India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011

Following wise counsel to ignore transparent trolls, attempts to hijack the thread, clickbait, and other distractions, but taking part in other conversations.
SRajesh wrote: 05 Apr 2025 15:06 Amber Gji and Cyranoji
Given some reports of new deposits discovered but in Jharkand and AP/Telengana border areas how easy for these mining operations to be held hostage like the Vedanta/tuticorn project
And all BSR projects hten held hostage to US veto
My second question (sorry please indulge me);
How much of a set back (both interms of investments and project fructification/maturation) to the Thorium based or FBR type projects if the BSR is given green light over and above these projects??
I ask because there is no unlimited pot of money and Trumpwa is stirring that pot vigorously!!
Fair questions—but let’s ground the conversation in facts rather than panic.

First, comparing every mining effort in India to the Tuticorin episode ignores both the differences in local context and the institutional learning that’s happened since. It’s not 2018 anymore, and not every project is “held hostage” by the same actors or under the same conditions.

Second, the fear that all BSR projects are under a hypothetical U.S. veto seems more like a geopolitical ghost story than a policy reality. If that’s the level of trust we place in our institutions and strategic vision, we might as well give up on every critical tech sector.

As for your second question: the idea that funding BSR comes at the cost of FBR or thorium R&D presumes a zero-sum model that isn’t how major energy transitions typically work. India has always run parallel programs—with differing timelines and goals. Betting on BSR doesn’t mean abandoning the long game on thorium; it means adding an option with nearer-term dividends.

------------

https://stratnewsglobal.com/china/holte ... -reactors/

May be Kakodkar Ji knows a thing or two more than we do..?!
I've known Padma Vibhushan Kakodkar ji for a long time—as a guru and mentor. I also have a background in nuclear physics, with a degree from a reputable Indian university, so I understand the subject reasonably well.

Dr. Kakodkar's views are based on scientific reasoning and experience. It's essential to recognize that he's not attempting to predict the future like an astrologer might. Rather, he's offering a measured perspective based on current technological and policy realities. To suggest that he's dismissing all future potential of SMR research would be a gross misrepresentation of his position and a clear distortion of his nuanced and informed comments.

Let me break down his remarks in the above link in layman's language:

Concerns with Holtec, Not SMRs:
- Dr. Anil Kakodkar has concerns with Holtec, not with Small Modular Reactors (SMRs) themselves.

- Holtec has no track record in building or commissioning SMRs.
- Kakodkar questions whether Holtec's design meets India's safety regulations and energy needs.

OTOH Potential Benefits of Collaboration

Speeding Up Design and Construction: Kakodkar sees potential benefits in collaborating with Holtec
, such as speeding up the design and construction process for India's Bharat Small Reactor (BSR).
- He emphasizes the importance of having design and value addition happen in India, rather than relying on a ready-made product from abroad.

Summary
In summary, Kakodkar has concerns with Holtec's experience and design but does not explicitly oppose SMRs for India. Other conclusions would be a gross misrepresentation of his position and a clear distortion of his nuanced and informed comments

Holtec and its leader (Prof. KP Singh) are quite impressive and solid, not bull$hitters selling just ideas/imaginary products. They have set up their first SMR manufacturing plant in USA, and have strong partnerships with two major civilian nukular players Hyundai and Mitsubishi. And in Bharat they are tying up with L&T and Tata.

As for Dr. Kakodkar's comments, no harm in some friendly competition/criticism from legitimate competitors (i.e. not just another bunch of bull$hitters). Hopefully such comments will evoke "animal spirits" among all the players concerned, thus leading to win-wins for all. Bharat sarkar has provided $2.5 bn for indigenous SMR deployment. 8)

And of course, Modi sarkar is playing this very well: creating a robust and much-needed SMR ecosystem in Bharat ASAP through both external technology as well as our own SMR technology.

Vayutuvan wrote: 08 Apr 2025 07:03 I am reporting this post of @KL Dubey. This poster impugned that I am acting against the interests of India by calling me "compromised". They also called me "stalker". I have no interest in this poster other than the commonality of Understanding the US thread (this poster is not even an US citizen). If anybody can be compromised, this poster would be as by his own admission, his children are born US citizens while he is shuttling between the US and India.
-------------

In the US, and likely many places around the world, any nuclear power production plant has to be able withstand a large commercial aircraft (Boeing 767 equivalent) crashing into it - particularly after 9/11. Even research reactors are getting scrutiny on construction requirements. In Texas, Abilene Christian University (ACU) was having issues with a 1MW Thermal research reactor using molten salts out in west Texas. It took them more than 2 years to get clearance from the NRC.

https://www.ans.org/news/article-6394/a ... h-reactor/

Cleaned up the thread, please stick to topic and refrain from politics. All of you will get warnings if you persist - TIA

Moderator "suryag", thank you for removing the "vayutuvan" post.

