Kargil War Thread - VI
Re: Kargil War Thread - VI
Second that. I would contribute to such a fund.
Me too.
Vivek K wrote:Second that. I would contribute to such a fund.
Hats off to Nasir Ahmed of Zeenews for bringing back the memories of Kargil War in today's news report.
Thank you.
Forum moderator.
Thank you.
Forum moderator.
Good to see wisdom finally dawning and our Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh doing the right thing.
Undoubtedly embarrassment causing words but nonetheless truly said by our former COAS, Gen. V.P. Malik :
India's martyrs: Killed in war, lost in memory
From a CNN-IBN panel discussion comprising Col VM Thapar, who lost his son Capt Vijayant Thapar to the Kargil War; Rajni Devi, who lost her husband Hawaldar Anant Kumar; Col Kanwar Bharadwaj, whose son Umang was killed in the counter-insurgency operations in J-K; Capt Akhilesh, who was injured during the Kargil war and General VP Malik, the Army chief at the time of the war.“God and soldier are remembered in times of crisis. As soon as that is over, God is forgotten and soldier slighted. If you don’t remember the bravest of the brave, obviously we’d think the soldier is being forgotten,”
India's martyrs: Killed in war, lost in memory
http://www.ndtv.com/kargil/videos.aspx? ... =Forgotten
Interview with the Helicopter Squadron CO who led the first attacks.
The clip has a couple of shots that apparently show stingers being fired - but I couldnt make it out.
Interview with the Helicopter Squadron CO who led the first attacks.
The clip has a couple of shots that apparently show stingers being fired - but I couldnt make it out.
Doing the right thing my a** (and I'm extremely sorry for the language, but I've had enough with all these years of disgrace of our forces).... he just doesn't want to lose face or votes.arun wrote:Good to see wisdom finally dawning and our Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh doing the right thing.
These Jawans are the same people who would dip into their own rations in order that their guests may receive the omlettes they asked for, and not murmur or complain one bit. They are the same people who don't hesitate to walk people up to pilgrimage spots in lockstep with the horses and in return, refuse any money. And these 'guests', are usually the same leaders who don't care a hoot about the jawans once they are back in the airconditioning.
Forget the Netas... they won't change. Let us at least remember those who serve us...
How about creating a thread for Indian Military Stories and personal recollections... they dont really fit in anywhere, but I'm sure we have more than enough of those stories. At least, that way, we can show the common man what a humble jawan fights against to fight for us.
CNN-IBN showing a nice story about Yogendra Yadav. Editor is Nishant Khetrapal... any relation to the other Khetrapal???
A really good idea in my opinion. I hope that the mods agree to it.k prasad wrote: Forget the Netas... they won't change. Let us at least remember those who serve us...
How about creating a thread for Indian Military Stories and personal recollections... they dont really fit in anywhere, but I'm sure we have more than enough of those stories. At least, that way, we can show the common man what a humble jawan fights against to fight for us.
Nice idea indeed. If we have a monthly magazine or something like that in circulation, we can include their story of sacrifice and victory as a highlight of the magazine. We have wonderful Tom Clancy types right in our forum who can add thrill to the stories. These mags will reach common Indian janata. Not many logon to internet and read our thread.Parijat Gaur wrote:A really good idea in my opinion. I hope that the mods agree to it.k prasad wrote: Forget the Netas... they won't change. Let us at least remember those who serve us...
2 cents
This thread can be used for thatk prasad wrote:[How about creating a thread for Indian Military Stories and personal recollections... they dont really fit in anywhere, but I'm sure we have more than enough of those stories. At least, that way, we can show the common man what a humble jawan fights against to fight for us..
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... ?f=3&t=114
Jagan-saar, that would be the right thread to post about the heroism of our jawans. But there is far more to an armyman than simple heroism, and a lot of the members here would have personal recollections about the Forces that are not heroism, but just another example of the warmth and affection that these men bestow upon those lucky enough to interact with them...Jagan wrote:This thread can be used for thatk prasad wrote:[How about creating a thread for Indian Military Stories and personal recollections... they dont really fit in anywhere, but I'm sure we have more than enough of those stories. At least, that way, we can show the common man what a humble jawan fights against to fight for us..
