Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

Katare wrote:
Suraj wrote:I got a positive response from Mittal Champions Trust regarding the online contribution mechanism. They say they are going to work on creating this option. I also invited Sharda Ugra to join BRF, but it is upto her...
Good idea but it sounds kinda funny sending $25 to Mittals :rotfl:
as we say in bengali, bindu bindu te sindhu !
(droplets upon droplets make an ocean !) :)

Mangal Singh Champia has won his round: http://www.nbcolympics.com/archery/resu ... index.html
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

jr world chess championship update..

Negi won his 10th round match. He is currently joint third with 1 point off the leader. He faces Chinese Chao Li next round. A win will catapault him to serious medal contention. The last 2 round pairings will be known once the results for the 11th round are out. {Unlike other tournaments, pairings here are based on cumulative results till the prev round. I guess thats the way jr tournaments need to be based with not much clarity to the level of players.} What will be good is a Negi win will mean Chao Li's chances of a medal will go down in flames. Another Indian, Abhijeet Gupta is also on 7 pts. He faces relatively unknown, Denes Boros, also on 7 pts.

Harika, after her draw, is in joint 1st place. She better ramp up a win now, or else she may be fighting for silver and all. Thats too bad given her elo standing and that Hou Yifan is also not playing the womens stuff. I was a little annoyed to see Hou Yifan doing better than Negi in the mens {open} event. Seems like her luck has caught up with her. In any case, a creditable show by the Chinese girl in the open event. As of now, Harika stands to gain a few elos from her showing, assuming she will maintain her show in the next 3 rounds {read as "she does nt spring some awful surprises and loses 2 of 3 etc"}.

kabaddi news: surprise surprise, our team is trailing 1-2 after the 4th game was washed out. The commentary in yawn says our win was a fluke too. Given that it is yawn, i will take it with a pinch of salt. But I cant fricking believe they lost 2 games to bakis. WTF team was sent? Is it the national one? Yawn seemed to claim so, I am surprised at this turn of events. In any case, given that it happened in some hardcore talib areas, I should have expected that. Waiting to see some backlash next 2 games.

Which round did he win...is this the round of 32/elimination? I got confused coz I thought he was 2nd in the ranking rounds.
viv wrote:Mangal Singh Champia has won his round: http://www.nbcolympics.com/archery/resu ... index.html

Raja Bose wrote:Which round did he win...is this the round of 32/elimination? I got confused coz I thought he was 2nd in the ranking rounds.
He was 2nd in the ranking. However, today he won 64/elimination. However, has lost 32/elimination which seemed to have followed immediately after.

This is a good page to follow a summary of Bharat at Olympics: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/India_at_t ... r_Olympics

paes/bhupati 6-4,6-2.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

Not directly related to India but still mention it. An Indian - Raj Bhavsar in Bronze Winning Gymnastics team.

http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/B ... 0208.shtml
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Rahul M wrote:paes/bhupati 6-4,6-2.

Am I reading the nbc site correctly? The quarterfinals for paes-bhupathi have been scheduled for the same day as their 2nd rd match?! Same for all mens doubles.. Potentially Fed-ex could be playing three times today.. wtf is wrong with these organizers.. or is there something wrong in my reading.. is it the time lag effect, still does nt make much sense to cram 2 matches in 1 day.. something better be wrong..

are you sure there's a quarter final ? I can only see the men's doubles semis after paes/bhupathi.
the other categories have quarters alright ! :-?
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/Schedule/TE.shtml
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Rahul M wrote:are you sure there's a quarter final ? I can only see the men's doubles semis after paes/bhupathi.
the other categories have quarters alright ! :-?
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/Schedule/TE.shtml

Rahul, lookie below. Actually semis on Aug 14 makes sense with the nbc schedule. Quarters later today. I am wondering how do they have so many courts to run so many simul exhibitions? Even wimbledon has only 6-7 functional courts. Christ..
http://www.nbcolympics.com/tennis/resul ... index.html

