Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
nithish

Re: Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

Post by nithish »

India, UK inch towards collaborative defence research and development
India and United Kingdom entered into a letter of arrangement (LOA) today to pursue collaborative defence research and development cooperation with UK's Defence Science and Technology Laboratory (DSTL) and facilitate making best use of respective research and technology development capability through joint projects, collaborative research and industry and academia participation.
----------------------------
On the occasion, Welland thanked Dr. Saraswat for his efforts towards strengthening the relationship with India.

"I have seen the exceptional dedication, expertise and skill in DRDO personnel and know that UK can look forward to a productive and valuable cooperation with our great allies in India for many years to come," Welland said.

"India and UK have a strong history of mutual cooperation and have thriving science and engineering communities. India is one of the fastest growing economies in the world and is a powerhouse of technology," he added.

He further said that Indian and British Defence scientists will be working together on technologies to face their country's defence and security challenges.

In the not too distant future such research will cross the nuclear rubicon. This was predicted on BRF as soon as the Indo-US nuclear deal discussions came to light. Just a jogging of memories.
nithish

Post by nithish »

The General Medical Council (they register and regulate doctors in the UK) came out with a report on medical education in the country, and there was a certain relevant tidbit in it:
239,270 doctors were on the medical register, of whom 226,682 held a licence. 37% of registered doctors qualified outside of the UK.
In 2010, around 150 countries were represented on the UK’s medical register. After the UK, the country with most doctors on the UK register was India.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

The Daily Mail, with it's daily hate against India, Indians and all things non white.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... icing.html

Haresh Ji, i understand your sentiment..but this does attract reporting for media sake. I mean going 980 km off track without anyone realizing..yeah it does catch one's attention. So take it in that spirit. :)

Haresh bhai....take it easy dude! It is kinda funny :lol:

Here are some of the comments from the article

Were the train staff disillusioned BR staff that have emigrated?

- gordon, Pontefract UK, 21/9/2011 14:06

This would have never happened with American Amtrak service. Amtrak trains can't get that far without breaking down first.

- George, Rockville USA, 21/9/2011 12:42
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

harbans & anishns,

The Daily Mail seems to be involved in some sort of a campaign to stoke up resentment and hatred against India/Indians.

There was a story this week about how Tata were investing in an engine plant in the UK which would provide 2000 jobs. The story was hidden away in the finance section, it received about 22 comments.

Now this story has appeared
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... onomy.html

The tone of all the stories relating to India is one of bitterness and resentment and if you look at the profile of the readers of the DM you will realise why.

haresh, your glass is well below half empty - that story was completely +ve

harbans wrote:Haresh Ji, i understand your sentiment..but this does attract reporting for media sake. I mean going 980 km off track without anyone realizing..yeah it does catch one's attention. So take it in that spirit. :)
especially when the actual distance was much less. 980 km in 5 hrs would be a high speed train !
a better explanation of the chain of events.
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showpost. ... count=3567
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Lalmohan,

It is not a matter of my glass being well below half empty.
The article may have been "completely +ve" but the Daily Mail has for the past 3-5 years been whipping up anti Indian sentiment.
How much coverage do you hink this paper gives Indo-UK trade relations? not much, all the stories take the tone of "we give them our money" "they are wasting money on technology" "they are stealing our jobs" etc.

The mail has always taken this tone and always will, until they realise just how dependent thay are on exports to India.

My glass is always full by the way :)

Ah! The Good ole' Daily Fail

SureshP

Post by SureshP »

That was truely funny Kashi, :rotfl: :rotfl:

No one believes the Daily Mail but it offers stories for the intellectually challenged and a easy read, to be binned the moment you finish flicking through it. Dan and Dan deserve an award for that clip. :D :rotfl:

[quote="Haresh"]harbans & anishns,

The Daily Mail seems to be involved in some sort of a campaign to stoke up resentment and hatred against India/Indians.