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... ?f=3&t=114
...such stories (like the one about Col. Khetrapal's father, or one I told about taking eggs out of their own personal rations) aren't heroism, and I don't think we should dilute the heroism thread with this and vice versa... Then there are the hilarious stories (about Generals stuck in planes with chicken, for example), which are certainly way out of that thread. JMTC. Thx.
The politicians and I don't call them leaders, only understand votes and vote bank politics.
The Armed Forces, because of their training (call it of their colonial past, though there are none who can claim to be pre Independence) will not act as a vote bank, it can be neglected and even damned.
It is the people of the country which can galvanise the politicians into action. Saw how the popular national sentiments kicked the govt into action and some heads rolled and a law was also incorporated (which they were fighting shy to enact)?
Therefore, it is the people who can instil the confidence of the Armed Forces, by galavanising the politicians into action.
But then, if sentiments as aired by some in India - I think PM paid tribute at Amar Jawan , Jyothi which is the holy ground of ALL the brave soldiers of Mother India, then there will come a time, when the Armed Forces too will lose interest in doing their job and merely take it as a means to keep their hearth and home intact. We are already moving that way!
In the UK, you have the Rememberance day and in the US, the Veterans Day and what do you have in India? Not even a Forget Them day!!
But of course, everyone including the Congress spokesman Singhvi on the NDTV Big Fight had mealy mouthed pious platitudes and homilies as to how they love the Armed Forces and are sooooooooooo grateful to them and other such crock! Hypocrites!!
And of course, one should not forget the original freak of nature, Congress MP Rashid Alvi. He is such a cretin that he thinks wars fought by India is for poltical parties!! This was a BJP war, this assinine fool observed, and so the Nation does not celebrate! Oh wow!
The Armed Forces, because of their training (call it of their colonial past, though there are none who can claim to be pre Independence) will not act as a vote bank, it can be neglected and even damned.
It is the people of the country which can galvanise the politicians into action. Saw how the popular national sentiments kicked the govt into action and some heads rolled and a law was also incorporated (which they were fighting shy to enact)?
Therefore, it is the people who can instil the confidence of the Armed Forces, by galavanising the politicians into action.
But then, if sentiments as aired by some in India - I think PM paid tribute at Amar Jawan , Jyothi which is the holy ground of ALL the brave soldiers of Mother India, then there will come a time, when the Armed Forces too will lose interest in doing their job and merely take it as a means to keep their hearth and home intact. We are already moving that way!
In the UK, you have the Rememberance day and in the US, the Veterans Day and what do you have in India? Not even a Forget Them day!!
But of course, everyone including the Congress spokesman Singhvi on the NDTV Big Fight had mealy mouthed pious platitudes and homilies as to how they love the Armed Forces and are sooooooooooo grateful to them and other such crock! Hypocrites!!
And of course, one should not forget the original freak of nature, Congress MP Rashid Alvi. He is such a cretin that he thinks wars fought by India is for poltical parties!! This was a BJP war, this assinine fool observed, and so the Nation does not celebrate! Oh wow!
personally, i am against India gate/amar jawan jyothi as the only war memorial. that monument smells of a colonial past.
I thought that the absence of the Army Chief on 26th July was was equally galling... the celebrations at Drass were looking as though it was Gen Mailk private war.. i thought it would have been nice if some more ex chiefs were visible. Why were ACM Tipnis, CNS Sushil kr absent??
I would like to have a war memorial dedicated to wars fought post independence...
I thought that the absence of the Army Chief on 26th July was was equally galling... the celebrations at Drass were looking as though it was Gen Mailk private war.. i thought it would have been nice if some more ex chiefs were visible. Why were ACM Tipnis, CNS Sushil kr absent??
I would like to have a war memorial dedicated to wars fought post independence...
Thank God we have atleast that. Honestly I feel British treated their Indian soldiers better than the various Indian Governments which we had after Independence.manjgu wrote:personally, i am against India gate/amar jawan jyothi as the only war memorial. that monument smells of a colonial past.
you speak my mind !manjgu wrote:..........
Ray Saab,RayC wrote:The politicians and I don't call them leaders, only understand votes and vote bank politics.
May be this is OT or may be you may take it to whine thread, but
Even our society has some of this attitudes which the politicians have displayed(after all they are from the society only). My father used to tell me that after 62 war when he and other airmen were posted to Tambaram, they were taunted by some public. No this was not for the defeat ,but he says that many people usually behave in such a way. This was then but I have seen even now people have very scanty knowledge about our own forces. When I tell someone that my dad was in defence , the immediate next question was did you get liquour free? did you get a free site etc.When I say we don't consume liquour and we still live in a rented house, then the next question is can they get a bottle of certain brand etc etc.
