I understand. I'm saying that it can't be the only reason for performance shortfalls. One example is jerky scrolling. Inbuilt apps like Contacts etc. on Nexus devices also suffer from this sometimes. It can't be blamed on apps having more access to the OS. An app developer will only add a scrolling container with his data in it. The scrolling animation must implemented by the system's UI layer. The app has no control over it.Raja Bose wrote:Open != open source. Open as in Android allows you to do pretty much what you want with no OS mandated walls.
Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02
Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02
https://f-droid.org/repository/browse/
The above is possible only in android or other open ones like Ubuntu edge
Its not about whether an app has control over some implementation of a UI element. Its about how much restrictions does the OS place on an app in terms of resource usage, priority etc.nachiket wrote:I understand. I'm saying that it can't be the only reason for performance shortfalls. One example is jerky scrolling. Inbuilt apps like Contacts etc. on Nexus devices also suffer from this sometimes. It can't be blamed on apps having more access to the OS. An app developer will only add a scrolling container with his data in it. The scrolling animation must implemented by the system's UI layer. The app has no control over it.Raja Bose wrote:Open != open source. Open as in Android allows you to do pretty much what you want with no OS mandated walls.
if apple stops playing hard to get and releases two phones at 15K and 20K, will take a huge bite out of the mid range mkt of samsung and pandas.
indian fanboys will not demand a metal shell.
^^^They might do just that.
if these leaked pics are true, they are heading for trouble...a 4" screen for a flagship phone in this age?
surely a 4.5 or 4.7 HD screen could have been arranged ?
http://www.gsmarena.com/new_iphone_5s_a ... s-6601.php
surely a 4.5 or 4.7 HD screen could have been arranged ?
http://www.gsmarena.com/new_iphone_5s_a ... s-6601.php
All phones. Pulled from Twitter.hanumadu wrote:^^^Rohitvats, Is this for smart phones or all phones? I am guessing smart phones. Does it include Asha phones too? Can you provide the source please?
Nope. It's not there. The drop-down bar on Android/Samsung phones is a real help.Raja Bose wrote:^^^It is simply a term for a place where you can see any of the message alerts (txt, whatsapp, email etc.) in one place.<SNIP>
Even the upgraded OS on Nokia N8 had this feature.
The solution to that in WP is to pin all the messaging services to your home screen and group them together as small tiles.
Recently, came across some good applications which allow you to post customized tiles on the home screen with flip function. But cannot modify/customize the application tiles.
So, I created BR tile on home screen; It has the BR logo i copied from internet and touching the tile takes me to BR homepage.
Well, theoretically it can wipe the floor with other brands at those price points.Singha wrote:if apple stops playing hard to get and releases two phones at 15K and 20K, will take a huge bite out of the mid range mkt of samsung and pandas. indian fanboys will not demand a metal shell.
But - can it provide the same experience which makes APPLE device an APPLE device?
And, are you OK with diluting an aspiration brand? What does it do to the brand as a whole? Especially, when you've positioned yourself as god's gift to mankind?
Talking about BR ... There used to be tiny yet very convenient link to BR website on the index page of the forum just below the BR logo many years back.
Suddenly it disappeared and I have been searching for it since.
Sony has made a strong comeback with some very exciting phones. They have overhauled their last Xperia series across the board with Xperia Z leading the charge in premium category. That is one classy and stylish phone, I tell you.
Also, I felt that their 15K-25K phones have the sharpest resolution amongst Android base phones. Also, cameras in this category are pretty good too.
BTW - 625 launched in India today. Priced higher than 720. Need to compare the specs.
Waiting for 1020 to hit the market.
Also, I felt that their 15K-25K phones have the sharpest resolution amongst Android base phones. Also, cameras in this category are pretty good too.
BTW - 625 launched in India today. Priced higher than 720. Need to compare the specs.
Waiting for 1020 to hit the market.
Rohitvats ji ,rohitvats wrote:
And, are you OK with diluting an aspiration brand? What does it do to the brand as a whole? Especially, when you've positioned yourself as god's gift to mankind?
Apple is God's gift to Isheep in the sense that it takes back what was inadvertently gained when an Apple was first had back in the Garden of Eden

Yes they are.Raja Bose wrote:Customers are not stupid.
But they are b@stards also.
^^Sab saale haraami hain! 