There was a story this week about how Tata were investing in an engine plant in the UK which would provide 2000 jobs. The story was hidden away in the finance section, it received about 22 comments.

In Canada, the Toronto Star has almost never carried a positive or uplifting story about India, or ethnic Indians, on its *front* page. It's always something negative, unpleasant, strange, or really big( like a disaster of some kind). The paper is either trying to crudely grab people's , including Indians attention in an era of declining circulation and life support finances, or is waging some kind of campaign against India or Indians. But this campaign is balanced by far more nuanced and sophisticated articles about India in its interior pages. Joe Blow Canadian may not read those interior pages, and will see only the crude frontpage headlines and pictures.

Whatever the motive, it's disgusting and offensive

Debate on Human Rights on the Indian Subcontinent in the Islamic Emirate of England (Held Wales ,Occupied scotland and annexed N. Ireland)

Below is a part of the transcript of the Debate.
Jeremy Corbyn (Islington North, Labour)

I commend the Backbench Business Committee for choosing this topic for debate. I am delighted that we have discussed mainly Kashmir and Sri Lanka. I do not want to detract from what anyone said about those subjects, and I agree with the thrust of the arguments that have been presented. I want to raise a rather different issue.

There are 260 million people worldwide who suffer from massive human rights abuses. Such abuses have continued for centuries, indeed millennia, often unacknowledged and unchallenged. It was only with great difficulty that the issue of caste discrimination, or discrimination based on caste and descent, was raised at the Durban millennium summit, but it massively affects the people of south Asia, particularly India.

I am the chair of the trustees of the Dalit Solidarity Network, and also an officer of the all-party parliamentary group for Dalits. The hierarchical division of a society, ascribing inherent privileges to birth, runs contrary to the United Nations’ universal declaration of human rights, article 1 of which states:

“All human beings are… free and equal in dignity and rights.”

The caste discrimination system divides people on the basis of their background, parents and work, and results in the greatest degree of poverty and discrimination in

the case of India. The sadness is that the Indian constitution specifically outlaws caste discrimination, and, moreover, was written by the great Dr Ambedkar, who was himself a Dalit person. He tried to prevent the discrimination, and indeed every law in India prevents it from taking place, but it does still take place. Dalits represent one third of the world’s poor. Caste discrimination affects jobs, education, medical care and international aid, and also results in the violent subjugation of communities. Dalits have little access to public health or sanitation facilities.

According to official Indian statistics, 13 Dalits are murdered every week, five Dalit homes or possessions are burnt every week, three Dalit women are raped every day, and a crime is committed against a Dalit person every 18 minutes. Dalits, who were formerly known as “untouchables”, are forced to do the most disgusting, dirty, dangerous, menial jobs, such as carrying human waste around in wicker baskets on their heads, picking up human faeces from the streets and railway lines, and cleaning out sewers—all the dirty jobs that no one else wants to do. When we walk around the glittering town centres of modern India, beneath them the most vile discrimination is taking place against the very poorest people, and the chances of those people’s children escaping from the system are very low indeed. They are discriminated against because of their background and their place within the identifiable Hindu caste system.

It is right to raise this issue in Parliament, and we must encourage the British Government to ensure that their aid system recognises this discrimination and the need to address it. At present there are protected jobs in the public sector for Dalit peoples, but that does not extend to the private sector, and this arrangement has only served to fossilise the levels of unemployment in the Dalit communities. The Department for International Development has recognised this discrimination and, so far as I am aware, ensures that no aid projects perpetuate it.

I want to draw the House’s attention to six key issues. The first two are that a significant proportion of Dalit women face verbal abuse, physical assault, sexual harassment and assault, domestic violence and rape, and that bonded labour is normal, even among Dalit children. The remaining issues are that there is forced prostitution, manual scavenging, limited political participation and non-implementation of relevant legislation.

