Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Suraj wrote:I just googled salmiakki :eek: I can't believe people eat something like that, and have the nerve to call it candy. And that too, from first world Scandinavian countries. They ought to be summarily demoted to turd world status just for inventing such nonsense. I thought the Taiwanese plumbed the bottom of the scale with their stinky tofu, but this sounds worse.
Salmiakki isn't that bad :D. I've bought it on occasion from a local candy store and brought it to work. It is an acquired taste though -- most people think it is weird and my boss is now forever suspicious of anything I offer him.

so rbull, are you saying having a sammy feature with iphone look and feel is what needed? i am sure some chippanda is listening to make some billions off the grey market.

Pyaare,

Sammy has been listening to you. No more plastic, but plastic wrapped in leather. :mrgreen:
I have no use for Sammy's Galaxy Gear Dick Tracy watch....as this Dick has no use for it. :rotfl:

Singha wrote:my employer provides a choice of thinkpads and mac. employees demanded mac as a choice. but full internal support and even a inhouse crew of lenovo 1st level repair guys only for thinkpad. mac are "community based support" and gradually people have found workarounds and options for whatever is lacking and most younger employees obviously go for the retina mac despite a slightly longer wait period. new college hires are not given mac option because that would hike demand hugely, they have to wait for first refresh cycle 3 yrs.
so apple is penetrating the enterprise due to employee demand even in non-BYOD scenarios.

I dont understand why anyone would buy a mac over a thinkpad? one is entirely seriously as a business machine.....and the other ....well....the other has a glossy display :)

^^^I have both. The Lenovo ThinkPad and various Mac Books and Mac Book Airs. As far as build quality is concerned, Lenovo ThinkPads comes close to the MB & MBA, but not quite. The MB & MBA have mechanically better keyboards, better color accuracy, more surface area as the MB and MBA are 16:10 and not 16:9., and better battery life.

Raja Bose wrote: HTC One designer and team is right now enjoying free hospitality for trying to steal company IP and also transmitting secret information to Chipanda govt.
:eek: :(( I was hoping they would make the next Nexus phone. The HTC One was absolutely gorgeous.
Last edited by nachiket on 04 Sep 2013 23:45, edited 2 times in total.

^^Why does that yellow back remind me of a yellow Lumia? I see a court case coming.

That Samsung watch is crying for an accompanying BR parody conversation at Sammy HQ regarding the sequence of design-by-committee steps that led to them creating that... thing. Raja Bose, maybe with your familiarity with their culture, you can give it a shot ? :)

^^^can it project a ppt slide on the wall!? ;)

btw, fundamentally a cell phone or smart phone should easily integrate FM/SW radio receivers.. why is that most devices don't carry it? essentially the technology is slamming into a bunch of frequencies shared among various participants.

??

It is $300 for watch that needs to be re-charged every day. No thank you.

They should make it rechargeable from body heat.

At those prices I would be looking at Citizen Eco Drive and Casio Edifice models that both lock on to WWV.

Another one looking to bite the dust....and the consolidation continues....

WSJ: BlackBerry sale likely to be wrapped up by November

casio kinetic is cool. i got one some 10 years back.. just few shakes per day, and the time goes perpetual.

it has 200m below sea level resist too.

Uncle Fester at the receiving end of a coffee table for a change - How the Nokia deal was done :mrgreen:

For those who don't know, Risto Siilasmaa featured in the story is the guy who founded F-Secure, the anti-virus company and is the richest man in Finland (in Finland your net worth is public information and your speeding ticket fines get determined as a function of that).

Raja Bose wrote:Another one looking to bite the dust....and the consolidation continues....

WSJ: BlackBerry sale likely to be wrapped up by November
Who would want to buy them? Do they have any interesting patents which could be used to sue others?

Raja Bose wrote:^^Motor Oil tried that with the Kevlar BS....it feels like crap.

HTC One designer and team is right now enjoying free hospitality for trying to steal company IP and also transmitting secret information to Chipanda govt.

Family that owns HTC already have very close relationship with people in power in CHina.

If the YumBeeYay's at Samsung are feeling smug about their market share they need to look at where RIM was some years ago and where they are now. Maybe that will convince them to stop churning out 6 and 7 inch monstrosities and calling them "phones" or $300 wristwatches which nobody is going to buy.

in a similar form factor , a far smaller co magellan is able to produce this gps watch....clean, functional, good looking
http://www.coolest-gadgets.com/wp-conte ... -watch.jpg

nachiket wrote:If the YumBeeYay's at Samsung are feeling smug about their market share they need to look at where RIM was some years ago and where they are now. Maybe that will convince them to stop churning out 6 and 7 inch monstrosities and calling them "phones" or $300 wristwatches which nobody is going to buy.
The difference is Sammy isn't a one trick pony like BB. They aren't even a telecom, software or services company. They are fundamentally a hardware company that is on the current bandwagon to milk the smart phone revolution and make sure that companies like Apple don't walk away with hundreds of billions while the going is good. At some point smart phones will be a commodity like VCRs, DVD players, and flat screen TVs. Everybody will have one and the replacement will slow down like laptop sales. In other words, the margins will become very low once the chipandas get going in this sphere in short order. What will be left is the hard work of developing the OS and applications. IMHO, what we're seeing today with smart phones & tablets is what we've seen with desktop PCs and laptops from 1980-2005 where saturation of the devices into everyone's hands, but instead of 25 years being compressed to 2005-2017 or 12 years.

anything sw intensive used to be dominated by eu/us players enjoying fat margins and sourcing hw from asian players on low margins. samsung, sony, android availability, open source has changed that.

did not understand the retina display feature? going by the definition, if it is all to do with pixel counts, then why can't sammy claim it? what is this naming retina display.. initially i was thinking it would be for secure access controls like multifactor login using retina. i am confused at the naming.

