India-Australia News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-Australia News and Discussion

I thought India had a policy not to accept known spies as ambassadors or high commissoners. In fact Frank Wisner had to wait for quite sometime and get confirmation that he was never a spy in his early career. it was his father with same name who was in intelligence.

Most likely the Ozzie is an analyst which is beig sensationalized as a spy.

And kudos to him to reach such high position.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

ramana wrote:I thought India had a policy not to accept known spies as ambassadors or high commissoners. In fact Frank Wisner had to wait for quite sometime and get confirmation that he was never a spy in his early career. it was his father with same name who was in intelligence.

Most likely the Ozzie is an analyst which is beig sensationalized as a spy.
Certainly sensationalized,but the Oz govt has the Office of National Assessments(intelligence) which looks at internal,economic and strategic issues ranging from financial fraud and entry of foreign firms to gang violence.However Peter himself is a diplomat serving as envoy to Malaysia in the past and his position is not considered as a spy,its more like the DIG,similar to the NSG DIG who is not a commando himself.He just heads the organisation and direction is from the govt through the PM's office.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Noticeably, there is change in tone used by Police now. Police has used term 'gentleman' for first time whilst referring to Indian youth. Police didnt gave a sh*t before and attitude was 'self protect yourself' when it came to any sort of crime against Indians.
Police were called to Wigram Street at Harris Park, in Sydney's west, just before 9pm (AEST) on Monday after an Indian man in his early 20s was attacked by a group of Lebanese men.

Parramatta Local Area Commander Superintendent Robert Redfern said there was a second, separate assault of an another Indian man at the same time in the same area.

"One gentleman did not wish to proceed at all and the other one received very minor injuries," Supt Redfern told ABC Radio.

"I don't think there's any suggestion that they are racially motivated.

"There has been some history of students being attacked, not just in Harris Park, that's been an issue in the community.
Perhaps its too early to judge anything.

Indians in Australia Rally Against Attacks

http://www.abc.net.au/am/content/2009/s2592714.htm

Okay, so what are these Indian protesters barking about now?
DI BAIN: Twenty-six-year-old Jimit Shah says he was involved in the fight.

JIMIT SHAH: I just come out the station and I just near to my house, and I just see some of the Indians behind me, and suddenly some Lebanese come over there, and just they hit the Indian peoples, and they are my brothers.
Uhh, Lebanese? So why the hell blame the Aussies, if the attackers are Lebanese?
Looks like our Indian youths are just in a frenzy, as usual. Now if someone suffers a dog attack, they'll come out and protest against "local intolerance".

Sanjay M wrote:Indians in Australia Rally Against Attacks

JIMIT SHAH: I just come out the station and I just near to my house, and I just see some of the Indians behind me, and suddenly some Lebanese come over there, and just they hit the Indian peoples, and they are my brothers.
Uhh, Lebanese? So why the hell blame the Aussies, if the attackers are Lebanese?
Looks like our Indian youths are just in a frenzy, as usual. Now if someone suffers a dog attack, they'll come out and protest against "local intolerance".
There are plenty of Aussies of Lebanese origin. Immigrants mostly.....The attackers are not always goras apparently. The Oz police I believe has not released the races of the attackers so far.

pgbhat wrote:

There are plenty of Aussies of Lebanese origin. Immigrants mostly.....The attackers are not always goras apparently. The Oz police I believe has not released the races of the attackers so far.

This is intelligent logic. Using the same excuse it is not wrong for the US to give aid to Pakistan because Pakistanis are friendly to the US - but only Arab and other foreign militants attack Americans.

The report about Indian's effectively taking the law into their own hands is a concern and displays a lack of faith in the politicos and police.

There is an urgent requirement from Kevin Rudd, John Brumby and the Police to show leadership to resolve the festering issue before it develops into community warfare and creates baggage which lasts for a generation or more.

Australia in general and Indian's in particular have remained largely free of ethnic divides seen in many other countries.

The Indian grievance is genuine but the process of the law has to be followed or the risk is we are also painted with the same brush as the prepetrators. We may win some (hooligan) battles but our small number mean we will inevitably loose the war.