Our job is to speak up for the UN declaration of human rights and to draw attention to this disgraceful discrimination against so many people.
The above is clearly another gutter inspection report by a "Hon" British MP - less real but more imagined , intended to drive a wedge in our social fabric.
Makes me wonder .. Why the Brits have so many (seemingly) bleeding hearts for Dalits among them ?
They are perpetually "untouchables" for them - And Beeb never fails to mention this word in its every news peripherally connected to Dalits - from Mayawati to Miliband.

Is it because their pure jasmine white "liberal" hearts just cant accept even a single instance of discrimination against dalits (the horror of horrors of untouchability being the most jarring) ? Definitely not.
"Being British" they have many real but less remembered fathers (Normans , Saxons , Viking) in comparison to their imagined fathers - The Greeks and The Romans in the ancient west. From them they have (pompously offcourse) inherited and still cling on to the whiteman's burden to spread "their" concept of "British" "fair play and justice" in the uncivilised realms.

Thus "being british" means that the evangelicals have to be provided with a stick to beat the eastern "uncivilized" civilizations and bring them to the light .

All the while, British commoners are oblivious to the fact that majority of the world is still holding their noses to the bad cess of British tyranny littering the pages of history of the past millenia.
Therefore "Being british ??" - they just cant help it .

On another note, the real character of BeeB (as opposed to its oft touted neutrality) is exposed once again in the debate.
Stephen Twigg (Liverpool, West Derby, Labour)
.......reflecting the concerns in the Kashmiri and Sri Lankan communities in this country as we debate these important issues.
We as a country have a responsibility .... in promoting human rights, using, for example, soft power through institutions such as the BBC World Service and the British Council..... ..... It is an important tool in our soft power armoury and tonight I want in particular to commend the courage of the personnel of the British Council, who are doing great work to promote human rights across the Indian subcontinent.
Last edited by Lilo on 23 Sep 2011 05:04, edited 1 time in total.
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

We as a country have a responsibility .... in promoting human rights,
Typically British - somehow, this was not a concern, when they were killing millions in the Indian subcontinent, through meticulously engineered famines.

Oh oh! The slave masters of UKstan want to pontificate on "hooman rites" eh?
Well how about a little "charity begins at home". Well the story is not even 15 days old. Only brutes will do worse in this century. Apparently Somalia has better record than the UK stanis in recent times.
http://news.nationalpost.com/2011/09/12 ... n-kennels/
slave ring operating in the heart of England where people had their heads shaved and were forced to live in kennels and horse trailers has been broken up by police.

Officers said they found 24 British and eastern European men living in “shockingly filthy and cramped” conditions on a mobile home site in Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire.
The men were forced to do manual labouring jobs such as paving driveways and clearing rubble from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m., because they were deemed cheaper than hiring machinery, according to reports.

On Sunday morning, 200 police raided the site and arrested four men and a woman.

Detective Chief Inspector Sean O’Neil, from the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire Major Crime Unit, said, “Some of these people have come off covered in excrement and dirty clothing because that was all they were allowed to live in.
“We believe that some of them had been living and working there in a state of virtual slavery, some for just a few weeks and others for up to 15 years,” said Det. Chief Insp. O’Neil.
“Some are treated a little bit better, but they were told they could not leave and if they did they would be beaten up and attacked.

“But in fact some people did leave and told us what was going on and when we looked back since 2008 we were aware of 28 people who had made similar accusations.”
He described the operation as a family run “business.”
Well some one has to keep the national tradition alive and kicking, no?

Anindya wrote:
We as a country have a responsibility .... in promoting human rights,
Typically British - somehow, this was not a concern, when they were killing millions in the Indian subcontinent, through meticulously engineered famines.
Which the briturds refuse to acknowledge, much less apologize for. And yes, desi polity is at fault too for keeping aam aadmi in India in the dark about this dark past.

This is just 1 reason why I vehemently wish for a strong desi neta who is steeped in this country's culture and not beholden to US/UKstaini culture to call a spade a spade, open the official govt archives upto 20 yrs ago to scholars, demand the brits apologize and thereby begin the process of decolonization of the desi mind. If only wishes could be horses. NaMo namaha, indeed.

