Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
ravit

Re: Redrawing State Boundaries

Post by ravit »

I like the way the thread started with Telangana/State divisions and is now mostly Telugu vs Tamil vs Kannada people.

I am just plain confused, that is all
Dont be. This is just "manufactured outrage" particularly by the politco/business (they are usually one and same these days) from Rayalseema and Coastal who poured their kaala dhan in Hyderabad real estate in massive billions.
Are you in subtle way implying that KCR/Hyderabad outrage is genuine and Seema/Costa outrage is manufactured?

In my village , almost all of them have Son/Daughter/Sister/Brother making a living in Hyderabad. I can't give you a number. But, most of the people's life depends on what happens in Hyd and I am assuming what is happening is related to this. Some of non-resigned MP's MLA's houses are rounded by protesters demanding resignation. With Hyderabad as the bone of contention, I don't think Andhra/Seema is going to let this go easily. Especially with what happened with Madras, almost similarly last time around. There is rumour around that there is already MNS like TNS(Telangana Nava Nirman Sena) in work in Hyderabad.

Now, what can center do now? Go back on Telangana ? Andhra erupts. Go forward, Telangana will. Presidents rule? Will President's rule cool the issue this time around?

Also guru's know here how is the situation in other states which are asking for separate state? They also consist of regions with for/against bi/tri-furcation?

SwamyG wrote:If a person is born in a place and lives there for the first 20 years; then we can not say he is from elsewhere. His/her ancestors might be from a different place.
That is silly. His birth was before there is Nellore district and Tamilnadu. If Chennai were to be in AP, who knows it could have been in Nellore District or Nellore in Chennapatnam district. Chennai name itself would have been Chennapatnam
Last edited by ShyamSP on 12 Dec 2009 21:04, edited 1 time in total.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Acharya-ji, unless things are articulated in precise crystal-clear hypotheses, it is hard to understand what kinda games are going on in the background.

Much of the stuff that is being talked about here, as per my read, sounds like a conspiracy theory of "united TN trying to payback AP for 1953"-type nonsensical themes. When people accuse others, they should bring supporting facts rather than sound off as if TN is a monolith with everyone waiting for the right time for revenge, most dont even care about what goes on inside AP. I would have expected at least that much sensibility from posters of this forum, forget the hot-headed people in the epicenter of the crisis.
I like the way the thread started with Telangana/State divisions and is now mostly Telugu vs Tamil vs Kannada people.
Ravit, for the defence, it remained a Telengana discussion till ramana blamed it on "TN elites," whoever they are and wherever they exist. And till I questioned him today, giving him one full day to take it back, the TN folks did nt swing in. One diversion by Manny brought the Kannada people into the discussion, not like they should nt, but lets place the right portion of diversions to the right people.

Re: States News and Discussions

This is what I posted in Deccan Chronicle in response to a Telangana post. Lets see if they post it...
Dear Friend,

Nothing new in your arguments. There are many regions in India that fall into this type of justification. Even some regions in Rayalaseema and Andhra Pradesh can make the same arguments.

Water Resources: Telangana region is located on Deccan Platue. This geography doesn't change just because we create a separate Telangana Region. Any plans to supply irrigation water to this region requires high-capacity lift-irrigation projects. This is not cost productive in the first round of development for India. That was the reason behind Independent India's plans on building dams for irrigation. That doesn't mean we need to make Telangana region a desert. Telangana farmers must be encouraged to pursue water harvesting and draught-resistent crops such as bio-diesel etc. That is the permanent solution to harness Telangana geography and lack of heavey water resources.

Jobs: How many jobs do you think GO610 will create. Telangana intellectuals are cheating you with this slogan, as the few thousand jobs created by GO610 will not solve your problems.

Did you ever think why Telangana graduates were not able to proparly utilize the job growth in the past two decades? How many telanganites qualify for the lakhs of private jobs created in Hyd IT and Knowledge-outsourcing sectors?

More over, anyone can go anywhere in India and live. In what way a separate Telangana state solve the unemployment problem? Do you expect to replace all the non-telangana people with Telangana people in Cyberabad? Do you think you have enough qualified people to do so? Even if you have few people who qualify for those jobs, why do you think they didnt get those jobs in the first place? Or do you expect TRS to be Hyderabad's MNS?

It all boils down to quality education? Do you know the state of educational institutions in Hyderabad before the settlers encouraged this sector in 1980-90s? How many so-called Telangana intellectuals qualify to start a truly-professional educational institute, and what stopped them to do so in the past 20 years?