Efforts and energies have to be directed from the GoI, consular and community leaders downwards and the local populace have to keep the pressure on the politicos and police until justice is served.

shiv wrote: This is intelligent logic. Using the same excuse it is not wrong for the US to give aid to Pakistan because Pakistanis are friendly to the US - but only Arab and other foreign militants attack Americans.
Shiv saar what I meant to say was Aussie police will not release the race of the attackers that is all... they being "politically correct and all".
I DID NOT mean to imply goras cannot be racist or trying to defend "gora" behaviour. The lebanese origin of "some" attackers was released by one of the newspapers AFAIK.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Sanjay M wrote:Indians in Australia Rally Against Attacks

It was an impromptu sit in similar to the one at Flinders/Swanson intersection not led by any student union or hack.
The lebanese or lebos as popularly known do this sort of stuff to establish a fear generally to earn a reputation of being more fearsome than the vogs(italian/serbian/croation) immigrants.they simply took advantage of the situation due to overt reporting by the media.

The Lebos love confrontation as they are hot blooded,and have proven to ask for trouble in the past like the Cornulla and Maroubra where they used to attack 'white kids' for no reason until the locals decided to give them a piece of their mind.It wasnt soon after some bigot from Pauline Hanson's party retaliated with a another group of equally idiotic fools.

Indian students rally over Sydney attack

Overnight, hundreds of young men blocked an intersection at Harris Park in Western Sydney in a hastily organised protest against violence. The protesters claim they came onto the streets when two young Indian students were harassed earlier in the night. They say the attacks are becoming more frequent and police aren't doing enough to stop them.

ASHLEY HALL: Indian students say they won't stop protesting against racial violence until they feel safe in Australia.

Overnight, hundreds of young men blocked an intersection at Harris Park in Western Sydney in a hastily organised protest against the violence.

The protesters claim they came onto the streets when two young Indian students were harassed earlier in the night.

Before long, they were confronted by 30 police officers and dogs.

The protesters say the attacks are becoming more frequent and police aren't doing enough to stop them.

Di Bain was there. And a warning: her report contains some coarse language.

(Sound of rally)

DI BAIN: It was a spontaneous rally - more vocal than violent.

(Sound of rally)

About 30 officers and police dogs are trying to contain the crowd who claim two Indian men were attacked by a gang earlier in the night.

Student Sumit Purdani tells his version of events.

SUMIT PURDANI: Some other ethnic group was here, and there were around six - five or six - cars. And they attacked a couple of people who were walking from the station.

Then they got assaulted; some other guys got assaulted as well in this particular thing. Then some people came forward to release them, to clear it out and then the police came into position and they have actually arrested a couple of Indians, a couple of them to talk. It is assault.

Whoever tried to clear out the situation, they are the ones that got arrested, so exactly the people what are asking for just to release those people who were actually trying to solve our problem, who are actually trying to clear out the things.

DI BAIN: Another student Ajay Kumar says he joined the protest because he too has been the victim of random assaults.

He says the police aren't doing enough to help.

AJAY KUMAR: I never come back home at night time. If I finish my work, I stay there.

Why? Because I know if I come back, someone smash me, someone take my money. I know.

Because I'm not safe here. Because Australian police is s***. Fully s***.

DI BAIN: Anger in the Indian community began after four Indian students were attacked with a screwdriver at a party in Melbourne.

More stories of Indian attacks have emerged since then.

Protests like this one are sparking diplomatic concerns between Australia and India.

Ajay Kumar says his mum's been calling from India worried about his safety in Australia.

AJAY KUMAR: They say, "Are you alright? You alright? How's in Australia now? How's in Sydney now?"

The Australian police is not able; they have to migrate the Indian police all here.

DI BAIN: In the early hours of the morning the mob in Parramatta dispersed.

But many of the students say this won't be the last we'll hear from them.

ASHLEY HALL: Di Bain with that report.

mmasand wrote: The Lebos love confrontation as they are hot blooded,and have proven to ask for trouble in the past l
Do they differ from Aussies in any way?

The Aussies have been "hot blooded" and love confrontation. Hey even the Lashkar e Toiba are hot blooded and love confrontation. I see these statements as the beginning of a slippery slope where we justify these attacks on "hot blooded" youth.