Note that the same "vayutuvan" post is then rehashed/quoted by "mort walker" and is still on the thread. Kindly remove?

Mort Walker wrote: 08 Apr 2025 08:01
Vayutuvan wrote: 08 Apr 2025 07:03 I am reporting this post of @KL Dubey. This poster impugned that I am acting against the interests of India by calling me "compromised". They also called me "stalker". I have no interest in this poster other than the commonality of Understanding the US thread (this poster is not even an US citizen). If anybody can be compromised, this poster would be as by his own admission, his children are born US citizens while he is shuttling between the US and India.
-------------

In the US, and likely many places around the world, any nuclear power production plant has to be able withstand a large commercial aircraft (Boeing 767 equivalent) crashing into it - particularly after 9/11. Even research reactors are getting scrutiny on construction requirements. In Texas, Abilene Christian University (ACU) was having issues with a 1MW Thermal research reactor using molten salts out in west Texas. It took them more than 2 years to get clearance from the NRC.

https://www.ans.org/news/article-6394/a ... h-reactor/
Let's please focus on the on-topic discussion. The personal details and qualifications of some poster aren't relevant to the conversation. Ignoring this sidetrack and refocusing on the topic at hand ...

You're absolutely right—since 9/11, nuclear facilities in the U.S. have been subject to much stricter security and structural requirements, including the ability to withstand the impact of a large commercial aircraft like a Boeing 767. This is part of the broader DBT evaluation conducted by the NRC. While power reactors must meet the most stringent standards, even research reactors—particularly those using novel technologies—now face increased scrutiny.

That said, it's important to distinguish SMRs from conventional large-scale nuclear plants. SMRs represent a fundamentally different approach to nuclear energy: smaller, modular, inherently safer, and designed for flexibility. They are not simply downsized versions of existing reactors—they’re built around new principles for deployment and safety.

This distinction is increasingly relevant for India, where growing energy demand, climate goals, and industrial development are driving interest in advanced nuclear technologies. In 2023, the U.S. and India formalized a strategic collaboration to accelerate SMR development and deployment in India, aligning clean energy goals with geopolitical and economic partnerships.

Most notably, in March 2024, Holtec International signed an agreement with Indian authorities to explore the deployment of its SMR-160 design in India. The design is a 160 MWe pressurized light water reactor with passive safety features and modular construction. This move marks a significant step toward commercial SMR deployment in India, complementing domestic efforts.

On the Indian side, BARC continues to lead in advanced reactor R&D. Its AHWR, though not an SMR in size, shares key features like passive safety and the ability to use thorium, an area where India has a strategic resource advantage. BARC is also exploring compact reactor designs suitable for decentralized power and industrial applications.

As previously discussed, SMRs offer several strategic advantages:
• Scalable and modular deployment
• Enhanced passive safety systems
• Reduced siting and infrastructure requirements
• Multi-use applications (desalination, hydrogen, process heat)
• Suitability for remote or off-grid locations

While the U.S. example of a university molten salt research reactor (like the one at ACU) showcases innovation on the academic and regulatory front, India’s combination of domestic development and international collaboration, including the recent Holtec agreement, positions it as a key player in the global SMR transition. These efforts together signal a shift toward clean, distributed, and secure nuclear energy systems tailored for the 21st century.

The questions I would have asked Anil Kakodkar ji if I knew him as a teacher and mentor are the following: Why and how was the US/Holtec chosen as partner for SMRs? What are the risks? What alternatives exist ? What is best for Bharat?

There was no competitive process involving Westinghouse, GE & Holtec as far as we know.
When venturing into a new highly sensitive and highly restricted tech area like SMRs, the risks are compounded when you go with a partner who has never produced even a single working prototype or working product.

My guess is this: Holtec was perhaps the only company the US admin OKd to collaborate with India. We may not have had much of a choice. Since there is a strong intent to do something in this area, the GoI went ahead with a suboptimal partner. That its headed by a PIO may have had some weightage in the decision.

India doesnt have a printing press like the Americans do to throw money around. The best case scenario would be that we have our own indigenous SMR design on paper, we may be feeling confident of succeeding if we had a couple of areas supported by a videshi partner.

India has taken such risks before in other areas like LCA, Kaveri, early stages of ISRO etc. But the results as we all know are quite mixed. At the highest policy making levels, one can understand and perhaps even applaud the confidence shown by GoI leadership in giving a go ahead and green lighting the partnership.

However, the choice of partner, evaluating its credibility is mostly up to India's Atomic Energy Commission, BARC ityadi and the GoI PMO/Cabinet will go with their recommendation because there is a strong intent and they trust these institutions have done their homework.

