Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

SaiK wrote:back to being debating this thought of switching back to android from ios. any strong reasons that i should stay or move to between these OS/device?
If you really use Chacha's services other than Gmail, then you should consider switching to Android from iOS. Otherwise, it doesn't make that much sense whether in terms of HW build quality, good UX or apps. I have seen very very few non-techie types switch from iOS to Android - the ones I have usually seen are those who lost or broke their iPhunwa and needed a cheap replacement till contract renewal.

google maps is the main one i used to use extensively on my old sammy.. but the 4 wala had problems with it, and I was told by mullahs of this dhaaga to not load the ios6/upgrade as the maps does not work.

besides that no compelling reason i have other than gmail, chats, etc. the google talk chat on iphone4 sucks..i can see logged in users, but never get my messages delivered.. dunno even if i am using the righ chacha talk.

Singha wrote:price of samsung galaxy mega 5.8 dropped to 23500.
problem is few if any takers for this family of turdware due to the sub-par qHD and WVGA screens they are putting on phones of 5" and upwards. no can do. we want HD or full HD.
I m expecting price drops on quattro and grand soon...have already come down around 20% from launch earlier this year.
It is still preferable over a Micromax or Karbonn device. IMHO.
Well you can get a similar device with similar spec screen for around 13 or 14k...still a clear 10k gap. Students and young professionals who want a big screen will be loathe to pay so much and infact these are the core clientale of the pandaphones.
The build quality and durability of the sammy will no doubt be better but again the youth brigade assaumes a replace cycle of less than 2 yrs so they dont really care. I see most of the college fresh grads in my office having such phones, as also some teachers young ones in my kids daycare. One cant argue against the wisdom of the crowd. Its like using sasta and tikau desi 105mm to squash a terrorist camp than chi chi mrsi mode from a bofors regiment.

Well, Micromax is the second largest smartphone selling company in Indian market after Sammy...and it is a 3,500 Crore company. So, they must be doing something right.

There is a huge aspiration crowd out there wanting big screen and touch panel - you've arrived kind of features. You simply need to look around and see the phones carried by the auto-rickshaw wallah and cooks and maids. 3-4 companies dominate this segment with competitively priced 'smart phones' with bog screes. There is a market out there which will fill up your SD card with videos of movies and songs (of all varieties). Internet and other services usage is minimal. These big screen phones are a real source of entertainment on the go for these people. All this talk of hardware and touch pad responsiveness and pixels does not apply here.

And then there is the yuppy crowd which wants Note 2 features at a sub-15K price.

Having said that, aspects like service quality and product durability is real suspect - these companies have made a big base and need to have a vision to grow and mature into a proper company with strong R&D capability. Or, they'll be wiped off the face by other companies.

SD cards preloaded with tens of movies and 1000s of songs and 5" screen used as portable TV are apparently a strong selling point in india. per a phone co person I know, the avg recharge in india is itself very low and avg balance on prepaid SIMs is also no more than around 100/- ..... so all the LTE & location based content stuff that goras are concerned about dont matter a whole lot yet here. but sound must be good, screen must be big and gaming performance benchmarks is closely tracked by the youth crowd. thats where the QUAD CORE howls come from.

two sample comments from flipkart on galaxy grand quattro.

Cheap HardWare
This phone looks Good but the the Hardware and the screen quality is really outdated and the Video recording at 15 fps seriously? This phone is just made to give a challenge with the micromax canvas series..!
my advice do not buy it it litreally has way outdated Screen and hardware..!

What Samsung think indians r fools?
No Amoled display? No IPS Display? ony tft screen :P Lg Optimus L9 p765 17k or Xolo q800 12k and u will get Lava iris 501 same specs and price 8k. But in my opinion Lg Optimus L9 p765 best. U should compare this phone with Lg Optimus p765. Check the review of this phone. Samsung come with Ips display or amoled display @17k.

in another comment another reviewer ripped sammy for selling the same phone with 1Gb ram in india, while providing 2Gb in korea and gora lands. so people are very clued in and attempts to just cash in on brandname and lesser hw wont suffice anymore.

i don't understand this dhaaga being in the GDF. dileep ji's fault?

