Page 11 of 72
Re: Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 10 Oct
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 09:41
by Shrinivasan
svinayak wrote:Foreign policy should not be part of the internal politics inside India and ruling party will be driving it. There is no alternate viewpoint on foreign policy other than the govt.
You got it absolutely wrong... MSA still thinks himself as shaping India's Foreign Policy (which he never did as he was a very junior MEA guy) Even during UPA times, he used to but into MEA's domain often.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 09:53
by Shrinivasan
pankajs wrote:GAURAV C SAWANT @gauravcsawant 2h2 hours ago
Meanwhile in Islamabad Pak briefs entire Diplomatic Corps in Pak about LoC/IB situation & seeks their intervention for dialogue w/ New Delhi
After this who else is remaining??? Went to UN Sec General? he gave finger salute... 3.5 Friends - same... May be OIC.. how did they miss out the bleeding hearts of EU?
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 10:27
by arun
Text of what our MEA spokesperson had to say about the Islamic Republic of Pakistan’s letter to the UN whingeing about Indian retaliation to provocations initiated by the Islamic Republic.:
Question: Sartaj Aziz ji ne pichhle hafte UN ko chitthi likhi thi aur Kashmir maamle pe dakhal dene ki maang ki thi UN se. UN ki taraf se uska koi jawab nahi diya gaya hai. Iska arth ye nikala jaa raha hai ki Bharat ki sthiti ko reaffirm karta hai. Apka kya kehna hai?
Official Spokesperson: Agar aap mujhe agya dein to main isko angrezi mein jawab doon kyonki ismein kuch pecheedgiyan hoti hain jo meri Hindi jaise aap jaante hain tooti footi si hai. Main dakshin Bharat se aaya hoon, to Hindustani mein vartalap kar sakta hoon lekin ye jo bahut hi aham mudde hain, in par mein apko samjha nahi sakta. To agar aap agya dein to main angrezi mein iska jawab doon?
Official Spokesperson: Thank you. India's position on this matter is very clear. The only framework in which all outstanding issues between India and Pakistan can be resolved and peaceful and cooperative ties can be built between the two countries is the one that both countries have agreed to, that is the framework agreed under the Shimla Agreement and the Lahore Declaration. Now I have repeatedly said from this podium and I will repeat, we have already stated that we are willing for a serious dialogue in this framework. This dialogue will cover all outstanding issues and if you would like to know, this includes the issue of Jammu & Kashmir. It seems from what Pakistan is doing, it is not interested in that sort of a dialogue. The sending of a letter to the United Nations Secretary General by Pakistan is a well-known tactic. It has not worked earlier, it will not work now. The road to a peaceful and cooperative relationship between India and Pakistan runs from Islamabad via Lahore to New Delhi. If you divert that road to New York or elsewhere, it will not serve any purpose because there is no place for third parties in India-Pakistan relations. Also, India will not accept violence on the border or the Line of Control or continued terrorism against our citizens. It is up to Pakistan to deescalate the situation and we feel that Pakistan must take immediate steps to restore peace and tranquility along the international border and the LOC in J&K and end its sponsorship of terrorism against us. Our security forces have been and will continue to respond appropriately to any attempts by Pakistan to undermine peace and tranquility along the international boundary and the Line of Control in Jammu & Kashmir. I hope I have made it very clear.
Question: Sir you just said that Pakistan writing letter to the UN, the tactics are well-known. Do you think that Pakistan is trying to play the victim card by writing a letter and trying to buy time?
Official Spokesperson: Ma'am I said if Pakistan is interested in a serious dialogue, then the road is from Islamabad to Lahore and from Lahore to New Delhi. Any diversion is a diversionary tactic.
Question: Mr. Akbar, you just now said, twice you said that you will start talking to Pakistan if certain conditions are met, that is what you imply and that is what I understood.
Official Spokesperson: That is what you have understood.
Question: Okay fine. Now if you have said something different, you can correct me. Now my point is N number of times you have stopped talking to Pakistan, then you have resumed talking to Pakistan, then again you have stopped talking to Pakistan, when will this end, when will you proceed any further and what will you do after this?