I cant believe my eyes. Did some 3rd grade apparatchik design this schedule? Holy cow. No wonder Bhupathi was fuming all ends up before things started. He was already riled with the shady seeding scheme used here. God save Fed-ex. I am just worried about our mid-30 players can recover on time for this stoopid schedule. They have a semis tomorrow evening, in case their body lasts this distance.

stan ji, could you have a look at the official page the chinese have put up ?
I still can't find the men's doubles !!
looks like a major goof up on the part of the webmasters !

anyway, grueling schedule, what prevented them from using a couple more days ?
stupid administration ! :evil:
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Rahul M wrote:could you have a look at the official page the chinese have put up ?
I still can't find the men's doubles !!

Nor me. I saw the link you had posted. It just says semis on Aug 14th. NBC says quarters later on Aug 13th. Both seem to be consistent at least.

anyway, grueling schedule, what prevented them from using a couple more days ?
stupid administration ! :evil:
I am so clueless here. Seems like this is an issue with only Beijing. Athens had a 8 day schedule.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/olympic ... efault.stm
In Athens, Nicholas Massu featured in both mens singles and doubles finals. And he won both. And the finals were separated by like 12-13 hrs of rest. Nevertheless, that was an exception. Noone must have expected 2 golds by Chile.
Sydney 2000 had 10 full days for tennis.
http://espn.go.com/oly/summer00/results/tennis.html

What we are seeing now is atrocious. Even if its fed-ex, he cant physically stand 3 matches in 1 day. Whats also weird is Michael Youzhny can also feature in 3 matches today. And the winner of the fed-ex & co - Youzhny & co match will take on lee-hesh :rotfl:. Well skewed up. Two young guns playing their 3rd match against two old ones playing their second. What a comedy of errors.

I am willing to bet my top $ that this schedule + the seeding are not to be blamed on ATP alone. Something seems sinister and I would nt be too off if the chicoms designed this to let their women players, Li Na, Jie Zheng, Tiantian Sun et al get off to medalling. No proof. But knowing the chinese, that would nt surprise me.

PS: Boss, moi is probably your age. No ji's please. WTH have I done for this treatment? :P

Stan_Savljevic wrote:What we are seeing now is atrocious. Even if its fed-ex, he cant physically stand 3 matches in 1 day. Whats also weird is Michael Youzhny can also feature in 3 matches today. And the winner of the fed-ex & co - Youzhny & co match will take on lee-hesh :rotfl:. Well skewed up. Two young guns playing their 3rd match against two old ones playing their second. What a comedy of errors.
may be that is well thought out ! in all fairness and all that ! :D
btw, plz check PM.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Here is one link on the bungling. The blame as of now stands at ITF side. Also, there seems to have been too much rain that caused nuff postponements of matches. Still, they dont have a reserve day or cant they change the schedule a bit.
After the high of a sensational Wimbledon final between Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer, tennis appears headed for a downer at the Olympic Games. It is hard to know where to begin with the way the International Tennis Federation, in supposed (but not always) collaboration with national Olympic associations, has bungled the tennis in Beijing.

Things reached the height of absurdity on Saturday when Ivan Ljubicic of Croatia, ranked No. 51, withdrew from singles and was replaced with Devin Mullings of the Bahamas. His ranking is - believe it or not - No. 1025. With many players in the top 100 dying to play, Mullings, who has not won a match on the tour this year, got a spot in the 64-man draw.

The reason is that, after Aug. 2 (eight days before the event), rules state (with each country allowed a maximum of four entries) that players withdrawing are replaced with someone on site, which in effect is only doubles competitors. Mullings is partnering with compatriot Mark Knowles. Canadian Frédéric Niemeyer, No. 277 in singles and in Beijing to play doubles with Daniel Nestor, got into the singles when Mario Ancic of Croatia withdrew. That meant Canada had two singles players because Frank Dancevic, No. 114, also made it in when Denis Gremelmayr of Germany did not play.

