Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

^^^ :shock: . Source pliss? Never Mind: Clicky

I wonder why he didn't go to Sammy? or even Takla? Xiaomi afaik doesn't have a US setup....maybe he wants to take sanyaas somewhere away from the valley where people would snigger behind his back how the Glass totin' Sergey stole his GHQ. :mrgreen:

I have met Hugo quite a few times f2f - he's a real nice guy and one smart cookie. Pichai Maharaj better hitch up his patloon or else.

PS: Chalk that up as another misfortune visiting someone who got visited by me (to add to the list being made in Nukkad). So do I get invited to any more BRF meets? :twisted:

Yep, Brin's new ayesha is named Amanda Rosenberg and she was the one who was earlier involved with Hugo Barra.

Relevant links:
Google Creator Sergey Brin and Wife Are Over While He Dates Employee <-- I only found out when reading this earlier that Brin's SHQ was behind 23andme.com, didn't know Google was funding them. Apparently Mr. Brin has a pre-nup with his (soon-to-be-ex) SHQ.

Meet the Google Founder's Mistress
Last edited by ArmenT on 29 Aug 2013 09:51, edited 1 time in total.

Amanda of the Google Glass team? :lol:

Yes, that Amanda. Do you know her?

I don't personally but one of my friends works with her. From what I hear Brin baba better keep his pocket book safe. :P But then gujob e kaan diben na! Anyways good riddance for Hugo - he seems way too good for her.

seems to be of russian jewish origin...a bit like ana chapman look.

he is sure living it up like tony stark...copying the hairstyle and general look.

^^Half asian.

More steaming garam-a-garam chaiwallah tidbits on that apparently will be forthcoming in due course....from a very unexpected source. Didn't know Chacha was such a hot bed of bedroom passion. :mrgreen:

well they work hard, play hard.
rajkumar

Post by rajkumar »

Mort Walker wrote:^^^Tell me about it....What tracking s/w is available for WP? If there is, SHQ may force me to switch. :)
If you have a WP phone which is linked to a Outlook.com account then you can track that phone from http://www.windowsphone.com/

As long as Amanda doesnt piss off Brin baba, aal izz well. Otherwise it will be a career ending move for her.

I think it was unwarranted of mr. gates to mock google loon. though he is right on the health care capabilities, but loon could definitely provide the needed information for the poor world.

http://www.theguardian.com/technology/2 ... oject-loon

Raja Bose wrote:More steaming garam-a-garam chaiwallah tidbits on that apparently will be forthcoming in due course....from a very unexpected source. Didn't know Chacha was such a hot bed of bedroom passion. :mrgreen:
Whats the deal with chacha? Do they allow bosses to b@ng subordinates? They might get sued if people think that others can sleep their way to promotions.

^^^The principal players here aren't saying in public they are b@anging each other, but it is implied. So there can be a case for what you are saying.
Raja Bose wrote:I don't personally but one of my friends works with her. From what I hear Brin baba better keep his pocket book safe.
Doesn't Brin have cash assets of ~$2 billion and GOOG stocks worth ~$20 billion? So that maybe why she's after him and all he wants is the bearded clam.

Raja Bose wrote:More steaming garam-a-garam chaiwallah tidbits on that apparently will be forthcoming in due course....from a very unexpected source. Didn't know Chacha was such a hot bed of bedroom passion. :mrgreen:
Dada , san fran, dada. Hippie movement eedike start hoyi galo.

^^He had a prenup with his wife. I am sure he will have one with this one too, if it ever goes that far. He will still be good for a few millions though. Fund her start up, buy a house, expensive gifts..small change for him. Win win onlee.

mahadevbhu wrote:
Dada , san fran, dada. Hippie movement eedike start hoyi galo.

SV is full of history like that though. Look what the mayor of SV (robert Noyce) did with his personal life.

^^ not.

he'll promote her and then she'll quit to become the next CEO of Yahoo .

2 alpha type people cannot live together for long. He probably wanted someone who would dress up pretty for him and do as he says, adore him etc. His wife is a CEO as well, so was probably too busy/stressed.

mahadevbhu wrote:^^ not.

he'll promote her and then she'll quit to become the next CEO of Yahoo .
Yeah, Page was b@ning Marissa Motorma some time ago. I bet RB has some details on that through his sources. I think this chick wil become CEO of Appil after Bawarchi is fired in some years.