I think India too should show some hot blood - or at least cold calculation. I wonder if our patriotic cricketers will be able to avoid Australia as a destination as "unsafe for Indians"?
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

mmasand wrote: The Lebos love confrontation as they are hot blooded,and have proven to ask for trouble in the past l
Do they differ from Aussies in any way?

The Aussies have been "hot blooded" and love confrontation. Hey even the Lashkar e Toiba are hot blooded and love confrontation. I see these statements as the beginning of a slippery slope where we justify these attacks on "hot blooded" youth.

I think India too should show some hot blood - or at least cold calculation. I wonder if our patriotic cricketers will be able to avoid Australia as a destination as "unsafe for Indians"?
No but it is more like in retaliation to the 'prosperous' Indian settling in Harris Park(remember this area houses the most desis than any other community after the locals).They lebos get a grip on anyone...my best guess is they couldn't find any vogs that night to confront or any rednecks.

Maybe daddy didnt give them enough to drive in their woof woof cars with their shiny rims and blasting speakers to Kings Cross! :eek:

Indians again will sensibly not show our 'hot blood' coz it would be stooping to a terrible insensible low level and comparing ourselves with the idiots.Otherwise what would be the distinction?

What say gaurav_s ??

mmasand wrote:
No but it is more like in retaliation to the 'prosperous' Indian settling in Harris Park(remember this area houses the most desis than any other community after the locals).They lebos get a grip on anyone...my best guess is they couldn't find any vogs that night to confront or any rednecks.
Blaming racist attacks on "Lebos" rather than on racist Aussies is exactly in line with the needs and desires of the prosperous Indian in Harris Park. He represents the elite and fears that criticism of Australia by Indians will reflect on him as he is a patriotic naturalized Australian. The travails of the ill behaved Indian student must not come in the way of his peace of mind. He finds it convenient to shake hands with the Ozzie police and agree to say "Let's blame the Lebos".
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

http://www.skynews.com.au/news/article.aspx?id=340177

BTW Lebos are naturalized Australians if you didnt know....maybe u should pay us a visit in melbourne...rather than sit in your kamot and have ur masala chai and comment......
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Guys, there is something we are missing while talking about attacks by Lebanese in Harris Park.

Harris Park is within 5km range of merrylands, fairfield and somewhat granville which is largely resident to middle eastern people. Lebanese especially youths are most often referred as hot blooded. AFAIK they are mainly involved in smash repairs, mechanics and grocery businesses. Other thing to be noticed about their youth is they are always on hunt for opportunity of flirting. As far as Oz's are concerned they are very agressive and arrogant when drunk.

JMT.

mmasand wrote:http://www.skynews.com.au/news/article.aspx?id=340177

BTW Lebos are naturalized Australians if you didnt know....maybe u should pay us a visit in melbourne...rather than sit in your kamot and have ur masala chai and comment......
I would pass on that invitation. No point going to a racist nation to find out if it is racist. Thanks.

I am guessing that kamot is some aussie slang that sets apart ignorant chai sipping Indians from hot blooded Aussies.

Talk about fractal recursivity... :roll:

Indians stab racial abuser in Australia
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Man- ... 633077.cms
youth was stabbed once in the neck and twice in the arm, allegedly by Indians, The Age reported. The newspaper added that the victim had allegedly said to the Indians: ``You are black. You don't belong here. Go away from our country

Show restraint, govt urges Indians in Oz
"I would like to urge Indian students to be patient. They have gone there for higher studies. They should concentrate on that, not retaliate," foreign minister Krishna said.
I would like to urge the foreign minister to not teach GUBO to Indian students. :evil: ADMIN EDIT: Be careful what you say on this site. You are NOT free to speak your mind if this is what is in your mind.
Last edited by archan on 09 Jun 2009 18:03, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: user warned for advocating terrorism through bomb blasts.

Australia --> Few people and a laaaaaaaaaaawwwwwt of sheep. Barely civilized, largely uncouth, basically a "white arab" country that gets by with exploiting mineral wealth and a Ayrab like attitude to boot. Has invented nothing, can invent nothing, zero skills in anything except sheep rearing and digging up minerals and shipping it out. A deeply flawed racist country. Basically a bunch of louts and redneckism placed at the core and pinnacle of that country's values.