Did we explore a Russian alternative? IMO we should. Since we collaborated with them in the past, like for ex the Arihant design (though not exactly the SMR we want for civilian power generation), and it worked out. Russians have a couple of working SMRs, the US has none.

Lastly the Holtec deal comes with some very unacceptable legal conditions regarding private ownership of the plants (if and when they are designed, built, proven and commissioned) and liability in case the plant ends up leaking radiation which can bee attributed to a design flaw (if we took the partner's design) or to a supplied component.

Here the Holtec website communiqué makes some vague reference to "global norms"
"We understand that the GOI is actively working on legislation to permit private sector investment in the nuclear sector and to align the suppliers’ financial exposure with global norms."
What are these global norms wrt widely deployed SMRs in dozens across a 1.4B population country? Which other countries have deployed SMRs widely and what experience they have had to establish these "global norms" ? Zilch, Nada. What Holtec is asking for is a total liability waiver. Like Pfizer did for supplying vaccines and got booted by GoI, very rightly. On top it they have audaciously suggested Bharat should quickly mend its laws while adding some marketing language and motherhood bla bla statements.
Considering India’s similar breakthroughs in other cutting edge technology areas such as space, drone, semi-conductors, and jet engines in recent years, we are reasonably certain that the necessary laws will be passed this year to remove the barriers to enable the rise of nuclear power in the country. With the necessary legislation passed by Lok Sabha, we believe that the nuclear renaissance, now sweeping the world, will arrive in that vast land transforming its clean energy generation landscape.
This is looking like an oversell of a product (by a privately held company with accompanying opacity) they do not have, have never made one, while pressuring Bharat to quickly amend its laws and referring to our elected body of representatives. Such tactics IMVVHO smell like a rat, and make me suspicious of snake oil being peddled. Especially given the past history of collaborations with the US, and our own week-kneedneess in enforcing contractual obligations.

Posters who conflate my objections to this deal with Holtech with a total rejection of SMRs are not reading my posts, Kakodkar jis interview or SMR's statements carefully or critically. I'll leave it at that. I won't flatter them trying to justify I'm pro-india or pro-this or anti-that. Those who read my posts for what they are, are free to draw their own conclusions.

They are not simply downsized versions of existing reactors—they’re built around new principles for deployment and safety.
If they are so safe, then why Holtec is asking for liability waiver I wonder.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source= ... CZXvqw2t_E
An article from BARC benefits of SMR in improving rural economy in India

Cyrano wrote: 08 Apr 2025 13:23
They are not simply downsized versions of existing reactors—they’re built around new principles for deployment and safety.
If they are so safe, then why Holtec is asking for liability waiver I wonder.
One should think through the information available and draw appropriate conclusions.

1) There is no news item that states US DOE has approved "only" Holtec and rejected any others. It is the first one approved by US sarkar to set up SMRs in India and to transfer some/all technology to Indian partners namely L&T and Tata, thereby resurrecting the 2007 civilian nuclear agreement between India-US.

2) There are other SMR developers. Some may be in process of negotiation with DOE, some may not be willing to transfer technology to India, and DOE may forbid others from this. We do not know. So no need to jump the gun. Others outside the US may also be seeking approval from their governments.

3) There is no news item that states Bharat sarkar has somehow "selected" or "approved" Holtec as a supplier. India may be receiving enquiries from many companies in many countries that may be tying up with Indian entities/users. There is an open tender/RFP issued by NPCIL on Dec 31, 2024. https://www.npcil.nic.in/content/1012_1 ... posal.aspx

4) As for Holtec, it has applied for an NRC license for its SMR-300. A large volume of application documents/details are available publicly:
https://www.nrc.gov/reactors/new-reacto ... mr300.html

5) As of now the only financial anouncement is $2.5 bn from bharat sarkar to develop and build several indigenous SMRs by 2033.

The Indian energy sector is such that there is space for everything from the lowliest solar panel to SMRs to 1GW monster reactors. However, if it’s GoI money, and given the net power deficit it would be concentrating on the larger reactors simply due to economies of scale. I am curious where SMRs would go: we don’t have places like Russia has in far north that are so remote that it’s hard to provide energy consistently which is a good SMR usecase. Secondly, Indian law doesn’t allow for private operators of nuclear reactors so I wonder how the captive power use case works - unless NPCL operates it for that customer.

Another point to note: India is one of the densest population regions in the world. Reactors require exclusion zones and security to cater for accidents. While SMR design would mean the size of such things is small, it still would require one. How many private customers can afford this and where? Already GoI is running out of places to plonk its large reactors…

@Amberji, what is the fundamental difference between a boomer nuclear submarine reactor and SMR? I understand SSK reactors are optimised for fast dashes and hence are designed for load spikes, but would a boomer reactor should be similar to a SMR? Unless of course it’s a molten salt based design.