P.S.
Other day, had a flame war with this turd from the churchillum institute claiming winston's towering greatness in promoting human values and such BS. I called churchill for what he was - obnoxious racist, genoicider and war-criminal in the subcontinent. When I showed the briturd Churchill's own verbatim utterances on Indians, the turd had the temerity to 'downplay' them and instead referred me to what Churchill's bographer thought he meant rather than what churchill's words say. wah re duniya.
Last edited by Hari Seldon on 23 Sep 2011 11:41, edited 1 time in total.

^^ Interesting that the slavery story refers to a supposed instance of slavery practiced by "travellers" (Roma) people in UKstan.
The Greeks who the British consider as to be their imagined ancestors ... called the Roma people as "Athinganoi" - literally meaning Untouchables. Similarly in many European languages colloquial as well as dated references to gypsies translates into "Untouchable" .

Below is a poignant account of the travails of the Roma in Europe.
May be this should have been read out to that Brit MP Jeremy Corbyn regarding the state of "Travellers" in his country.
I am a Gypsy

1000 years ago, Byzantine people named my people as athinganoi, which means “untouchable” in their language. They were so afraid that they avoided touching us. This expression spread all around the world and all people started call us with this word. Every country labeled us in its own language: Zigeuner, Cigani and Çingene...

They thought that we were untouchable and different. Yes, we are different! We are poorer and also freer than other people. But we are also human like the others! However, other people have avoided working, living and talking with us. Despite our vital contributions to their life with our crafts, they left us to forgotten in the back streets of their cities.We have suffered from a deep and intolerable poverty.

My ancestors tried all ways to stop the injustice... They cried out that they were “not gipsy” to rescue from the label of “untouchable” and they called themselves as “Rom” which means “human” in one of the languages they speak. They begged: “We are ' Romani' people , we are 'human'! There is no difference between us. Please accept us! Please!”

Nobody cared about this scream. Thereupon our ancestors laughed at their helplessness, poorness and hopelessness.

I won't hopelessly beg like my ancestors did. I surely know that we are really different from the others! We are free, lasting, strong, humanistic and creative. We have been the most peaceful people throughout history. There is no reason to feel ashamed because of this.

Yes, I am untouchable! Evil, treachery and humiliation cannot touch me anymore, owing to vitalizing pains we have witnessed. People looking to our shabby shoes cannot break my heart. Since we have had lifes like death for thousands of years, no one can touch to our divine freedom. I am an untouchable.

I am proud of what I am. Everybody must know. I am a gypsy!
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Lilo,

The people who were keeping these slaves are not "Roma"
Roma do have a link with India.
These modern day slavers are "Irish Travellers" they are a totally different breed.

I have had two experiences with irish travellers and I can tell you they are like rabid animals.
Totally lawless, violent, deceitful/fraudulent, dirty.

They are no connection whatso ever with the Roma.

I used to work for a Law firm which specialised in so called "Human Rights" they had a barrister who devoted himself to traveller "issues".

The problem is with this stupid "Human Rights act" the Roma are a genuinley persecuted group, they are discriminated against in eastern/western europe and subject to regular violence. They were muredered en masse by the Nazi's.
They do need protection.
THe liberal/Left have been naive/stupid enough to think that they can lump them together with Irish travellers.

The problem with the "Human rights act" is that encourages a concept of "victimhood" any and every kind of anti social behaviour is justified and excused.

Take a look at this rubbish from the Al guardian - islams favourite publicist in the UK.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree ... alism-bill

The woman who wrote it is from a comfortable middle class back ground and yet she is trying to make the case that she is a "traveller" she spent some travelling and is now a writer. She comes up with the usual lefty/liberal nonsense about why exceptions should be made to the law for her particular group.
This is her website http://www.cartoonkate.co.uk/about-me/
In all honesty I nearly vomited when I read her biography, she is from a comfortably back ground and she thinks she speaks for the most unpleasant people, who quite honestly she would not want to live next to.
like all of these liberal/lefty types she is full of $HIT.