Many do not even know the number of wars India fought after Independence.
Soldering and teaching , the two most important activity for a society are looked down upon in India now. I was ridiculed when I said I will join the former and also when I joined the second.
What is needed is much better PR and promotion of the defence forces by the forces themselves.
one main reason why our armed forces don't get the care and attention they deserve is absymal lack of knowledge and information about things military by the general public
The IAS run government will never focus on armed forces because they know the army officers in general more capable than them one to one basis any day and far stronger than them not just physically and more honest too .
The miltary ethos will have to be imbibed in our youngsters from early days by exposing them to the men and machine -from there will grow a new breed of Indians who will inherently respect the armed forces and support them in all capacity even if they are not a part of it
This includes publication of true war stories war comics war video games everything -the play safe domesticated attitude of present generation must go - we need a new mindset - of going to war if the national interest demands it -period
All family should have atleast one direct conncetion to armed forces - at social meets army guys should be shown special courtesy etc etc
The society must recognize the armed forces contribution as a way of life not by giving few medals and financial assistance but by acknowledging the true value of supreme sacrifice in their own life
by adopting war orphans
by marrying war widows
by making providing comfortable accomodation to injured service men
by making sure the kids get education and employment on priorty
by supporting their family in all things civilian like gas connection phone line etc
in short by taking care in a full some manner
only then we shall have a happy army-when they know the people really care
The IAS run government will never focus on armed forces because they know the army officers in general more capable than them one to one basis any day and far stronger than them not just physically and more honest too .
The miltary ethos will have to be imbibed in our youngsters from early days by exposing them to the men and machine -from there will grow a new breed of Indians who will inherently respect the armed forces and support them in all capacity even if they are not a part of it
This includes publication of true war stories war comics war video games everything -the play safe domesticated attitude of present generation must go - we need a new mindset - of going to war if the national interest demands it -period
All family should have atleast one direct conncetion to armed forces - at social meets army guys should be shown special courtesy etc etc
The society must recognize the armed forces contribution as a way of life not by giving few medals and financial assistance but by acknowledging the true value of supreme sacrifice in their own life
by adopting war orphans
by marrying war widows
by supporting their family in all things civilian like gas connection phone line etc
Can someone please scan the newspaper reports?
eg. Hinudstan times
Thanks in advance
eg. Hinudstan times
Thanks in advance
Karnataka remembers its martyrs
Chief Minister Yeddyurappa, while moving a resolution in the Legislative Assembly and paying tribute to the Kargil war heroes, said the government has decided to provide free education to children of martyrs and government jobs to one of its family members.
Of the Rs 5 lakh, Rs 3 lakh will be given in the name of martyr’s wife and children and the remaining Rs 2 lakh will be given in the name of martyrs’ parents, on the occasion of Independence Day, Yeddyurappa added.
scanning is sooo old schoolSurya wrote:Can someone please scan the newspaper reports?
eg. Hinudstan times
Thanks in advance
epaper it
http://epaper.hindustantimes.com/Web/Ar ... 12_002.jpg
Ok now get me the Outlook, India today and other paper reports 

India Today has an epaper version as well.
People still read outlook?

IT is featuring a kargil section
http://specials.digitaltoday.in/kargil/site/index.html
they have actually hosted scans of their old Kargil Issues
eg: http://specials.indiatoday.com/kargil/july5-1999/8.html
http://specials.digitaltoday.in/kargil/site/index.html
they have actually hosted scans of their old Kargil Issues
What are those cylinders being carried by the soldiers in the image? A similar cylinder was carried by the NSG during bombay attack.Jagan wrote:IT is featuring a kargil section
carl gustav.
Our politicians are only a reflection of our rotten society. We are country of people who get blown to pieces on rail tracks & then shot to death in our homes on our soil by Pakistanis, then instead of directing our anger against Pakistan, we direct our anger at ourselves, our system, our police, our navy & our netas, and then when the next elections come, we sit on our asses watching Rakhi Sawant's new drama on TV and the same government comes to power again.