Official Spokesperson: If we knew the solution to India-Pakistan problems, I would be a soothsayer, not an ordinary official spokesperson.
Transcript of Media Briefing by Official Spokesperson (October 14, 2014)
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 10:30
by kancha
Anujan wrote:Apparently the Pak army Attache spoke in Oxford. A video would be nice, I only have a second hand account.
Apparently he said that Pakistan army is central to stability in Afghanistan and the region and argued that Pakistan Army's position is that the Taliban should be accommodated in a power sharing agreement with the Afghan government.
All in all, Pakistan army is signalling its intention and direction to the world.
And by corollary, Paki Fauj is also central to
instability in Afghanistan and the region, isn't it?

Posted: 15 Oct 2014 11:27
by sum
Shrinivasan wrote:svinayak wrote:Foreign policy should not be part of the internal politics inside India and ruling party will be driving it. There is no alternate viewpoint on foreign policy other than the govt.
You got it absolutely wrong... MSA still thinks himself as shaping India's Foreign Policy (which he never did as he was a very junior MEA guy) Even during UPA times, he used to but into MEA's domain often.
Scary that such a guy( and even guys like MKB) was even in the MEA even! Says a lot about the recruitment process.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 11:34
by KLNMurthy
SSridhar wrote:Pathetic excuse of a human, waste of DNA
While I agree with your description of Mani Shankar Aiyar, I disagree with the Father of the Nation. That is fallacious on several counts. Unfortunately, people do not see deeper into the fallacy but get carried away by the fact that it appears as a good punch line and more than that it came from the Father of the Nation.
Gandhi was not fanatical about non-violence. One of the things he said was that, where it is a choice between cowardice and violence, he would choose violence.
Aiyer is an ass. He probably got a call from the higher echelon of pakis asking him to do something about Modi. Like the most degenerate useless variety of brahmin he is, the "something" in his mind consists of berating the low-caste Modi. His congi pals and his paki buddies are cut from the same cloth, so they all congratulate themselves for finally having put Modi in his place.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 11:49
by Anujan
Maybe someone should quote Ambedkar to him? This is what Ambedkar had to say over 60 years ago:
It seems to me that the Congress has failed to realize two things. The first thing which the Congress has failed to realize is that there is a difference between appeasement and settlement, and that the difference is an essential one. Appeasement means buying off the aggressor by conniving at his acts of murder, rape, arson and loot against innocent persons who happen for the moment to be the victims of his displeasure.
On the other hand, settlement means laying down the bounds which neither party to it can transgress. Appeasement sets no limits to the demands and aspirations of the aggressor. Settlement does.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 12:09
by Anujan
http://mobile.nytimes.com/2014/10/14/he ... &referrer=
Last week, the country reported 202 cases of paralysis, the first time in 14 years the figure topped 200.
Pakistan is the only country where the virus is spreading fast. Eight of Afghanistan’s 10 cases are linked to Pakistan, said Dr. Elias Durry, who directs the World Health Organization’s response in Pakistan. Both Nigeria and Somalia have fewer than 10 cases each, and Africa may be polio-free by 2015
The polio virus is now showing up in sewage samples all over Karachi, the country’s largest city, and not just in a few districts.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 12:52
by Philip
I know that many Indians want to export our goods to Pak.I suggest that Mani Aiao be gifted to Pak as an act of goodwill,with Surrender Singh as a Diwali bonus!
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 13:20
by habal
Please to watch Gulli, the most rational and sensible person in Bakistan. Talks about G. Parthasarathy, Narinder Modi, USA, and how he is so smart and has it all figured out.
[youtube]-bnfL95njuE&list=UU_vt34wimdCzdkrzVejwX9g[/youtube]
Quotable Quote:
What is the destiny of Pakistan ?
Hamid Gul: Pakistan is the destiny of mankind. (yaane ek din sab toilet mein)
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 14:04
by Shrinivasan
sum wrote:Scary that such a guy( and even guys like MKB) was even in the MEA even! Says a lot about the recruitment process.