Haresh wrote:Lilo,
The people who were keeping these slaves are not "Roma"
These modern day slavers are "Irish Travellers" they are a totally different breed.
Haresh , thanks for correcting me. After your description the movie "Snatch" which had brad pitt in an Irish gypsie role immediately came to my mind.
Even so i heard many brits referring to Roma as "the travellers" (might be a politically correct neologism) and that news article frankly didnt contain any other reference apart from "the travellers". Guess its another example of misused PC crap.
The problem is with this stupid "Human Rights act" the Roma are a genuinley persecuted group, they are discriminated against in eastern/western europe and subject to regular violence. They were muredered en masse by the Nazi's.
They do need protection.
THe liberal/Left have been naive/stupid enough to think that they can lump them together with Irish travellers.
And this PC crap is taken to the extreme by the elite of Ukstan , offcourse with little actual empathy with the referred groups.
Pakis are lumped with Indians and called "asians" .
Roma are lumped with Irish and scottish gypsies and are called "travellers".
An agenda cant be ruled out behind the peddling of this farce.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

lilo

You said

"An agenda cant be ruled out behind the peddling of this farce."

There is an agenda, and the agenda is a as follows.

The marxists/socialists/left/liberals know full well that their policies & beliefs would be granted with contempt at the ballot box, so they had a law passed while they were in power to basically give their legal activists, these so called "human rights lawyers" a blank cheque. They have infiltrated the judiaciary. :evil:

We are obliged in this country to give asylum to economic parasites such as the Somali's because it will mean votes for labour in the years to come.
islamic terrorists/fanatics are given a special postion in society because it means votes.

Atlantic wreck set to yield £150m haul
Along with tea and iron, the Gairsoppa, which sank off the coast of Ireland in February 1941, was carrying 200 tonnes of silver – valued at £150m at today's prices.
Although no silver was spotted in a preliminary examination, records indicate that the ship – which was en route from India to Liverpool – was laden with 7m ounces of silver bullion when it went down.

The white man's burden.

Are silver prices falling due to this? India's silver being looted once again?
LONDON: In one of the largest shipwreck hauls, nearly £150 million worth of silver has been found on a British ship that was travelling from India but was sunk by a German U-boat in the Atlantic in 1941. The wreck of SS Gairsoppa has been found to contain 200 tonnes of silver by the American exploration company, Odyssey Marine, which will keep 80% of the cargo's value according to a contract with the department of transport.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 134924.cms

sanjaykumar wrote:The white man's burden.
That's exactly what I said here too http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 0#p1170070

harbans wrote:Are silver prices falling due to this? India's silver being looted once again?
LONDON: In one of the largest shipwreck hauls, nearly £150 million worth of silver has been found on a British ship that was travelling from India but was sunk by a German U-boat in the Atlantic in 1941. The wreck of SS Gairsoppa has been found to contain 200 tonnes of silver by the American exploration company, Odyssey Marine, which will keep 80% of the cargo's value according to a contract with the department of transport.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 134924.cms
Interesting name. The ship seems to have been named after the Gersoppa (Gairsoppa) falls in Karnataka, better known as Jog falls.

harbans wrote: I mean going 980 km off track without anyone realizing..yeah it does catch one's attention. So take it in that spirit. :)
In the same report (in comments) section, some railway enthusiasts have explained how this happened. This was a chartered train, which goes on pilgrimage tours. It is not a regular train, with regular timings and stoppages. Daily Mail is trying to make a spin, by stating this was a regular train, with the driver having no clue as to where to stop or go.

BTW, I liked the comments too.

Sachin Ji, looks there is a point in what Harersh ji said. Yes indeed there's obvious spin.

