CT & COIN Operations in India: News, Images and Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: CT and COIN operations in India: News, Images and Discussion

mmasand wrote:Im not saying that they aren't good at what they do,they quite rightly do their job.But they are not combat prepared.Im not sure if we can afford to train them in CI and send them into some forest when they should be protecting billions worth of IAF assets & strategic locations.
No Sunil is saying that you have not right in your description what they do. They are a crack troop, an elite counter commando force. Also a force for deep penetration and extraction of any personnel that IAF may lose in enemy territory.

As such they are trained to operate behind enemy lines.

You are right there should be a Know your forces 101 before joining BRF.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

mmasand wrote:Im not saying that they aren't good at what they do,they quite rightly do their job.But they are not combat prepared.Im not sure if we can afford to train them in CI and send them into some forest when they should be protecting billions worth of IAF assets & strategic locations.
No Sunil is saying that you have not right in your description what they do. They are a crack troop, an elite counter commando force. Also a force for deep penetration and extraction of any personnel that IAF may lose in enemy territory.

As such they are trained to operate behind enemy lines.

You are right there should be a Know your forces 101 before joining BRF.
Agreed,i didn't include search and rescue of IAF personnel and also that they do go on covert ops to take out enemy radars and destroy airfields and aircraft.I guess the consensus is let them be where they are,and not shift them around the place to fill gaps our CPO's can't fill.

Chidambaram announces deadline for Dantewada probe
Acknowledging that "something went wrong" in the worst-ever Maoist attack in Chhattisgarh, Government on Thursday decided to set up an inquiry into the incident that claimed lives of 76 security personnel. (Read: 76 security men killed by Naxals in Chhattisgarh)

"We have taken a decision to institute an inquiry into what went wrong," Home Minister P Chidambaram told reporters on a volley of questions on Tuesday's attack in the jungles of Dantewada district in Chattisgarh.

Noting that there would be a time-frame for the inquiry, he said, "I maintain what I said yesterday that something went wrong. We have to find that out."

Chidambaram was briefing reporters after a meeting of the Cabinet Committee on Security, but refused to divulge what was discussed there.

Asked whether the Maoist attack figured in the meeting of the Union Cabinet held earlier in the day, he merely said "no".

Chidambaram described as incorrect reports about pressure bombs being used in the attack and also that the state police did not know about the CRPF operation for area domination.

He said 76 security personnel, including a driver of a mine-protected vehicle and a head constable of the state police, were killed in the landmine blast.

Asked about the source of weapons used by the ultras, Chidambaram said the extremists had taken away all arms of the CRPF personnel after they were killed in the attack.

"They buy arms from across the border. There are arms bazars across the border. They bring them clandestinely into the country," he said, citing India's open and porous borders with Nepal, Myanmar and Bangladesh. (Read and watch: Molotov cocktails used in ambush, says top cop)

"Where do the Northeast insurgents get their arms from? Arms are looted from security forces, procured from across the border, country-made weapons are acquired".

To questions on the sources of funds, he said they loot banks and extort money from mining companies in the areas where they operate.

Asked about the use of airpower, Chidambaram refused to elaborate on Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's comments that Government had not taken any decision to use airpower to quell extremist violence.

"My view is that if necessary, we can revisit it. We have to reflect on it," he said, adding "if there is a policy revision, you will be informed".

Asked whether the shortage of mine-protected vehicles (MPVs) would affect the anti-naxal operations, the Minister said "that is a decision the operational commanders have to take. In some places, they may review (the operations), in others they may go ahead and intensify."

"We will provide paramilitary forces to the state governments to assist them to carry out anti-naxal operations, regain control so that they can restore the developmental process.

"So, therefore, whether the operations will continue or intensify, these decisions have to be taken by the state government and the operational commanders," he said.

Chidambaram said a large number of MPVs have been ordered by the paramilitary forces, including 280 by the CRPF. This was due to the "extremely limited capacity" of the Indian public and private sectors to produce them.

He said an MPV was blown up in the Tuesday's landmine explosion by the naxals as it was "designed to take a blast of 15-20 kgs. But if you have a larger charge, then it will be damaged." The driver of this MPV was killed.
So 1) INDIA lacks proper facilities to desgin and develop a MPV. 2) the MPV involved in this blast, had both Failed and Passed. If only the Driver is killed, the remainig jawans survived, and the fact that it was probably poorly designed (lack of V-shaped hull, not designed to withstand blasts of up to 20 kgs OR MORE) means that they desperately need to tie up and come up with a design that is both robust and ensure that they change their tactics by using one dummy and one real.
3) Look preventing arms being stolen can be done as long as the Jawans aren't caught dead in the ambush, however what can definately be prevented is buying arms from acrros the border. They need to ensure that the borders are monitored, and tracked to the extent that they go and KILL the SOURCE. Forget arresting the smugglers of arms, buyers etc, they need to KILL these SOB who provided the weapons either out in the open or clandestinely. Ensure that all Miners get protection from extornosits as this will aslo impact their resource pool, less money = more desperate for a mistake (which if exploited correctly can go in favor of the CRPF, Anti-Naxals forces) INTELLIGENCE needs to tighen up and they need to PENERATE DEEP DOWN TO THE ROOTS!
atreya

Post by atreya »

Paul wrote:
Secondly, the Indian state successfully dealt with two existential threats in highly trained and motivated terrorists fighting for Khakistan and J&K and successfully defeated the first one and marginalized the second one. These insurgencies at their peak were far more serious to India than the Naxal threat in it’s present state.