Sum, have you read "Yes Minister"? here in one of the chapters, they will explain how a civil servant is recruited. Let me outline it.
1) Family connection
2) School / college connection
3) Extra curricular activities..
People like MSA were well connected, leftist leanings, St. Stephens college, Oxford return, debating club etc. All these makes them high flyers in IAS / IFS.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 15:00
by Ranjani Brow
'Proud of the fact that I am known by my daughter's name': Malala Yousafzai's father Ziauddin Yousafzai to NDTV
'I believe in the empowerment of all daughters,' Malala Yousafzai's father Ziauddin Yousafzai tells NDTV
WTF happened to Burkha Dutt

Posted: 15 Oct 2014 15:03
by habal
she has put on a black bindi, dark lipstick, black kurta, she is in deep mourning.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 15:04
by pankajs
You mean the dot???
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 15:54
by Vikas
What really did MMS achieve during his 'dark' 10 years w.r.t Kashmir that Congressi and Paksitani crowd keeps mentioning about ? What is so special about back channel diplomacy if there is no result on the ground situation.
All we heards in the dark alleys of power that India should vacate Siachin, Make it some park, self rule for Kashmiri Muslims, give some part to Kashmir, Joint rule , make borders irrelevant and all associated non sense.
I can only recall terror attacks all over India including J&K while MMS was sitting on PM chair and following SG's orders.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 17:00
by CRamS
Guys, my take on MSA's article (I haven't read MKB's). At best it is "I know all elitist arrogance" and cheap point scoring by trashing Modi's policy, and at worst it is sedition. The tone of his entire article is pukeworthy. Nowhere in the article does he even refer to TSP's use of terror. Its tactics of keeping LoC hot. Its tactics of calling for talks under the shadow of a gun. He does not even refer to 26/11 and TSP's thumbing its nose. And most offensive, he bases his arguments on this bold-faced "non state actors" parroted by TSP. Of course, TSP would love to talk under the circumstance and make brazen demands from India.
We debated the role of white rulers and white media in reporting India TSP battles. India's complex truths get buried in TSP's simple falsehoods, with the end result being equal equal, holding the perpetrator and the victim at the same equivalence. Given MSA's "oxford" connections, he is a "useful idiot" to the whites. His views will be quoted to further buttress equal equal.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 17:09
by Brad Goodman
Bomber in Pakistan kills seven in attack on pro-government militia
A suicide bomber killed seven people in Pakistan on Wednesday in an attack on a government-backed militia near the Afghan border, security officials and residents said.
More than a dozen men were wounded in the bombing in the remote Tirah Valley, two Pakistani intelligence officials said.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 17:13
by Brad Goodman
Pakistan Needs no Appeasement, We Need the Gas
how credible is this?
The facts are very disturbing. India is an importer of gas. Locally, it is sold at government controlled pricing, which is currently at $4.2 per unit. Since it is a sensitive issue, the NDA government has twice postponed an urgently required upward revision in this pricing. Gas is used in power plants in India, which work below capacity or are closed due to scarcity. Consumers in India have to pay a hefty premium to get gas. In this scenario, it is foolhardy to supply imported gas to Pakistan. In India, while we are vigorously debating whether subsidies should continue, the government is thinking of supplying imported gas to a hostile nation at subsidized prices. If Pakistan is so needy, it should make arrangements to import the gas itself.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 17:26
by Brad Goodman
desperate equal equal
Rapid rise of Indian Super League offers Pakistan a blueprint for change
There is potential to emulate the star-studded competition grabbing global attention across the border but the bureaucrats are holding progress back
so its just image problem and inefficient babus holding pakis back
On Sunday, fans in India were preparing to see Nicolas Anelka of Mumbai City taking on Luis García of Atlético De Kolkata in front of a sell-out crowd expected to be close to 100,000. Monday has Delhi Dynamos and Alessandro Del Piero meeting FC Pune City, part-owned by Fiorentina and featuring David Trezeguet. At around the same time, fans on the other side of the border can watch Pakistan Railway take on National Bank before the country’s best team, Khan Research Laboratories, the following day face Pakistan Airlines in front of crowds that will likely be in three figures. No European teams, star actors or cricketing gods own these clubs but rather, as their names suggest, state-owned institutions. Sexy it isn’t?