SV is full of history like that though. Look what the mayor of SV (robert Noyce) did with his personal life.
guruji robert noyce is a baccha in front of the big daddy; eric schmidt. that guys got a truly khullam khulla shaadi.

wonder how he made his wife allow that ? ;) :D

Eric Schmidt's wife is the true sekular liberal. :mrgreen:

Given that Amanda bibi is sub-ordinate to Brin (a few layers between her and Brin I guess), it doesn't speak well of Brin baba's judgment. Luckily for Chacha shareholders Page mian is CEO, not Brin.
SaiK wrote:I think it was unwarranted of mr. gates to mock google loon. though he is right on the health care capabilities, but loon could definitely provide the needed information for the poor world.

http://www.theguardian.com/technology/2 ... oject-loon
For a moment I thought you were referring to Sergey Brin :lol: I think Gates takleef is, he sees the motive as being not 500% pure since the spread of the net also helps Chacha's core business. Anyhow, to each to his own. What Gates is doing however no other philanthropist has done in recent history either in terms of direct hands-on involvement or the scale of efforts in terms of reach/impact/funding. 500% credit goes to his SHQ for that.

23&Me is in pretty bad shape right now and their major funding has been from Chacha thru good offices of Brin baba (shouldn't that be a conflict of interest?).

Singha wrote:well they work hard, play hard.
They certainly play hard, but do they work that hard?

rubull: brin is not lune like a goon. yeah i knew you would have a nice laugh.

bal-loon it shall be
Last edited by SaiK on 30 Aug 2013 01:29, edited 2 times in total.

SV is rife with hidden CoI(tus) (whoa there, hope I am not turning into another Spinster).

All that coding makes people h0rnee :D

^^^KJo, you speak from eggs-spear-enace?

It's 2:55 AM now, have been coding non stop for the last 16 hours, horny isnt exactly the word I would use to describe my current state though. It's been a while since I have coded this hard, have hit the trenches with the hand grenade in my right hand and a kalashnikov in my left. To hell with my "architect"/paltan leader role, its now or never, cross the trenches we shall!! With the t-34s not far behind me I feel confident.

Not a soul in sight (no sixth sense movie jokes please), the entire office to myself. I cranked up the coffee machine and it roared like an old lada in the hands of a Cuban mechanic. Ahhh but capitalism is the poison of the west. Extracts the juice out of me eh comrade?

need ideas/suggestions.

i need to purchase android app on nexus 7, but my daughter has set it up for her account. I don't want to add my credit card details to say to purchase a book for her. How do I do this?

^^^Buy Google Play cards for the kids. I buy a 2-3 $25 cards from Target, Wal-Mart, etc. for just such a thing.

ok. thx

techcrunch:

Handpicked Team
Xiaomi is staffed by former employees of Microsoft, Motorola and (of course) Google. Barra joins former colleague Lin Bin, who was previously the Vice President of Google China’s Engineering Research Institute and Engineering Director of Google before co-founding Xiaomi as its President.

Xiaomi’s founding team was carefully put together by co-founder and CEO Lei Jun with the goal of creating a smartphone company that could take on Apple.

Many profiles in the Western media center on a narrative that presents Lei Jun as a startup founder who aspires to be “the Steve Jobs of China.” Lei Jun has encouraged that comparison, but it belies the fact that he is already one of China’s most influential and successful tech entrepreneurs.

Lei Jun’s resume includes Joyo.com, which was purchased by Amazon in 2004 for $75 million and is now Amazon China and chairing the board of UCWeb, the largest mobile Web browser in China. He also founded YY, which had its IPO in November.

Lei Jun has said that he wants Xiaomi to push the idea that high-end hardware can be made in China, despite the country’s reputation for manufacturing low-cost, low-quality goods. In May, Lei Jun told the GMIC conference in Beijing that he modeled Xiaomi after two unlikely sources of inspiration: a 340-year-old traditional Chinese medicine company called Tongrentang and hot pot chain Hai Di Lao. Lei Jun says these two companies taught him never to produce lower-quality products for the sake of cost, as well as the importance of customer service.

Challenging Samsung In China
A recent report showed that Xiaomi’s flagship Mi 2S was the most popular phone sold in China in the first half of 2013, followed by Samsung’s Galaxy S4. The Mi 2S was released in April, at about the same time as the S4.

Xiaomi still trails Samsung in overall market share. According to Analysys International, in the second quarter Xiaomi had a 2.5 percent share of China’s smartphone market, compared to 18.6 percent for Samsung and 4.6 percent for Apple.