Shiv Ji nice photograph. The ship belonged to some British India steamship company. Some links about the doomed vessel:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SS_Gairsoppa

http://www.wrecksite.eu/wreck.aspx?58703

Another gem by the Beeb.
India abuse: Scores guilty of Dalit rape and torture
A court in southern India has convicted 269 police and forest officials of torturing and abusing more than 100 low-caste Dalits during a raid in 1992.
Here through out the article they address Tribals (adivasis) as "Dalits".
If this is the level of application of the best of the self appointed western crusaders for the dalit cause , if iam a dalit i'd rather not have such a crusader on my side.
Actually i wonder, have they been so dense from the beginning or is this another of the new lumping together projects of Britturds where the tribals and real Dalits are subsumed under the category of "Dalits" without the permission of either group offcourse.

In comparison SDRE Hindu had a an informative and enlightening article on Dalit discrimination today.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

NAUGHTY, NAUGHTY, ISLAMS BEST FRIEND IN THE UK SAYS SO!!!!!!!

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree ... ked-graves

YOU HAVE BEEN LECTURED, NOW BEHAVE YOURSELVES :twisted:
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Lifting buffalo has helped Paramjeet Samota to top of the bill

http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/standard- ... he-bill.do

A reply to Arundhati's article and the comments in general by someone called "Jaimen":

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree ... f-comments

Just a small technical point, in case some of you are not aware, most of the graves in Jammu & Kashmir are unmarked, especially in rural areas. So "unmarked graves" is not something unusual there. Some fool journalist (probably Western, but not necessarily, we have our own vast reserves of idiots) raised the issue without back-checking and the story has snowballed.

Now "mass grave" is a different ballgame. It has been openly admitted by the police that large numbers (literally thousands) of terrorists are killed in Kashmir (mainly after they came from across the border from Pakistan, which they of course vehemently - and no doubt truthfully - deny, just like in Afghanistan). Pakistan of course won't take the bodies back, despite these large numbers of young men and boys in their teens and twenties often carrying their identity cards, family photos, etc. on their way to martyrdom. Another technical point: according to the Indian Army the life-span of the average terrorist after he crosses the border from Pakistan in order to kill Kashmiris (both Muslims and Hindus) is 2 months.

So as you can imagine, as Pakistan has been sending these often naive - but religiously fired up and drug-addicted - youngster across the Line of Control since the late 1980s, quite a few of them - including a not insubstantial number from UK I might add - have been sent to their heavenly abode where the 72 virgins await. Their bodies, meanwhile, lie unclaimed by their parents (who often don't know what happened to their children) and unwanted by the Kashmiris who, while they might want freedom, they are not referring to freedom to spend their hard earned rupees burying Pakistanis stupid enough to get killed on their account.

After a while, therefore, many of these terrorists need to be buried. Surely you do not expect the army to build graves for them and mark them with their names; and certainly Kashmiris are not about to give up land for that either. And if they were obliged to do so, that would be yet another "human rights violation", wouldn't it.

Just outlining some of the practical considerations.

Sorry, I didn't mean to spoil the "human rights" party here consisting primarily, it appears, of those paragons of universal rights and virtues - the Pakistanis. So keep going. It's irrelevant anyway.

Clearly, judging from the way the European and American governments are responding to this issue, it is evident they have their heads screwed on right on this case at least. It might also be that they simply see no margin in it. We are hardly in the mood for lectures from people who, as we speak, are bombing the crap out of locals in countries across the Middle East to Afghanistan with nary a thought for the collateral headcount (not that I'm opposed to that, mind you; fully supportive, in fact).

Now go on, run to mommy.
member_19686

Post by member_19686 »

Lilo wrote:Another gem by the Beeb.
India abuse: Scores guilty of Dalit rape and torture
A court in southern India has convicted 269 police and forest officials of torturing and abusing more than 100 low-caste Dalits during a raid in 1992.
Here through out the article they address Tribals (adivasis) as "Dalits".
If this is the level of application of the best of the self appointed western crusaders for the dalit cause , if iam a dalit i'd rather not have such a crusader on my side.
Actually i wonder, have they been so dense from the beginning or is this another of the new lumping together projects of Britturds where the tribals and real Dalits are subsumed under the category of "Dalits" without the permission of either group offcourse.