^^^Arre! Gali mat dao. Hum kaasht mein maar reh hain. 

aur saali? halaal?
Thanks.rohitvats wrote:All phones. Pulled from Twitter.hanumadu wrote:^^^Rohitvats, Is this for smart phones or all phones? I am guessing smart phones. Does it include Asha phones too? Can you provide the source please?
925 just launched in india for 33.5K MRP
625 also launched for 19.5K MRP
comparison tool between 625 & 720 is there on Nok india website. sense I got was 625 sports a lower end camera module while 720 has a F-solah type kit that is the "lower end of the higher end" 820+ modules(F15,F22) ... the 625 however claims to do full HD video while 720 is 720p.
so it boils down to who has the better feeling screen and comparison of camera/video. such details should be out in youtube reviews soon.
625 also launched for 19.5K MRP
comparison tool between 625 & 720 is there on Nok india website. sense I got was 625 sports a lower end camera module while 720 has a F-solah type kit that is the "lower end of the higher end" 820+ modules(F15,F22) ... the 625 however claims to do full HD video while 720 is 720p.
so it boils down to who has the better feeling screen and comparison of camera/video. such details should be out in youtube reviews soon.
Uncle Fester aka Steve Ballmer to Step Down as Microsoft CEO
I am writing to let you know that I will retire as CEO of Microsoft within the next 12 months, after a successor is chosen. There is never a perfect time for this type of transition, but now is the right time. My original thoughts on timing would have had my retirement happen in the middle of our transformation to a devices and services company focused on empowering customers in the activities they value most. We need a CEO who will be here longer term for this new direction.
I am excited by our mission of empowering the world and believe in our future success. I cherish my Microsoft ownership, and look forward to continuing as one of Microsoft’s largest owners.
This is an emotional and difficult thing for me to do. I take this step in the best interests of the company I love; {Implying this is not entirely a voluntary/'personal reasons' decision then?} it is the thing outside of my family and closest friends that matters to me most.
I guess unca fester read my posts on brf :p
kJo, time to do some serious trading before the story hits the market. you can make some quick bucks. futures and options would be another one for you to master... btw, planning for a pooled fund, let us know 

Satya Nadella will make an excellent CEO. apparently there is a committee setup to look for replacement. I suggest VickyG
Excellent news to start the morning. I bought some MSFT calls after the stock crashed following the prior earnings; just sold them for a few hundred percent gain.
^^^Good timing. Why didn't you call me? 

Chacha can keep VickyG
As long as they don't bring Sinofsky back. Fester did a pretty decent job for Mickey after BillG left (unlike say Bawarchi) but given the transition what Mickey needs is not a Hairbird YumBeeAye but a hardcore products guy in the Takla/Mahdi mold.

Last edited by Raja Bose on 23 Aug 2013 22:48, edited 1 time in total.
vickyG == RB's pet peeve? gee with friends like that who needs enemies?
Hopefully Marissa does too.KJoishy wrote:I guess unca fester read my posts on brf :p

Raja Bose wrote:Chacha can keep VickyG![]()
What's wrong with Sinofsky? He should be brought back. What, you want another guy who can throw chairs?

Maybe they should hire the Woz!
Sorry boss - it was just one of my speculative plays. Hard to provide a recommendation when you're basically betting and not investing. I expected to make a few % gain, not almost triple my money to a few Ks. Now I can take the money and buy some non-MS gearMort Walker wrote:^^^Good timing. Why didn't you call me?

