Re: People's Republic of China Nov 22, 2009
Posted: 21 Feb 2010 14:59
A strong military is not possible without a strong economy, but neither is possible without strong leadership.
Consortium of Indian Defence Websites
https://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/
http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/english/do ... 442681.htmPresident: China targets US$4 trillion GDP by 2020
(chinadaily.com.cn/Xinhua)
Updated: 2005-05-16 20:55
Chinese President Hu Jintao said that Asia's fastst growing country is planning to quadruple its GDP to US$4 trillion by 2020, with the per capita GDP reaching US$3,000.
Hu promised to continue pursuing the scientific approach in achieving economic and social progress of China, and always "put the people first" while striking economic attainments.
President Hu Jintao (R) waves as he enters the meeting hall of the 2005 Fortune Global Forum in Beijing, May 16, 2005. [Xinhua]
The Chinese president made the remark on Monday in an address delivered to more than 500 CEOs and officials at the opening ceremony of the 2005 Fortune Global Forum at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing.
The number of the poor has dwindled from some 250 million in 1978 to 26 million nowadays, which Hu said is a marked contribution to the world's progress.
China has undergone a profound transformation never seen in the country before. In a short span of 26 years from 1978 to 2004, China's GDP increased from 147.3 billion US dollars to 1.6494 trillion US dollars with an average annual growth rate of 9.4 percent. Its foreign trade rose from 20. 6 billion US dollars to 1.1548 trillion US dollars, averaging an annual growth rate of over 16 percent. China's foreign exchange reserve increased from 167 million US dollars to 609.9 billion US dollars.
The number of rural poor has dwindled from some 250 million to 26 million.
By 2020, we will quadruple China's GDP of 2000 to approximately 4 trillion US dollars with a per capita level of some 3,000 US dollars, and further develop the economy, improve democracy, advance science and education, enrich culture, foster greater social harmony and upgrade the texture of life for the people.
Acharya wrote:You bring it out and explain and let the others decide.RamaY wrote:
Would Chandra Gupta Maurya or Vijaya Nagara Empire fit the bill? More recently the United States fit the bill?
United States was built on a vision first, it became world super power only after demonstrating its military proves in WWII.
While doing so he added the 2nd layer, that is strategy and leadership with the help of Vishnungupta and achieved great success in “expanding” his empire. The economic growth, third layer, is a bi-product of this “Safe” and “Powerful” empire, which propelled this empire into great power status.Wiki wrote:Chandragupta Maurya's rise to power is shrouded in mystery and controversy. On the one hand, a number of ancient Indian accounts, such as the drama Mudrarakshasa (Poem of Rakshasa - Rakshasa was the prime minister of Magadha) by Visakhadatta, describe his royal ancestry and even link him with the Nanda family. A kshatriya tribe known as the Maurya's are referred to in the earliest Buddhist texts, Mahaparinibbana Sutta. However, any conclusions are hard to make without further historical evidence. Chandragupta first emerges in Greek accounts as "Sandrokottos". As a young man he is said to have met Alexander.[4] He is also said to have met the Nanda king, angered him, and made a narrow escape.[5] Chanakya's original intentions were to train a guerilla army under Chandragupta's command. The Mudrarakshasa of Visakhadutta as well as the Jaina work Parisishtaparvan talk of Chandragupta's alliance with the Himalayan king Parvatka, sometimes identified with Porus (Sir John Marshall "Taxila", p18, and al.) This Himalayan alliance gave Chandragupta a composite and powerful army made up of Yavanas (Greeks), Kambojas, Shakas (Scythians), Kiratas (Nepalese), Parasikas (Persians) and Bahlikas (Bactrians)[6][7][8].
With the help of these frontier martial tribes from Central Asia, Chandragupta was able to defeat the Nanda/Nandin rulers of Magadha and found the powerful Maurya empire in northern India.
Really !!!! Wow this is the first time I've heard that the philosphy of the India Army is "to be content that their camp is not overrun" ... wonder how this philosophy brought about 1971 or has managed to keep insurgency in NE/Kashmir/Punjab et. al. in check for the past 5 decades ....RamaY wrote: The whole purpose of Indian Military is to keep the heartlands secure and safe, while projecting power externally in the enemy lands. We do not see any willingness in IA’s part to do this job. They are “content” with what they have. It is really silly to read that PRC/TSP/BD forces frequently cross the border areas without any resistance from BSF. I expect BSF to fire first at anyone/anything that crosses into India from enemy lands. Nope, they do not do that, because they are content with the fact that “their camp” is not overrun at. This a little exaggeration but my intention is to show the philosophy of Indian Army.
