Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

niran wrote:Saar, the feelings was:
in India a stampede have occurred with just a couple people yelling "Bomb"
here there was 6 blasts, 5 i watched with me own eyes, the whole setup was uh!oh!
get the netas out, everyone for his or her self!!! but those footwear less bhojpuri/Maithali speaking
attendees did the unthinkable, they carried the injured to the ambulances came back and sat down
to listen NaMo, the way the crowd stood their ground was a real tight slap
a wake up slap for those who doubt about the wave
a slap to those who planed evil by the blasts
there were about 3000 polis but went missing when the blast started,
all the safety security evacuation was done by the attendees, a really real humbling experience.
Thanks for the account, Niran-ji. Great to hear from one who was personally on the spot.

Full marks to those attendees! Their bravery and discipline is something I would never have believed possible anywhere in the world. But they did the impossible, and I think we all owe them a debt of thanks for showing us what is true courage, and nobility.

To recount from a personal experience, in Israel, when the rockets started falling in Haifa in the summer of 2006, the city practically emptied itself. Everyone fled the place, the emergency services were overstretched, and they were requesting people from my university desperately to help the emergency services as much as we could (and we did what we could). But here, there is this bunch of people who not only stand up to bombs blowing up all around them, but have the discipline and presence of mind to carry out the injured and actually return to the rally, showing the terrorists what the people who support NaMo are made of!

Folks, by the way, I think NiKu has just signed his political death warrant. I will be surprised if he can campaign anywhere without being booed by crowds. No one would have been impressed with his conduct today.

Looks like Nikamma did not provide security nor even a bomb squad nor even any ambulances on standby fir such an event.
Even if it is IM it is INC and its fellow travelers who provided the environment for the bombing.
8 dead and 82 injured is a big attack.

Niran Saar,
Please to xpost into the blasts thread in open forum. More people need to know the resolve of the aam people behind modi - it will at least serve a deterrent to not play with such supercritical temps raging within them.

In an unrelated news, dreams of turd front are evaporating faster than ether on a boiler plate, wonder what the 4th front types are strategising now.
Karat rules out third front formation for now
The Hindu - ‎7 hours ago‎
General secretary of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) Prakash Karat has expressed pessimism over the formation of a third front

niran wrote:
kapilrdave wrote:Okay. I asked "someone" about the possibility of above. He agreed that it's not possible but he said something very interesting. If the host tries to do something of that sort (i.e. chittbhram) to someone and fails, then it might do reverse effect on the host himself. He gave me such an example also. TFWIW.
OT alert

the Tantrik process will have to performed by a person who have attained siddhi(ability,power) to perform
this can be achieved onree through Guru kripa and Tapsaya , since the beginning of
Kali kaal no Guru is present to provide that kripa, hence no can have real tantrik, those one finds in present day
either have mugged up Sanskrit verses from Durga Saptsati(30%) or from a hoard of other books, and quite a few
mumble some incoherent mumbo jumbo.
any more comments dissing and cussings would superfluous, no?
How did Birbahadur Singh, UP CM, died in Paris?. Check your sources.

If you want to see some fun check this gentleman
Parmanand Dhar Dwivedi
Mobile No. 9415473123
http://swatantrajyotish.com/

One funny thing i have seen is that "Nanha Munnas" Hindu tantriks worship some peers/Jinns etc(easy to activate and please) but to customers puja is performed to some Hindu Gods/Goddesses . Truly secular in Congi sense, Ganga-Jamuni types.

Sorry for OT. Couldn't control myself given Niran's physical presence in my area.

Five days before he died he was in Bangkok fell ill in Singapore rushed to Paris where he died
his last proper meal was a dinner hosted by me old man, he was a diabetic and died of a sudden cardiac arrest
rest assured saar no tantra was involved onrre Thai cooking and boneless chilly chicken with roti was involved

Meanwhile bhajapa lodged a six page complaint against RG with EC
demanding disolving congress and banning RG
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

sunnyP wrote:
subhamoy.das wrote:Historically the 50% of the electorate vote for INC and BJP combined and between them at play are 300+ seats. So clearly the parties gain at each others expense and which ever is the largest will form the govt. BJP just need to win around 50 more seats than INC to form the govt. So if INC wins 120 and BJP 180+ than should good enough!

I really wish this is the case however Congress has so many 'team Bs' that even if they trail the BJP by 50 or 60 seats they will have Mullah Yadav (could bring 15-20 seats), Maya (another 15-20), Nitish (10-15), Patnaik (5-10), Mamta+The Commies (25-30), Karunanidhi (10-20) etc to fall back on.

The Congress are masters are playing carrot and stick with the aforementioned parties. Can the BJP do the same?