Gremelmayr is a cause célèbre because his ranking qualified him as of the June 9 entry deadline, but he was not nominated by his national Olympic association, which chose Rainer Schuettler, lower-ranked at the time but subsequently a Wimbledon semi-finalist. Schuettler went to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lausanne, Switzerland, and got a favourable decision, overruling the ITF's process and creating a major controversy. There may be logistical and security reasons for not having standby players on site in case of withdrawals, but for credibility, especially with the Olympics awarding ATP ranking points for the first time, there should not be the farce of Mullings in the draw.

Maybe even worse are the doubles events where singles rankings (and/or doubles rankings) were used for seeding. For several years, players have been able to enter doubles using their singles rankings. The idea was to attract more singles players. However, seedings have always been done using the doubles rankings. In Beijing, Novak Djokovic, No. 3 in singles but No. 223 in doubles, is seeded second because he is entered with fellow Serb Nenad Zimonjic (Nestor's tour partner), No. 4 in doubles. They have played one match (in Davis Cup) together in 2008.

Nicolas Almagro and David Ferrer of Spain have played a total of zero matches this year, but are seeded No. 5 because of their singles rankings, 14th and fifth, respectively. Meanwhile, Martin Damm and Pavel Vizner of the Czech Republic have played 33 matches and are eighth in the ATP 2008 team standings, yet not among the eight seeded teams. "These singles guys get to play doubles at the Grand Slams, but they don't get seeded as they are at the Olympics," said Indian doubles specialist Mahesh Bhupathi, representing the feelings of tour doubles players. "There's got to be some consistency."

The tennis event started yesterday, but many matches were postponed because of rain. Niemeyer played and led Guillermo Canas of Argentina 6-3, 2-4 when he had to retire with elbow pain. He is still expected to play doubles with Nestor. Also, women's top seed Ana Ivanovic withdrew because of inflammation of her thumb. Last week, she wrote on her website about the air quality in Beijing: "I had practice at 10 a.m. this morning and they had to turn the lights on because it's so foggy you can't see across the court!"

American veteran Lindsay Davenport noted: "You can see from the beginning of the day until the end how the dirt kind of piles up on the hard court. All of a sudden, you're getting ball marks as the day goes on." Pollution, filthy courts, extreme heat and humidity, as well as dubious singles entry procedures and doubles seeding, this is one tournament that is decidedly not very Olympian.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/ ... ory/Sports

Added later: Wiki says Beijing was planned to have a 8 day tennis schedule.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tennis_at_ ... r_Olympics
But some rain washout on the first three days means its an effective shortened 6 day schedule. But I am also confused cos the official webpage does nt show too many rain postponements. Whatever, the bottomline is a loss of face for the panda :rotfl:

btw, the official page does show that sania'a doubles match had been postponed. what happened to it, did they give a walkover ?

viv wrote:
Raja Bose wrote:Which round did he win...is this the round of 32/elimination? I got confused coz I thought he was 2nd in the ranking rounds.
He was 2nd in the ranking. However, today he won 64/elimination. However, has lost 32/elimination which seemed to have followed immediately after.

This is a good page to follow a summary of Bharat at Olympics: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/India_at_t ... r_Olympics
Very nice website....
So, we still have the Naval shooter,Rajput and Gagan to strut their stuff in a few events.. Are these their strong events?

INDIA THRASHED DEFENDING CHAMPION TAJIKISTAN 4-1 TO WIN THE AFC CHALLENGE CUP !!

sunil chhetri scores a hatrick !!
and we get a place on the Asian Cup 2011 !!
8)

ImageImageImage

Feature: On India’s AFC Challenge Cup’08 Triumph
India Win The AFC Challenge Cup '08
goal.com is a nice source, we may keep them in mind regarding the player supporting business.

btw, under bob houghton, we have scored 48 goals in 29 matches while winning 15 and losing 3/4(?) !

btw, what's the latest on paes/bhupathi ??

In tennis men's doubles, the bottom half of the draw is empty, with just one seeded team - the 8th seeded Russian pair - left, while in Paes/Bhupathi's side they face the Swiss pair, and if they get into the semis, then they encounter the #1 seeds Bob/Mike Bryan. Let's see if our duo can inspire themselves.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Something seems off with Sania's body language. I am not sure if its mental fatigue or if she is having a horrible internal injury that she is covering up. If its mental fatigue, she needs to take a break from India, and spend some time away from tennis. AFAI can tell, India seems to produce the worst form in her.

