Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

WP8 clocked a 77% growth and you are complaining? the advertising campaign for the new lumias started around 6 months ago worldwide so give it some time and gain traction. if they can crack a couple of big US carriers long term they might even rival the IOS market share, as their range is wider than the token "cheaper" iphone thats due out soon. Nokia already has the worldwide sales and service channels down to tier3 towns.

adoption by lenovo and zte are also crucial to driving sales in china.

the onlee one who needs to be really worried is apple. they seem to only be able to milk the replacement market in developed countries and not able to address the "next 2 billion customers" band below that. too much H&D wrapped around "cheap plastic" and the sneering attitude of the goras to anything that is cheap from apple...they would rather cut their own throats to get aluminium.
instead of one token cheap iphone they need three strung out from 12, 15, 18 to really compete with samsung & "others" (panda sith lords) in the middle range

trying to sell iphone4 on exchange for cheaper is not a product strategy .. its a stopgap and a way to offload outdated product on turd world. nobody is going to fall for it, they would rather get themselves a xolo1000 or canvas-hd and get the latest meat in the shop

Nokia's market presence in the US market was close to nil beyond the disposable phone market I guess for years. Only legends of their old tank like 3310 etc. survive. It'll take time to eat into the Apple fanboi market which comprises 80% of the smartphone users in the US. The chipanda's who like to ape the Americans and have become equally big Apple fans will follow once there is acceptance of Lumias as great phones to rival the iPhunwa in US.

Singha, I don't think Fruitco is worried about the mid and low end market. The margins are very low there anyways and the revenue from Services per phone must be low as well. Besides the old iPhunwa's still sell in India despite being obsolete.

the iphone EMI 0% exchange scheme has moved apple sales from almost 0 to some +ve value this year...staring in Jan2013. from Mar2013 samsung also started offering same on its galaxy range from 20k upward, now I think via flipkart you can get EMI 0% on anything over 4000 on citibank type cards!

be interested to know apple sales volume in india for iphone4 and 5.

Singha wrote:WP8 clocked a 77% growth and you are complaining?
It is actual shipment volume of 2Q13 vs. 2Q12 that I am talking about. iPhone market share actually declined, but volume increased. IMHO, I don't see WP going anywhere, it will take the place of BB and others, but remain in the background. The big advantage it has is Office (which others have too) and Sky Drive integration. Other application development, outside of social networking, such as scientific, engineering, medical and business applications are just not happening for WP.

Now where is that wasacally wabbit? :rotfl:

Singha wrote:WP8 clocked a 77% growth and you are complaining?
It is actual shipment volume of 2Q13 vs. 2Q12 that I am talking about. iPhone market share actually declined, but volume increased. IMHO, I don't see WP going anywhere, it will take the place of BB and others, but remain in the background. The big advantage it has is Office (which others have too) and Sky Drive integration. Other application development, outside of social networking, such as scientific, engineering, medical and business applications are just not happening for WP.

Now where is that wasacally wabbit? :rotfl:
Hum yahan hain tau. :P Kabhi kabhi itihaas (aur component sourcing ke reports) padh liya karo ki trend kahan ja raha hai.
:mrgreen: Aur woh nahin bhi hua aapke dua se to Mickey ko farak nahin padhta becoz it already makes more money off Android than Chacha (a lesson why a strong patent portfolio is useful) and is switching from focusing primarily on OSs to services in terms of monetization so it makes money regardless.

BTW the big apps for smartphones are not those you listed....they are social, local search+related and games. Most mango abduls don't give 2 $hits about scientific, medical apps...sab aap jaise oonchi soch wale thodi hain. :P

:mrgreen: :rotfl: :mrgreen:

Pyaare,

Hum soch rahe, kahan gol hogya Bose babu? Aap mooh thod jawab Pakistan se de sakthe ho! :)
On another note, the other "niche" apps are actually what early adopters get into and pulls the mango abduls & ayeshas in to using the technology. But hum kya jaane?

^^^Kya karein tau abhi hum out of town hain, doing duty posting at GHQ's.....aapke taang khainchne ka utna phursat nahin mil raha :mrgreen:

Actually those apps don't influence any adoption significantly....read usage stats reports if you have access. In fact the very fact that those type of apps don't drive adoption of a specific device category signals that the device category has truly become mass market. Itihas padho tau, kaam ayega :P

owners of micromax arrested for trying to bribe a MCD engineer 40 lakhs to get permit for a marriage hall.

looks like they were trying to diversify into other areas like hospitality and real estate, following in footsteps of "revered" founders in blr.

