Delhi Rape Victim Dies-Express your outrage.

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Delhi Rape Victim Dies-Express your outrage.

Chinese daily blasts Indian system over rapes
India's "inefficient and unequal democracy" cannot provide answers to social evils and that is why angry citizens are taking to the streets, an influential Chinese newspaper has said.

"The Indian democratic system seemingly can't solve these problems but provides legitimacy for them," the Global Times said in a commentary after the death of a 23-year-old who had been gang-raped and tortured in Delhi.

"India's democracy is now manipulated by a small number of elite and interest groups. This easily ignites massive grass-roots protests like the current ones and the anti-corruption rallies in August."

Surely now the Chinese too know how we should live our lives. After all they are forgoing taxes to export to India.

As the Babas would say "let the thoughts come to us from all sides". :rotfl:

What is wrong in accepting a state that is clearly identifiable and chapters can be written about it. It is nothing new in the venality of our institutions and gov setup, affecting day to day living. If we (some of us) do not like it, then they need to join the mainstream force to destroy such a setup, and start their cleaning chores.

Indian democratic institutions needs a revamp., starting from politicians, cops, and gov services and process.

^^ What about the Indian people ?

ravi_g wrote:Well most of my countrymen are in no position to pay taxes.
More nonsense. Everyone in India pays taxes. Except the 'dhimag mein kuch kalla types.

Show some respect for the poor in India.
--------------------

Posting China daily propaganda. What ever next.....

Bade wrote:^^ What about the Indian people ?
inclusive. without the people, there is no gov.

Bade bhaisahab, you are the Indian people. You, Theo ji and rahulm ji, are you guys lech, lout, idiots? I seriously doubt that, I would rather that you are merely suffering from some holier then thou attitude. Guess what I am confident that you guys would prove everybody who accuses you of being the first three category, wrong.

And from where I live I see most of the world like that, including Indians.

The women was not raped because we teach our girl child to put up with it or because we are not as lucky as South Korea, or because babas did not come to her aid or because 50 people watched when the two victims were thrown down the bus. It happened because there is a sense of entitlement floating around. Rapes do not happen to every women nor does every man rape because most people are able to disengage themselves from this entitlement syndrome. Some are not able to. In such a situation would you do something to bring an end to entitlements or would you have us work on things that do nothing about entitlements.

Bhai ji, Indians are amongst the most calm honest people. That is why you guys are not on FBI watch list. That is also why we have a country of a billion running for so long despite what your adopted homelands have done. The culture is great. The problems are at a much more nuanced level, than what you can focus on with the wherewithals you have.

If an Indian in India tells you where the shoe bites would you believe him or would you rather suggest him cake.

ravi bhaijaan, let it go after all you have made up your mind about NRIs. So why count us as Indians anyway, irrespective of if we are or not citizens of India. Well as even tourists we can have opinions. Tourism dollars count too.

The particular crime being discussed is not one which happens at this scale everyday. But if we could help stop everyday molestation in public places it would go a long way. And that is where people come in, and no govermand shovermand and law changes are required.
Manny

Post by Manny »

In today's India, its cool to mock the very culture and virtues of Mahatma Gandhi.

From the time of Nehru's "Sick-ular" India, it has been the norm to mock anything Dharmic as anachronistic to "right wing "Hindutva".

We cannot discuss public morality anymore. In times of crisis Mahatma Gandhi appealed to the Dharmic culture of India to sway the nation to do right. JFK appealed to the good sense of Ameiricans by asking "Ask not what your country can do you but ask what you can do for your country". MLK Jr appealed to the Americans by rallying high morals with his "I have a dream speech".

In today's India, we have a PM who is pretty much a mute. And I wonder what Sonia and her Baby Doc Duvallier Rahul is going to rally the nation (Haiti of Asia) with? Maoist/"sick-ularism"? Pffft!
Manny

Post by Manny »

Muppalla wrote:Chinese daily blasts Indian system over rapes
"India's democracy is now manipulated by a small number of elite and interest groups. This easily ignites massive grass-roots protests like the current ones and the anti-corruption rallies in August."
Yes.. The elites are the Nehru Dynasty and its anti Hindu progeny to rule into perpetuity with the help of the Anti Hindu congress Mafia in n. Delhi. They got that right.