Yeah, sure a nice enough place to "immigrate" to if you want a "western" standard of life.. but hey, you can go to Disneyesque Dubai as well, but who cares. and as for "education" sure you got to be kidding me. If there is a single Australian school that is top ranked in anything, well, I haven't heard of it. So lets cut this fantasy of "Australian education" , that has to be an oxymoron. UK stan for all it's shortcomings has truly world class univ, lots in Oierope as well, apart from US and maybe a couple in Canada.

And as for NZ, positioning itself as the "safe" place, well, it seems the Chinese gave it to them a few years ago precisely for attacks on students and got it embargoed, leading to collapse of Chinese student enrollment in NZ.

Point is, Australia and NZ are isolated backwaters, and the mental make up of it's inhabitants reflect that.

vina wrote:Australia --> Few people and a laaaaaaaaaaawwwwwt of sheep.

I misread your post as lawwwwwt of sleep. Now I hope everyone is getting a lawwwwwt of sleep since a compleely innocent man is near death and many others are hurt. I would agree that unless Indians show restraint people who get a lawwwt of sleep may lose sleep.
Siddhartha

Post by Siddhartha »

IndraD wrote:Indians stab racial abuser in Australia
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Man- ... 633077.cms
youth was stabbed once in the neck and twice in the arm, allegedly by Indians, The Age reported. The newspaper added that the victim had allegedly said to the Indians: ``You are black. You don't belong here. Go away from our country
Two good news coming together......Oz crashing out of T20 world cup..... and those civilised whites having the taste of desi chakku.. :rotfl:

Oz sends its top spy,Peter Varghese (it had to be a Mallu!) to India as its High Commissioner.He is sure to get along well with his fellow compatriots from "God's own country" who are currently riding high in Delhi.

New Delhi

June 8: Australia’s top spy, Mr Peter Varghese, will be its new high commissioner to India. An Indian-Australian, Mr Varghese currently heads the Office of National Assessments, an intelligence agency which reports directly to the Australian Prime Minister. Kenya-born Mr Varghese will succeed the present high commissioner, John McCarthy, who has been in India since 2004, in August.

The announcement comes at a time when Indian students in Australia have been subjected to racially-motivated attacks. Mr Varghese was senior adviser to former PM John Howard and was high commissioner to Malaysia from 2000 to 2002.

On the same day, Kamal Jit, a 23-year-old Indian student, was beaten up for the second time in a fortnight by youths in Melbourne, the 11th attack on Indians in a month. He was found unconscious and bleeding by another Indian on Sunday night. Announcing Mr Varghese’s appointment, foreign minister Stephen Smith said Australia was committed to taking the relationship with India “to the front rank of Australia’s bilateral partnerships.” The two countries, “engage closely on strategic and defence matters”.

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/national ... 1[quote]Oz top spy is envoy to India

New Delhi

June 8: Australia’s top spy, Mr Peter Varghese, will be its new high commissioner to India. An Indian-Australian, Mr Varghese currently heads the Office of National Assessments, an intelligence agency which reports directly to the Australian Prime Minister. Kenya-born Mr Varghese will succeed the present high commissioner, John McCarthy, who has been in India since 2004, in August.

The announcement comes at a time when Indian students in Australia have been subjected to racially-motivated attacks. Mr Varghese was senior adviser to former PM John Howard and was high commissioner to Malaysia from 2000 to 2002.

On the same day, Kamal Jit, a 23-year-old Indian student, was beaten up for the second time in a fortnight by youths in Melbourne, the 11th attack on Indians in a month. He was found unconscious and bleeding by another Indian on Sunday night. Announcing Mr Varghese’s appointment, foreign minister Stephen Smith said Australia was committed to taking the relationship with India “to the front rank of Australia’s bilateral partnerships.” The two countries, “engage closely on strategic and defence matters”.

durgesh wrote:Show restraint, govt urges Indians in Oz
"I would like to urge Indian students to be patient. They have gone there for higher studies. They should concentrate on that, not retaliate," foreign minister Krishna said.
I would like to urge the foreign minister to not teach GUBO to Indian students. :evil: ADMIN EDIT: Be careful what you say on this site. You are NOT free to speak your mind if this is what is in your mind.
Please show restraint.what will the world think? we are peaceful punchingbags.....err people only.

