Re: Managing Pakistan's failure
Posted: 14 Jul 2010 01:13
Changa, nikka nigga hi sahi!Lalmohan wrote:Rajeshji - try "nigga" instead

Consortium of Indian Defence Websites
https://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/
Changa, nikka nigga hi sahi!Lalmohan wrote:Rajeshji - try "nigga" instead
Rajesh-ji,RajeshA wrote: With time, say 10-15 years, American contributions to the joint aid keep on going down, while India's contributions to stabilizing Pakistan keep on increasing. At the end of the day, Pakistani Army would become India's 'nigger' (used in the way American blacks use it).
Over the period of time, TSPA would be willing to change the education curriculum, cut down on anti-India propaganda, bring down Hate amongst the Pakistani people for India, ityadi, ityadi.
I presume this may be a model being pursued by MMS.
What sucks in this model is that TSPA ... will not come around to accepting India as its uncontested master.
The day Asian Curreny Unit like Euro come on the the horizon, the fate of Islamists, Imperialists and Interventionlism will be sealed for ever. The rise of Asia which accomodate both Indian and Chinese interestsramana wrote:RajeshA, The most likely scenario is that India and China with who ever wants to be associated with them will form a mutual trading bloc of 4 B+ people and this will create the largest world economy since the first millenium and this will transform globalization like nothing else. This is a global shift and nothing much one can do about stopping its momentum!olko
This has already been told in some trade associations.
Is it possible that this scenario is just specific to South Asia and other civilizations like Persia where Islam was superimposed not on a tribe but a well functioning society.brihaspati wrote:There are certain common themes in Islamic military strategy. It is less about military and more about a shrewd understanding of human social behaviour.
(1) Islam thinks of "total war", which means Islamic society and its leadership is always preparing for eventual war, and seeks to annihilate all possible sources of resistance, in all possible ways.
Sir ji!! I know!! I love posts by you (RajeshA), Dr Shiv, Dr. Brahspati, Surinder, Prem, Ramanna, Kamboj, Lalmohan and hundreds of other Rakshaks!!by Rajesh
the Communication Dissonance I mentioned was meant to pertain only to the discussion here on this Thread and Topic.
Very Indic. Very laudable. But completely misplaced. IMOHum ko man ke shakti dena,man vijai karein
Doosroon ki jai se pehli khud ko jai karein
Arun - this how I see it.A_Gupta wrote:Shiv, say, to score more goals in soccer, one has both to improve his stamina and skills (self-change) and also play more offense (do this in Pakistan to Pakistanis). I.e., also increase capability and also increase effective use of capability. I don't see this as one exclusive of the other; rather both have to be pursued. Further, if one is aggressive and takes more risks, there will be failures.
Does India have the self-confidence to pursue this path?
The Kashmiri Pandits and the Hindu Bengali refugees who got cleansed from East Pakistan are also real Indians. But elites would like that other real Indians (i.e. your caddy, sweeper etc) be kept in ignorance.shiv wrote:Everything boils down to what Indians are experiencing in their day to day lives. And I always like to remind myself that "Ordinary Indians" are actually all around me now. The caddy I am waiting for. The sweeper who just swept and swabbed the floor under my feet at the golf club library from where I am typing this and the cook who just did a salute and wished me good morning. These are the real Indians. I am the odd man out. I am not an ordinary Indian. I am in a minority and my views do not count for much.
But elites would like that other real Indians (i.e. your caddy, sweeper etc) be kept in ignorance.
I have no specific argument against these views but they only highlight exactly the problem I am talking about. It does not matter why Indians do not see Islamism as a problem but they do not and that fact is going to be of no help in handling Pakistan. Both statements above seek to elicit "favorable views" from Indians on the issueTry saying that the Islam followed by Pakistan is the problem and not Islam it self.
When the problem seems to be too large then one should try to break it into smaller parts and then try and tackle it. First solve TSP. Then solve Islamism. The key will be to separate the two. How do we go about doing that will be the Key. Currently the way TSP is configured it is very difficult to imagine that we could separate the two. But we must try to think in these terms. If this approach is not possible then we will need to conceptualize the approach being presented by brihaspati , and every thing that entails.shiv wrote:Pakistan is not waiting for all that IMO. Pakistan is a problem. Islamism is a problem. What can we do? Take them separately or together. In my view Pakistan's condition today with or without Islamism is a problem. Islamism is a problem over and above that.