Singha wrote:SD cards preloaded with tens of movies and 1000s of songs and 5" screen used as portable TV are apparently a strong selling point in india. per a phone co person I know, the avg recharge in india is itself very low and avg balance on prepaid SIMs is also no more than around 100/- ..... so all the LTE & location based content stuff that goras are concerned about dont matter a whole lot yet here. but sound must be good, screen must be big and gaming performance benchmarks is closely tracked by the youth crowd. thats where the QUAD CORE howls come from.
You are right and that is why any phone that doesn't have a microSD card will not do well in India - like the iPhone. There really isn't a need for LBS in India when there are so many people around and one can simply ask a person where to find a service. LTE, IMHO, will take off, as the phone will replace the laptop for many a person and having a relatively fast internet connection will be of value.

Tablets are big hits these days with people....even our office driver has one and browses internet on it......there is a share auto guy who has a WIFI and IPAD for his customers

Mort Walker wrote:There really isn't a need for LBS in India when there are so many people around and one can simply ask a person where to find a service.
:rotfl: Kya statement mara hai! Tau ji, zara aankhein khol ke dekho....LBS is actually what Chacha, GB, others are pouring in money for India - it is the most lucrative segment right now in terms of monetization for developing economies especially India and Brazil. LBS is not just about asking directions or where XYZ place is.

Raja Bose wrote:
Mort Walker wrote:There really isn't a need for LBS in India when there are so many people around and one can simply ask a person where to find a service.
:rotfl: Kya statement mara hai! Tau ji, zara aankhein khol ke dekho....LBS is actually what Chacha, GB, others are pouring in money for India - it is the most lucrative segment right now in terms of monetization for developing economies especially India and Brazil. LBS is not just about asking directions or where XYZ place is.
It,s more about bombarding with advts based on your location rather than service.

Anyone seen any real world photos from a production Sony Experia Z Ultra?

Raja Bose wrote:
But are they making money from it in India? In developed countries, I can see the usefulness of LBS.

archan wrote:Anyone seen any real world photos from a production Sony Experia Z Ultra?
I've not seen the Ultra, but I have seen the Experia Z. It has a nice display and good build quality, but I found it to be laggy. Maybe it was the model I tried.
The camera was ok, but nothing special IMO.

This is what happens when the chipandas modify CE to go awry:

N.J. man fined $32K for illegal GPS device that disrupted Newark airport system

I havent see hide or hair of any lbs in india. Perhaps its because i do not have a 3g plan on my phone.

Same here and I had 3G. My info is old from last year, but I don't recall seeing any LBS in northern and western India. Did not go into Mumbai though.
Some LBS apps are sketchy at best. Such as INR timings.

Singha wrote:I havent see hide or hair of any lbs in india. Perhaps its because i do not have a 3g plan on my phone.
They have it even on Asha phones....thats one of prime drivers behind them selling more in India. Lbs is not just tfta western style services.

LBS service definitely is not needed for mort maharaj. the smiles from from various dhobinies would tell much more service point values than chacha can provide. /OT. :wink:

Raja Bose wrote:
Singha wrote:I havent see hide or hair of any lbs in india. Perhaps its because i do not have a 3g plan on my phone.
They have it even on Asha phones....thats one of prime drivers behind them selling more in India. Lbs is not just tfta western style services.
Are you talking about music availability in this case? Asha phones sell because in India you have to buy your phone up front and they cost between $100-$200 and have the Nokia reputation. If US carriers quit subsidizing phones, the same would happen here.
Last edited by Mort Walker on 11 Aug 2013 23:21, edited 1 time in total.

^^No. Music? :-?

^^^Yeah. I've seen some phones in India, depending on where you are will let you download songs for free or minimal cost.

Oh that is an old and very successful sales tactic pioneered by Sammy in India iirc. Yes, that definitely boosts sales esp in rural areas and smaller towns.

