MODI's 5 Nation Trip - Maj Gen Rajiv Narayanan
UAE, Netherlands, Sweden, Norway and Italy is on Modi ji's visit. Rajiv talks about the importance of the trip and what Modi ji wants to achieve.
Modi 3.0 - Bharat
Re: Modi 3.0 - Bharat
https://x.com/user/status/2055228737306681347
India is working on a UPI-style unique username-based digital addressing system that would enable people to send and receive parcels, letters, food deliveries, and other services without sharing a conventional physical address.
The system is called DIGIPIN and the username layer sitting on top is called DHRUVA. Built by the Department of Posts in partnership with IIT Hyderabad and ISRO's National Remote Sensing Centre.
Officially launched on May 27, 2025.
Here's how it works.
DIGIPIN divides all of India into 4 metre by 4 metre squares. Every single square gets a unique 10-character code like 829-4G7-PMJ8. That's down to the level of your front door, your shop counter, your hospital entrance, your village home, even a fishing boat in territorial waters. The entire country is now a digital grid.
But remembering a 10-character alphanumeric code is hard. So DHRUVA sits on top of it. You convert your DIGIPIN into a simple readable handle like rajesh@dhruva. The handle stays with you for life. If you move houses, only the underlying DIGIPIN updates. Your handle doesn't change.
Exactly like UPI replaced 16-digit bank account numbers with simple handles. malay@ybl instead of remembering an account number.
India is working on a UPI-style unique username-based digital addressing system that would enable people to send and receive parcels, letters, food deliveries, and other services without sharing a conventional physical address.
The system is called DIGIPIN and the username layer sitting on top is called DHRUVA. Built by the Department of Posts in partnership with IIT Hyderabad and ISRO's National Remote Sensing Centre.
Officially launched on May 27, 2025.
Here's how it works.
DIGIPIN divides all of India into 4 metre by 4 metre squares. Every single square gets a unique 10-character code like 829-4G7-PMJ8. That's down to the level of your front door, your shop counter, your hospital entrance, your village home, even a fishing boat in territorial waters. The entire country is now a digital grid.
But remembering a 10-character alphanumeric code is hard. So DHRUVA sits on top of it. You convert your DIGIPIN into a simple readable handle like rajesh@dhruva. The handle stays with you for life. If you move houses, only the underlying DIGIPIN updates. Your handle doesn't change.
Exactly like UPI replaced 16-digit bank account numbers with simple handles. malay@ybl instead of remembering an account number.
Modi's Game Inside Out, Bengal Bangladesh to UAE & Europe, US Sidelined I Maj Gen Rajiv Narayanan
A thorough evaluation of all the moves being made by Modi. UAE has agreed to keep 30 day storage of crude oil in India. Also UAE wants India to help build an undersea pipeline for gas and oil. Netherlands is crucial (ASML) for semiconductors. India has around 13 fabs in construction. All the backend stuff including design in semiconductors is dominated by Indians, fabs were the weak area and now that is being bridged. Norway has energy. Sweden talks has some summit of all the Euros including Ursala Von and the talks are around resilient supply chain for the Euros - this is about manufacturing.
https://x.com/raghavwadhwa/status/20555 ... 35766?s=20
Everyone's panicking about INR crossing 96. Fresh all-time lows every single session this week.
Let's decode: Why is the rupee falling?
It's not because FIIs are selling. They've pulled ₹1.92 lakh crore out of Indian equities in 2026 already, more than all of 2025 combined. Yet DIIs have absorbed nearly 90% of that. That's not the pressure point.
The real pressure point is energy.
India imports 88.6% of its crude oil. We consume 5.5 million barrels a day and produce less than a million domestically. Our crude oil import bill for FY26 was $134.7 billion. Petroleum and crude alone account for roughly 22% of India's total import bill.
Now layer in the geopolitics. Iran tensions are live. Brent is trading around $110. India's total import bill for FY26 hit $775 billion. The crude import bill alone was $134.7 billion, and that was in a year when oil prices were relatively moderate for most months. With crude now spiking, the FY27 bill could be significantly worse.
The rupee didn't weaken because of sentiment. It weakened because India is physically buying more dollars to pay for oil it cannot produce.
Here's the part most people miss.
India's Strategic Petroleum Reserves cover just 9.5 days at full capacity. Right now, they're about 64% full. That's roughly 5 days of actual cover. The US maintains 90+ days. We have 5.
The PM asking citizens to carpool, work from home, and use public transport to conserve fuel is not a casual suggestion. It's a signal of how stretched the energy balance really is.
So who wins and who loses from this?
Losers (rupee weakness + high oil = double hit):
Oil marketing companies like BPCL, HPCL, IOC. They buy crude in dollars, sell products in rupees. Every rupee of depreciation compresses margins unless the government lets them pass through prices.
Airlines. ATF is dollar-denominated. IndiGo, SpiceJet, Air India, all face margin pressure when rupee weakens and crude stays elevated simultaneously.
Paint companies. Crude derivatives (TiO2, monomers, solvents) make up 35 to 40% of raw material costs. Asian Paints, Berger, Kansai Nerolac, all import-heavy input baskets priced in dollars.
Tyre companies. Natural rubber + crude-derived synthetic rubber + carbon black. Apollo Tyres, MRF, CEAT all face input cost inflation when rupee depreciates.
Winners (rupee weakness = revenue tailwind):
IT services. TCS, Infosys, Wipro, HCL Tech earn 75%+ revenue in USD. Every rupee of depreciation flows almost directly to EBITDA margins. No change in business needed. Pure translation benefit.
Pharma exporters. Sun Pharma, Dr Reddy's, Cipla, Aurobindo. Similar dynamic. Dollar-denominated revenue, rupee-denominated costs. Currency tailwind on top of operating performance.
Specialty chemical exporters. Companies like SRF, Navin Fluorine, PI Industries with significant export books benefit from the same translation math.
Textile exporters. Companies with large export order books in dollar terms see margin expansion without any change in pricing.
The rupee at 96 is not a confidence crisis. It is a structural energy deficit showing up in the currency. India spends more on importing oil than it earns from its entire goods trade surplus excluding petroleum.
Until India either produces more energy domestically or diversifies aggressively into renewables, nuclear, and gas, the rupee will remain a hostage to global crude prices.
Stop watching the rupee ticker. Start watching the crude oil ticker. That's where the real story is.
Disclaimer: This post is for educational purposes only. Not a buy or sell recommendation. Please do your own research or consult a SEBI-registered advisor before making any investment decisions.