To summarise, I think the BJP need +120 more than the Congress to have a hope of forming the government. Anything less and Rajmata's goons will get in again through the back door.
In 1996 BJP got 20 more seats and they DID formed the GOVT for few months but it was not a INC govt
In 1998 BJP got 40 more seats and they formed the govt.
In 1999 BJP got 70 more seats and they formed the govt.
In 2004 BJP got same (7 less) seats and they DID NOT form govt
In 2009 BJP got 90 less seats and they DID NOT form govt

So BJP actually was the single largest party in 4 of the last 5 elections. They formed the govt when their margin was 20 or more and formed a stable govt when margin was 40 or more.

So all CONG B team will be split if gap between BJP and INC is about 50+. At that time CONGI can support a federal front from outside , but it will not be an UPA. So UPA is finished the moment CONG gets 50 or less seats than BJP.

And donot forget that this time it is NAMO. I know what he will do. He will simply declare special mega packages for those states ( BENGAL, TAMNILNADU, NE ) which are supporting the NDA and that will ensure it. The only folks which will remain outside this will be SP + BSP. Have u folks noticed that MAMTA is absolutely silent!

16:31 Cong woos BSP with spacious bungalow: Parliamentary Affairs minister Kamal Nath is apparently firmly focused on wooing the BSP and ensuring that the upcoming Winter Session of Parliament operates without hiccups. Kamal Nath has allotted a spacious bungalow to Satish Mishra, who is the Rajya Sabha MP of the BSP even though the two-time MP is NOT entitled.
member_23658

Post by member_23658 »

cnn ibn pre-poll survey (going on right now hosted by rajdeep) says 61-71 seats to bjp in chattisgarh
Last edited by member_23658 on 28 Oct 2013 20:14, edited 1 time in total.

Amol.D wrote:cnn ibn election survey (going on right now hosted by rajdeep) says 61 seats to bjp
Link, please?

61 seats in LS?!?! BJP might as well pack up and go home. what crap survey is this?
member_23658

Post by member_23658 »

devesh wrote:61 seats in LS?!?! BJP might as well pack up and go home. what crap survey is this?
sorry boss log, forgot to say its for chattisgarh :D not LS!!

Its on IBN Live now : http://ibnlive.in.com/livetv/

Devesh garu, that is Chattisgargh Assembly probably and that means a good win for BJP.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Muppalla wrote:Devesh garu, that is Chattisgargh Assembly probably and that means a good win for BJP.
Muppalla ji,

Something is wrong. I have a gut feeling that Chattisgarh is a close contest. 61-71 of the 90 looks way over the top. 3 months back they predicted 47 for BJP and 40 for INC. What has BJP done now to get 2/3 majority.

muraliravi wrote:
Muppalla wrote:Devesh garu, that is Chattisgargh Assembly probably and that means a good win for BJP.
Muppalla ji,

Something is wrong. I have a gut feeling that Chattisgarh is a close contest. 61-71 of the 90 looks way over the top. 3 months back they predicted 47 for BJP and 40 for INC. What has BJP done now to get 2/3 majority.
three months is too long. Modi sweeps the states. Watchout Delhi as well especially after Patna. The reverse polarization is all set.

Amol.D that guy looks like he is constipated or about to have a heart attack. Maybe the former for he has no heart!!!!

muraliravi wrote:
Muppalla ji,

Modi factor? All previous surveys were done prior to the elevation of Modi to the position of the candidate of the prime minister.

muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

^^ with all due respect, i beg to differ. Modi is a surely a factor in many areas. But in Chattisgarh, at least my hunch tells me that the only modi factor there is maybe enthusing the cadres. But that is already enthused becos this is for state election and they are happy with Raman Singh. Only other thing I can think of is, unlike all our CT's on the naxal attack, congress really lost its game and Jogi is dividing congress downright clearing costing them too dear.
member_23658

Post by member_23658 »

ramana wrote:Amol.D that guy looks like he is constipated or about to have a heart attack. Maybe the former for he has no heart!!!!
Indeed!
I was so happy with the survey table at the bottom i did not really care for a more photogenic rajdeep when i took the screenshot :)

Polls are to take place in phases.

First phase must be where con race will have clear chance to win and BJP will not lose outright ie confusing signals. Still better if con race will win as opposition. Chattisgarh polls either has effect of family members of slain Salvaa judum leaders assassinated by Maoists, or BJP is set to look failed more than win of con race.

Dont know if its true.

TOI reports INC asks EC to Hide Lotus ponds in MP

muraliravi wrote:
Muppalla ji,

Modi has talked more in the last 3 months. He is a PM candidate now. BJP got its house in order. This brings hope and aspirations to people. Some of it is bound to reflect in assembly elections as well. Just like local/regional conditions impact the General Elections. The influence is two way.

ramana wrote:Dont know if its true.