Nor is it super. Stadiums are empty, facilities are poor and money is largely absent. The league run by the Pakistan Football Federation (PFF), itself run largely by bureaucrats and civil servants, is struggling. “In terms of infrastructure, playing fields and stadiums, the league does not meet the criteria for modern football,” the Pakistan national team coach from 2011 to 2013, Zavisa Milosavljevic, told The Guardian.
Sometimes though, the country does not help itself. India may have the ISL but at the moment, it is Afghanistan (which has a slick new tournament of its own to enthuse over, the television reality show-inspired Premier League) with the strongest national team in South Asia. Some of the improvement in the Lions of Khorasan is down to embracing the country’s wide-ranging Afghan diaspora, including players in action in Europe or North America. Pakistan has similar resources but has not always managed a smooth integration into the national team. The former captain Mohammed Essa has criticised the overseas contingent for a lack of passion. The targets of such jibes, such as Zesh Rehman, the British-born Pakistan international and former Fulham and Bradford defender, believe they are sometimes used as scapegoats to hide the failings of the homegrown players
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 17:38
by KLNMurthy
Anujan wrote:Maybe someone should quote Ambedkar to him? This is what Ambedkar had to say over 60 years ago:
It seems to me that the Congress has failed to realize two things. The first thing which the Congress has failed to realize is that there is a difference between appeasement and settlement, and that the difference is an essential one. Appeasement means buying off the aggressor by conniving at his acts of murder, rape, arson and loot against innocent persons who happen for the moment to be the victims of his displeasure.
On the other hand, settlement means laying down the bounds which neither party to it can transgress. Appeasement sets no limits to the demands and aspirations of the aggressor. Settlement does.
Link?
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 17:39
by SBajwa
http://www.dawn.com/news/1137982/nobel- ... rom-lahore
Noble Laureates from Lahore!
THE names of Nobel Laureates are as follows:
Rudyard Kipling for Literature in 1907.He won his prize for writing ‘Kim’.
The cannon on The Mall in front of the Lahore Museum is also called Kim.
Kipling lived in Lahore. He edited the Civil & Military Gazette. The newspaper lasted until the 1950s.
Arthur Holly Comptonfor Physics in 1927. He worked in the University of Punjab, Chemistry Department. He won his prize for founding a new branch in Chemistry called Magnetochemistry.
Har Gobind Khorana for Genetics in 1968. He was born in Raipur village, now Lahore, during the British Raj. He did his MSc from Punjab University, Lahore, in 1945 and joined University of Liverpool the same year.
Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar for Physics in 1983. He was born in Lahore.
His father was an engineer in the Railways workshop in Moghalpura, Lahore.
He was educated in Government College where he later lectured. He moved to the US in 1947. He won his prize for discovering the black hole in space.
There is a telescope named after him in space called Chandra.
Abdus Salam for Physics in 1979. He was born in Jhang. He always topped in his class and was a professor in Govenment College, Lahore. He won his prize for Unified Field Theory. He said that light, magnetism, gravity, heat and energy are the one and same thing and can be transferred from one to the other. He founded the International Institute of Theoretical Physics at Triest, Italy, which was later named after him being called Abdus Salam International Institute of Theoretical Physics.
Which other city in the world can boast of five Nobel Laureates? So, Malala is the sixth Nobel Laureate from Pakistan.
Dr S.M. Ismail
Karachi
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 18:30
by KLNMurthy
Shrinivasan wrote:sum wrote:Scary that such a guy( and even guys like MKB) was even in the MEA even! Says a lot about the recruitment process.
Sum, have you read "Yes Minister"? here in one of the chapters, they will explain how a civil servant is recruited. Let me outline it.
1) Family connection
2) School / college connection
3) Extra curricular activities..
People like MSA were well connected, leftist leanings, St. Stephens college, Oxford return, debating club etc. All these makes them high flyers in IAS / IFS.
What about UPSC exam? Doesn't play a role?