IMHO, IA's mindset has become that whether we agree or not. I cannot collect all the references to it in various threads, where people were presenting the evidence where IA is never ready for punitve action without the best of the best equipment and so on.AnimeshP wrote:Really !!!! Wow this is the first time I've heard that the philosphy of the India Army is "to be content that their camp is not overrun" ... wonder how this philosophy brought about 1971 or has managed to keep insurgency in NE/Kashmir/Punjab et. al. in check for the past 5 decades ....RamaY wrote: The whole purpose of Indian Military is to keep the heartlands secure and safe, while projecting power externally in the enemy lands. We do not see any willingness in IA’s part to do this job. They are “content” with what they have. It is really silly to read that PRC/TSP/BD forces frequently cross the border areas without any resistance from BSF. I expect BSF to fire first at anyone/anything that crosses into India from enemy lands. Nope, they do not do that, because they are content with the fact that “their camp” is not overrun at. This a little exaggeration but my intention is to show the philosophy of Indian Army.
RamaY ... IMHO you are mis-understanding Indian Armed Force's concerns about its constraints to be its operational mindset ... The Indian Armed Force's would like to do the job given to it by it by the political leadership of the country not only to its own satisfaction but to the satisfaction of the above mentioned leadership ... Now, if the leadership demands that Indian Armed Force's take punitive action against Pakistan or any other country without giving it adequate resources, it is the Indian Armed Force's job and duty to inform the leadership of the dangers of doing so ... Even after that if the leadership insists on doing so, then the Indian Armed Forces will go ahead and do the needful to the best of its capacity.RamaY wrote:IMHO, IA's mindset has become that whether we agree or not. I cannot collect all the references to it in various threads, where people were presenting the evidence where IA is never ready for punitve action without the best of the best equipment and so on.AnimeshP wrote: Really !!!! Wow this is the first time I've heard that the philosphy of the India Army is "to be content that their camp is not overrun" ... wonder how this philosophy brought about 1971 or has managed to keep insurgency in NE/Kashmir/Punjab et. al. in check for the past 5 decades ....
1971 is more of a leadership and strategic win than military win. It is juvanile if you think 1971 was a war between India and TSP. It is a strategic war played between Indira and USA, with USSR and PRC as secondary players and TSP is a mere third-rate power.
Finally, these are my thoughts. You don't have to agree with me. Please present an alternative fact/view and one of us will learn eventually.
Rony-ji: Thank you for the kind words.
RamaY wrote:......<SNIP>...
The whole purpose of Indian Military is to keep the heartlands secure and safe, while projecting power externally in the enemy lands. We do not see any willingness in IA’s part to do this job. They are “content” with what they have. It is really silly to read that PRC/TSP/BD forces frequently cross the border areas without any resistance from BSF. I expect BSF to fire first at anyone/anything that crosses into India from enemy lands. Nope, they do not do that, because they are content with the fact that “their camp” is not overrun at. This a little exaggeration but my intention is to show the philosophy of Indian Army....<SNIP>.....
IMHO, IA's mindset has become that whether we agree or not. I cannot collect all the references to it in various threads, where people were presenting the evidence where IA is never ready for punitve action without the best of the best equipment and so on.
So, you have gained in depth understanding of the philosophy of IA/Defence Forces on the basis of article here or there which themselves are suspect? How about writing one single para containing the details/instances of IA acting like Brahmins and the conclusion thereof? That should not be a problem considering the profound statement made by you, which ideally, could not have been made without some deep analysis and thinking?1971 is more of a leadership and strategic win than military win. It is juvanile if you think 1971 was a war between India and TSP. It is a strategic war played between Indira and USA, with USSR and PRC as secondary players and TSP is a mere third-rate power.
Can it be asked for under Right to Information Act ?RayC wrote: ------
Guess why the Henderson Brooke Report was never made public and never will be?
Rama, you can do away with the "ji" part. Rohit is quite all right.RamaY wrote:Rohitvilas ji
I understand the takleef regarding IA, but that is my opinion. They are content with what they got. To learn whether the rice is cooked or not one doesn't have to check each rice grain. Like I said you are entitled to have your own opinion. The alternative view points presented so far paint a picture of political leadership controls army at tactical level. Is it correct? RayC ji, you prove my point further. Jk issue is an internal law and order issue and should be dealt as such. Leadership failures cannot be an excuse for military shortfalls.