Quick question - how good is the Nook 9" 32 GB which is selling for $179? and the 16 GB for $149? They seem to be good value for money and cyanogenmod can be installed on a microSD and loaded from there - similar to dual boot. Thinking of getting this and a 9" kindle for $249 (the price has come down from $299).

TIA

^^^If you have the time to do that, then fine, but check out what the XDA guys are saying first. Most of us mango abduls are either incapable or don't have the time or both.

Thanks for pointing out XDA. Nook HD+ seems to be a hit-or-miss kind of a device. May be I should wait a bit on the tablet but get the large screen kindle for technical PDF papers and see what Apple is going to "cook" up in the next few months. Only problem with Apple is that their VFM is very small.

nokia is providing indian music also in their streaming. I guess can all it LBS..but its free.

1. Is Asha a smartphone?

2. Why Nokia bought Siemens networks?

1. Define a smart phone.

2. Nokia brought out the 49% stake in the JV from Siemens. Nokia also purchased Motorola's infrastructure business.

2. Why were 8500 employees fired after the aquisition was completed?

Asha and Lumia (and Pureview) are just brands like Samsungs Galaxy brand.

Lumia uses Windows Phone
Asha will mostly be Smarterphone OS.
Nokia bought the company that made Smaterphone OS : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smarterphone
Asha 501 uses that OS http://techcrunch.com/2013/05/08/asha-501/

mahadevbhu wrote:2. Why were 8500 employees fired after the aquisition was completed?
That is how one appeases Stockholders if one cant increase revenue-profits. Because employees == cost. That is one of the reason why many companies stay private and chose to go private like Dell is doing right now as stockholders care only about short term benefits and dont care if those short term benefits are long term losses. Other ways to appease stockholders is to *uck with customers, in long term that too would be bad for companies.

Anmol mian returns. He'll be happy to find out that Boseullah has admirably defended Mickey$ and Gumboot in his absence. :mrgreen:

Interesting article.

CHART: Consumers Love Samsung's Huge Screens, And That's Changing The Smartphone Market

http://www.businessinsider.com/samsung- ... emailshare

The Experia Z Ultra form factor looks good for a multimedia tablet which can act as a backup phone using the second sim. If it had pureview type picture quality, I'd be quite tempted.
On nook, I still have the original nook color. For some time I used it as a tablet booting cyanogenmod from a 4gb microsd. Was not too difficult to set up. Since I got the skyrocket I've had little use of anything else, even my Asus transformer.

Was looking to get any leftover stock of pureview 808 on the cheap, but none to be found on desi sites. Any in khanland?

Since I got the skyrocket I've had little use of anything else, even my Asus transformer.
Every time I'm tempted to buy a tablet by some glitzy ad, I look at my S3 and Laptop and wonder what it is exactly that I'd be using a tablet for. If I ever find a satisfactory answer I'll buy a tablet.

nachiket wrote:Anmol mian returns. He'll be happy to find out that Boseullah has admirably defended Mickey$ and Gumboot in his absence. :mrgreen:
I saw that.. :mrgreen:

I was around, stalking the forum like a phantom.

p.s.: thanks for not banning me permanently.. and uh sorry for that. :oops:

I was not following the posts closely now that another Vina-RB yuddham has concluded without a winner :mrgreen: Narayana Narayana

So, Archan ji what is skyrocket? Ok galaxy sII. Thanks
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 12 Aug 2013 22:12, edited 1 time in total.

archan wrote:Was looking to get any leftover stock of pureview 808 on the cheap, but none to be found on desi sites. Any in khanland?

Although the sensor on the 808 is quite good, pay attention to the AF control and camera ergonomics. I don't know how cheap it is available as typical selling price is ~$400, but you may find one new on eBay. You may be better off waiting for the Lumia 1020 if you're planning on spending nearly $400.

mahadevbhu wrote:2. Why were 8500 employees fired after the aquisition was completed?
Standard Yum-yand-Aye procedure. Otherwise how will TFTA YumBeeAyes doing the Yum-yand-Aye justify their inflated salaries and bonuses?