She has been 2 distracted by too many maulanas and the ddm have nt left her alone either, esp when she is recouping from injuries. She has yet to settle down to the ddm attention like Hesh-Lee {when they started around}. Some of her trusted lieutenants have been complete failures too. Her close family has nt been able to stand the onslaught of the believers. I hope she does nt catch Kournikovitis. She has been hanging around the cusp for too long, and when folks like the Belgian duo retire so early, she better focus on warding off fatigue and attentionitis. Something seems off, dont know if there is a fatwa on her head or something like that.

Suraj, mens doubles has been vague. Seeding scheme here has been total farce, with the top seeds playing each other in the first 2 rounds etc. On any day, any team can provide the David story. I am hoping the Bryans catch cold before Lee-Hesh meet them. First priority is to ensure a medal, then to ensure a gold. I could nt care two hoots if it came in the easier route. It would be sweeter if it came the harder way, but the heart attack syndrome is catching me too old ;).

OTOH, I just hope Somdev does nt choose the easier option and play for Amrika. Its so easy for him to switch around. I have no indication to believe he will. Just venturing a possibility that could be on anyone's mind. His climb has been so meteoric that the USTA should nt have any worries sweetening the deal, if need be. That will be terrible for Indian tennis for this is exactly what we seem to be lacking to go up DC ladder as well as the medal table in OG. I hope Globosport offer him a deal he cant resist and Lee talks to him soon. But Globosport may be small pickings if he so chooses. One thing assured is the ddm is gonna go crazy for him. That can never be matched in Amrika ;).

chess update: Harika, Negi and Abhijeet all have won. Abhijeet and Negi are 1/2 pt away from the leader and in joint 2nd with n folks. Harika has the sole lead. 2 more rds to go. 1 more win from the guys and it will be fun to see another jr mens medal in chess. Is it long time since Anand? Long overdue..

Maybe nayakuddin should settle down with her! He also seems quite distracted.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Rahul M wrote: btw, what's the latest on paes/bhupathi ??
Some sanity has prevailed at last. Hesh-Lee match is now scheduled for Aug 14th, but the schedule shows semis also scheduled for the same day. I get the feeling that at the end of the day, they will stretch out the doubles gold event to the same day as singles gold event. It was earlier scheduled for finishing 1 day earlier.

I am not sure if its the organizers fault, or the web ppl's miscommunication. In either case, we have to point out that this is a loss of face, if there was any face left not lost, already.

Cheerleading volunteers have stepped into Olympic venues to fill up empty seats and liven up the atmosphere, organisers said
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

The psychology and physiology that makes Phelps a phenomenon

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/ ... =24&page=3

from the article, "US team physiologist Genadijus Sokolovas has monitored more than 5,000 swimmers over the past 20 years and most end a race with a lacticity (build-up of lactic acid in the blood caused by oxygen starvation in fast-twitch fibres) of between 10 and 15 millimoles per litre of blood. Just one world-record breaker has registered a sub-10 millimole count: after Phelps broke the 200 metres butterfly world record his count was 5.6. While most swimmers take 20-30 minutes to recover from a race, Phelps can bounce back in 10 minutes. On a night when Phelps raced two events recently, the first a final, the second a semi-final, his lacticity count was above 10 after the first race but below it after the second, suggesting that he is actually recovering while racing below peak."

thanks stan .

surprised nobody commented on the football win.
tajikistan was simply blown away as we played an incredibly fast paced match ! 8)
this is our biggest win since 1962 asiad gold !!
we are finally back on the way to the mainstream of asian football !
and hats off to bob houghton and the boys. exciting time ahead for Indian sports !!