I just read MEA spokesperson's media interaction. He is very poised and professional. Presumably, such people are also part of IFS fraternity.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 18:48
by rsingh
SBajwa wrote:http://www.dawn.com/news/1137982/nobel- ... rom-lahore
Kipling lived in Lahore. He edited the Civil & Military Gazette. The newspaper lasted until the 1950s.
Arthur Holly Comptonfor Physics in 1927. He worked in the University of Punjab, Chemistry Department. He won his prize for founding a new branch in Chemistry called Magnetochemistry.
Har Gobind Khorana for Genetics in 1968. He was born in Raipur village, now Lahore, during the British Raj. He did his MSc from Punjab University, Lahore, in 1945 and joined University of Liverpool the same year.
He was educated in Government College where he later lectured. He moved to the US in 1947. He won his prize for discovering the black hole in space.
Abdus Salam for Physics in 1979. He was born in Jhang. He always topped in his class and was a professor in Govenment College, Lahore. He won his prize for Unified Field Theory. He said that light, magnetism, gravity, heat and energy are the one and same thing and can be transferred from one to the other. He founded the International Institute of Theoretical Physics at Triest, Italy, which was later named after him being called Abdus Salam International Institute of Theoretical Physics.
Which other city in the world can boast of five Nobel Laureates? So, Malala is the sixth Nobel Laureate from Pakistan.
Dr S.M. Ismail
Karachi
Thus the news term is coined
Lahori
Nobli :
LN
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 19:01
by Virupaksha
There is a side track of around 2-10% called "conferred IAS" who are given that status at the pleasure of executive.
Also Nehru had the tradition of sitting on interviews to create a "committed bureaucracy". Because of that tradition most early ias officers were leftist in nature. So because many sitting on UPSC interviews come from that pool, there is a very high chance of selecting their ideological brethren.
However bureaucracy has the highest tendency to "blow with the wind"
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 19:06
by Anujan
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 19:27
by arun
Writing in The Hindu, Brahma Chellaney approves our Prime Ministers handling of the provocations initiated by the Islamic Republic of Pakistan culminating with what he terms “the mortar-for-bullet response”:
There was no Indian reprisal to the Herat attack, and India’s response to the summertime border shootings was circumspect. But, in keeping with the doctrine of graduated escalation, this month’s Pakistani machine-gun fire along the LoC brought a heavy response, including retaliation with 81-mm mortars, which have a range of up to five kilometres. Mr. Modi wasn’t exaggerating when he said publicly, “Pakistan has been taught a befitting lesson.”
The mortar-for-bullet response suggests that India’s policy of appeasement since 2003 is officially over.
Mr. Modi is showing he is no Vajpayee, whose roller-coaster policy on Pakistan traversed through Lahore, Kargil, Kandahar, Agra, Parliament House and Islamabad, inviting only greater cross-border terrorism. And Mr. Modi is clearly no Manmohan Singh, whose peace-at-any-price approach was founded on the naive belief that the only alternative to do nothing in response to terror is to go to war. So, whether it was the Mumbai attacks or a border savagery, such as a captured Indian soldier’s beheading, Dr. Singh responded by doing nothing.
The real choice was never between persisting with a weak-kneed policy and risking an all-out war. Indeed, that was a false, immoral choice that undermined the credibility of India’s own nuclear deterrent and emboldened the foe to step up aggression.
Better to run the risk of war, even nuclear, by inflicting severe and disproportionate pain on provocations of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan than become paralysed with the fear of (nuclear) war and continually absorb attacks dished out by the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. If the Islamic Republic of Pakistan persists with it’s provocations, the next escalatory step is for India to start randomly initiating provocations of her own.
Doctrine of graduated escalation
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 19:30
by arun
Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 10 Oct
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 19:36
by Peregrine
Brad Goodman wrote:Pakistan Needs no Appeasement, We Need the Gas
how credible is this?