I agree with the idea of breaking the problem into parts and am certain it can be applied to Islamism as well. Just for the heck of it - instead of stating my views on this - let me see if I can provoke opinions by askingPratyush wrote:
When the problem seems to be too large then one should try to break it into smaller parts and then try and tackle it. First solve TSP. Then solve Islamism.
Shiv, We need to move away form liking and not liking the aspects about any situation. But that should not preclude us from stating what causes inconvenience to us about any situation. e.g whatever that stops me from being what I am. Is an inconvenience to me. Its not that I don't like it but sure it causes problems to me. By denying my right to existence.shiv wrote:Pratyush wrote:
When the problem seems to be too large then one should try to break it into smaller parts and then try and tackle it. First solve TSP. Then solve Islamism.
"What is it about Islamism that you do not like?" The answer "Everything" does not count on the grounds that it is failing to break down the issue into parts.
Side note: Well actually, there are really lots of people, whose aunts have gone ahead and become uncles. That is not all that iffy iffy!shiv wrote:On the idea of a "state philosophy" for India - no matter how attractive that option could have been - that has not occurred in the manner Rajesh writes about it and is does not exist as of now. Under the circumstances we come right back to the dilemma that I am writing about for the third time in this thread, that is
We have a situation where we could do things better if we were different (if my aunt had a d***) so we are faced with the choices of
1) Changing ourselves first, formulation of that state strategy within the Gordian knot that we call Indian democracy and then talk of dealing with Pakistan
2) Dealing with Pakistan as is, from where we are, as we are.
I do not see that we have the luxury of time for the former option, only the latter is possible.
Pratyush ji, thank you.Pratyush wrote:Try saying that the Islam followed by Pakistan is the problem and not Islam it self. That may open a few doors for us. I know that there is no seperation but try an dcreate a seperation and we may have an opening we need.
And these are the good things. These are things, that make me, an Indian, feel good about being an Indian.shiv wrote:On another note India does have a "state policy". It is clearly visible to all. We may not like or agree with all aspects of the state policy, but it exists
1) Secularism, equality for all people including women
2) "Development" - education, infrastructure, industrialization
3) (naive as this may sound) Peace and harmony with our neighbours
I wouldn't call them options. Both are imperatives. Imperative 1 is important, because as long Pakistan does not split, we will continue to deal with Pakistan, as we have done till date. A higher level of intervention and 'treatment' can only take place after Pakistan splits up.shiv wrote:There are two options for India as I see it
1) To try and leverage Pakistan's failure as a modern state to bring about splitting of Pakistan or some other change leading to better control
2) To try and fight Islamism Pakistan which is stronger than it was before.
No matter what we do - either option 1 or option 2 - we have to do this in Pakistan to Pakistanis.
This is a sequential perspective, which makes it look misplaced.shiv wrote:It hardly calls for self change. Changing ourselves at this stage as opposed to doing something in Pakistan at this late stage, or even lamenting that "we are like this onlee" to me sounds suspiciously like
Very Indic. Very laudable. But completely misplaced. IMOHum ko man ke shakti dena,man vijai karein
Doosroon ki jai se pehli khud ko jai karein
We are confusing our interests with our rhetoric here. What is the need of announcing that Islamism is our single major threat?!shiv wrote:One would have to spend every effort to change India and Indian views to move them from the current thought process to a new one that sees Islamism as the single major threat. To me such a tactic boils down to "changing ourselves first" (khud ko jai kaerin) because Indian priorities cannot be changed without changing the views of a majority of Indians.
A neta who says Pakistan is a problem will be believed (now). A neta who says corruption is a problem will be believed. A neta who says Islam is a problem will be called a con man.
Precisely.RajeshA wrote: What is the need of announcing that Islamism is our single major threat?
Well said.RajeshA wrote: In our neighborhood, especially in case of Pakistan, we can hold up the new Flag of our Value System. No need for first and foremost 'khud ko jai karen'!
Such a Value System would include
- Coercive Secularism,
- Coercive Tolerance,
- Coercive Respect for all Faiths (who are respectful of others)
- Coercive Depoliticization of Religion
- Coercive DeJihadization of Religion
- Coercive Gender Equality
- Full State Protection for Scientific Commentary and Debate on Religion
Ajatshatru wrote:Dr Shiv, if you don't mind me asking you....what are the broad parameters of such an assertion i.e. when you state that we are barely ahead of Pakistan?We are barely ahead of Pakistan.