Putting all this into long-term perspective, the current problem offers a glimpse of the likely more massive labor shortage issue that China is set to face in the next few decades as its single-child policy keeps accelerating the aging of its still-enormous population. That indeed is one of China’s major dilemmas.
The Asian superpower is in the midst of such a vast property boom, with prices leaping 20pc a month in some regions, that developments are taking on fairy-tale dimensions.
Literally. The sight of a "real" alpine village rising from the grimy industrial suburbs of Huairou outside Beijing provokes an increasingly common reaction when discussing China's property market: "You've got to be kidding me, right?"
Related issues.
Chinese shares suffer steepest drop since November on fears rally is overdone
its alpine clock tower soaring 200ft into the murk emitted by nearby chimneys, the "Spring Legend" development offers a Disney-style version of a lifestyle that the residents of Huairou and Beijing can realistically aspire to.
"The air is so fresh it penetrates your heart," waxes the sales brochure, a claim that requires a suspension of belief equally demanded by Spring Legend's ersatz palm trees, faux red English phone boxes and plant pots brimming with plastic alpine flowers.
Making sense of such developments, along with the forests of empty new office blocks in Beijing and the tripling of land prices in some Chinese cities over the last 12 months, is now leading some heavyweight investors to cry "bubble".
"Dubai times one thousand – or worse", was the verdict of Jim Chanos, the short-selling hedge fund manager who was among the first to predict the demise of Enron and says that the Chinese asset bubble will pop "sooner rather than later".
Some Indian policymakers believe China's newfound assertiveness stems from its relative economic clout after the United States and Europe were hit especially hard by the global recession. "The Chinese have come out at the top of the heap," said India's former ambassador to the UN, Arundhati Ghosh, who was involved in negotiating the U.S.-India nuclear deal that was strongly opposed by China. "It is that sense of power that is leading them to prick India and flex muscles."
The last is a lesson for the DDM:Sanjay Labroo, who heads the Confederation of Indian Industry's task force on economic relations with China, shocked many in the audience when he said, "We flatter ourselves by even using the terms 'Chindia' or 'China-India.' The hyphenation is not justified. China is way ahead of India, whether it is automobile or steel production or spending on health." He went on, "India is only ahead of China in its population growth and movie production."
. "Because the Chinese government and its state-controlled media speak in the same voice, the Chinese have created a narrative which refuses to describe India as a threat but presents it as somewhat paranoid," he explained. "The Chinese rarely talk about India, while the Indian press runs wild with stories about China, which makes India come across as insecure and aggressive." Although the Indian press has indeed adopted a shrill tone toward China, Singh's government has been more sober in its dealings with Chinese officials.
With the National People’s Congress (NPC) meeting in Beijing winding down, I thought it might be interesting to take stock of what happened and what didn’t…
What didn’t happen: Any really new policy initiatives.
What did happen: Speaking of the fifth generation, the race is on. Who among the fifth generation leaders will sit in the Standing Committee of the Politburo and occupy the top spots?
What might have happened: Reform of the “hukou” system. Premier Wen suggested that China was on the brink of loosening the household registration process that controls where people can live. In practical terms, this would mean that the roughly 200 million migrant workers might have access to healthcare, housing, social security and be able to send their children to school legally in the cities where they are working. This would seem to be an important first step in ensuring that the urbanization process Beijing is pushing so aggressively actually brings about the necessary benefits in improved living standards for the Chinese people. Yet, when a set of fourteen newspapers publicly endorsed an editorial supporting the initiative, the hammer fell, with one journalist, Zhang Hong from the Economic Observer, losing his job......
The proliferation business : Unstoppable?
The illicit nuclear trade flourishes because governments let it
Mar 11th 2010 | From The Economist print edition
……………….. the book’s real value is in pulling two clear threads from the facts and speculation. One is that commerce almost always trumps proliferation concerns, and not just among Mr Khan’s band of merry smugglers. ………………..
The other thread is China. Despite a raft of laws and sporadic enforcement, its ports and companies are still key links in the illicit export/import chains of North Korea, Iran and others. What is more, in the early 1980s China gave Pakistan a pre-tested design of a missile-mountable warhead.
This single wanton act probably did the most to undermine the global non-proliferation regime. Mr Khan later sold the design (his network also had more sophisticated ones) to Libya, very likely Iran and North Korea, and possibly others. China’s leaders have also held out longest over tougher sanctions on Iran, whose nuclear programme has benefited from their past irresponsibility.
The Economist