote:Amarnath Yatra attack: Six pilgrims killed, four injured as terrorists target yatris’ bus in Anantnag
http://indianexpress.com/article/india/ ... g-kashmir/
Please get rid of AoA from topic name Shiv Saar.

what a losers from BJP are there on top? Jitendra Singh: this is not attack on Amarnath Yatra but on composite culture of Kashmir. & Indian civilisation. :cry:

lets not forget yesterday a revealation came out putting Clown prince in spot vis a vis China..now that news is on back burner hence congress gains from this.
Last edited by IndraD on 11 Jul 2017 12:16, edited 1 time in total.

Sitaram Yechury‏Verified account
@SitaramYechury
Last killing of pilgrims in terror attack was in 2000, under BJP-led NDA. Now, again in 2017. How did the situation in Kashmir come to this?

That AoA in header should be removed

nirav wrote:
shiv wrote:Amarnath Yatra attack: Six pilgrims killed, four injured as terrorists target yatris’ bus in Anantnag
http://indianexpress.com/article/india/ ... g-kashmir/
I actually put it there deliberately. Allahs work was done. In a secular country we must appreciate the dictates of all religions

nirav wrote:
I actually put it there deliberately. Allahs work was done. In a secular country we must appreciate the dictates of all religions
This instance of AoA pinches Shiv Saar.
The attack and loss is real.
Would appreciate if you take it down.

shiv wrote:I actually put it there deliberately. Allahs work was done. In a secular country we must appreciate the dictates of all religions
I second Shiv's point of view.

This massacre is not #notinmyname, this massacre is #massacreinAllah'sname

Its high time we stop finding excuses like crossfire.

No terrorist wastes ammunition on a bus blocking his line of sight. The bus was their target. Secondly, random shots would've hit one or two people, not 10+ people.

This is the worst type of terror attack,murdering in cold blood,pilgrims on their way to offer their prayers to the divine.Attacking a religious place of worship and the Indian parliament are its equivalents. That the perpetrators have come from Pak,under ISI/Paki army orders is unquestionable.However,the timing suggests that there is another factor at play here,China.China being opposed in strength by the Indian Army ,blocking its attempt to steal strategic territory in Bhutan,wants to widen the crisis and keep India occupied on both fronts until we "blink first",at least that is its hope! So how do we respond?

Frankly,we've given Pak too many bl*w J*bs (pardon my language0 for the last 2 decades.Every time it is India that has to sheath its sword,and mourn the loss of its soldiers,paras,policemen,and civilians.As one soldier once said,it is only if a neta is assassinated by a Paki terrorist will the Indian parliament wake up! To the majority of our beloved politicos,protected by black cats,white rats,whatever,the loss of lives in uniform is normal,just as leaves fall in autumn. They,the majority,esp. those of the UPA,care a damn for the rest of India and the ordinary Indian citizen.Just watch how they behave on aircraft,etc.,as if they're gods or at least demi-gods who should be worshipped for their arrogant behaviour and not horsewhipped!

Nevertheless,this time,the wretched Pakis have not just crossed the line,they've asked for war. War we certainly can launch,but at a time and place of our choosing,after careful preparation as Mrs.G did in '71. Mr Modi would do well to study and use/modify the masterplan which she executed with the art of the genius.It is far more dangerous now that China is also part of the anti-India JV. Therefore any final decision to go to war with Pak has a definite risk of China getting involved too. Our western friends will not come to our help s mil allies,but offer material and intel support.That is the most that we can expect from them.With the combined coordinated mil threat from China and Pak,India must sound out Russia and warn it of the situ getting out of hand with the two arch-enemies of India. We will need much more than material support from Russia,v.strong dpl. support too.

Right now however,some painful punishment must be meted out to Pak
.Yes,we can launch further surgical strikes,but these do not seem to have made much impression upon Pak.We're daily engaged in arty duels ,which can be further upped with deeper strikes,but thus far,we've stopped short of diplomatic punishment.The world takes more serious note of diplomatic action rather than mil. duels which it has grown tired of and accustomed to do in so many hot spots,esp. the ME.Severe dpl. action must also be taken not only with Pak but also China for its own perfidy in the NEast.

Pak: Expulsion of its HC and key HC flunkeys.A total ban on all Indo-Pak civvy contacts except for humanitarian reasons-death of relatives,etc.No trade with Pak,no sporting relations both on Indian and foreign soil.Suspension of Paki overflights across Indian territory. To access BDesh from now on,they should be made to fly via Sri Lanka. A concerted dpl. effort to further isolate Pak in intl. fora,expulsion from intl. organisations,etc.