The facts are very disturbing. India is an importer of gas. Locally, it is sold at government controlled pricing, which is currently at $4.2 per unit. Since it is a sensitive issue, the NDA government has twice postponed an urgently required upward revision in this pricing. Gas is used in power plants in India, which work below capacity or are closed due to scarcity. Consumers in India have to pay a hefty premium to get gas. In this scenario, it is foolhardy to supply imported gas to Pakistan. In India, while we are vigorously debating whether subsidies should continue, the government is thinking of supplying imported gas to a hostile nation at subsidized prices. If Pakistan is so needy, it should make arrangements to import the gas itself.
Brad Goodman Ji :
Swaminathan S Anklesaria Aiyar – younger brother of MSA – stated something similar :
Don’t bribe Pak with gas when we need it more
The government seems serious about a ridiculous proposal — supplying Pakistan five million units of imported gas per day, enough for two large power plants. When India is desperately short of gas, this is folly.
Many Indian power plants lie closed for want of gas. The consequent power shortage translates into lakhs of farmers with idle tubewells, hundreds of industries without power, and hence thousands of people without jobs. One industry is buying gas from coal mines at $22unit, five times the government controlled price of $4.2unit, indicating high scarcity. Why deprive Indians of gas to meet Pakistani needs? Diplomats claim the gas deal will improve Indo-Pak relations. I am all for it, but why in this manner? As a free trader, I favour lifting all barriers to trade and investment between the two countries. But Pakistan says no
Cheers

Posted: 15 Oct 2014 20:05
by A_Gupta
While I agree with your description of Mani Shankar Aiyar, I disagree with the Father of the Nation. That is fallacious on several counts. Unfortunately, people do not see deeper into the fallacy but get carried away by the fact that it appears as a good punch line and more than that it came from the Father of the Nation.
1. Apparently the Father of the Nation did not say that "eye for an eye will leave the world blind", at least it is not attested anywhere.
http://quoteinvestigator.com/2010/12/27 ... eye-blind/
2. Gandhi:
Dec 20 1947, speech at prayer meeting
What is the reason for our fighting in Kashmir? I consider it barbarous for the tribal raiders to have attacked Kashmir; we had to send an army to fight them.
Dec 25 1947, speech at prayer meeting
You all know something of what is happening in Kashmir. But I want to draw your attention to a proposal about Kashmir. It is being said and also reported in the newspapers that we should invite someone to arbitrate between the Indian Union and Pakistan in the dispute over Kashmir. How can this be? How long can this kind of thing go on? Instead of resulting in a settlement of the dispute, this will merely introduce into it a third party. Can we not settle the issue between ourselves?
Today some bits from the Zamindar were read out to me. I know the editor of the Zamindar. He has an unbridled tongue. He has issued an open invitation to all Muslims to muster for an assault on Kashmir. He has heaped abuse on the Dogras and the Sikhs. He calls the raid in Kashmir a jihad. But there is always restraint about a jihad. There is nothing of the kind here.
The simple fact is that Pakistan has invaded Kashmir. Units of the Indian army have gone to Kashmir but not to invade Kashmir. They have been sent on the express invitation of the Maharaja and Sheikh Abdullah.
January 2, 1948, speech at a prayer meeting
Kashmir has added more poison. If there is a war both countries are going to bleed. I do not wish to be alive to see that. I do not wish to be a witness to that carnage. I can only pray to God and ask you all to join in the prayer that He may take me away. Why should we not so conduct ourselves that any conflict between India and Pakistan becomes impossible? We must be brave and trust the Muslims. If later they violate the trust you can cut off their heads. But
you cannot say that if anyone refuses to go to Pakistan his head should be cut off.
January 28, 1948, from a letter.
I have not the slightest doubt that if we show the least bit of slackness over Kashmir, Hyderabad and Junagadh are going to meet with the same fate.
PS: there is an explicit endorsement by Gandhi of the Indian Army in J&K - but I can't find it right now.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 20:10
by Mihaylo
SBajwa wrote:http://www.dawn.com/news/1137982/nobel- ... rom-lahore
Dr S.M. Ismail
Karachi
Ismail Bhai missed Kailash Sathyarthi who was also born in Lahore, but moved to Bangalore, Kerala later on.