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/lg-g2-unveil ... 19-11.html

a mini version of the G2 with a 4.5" screen would be great as a phone imo.

Gentlemen please to be pulling legs in English onlee especially when you can't get your even Hindi syntax right.

Singha wrote:owners of micromax arrested for trying to bribe a MCD engineer 40 lakhs to get permit for a marriage hall.

looks like they .
Outrage! They were simply working with the system. That is how you get anything done in this unfortunate jungle we call our country. BTW I still haven't gotten my electric meter replaced after paying over 3k to the government... 3months and counting. Sad part is I know another 500 will do it in a day...
Not to go OT though... The micromax people should be let off.

archan wrote:Gentlemen please to be pulling legs in English onlee especially when you can't get your even Hindi syntax right.
We probably need a Hindi-English-Benis editor for BRF. It would certainly come in handy. Perhaps someone here could develop one?
alexis

Post by alexis »

got hold of lumia 720 thru flipkart; 6 month emi and 10% cashback. Light and bright. the keypad is superb. Always had problems on typing on Sammy phones.
Only problem is that cant access nokia music even though it is bundled free

What do you mean cannot access nokia music streams? I am listening to it every day over home wifi and used download option also.

Looks like there's a serious wi-fi security problem found on Windows 7.8 and Windows 8 phones.
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/secu ... ry/2876146

What makes this issue really painful is that Microsoft says that it can't be patched automatically :eek:. Apparently, to fix the vulnerability, the user has to manually set up trusted root-certs on the phone and the wi-fi points that it is connecting to. That's not something a non-tech-savvy user can do easily. Slashdot has more on this story:
http://mobile.slashdot.org/story/13/08/ ... be-patched

Wasn't MS-CHAPv2 found to be vulnerable in 2012 itself?

Divide and Conquer: Cracking MS-CHAPv2 with a 100% success rate

I could be wrong but I don't think PEAP-MS-CHAPv2 authentication is used in PSK mode (which does't require an authentication server) for WPA2 which most regular users would use. It is used only in WPA-Enterprise which requires an authentication server. So, aam abduls won't be affected by this.

ArmenT wrote:Looks like there's a serious wi-fi security problem found on Windows 7.8 and Windows 8 phones.

What makes this issue really painful is that Microsoft says that it can't be patched automatically :eek:. Apparently, to fix the vulnerability, the user has to manually set up trusted root-certs on the phone and the wi-fi points that it is connecting to. That's not something a non-tech-savvy user can do easily. Slashdot has more on this story:

Simple solution:

1. MS gets all WP discounted to $99 unlocked and pays the manufacturers the difference.
2. User takes phone to MS Store in the mall to be fixed.
3. Phone is fixed and WP now enjoys unprecedented popularity.

Pyaare,

GHQ ke sath saame kaat na hai, ya mooh thod jawab dena? :)

Rough translation: Dearest, Do you want to spend time with GHQ, or give a befitting reply?

ArmenT wrote:Looks like there's a serious wi-fi security problem found on Windows 7.8 and Windows 8 phones.

Apparently GOOG chacha has been having issues with the new Nexus 7. GPS doesn't lock if there is no WiFi connection.

Mort Walker wrote:Pyaare,

GHQ ke sath saame kaat na hai, ya mooh thod jawab dena? :)

Rough translation: Dearest, Do you want to spend time with GHQ, or give a befitting reply?
Arrey Tau, dono kaam mutually exclusive nahin hai. GHQ ke saath time spend karna duty hai, aur yahan aapka taang kheechna, entertainment. :mrgreen:

Pyaare,

Remember, enjoy yourselves. GHQ ke saath yeh saame firse nahi ayaga aur asli entertaiment hai. Isko duty nahi kelahai jaathi hai jab thak shaadhi nahi hoti hai.**
Is budhaa ko jawab dena aap ki duty.

**It is duty if one has access to accurate atomic clocks. ;)

Sala, I have now blown the back-to-school budget. Bought a couple on Nexus 4 and Nexus 7 for the kids, but those rascals treat electronic devices as nameless appliances.

Tell your GHQ you're pulling another man's leg while you're in her house. Should be interesting.

Mort chacha, ever thought about adopting another one?

Mort Walker wrote:Sala, I have now blown the back-to-school budget. Bought a couple on Nexus 4 and Nexus 7 for the kids, but those rascals treat electronic devices as nameless appliances.
my kid lost her N7 last week on the flight back from desh. :evil:

archan wrote:Mort chacha, ever thought about adopting another one?