Dr Shiv, please could you also expand slightly more on this thought process i.e. what exactly are you trying to say here? Thanks.If that is sought to be changed, our focus should be on bringing down the Indian state
(It would be) completely naive (to think) that India can do things like have a state policy to deal with Islam when someone else, who came before us in India, has already agreed that Islam is part of the Indian state. If that is sought to be changed, our focus should be on bringing down the Indian state, or at least "managing" the Indian state. Managing Pakistan is hardly a priority in that case.
Addressing TSP and addressing Islamism should be done in parallel. The battle of ideas is important. However, deconstruction of Islamism is something that should be done by civil society rather than the government. Preferably the initiative should come from within the Muslim community (people like Taslima Nasrin or Ayaan Hirsi Ali). Govt just needs to protect free speech.shiv wrote: I agree with the idea of breaking the problem into parts
How is a Govt. supposed to protect free speech? It can try to punish anybody, who threatens a journalist, an author, a filmmaker, a social scientist, a theology researcher or just a common man debating religion. But if a whole 30,000 strong mob converges to punish a 'blasphemer', whom is the Govt. going to punish?Pranav wrote:Preferably the initiative should come from within the Muslim community (people like Taslima Nasrin or Ayaan Hirsi Ali). Govt just needs to protect free speech.
The only way to guarantee free speech, is that if anybody threatens somebody's person because of blasphemy, be he a single person or a mob, they should all be put to the guillotine. Not only the criminal, but anybody who might have taught him, that a 'blasphemer' should be killed, should also face the same consequences.On April 27 a Dutch judge ruled that Hirsi Ali had to abandon her highly-secure house at a secret address in the Netherlands: her neighbors had complained that living next to her was an unacceptable security risk to them, although the police had testified in court that it was one of the safest places in the country due to the large number of personnel they had assigned there. In early 2007 she stated that the Dutch state had spent about 3.5 million euros providing armed guards for her, and the threats made her live "in fear and looking over my shoulder", but she was willing to endure this for the sake of speaking her mind.
A private trust, the Foundation for Freedom of Expression, was established to help fund protection of Ayaan Hirsi Ali and other Muslim dissidents.
Ajatshatru - no offence intended but I can't help noticing. You see, when Pakistanis talk about their problems this is exactly what they say. (In your sentence above replace China with India and India with Pakistan). Unless we are very careful and very honest we too end up hiding behind the same excuses and rationalizations that Pakistanis have used for years.Ajatshatru wrote:Also I must add here that China is not that much ahead of India that China can be really clubbed with countries like GB, Sweden and Japan etc. at the present moment.
AbsolutelyPratyush wrote: (I presume that you will agree with me when I say, that, once islamism solved, TSP becomes a problem of human development indicators)
AgreePratyush wrote:What are the ways to deal with it?
If the problem is Islamism and not TSP then the only way of dealing with the problem is to make Islam irrelevant and impotent in day to day lives of its followers.
I have deliberately highlighted one sentence in redPratyush wrote: One of the ways to do so may be to cause a total collapse of TSP and the destruction of its civil society (An oxymoron I agree). Post collapse what will happen to the population of TSP.
If a famine is triggered by a collapse of its civil society then how will islam respond to the situation. Killing tens of millions, what will the mullah say and do.
If mullahs blames YYY conspiracy as a cause of famine, what will be the reaction of the masses?
If the mullahs says the it was the will of Allah, then what will the masses say?
The mullah can say what ever he wants but he does not have the answer to the problem. Sooner or later the long suffering human beings are bound to rebel against this abomination. And that will be the opening that we should try and create. As that ought take the power of mullah away from him.
Agreed, but..brihaspati wrote:One of the problems when we talk of "Indian opinion" and "Indian consensus" based on what we think "other Indians think" is that for many if not almost all of us, our interaction with other Indians are severely restricted in three different ways
It is the "need to gain" that is important. This is something in the future. This is an action that is being mooted in the hope that the outcome matches what is expected - a possibility that is at best 50-50 in relation to the contraian possibility that Indian society is not worried about Islam.brihaspati wrote: Before we get down to claiming things about a mythical homogeneous Indian non-chalance about Pak or Islamism, we need to gain the confidence of those sections who face the brunt of the problem, at their social level, where they can freely talk without fearing negative outcomes for such talk from the rashtryia end. [Those outcomes need not be immediate but viciously prolonged and determined one - for rashtryia establishment derived from an intact colonial regime has a really long memory and quite sadistically effective in its dancing about on those who have no power].