-M
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 20:11
by A_Gupta
Another link:
http://www.ambedkar.org/pakistan/40E1.P ... T%20IV.htm
I strongly recommend reading the whole of Ambedkar's "Pakistan".
A fuller quote:
The third thing that is noticeable is the adoption by the Muslims of the gangster's method in politics. The riots are a sufficient indication that gangsterism has become a settled part of their strategy in politics. They seem to be consciously and deliberately imitating the Sudeten Germans in the means employed by them against the Czechs. So long as the Muslims were the aggressors, the Hindus were passive, and in the conflict they suffered more than the Muslims did. But this is no longer true. The Hindus have learned to retaliate and no longer feel any compunction in knifing a Musalman. This spirit of retaliation bids fair to produce the ugly spectacle of gangsterism against gangsterism.
How to meet this problem must exercise the minds of all concerned. There are the simple-minded Hindu Maha Sabha patriots who believe that the Hindus have only to make up their minds to wipe the Musalmans and they will be brought to their senses.
On the other hand, there are the Congress Hindu Nationalists whose policy is to tolerate and appease the Musalmans by political and other concessions, because they believe that they cannot reach their cherished goal of independence unless the Musalmans back their demand.
The Hindu Maha Sabha plan is no way to unity. On the contrary, it is a sure block to progress. The slogan of the Hindu Maha Sabha President— Hindustan for Hindus— is not merely arrogant but is arrant nonsense.
The question, however, is : is the Congress way the right way ? It seems to me that the Congress has failed to realize two things. The first thing which the Congress has failed to realize is that there is a difference between appeasement and settlement, and that the difference is an essential one.
Appeasement means buying off the aggressor by conniving at his acts of murder, rape, arson and loot against innocent persons who happen for the moment to be the victims of his displeasure. On the other hand, settlement means laying down the bounds which neither party to it can transgress. Appeasement sets no limits to the demands and aspirations of the aggressor. Settlement does.
The second thing the Congress has failed to realize is that the policy of concession has increased Muslim aggressiveness, and what is worse, Muslims interpret these concessions as a sign of defeatism on the part of the Hindus and the absence of the will to resist. This policy of appeasement will involve the Hindus in the same fearful situation in which the Allies found themselves as a result of the policy of appeasement which they adopted towards Hitler. This is another malaise, no less acute than the malaise of social stagnation. Appeasement will surely aggravate it. The only remedy for it is a settlement. If Pakistan is a settlement, it is a proposition worth consideration. As a settlement it will do away with this constant need of appeasement and ought to be welcomed by all those who prefer the peace and tranquillity of a settlement to the insecurity due to the growing political appetite shown by the Muslims in their dealings with the Hindus.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 20:45
by Skanda
Johor Cup: India trounce Pakistan 6-0
Defending champions India thrashed arch-rivals Pakistan 6-0 in the third pool match of the fourth Sultan of Johor Cup played at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium here Wednesday.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 21:23
by Gus
Ismail wrote:Rudyard Kipling for Literature in 1907. Arthur Holly Comptonfor Physics in 1927.
Har Gobind Khorana for Genetics in 1968. Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar for Physics in 1983.
Abdus Salam for Physics in 1979. So, Malala is the sixth Nobel Laureate from Pakistan.
err..ismailu bhai..very phunny
no pakistan in 1907, 1927. you cannot claim raja dahir as pakistani when you also claim kasim as first pakistani.
similarly, you cannot drive hindus out, claim pakistan is for muslims and then also claim Khorana and Chandrasekhar as lahoris. Khorana spent significant years there and did BSc and Msc in Lahore, but Chandra was just born there and was homeschooled upto middle and went to high school in chennai and college at presidency chennai.
and you cannot disown Salam, disfigure his tombstone and claim him as well.
and you cannot shoot at somebody and heap abuse on that person as foreign collaborator and then claim her as well. phunny paki.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 22:18
by chaanakya
The decision was taken by Modi himself in consultation with National Security Advisor (NSA) Ajit Doval. The CCS was not convened but, according to top government officials, home minister Rajnath Singh, external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj and defence minister Arun Jaitley, all members of CCS, were kept in the loop and informed about the decision.