Sorry, I did not get this fight about NRI vs RI here.. This ain't good at all.
JohnTitor

Post by JohnTitor »

Theo_Fidel wrote:
ravi_g wrote:Well most of my countrymen are in no position to pay taxes.
More nonsense. Everyone in India pays taxes. Except the 'dhimag mein kuch kalla types.

Show some respect for the poor in India.
--------------------

Posting China daily propaganda. What ever next.....
Theo ji,

propaganda? Seriously? Funny how we don't mind admitting the flaws our ourselves, our country etc but become defensive when someone else points it out.

I've not read the entire article, just what was quoted but all of it seems reasonable.
India's "inefficient and unequal democracy" cannot provide answers to social evils and that is why angry citizens are taking to the streets, an influential Chinese newspaper has said.
Is it not inefficient and unequal? How many crores are are swindled (corruption but leads to inefficiency). Unequal.. reservation based on caste - need I say more?
"The Indian democratic system seemingly can't solve these problems but provides legitimacy for them," the Global Times said in a commentary after the death of a 23-year-old who had been gang-raped and tortured in Delhi.
I won't bother justifying the above, dikshit, maunmohan singh and our queen do enough of that. How 'bout this?

http://zeenews.india.com/news/nation/be ... 19563.html
Beloved daughter's fight will not go in vain: Sonia Gandhi - beloved daughter? Seriously.. who buys this crap??? Actions speak louder than words. Everyone can talk the talk.. few can walk it!
Again, Need I elaborate?

I'm not a big fan of China, but I think right wing dictatorship seems to be what we need. Someone who will set an example. Castrate a few rapists and watch rape numbers fall.

what is left for one is right for another, and these definitions changes country wise. so, there is no meaning in adding a direction to these arguments without actually saying what needs to be done, and exactly what is required to be done.

Not sure if her picture was posted here before.
What a sad story.

VikramS wrote:https://twitter.com/shalini_mishtie/sta ... 9300330496

The minor accussed, who seems to have caused the most damage to the poor girl, and was the most brutal of the assailants, was known as Raju, from Baduan, UP.

As it turns out his real name is Md. Afroz.

Please ask Mahesh Butt and his ilk which Hindu temple did this chap go and get inspired?

Are there seven people or six people involved in the crime? How come such numbers were tossed around casually?

Who is saying seven. I havn't heard that one yet but then again I'm not following the TV religiously. Reporting is getting very sensational and tedious.

Theo, are you in India? I thought you were in the US.

HT reports Shiela Dixit responsible for shifting the victim to Singapore.

Delhi CM Dixit behind victim's shift to Singapore

Either she is a patsy as she is on her way out or a real skunk.

Harinder Baweja and Rhythma Kaul, Hindustan Times
New Delhi, December 28, 2012

First Published: 00:37 IST(28/12/2012)
Last Updated: 08:57 IST(28/12/2012)
Delhi CM behind gangrape victim’s shift to Singapore
Delhi chief minister Sheila Dikshit was the prime mover behind the proposal to shift the 23-year-old gangrape victim to Singapore, government sources revealed on Thursday.

On Sunday, the CM spoke to union home minister Sushil Kumar Shinde and pushed for providing the best medical care to the victim. :eek:

The next day, in a late night meeting with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Dikshit made a case for sending the victim abroad and also talked about the widespread anger in the Capital over the brutalisation of the woman.

And in a late-night move on Wednesday, the victim was whisked away to the IGI airport and flown to Mount Elizabeth Hospital, one of Asia's best centres for organ
transplant.

“I’m glad they were able to shift her. We would like to do everything we can to save the young girl,” the CM told HT.

The move to shift the victim was set in motion on Tuesday. The first step was to consult reputed heart surgeon Dr Naresh Trehan, chairman, Medanta super-speciality hospital.