After all, the Aussi PM Rudd has assured our PM that action will be taken!
After all, the Paki PM had also assured our PM that action will be taken! See they are taking action!

So please no reaction!

By focusing on Lebanese; isn't the discussion in Australia turned towards the topic of immigration in more comprehensive manner? They have plenty of land, is only the coastal regions inhabitable ? The population boom in Asia is sure to spread the Asians around. Just more takleef to the racists among the Caucasians.

something is fishy here:
It seems there is a move by aus to put other minorities at the forefront while instigating Indians to hit back. Indian's hitting back will give them the excuse to clamp down on immigration perhaps and that could be the lowest cost solution to their problem. Messing around with the Chinese will hurt and other communities probably do not have the strength in numbers to make any influence in putting forth their case.

This quote is from Stormfront's Aus section:
Can't say whether this is true or psy-ops by the poster.
I saw a real wierd thing in Sydney the other day, Some Thai looking guy with some white guys as friends picking on an Indian family on a train, making alot of insults and being quite rude and aggressive towards him and his family. The thai guy was saying things like " Why you using your own language? You are in Australia, use English" and comments to his kid like " your kid looks like a pirate with that turban on".

SwamyG wrote:By focusing on Lebanese; isn't the discussion in Australia turned towards the topic of immigration in more comprehensive manner? They have plenty of land, is only the coastal regions inhabitable ? The population boom in Asia is sure to spread the Asians around. Just more takleef to the racists among the Caucasians.
Exactly SwamyG, something sinister is afoot.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

{*********** COOL IT. ***************************}
Last edited by enqyoob on 09 Jun 2009 21:52, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: responding to complaint about rabid post

and how is having all caucasian criminals and riff raff instead of asians going to help australia is the question. I believe they got a lot of ex-yugoslav riff raff in 90s under the subtle white australia policy.
Siddhartha

Post by Siddhartha »

{ ********************* You too. COOL IT. ********************}
Last edited by enqyoob on 09 Jun 2009 21:51, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: copycat e-rioter informally warned
Keshav

Post by Keshav »

{rabid quote deleted}

If people who were targeted have someone else to pick on, they always join in. We all did this as kids when the school bully decided to make fun of someone else for a change. Most people don't stand up to the bully despite their own experience, they're just happy to be part of the "group" (however short that lasts).

The human psychological need to belong to a group (survival in evolutionary terms) is far greater than "doing the right thing".

>> and how is having all caucasian criminals and riff raff instead of asians going to help australia is the question.

probably they have made some calculations on 'Asians' swamping them and this is part of a crooked game towards that end of stopping Asian immigration altogether. Also you must notice that a lot of single white-male types have East Asian girlfriends or wives in case they do can't manage to coopt one of their own which seems to be very frequent these days.

this is a social 'release' mechanism and avoid too many frustrated young men out to rebel against the established system. So 'Asian' females provide a socio-psychological release valve for this group and thus another reason for them to get away comparitively untouched in this wave of instigatory acts.

vina wrote:Point is, Australia and NZ are isolated backwaters, and the mental make up of it's inhabitants reflect that.
8) :rotfl:
Spot on Sir.

I had previously expressed my strong concerns about this thread being on the Strategic Forum. Unfortunately my post was deleted... :(

The page or two, or three above, show why this thread should be either deleted or sent into the Harem Forum if people REALLY want to carry on these deeply intellectual Strategy Discussions of the type seen above.

I am going to count to 1,700,000,000 and then delete this thread unless there is a swift cleanup and demonstration of why this is in the Strat Forum.

Thx.