Derogatory Remarks: You yourself claimed that bottom 20% population tends to be lazy in every region. They why are you taking offense to such a remark? In addition to that, aren't you insulting the bottom 20% of the society by generalizing them to be lazy? Use some brains my friend.

Hyderbad: Do you know the differene between pre-1980 hyderabad and post-1980 hyderabad? What was the life of telangana region under 400 years of Islamic rulers?

Kindly compare the pre-1990 Osmania University, Osmania Hospital, Hussain Sagar, Airport with current institutes and you will understand the contributions of settlers to this City.

Without those settlers Hyderabad would have remained as a second-class city, and there wouldn't have been this agitation.

Settler Contributions: In the past 5 years, atleast 2-3 Lakh apartments were purchased by settlers in Hyderabad city alone. At an average price of 25L per apartment, it works out to be ~50,000-75,000 crores of wealth. Where do you think this amount came from?

That said, what is the gaurantee that a separate telangana achieve what you want to solve?

- Irrigation projects: How do you plan to generate the >10,000 crores to build each irrigation project?

- Jobs: How do you plan to stop the settlers to apply for private jobs in Hyderabad? Telangana will still be part of United India and will have to accommodate any Indian. Or do you plan to create a new nation :)

- Leadership: If telangana leadership is capable and innovative, they will be able to lead entire Andhra Pradesh and even India. Why limiting their leadership (if it exists) to Telangana region? Aren't we all Indians?

- Culture: My friend each corner of India is rich with culture and heritage. We all are Indians. There is nothing wrong in asking for a separate state. But taking offense to some stupid comments shows your own prejudice.

Hope this helps you in thinking objectively.

All these yrs when this issue was simmering - I never saw one explanation of the TN angle.
So previous to this - any link of the Tamil angle which certain forumites are postulating

Why are we fighting when we have a common glorious Indic background?

Let us strengthen this Indic background.

Or is merely an intellectual charade?

India has always had subnationalism and the Indic issue was never in the foreground.

Enough of such evidence in history!

Why did the Borgis invade Bengal annually? Bengalis and Marathas were Indic! To my way of looking the Indic line is bogus and subnationalism is supreme! Uttter humbug is this Ibdic line as the posts are indicating.

Be real. We are proud to be one, but we are also feriously parochial about our subnationalism!

I for one, in spite of being a Bengali say that give Gorkhaland and Kamatapur. The latter may survive, but Gorkhaland will be total failure. Apart from Tourism, they have not even the water to sustain their towns. Let them realise what in Bengali they say - koto dhane koto chal (from how much of raw rice grain come out real edible rice). And I have Gorkha relatives and have no qualms on mentioning how foolish an idea it is! But then, it is their land and they have a right to decide!

I am tempted to quote Swapan Dasgupta:

To the BJP president who, by common consensus, had a limited target audience of his speechwriters and his “appointing authority”, a euphemism for the bigwigs of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, there was nothing unnatural in embellishing the documentation of the Devraha Baba’s spiritual and Hindu credentials with his transnational appeal — the paradoxical nationalist quest for foreign certification. To a less committed audience, it was further evidence of an inability to distinguish between legitimate history, conspiracy theory, mythology, bazaar gossip and plain banality.

I am constrained to add that I find it laughable and ludicrous the Indic big talk here on this forum when the reality is but showing that it is bogus and we are only breaking up our country!

That is why I call Indic cohesiveness and history as false and intellectual dishonesty far beyond the reality of today!

I am finding it hard to find it on net, but did INC and TDP promise Telangana in their election manifesto ?
If yes, then all this Rona-dhone by political class is crocodile tears only.

VikasRaina wrote:I am finding it hard to find it on net, but did INC and TDP promise Telangana in their election manifesto ?
Throw all those election manifestos when it is survivability at stake. Who cares what was there when there is mutiny against all party heads/parties, be INC, PRP, TDP.

It is people revolting * in Rayalaseema and Coastal Andhra. It is local leaders resigning for the sake of reelectability and safety for their property.

* English media news however is saying it is manufactured crisis.

ShyamSP wrote: * English media news however is saying it is manufactured crisis.
Unless there is a groundswell and a popular upsurge, media cannot change the opinion

If the media stated that Arunachal should go to China would it be accepted?

The fool Chinese call it South Tibet. Who agrees? Not me.

The mass movements are not because of the media, it is of a popular upsurge; wrong if you will will!

We are One.No more bifurcations without good reasons!