His advice was needed on two crucial matters — the country the victim could be safely shifted to and if she, in her condition, could undertake a high-altitude journey.

Oxygen pressure is low on high altitudes, which can cause breathing problem, and the victim was on ventilator support to help her breathe.

Trehan, who was reportedly horrified by the extent of the injuries, voted in favour of providing best medical care to the victim.

Once he gave the go-ahead, Medanta launched what has come to be known as "a medical commando operation" where critical patients are airlifted. Dr Trehan did say "she could not have gone beyond Singapore".

Medanta got in touch with Club One Air, an air charter company that handles medical emergencies. "Various agencies of the government were in touch with us on Wednesday and Medanta was co-ordinating the equipment they needed for the air ICU," Radhe Shyam, Club One's operations manager, told HT.

At Wednesday's cabinet meeting, the ministers were informed of the decision to involve Dr Trehan but details were kept secret. A leak could have brought thousands of people to Safdarjung Hospital, where the victim was admitted. The plan was fleshed out after the meeting.

After Medanta's call, Club One readied a CRJ 100 -- a twin-engine business jet with luxury seats. To provide a bed for the victim, the 16-seater was reconfigured to 12 seats.

The final booking for the air ambulance, signed by KK Pathak, a joint secretary in the ministry of home affairs, came at 5.30pm on Wednesday, six hours before the take off.

Documentation was the key and while the ministry of external affairs provided passports and visas to the victim and her family, the government helped Club One procure over-flight permission from the three countries en route: Myanmar, Thailand and Malaysia.

The charter flight would cost "between Rs 60 and Rs 75 lakh", said a Club One official.

Before the victim was wheeled out of Safdarjung at about 10.30pm, the Delhi Police worked out a plan that included sending decoy ambulances.

"We provided them two ambulances with drivers and stretchers. The rest was all planned by them," a hospital source said.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryPage ... 81689.aspx
© Copyright © 2012 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved.
Guys there is some deep lafda in Mumbaispeak.

Looks like those criminals were luring innocent people and robbingg them

http://www.ndtv.com/article/cities/delh ... ces-306918

A carpenter was lured on the bus and robbed of Rs 8000 and hour before the rape victims were lured.

Does anyone recall a recent Bollywood movie with Nasiruddin Shah, playing a driver gang leader and K.K. Menon and another third rate actor plying a stolen police vehicle and robbing people? This is the same modus operandi.

Chaalis Chaurasi....

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/con-job/899469/0

--------------------
Calling her “sister” and promising to drop her near her home, it was the juvenile among the six arrested who lured the 23-year-old woman to board the bus in Munirka before she was gangraped, tortured and thrown out of the bus with her badly beaten male friend on December 16.

This was disclosed on Monday by Leader of Opposition Sushma Swaraj at a condolence meeting called by the Delhi BJP.

Swaraj said there was need to complete proceedings in a rape case within six months of the incident and a rape-cum-murder convict sentenced to death should not be given the option of a mercy petition.

Early this morning, Swaraj and party colleague Arun Jaitley visited the south-west Delhi home of the woman who died in a Singapore hospital early Saturday. The family later left for Varanasi with her remains.

“I contemplated what was her fault that she met such a fate. I could come up with only one answer — she was a woman. These accused had stepped out of their homes with only one objective. It was to violate a woman’s body. And it was the juvenile accused who enticed her into boarding the bus. He called her sister and told her they would drop her at her destination,” Swaraj said.

Describing the 23-year-old as the “daughter of the nation”, Swaraj, who was overcome with emotion, said: “I saw the house (where she lived). It is just about a room. The fact that she was able to finish a physiotherapy course despite so much poverty is amazing. It shows how ambitious, focused she was. I could think of nothing else on my way here from her home.” Swaraj also urged the government to give the family “an MIG flat and a job for her brother”.

She said the BJP would use the budget session of Parliament to debate on women-related bills. The gangrape incident, she alleged, highlighted that the administration was least committed to the safety of women.