^^SMR will be for captive power uses. There is likely to be a very large industrial demand (e.g. entire SEZs, industrial parks, etc).

All the goremint lands recovered from wakf mullahs should be more than enough :rotfl: (joking)

Regarding the SMR hazards and security...see the example documents from the Holtec pre-app, and also the approved application of NuScale.

Bharat is moving quickly to amend the IAE act (i.e. will privatize nuclear sector) and the liability act. Google it, its all over the news for the last 1 month.

You're absolutely right—since 9/11, nuclear facilities in the U.S. have been subject to much stricter security and structural requirements, including the ability to withstand the impact of a large commercial aircraft like a Boeing 767. This is part of the broader DBT evaluation conducted by the NRC. While power reactors must meet the most stringent standards, even research reactors—particularly those using novel technologies—now face increased scrutiny.
Yes, these things are fairly routine and done carefully. I posted NRC examples.

Another interesting angle is modular technologies for fuel reprocessing. Some years ago my team did an assessment of such technologies. DOE reports (some published). Several modular separation technologies (including some of mine covered by US and PCT patents) could form a compact system on site for SMR fuel reprocessing.

Bharat is moving quickly to amend the IAE act (i.e. will privatize nuclear sector) and the liability act. Google it, its all over the news for the last 1 month.
Wrong move. Especially if this is done as a prerequisite to developing even a working prototype of an SMR in India which could be a decade away, in the name of PPP and attracting US investment and tech transfer, while the US itself doesn't have a working SMR.

Our GoI leadership are not duffers, they have constituted committees which will do their work and produce a report - no timelines are mentioned, so given the complexity of the subject, this could be in a year or two.
https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/ne ... s?from=mdr

From the link above:
"The Task Force is looking into various aspects like build, own, operation of nuclear power plants by the private sector, nuclear safety, security, safeguards, fuel procurement/fabrication, waste management, spent fuel reprocessing," Singh said.
OK, lets see what they will recommend.

The next part is of real concern:
He said a separate task force is also looking into the Civil Liability for Nuclear Damage (CLND) Act to address the concerns raised by private suppliers.
The CLND Act is considered to be the biggest hurdle to private sector participation due to a provision in it that pins liabilities on nuclear suppliers, in addition to the operator, in case of damage.
The concerns stem from section 17(b) of the Act that provides a right of recourse to the operator when "the nuclear incident has resulted as a consequence of an act of supplier or his employee, which includes supply of equipment or material with patent or latent defects or sub-standard services".
So, in future, if an unfortunate N incident happens and if the chain of causality points to a faulty design or subsystem or component or fuel pack etc. provided by Holtec or some other private supplier, and these SMRs are built in relatively densely populated areas and given our density, millions of Indian citizen are affected, potentially also contaminating air, water and soil, rendering water unfit for consumption or agriculture, soil contamination leading to millions of acres of land unfit for cultivation for decades, long term health consequences like increased incidence of cancers, birth defects in newborns etc etc (remember Chernobyl?) then the supplier like Holtec expects to walk away scot free.

How is this in Bharat's interest ?

One can argue that if an incident does occur, then no private company can pay for all that HUGE liability. Thats correct, and law makers know this. The reason such provisions are made is to remind and bind the supplier to a risk of bankruptcy and jail so that no corners are cut and utmost diligence is followed at every step, which minimises the chances of a disaster actually occurring.

Amending our laws in this way amounts de facto to Bharat (i.e. Indian people) offering its sovereign guarantee to a foreign company against future liability because in the end, GoI cannot walkaway from the consequences of a N disaster on its territory and the people of Bharat, on top of possible deaths, losses and sufferings will have to clean up their own country.

If the US is so confident of its tech prowess and its companies like Holtec, why can't the US offer it's sovereign guarantee to take on liability for its companies (from whom it collects taxes and derives global geopolitical leverage) in case they create a disaster in Bharat?

If you react to the above proposition and say "its absurd and won't happen", then by the same token why isn't amending our liability laws to absolve liability for foreign companies who are here not for charity but for profit and leverage for decades in future "absurd and won't happen" ?

If the only justification to amend our laws in favour of private foreign companies is "or else, we won't get the SMR tech" then let me remind you once again that the US itself DOES NOT HAVE A WORKING SMR till date. And please get yourself vaccinated against brochuritis ;)

PS: Not addressing any specific poster, just developing the counter argument since we are all "argumentative Indians" :)

The proposed legal amendments are for increasing nuclear energy to 100 GW by 2047, according to GoI. It doesnt say it is for SMR.

Source please.
The ET report I quoted seems to indicate 100GW and SMR quoting Fin Min NS. One can nit pick saying not in the same sentence but the intent and pronouncements by foreign companies seems to indicate it's the same issue.