What needs to be done is to introduce a course at school level, a kind of history course wherein our children will learn only about the different wars we've fought & read the stories of all our martyrs, from Ekka, Khetrapal & Sekhon to Vikram Batra, Vijayant Thapar & Yogendra Yadav. It's only then that the future generations will remember all those who sacrificed their lives for mother India.

Very nicely put. Thank you.Shankar wrote:one main reason why our armed forces don't get the care and attention they deserve is absymal lack of knowledge and information about things military by the general public
by adopting war orphans
by marrying war widows
This is brilliant stuff. All of us must encourage this endeavour by buying the comic for self and for kids in the family.
Can some people from BR also come together to get a war video game created?
Just saw that this author has also written another book " Terror on the high seas" http://www.flipkart.com/terror-high-sea ... wv23f90ltk
^^ Video games are not that easy to make. To make even a decent video game, one needs a team of at least 100 skilled people (trained specifically for creating games), min of 2 years and a lot of money. If you are thinking of a simple flash based game, then that is, of course, a different thing. Otherwise, it is not possible for people to come together and make games.
Talking of Capt Vikram Batra, PVC (post)....this from his twin brother...
'
When I talk about Luv, I dont know where to begin. Capt. Vikram Batra PVC (posthumous) is Luv, and I, his younger twin, Kush. His identical twin. Ours was a childhood spent in the hills of Palampur making the most of our identical looksplaying pranks, filling in for each other and at times even getting punished for one anothers mistakes.. The similarity ran deeper than looks. We also had the same interests. Both of us started playing table tennis at the age of ten. Its another story that Vikram went on to become the school champion for five consecutive years. But Id like to believe that I had a big hand in that. After all, I chose to lose to him in the semi-finals in the fifth year so that he could make the school record. But deep in my heart, I know that my brotherShershah of Kargilwas a winner right from the start.
Shershah of Kargil. Thats what the enemy too called Vikram. Thats the mark he made on them on those unforgiving mountains of Kargil. I dont know at what stage Vikram marched on way ahead of all of us. Wed grown up as regular kids, making our choices as we went along. The first different choice that I remember is when our father started giving us Rs 50 a month for the school bus fare. I chose to travel to school by bus. Vikram opted to walk it and instead spend those rupees in the canteen. As we grew up, Vikram opted for the Army, and I, rejected thrice by the Services Selection Board, settled for business administration. How thrilled he was when he made it to the Indian Military Academy (IMA), Dehradun.
It was 6 December 1997. Vikram Batras dream came true. He took the oath as an Officer of the Indian Army:
The Safety, Honour and Welfare of your country comes first, always and every time / The Honour, Welfare and Comfort of the men you command comes next / Your own Ease, Comfort and Safety comes last, always and every time. /
Mom and Dad pinned up the stars on his shoulder. He stood there smiling from ear to ear in his crew cut and several kilos thinner after the rigorous training. It was a grand moment. But it wasnt going to be an easy life and Vikram knew that.
When hed come home on annual leave, we would talk for hours about the challenges he faced in Soporethe strife-torn town in Jammu & Kashmirs Baramulla districtwhich was his first posting. He had been commissioned into 13 JAK Rif.
We would dream of the day he would command his regiment and I would get a chance to attend some of the regimental functions with his family and children. That dream is lost now.
Never could I have imagined, even in my wildest dreams, that the stories we saw in the famous TV serial, Param Vir Chakra, which we watched at a neighbours house in 1985 (we didnt have a TV at home back then) would one day become so real for me. And Vikram would be the hero. Vikram was awarded the countrys highest gallantry award, posthumously. He was only 24. His famous words from the height of 18,000 feet: Yeh Dil Maange More, after victory over the enemy, still ring in my ears.
Its been ten years. A lot has changed. And a lot has remained the same. I have many more grey strands in my hair. Vikram is as youthful as ever. Time cannot touch him. In these last ten years, I have longed to visit those mountains that he conquered. And then suddenly, out of the blue, I got a call to travel to Kargil and Drass. It was as if Vikram was calling me to have a chat with him. I didnt look back, packed my bags and set out to meet him.
I landed in Leh at 10:30 in the morning on 2 July, five days before Vikrams tenth death anniversary. The valley was more beautiful than it is made out to be in books. From the snow-capped hills surrounding it, I could almost sense Vikram looking at me. I then began the road trip to Drass to meet him. The mountain wind blew faster than the speed of the car and in my mind there was just one pictureof the bearded young man who had become a legend for pushing the enemy back at insurmountable heights where even life does not exist.