If smartphone sales continue to grow at their current pace, however, Xiaomi has a good chance of making a significant dent in Samsung’s market share. Xiaomi announced in July that it had sold 7.03 million handsets in the first half of 2013. Over that period, it made RMB 13.27 billion (about $2.16 billion) in revenue. That means Xiaomi sold almost the same number of phones in the first half of 2013 as it did in all of 2012, and made more than double the amount of revenue in the first half of 2013 as the $957.46 million it netted in the corresponding period a year ago.

Savvy Marketing
Xiaomi’s sales can be attributed in part to its willingness to try offbeat marketing strategies. In December 2012, Xiaomi announced that it will sell phones directly from Sina Weibo, China’s top microblogging platform with 400 million members. The unusual marketing tactic proved successful: within two days of the announcement, Xiaomi said it had sold 50,000 smartphones in five minutes, with 1.3 million additional reservations.

The company has gained a loyal fanbase by incorporating user feedback into the design of its latest sets and Android skins, which in turn helps the company keep its development costs down. Every week, Xiaomi releases a new version of miUI, its customized Android skin, which is then scrutinized by a few hundred thousand hardcore users.

Xiaomi’s smartphones are typically made available in batches of 200,000 to 300,000 on its Web site and sometimes sell out in less than an hour
. Xiaomi has dismissed complaints that its limited supplies are meant to inflate demand. Instead, the company insists gauging consumer reaction before rolling out more handsets helps it keep prices down. Xiaomi is ramping up production, however, and there are signs that it may become one of Foxconn’s top five clients this year.

Monetization Questions Remain
Xiaomi’s plan is to sell high-end smartphones at or slightly beyond the cost of materials and eventually monetize through software and services. Its handsets currently range from 799RMB to 1699RMB (US$130 to US$278).

The company has not revealed its profits, but investor Hans Tung, a partner at Qiming Venture Partners, has said that Xiaomi makes about 10 percent profit on its handsets.

Xiaomi still has to prove, however, that its business strategy will bear fruit. Xiaomi’s sales figures are living up to the company’s hype from a consumer perspective, but as Kim-Mai Cutler noted in May, Xiaomi still has to show that it can monetize software services, an area in which it faces competition from Chinese tech giants such as Alibaba and Tencent.

It remains to be seen what Xiaomi’s plans for its business strategy are now that Barra, Google’s former Vice President of product management for Android, is on board to head its international expansion, but we might find out soon: Xiaomi’s next big press conference, at which it is expected to launch its latest product lineup, is on September 5.

the xiaomi Mi2S does have the general build quality, looks and specs of a very good phone. wish it were available in india to check out. better looks than gionee for sure. the 32gb version uses a branded sony camera module.

http://www.xiaomi.com/mi2s#

I found the perfect new phone for RB

http://www.gizmodo.in/gadgets/Samsung-G ... 150223.cms

Pyaare,

Please tell us about the Nokia Lumia 1520. My contact for the Lumia 1020 told me to hold off until December because he told me that I would really want the Lumia 1520.
The Lumia 1520 Bandit Phone

Who would've thunk? Jab Sammy tatti karta, tho sab log tatti karta. :mrgreen: :P

Kahan chaale pyaare? Aab aap ka jawab ka intejaar hai? :mrgreen: :P I gotta get back to work you know?

the new GDR2 update or whatever its called for WP8 enables 1080p support that would be essential for big screens.
the higher end models will likely get HD in next years refresh cycle.

He's a mystery, a myth, an enigma. He flies through the night skies with ease. Swiftly, graciously. He brings justice and peace to the city streets. He fights the man. He is the man. Who is he? Who is the caped crusader? He is LU... (internet connection lost)

Kyon tau ji, Nokia ne bhi kya Sammy jaise plasticky turd with laggy UI banana shuru kar diya? :P Jaise ki yeh...

The tragic flaw with this phone is that it positively lumbers through anything you want it to do. Want to open an app? Tap it. Then wait five seconds for it to open. Same thing for going back to the home screen. If you accidentally tapped the wrong icon, it would take you a full 15 seconds plus to get out of it and into the one you wanted. :rotfl:
Last edited by Raja Bose on 30 Aug 2013 22:46, edited 1 time in total.

Singha wrote:I found the perfect new phone for RB

Hey, look at this phone, I say to my girlfriend. That's not a phone. That's a tablet, she says. Exactly.
Actually when I showed my GHQ, my Lumia 928 clocking in at a measly 4.5", she handed it back to me and said "Here, take your TV back". :oops: :oops:

mahdi with his vast experience bedding women got that one right. only tall meaty women can love anything more than 4" ... and I dont mean that