Sure. I have a reading, math and science assignments ready for any age. Upon completion you will get a Nex 4 & 7. :mrgreen:

price of samsung galaxy mega 5.8 dropped to 23500.
problem is few if any takers for this family of turdware due to the sub-par qHD and WVGA screens they are putting on phones of 5" and upwards. no can do. we want HD or full HD.
I m expecting price drops on quattro and grand soon...have already come down around 20% from launch earlier this year.

SaiK wrote:
Mort Walker wrote:Sala, I have now blown the back-to-school budget. Bought a couple on Nexus 4 and Nexus 7 for the kids, but those rascals treat electronic devices as nameless appliances.
my kid lost her N7 last week on the flight back from desh. :evil:

More likely stolen by an adult or teen since it is easy to get a child distracted.
In Android 4.3, if you go in to "settings" > "security" > "Device administrators" > check "Android Device Manager"
Then go to device manager in Google for locating and remotely wiping the device.

Apple is in iOS7 will have the ability to locate, wipe and lock a stolen device. Apple is ahead of the others in this matter, although lacks features found in Android.

mort, are you saying I need to do that as a new user (as defined in the lost device), in a new android device?

btw, it was android 4.1/2 iirc.

i checked in on the device.. android device manager.. activate:
erase all data
change tgeh screen-unlock password
lock the screen.

i don't understand what this means?
Last edited by SaiK on 09 Aug 2013 21:19, edited 1 time in total.

^^^Well, its too late for the lost N7, but on future devices with Android 4.3 you should be able to set it up.

Singha wrote:price of samsung galaxy mega 5.8 dropped to 23500.
problem is few if any takers for this family of turdware due to the sub-par qHD and WVGA screens they are putting on phones of 5" and upwards. no can do. we want HD or full HD.
I m expecting price drops on quattro and grand soon...have already come down around 20% from launch earlier this year.
It is still preferable over a Micromax or Karbonn device. IMHO.

well...

Singha wrote:price of samsung galaxy mega 5.8 dropped to 23500.
How big can the market for these monstrosities be anyway?

^^^I don't know about the mega, but for many people the 5.5" Note 2 has been very good for those who need a phablet. Sammy has sold about 10 million a quarter. It's not for everyone.

Apparently GOOG chacha has been having issues with the new Nexus 7. GPS doesn't lock if there is no WiFi connection.
You must be having Wi-Fi version. It will lock if you wait for 5-15 minutes because GPS assist from cell tower is missing. Every phone/tablet maker uses wi-fi GPS assist based on location technology developed by http://www.skyhookwireless.com/ . You can confirm it by first turning on GPS with Wi-Fi ON and then turn Wi-Fi and GPS off and walk 50 -100m away . Now turn on GPS, it will lock very fast even without Wi-Fi. But had you walked 1KM GPS will take 5-10 minutes to start because initial lattt/long parameters (which is always last successful lock ) to KAlman filter is way off making it unstable and go for fresh a cold start.

q: what does sammy 4 brings in on top of 3?

SaiK ji,

The GS4 is a considerable improvement over the GS3. Most notable is the improved battery life, larger 5" 1080p high res screen, same if not smaller physical size, and improved performance. The flip side is that Sammy has added a bunch of features that some people like and others don't. Some carriers in the US may be offering the GS3 for free, but if the price is within $100, I would prefer the GS4.
Last edited by Mort Walker on 10 Aug 2013 02:10, edited 1 time in total.

Sushupti wrote:
You must be having Wi-Fi version. It will lock if you wait for 5-15 minutes because GPS assist from cell tower is missing. Every phone/tablet maker uses wi-fi GPS assist based on location technology developed by http://www.skyhookwireless.com/ . You can confirm it by first turning on GPS with Wi-Fi ON and then turn Wi-Fi and GPS off and walk 50 -100m away . Now turn on GPS, it will lock very fast even without Wi-Fi. But had you walked 1KM GPS will take 5-10 minutes to start because initial lattt/long parameters (which is always last successful lock ) to KAlman filter is way off making it unstable and go for fresh a cold start.
Thanks I will try that.

back to being debating this thought of switching back to android from ios. any strong reasons that i should stay or move to between these OS/device?

archan wrote:Tell your GHQ you're pulling another man's leg while you're in her house. Should be interesting.
She has read my BRF posts once in a while including Mortu tau's mijjile flight timing experiments and posts in this dhaaga - no worries there. (no she doesn't have my BRF passwd) :mrgreen: What she doesn't understand is why we spend so much time parodying Pakis in BENIS (she doesn't like pakis herself but can't figure out why we "waste" time on them if we hate them so much).
Last edited by Raja Bose on 10 Aug 2013 04:44, edited 1 time in total.