ShyamSP wrote:
VikasRaina wrote:I am finding it hard to find it on net, but did INC and TDP promise Telangana in their election manifesto ?
Throw all those election manifestos when it is survivability at stake. Who cares what was there when there is mutiny against all party heads/parties, be INC, PRP, TDP.

It is people revolting *. It is local leaders resigning for the sake of reelectability and safety for their property.

* English media news however is saying it is manufactured crisis.
But sir, why sign up for something in the first place when you can not follow through. Would not folks in Telangana region be justified in saying that electorate in erstwhile AP chose INC and TDP because they promised them separate state.

Unfortunately that is how the game of democracy is played. You stake a claim, fight election over it, get mandate and implement it. Majority rules.

Why should people of Telangana not feel cheated if the state that they have been longing for is not formed now.
States have been formed and then broken up for so many years in India starting right from AP. Till now most of the states have done pretty well after breakup. Examples can be of Punjab and Haryana, Uttarakhand, Chattisgarh and of course AP and Madras Presidency.
we can be sure that few years down the line, INC once again might be ruling both Telangana and whatever is left of AP again and all those who are kicking and screaming would be enjoying perks of power once again.

Anyways who are the people who are revolting? The folks who are in now what would be called AP. I wonder if people in Telangana are also revolting against this bifurcation.

Being a non-AP person, I may have unbiased view, but I won't understand the emotions that are running high right now.
Though I still don't know if it was in the election manifesto.

RayC its a vicious circle popular opinion and media both are equal contributors to what you refer to as a groundswell/popular upsurge , the only way to achieve upsurge is to reach out to masses and media does that masses react to whatever information is available/fed to them a continuous and shrill propaganda is dangerous . Brigadier Ray you and even most of of us on the forum do not represent the common man on ground we have a lot of resources, time and I suppose enough background info to disseminate facts (yes biases exist) but the common man is still at mercy of what media at large feeds him .

In case of Telangana I already made a post indicating the fact that no man outside of AP/Telangana know about the actual state of the affairs on the ground zero whatever rest of India knows is from print media and it has for past several years been painting a picture of Telangana as a deprived and exploited region , I can bet that majority of the countrymen are sympathetic and in agreement with redrawing of state boundaries , thanks to the political-media nexus.

The exchange between likes of Vina, Stan and Muppalla is an interesting one at least for me for it gives a background of the whole episode as it unfolds. We can only hope that the new state get a decent governing body. :(

Vikas Raina ji,

You have a point. R&D has no meaning as the rot for the split was set inside and all the parties of AP played chicken. Every party at heart is anti split as they are all dominated by the money bagged coastal folks. However, every party also has folks from Telangana and these folks for local reason will align with the sentiment. Each party to save their Telangana cadre did lip service by accepting Telangana split and everyone wanted to find some or other pretext when the D-Day comes. YSR is the one who finally called the day by openly saying no Telangana and he won decently from all regions. TDP's and PRP type parties a s s e s were saved.

All of them thought that the sentiment will be on the back burner and the game will continue. Most of the Telangana politicos also resigned to the fact that the formation is out of question. KCR's Telangana party lost extremely badly and he was even so scared to contest in the recent HYD elections. TDP did impressively well apart from INC and MIM.

Now out of a blue INC which openly opposed split suddley on a midnight declared that Telangana will be 29th state and threw shit to the fan. Now all the lip-servicers have to come to grip of the reality. The reality is they just cant face the electorate in Coastal and Rayalseema.

All the folks knowingly played the game of chicken. INC folks thought that as YSR's clout with madam is unbeatable they thought he will manage it forever. If TDP + NDA comes to power, the expectation is that CBN will use his clout and blackmailing power with BJP/NDA via Venkiah Naidu to ward off the split with some pretext or other. If push really comes to shove they could use a lot of money to buy off some folks from the Telangana agitationists.

Now they have to face the reality :)

RamaY wrote: Hyderbad: Do you know the differene between pre-1980 hyderabad and post-1980 hyderabad? What was the life of telangana region under 400 years of Islamic rulers?

Kindly compare the pre-1990 Osmania University, Osmania Hospital, Hussain Sagar, Airport with current institutes and you will understand the contributions of settlers to this City.

Without those settlers Hyderabad would have remained as a second-class city, and there wouldn't have been this agitation.

That said, what is the gaurantee that a separate telangana achieve what you want to solve?
It clearly looks like a plan to create a muslim state.

What a cluster!

I took a hiatus to deal with the real wold and come back for my BRF fix to this! :((

N^3 & other admins:
.. or marry anyone other than their own cousins and become mongoloids.