TOI reports INC asks EC to Hide Lotus ponds in MP
This news item takes the award for the stupidest objection entertained by any election agency or rather any agency in the world. What next? BJP asking EC to make wearing gloves compulsory since it draws undue attention towards Congress symbol or misuse of Gandhi surname since it reminds people about MKG?

^^ Yup, expect Cong to demand banning cycles from UP and AP next time... something this silly is being done only to garner attention and h0re some media time.... Have no doubt it will be dismissed summarily by the EC...

Ashok Malik uvacha - stop waving bye-bye to kids as it can be construed as Congress symbol :)

Diggy given back row in MP's election meetings!

Vamsee

Post by Vamsee »

^^^ Very bad idea. Diggy might stab them in the back :-D

On funnier note.
Congress asks Election Commission to hide lotus ponds in Madhya Pradesh from voters

JABALPUR: The Congress is upset about lotuses in full autumn bloom in water bodies of Mahakaushal, Malwa and Bundelkhand regions in poll-bound Madhya Pradesh. The party on Monday wrote to the Election Commission (EC) to "hide" the national flower from public view so that voters aren't unfairly drawn to the BJP symbol.

Demanding a level-playing field, the MP Congress urged the EC for suitable directions to cover all ponds where the lotus is cultivated to be sold across the country.
Are they also asking EC to direct all voters to hide their hand as it is INC symbol?

Oh I see , that point is already discussed. :rotfl:

^^ for a moment I thought the above was from unreal times..

Sushupti wrote:Diggy given back row in MP's election meetings!

actually, thats 3rd row

and the lady seems to be serving tea and samosas to the gent in the 2nd row who is leaning over (face hidden but pen in pocket visible).

sulk sulk no tea and samosas even after such faithful and long service and two terms as CM!

Hasn't he been made the Congress gen sec for AP. That being the case, it is difficult to imagine that he will be treated in such a degrading manner. Especially, if one considers that, the mess in AP has been created in order to win maximum number of seats for the 2014 elections.
manju

Post by manju »

I got this email (part of mass email) from a well respected gentleman in KA who I know well (He has done great work and is a Dharmik guy).
Dear friends,

SVYM has launched the Making Democracy Work Campaign in the Mysore Lok Sabha Constituency from the 22nd of Oct this year. This campaign will go on till the LS elections, expected to be held in the middle of next year. This will be a people's campaign overseen by a group of senior, credible and well respected citizens of Mysore. Partially supported by the Association of Democratic Reforms and mostly by contributions from the general public all over the Mysore constituency, we hope to do our bit to usher in clean politics. More info is at http://www.makingdemocracywork.in

Please join hands in this campaign and popularize the website and the activities amongst all our colleagues, friends, wellwishers, social media sites, donors, partners, other NGOs and the electorate of the constituency. The media was very committed to supporting our similar campaign during Assembly Elections earlier this year. We now request your continued support this time too.

Let us stop complaining about the filth and corruption in Public Life and do our bit to cleanse the system. Let us be the change that we want to see....

I wrote to back to my friend who had sent me that above email...
Dear xxx
When I check the source of funding for Association for Democratic Reforms (http://adrindia.org/content/donors) here - 2 of the 4 founders are foriegn organizations, inlcuding FORD foundation.

I wrote to both my friend expressing my reservations..
I checked the site of Assn for Democratic Founders. The first donor listed is FORD foundation. Hivos is based in Netherlands. I am not sure if there are more foreign funding agencies. OMDIYAR foundation is based in USA like FORD Foundation.

I am very skeptical of any foreign agencies getting involved in such grass roots level work. They can hijack the whole process and influence the outcomes.

I think http://makingdemocracywork.in/mdwi/?page_id=8 should dissociate from such funding sources.

Just my 2 np opinion..

-----------

In addition I also wrote to the Association for Democratic Reforms
Dear Sir/Madam

I came across your website accidentally and am very impressed with your work.

However, I must say I was disappointed when I saw that three of the four main funding agencies are foriegns (2 from USA and 1 from Netherlands).

I feel that for such crucial work you are dong taking money from outsider who do not necessarily had Indian interests as the primary goal is a good idea. Basically, this is allowing outside control the debate in the country.

Do any of you know more about this Association for Democratic Reforms?