“My private member bill on considering murder after rape and abduction as the rarest of rare and deserving, therefore, the death penalty is still pending in Parliament. There are five such cases in which mercy petitions have been allowed despite the top court’s decision to give them the death sentence,” she said.

Swaraj said she had asked the Prime Minister and Home Minister to call an all-party meeting or a special session of Parliament but that request was turned down.

“If there is no special session on bills related to women, then we will make use of the budget session. The onus is on us to do something. The formality of not celebrating the new year will not solve the issue. We need to ensure safety of women. Analysis of all laws related to safety of women is needed,” she said.

Paying tributes to the victim of the gangrape, Arun Jaitley said words like brutal, barbaric and cruel were not enough to describe the incident. “The time has come when more than anything else, people need to start changing the way they think about women,” he said.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

http://www.hindustantimes.com/India-new ... 83358.aspx
As predicted here

The family was finding it tough to cope with the unwanted attention and this is why they decided to leave for their village, sources said. A local Congress leader arranged the flight tickets for the family.

The victim’s male friend who was with her on the fateful night has also returned to his hometown Gorakhpur after assisting investigators in identifying the culprits and helping them compile a chargesheet against the six accused.

Also do not forget to read the comments sections. SHows the complete disconnect between the planted article and thoughts of mango desis. Several predict the bumping off of the fiancee and parents as they knew that the girl was shifted to S'pore after being dead.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

[url]http://www.hindustantimes.com/Indi ... 83362.aspx[/url]

Panic gripped the Ravidass Camp slum cluster in south Delhi’s RK Puram Sector 3 on Monday evening where some youth tried to bomb the house of prime accused in gangrape of a 23-year-old woman. Following the botched bid to explode crude bombs near the house of Ram Singh, local residents nabbed a man while his two accomplices managed to escape. The youth was later handed over to the police.

This case is getting weird by the day. We are unable to see all the facts.
why is the govt so scared that it shipped the families of victims out? Are any politician's sons involved in the rape and murder? What is being covered up?

VikramS wrote:https://twitter.com/shalini_mishtie/sta ... 9300330496

The minor accussed, who seems to have caused the most damage to the poor girl, and was the most brutal of the assailants, was known as Raju, from Baduan, UP.

As it turns out his real name is Md. Afroz.

Please ask Mahesh Butt and his ilk which Hindu temple did this chap go and get inspired?
'Mahesh' deserves his own personal iron rod.

But seriously, above ^^^ I had pointed out the non sequitur in the CNN article where it said "... her relatives are Hindu...wanted privacy."

If the Mo Afroz story is true, then the rest of them are likely of the same ilk which is why the names are all 'undisclosed' and there is a lock down in Delhi.

BTW, googling, the 'disclosed names' include a lot of Singhs including 'Ram Singh' (IIRC it was Al-Guardian) . The way it was done would seem to be one of those clumsy plants.

Gentlemen, I apologize for losing it but I am really angry and I know I should not but with daughters the anger/fear wells over. These sub humans have been nurtured and their apologists are out to bedazzle, obfuscate and confound.
Last edited by Cosmo_R on 01 Jan 2013 06:38, edited 1 time in total.

^You wonder eh!.. It is like throwing a dart, and it does not need to hit the bulls eye to get the answer. Similar to the observation that, many a times people talk about: Is Bollywood reflects real life, or real life reflects bollywood. Either way, it is the concept originated from similar thinking men.

There is not just high handed political nexus in this gang-rape and murder, but in almost all cases. No rowdy is free and solo onto himself with objectives set by him only. He is always part of a gang, which in turn leads to a nexus with a cop or group of cops, an illegal org and criminal setup, aided well by some political clout.

Normal bollywood tamasha..err. actuality on indic streets.

A lot of facts in the case.
We need to list them to make sense in the muddle.

Bade wrote:ravi bhaijaan, let it go after all you have made up your mind about NRIs. So why count us as Indians anyway, irrespective of if we are or not citizens of India. Well as even tourists we can have opinions. Tourism dollars count too.
Especially when the real fight is with NIRs

If the Afroz name is accurate then Brihaspati was spot on.