People who can't accept that others have rights, are the only ones that need be eliminated. It's one thing to burn down State Road Transport buses - that comes under Infrastructure Improvement. But attacks against private citizens and their property should be dealt with, by shoot-at-sight, and hanging from lampposts. Period.
Can you please refrain from such blatant display of insensitivity in an poor attempt to keep the moderation humorous!

{Dear Pullikesi, unlike your kind self, I find nothing at all "humorous" in innocent citizens having their shops burnt and their lives threatened by scumbag rioters, nor in BRF postors then "rationalizing" that as being because said citizens are rumored to not "assimilate" to the standards required by the rioters. The standard "blame the rape victim" argument.

I deleted those sorts of arguments to keep the discussion sane and civil. Had you used elementary reasoning, you would have seen that, but you CHOSE instead to come in with your faux "sensitivity", quote completely out of context, and make false accusations of "insensitivity" Towards rioters and gang-rapists, I presume? :roll: . Advice not needed, thanks.

Yes, the only fair response to such arguments is that people who use such rationalizations and attack law-abiding people, should be hanged in public after due process of law, after the rioters whom they encourage are machine-gunned. That is the only way to reassure CIVIL society that the Constitution will be upheld. Yes, I realize that justice is delayed far too much in India, which is why people even in the major cities in 2009 have to be afraid of the mobs, with absolutely no provocation. And people bring up parallels from 1947...

Kindly take your false "sensitivity" elsewhere. My memory is not so short that I have forgotten the "People's Outrage" rationalization of the mass rape and murder and mayhem of 2002. In that case, the proper pre-emptive response would indeed have been to make an example of Godhra's lawless brutes, QUICKLY enough and PUBLICLY enough to reassure law-abiding people and create enough deterrence.

The rest of your post is useless and inflammatory, and I have deleted it. I have no opinion on whether people should or should not marry first cousins, point is, I say they have the RIGHT to do so, and it's no one else's damn business.

Your suggestion for renaming the thread is noted. Very "humorous", thanks. }
Last edited by enqyoob on 13 Dec 2009 05:56, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: OT deleted

RayC wrote:That is why I call Indic cohesiveness and history as false and intellectual dishonesty far beyond the reality of today!
Ok Brigadier sahib let me get honest with some of the folks in here. India and the term "Indic" stands for something and that something is the non-supermacy of one final truth or axiom unlike other meme (much maligned "Abrahamic ones" and I apologize on the behalf of one poster who threw this term at you without defending it).

People on this forum despite gentle counsel seem to have descended into name calling and conspiracy theorizing denying the basic fact that events were able to transpire in the way that they did because of some underlying feelings. India throughout its history has been a dynamic and bubbling polity. The insistence on commonality language or ethnicity as the only grounds for states or the urge to freeze the states in India is symbolic of the inability to accept the political realignments and the dynamism of India.

"Indic == Debate and conflict" to decide the better way forward. If some people demand a state better debate and disprove the apprehensions rather than hurl churlish allegations on your own compatriots.
Throughout our history we have constantly challenged frontiers and ideas which were long established, then why should we shy away from it now. Indic means dynamism, state of flux and opportunity to speak up in a contrarian way! The moment we deny these rights to people we begin to behave in the same way that we accuse the "Abrahamics" of behaving with dissenters.

Remember folks we change, we adapt, we debate and we accommodate but come crises we prop out heroes like Shivaji/Tipu Sultan and Dasham Pita. Merely flinging the term "Indic" while behaving in diametrically opposite way we are discrediting ourselves and the term both. So my request to all NO labels, NO accusations or fulminations but please have an informed debate which a lot of posters are indeed doing.

ShyamSP wrote:
SwamyG wrote:If a person is born in a place and lives there for the first 20 years; then we can not say he is from elsewhere. His/her ancestors might be from a different place.
That is silly. His birth was before there is Nellore district and Tamilnadu. If Chennai were to be in AP, who knows it could have been in Nellore District or Nellore in Chennapatnam district. Chennai name itself would have been Chennapatnam
If one reads this thread, it is is easy to see who are acting silly and extending outlandish theories. So you consider him to be from Nellore because if Madras had gone to AP then it would have been in Nellore district. Wa re wah, kya logic hain.

SwamyG wrote:
ShyamSP wrote:[quote="SwamyG"If a person is born in a place and lives there for the first 20 years; then we can not say he is from elsewhere. His/her ancestors might be from a different place./quote]

If one reads this thread, it is is easy to see who are acting silly and extending outlandish theories. So you consider him to be from Nellore because if Madras had gone to AP then it would have been in Nellore district. Wa re wah, kya logic hain.
[/quote][/quote]

sorry boss. I'll desist from engaging in these kind of silly arguments.