Singha wrote:and the lady seems to be serving tea and samosas to the gent in the 2nd row who is leaning over (face hidden but pen in pocket visible).

sulk sulk no tea and samosas even after such faithful and long service and two terms as CM!
When the family Goebbels is treated like this..tsk tsk..

manju wrote:I got this email (part of mass email) from a well respected gentleman in KA who I know well (He has done great work and is a Dharmik guy).
Dear friends,

SVYM has launched the Making Democracy Work Campaign in the Mysore Lok Sabha Constituency from the 22nd of Oct this year. This campaign will go on till the LS elections, expected to be held in the middle of next year. This will be a people's campaign overseen by a group of senior, credible and well respected citizens of Mysore. Partially supported by the Association of Democratic Reforms and mostly by contributions from the general public all over the Mysore constituency, we hope to do our bit to usher in clean politics. More info is at http://www.makingdemocracywork.in

Please join hands in this campaign and popularize the website and the activities amongst all our colleagues, friends, wellwishers, social media sites, donors, partners, other NGOs and the electorate of the constituency. The media was very committed to supporting our similar campaign during Assembly Elections earlier this year. We now request your continued support this time too.

Let us stop complaining about the filth and corruption in Public Life and do our bit to cleanse the system. Let us be the change that we want to see....

I wrote to back to my friend who had sent me that above email...
Dear xxx
When I check the source of funding for Association for Democratic Reforms (http://adrindia.org/content/donors) here - 2 of the 4 founders are foriegn organizations, inlcuding FORD foundation.

I wrote to both my friend expressing my reservations..
I checked the site of Assn for Democratic Founders. The first donor listed is FORD foundation. Hivos is based in Netherlands. I am not sure if there are more foreign funding agencies. OMDIYAR foundation is based in USA like FORD Foundation.

I am very skeptical of any foreign agencies getting involved in such grass roots level work. They can hijack the whole process and influence the outcomes.

I think http://makingdemocracywork.in/mdwi/?page_id=8 should dissociate from such funding sources.

Just my 2 np opinion..

-----------

In addition I also wrote to the Association for Democratic Reforms
Dear Sir/Madam

I came across your website accidentally and am very impressed with your work.

However, I must say I was disappointed when I saw that three of the four main funding agencies are foriegns (2 from USA and 1 from Netherlands).

I feel that for such crucial work you are dong taking money from outsider who do not necessarily had Indian interests as the primary goal is a good idea. Basically, this is allowing outside control the debate in the country.

Do any of you know more about this Association for Democratic Reforms?
ManjuJi see my recent post in NaMo thread:-http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 0#p1534112

Its about Democratic-Obama strategist Stephenie Cutter helping Rahul/Cong. They met in Google's Big Tent Activate summit in Delhi.

Turns out that OMDIYAR Network was Co-Sponsor of this Summit:-
http://www.theguardian.com/activate/med ... a-politics

From Wikipedia :-
Pierre Omidyar, the founder of eBay, and his wife, Pam, established Omidyar Network based on the belief that every person has the potential to make a difference.

The organization's headquarters are in Redwood City, CA. Omidyar Network also has employees in the UK, based in London, and in Mumbai, India, including Stephen King, the former head of the BBC World Trust.

The managing partner of Omidyar Network is Matt Bannick, the former general manager of eBay International. Stephen King, ex-BBC World Trust, Sal Giambanco, formerly of Paypal, and Jayant Sinha, formerly of McKinsey & Company, are also partners.

as a general thumb rule, the sons and daughters of developing country leaders have no trouble getting into places like harvard or oxbridge because the SD probably uses these a good opportunity to study and potentially influence future leaders. they will have a thick file ready for character assessment long before these folks complete studies and return to dynastic leadership.

and some of these links work well in the future because some american political leader or top civil official would have known them back in college days.
there are even courses in harvard on governance and a entire school of public policy wherein GOI also sends its top officials for refresher courses on how to run our affairs.
intellectual subservience is total...no point even whining about it.

Onion price rise will be "downfall" of Dikshit govt: Swaraj
BJP leader Sushma Swaraj on Tuesday said that the onion price rise issue was a case of "divine justice" as it would lead to the "downfall" of the Congress government which had used an earlier jump in the prices of the vegetable to oust the saffron party from power in Delhi.
"During her campaign against me (Chief Minister) Sheila Dixit would wear onion garlands. Congress made it a big issue. The same onion issue is now becoming the cause of the downfall of the Congress government," Swaraj said at the launch of a book authored by the BJP's prime ministerial candidate for Delhi, Harsha Vardhan, in New Delhi.
Referring to the upcoming Delhi Assembly elections, Swaraj said she would campaign extensively for the same and hold 100 meetings before the city cast its vote on Dec. 4.

"Harsh Vardhan has asked me to hold 100 meetings before the elections, to which I have agreed. After the Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh elections, I will devote all the time to Delhi elections," she said.