A little outside Leh, we reached Gurdwara Pathar Sahib. I said a prayer for Vikram and for all those great soldiers guarding those mountains and our motherland. I recalled what Vikram had written in one of his last letters before the attack: Life is at total risk. Anything can happen here. Take care of yourself and Mom and Dad My picture has appeared in The Times Of India. Keep a copy for me. I want to see it once Im back. The picture had appeared on the front page of The Times of India on 2 July 1999. It showed him standing with an anti-aircraft gun and weapons he had captured from Pakistani soldiers. This was after the first ferocious attack on Peak 5140 launched after they performed pooja at the Ghumri Base Camp with the call of Durga Mata Ki Jai.
Vikram and his men captured point 5140 on 20 June 1999, and two weeks later, when his company launched the attack on point 4875 on 5 July, Vikram was fatally woundedhit by sniper fire. The company captured the peak, but after 11 casualties. Vikram was one of them.
It was months later, at the Western Command headquarters, when I met the junior commissioned officer (JCO) who was with Vikram the day he was fatally wounded. He was the last man to speak with Vikram. Sub Major Raghunath Singh started wailing when he saw me. He solved the mystery of my twins death for me: a young officer, Vikrams junior, was hit and crying for help. The JCO wanted to go out to help but Vikram stopped him. The enemy was firing heavily. You have a family and children back home, I will do this, saahab said. He stopped me with these words and went out, Raghunath Singh told me as he wept like a baby, inconsolably. But Vikram was hit by sniper fire. Having realised that, the charged company went berserk, mad with rage at their leader being hit, and killed the enemy soldiers. The tricolour was planted atop point 4875they call it Batra Top now. Vikram reached Palampur before the sun rose on 11 July 1999. He was wrapped in
the tricolour, lying calm almost as if he was trying to catch up on sleep he had lost during these arduous assaults on those treacherous peaks.
Was I really so close to those peaks that I could almost see him fighting there? I wanted to reach up there as fast as possible, but the track was treacherousthe rocky mountain on one side and the sheer fall on the other. In some time, we had left the Indus River behind.
It was a breathtaking journey. A place so beautiful and yet caught in the crossfire of war a decade ago. Midway, at one of the military posts, we had lunch with the commanding officer of 4 JAK Rif. I also met an officer six months senior to Vikramnow a majorand a JCO, both of whom had fought the war together with Vikram. You look so much like Vikram Sir, the JCO said and hugged me. Ive been told that a billion times in the last ten years. There are people now who know me as Captain Vikram Batras brother. Many of them even walk into my office at ICICI Bank in Delhi and stare at me as if they know me. Some of them even say, Weve seen you somewhere. When I tell them Im Captain Batras twin, they say, Oh, Yeh Dil Mange More, and shake my hand.
My dream of visiting Vikram as a commanding officer of a regiment couldnt come true. But Vikram still commands. Hes there in the hearts of the soldiers posted in Kargil and Drass. In that mountain named after him (the Batra Top). And in the transit camp in Drass, called Capt Batra Transit Camp, where weary soldiers break their journey in the call of duty.
Call of duty, the mention of these words takes me back to the days he was to be commissioned as an officer. When he was in the IMA, the footnote of Vikrams letter pad read, If Death comes to me before I prove my blood, I promise Ill kill Death. You kept your word, Vikram. My Brother, My Twin, I salute you.'
'
When I talk about Luv, I dont know where to begin. Capt. Vikram Batra PVC (posthumous) is Luv, and I, his younger twin, Kush. His identical twin. Ours was a childhood spent in the hills of Palampur making the most of our identical looksplaying pranks, filling in for each other and at times even getting punished for one anothers mistakes.. The similarity ran deeper than looks. We also had the same interests. Both of us started playing table tennis at the age of ten. Its another story that Vikram went on to become the school champion for five consecutive years. But Id like to believe that I had a big hand in that. After all, I chose to lose to him in the semi-finals in the fifth year so that he could make the school record. But deep in my heart, I know that my brotherShershah of Kargilwas a winner right from the start.