Why would we need amendment of laws just to increase N power production?!

If amending CLND is just for absolving indian companies, then they themselves cannot put liability on foreign partner (back to back principle routinely applied when negotiating contracts). And in case of any disaster, GoI picks up the tab and all PPP partners go scot free. Not good at all.

There are still enough people alive who remember the Bhopal Union Carbide disaster and how the Americans escaped. If the present govt attempts to dilute/absolve liability by amending CLND in anyway then the first ones to oppose will be the Sangh Parivar, and all the allies. The opposition which has no purchase on bjp on any issue will latch on to this issue and the bjp govt will be in big trouble.

Won't be a good bargain losing the govt for the sake of SMRs. I hope posters here and the powers that be realise what the hell they are trying to rake up.

It's better to let AEC and BARC plod along and come up with a fully indigenous SMR with some indian private sector participation but the plants should be run by GoI, whenever that comes, hopefully in a decade. Rope in the Russians and even the French for specific 'consulting' as we have we have done before.

The sky won't fall, nor will the Govt.

Cyrano wrote: 09 Apr 2025 19:35 There are still enough people alive who remember the Bhopal Union Carbide disaster and how the Americans escaped. If the present govt attempts to dilute/absolve liability by amending CLND in anyway then the first ones to oppose will be the Sangh Parivar, and all the allies. The opposition which has no purchase on bjp on any issue will latch on to this issue and the bjp govt will be in big trouble.

Won't be a good bargain losing the govt for the sake of SMRs. I hope posters here and the powers that be realise what the hell they are trying to rake up.

It's better to let AEC and BARC plod along and come up with a fully indigenous SMR with some indian private sector participation but the plants should be run by GoI, whenever that comes, hopefully in a decade. Rope in the Russians and even the French for specific 'consulting' as we have we have done before.

The sky won't fall, nor will the Govt.
The era of slow "plodding" and becoming an also-ran technology follower/buyer is ending with Modi sarkar.

According to some posters in this forum, Bharat should stick with "koila-tel-paad" and should not go for hydrogen, batteries, solar, wind, nuclear, or climate change mitigation leadership.

Everyone is well aware that "koila-tel-paad" will have a significant share of the energy mix for another decade or two at most. In order to transition to a renewable/carbon-free energy while ensuring plentiful supply at reasonable cost, massive efforts must start now. Otherwise we will end up again buying technology externally at unnecessarily high costs.

Bharat sarkar has a thoughtful and ambitious energy vision that has already yielded significant success and will scale greater heights. The aim is to become a world leader (and certainly leader of the global south) in energy security and climate mitigation.

Cyrano wrote: 09 Apr 2025 19:35 There are still enough people alive who remember the Bhopal Union Carbide disaster and how the Americans escaped. If the present govt attempts to dilute/absolve liability by amending CLND in anyway then the first ones to oppose will be the Sangh Parivar, and all the allies. The opposition which has no purchase on bjp on any issue will latch on to this issue and the bjp govt will be in big trouble.
I am sure that is what you wish for Bharat (I am being sarcastic here, to clarify).

On one hand you show great faith in GoI and say "they are not duffers", in which case they will take care to first talk to all constituencies/stakeholders and get them on board before bringing an amendment bill, right ? That is why the committees have been formed and work on legal amendments will begin later.

Meanwhile the NEM (which is within the public sector) will continue its "slow plodding" to make 5 indigenous SMRs by 2033. SMR history in India doesn't begin in 2025, its been ongoing for decades, including development of the propulsion reactors onboard Arihant-class subs....some design elements can be borrowed.
Last edited by KL Dubey on 10 Apr 2025 23:14, edited 1 time in total.

Cyrano wrote: 09 Apr 2025 19:14 Source please.
The ET report I quoted seems to indicate 100GW and SMR quoting Fin Min NS. One can nit pick saying not in the same sentence but the intent and pronouncements by foreign companies seems to indicate it's the same issue.
^^ Obfuscation is not necessary. FM Sitaraman has made clear statements.

Watch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TLlWZtDDpVA (from 0:34 onwards).

100 GW nukular by 2047 --> focuses on legal/regulatory amendments. How the eff can the FM project (22 years ahead) that all the additional 92 GW will come from a single technology called SMR ? Use common sense.

Nukular energy mission ---> focuses specifically on SMR with a specific Rs 200 bn sarkari investment.

The two are separate announcements. Each in 1-2 sentences, like all the other announcements she made in the same speech.

KL Dubey wrote: 10 Apr 2025 08:25 The era of slow "plodding" and becoming an also-ran technology follower/buyer is ending with Modi sarkar.

According to some posters in this forum, Bharat should stick with "koila-tel-paad" and should not go for hydrogen, batteries, solar, wind, nuclear, or climate change mitigation leadership.