Rahul M: I think I speak for a bunch of folks when I say this, but I don't know what the AFC Challenge Cup is, and why it is important. Or for that matter, what the qualification in the Asian championship is about. Why not describe what these events are and how our performance has changed ?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Suraj wrote:Rahul M: I think I speak for a bunch of folks when I say this, but I don't know what the AFC Challenge Cup is, and why it is important. Or for that matter, what the qualification in the Asian championship is about. Why not describe what these events are and how our performance has changed ?

Boss, let me try to put down in as brief as possible the case of Indian football. What this win means? Where we should be? Where we are etc? Its all my personal opinion, so take it for what its worth.

Indian football had been at its very best in the early 50s to mid 60s. Wiki says, we qualified by default for the 50 World cup because all of our opponents in the qual stage failed to show up, however, we did nt play in the world cup cos many of our folks did nt prefer wearing shoes. We took part in the 1956 Melbourne olympics which was also marred by a large no of boycotts. We ended up losing the bronze medal playoff against Hungary. This olympics is remembered for the hat-trick by Neville Dsouza {from Goa} against Ozland. Overall, our best show in the world scene so far. We were the top dog team and the team to beat on the Asian stage in the early 50s and mid 60s. We won the 51 Asiad at Delhi, the 62 one in Jakarta, finished 3rd in 70 Bangkok, reached the semis in 58 and so on. Overall, a stage of at least Asian domination. This was also the time when names like MA Salim, Chuni Goswami, PK Banerjee, Neville Dsouza, Sailendranath Manna, Syed Nayeemuddin etc dominated the Indian scene.

Come the 70s, the mid-east started floating in oil cash from the mid 70s crisis period. That period also saw dramatic changes in the way football was being played, just as in hockey. {Remember our "best" hockey triumph on the world scene is the 75 KL world championship win.} The game became more running oriented, just as in hockey. Set-pieces started dominating the scene. Scientific coaching became the rule. Man-marking started happening, replays etc came into prominence. Flair started becoming restricted to the Brazilians and a few other select teams. And the days of Puskas and the beautiful game was long gone. 1966 marked the entry of England on the world scene with a come-from-behind win in the finals against W. Germany. In particular, Geoff Hurst {the overtime double goal scorer for England} + W. German team symbolized the new power phenomenon that modern football became a rendition of. In the Indian context, that period also saw more interest in cricket with the domination of the Indian spin maestros. Overall, a bad time to be a hockey or a football player {or a fan or babu or whatever}. The game started becoming centered in pockets like Kerala, Bengal {both east as well as the west, where it had always been the hoi polloi game}, Goa and a few other vestiges. Its interesting that the communist movement saw football as the game of the masses, so it had some official blessings too. More to the point was that Bengal players had dominated the scene {the national team + no 11 position} for a long time.

We started getting to be the star team only in South Asia around the late 80s and mid 90s. The rot had truly set in. Even though there were a few star players once a while like IM Vijayan, Jo Paul Ancheri, Bruno Coutinho etc, there was no mass pull in terms of star power till the arrival of Baichung Bhutia and of late, Sunil Chhetri and NP Pradeep. The team had to witness playing in stadia with hardly any fans, even in Indian locales. The exception seems to be the Ambedkar stadium in Dilli or probably stadia in Goa, Kerala and Bengal. Everything else seems to suck even with free tikkits offered for fans. And these days, it is not even clear that we can win the south asian championship with considerable panache, if we do, or at all. {We, in fact, lost the recently held one in the finals to Maldives (in Sri Lanka, which has been a pit for Indian football).}

What this AFC challenge cup win means is a freedom to get started again on the Asian scene. The winner of this tournament gets an automatic entry to the Asian cup, which is the premier championship in Asia {like Euro xxxx}. We overcame a major straitjacket and got out of this vicious circle of playing the lower ranked teams, losing to them again and again, and sticking around in the bottom of the fifa ranking pits. We should be able to climb up the rankings chart a bit better with access possible to higher ranked teams {in some part}. We also dont need to worry about qualifying for the qualifying competitions, if you know what I mean. Thats been our bane. Some lowly ranked mid-east team {like Lebanon or Yemen} comes from nowhere and thumbs at our nose and gets off and loses in the next round or 2. So we have been sorely lacking the luck factor in the recent past. To keep things in context, our last major win was the Nehru cup win in 2007 {against Syria 1-0}, again at the Ambedkar stadium. Before that we won the LG cup in Vietnam in 2002. Its been a long drought....