Bwaaahahahaha...i currently have 3 apps which dootifully remind me that i have missed calls, and ping me on SMSs. And the android OS itself has the most clunky contact screen and call log UI ever. Takes forever to get to a call and return calls or search contacts. Miss iOS.Singha wrote:and that sire is precisely why I am going to abandon android as soon as I can gather some moneyLilo wrote:Singha ji
"Which cannot be installed" ?
If you r rooted install free version of titanium back up and force uninstall the app.
Or just go to the apps folder change permission s if required and delete the nagging apk file (of course make sure that its not a system app)![]()
I will be happy to drink the kool aid and live within a walled garden of ios/wp with a few well regarded apps and thats it - no more experimentation, no more visiting the app store and trying to see which of 1000 apps doing the same thing is worth the download and test time.
Seriously, if they make an iPhone with the large screen of the Sammy phones and a high rez screen, Apple would rake in the billions.
+1. its low hanging fruit....all they need is deliver on a fast GPU, good 2500mah battery and 300ppi in around 4.5-4.7" range and the faithful will gather
then apple and nok can launch a pincer attack on sammy
I had a rough time with a extra SMS app. both the unremoveable default SMS and this SMS would pop in parallel when I got a message.
Last edited by Singha on 23 Aug 2013 23:41, edited 2 times in total.
Kuffars! How dare you ask for a screen size different from what the Mahdi has determined as the best?Singha wrote:+1. its low hanging fruit....all they need is deliver on a fast GPU, good 2500mah battery and 300ppi in around 4.5-4.7" range and the faithful will gather

Bringing Sinofsky back into Mickey is like bringing John Sculley back in FruitCo. Sinofsky played a big role in ensuring Windoze would never play nice with anything except desktops....anyhow he has joined Andreessen Horowitz as of yesterday so hopefully he wont be in the runningMort Walker wrote:Raja Bose wrote:Chacha can keep VickyG![]()
What's wrong with Sinofsky? He should be brought back. What, you want another guy who can throw chairs?
Maybe they should hire the Woz!

Woz is a great injineer but hardly a overall products guy. Maybe Andy Rubin wants to do a Marissa? But then he ain't no CEO material either.
Its so obvious but they are not doing it, just to be sure i think that their self image of being superior to sammy in every way never suffers..otherwise everyone will think they are now followers..Singha wrote:+1. its low hanging fruit....all they need is deliver on a fast GPU, good 2500mah battery and 300ppi in around 4.5-4.7" range and the faithful will gather
i seem to have 10 apps for each function on android. Its mindblowingly irritating.I had a rough time with a extra SMS app. both the unremoveable default SMS and this SMS would pop in parallel when I got a message.
App quality is Android's weak point. iOS definitely has the (potentially refutable) upper hand here thanks to their soup-e-rear technology strat-e-jees.
On that topic, a usage review of my Nexus 7: it's a very good tablet. Fast, gorgeous screen, and very good battery drain rate - I get about 2 days of intermittent use involving everything from Pulse, Hulu/Netflix, portfolio mgmt and of course BRF access. I haven't encountered the GPS bug, despite using chacha maps in saved offline mode multiple times as a GPS device while driving. Of course, the 'fits in your pocket' part isn't really true unless you wear gangbanger pants...
However, the gap in app quality compared to the lady's iPad is clear in several places. My bet, though, is that Android apps will get better with stabilized marketshare and form factor (7" and 10" 16x9 tabs being seemingly predominant), while iOS IMHO is already optimized.
On that topic, a usage review of my Nexus 7: it's a very good tablet. Fast, gorgeous screen, and very good battery drain rate - I get about 2 days of intermittent use involving everything from Pulse, Hulu/Netflix, portfolio mgmt and of course BRF access. I haven't encountered the GPS bug, despite using chacha maps in saved offline mode multiple times as a GPS device while driving. Of course, the 'fits in your pocket' part isn't really true unless you wear gangbanger pants...
However, the gap in app quality compared to the lady's iPad is clear in several places. My bet, though, is that Android apps will get better with stabilized marketshare and form factor (7" and 10" 16x9 tabs being seemingly predominant), while iOS IMHO is already optimized.
Who cares about traffic? You can put a nood pic of ShrileenRaja Bose wrote:Hopefully Marissa does too.KJoishy wrote:I guess unca fester read my posts on brf :pKJo, for you: Yahoo tops Google in U.S. Web traffic in July