Everyone is well aware that "koila-tel-paad" will have a significant share of the energy mix for another decade or two at most. In order to transition to a renewable/carbon-free energy while ensuring plentiful supply at reasonable cost, massive efforts must start now. Otherwise we will end up again buying technology externally at unnecessarily high costs.

Bharat sarkar has a thoughtful and ambitious energy vision that has already yielded significant success and will scale greater heights. The aim is to become a world leader (and certainly leader of the global south) in energy security and climate mitigation.
I have reported this post for its inappropriate content.

This post refers to natural gas & propane energy as "paad" AKA farts. Natural gas and LPG energy are critical to India's development and in fact delivers more energy to Indian households than does solar & wind energy combined.

In 2024 India used 31 million metric tons of LPG, an increase of 7% annually. This is equivalent to 837 billion KwHr (Units).
In 2024 India used 72.1 billion cubic meters of NG, an increase of 12% annually. This is equivalent to 764 billion KwHr (Units).

Combined at 30% efficiency, this is 480 billion Units of energy.
Solar & wind contribution for 2024 is 452 billion Units - taken from CEA website.

I really wish people would get educated and realize that nuclear energy and fossil fuels are the most energy dense sources available.

When ideology and self interest mix, objectivity and common sense go out of the window.

Moderator: given that Holtec may operate in India, I think this is relevant though it is US-centric. The posts highlight Holtec capabilities as well as that it has the backing of the US government in the form of loan guarantees.

Holtec is planning small modular reactors at the Palisades Nuclear Plant in Michigan. Palisades Nuclear Plant is a regular nuclear power plant that shut down in 2022 after 40 years of operation. Holtec is in the process of restarting the Palisades Nuclear Plant as well.

US NRC documents on Holtec's SMR-300 project are linked from:
https://www.nrc.gov/reactors/new-reacto ... mr300.html

US NRC documents on the restart of Palisades Nuclear Plant are linked from:
https://www.nrc.gov/info-finder/reactors/pali.html

News-item:
https://www.cnbc.com/2025/03/22/michiga ... tors-.html
The owner of the plant, Holtec International, has said it hopes to restart Palisades this fall, subject to approval by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission. The restart project is backed by a $1.5 billion loan guarantee from the Department of Energy, $1.3 billion from the Department of Agriculture, and $300 million in grants from the state of Michigan.

The Energy Department on Monday approved the release of nearly $57 million from the loan, a sign that the Trump administration supports the project amid the turmoil and uncertainty in Washington over federal funding for projects started under the Biden administration.

But Holtec is facing major repairs to Palisades’ aging steam generators that could delay a schedule the NRC has called demanding. Holtec has disclosed to regulators that its inspections have found damaged tubes in the plant’s two generators, which were installed in 1990.
Dec 2020 page, the 10 designs the US DOE is supporting:
https://www.energy.gov/ne/articles/info ... evelopment

Financial viability of Holtec is only a small part of the larger debate on SMRs in Indian context. Nobody here is arguing that Nuclear Power is bad or whether India should have nuclear power plants.

There are several issues with SMRs including the most important issue that SMRs are not proven technology. Sure Holtec has plans to build SMRs in Michigan. That would be a first for them and for the US as well.

Also, since Holtec is a US company, GOTUS can deny technology going forward, at anytime really. On top of that, liability insurance, tech transfer issues are there as well.

India's nuclear regulator, the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB), has approved the site for a new nuclear power project in Rajasthan called Mahi Banswara Rajasthan Atomic Power Project. The project will feature four Indian-designed 700 MWe pressurised heavy water reactors (PHWRs). The AERB's approval is the first step in the licensing process and is valid for five years. The project is part of a fleet approach to build ten new units across several locations in India. A joint venture between Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd (NPCIL) and National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) will develop the Mahi Banswara units.

Indian regulator approves new nuclear site

Om Shanti.
Remembering the legacy of Dr. M R Srinivasan, a pioneer and doyen of India's nuclear power program. His contributions, from working on India's first nuclear research reactor Apsara to leading the development of 18 power units, have been instrumental in shaping the country's nuclear energy landscape. A true nation-builder and mentor to many, his passing leaves a void in the scientific community. May his legacy continue to inspire future generations of scientists and engineers.
MR Srinivasan, doyen of India's nuclear power programme, dies at 95

As India plans to set up 5 SMRs, Russian Nuclear major Rosatom involved in Kudankulam project offers tech transfer based on its 6 decades old experience; France & India working on collaboration for SMRs; US has shown interest

Mort Walker wrote: 10 Apr 2025 11:33
KL Dubey wrote: 10 Apr 2025 08:25 The era of slow "plodding" and becoming an also-ran technology follower/buyer is ending with Modi sarkar.

I have reported this post for its inappropriate content.