Most of AP people consider Potti Sriramulu is a Nellore person regardless of his actual birth. Who are we to argue. I'll stop here

RaviT: I agree with Stan's assessment. Well Manny's post were in not in the right taste considering how emotional things have been in the last few days. He built a nice little tamil effigy and threw it for folks to play soccer. I would not blame mallu, telugu and kannadiga brothers for kicking the ball.

All:
Applying Paki logic, (i have been already accused of having one earlier); looks like we are united only because we have some common enemies:
1) Pakistan
2) China
3) Western Powers
4) One 800-lb gorilla (not to be named)
5) Another 800-lb gorilla (not to be named).

At the slightest provocation we do not hesitate to throw each other under the bus.

Since the relationship between Telugus and Telangana, Tamils and fissures/differences came anyway, let me try to put it in as simple terms as possible.

Historically even from the times of Satavahanas and upto very later days, the relationship between Tamils and Telugus(coastal and Rayalseema) is one of neighbours and the one between Telangana and rest of AP is of blood relation.

In terms of cultural differences between Telugus and Tamils, not much just like with rest of India in a large Hindu family. However, if you go into details they are some significant even in terms looking for auspicious days from the calander. For Telugus full moon day is auspicious and new moon days are inauspicious. For Tamils the new moon day is the most auspicious day.

The so called backward Telangana region in its glorious days ruled the rest of the current AP including the Rayalseema. Backwardness is a phenomenon from the Nizam times. KCR (the current stalwart of Telangana) is a velama by caste which is actually from the coastal AP. He used to use his clout when he was in TDP and used to campain for the candidates in Nuzvid in Krishna District. Krishna district is the heartland of coastal AP.

RayC,

There is no division in Indic here. Identity assertion and sub regional aspirations are all important for being Indic otherwise we will be some African Tribe in Nigeria following "whiteman with bible" ( no racist intention- just used for lack of better word). It will be OT and let us discuss that in the INDIC thread.

In spite of all the discussions here, in my very honest opinion Telangana and rest of the other Andhra states will live in peace after the states are split and blood relations are not breakable just because some illusionary line is drawn between districts. It would have been nice and peaceful had they decided the structure of the rest of AP before declaring Telangana as 29th state with undue haste.

ShyamSP wrote:sorry boss. I'll desist from engaging in these kind of silly arguments.

Most of AP people consider Potti Sriramulu is a Nellore person regardless of his actual birth. Who are we to argue. I'll stop here
I am just pointing out certain silly arguments and accusations. I pointed out that not only based on his birth, but his formative years (20 years) was in Madras. I know it is an emotional point for AP folks; and in the heat of the moment we exchange words that we do not fully mean. Just like non-AP folks need to consider the emotional aspect of the AP folks and ponder before posting, AP folks also should not hesitate to pause before posting.

Since the relationship between Telugus and Telangana, Tamils and fissures/differences came anyway, let me try to put it in as simple terms as possible.
You distance yourselves as if others brought those sub-topics and you are merely giving your thoughts on the subject. For your information, you were one of the people who introduced that recently into the conversation.

SwamyG wrote:At the slightest provocation we do not hesitate to throw each other under the bus.
Wrong conclusions! Debate and even heated debate on way forwards is not antagonism but a safety valve that prevents us from becoming a one state/community/regions dominated polity like Pakjab in Bakiland. The national polity is realigning and let us try and decode it rather than get all worked up on non-issues.

RayC wrote
Why are we fighting when we have a common glorious Indic background?
Let us strengthen this Indic background.
At least someone is seeing the light! So be it. Let us realize that all this fighting is a rseult of moving away from the "Indic". 8)
Or is merely an intellectual charade?
It is natural for the "Indic" to have self-doubts, it is "Indic's" greatest strength and weakness.
India has always had subnationalism and the Indic issue was never in the foreground.
Enough of such evidence in history!
Here starts the fundamental problem. We see this confusion even in this thread or on the forum sometimes. The problem is that when people say things like above, they are not aware of their own confusion about "nationalism". When the definition of "nationalism" is not based on "culture" and belief systems, other criteria are used - claims about ethnicity, language, region etc. All of which are in turn problematic, because people have always migrated and are still migrating. So origins, bloodlines, languages, ethnicity - all are dynamic, and strict boundaries based on them are always going to be impossible to create.