This is good news for her for sure, but its a battle, not the war.
Yahoo Finance hasn't changed in 10 years. She's mucked with Yahoo Mail and Sports and both have become worse.
^^^Maybe Marissa will take your suggestion after all and put a n00d pic of herself on the front page to drive traffic 

low hanging fruit falling will not hurt itself much.. still edible... few price reduction or provider plan should net the right market.. right pricing or zero down, 2 year plans will get them going.
Mort's Review of the HTC One (GSM version from TMO USA)
Appearance & Ergonomics - The HTC One chassis is made from a solid aluminum block and sits comfortably in the palm of your hand where you don’t feel that it will slip out. It feels great in your pocket whether you’re a man or woman. It is aesthetically one of the best smartphones available on the market today. I do feel that this phone is very prone to dents, dings and scratches more so than the Samsung Galaxy S4 which is the plastic fantastic.
Display - Excellent 4.7” 1080p display which has excellent white and black levels. The only other displays that are as good in brightness and contrast are the iPhone 5 and Lumia 920, and even then I would say given the HTC One’s 4.7” display and 1080p, it looks better than the others. The only other competitor in resolution is the Samsung Galaxy S4. I found the S4 to have sharper text and I would prefer a 5” screen of the S4 over the HTC One in this overall package size. After that, the HTC One would be a very close runner up. If resolution, white level and color accuracy is of utmost priority, then the HTC One would be the best display of any smartphone. The S4 would be second.
UI - HTC’s Sense 5.0 skin is suppose to be cleaner, more intuitive and less cluttered. I found it counterintuitive and had to look for configuration settings. When navigating through menus, it deviates more significantly from pure Android than does Samsung’s TouchWiz. The top panel notification doesn’t have what you need at your fingertips like pure Android or TouchWiz. The home button is in the lower right corner which is irritating and a big “HTC” logo is in the middle instead of the home button. The Blink Feed is bloatware that can not be removed. Basically, it is a copy of Windows Life Tiles for news, weather, social networking, etc. Yuck. The Flipboard Android app is better than Blink Feed.
None of the Android makers seem to have a good keyboard and I prefer to simply download the Google keyboard from the Play Store.
Camera - The camera is a disappointment on the HTC One; particularly if the camera is important to the user. 1. There is smearing of details or loss of detail. 2. The auto white balance is wrong and can’t get color temperature right. This is annoying to me. 3. It appears to have clipped dynamic range and the colors seem to be muted. 4. The much vaunted optical image stabilization doesn’t gain you anything when the AF is slow to react. In comparison to the S4 or Nexus 4, the HTC One camera app is not as good. I’ve written off the camera.
Audio - I evaluated the audio with Beats Audio turned off and without using the front panel stereo speakers (I’ll come back to those a little later). I used headphones or externally amplified speakers to compare the same music tracks previously listened to. The HTC One has the best audio of any device I’ve come across so far in recent times. It is the closest in fidelity to CD of any compressed audio devices including the latest generation of iPod or iPhone. I don’t know what DAC is being used, but they’ve handled the front end amplification stage very well where you have amplification without noise. The same music being played on other devices doesn’t have the detail and spectral range of the HTC one. Another thing I enjoy is having an FM radio. I thought the FM radio app works well, but could use a bit more refinement such as making the radio tuning dial similar to an old Marantz stereo receiver. I do like the ability to use Sound Hound to identify a song and its lyrics. Overall the audio is pure enjoyment and is a big plus for this phone which can’t be overlooked.
Battery - This is another area of disappointment for the HTC One. I get about 12 hours of life in optimized battery saving mode on with LBS and all other radios turned on. This is of course with moderate use of the phone through the day. It is slightly better than the Nexus 4, but the Galaxy S4 GSM version gets 14 hours on the same carrier a colleague uses. If I was using the phone a bit more, then I would probably get near 10-11 hours.
Memory & Storage - The HTC One has 2 GB RAM, which is what the flagship models are all carrying from 2013 onwards. The nice thing is that the standard model comes with 32 GB storage which is plenty as the OS and all of my apps take up only about 9 GB. I do wish it had an external microSD card slot where I can put in a 64GB card with all of my music and videos on it and not rely on WiFi or 3G/4G data.