Every other BD and UP ? Bihar walas have been using Desi names for almost 2 Decades. Its only the conspicious absence from work on Friday which bring the truth home.

be careful with HT which is a known cong mouthpiece

while no love lost for Sheila Dikshit this sort of thing with IB involvement is way above her

To me it looks like Sheila belatedly is trying to put some distance between herself and this tragedy and of course the Dienasty has decided to sacrifice her amongst many others.

hopefully as she is thrown under the bus she may drag a few of the others with her

guys where are these pictures coming from??

I doubt that the family had any time to allow this

Surya wrote:be careful with HT which is a known cong mouthpiece

while no love lost for Sheila Dikshit this sort of thing with IB involvement is way above her

To me it looks like Sheila belatedly is trying to put some distance between herself and this tragedy and of course the Dienasty has decided to sacrifice her amongst many others.

hopefully as she is thrown under the bus she may drag a few of the others with her
How does a Chief Minister have the powers to emergency issue passports to any citizen? Sheila is just being thrown under the bus for the moment to shift the blame. Nobody in the media has the balls to question annai sonia. Of course.

The entire sordid affair in which the poor victim was brought back in darkness and received by the VVIPs,as a sop to her family and a fig leaf to the nation,betrays FEAR in their minds! For the first time,after the anti-corruption protests,the ruling scumbags have felt that gnawing in their stomachs that spells fear.A public funeral attended by a million people would shake the corridors of power and rattle the bones of their entrenched occupants.Such a large anti-govt. demonstration would spell a quick doom for the UPA,which they are trying desperately to avoid hoping that "time will heal" the angst of the nation.These asinine Congress leaders do not realise that what is actually happening is a huge body of outrage building up behind the dam of doom ,which will one day break free and sweep them into oblivion.Watch for the rats of the UPA-2 leaving the sinking ship soon.

Philip, What is the fear?

Joishy saar be careful to put up pics of the victim. Something about it does not sound right. The background vegetation tells it could be anywhere from Mangalore to Trivandrum, that was my first reaction. It would be good to take the picture down, IMO. That hardly looks like Delhi or UP/Bihar or even Dehradun.

This is perhaps the most telling comment of all.
Malala Yousufzai, the young 15-year old Pashtun girl who's undergone a strenuous medical ordeal of her own after surviving being shot by Taliban, attacked the Indian govt's decision to move the rape victim, by tweeting:

"The rapists dumped her on road. The government dumped her in Singapore. What's the difference?"

I'm very curious about the 'Pawan Gupta' name, I mean a 'Gupta' in a slum cluster in Delhi and that too in RK Puram Sec III, is a bit too far fetched. If at all a Gupta needs to live in a slum cluster, then he may be a halwai and not a bus driver/cleaner. All the names may be alias for something else or names on ration cards only. The ration cards themselves being fake.
Joishy saar be careful to put up pics of the victim. Something about it does not sound right. The background vegetation tells it could be anywhere from Mangalore to Trivandrum, that was my first reaction. It would be good to take the picture down, IMO. That hardly looks like Delhi or UP/Bihar or even Dehradun.
At first glance, I had same suspiscion, I thought she was mallu.
Last edited by habal on 01 Jan 2013 09:47, edited 1 time in total.
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

KJoishy wrote:Not sure if her picture was posted here before.
What a sad story
[/img]
Amir Khan has put a picture of a different girl on his Satyameva Jayate facebook page.
Saar, best to delete this photo as situation is not clear.

habal, but looks alone can deceive you, though the resemblances to people from that region are strong.

When they released the names of the accused, some info on their day jobs (for schools) was also revealed. So can it be a total cover-up ? But not showing their pics, after taking care of the security of their immediate family, is something to dwell on. What are the motives ?

KJoishy wrote:Not sure if her picture was posted here before.
What a sad story.

http://www.independentaustralia.net/Wor ... rbhaya.jpg
If this image purports to be one of the raped girl, the lower right inset (in hospital) is clearly fake. I can state several reasons, medical and otherwise as to why it is fake.