^^^ I second that Narayananji. Let us move this thread to unmentionable section as it has little to do with strategy but more with immigration and education.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

Sorry Mods !! I think I posted a few words out of passion loosing cool....
Siddhartha

Post by Siddhartha »

Me sorry too....!!! but see how they r targeting even the kids.....just cudn't control my emotion... :-?

http://www.theage.com.au/national/attac ... -c2l9.html

http://www.theage.com.au/national/stude ... -c28j.html

http://www.theage.com.au/national/forei ... -c28h.html

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Worl ... 633597.cms

http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/lets-not- ... tml?page=2

http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/brutal-tr ... -c2dm.html

http://www.smh.com.au/national/indians- ... -c2ei.html
First, the boundary between victim and victimiser is fluid, as we saw in Harris Park with claims of immediate retaliation by Indians against three people of "Middle Eastern appearance"
Sources in the international education industry have told The Age some students pay up to $20,000 to rogue college operators or middlemen, such as unscrupulous migration agents or education agents, to obtain fake paperwork.
Announcing a crackdown on crime at trouble-spot train stations after a spate of violent attacks, Mr Overland said it was clear Indian and international students had been targeted.

"Some of the attacks were clearly racist in motivation and that violence is unacceptable and racism is unacceptable in any form,'' Mr Overland said.
Mr Overland and Premier John Brumby visited St Albans railway station, in Melbourne's west, to announce a high-visibility operation targeting Sunshine, St Albans, Thomastown, Clayton and Dandenong.
Mounted police, dog squads and helicopter patrols will be used to crack down on crime.

The operation will include uniformed police, transit police, the dog squad, the mounted branch and helicopter patrols in and around train stations.
Last edited by andy B on 10 Jun 2009 07:10, edited 1 time in total.

munna wrote:^^^ I second that Narayananji. Let us move this thread to unmentionable section as it has little to do with strategy but more with immigration and education.
This thread was not meant for immigration and education. Those issues need to be kept out of here. Until the recent attacks, this thread was on topic.

Those who wish to whine may use the whining thread, or perhaps create an Aussie whining, homicide and sheep copulation thread in the GD

We have this thread (and no thread for, say, Burkino Faso) because Australia is not Burkino Faso. It dominates its region, occupies a continent and has considerable resources, military capabilities etc. It's role as willing Deputy to Sheriff Unkil; its relations with China etc do affect Indian interests.

Burkina Rao'ul Faso? 8)

(Ducking into cave now..)
paulm

Post by paulm »

http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/brutal-tr ... -c2dm.html
ANOTHER bashing of an Indian student, another angry demonstration by fed-up Indian residents, another brick in the wall of the misconception that Indians in this country have become the frequent victims of violent white racism.

This misconception has hardened into belief in India, where widespread media coverage of the attacks has played on old sensitivities about the treatment of Indians by whites and white Australia.

The perception is wrong. Indian students are being attacked in Australia, with at least 100 incidents in Melbourne and Sydney during the past year. The violence is undeniable, the targeting of Indians is undeniable, and the problem is unacceptable and embarrassing.

But the distorted story of white racism has been helped along by the prevailing sensibilities of reporting of crime in Australia, with skittishness about detailing the gritty reality that most violent street crime in Sydney and Melbourne is not committed by whites. The prison populations confirm this.

The attacks on Indians have followed this pattern, with the crimes committed by a polyglot mix reflecting the streets - white, Asian, Middle Eastern, Aboriginal, Pacific Islander.

The latest attack on an Indian, in Harris Park on Monday night, allegedly involved assailants of the proverbial "Middle Eastern appearance". This time, the assault was followed by a retaliatory attack by a big group of Indians. Police said three men "of Middle Eastern appearance" were set upon in Harris Park after about 200 Indian men converged on the street after hearing of the latest attack. In Melbourne, an assault on an Indian student on a train was recorded on video and footage depicting the attack was posted on YouTube. The video shows a swarm of young men robbing and repeatedly attacking the student. Most of them do not appear to be white.

A recent assault on an Indian student in Glebe was committed by a young offender described as Aboriginal. Another recent assault on an Indian student, by a knife-wielding assailant in Port Melbourne, involved three attackers identified as Caucasian.

The ethnicity of the attackers thus varies from crime to crime. The police are telling the truth when they describe the attacks as largely motivated by opportunism, because Indian students work late at night, live in lower-cost neighbourhoods, and are regarded as soft targets.

It is also true that Indians have been targeted, hence the demonstration by about 1000 Indian students in Melbourne 10 days ago, and the second eruption by about 200 Indian men on Monday night in Harris Park, which has Sydney's largest concentration of Indian residents. Harris Park has experienced a spate of attacks on Indians in recent months.