Final thoughts - Right now the HTC One is shipping with Android 4.1.2 and pure Android is on 4.3. The S4 is shipping with 4.2.2 now. HTC has promised the HTC One will get 4.3 and skip 4.2, but the question is what about a year or two from now?
Appearance & Ergonomics - The HTC One chassis is made from a solid aluminum block and sits comfortably in the palm of your hand where you don’t feel that it will slip out. It feels great in your pocket whether you’re a man or woman. It is aesthetically one of the best smartphones available on the market today. I do feel that this phone is very prone to dents, dings and scratches more so than the Samsung Galaxy S4 which is the plastic fantastic.
Display - Excellent 4.7” 1080p display which has excellent white and black levels. The only other displays that are as good in brightness and contrast are the iPhone 5 and Lumia 920, and even then I would say given the HTC One’s 4.7” display and 1080p, it looks better than the others. The only other competitor in resolution is the Samsung Galaxy S4. I found the S4 to have sharper text and I would prefer a 5” screen of the S4 over the HTC One in this overall package size. After that, the HTC One would be a very close runner up. If resolution, white level and color accuracy is of utmost priority, then the HTC One would be the best display of any smartphone. The S4 would be second.
UI - HTC’s Sense 5.0 skin is suppose to be cleaner, more intuitive and less cluttered. I found it counterintuitive and had to look for configuration settings. When navigating through menus, it deviates more significantly from pure Android than does Samsung’s TouchWiz. The top panel notification doesn’t have what you need at your fingertips like pure Android or TouchWiz. The home button is in the lower right corner which is irritating and a big “HTC” logo is in the middle instead of the home button. The Blink Feed is bloatware that can not be removed. Basically, it is a copy of Windows Life Tiles for news, weather, social networking, etc. Yuck. The Flipboard Android app is better than Blink Feed.
None of the Android makers seem to have a good keyboard and I prefer to simply download the Google keyboard from the Play Store.
Camera - The camera is a disappointment on the HTC One; particularly if the camera is important to the user. 1. There is smearing of details or loss of detail. 2. The auto white balance is wrong and can’t get color temperature right. This is annoying to me. 3. It appears to have clipped dynamic range and the colors seem to be muted. 4. The much vaunted optical image stabilization doesn’t gain you anything when the AF is slow to react. In comparison to the S4 or Nexus 4, the HTC One camera app is not as good. I’ve written off the camera.
Audio - I evaluated the audio with Beats Audio turned off and without using the front panel stereo speakers (I’ll come back to those a little later). I used headphones or externally amplified speakers to compare the same music tracks previously listened to. The HTC One has the best audio of any device I’ve come across so far in recent times. It is the closest in fidelity to CD of any compressed audio devices including the latest generation of iPod or iPhone. I don’t know what DAC is being used, but they’ve handled the front end amplification stage very well where you have amplification without noise. The same music being played on other devices doesn’t have the detail and spectral range of the HTC one. Another thing I enjoy is having an FM radio. I thought the FM radio app works well, but could use a bit more refinement such as making the radio tuning dial similar to an old Marantz stereo receiver. I do like the ability to use Sound Hound to identify a song and its lyrics. Overall the audio is pure enjoyment and is a big plus for this phone which can’t be overlooked.
Battery - This is another area of disappointment for the HTC One. I get about 12 hours of life in optimized battery saving mode on with LBS and all other radios turned on. This is of course with moderate use of the phone through the day. It is slightly better than the Nexus 4, but the Galaxy S4 GSM version gets 14 hours on the same carrier a colleague uses. If I was using the phone a bit more, then I would probably get near 10-11 hours.
Memory & Storage - The HTC One has 2 GB RAM, which is what the flagship models are all carrying from 2013 onwards. The nice thing is that the standard model comes with 32 GB storage which is plenty as the OS and all of my apps take up only about 9 GB. I do wish it had an external microSD card slot where I can put in a 64GB card with all of my music and videos on it and not rely on WiFi or 3G/4G data.
Final thoughts - Right now the HTC One is shipping with Android 4.1.2 and pure Android is on 4.3. The S4 is shipping with 4.2.2 now. HTC has promised the HTC One will get 4.3 and skip 4.2, but the question is what about a year or two from now?