Page 126 of 126

Re: Indian Railways Thread (Dec 2015)

Posted: 18 Nov 2025 21:59
by uddu
Railway Reforms for Cement Transportation
Policy for new bulk cement terminals and rate rationalisation will reduce cost of cement and support affordable housing for middle and lower middle-income families.

This cleaner, faster and door-to-door service of bulk cement will give a boost to the construction industry and economy.

Posted: 18 Nov 2025 23:09
by Jay
The way Indian Railways has transformed itself since 2014 is nothing short of a miracle. The good thing is it's looking like this is only the beginning and we are letting that foot off the accelerator pedal.

Posted: 18 Nov 2025 23:44
by S_Madhukar
This is all good but seeing some vlogs from foreigner’s anything we do is less with Railways.

Maintenance of LHB AC coaches often in long distances routes is shocking with only basic cleanliness, showers not working, doors not closing etc … not sure why we still use the old White VB trains as their quality control was poor, some rakes don’t even get a wash in months it seems.

So while we buy new rakes and trains we need to figure a way of maintenance depots and standardisation. The sheer variety of our coaches EMU, DEMU, MEMU is horrifying, gaudy colours etc.

garbage disposal onto tracks from railway staff now seems to be targeted so that’s one improvement.but otherwise most of the railway network is a garbage lane.

We want to make trains in ICF - God save us. We will soon be overtaken by SEA in the quality of trains… often they purchase pre- owned trains from Japan.. it does the job for them because the aesthetics are at least good and manufactured well. I know long term we will have IR just maintains infrastructure while trains will be maintained by private companies but we need to start sooner than later.

Food served is same paneer , chicken curry , daal across all fare types. No labels nothing. Clearly proves Railway babus don’t do any inspections when it comes to service. Not to mention our railway platforms are sometimes wet because the coaches themselves piss on them.. no idea what they flush down…people waiting for long distance trains sleeping on floor.. let’s not talk toilets … and even in metros this is the situation.

I watched a Japanese guy going from Dibrugarh to Kerala…man I salute him even though he was in AC … he was sporting but finally he had the good fortune of ordering Dominos pizza and fried chicken on a station in Andhra.. small mercies , he must have thought :mrgreen:

Staff don’t seem to have proper uniform anyone comes in starts selling so what security for women etc…
If nothing we can just implement some standards from British Raj… else this Biharification and Mandalification of railways will have its own drag on the economy . Seems to the average passenger once you are in the train hope that it goes from point A to point B without trouble and catastrophic delays… similar to how Indian govt treats its citizens… we are all orphans and all on autopilot!!

And the basics of train names and destinations… bhai that is a class apart … what is difference in quality between Duronto/Rajdhani/Shatabdi/Express etc etc while the fares change a lot :((

The only ray of hope so far are the standard of the metro lines. Pleasantly surprised that on Agra metro there was a lady driving the train and wearing full pants and tie with a rolling bag. That’s a start