The catch with this win is that the Asian cup is in 2011. And most folks like Baichung etc are almost too old. So it is not clear what fraction of this team will stick around till 2011. Injuries too. But its a good start. We will get below 150 fifa ranking if I am not wrong. That is a good start cos if we have to get to be < 50, we need to start somewhere. 155 does nt sound too enticing, and we are not going to climb in 10s and 20s anymore. We have to go one step at a time. If the Indian team gets ranked around 50 in 2012 or so, that will be a miracle. For that, the young ones need to be identified early and channeled in a pyramidal architecture to the national team. Easily said than done given that AIFF has been our nemesis in letting us sink so low for so long. The heydays of 50s and 60s football {and hockey} was let go waste by the IHF and AIFF. They did nt adapt to the changes happening in the Oiropean game. Playing on grass in both hockey and football became passe a long time back. Anyway..

Here is one article on the history of Indian football
http://www.goal.com/en-us/Articolo.aspx ... oId=572076
Last edited by Stan_Savljevic on 14 Aug 2008 08:45, edited 1 time in total.

thanks for the nice review stan.
let me add that there have been off and on pretty good performances by Indian teams in the last five years, both national and club.
and trust me on this, the difference b/w top teams of the world(not only asia) is big but not insurmountable. as I watched the bayern munich match against mohun bagan a month or two back, really we could have scored thrice in that match easily ! and the reigning bundesliga champions(german football league) were certainly not playing loosely. where we lacked was finishing and confidence. that can only come with more matches against good teams.
which is why this win is so important. it lets us do just that.
also, we need to protect the top national players from over exhaustion by cutting down on the # of matches played in the domestic circuit. currently, there are a number of low grade domestic tournaments where the same teams play each other again and again.
we need to play more international matches against good teams, both at the national and club level.

btw, the tata football academy jamsedpur has been doing superb work for the last two decades or so but we need more of this type. it can also be thought of in the donation list of sports programmes we are thinking about.
at least 3 for each of the south,west and north zones and one for the north east which seems
to produce so many good players nowadays. at least 4-5 players in the current national team are from the NE.

FWIW, the emotional demonstration of the tall kashmiri mid-fielder mehrajuddin wadoo with the tri-colour yesterday made a nice symbolic image, given the circumstances. :wink:
http://www.tatafootballacademy.com/
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

I did nt know that AIFF had a picture of the 1956 Indian team. Its available online.
http://www.the-aiff.com/gallerymain.php

Paes/Bhupathi match coming up today - time not yet confirmed.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

well deserved rewards.AIFF, ESPN present Indian football team with cash bonanza
Thursday , August 14, 2008
New Delhi, August 14: Cash incentives poured in for the India football team after they won the AFC Challenge Cup as All India Football Federation (AIFF) and sports broadcaster ESPN rewarded the winners with Rs 15 lakh each.

The cash award was shared by 23 players, head coach and six support staff.

Sports Ministry is also expected to announce incentives for the players and the support staff when minister M.S. Gill meets captain Baichung Bhutia and Wednesday’s hat-trick man Sunil Chhetri.

AIFF President Priya Ranjan Dasmunshi personally met the players this morning, congratulated them for the “historic win” which took the country to 2011 Asian Cup after 24 years, and presented each of them a cheque of Rs 50,000.

Head coach Bob Houghton was handed a Rs 1 lakh cheque while the six other support staff (two assistant coaches, one goalkeeper coach, team manager, a doctor and a physio) were also given Rs 50,000 each, which brought the total sum to Rs 15.5 lakh.

“The AIFF President congratulated all the players, the coach and the support staff for the historic win yesterday. He expressed happiness that India qualified for the elite Asian tournament in 2011 after 1984,” an AIFF source said.