In comparison SDRE Hindu had a an informative and enlightening article on Dalit discrimination today.
The term "adivasi" is a missionary manufactured term meaning "aboriginal" and not found in any of our literature prior to British occupation.

I would avoid using it, the traditional terms include vanavasi, girijan.

For more info, check:

9.6. “Adivasi”

http://voiceofdharma.com/books/wiah/ch9.htm

Term "Dalit" has similar dubious origins but I don't want to go OT here.
paramu

Post by paramu »

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/film ... cracy.html

James Bond meets his match: Indian bureaucracy
James Bond may have foiled Dr No and Blofeld, but he has finally met his match in an Indian Railway Ministry bureaucrat licensed to kill off plans to film a number of key action scenes on top of the country’s celebrated trains.

By Dean Nelson, New Delhi9:56AM BST 28 Sep 20116 Comments
A member of the Indian production team for what is known as ‘Bond 23’ told The Daily Telegraph the plans had been abandoned and that the film’s London-based producers EON will not now be shooting 007’s first Indian scenes since the1983 Octopussy, which starred Roger Moore and Indian tennis legend Vijay Amritraj.

Hosting a Bond film would have showcased India as a tourist destination and raised its profile as a film location hub. A number of successful films have been filmed in India in the last few years including Eat, Pray, Love, starring Julia Roberts, and The Darjeeling, starring Owen Wilson.

A spokeswoman for Indian Railways it had better brand ambassadors than Mr Bond. “Indian sportsmen are the true face of the Indian Railways,” she told the news agency Agence France Presse. “We don’t need anyone else.”
Upendra

Post by Upendra »

paramu wrote:http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/film ... cracy.html

James Bond meets his match: Indian bureaucracy
James Bond may have foiled Dr No and Blofeld, but he has finally met his match in an Indian Railway Ministry bureaucrat licensed to kill off plans to film a number of key action scenes on top of the country’s celebrated trains.

By Dean Nelson, New Delhi9:56AM BST 28 Sep 20116 Comments
A member of the Indian production team for what is known as ‘Bond 23’ told The Daily Telegraph the plans had been abandoned and that the film’s London-based producers EON will not now be shooting 007’s first Indian scenes since the1983 Octopussy, which starred Roger Moore and Indian tennis legend Vijay Amritraj.

Hosting a Bond film would have showcased India as a tourist destination and raised its profile as a film location hub. A number of successful films have been filmed in India in the last few years including Eat, Pray, Love, starring Julia Roberts, and The Darjeeling, starring Owen Wilson.

A spokeswoman for Indian Railways it had better brand ambassadors than Mr Bond. “Indian sportsmen are the true face of the Indian Railways,” she told the news agency Agence France Presse. “We don’t need anyone else.”

You forgot to post the most important part
A spokesman for the railway ministry said a special train had been earmarked for 007 to jump on a motorbike, but they clashed over the producers’ demands to be able to film on seven consecutive days. Officials said they could only film on five days in succession and then complete the remaining filming on two separate days. Officials said they were committed to minimizing interruptions in service for rail passengers.
Babus make all arrangements to help film directors for shooting and the dumb commie swine reporter blames the babus. I wonder what would be the reaction of british railway babus if some indian director wanted to shutdown the london metro to shoot his film.

Hat tip to this babu ...

@JEM ^^^: ARoy etc. "The dead begin to speak up in India" and they are saying "Enough already, these essays of yours are killing us."

Jaimen:

"This comment was removed by a moderator because it didn't abide by our community standards. Replies may also be deleted. For more detail see our FAQs." :lol:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree ... f-comments