Shershah of Kargil. Thats what the enemy too called Vikram. Thats the mark he made on them on those unforgiving mountains of Kargil. I dont know at what stage Vikram marched on way ahead of all of us. Wed grown up as regular kids, making our choices as we went along. The first different choice that I remember is when our father started giving us Rs 50 a month for the school bus fare. I chose to travel to school by bus. Vikram opted to walk it and instead spend those rupees in the canteen. As we grew up, Vikram opted for the Army, and I, rejected thrice by the Services Selection Board, settled for business administration. How thrilled he was when he made it to the Indian Military Academy (IMA), Dehradun.
It was 6 December 1997. Vikram Batras dream came true. He took the oath as an Officer of the Indian Army:
The Safety, Honour and Welfare of your country comes first, always and every time / The Honour, Welfare and Comfort of the men you command comes next / Your own Ease, Comfort and Safety comes last, always and every time. /
Mom and Dad pinned up the stars on his shoulder. He stood there smiling from ear to ear in his crew cut and several kilos thinner after the rigorous training. It was a grand moment. But it wasnt going to be an easy life and Vikram knew that.
When hed come home on annual leave, we would talk for hours about the challenges he faced in Soporethe strife-torn town in Jammu & Kashmirs Baramulla districtwhich was his first posting. He had been commissioned into 13 JAK Rif.
We would dream of the day he would command his regiment and I would get a chance to attend some of the regimental functions with his family and children. That dream is lost now.
Never could I have imagined, even in my wildest dreams, that the stories we saw in the famous TV serial, Param Vir Chakra, which we watched at a neighbours house in 1985 (we didnt have a TV at home back then) would one day become so real for me. And Vikram would be the hero. Vikram was awarded the countrys highest gallantry award, posthumously. He was only 24. His famous words from the height of 18,000 feet: Yeh Dil Maange More, after victory over the enemy, still ring in my ears.
Its been ten years. A lot has changed. And a lot has remained the same. I have many more grey strands in my hair. Vikram is as youthful as ever. Time cannot touch him. In these last ten years, I have longed to visit those mountains that he conquered. And then suddenly, out of the blue, I got a call to travel to Kargil and Drass. It was as if Vikram was calling me to have a chat with him. I didnt look back, packed my bags and set out to meet him.
I landed in Leh at 10:30 in the morning on 2 July, five days before Vikrams tenth death anniversary. The valley was more beautiful than it is made out to be in books. From the snow-capped hills surrounding it, I could almost sense Vikram looking at me. I then began the road trip to Drass to meet him. The mountain wind blew faster than the speed of the car and in my mind there was just one pictureof the bearded young man who had become a legend for pushing the enemy back at insurmountable heights where even life does not exist.
A little outside Leh, we reached Gurdwara Pathar Sahib. I said a prayer for Vikram and for all those great soldiers guarding those mountains and our motherland. I recalled what Vikram had written in one of his last letters before the attack: Life is at total risk. Anything can happen here. Take care of yourself and Mom and Dad My picture has appeared in The Times Of India. Keep a copy for me. I want to see it once Im back. The picture had appeared on the front page of The Times of India on 2 July 1999. It showed him standing with an anti-aircraft gun and weapons he had captured from Pakistani soldiers. This was after the first ferocious attack on Peak 5140 launched after they performed pooja at the Ghumri Base Camp with the call of Durga Mata Ki Jai.
Vikram and his men captured point 5140 on 20 June 1999, and two weeks later, when his company launched the attack on point 4875 on 5 July, Vikram was fatally woundedhit by sniper fire. The company captured the peak, but after 11 casualties. Vikram was one of them.
It was months later, at the Western Command headquarters, when I met the junior commissioned officer (JCO) who was with Vikram the day he was fatally wounded. He was the last man to speak with Vikram. Sub Major Raghunath Singh started wailing when he saw me. He solved the mystery of my twins death for me: a young officer, Vikrams junior, was hit and crying for help. The JCO wanted to go out to help but Vikram stopped him. The enemy was firing heavily. You have a family and children back home, I will do this, saahab said. He stopped me with these words and went out, Raghunath Singh told me as he wept like a baby, inconsolably. But Vikram was hit by sniper fire. Having realised that, the charged company went berserk, mad with rage at their leader being hit, and killed the enemy soldiers. The tricolour was planted atop point 4875they call it Batra Top now. Vikram reached Palampur before the sun rose on 11 July 1999. He was wrapped in
the tricolour, lying calm almost as if he was trying to catch up on sleep he had lost during these arduous assaults on those treacherous peaks.