So all historical conflicts in India, when taken out of the context of its cultural affiliation can be made to look like "subnationalisms". In fact that term itself is a problem - for it assumes that there is an overriding "nationalism" already, of which these are "subs". Its nothing more tragi-comic a confusion than deciding whether the possibly bloody civil and criminal conflicts between two brothers over paternal inheritance - means the family never existed or not!
Why did the Borgis invade Bengal annually? Bengalis and Marathas were Indic! To my way of looking the Indic line is bogus and subnationalism is supreme! Uttter humbug is this Ibdic line as the posts are indicating.
Yes, actually, there are narratives of Bengalis carrying vendettas into Kashmir. Or the Pala kings of Bengal supposedly taking the battle right up the Gangetic plains. Even a Bengali commander was supposed to be working under Prithviraj III, and surely must have participated in the "trauma" caused on the neighbours of Prithviraj.

But did the Marathas destroy Bengali cultural icons - temples, monasteries, etc.? Did the Palas of Bengal destroy temples, monasteries, intellectuals in their campaigns? Practised routine enslavement? Time and again, we have indications of "Indic" people from one region of India, in the past being given refuge and allowed to migrate with no genocidic or xenophobic backlash, in other parts of India. All because of their mutual recognition of belonging to the same cultural continuity.
Be real. We are proud to be one, but we are also feriously parochial about our subnationalism!
We have become more parochial because we have swallowed, bait hook and tackle - the propaganda that we have no commonality culture and belief/philosophy wise. So all our internal competitions for power or resources can be glorified as subnationalism. Acknowledging such competitions as "subnationalisms" is a subconscious acceptance of defeat at the hands of persistent demands that India is a "collection" of "nations" and not one nation.
I for one, in spite of being a Bengali say that give Gorkhaland and Kamatapur. The latter may survive, but Gorkhaland will be total failure. Apart from Tourism, they have not even the water to sustain their towns. Let them realise what in Bengali they say - koto dhane koto chal (from how much of raw rice grain come out real edible rice). And I have Gorkha relatives and have no qualms on mentioning how foolish an idea it is! But then, it is their land and they have a right to decide!
Why should national policy be the subject for personal euphoria that "look I knew you would fail miserably and I allowed you to dance your merry dance so that I could enjoy your spectacular failing"?
I am tempted to quote Swapan Dasgupta:

To the BJP president who, by common consensus, had a limited target audience of his speechwriters and his “appointing authority”, a euphemism for the bigwigs of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, there was nothing unnatural in embellishing the documentation of the Devraha Baba’s spiritual and Hindu credentials with his transnational appeal — the paradoxical nationalist quest for foreign certification. To a less committed audience, it was further evidence of an inability to distinguish between legitimate history, conspiracy theory, mythology, bazaar gossip and plain banality.

I am constrained to add that I find it laughable and ludicrous the Indic big talk here on this forum when the reality is but showing that it is bogus and we are only breaking up our country!

That is why I call Indic cohesiveness and history as false and intellectual dishonesty far beyond the reality of today!
What a magnificient stick to beat all one's pet demons with a single blow! A single prosecutor, judge and jury who has already decided the merits of the case and passed sentence even before the court has opened. Is this last tirade at all relevant for this thread?

Linguistic identities, and regionalism, promoted without highlighting and reconstructing cultural commonality will always create these types of shows where certain groups will fight it out to the cheers and jeers of outsiders. Just as with one stroke, all major "current identities" in the "south" have been goaded into mutual biting and spitting. This is what comes out of destroying and delegitimizing cultural commonality.

Just to get back on topic, I'm glad that Telangana is finally becoming its own state, and I hope that more new states will similarly be formed around the country. More states means more choices for the people on where to live and how to live. I'm talking about more choice on what kind of local govt to live under, and choice on how people can live their lives. Every extra jurisdiction offers yet another choice to people. I would love to see India composed of many more states, like the USA or other similar countries.

We need that greater level of choice in order to decongest India's constipated system.

Telangana will now help to revive the people within it, by creating another new jurisdiction to compete in marching forward into the new century.
mohan

Post by mohan »

FWIW - I think this thread should be locked. Not because the discussion is intense, and increasingly, fractious and wandering (that is par for the course at BRF - proud of it..), but because, in my opinion, this thread has crossed a rubicon.

The BR Admins have a tough task - but the respect accorded to them is largely because their role demands a degree of objectivity and 'detachment' that they seldom fail to deliver on.