There is no other go. And although this is a game that more than one party can play, it has to be played.brihaspati wrote:Well, this is back to the initial point of disagreement between us. When you raised the issue of not being able to "force an opinion" on "reluctant" Indians, I pointed out that trying to take action based on a certain viewpoint is a way of "forcing an opinion" on reluctant Indians. Ultimately we are always forced to come to the conclusion that certain initiatives cannot be made subject to a future consensus, but have to be acted upon now even if "Indians" may not appear to agree to that line of action.
You probably know that "Aesop's fables" are th Panchatantra that reached Europe via an Arabic translation.Ajatshatru wrote: Slightly OT here but I as a youngster I remember reading “Arabian nights” and in one of the stories, the author of this book describes how on a visit to India on visiting a pearl bazaar sees mounds of pearls kept on streets outside shops as if they were peanuts….
What a coincidence!!! Those are the exact same words I use, to curse my friends!Pratyush wrote:RajeshA,
You my friend (if I can call you that) are the liberal intellectual
Coercive secularism? Coercion part is clear but what is meant by that secularism that is going to be coerced upon all? Same goes for coercive tolerance, and "coercive respect for all faiths (who are respectful of all others)", coercive depoliticization of Religion, coercive dejihadization of Religion and coercive Gender equality and "full state protection of scientific commentary etc." - this is a perfect example of totally and mutually contradictory set of requirements.shiv wrote
This is where Rajesh's suggestions sound right to me. Very secular. very proper. Nobody can accuse anybody of being against any faith
* Coercive Secularism,
* Coercive Tolerance,
* Coercive Respect for all Faiths (who are respectful of others)
* Coercive Depoliticization of Religion
* Coercive DeJihadization of Religion
* Coercive Gender Equality
* Full State Protection for Scientific Commentary and Debate on Religion
Ultimately the effect is the same
Yes they will communicate in a hybrid, or English depending on the educational background, or the local dialect. They will adapt and project that side of their feelings that fits in with what they expect the locals to expect of them. But how many of us in Mumbai, or Bengaluru, Hyderabad who are more or less "natives", really would be able to catch the contexts and inflections of a Patnai aadmi, or a Bengali babu and be aware of their social, linguistic, historical background? Shiv ji, you must have remembered the case of the "Kannarese-Bengali" fiasco? We are more sensitive about language and region we identify with, and take umbrage at attributions which we ourselves attribute to "distant" regions simply because we do not think of those other regions as worth being aware of or knowing about.Ajatshatru wrote
Well yes and no.... mobility of Indians across different parts of India has considerably increased in the past few years (travel, jobs in various parts of country, living in a metropolitan city like Mumbai, Bangaloroo, Hyderabad etc.) so this may not be the case in the coming years.
While at uni in desh, I did run four informal (but methodologically impeccable) surveys on this. You can try this out on yourself and people you know, just note down the number and background of people you know, what you talk about and how much you know about their backgrounds and their lives. Many of us interact with a variety of people from different backgrounds, but are we in a really mutually confidence-shared reliable dialogue that also reveals their deeper or honest opinions? No, this is not stereotyping. It comes from years of roaming and mixing up with the so-called "dregs".Quote:
we cannot usually cross class and social subnetwork boundaries
Brihaspatiji, If I may say so….again an undercurrent of some very basic (stereotype?) assumptions run through the thought process in point number (b) of your post.
Again, run a survey - you will see that we live mostly in self-reinforcing closed information loops socially. Most "higher educated" are WKK's, most WKK's going to certain schools and colleges come from similar wealth and status backgrounds and share even greater WKK'ism, etc.Quote:
(a) We interact more effectively and intensively with people within our own social subnetwork, and therefore almost closed in kinship and wealth and status, who are all more likely to share a common opinion.
Well I would also slightly disagree here as barring a few topics, "wealth and status" may not necessarily be the criterion for “ a common opinion” on majority of topics within a group.