"There was no time to convene the CCS. Rajnath Singh and Sushma Swaraj were busy with their campaign schedule for assembly elections ..
This may be expedient but not a good thing for structured decision making process. What it takes to call all of them and take the decision. Afterall the firing on the Border is not a new development. Intermittently it was going on since August.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 22:25
by A_Gupta
chaanakya wrote:
The decision was taken by Modi himself in consultation with National Security Advisor (NSA) Ajit Doval. The CCS was not convened but, according to top government officials, home minister Rajnath Singh, external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj and defence minister Arun Jaitley, all members of CCS, were kept in the loop and informed about the decision.
"There was no time to convene the CCS. Rajnath Singh and Sushma Swaraj were busy with their campaign schedule for assembly elections ..
This may be expedient but not a good thing for structured decision making process. What it takes to call all of them and take the decision. Afterall the firing on the Border is not a new development. Intermittently it was going on since August.
What is the RACI matrix for these type of decisions? It seems everyone who needed to be informed was informed; less clear is whether all those who needed to be consulted were consulted. The Responsible and Accountables were Modi and Doval, and who else?
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 22:29
by rajithn
chaanakya wrote:
A read through the first section (Rehabilitation of D4) may give us the answer to this. See link below.
http://inflextionpoint.blogspot.in/2014 ... lemma.html
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 23:00
by chaanakya
What is the RACI matrix for these type of decisions? It seems everyone who needed to be informed was informed; less clear is whether all those who needed to be consulted were consulted. The Responsible and Accountables were Modi and Doval, and who else?[/quote]
I am sure you can work that out. Cabinet is jointly responsible for decisions in the constitutional scheme of things where PM is Prime Inter peres. Cabinet Committee on Security is responsible for decisions in respect of External and internal threats to India. And all those who are concerned with it are members of it and Chiefs of Armed Forces and RAW and IB chiefs are entitled to attend its meeting and give inputs. It is not an informal arrangement but a formal ones whose records are kept for the posterity. And it is not a matter of being informed but taking informed and structured decisions . One can argue that asking BSF to fire back without escalation is well within the domain of service chiefs but then A comprehensive policy guidelines could have been conveyed to field formations. Anyway what is the hurry when firing is going on for months since August and CCS could not meet. You want to change the rules , sure change it and then follow it. It won't take much time to do that when you have majority.
75(3) The Council of Ministers shall be collectively responsible to the House of the People.
That is the cardinal principle by which democracy functions.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 23:05
by chaanakya
rajithn wrote:chaanakya wrote:
A read through the first section (Rehabilitation of D4) may give us the answer to this. See link below.
http://inflextionpoint.blogspot.in/2014 ... lemma.html
How does it relate to non convening of CCS even if it is for Form's sake.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 23:19
by A_Gupta
chaanakya wrote:Cabinet is jointly responsible for decisions in the constitutional scheme of things where PM is Prime Inter peres. Cabinet Committee on Security is responsible for decisions in respect of External and internal threats to India. And all those who are concerned with it are members of it and Chiefs of Armed Forces and RAW and IB chiefs are entitled to attend its meeting and give inputs. It is not an informal arrangement but a formal ones whose records are kept for the posterity. And it is not a matter of being informed but taking informed and structured decisions .....
Probably off-topic so won't pursue it here, but "the Cabinet is jointly responsible" doesn't mean that every Cabinet member is involved in every decision - otherwise nothing could ever get done, and so on. I'm sure the Modi-Doval meeting had records created which are kept for posterity (well, until the records are cleared out).
PS:
http://books.google.com/books?id=MHhWuN ... &q&f=false
"Indian Administration" by N. Jayapalan.
There is no quorum for a Cabinet meeting.
Posted: 15 Oct 2014 23:48
by A_Gupta
Can someone put the poor man out of his delusions?
This link is a list of laureates who went to secondary school in New York City (and other cities) (and does not include people who might have spent an year as a lecturer, like Arthur Compton did in Lahore). Scrolling through the list, I counted 34.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nobel_Priz ... ffiliation