China: Heavy duties/ban on certain Chinese goods. Ban on Indian investment in China,Only stapled visas to be issued to those (few) Chinese nationals visiting India. Suspension of Chinese investment into India.India to immediately accelerate arms and N-plant supply to Vietnam,which is asking for ties to be further expanded to meet the Chinese challenge. N-reactors to be built in VIetnam-anyway,our NSG membership is being sabotaged by China,so who the F cares about its ranting and raving? Let Vietnam develop (with a little help from its friends) its own strategic defence system.
Indian armed forces using Viet navan bases,airstrips and other facilities must be accelerated justa s Gwadar is being sold to the Chinese.

If we do not punish Pak both militarily and diplomatically,the NDA will run the risk of being seen as merely another version of the Snake-Oil Singh regime of appeasement. We have to turn the screw.

Re: Amarnath Yatris killed in terror attack

My personal viewpoint is that it is pseudosecularism to divorce this massacre of Hindu pilgrims from Islamist violence.

Please call me out if I am wrong. Soon there will be some retribution. Some jihadis and some protestors with Muslim names will die. These will be blamed on the Hindu majority and there will be no one on BRF to request that the statements be revoked because they will be in the secular media where bradmins have no control.

Advantage Islamists, while pseudosecularism lives on

Think about it and where we stand in relation to the famed "curve"
DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

What options do we have to avenge this?

1) Using artillary to attack paki posts. We are already doing this. It resulted in Substantial damage to pakis.. But paki pigs have somehow became used to it.. They have endless supply of brainwashed cannon fodder to cross the LOC..

2) Covert strike..

3) Using missiles/ airpower to directly target a big fish like Hafeez, salahuddin .. Alternatively we can target significant military installation like Skardu

Anything else we can do.? . Chance of any significant escalation along LOC seems unlikely..
Personaly I would be happy if we are able to castrate every militantand local supporter responsible for this coward attack.. :evil:

I'm with Shiv on this. This is a direct attack on a kafir religion when they were going for Kafir pilgrimage. Kashmiriyat and Sufism are dead. Also please note that Pak army explicitly fights for Islam ie conversions and elimination of the Kafir. They do that on parade all the time and seek allahs blessings to destroy the kafir. There is zero doubt on this.

DrRatnadip wrote:What options do we have to avenge this?

1) Using artillary to attack paki posts. We are already doing this. It resulted in Substantial damage to pakis.. But paki pigs have somehow became used to it.. They have endless supply of brainwashed cannon fodder to cross the LOC..

2) Covert strike..

3) Using missiles/ airpower to directly target a big fish like Hafeez, salahuddin .. Alternatively we can target significant military installation like Skardu

Anything else we can do.? . Chance of any significant escalation along LOC seems unlikely..
Personaly I would be happy if we are able to castrate every militantand local supporter responsible for this coward attack.. :evil:
NO Ratandip ji we are not doing 1 in anyway close to the intensity we need. We have not used medium guns at all. At most we have use LFGs in rare instances. We have started using heavy mortars now. RLs we always used. Two reasons for this. 1 . We just don't have enough to arty guns and ammo to maintain a long drawn out barrage and also target acquisition in this Terran is difficult for medium guns without active air reconnaissance. Also this will be effective only when we also use rocket arty in the mix and traget the entire LC. So for this we need - a) clear directions from political leadership for an arty offensive with clear goals. Just retaliation is not enough. b) complete freedom to army to calibrate the escalation matrix. This is always lacking. c) guns , ammo and reconnaissance. We can move up arty from strike corps and holding corps. d) we should think about using air power too.

I have said this a MILLION times. Retaliation options is the wrong way of thinking as it's primarily defensive and reacting to enemy. We need strategic offence to inflict severe damage and take tbe initiative with the final objective of stopping infiltration and also making terrorism very costly for the jihadi and tbe Pak army

I believe in this particular case someone has gamed this situation.

Porkis
1. Repeated assaults on defence establishments
2. stone throwing
3. exhorting chini intrusions in doklam
4. repeated ceasefire violations on the border and FART attacks
5. shelling of jammu areas
6. attacks on CRPF/JAK PO
7. KY episode

Looks like someone is itching for a fight and dont want us to progress and we are giving muh tod jawabs via tweeter.

Amnesty warns Indian govt not to indulge in reprisal attacks.

http://www.republicworld.com/s/2841/ind ... esty-warns

Reading between the lines, they seem to be warning India not to hit any terrorist camps in PoK or hunt down any terrorists/backers for this attack.