This post refers to natural gas & propane energy as "paad" AKA farts. Natural gas and LPG energy are critical to India's development and in fact delivers more energy to Indian households than does solar & wind energy combined.

In 2024 India used 31 million metric tons of LPG, an increase of 7% annually. This is equivalent to 837 billion KwHr (Units).
In 2024 India used 72.1 billion cubic meters of NG, an increase of 12% annually. This is equivalent to 764 billion KwHr (Units).

Combined at 30% efficiency, this is 480 billion Units of energy.
Solar & wind contribution for 2024 is 452 billion Units - taken from CEA website.

I really wish people would get educated and realize that nuclear energy and fossil fuels are the most energy dense sources available.

Mort Walker ji,

Just putting this out here for information sake

https://www.pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage ... ID=2115158

India has sufficient domestic coal reserves to contribute to the country's energy security and it accounts for 55% of the country's energy needs.

According to the Geological Survey of India (GSI), as on 01.04.2024, the coal and lignite resources of the country are 389.42 Billion Tonnes and 47.29 Billion tonnes respectively.

Also,

Dhanbad – One of the oldest in Jharkhand and the richest coalfields of India.

It is the storehouse of the best metallurgical coal i.e coking coal.

Gondwana Coalfield. Giridih (Karbhari Coal Field) gives the finest coking coal in India for metallurgical purposes

OT: but wasnt it always said that Indian coal was inferior and sooty with less thermal output and we had to import it?

chetak wrote: 21 May 2025 05:53 As India plans to set up 5 SMRs, Russian Nuclear major Rosatom involved in Kudankulam project offers tech transfer based on its 6 decades old experience; France & India working on collaboration for SMRs; US has shown interest

Excellent. As I predicted in my previous post, it is not just Holtec in the picture, others will surely pitch in with offers and create a competitive environment.

Tanaji wrote: 21 May 2025 17:37 OT: but wasnt it always said that Indian coal was inferior and sooty with less thermal output and we had to import it?

That is not all, Tanaji saar. there are massive underground fires that have been burning for years in the coal belts of jharkhand, bihar, and some other places but the "authorities" have simply given up trying to put them out.

Our national wealth is slowly burning away, and no one seems to care

Chetakji - Yes, it's true—and it's a serious loss. In places like Jharia in Jharkhand, underground coal fires have been burning for over 70 years, wasting huge amounts of valuable coal while not enough is being done to stop them. The authorities haven’t put in the resources needed, and entire communities live with the danger and pollution every day.

BTW, India’s not alone in this—there are similar fires in Centralia, Pennsylvania in the U.S., Australia’s Burning Mountain which has been smoldering for thousands of years, and big coal fires in China too. It’s a global problem that’s tough to fix and often ignored.

KL Dubey wrote: 21 May 2025 21:45
chetak wrote: 21 May 2025 05:53 As India plans to set up 5 SMRs, Russian Nuclear major Rosatom involved in Kudankulam project offers tech transfer based on its 6 decades old experience; France & India working on collaboration for SMRs; US has shown interest

Excellent. As I predicted in my previous post, it is not just Holtec in the picture, others will surely pitch in with offers and create a competitive environment.
Great to see this taking shape! The growing interest from multiple global players like Rosatom, France, and the U.S. shows that India’s SMR push is being taken seriously on the world stage. As you rightly predicted, Holtec won't be alone—this healthy competition can only benefit India.

Exciting times ahead for our nuclear energy roadmap!

^ Thanks, I agree.

Latest news:

AERB approves Rajasthan site for new 2.8 GW power plant with 4x700 MW indigenous PHWRs:
https://www.enerdata.net/publications/d ... sthan.html

Push towards 100 GW nukular by 2047, two informative news items outlining the legal/policy issues and progress to date:
https://www.policycircle.org/policy/ind ... atisation/
https://www.msn.com/en-in/news/world/go ... r-AA1F2PZg

Some of the legal issues have been hard to crack in the past, but Modi hai to mumkin hai.

On slightly different topic...

ISOMED 2.0 at BRIT-DAE, Trombay:

ISOMED 2.0 is the upgraded gamma radiation sterilisation facility at Trombay, run by BRIT under DAE. It’s a major step forward in using nuclear technology for public health—reliable, clean, and efficient.

Originally set up 50 years ago, ISOMED has long been central to sterilising medical supplies—things like syringes, implants, surgical tools—without heat or chemicals.

Dr. A.K. Mohanty called it a milestone in India's peaceful nuclear programme Shri Vivek Bhasin (BARC Director) emphasized expanding this model across India, and Shri Pradip Mukherjee (BRIT Chief) highlighted its role in boosting both healthcare and industry.