On the rare occasions (on extremely emotive issues - such as this, when, being human) the admins start espousing a particular view-point, that clearly derails the thread and the direction of discussion. I think Stan is right in calling this out, and N^3 did clean up the thread - but the damage is done.

I am from AP - I went to school for a few years in Vizag. This entire affair bothers me, not in the least because it is a reflection of
a) How parochial Congress still is (my interpretation of the events - I might be wrong)
b) The complete ineptitude shown by Telugus of all hues to not see through Congress even after NTR's TDP gave the state a greater sense of identity - are we that petty? :(.
c) The fear that there appears to be no major opposition party that can rein in congress anymore..

NTR and PVNR would be turning in their grave now, among the many other giants who contributed both to AP and to INDIA.

Why did this start now? YSR had a strong grip - what changed after he passed away?

RayC sir is right in drawing our attention to the fact that we must discuss the reasons why things still work this way - perhaps in another thread, if not ones that are already open?

There are many obvious questions that need to be considered - including TN's perceived (?) antagonism towards AP. There are news and developments that need to be tracked. But I doubt if all of them need to be done concurrently - some are more time-critical than others.
However, given the tempers and polarisation on this thread, I suspect this thread is not going to be an effective vehicle for any of these..

I think the way the China-India thread was locked and the rules about posting only news items/etc (and brief discussions) in the new thread is a good example of very recent, excellent damage control once the original thread lost direction.

Perhaps this thread too should be archived? Maybe a D&G thread to discuss charged emotive issues, while the news collection and tracking can be done in a separate thread?

This entire process of state separation, its timing (right after YSR, a strong AP politician, passed away), its underlying causes, why it was allowed to fester (or conversely, how it was contained) for so long, are very very important questions - and perhaps, larger than the present issue for India. My concern is that if further 'cyber'-blood is spilled on these threads, we will never be able to have a rational, evidence based discussion even in the future.

Mohan

In fact migration from other parts into newly formed smaller states could be even more problematic. At least within one administrative framework of a state, anyone residing within the state would have reasonable expectations to be allowed to move around. But each state that has been formed since Independence has shown tendencies from time to time to restrict "immigration" from non-state sources.

Smaller states will most likely mean greater restrictions on the movement of people for economic and settlement purposes.

I disagree - I think that the existence of many more states means that there will be more choice. By your logic, we should then say that there should be no sub-units within India, and that the entire country should be made up of one single state, without any sub-units.

No, the fact is that every country has sub-units, and the more the better, imho.

Parochialism can fester more when ethnic groups are trapped together with each other in unhappy marriages. By allowing them to go their separate ways, then the parochialist feelings die down. Let people live apart from each other if they wish to. Then they can happily live each according to their own lifestyles and values. Then we will all be able to see the different results of living under different lifestyle choices - this will allow us to see the comparative advantages and disadvantages of lifestyle choices.

brihaspati wrote:But each state that has been formed since Independence has shown tendencies from time to time to restrict "immigration" from non-state sources.
Smaller states will most likely mean greater restrictions on the movement of people for economic and settlement purposes.
Brihaspati, Any anecdotal evidence in favor of the fear you have expressed.

Small state would mean greater accountability of the political class and less distance from the capital hill might in fact work in favor of poor, wretched masses for once. Just like a marriage, if you are not happy, get out and form a new alliance and make everyone happy.

In fact I will go to the extent and say, if even a city becomes a mega city within a state like Mumbai that it starts devouring all its resources and becomes only focal point of development, it should be taken out and formed a separate entity (Maybe on the lines of UT but not controlled by central govt).

The only drawback that I see with "more the merrier states " is future water wars between the numerous states but they hey we already have those wars being payed around.

Ethnic groups rarely exist in their pure form. There are always admixtures. When we recognize officially and legally "ethnicities" - we empower them as "dominant" identities. The xenophobia about "other ethnicities" began to show their ugly heads only when "ethnic/linguistic" majorities in a region were "empowered" by giving "state" recognition. This is an old story - look for anti-Bengali "movements" in "Bihar" and "Assam".

a humourous but sensible take on the events.

http://greatbong.net/2009/12/11/the-sta ... #more-4628
With KCR’s hunger-strike splitting a state born of yet another hunger-strike in a bizzare demonstration of history recursing itself, the floodgates have opened for every selfless politician in every nook and cranny of India to step up their demands for their personal fiefdoms.

Including myself.
If Indian taxpayer money was supporting twenty-nine state governments of size N , let it now support fifty-eight of size N (note not N/2—just because a state is halved does not mean the government of each individual state is halved).

More the merrier.

Putting it another way, what’s better than one Koda?