India defeated defending champions Tajikistan by a convincing 4-1 margin to win their first major title since the Nehru Cup win in August last year at the same venue.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Fed-ex has lost the first set in his singles match {against James Blake} so far. In case he wins, hope he gets stretched majorly to three sets. In case he loses, ditto. I want a deadly tired Fed-ex in the match against Lee-Hesh. No chances here. I dont want a well-fed, well-groomed, happy fed-ex for this important doubles match alone.
{updated: Fed-ex lost the second set too. Gone are the dreams.}

I saw a report on ToI earlier in the day when fed-ex had whined about the tennis schedule. Surprisingly, the report is missing now. Or maybe i did nt look carefully nuff. The cheating allegations against the Chinese boxers, gymnasts has now reached a crescendo. One other highly ranked and touted Russian boxer lost to a lowly ranked Chinese boxer. So now, we have the Brits, Ukrainians, Russians, and Americans complaining about how partial the chinese judges have been. Nice below the belt, not all of them can be wrong.. Bela Karyoli, the famous coach of Nadia Commaneci {the perfect 10 Romanian gymnast from 1976 Montreal} took an underside on the age credentials of chinese gymnasts.

In the weightlifting front, I was a bit harsh earlier on the Indians who have doped. The anger stemmed from the stupid way in which these buggers have gotten caught bringing disrepute to the whole team and guilt by association a new name. Seems like weightlifting is going the cycling way, doping is universal, just that many stupid Indians get caught, while the vast majority of cheats escape due to poor wada regulations. Well, thats not my opinion, thats what a senior wada guy has said. So take that faceless china, your winning 5 out of 6 golds is not saving much face in the end after all. Just like Tour de France, I am going to view every weightlifting winner with suspicion. No country is bar. I would rather prefer the Indians take a moratorium from this cesspool, just to keep their sanity level ahead.

On Michael Phelps, this is what NYT says

There are empty seats in the Water Cube aquatics center for his races, state-run Chinese newspapers are providing muted coverage and a number of people interviewed on the Olympic Green said that their favorite American athletes here were not swimmers but N.B.A. stars like Kobe Bryant and LeBron James.

A concern about inflaming Chinese nationalism might be at work in the restrained coverage of Phelps, said Susan Brownell, a Fulbright scholar from the United States who is studying the Olympics at Beijing Sport University. Late last year, or early this year, Brownell said, her colleague, Yi Jiandong, wrote a blog post on a popular Web site about how many medals Phelps might win, bringing a vehement response. “It incited a lot of attacks on him from ultranationalists who thought that by simply describing Phelps’s quest, he was saying the U.S. was better than China,” Brownell said, adding that the blog post was eventually removed from the site, QZone. “My guess,” Brownell said, “is that with China doing so well, winning so many gold medals, leading the count, it may be an editorial policy that if you give too much attention to Michael Phelps, there could be a danger of inciting ultranationalism: ‘Why are you writing about him when China is doing so well?’ They are sensitive to ultranationalism. They know the world is watching. They don’t want any ugliness."

What a bunch of paranoidal losers :rotfl:. Saving face, this has become the national pastime. Like the Amrikans name baseball, the chinese can have "face-savitis" as their pet game.

Added later: The mens doubles has 8 teams standing now.
1) Paes-hesh vs Fed-ex-wawrinka
2) Bryans vs Guccione hewitt
3) andreev-davydenko vs clement-llodra
4) aspelin-johansson vs frystenberg-matkowski

of these, i am just wary of the bryans, clement-llodra and aspelin-johansson. The others are all specialist singles players who have ridden their luck + easier schedule so far. I will bet on clement-llodra coming tops from the bottom 1/2 of the draw. And hesh-lee from the top, as expected :mrgreen:.
Last edited by Stan_Savljevic on 14 Aug 2008 18:50, edited 1 time in total.

rain delays all tennis matches.

http://en.beijing2008.cn/news/sports/he ... 1008.shtml

with federer also appearing in the singles, I doubt he will be able to give 100 % for doubles.