ISOMED 2.0 shows how nuclear science continues to quietly and safely serve everyday life—this time, by keeping our medical infrastructure sterile and ready.
Link: https://x.com/DAEIndia/status/1927378230635278427

xpost:
India Just Gave Turkey a Reality Check – Using Nuclear Physics without using Missiles or Drones!

- Special to BRF

So here's what went down.

After Turkey openly backed Pakistan during Operation Sindoor—sending drones, pilots, and all—they had the audacity to ask India for thorium nuclear tech. Yup, thorium, the stuff we have been quietly mastering for decades thanks to the genius of Homi Bhabha and other scientists.

But India? Cool, calm, and strategic. Flat out said no. 8)

Why? Because Erdogan wasn’t just looking for clean energy. He’s been dreaming of turning Turkey into a nuclear power and positioning himself as the leader of the Muslim world. The whole “peaceful nuclear program” thing? Just a cover.

Thing is, Turkey has a ton of thorium—over 380,000 tonnes. But thorium isn’t plug-and-play. You need serious tech to turn Thorium-232 into Uranium-233, which can be used in weapons if someone wants to go that route. And guess who’s really good at that tech? India.

Our thorium reactors are part of a long-term, peaceful plan to keep India energy-secure. But we also know this tech is powerful. We guard it for a reason.

So when Erdogan came knocking (again and again—he’s visited India three times), hoping to get in on that tech, India gave a polite but firm “No, thanks.

And after Turkey sided with Pakistan? That no became a very strategic "Not a chance."

This is classic Modi diplomacy: no chest-thumping, no missiles flying—just letting science, policy, and national interest do the talking. And honestly? IMO It’s the perfect response.

Turkey wanted power. India showed it already has it—without firing a shot.

Now this quiet strategic victory is making headlines in mainstream media—thanks to the new doctrine of Modi:
Nuclear bomb, dream of becoming Muslim world leader, India exposed Turkey’s thorium plan, Erdogan angry

The 700 MW PHWR design is not dense enough in my opinion. The current commercially deployed windmill designs are at 15 MW. There are 26 MW designs on the anvil, so 26 of these will match these.

Now I am aware that they are 2 completely separate power sources - one is tailor made for base loads and can run day and night. The other is dependant on vagaries of nature. But 26 of these will cost far less to deploy, and will have less opposition.

We really need 1.5 GW monster reactors.

Allow me to give a little background and basics for the above, for those who are interested.

India is decades ahead in thorium nuclear technology compared to the rest of the world. Here's a where India stands globally and why it matters:

India’s Position in Global Thorium Technology
- Pioneer in Thorium Reactor Research;

India began serious thorium research as far back as the 1950s under Dr. Homi Bhabha’s three-stage nuclear program. (Your truly has quite a bit of interest and acquired some knowledge studying in India)

Most other countries focused on uranium and plutonium-based reactors, while India built a long-term roadmap to use thorium -- we had massive thorium reserves (est. 25–30% of global total, especially in Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Odisha)

- The Three-Stage Nuclear Power Program - everyone here knows this"
Stage 1: Use pressurized heavy water reactors (PHWRs) to use natural uranium.
Stage 2: Use fast breeder reactors (FBRs) to breed plutonium.
Stage 3: Use thorium in Advanced Heavy Water Reactors (AHWRs) to breed Uranium-233 from Thorium-232.

Stage 3 is almost unique to India—no other country has pursued this path with the same consistency or commitment.

India has developed an AHWR design capable of using thorium as a major fuel component.
It’s passively safe (no meltdown risk even without operator input).
It uses U-233 bred from thorium as fuel, along with plutonium or LEU .

Construction-ready, but full-scale deployment has been conservative due to regulatory and geopolitical caution.

Rest of the World Stands in behind -
- USA: Did some research in the 1960s (e.g., the Molten Salt Reactor Experiment at Oak Ridge), but abandoned thorium after focusing on weapons-grade plutonium.

= China: Has recently revived interest and is building experimental thorium molten salt reactors (TMSRs) in the Gobi desert. Still behind India.
Europe (mainly Norway & France) Research ongoing but limited. Norway tested thorium fuel in conventional reactors.

Russia: More focused on fast breeders and uranium-plutonium cycles, though it has acknowledged thorium’s potential.

Why This Matters:
India’s thorium tech offers energy security without weapons proliferation risks.
It provides a cleaner, safer nuclear path with less long-lived waste.
It’s now a strategic asset, especially in a world shifting away from fossil fuels.

So, when Turkey came asking for thorium tech, India wasn’t just saying no to a country—it was protecting its self interest .

Just for fun - Can you answer this - without looking it up ..

Q.Which was the first princely state to declare its intention to remain independent in 1946 due to its strategic location and monopoly over monazite (a mineral rich in thorium)?
(a) Hyderabad
(b) Junagadh
(c) Kashmir
(d) Travancore