^^^it might be TMed by FruitCo.

huh.. that is insane!

mini jambox looks good. adding it to my wishlist that has chromecast.

Mort Walker wrote: The difference is Sammy isn't a one trick pony like BB. They aren't even a telecom, software or services company. They are fundamentally a hardware company that is on the current bandwagon to milk the smart phone revolution and make sure that companies like Apple don't walk away with hundreds of billions while the going is good. At some point smart phones will be a commodity like VCRs, DVD players, and flat screen TVs. Everybody will have one and the replacement will slow down like laptop sales. In other words, the margins will become very low once the chipandas get going in this sphere in short order.
But this has already happened, at least in developed markets. Margins are already low even without the chipandas coming in. The chipandas are doing their bit to make them low in developing markets.
What will be left is the hard work of developing the OS and applications. IMHO, what we're seeing today with smart phones & tablets is what we've seen with desktop PCs and laptops from 1980-2005 where saturation of the devices into everyone's hands, but instead of 25 years being compressed to 2005-2017 or 12 years.
Sammy's software development capability hasn't impressed till now. If their latest gimmicks in the S4 are anything to go by, I'm not holding my breath for Tizen. Plain vanilla Android continues to be a better experience than anything Sammy has dished out thus far.

SaiK wrote:did not understand the retina display feature? going by the definition, if it is all to do with pixel counts, then why can't sammy claim it? what is this naming retina display.. initially i was thinking it would be for secure access controls like multifactor login using retina. i am confused at the naming.
The amusing thing now is that advertising a retina display is akin to advertising a lower ppi than your competitors.

^^^And yet FruitCo still proudly advertises Only the iPhone has the Retina Display :mrgreen:

does the samsung app store have any must have apps. all I saw were a bunch of kiddish games. do they have a single app thats hugely popular?

Singha wrote:does the samsung app store have any must have apps. all I saw were a bunch of kiddish games. do they have a single app thats hugely popular?
How do you even get to it? I own an S3 and I don't see anything in my Apps list called a Samsung App Store or anything similar.

those dont count. I was speaking of people buying it in india.
my android phone has a pre-installed icon that leads to their own website.
it makes the android market look very good.

So in the household MMRCA tender for a phonuwa while I was peddling 720 and 820 to madamji, she wanted something girly (whatever that means) and asked for a Xperia S/SP I simply nodded yes and after two days of trawling online portals quietly bought a 820 and mailed it to her as gift. :)

She does not know about it :mrgreen:

On a serious note one has to give it to Sony for having such a high sense of self entitlement , The Xperia S series costs about 20-25k INR and while spec wise the display is better than Nokia's it does not look as vibrant , blacks are not black and viewing angle is less. The flashing colour LED strip at the botton end of the phone is a needless distraction. I am a big fan of phones with a good battery and wanted to buy 720 instead however the 512Mb of RAM killed it for me for I was scared as to if MSFT's new Windows release will run as smooth on it as say on a 820 or 9XX. Fruitco is very generous in that department the latest release of iOS is supported on even 4 year old 3GS now that is what is needed when you are selling a phone for 40k+ INR , I personally like to keep my phones until they stop functioning so Nokia's build quality is what did me in.

Madam ji ka kya hai she will yell at me for a day or two but after that 6 months down the line she will be happy about a device which can withstand her abuse (she has already lost a Samsung galaxy in some lake near Doon).

the blacks are deep and sensuous in the 820..like a woman's eyes onlee. biggest benefit my wife got was her office outlook access is now seamless and her giant dell office laptop need not share our bed for some early morning mail checks!

822 is not in India. :oops:

What is the difference between 820 and 822 ?
-- nevermind got the review on youtube so the latter has a larger battery , too bad it's not in India

^ Now lets not talk about it , you know what I assumed that all 7XX+ Lumias had GG2. Bahut pitunga. :((

thats again like retina myth. every high end phone has scratch resistant glass. st gobain / asahi / some german cos all make their own variants using pretty much the same formula and vendors use them as needed. corning like apple just gets more hype cycles.
EVERY consumer glass out there will scratch with sharp keys in the pocket. thats why almost everyone I see with a iphone puts scratchguard on screen and even a ugly case in the back - so much for gg2 and metal case being arjun tough..more like t90 really.

dont think there is any scratchproof cellphone glass, just scratchresistant...calling it a gorilla doesnt make it stronger than langur glass made in nasik or snowmonkey glass made in hokkaido. this here gent isnt a gorilla, but he is bad enough

GD wo sab to theek hai but why does Nokia then not at least list that the glass used is comparable to the one it has on 920 which is a GG2; from marketing point of view this is a sooside for lot of potential customers are going to turn away just because they might think that Nokia has cut corners . The fact that every other smart phone from a decent OEM in 20K+ range out there has GG2 makes things even worse for Nokia. People come to Nokia because of it's reputation for making phones with superior build quality in this day and age of pptgiri they need to play that game .

if they were good at mbagiri do you think they would have landed up where they did pre-lumia? :mrgreen:

scratch test http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZcYxOa5xU2k