Was I really so close to those peaks that I could almost see him fighting there? I wanted to reach up there as fast as possible, but the track was treacherousthe rocky mountain on one side and the sheer fall on the other. In some time, we had left the Indus River behind.
It was a breathtaking journey. A place so beautiful and yet caught in the crossfire of war a decade ago. Midway, at one of the military posts, we had lunch with the commanding officer of 4 JAK Rif. I also met an officer six months senior to Vikramnow a majorand a JCO, both of whom had fought the war together with Vikram. You look so much like Vikram Sir, the JCO said and hugged me. Ive been told that a billion times in the last ten years. There are people now who know me as Captain Vikram Batras brother. Many of them even walk into my office at ICICI Bank in Delhi and stare at me as if they know me. Some of them even say, Weve seen you somewhere. When I tell them Im Captain Batras twin, they say, Oh, Yeh Dil Mange More, and shake my hand.
My dream of visiting Vikram as a commanding officer of a regiment couldnt come true. But Vikram still commands. Hes there in the hearts of the soldiers posted in Kargil and Drass. In that mountain named after him (the Batra Top). And in the transit camp in Drass, called Capt Batra Transit Camp, where weary soldiers break their journey in the call of duty.
Call of duty, the mention of these words takes me back to the days he was to be commissioned as an officer. When he was in the IMA, the footnote of Vikrams letter pad read, If Death comes to me before I prove my blood, I promise Ill kill Death. You kept your word, Vikram. My Brother, My Twin, I salute you.'
We also need some memories of other services too.
If anyone can help please collect and post here.
i have a newbie doubt............
One of the millitary tactics "frontal assault " http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frontal_assault
was mainly used in the period of 18th century and 19th century , since at that time precsion and range of the weapons are limited .
but i read in somewhere that during kargil war also we use the same tactics to attack the enemy ,
my doubt is why we still required use this old tactics ...?
can we suppress the enemy by the long range snipers or hand held rocket launchers..etc..?
[ it is is just a newbie doubt , please ignore if it doesnt make any sense]
One of the millitary tactics "frontal assault " http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frontal_assault
was mainly used in the period of 18th century and 19th century , since at that time precsion and range of the weapons are limited .
but i read in somewhere that during kargil war also we use the same tactics to attack the enemy ,
can we suppress the enemy by the long range snipers or hand held rocket launchers..etc..?
I am no guru but frontal assault is used when there is no other option.jimmy_moh wrote:i have a newbie doubt............
In the case of Kargil Pakis has built up bunkers on mountaintops from where they could look down and shoot anyone who was coming up. They also served as spotters for their own artillery to bombard the highway to Leh, with the idea being to cut it off.
Now how do you get these guys?
Of course, while frontal assault had to be used in the end the Pakis in the bunkers were "softened up" by continuous bombardment by Indian artillery and the air force. There are stories (witness accounts by Paki POWs) of not being able to rest or sleep for days on end because of continuous bombardment. And this bombardment would go on as Indian soldiers crawled/climbed up the slopes. However - it would have to stop as they got closer or they could get hit too. After that it would be "frontal assault"
I have some new video footage of Vikram Batra which I will probably put on YouTube. In the meantime search for YouTube videos of "Paki POWs in Kargil"
thanx for the reply....shiv wrote:I am no guru but frontal assault is used when there is no other option.jimmy_moh wrote:i have a newbie doubt............
In the case of Kargil Pakis has built up bunkers on mountaintops from where they could look down and shoot anyone who was coming up. They also served as spotters for their own artillery to bombard the highway to Leh, with the idea being to cut it off.
Now how do you get these guys?
Of course, while frontal assault had to be used in the end the Pakis in the bunkers were "softened up" by continuous bombardment by Indian artillery and the air force. There are stories (witness accounts by Paki POWs) of not being able to rest or sleep for days on end because of continuous bombardment. And this bombardment would go on as Indian soldiers crawled/climbed up the slopes. However - it would have to stop as they got closer or they could get hit too. After that it would be "frontal assault"
I have some new video footage of Vikram Batra which I will probably put on YouTube. In the meantime search for YouTube videos of "Paki POWs in Kargil"
am wondering what should be the soldiers courage while running towards the enemy during the assault..... hats off to our brave soldiers