Two Kodas.

And what’s better than two Kodas?

That I am one of them.

In a little state. All of my own.

SwamyG wrote:
You distance yourselves as if others brought those sub-topics and you are merely giving your thoughts on the subject. For your information, you were one of the people who introduced that recently into the conversation.
I don't. I did not mean even that way. What is wrong to discuss the differences?

Ethnic groups rarely exist in their pure form. There are always admixtures. When we recognize officially and legally "ethnicities" - we empower them as "dominant" identities. The xenophobia about "other ethnicities" began to show their ugly heads only when "ethnic/linguistic" majorities in a region were "empowered" by giving "state" recognition. This is an old story - look for anti-Bengali "movements" in "Bihar" and "Assam"
Yes, but then look at current Anti-Bihari/UP element in MH which I believe is a large state by any count.
Anyways Those Anti Bengali movements are long gone and buried. Where do you get to hear them anymore.
Ethnicity is a fact of life and when Govt's try to curb it by artificial means, at some level you destroy the local culture and traditions.
Chinese attempt in Tibet are living proof of it.
Xenophobia fortunately is not a native Indian disease and Indians have moved and lived in each corner of India since time immemorial and co-mingled peacefully.
Thats why they say there are are more Telgu's in Chennai than Tamilians and more Tamilians in Bangalore than Kannadigas.

munna wrote:
SwamyG wrote:At the slightest provocation we do not hesitate to throw each other under the bus.
Wrong conclusions! Debate and even heated debate on way forwards is not antagonism but a safety valve that prevents us from becoming a one state/community/regions dominated polity like Pakjab in Bakiland. The national polity is realigning and let us try and decode it rather than get all worked up on non-issues.
I agree and disagree. Expressing grievances can be thought of as a safety valve. But the what goes through the valve has to be controlled. We can not allow the safety valve to malfunction. We did not see this much heat in the Linguistic dhaaga.

Muppalla wrote:I don't. I did not mean even that way. What is wrong to discuss the differences?
I am more than happy to discuss differences. In fact I once disagreed with Brihaspati on this subject. I think we all have a rich history to be proud of. Our Kings made mistakes here and there; just like their population. We continue to do so.

I like everyone of us to sing our own glory. Yet we have to respect each other. I think bulk of the South are indebted to Vijaynagar Empire and what they did for South and India. It is the ability to respect each other is what makes us all peaceful, happy and united.

In Telugu there is saying "Tellanivi anni paalu kaadu" - Everything white is not milk. Or as they say in West "Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean there is nobody out to get you!"

PC is there at the core of the current crisis and it wasn't due to hastiness. Eventually it will come out.

And more importantly puts paid to all claims to UNSC and NPT status. With all the squabbling over linguistic states its close to Yougoslavia. Looks like we don't need color/citrus revolutions. Just lime/citrus juice ones can set it off. The allusion is to KCR breaking "fast" with lime juice.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

ramana wrote: PC is there at the core of the current crisis
Ok ramana, if you strongly believe that, lets keep it to PC/INC folks alone. He/the party is no saint. Lets not bring in hoi polloi Tam folks here, most of them are utterly clueless about "strategy", "geopolitics" and "India as a united nation", much like elsewhere. And I would nt blame them for their cluelessness. Let the bile be reserved for those who deserve it.

ramana wrote:In Telugu there is saying "Tellanivi anni paalu kaadu" - Everything white is not milk. Or as they say in West "Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean there is nobody out to get you!"

PC is there at the core of the current crisis and it wasn't due to hastiness. Eventually it will come out.
till that happens can we please lay off the topic of PC's being at the helm for the moment ?
without backing evidence it will only create more bad blood and mud slinging. you may be privy to some additional information that is unknown to the rest of the people here but it will be better if that information is shelved till it actually becomes public.

right now given the overt-emotional state it will only create serious problems.
JMT.

Sure. Let the news reports speak for themselves.

VikasRaina ji,
the targets change over time. Bengali migration into Assam decreased as a result of the violent agitations. But now, currently it is an anti-Bihari sentiment. Overt justifications are always - "loss of linguistic" identity or "linguistic imperialism", and loss of "land/economy" into the hands of "outsiders". The same went for anti-Bengali sentiments in Bihar, or anti-Bengali sentiments in Orissa at a certain time, and concurrent but less violent anti-Oryia, or anti-Assmyia, or anti-Bihari expressions in "Bengal". We now have the "Marathi" in danger supposedly from "Biharis", and so on.

I cited the examples to expand on my comment about "its an old story".