Paes/Bhupathi vs Federer/Wawrinka is on. The Swiss lead 3-0 in the first set.

http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/R ... #TEM002302

Added later: Swiss up 4-1, match delayed by rain.

Rowing schedules for 14 Aug also show as postponed...anybody have any updates on situation?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Gaziantep, Turkey, chess news:
Harika wins the womens jr title with a rd to spare. She leads by a point and will win on progressive score even if she loses the final round, which is far from true anyway..

Negi and Abhijeet have climbed the pits and are in joint lead now with {David Howell} and a round to spare. Awesome last half of the tournament for Negi who had dug a hole for himself initially by losing to no-names. The progressive score for the two will only fetch silver and bronze. So they have to win. Abhijeet takes on David Howell in the final rd. If he wins, he will win the stuff on progressive score 1-2 for India. If he draws and Negi wins, Negi will win the title 1-3 for India. If Abhijeet loses, David will win the title, 2-3 for India unless noone pips Abhijeet to the post.

A gold silver in a world junior mens + a gold in womens means its double whammy. Never before... I doubt even if the heydays of Russkie chess produced such vintage stuff. Awesome. Now Negi will also get out of the rot and his elo will climb by at least 10-20 pts in the Oct update. He had been fairly immovable for a year now. What a way to climb out. Abhijeet, not much has been known about him, unlike Negi. Hopefully this is the signalling of change of order at home. Hari and Sasikiran have been static mid 2600s, and that cant get us ahead in the olympiad anytime soon. Negi, Abhijeet et al will shore up the 4th board real well and take time off Hari/Sasi on the higher boards. We need to cross China before we can launch an attack on the Russkies. With Bu Xiangzhi, Wang Yue, Ni, Yang etc hovering at 2700+, that was a hard ask. Now the tide shifts again. Been delayed by at least a cpl of years.. Hopefully.. Time will tell.

I never mentioned the females, Sowmya Swaminathan and Mary Ann Gomez. Both came from nowhere and are now at 5 and 6. If either one can get to bronze, it will be a prospective 1-2 in mens and 1-3 in womens. Wow. Superb.. Now will NIIT donate em some more computing power?! And send them off to fight the Russkies in Russkie land? We need more category 19+ in India. This will help, surely. If we have 4-5 2700 Indian GMs in the fray in India + 4-5 more furrin ones, thats category 20. Chess scene is looking real up, not the top {which has always been the case}, but the tail.

it's the base that eventually matters, IMO.

btw, when a match is rescheduled in tennis, is it continued from the old score ?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Rahul M wrote: btw, when a match is rescheduled in tennis, is it continued from the old score ?
Yes
Shivani

Post by Shivani »

Ameet wrote:The psychology and physiology that makes Phelps a phenomenon

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/ ... =24&page=3

On a night when Phelps raced two events recently, the first a final, the second a semi-final, his lacticity count was above 10 after the first race but below it after the second, suggesting that he is actually recovering while racing below peak.
This is hard to accept. My knowledge about these matters is limited to what I have learnt in school and some articles on internet over the years, but how can this even be possible?
derkonig
Location: Jeering sekular forces bhile Furiously malishing my mijjile @ Led Lips Mijjile Malish Palish Parloul

Post by derkonig »

lee-hesh are out...
what medal prospects have we left now?

Damn it.... :x

Men's Bantamweight (54kg/119 lbs) Round of 16 In Progress

Country -- Name ------------------ Corner -----Round 1 ---- Round 2 ---- Round 3 ---- Round 4 ---- results
Russia ---- VODOPYANOV Sergey----- Red --------2 ------------ 4 ---------- 2 ----- ----- 1 ----- ---- 9
India ----- KUMAR Akhil -------------- Blue -------1 ------------ 3 ---------- 3 ----- ----- 2 ----- ---- 9

Final results : Winner Blue KUMAR Akhil India Blue PTS +9:9

Bout Result Men's Bantam (54kg) Round of 16
Last edited by BijuShet on 15 Aug 2008 18:00, edited 3 times in total.