W.r.t to your point about IAF protecting it’s AFBs from Naxals, the Avantipur AFB in J&K has never been penetrated even at the height of the insurgency in the 90s.
Paul, these insurgencies at their peak CANNOT be compared to the Naxals' form now. They never conduct mass attacks, in groups of 500 or more, do they? Calling in the IAF doesn't mean we use them to carpet bomb the forests or even attack Naxal strongholds. We can use the UAVs for surveillance and recon. That itself will significantly reduce the risk troops are exposed to.
And if we do need helicopters, we can rope in BSF choppers.

mmasand what you say is a misconception that was aired in the initial days of Garud force, to cover its formation, it's not true. GCF does have a similar mandate to the MARCOS, CSAR, capture of enemy airfields etc all form part of its duties.

atreya, we already use UAVs in anti-naxal operations. at least we were doing so a few months back, I don't know if that has been rolled back since.

So 1) INDIA lacks proper facilities to desgin and develop a MPV. 2) the MPV involved in this blast, had both Failed and Passed. If only the Driver is killed, the remainig jawans survived, and the fact that it was probably poorly designed (lack of V-shaped hull, not designed to withstand blasts of up to 20 kgs OR MORE) means that they desperately need to tie up and come up with a design that is both robust and ensure that they change their tactics by using one dummy and one real.
some of the analysis here really makes me want to shake my head in disbelief ! :roll:
pray how do you come to *ANY* of the above conclusions ?

FYI, our MPVs have performed quite well in the past, there have been instances when MPVs have simply driven over mines w/o any problem. clearly the maoists have learnt their lessons and have started using much larger IEDs (same tactics used by iraqi insurgents) that are beyond the MPV's protection envelope.

there are practical limits in terms of cost and weight to how much protection a vehicle can be given, it's not infinite. it's more a question of what the CRPF wants (and can afford) rather than what we can develop.
an MPV is not a particularly complex piece of equipment (we don't require the multiple bells and whistles that the americans ask for in MRAP) and a requirement is put forward there is no reason why it can't be done in a short period.

regarding V-shaped hulls, the pioneer of this idea was the south african casspir (which later inspired all MPV's worldwide, including US ones). we initially bought some casspirs directly and later manufactured a variant in India. so the assumption that it lacked a v-shaped hull is not quite justifiable.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Rahul M wrote:mmasand what you say is a misconception that was aired in the initial days of Garud force, to cover its formation, it's not true. GCF does have a similar mandate to the MARCOS, CSAR, capture of enemy airfields etc all form part of its duties.
But we haven't sent the GCF to any CI or combat op unlike the MARCOS which has been places which defeat their actual role.IMO it would be best to limit SF to their duties and not dilute their importance.Im sure it wouldn't take much for the CPO's to train 10-15 battalions within 6 months for Ani-Naxal operations.Of course they must be spear headed by state forces,since they can collect intel and understand the warfare,moreover spk the local language.

not arguing against that at all.
atreya

Post by atreya »

atreya, we already use UAVs in anti-naxal operations. at least we were doing so a few months back, I don't know if that has been rolled back since.
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NEWS/news ... wsid=12691
He said IAF they had used UAVs in the naxal affected areas 3-4 years ago. "We have used these in Raipur and Jagdalpur. But the problem in these areas is that they are covered by jungles. So, as far as visual clues are concerned, we can't get there as there is a thick forest cover."

"However one can get some clues using Infra Red lights or detect some metals. Also, naxals are very fleeting targets, so locating them under the jungle cover is very difficult. But in open areas we can definitely use UAVs more," he added.
They had "used" UAVs. And have stopped doing so, because of the reasons specified. Straight from the horse's mouth. So, that rules out using UAVs again. Now, I am seriously having second thoughts regarding the deployment of IAF in anti-Naxal ops. The initial anger and shock prompted me to go on harping about IAF deployment, but thinking about it coolly, it does not seems SUCH a great idea. We cannot use UAVs. Other fixed wing aircraft are out of question. As for helicopters, it would be better using BSF choppers (if it is possible) rather than dragging in the IAF. I am now starting to realize the reasons for IAF's adamant refusal to deploy its assets in the Naxal ops.

Chhattisgarh attack: Police intercept reveals 8 Naxals were killed
An intercept received by the Chhattisgarh police has revealed that eight Naxals were killed in the Dantewada ambush that saw 76 jawans die at the hands of the Maoists.

It has also been learnt that most of the Naxals who were part of the team that attacked the CRPF company on Tuesday, have crossed over to Malkangiri and Koraput districts in bordering Orissa.

The Naxals crossed over the same day that they had ambushed the CRPF party.

The Home Ministry has, meanwhile, formed a panel to look into lapses that allowed a carnage of such proportion. A Director-General-level former police officer will look into lapses.

The government sources say there is a leadership problem in the paramilitary and that standard procedures need to be followed religiously.

Home Minister P Chidambaram explained that India's capacity to produce anti-mine vehicles is very limited.

it does not seems SUCH a great idea. We cannot use UAVs
we need UAVs and Airship of this variety to have a complete watch and to quell the insurgency at shortest possible time. Payload should have SAR. IR, EO sensors.. Lets see what MHA is upto..
http://www.lockheedmartin.com/products/ ... index.html

Preparing India as fine fighting machinery is like preparing War elephant. Both needs time and lot of effort but once it is ready nothing stops them....
Last edited by Kanson on 08 Apr 2010 19:37, edited 1 time in total.

mmasand wrote:But we haven't sent the GCF to any CI or combat op unlike the MARCOS which has been places which defeat their actual role.
As a part of their training they do operate with the army SF during active operations in J&K.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

atreya,

UAV trials begin in Dantewada next week
The government has decided to expedite the induction of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), hoping these will help paramilitary forces take on the Maoists, make the war theatre transparent and reduce casualties.

Trials of Israeli UAVs will be conducted by paramilitary forces in Dantewada on April 14 and these will be inducted into the theatre within the next four months. These UAVs, which will be purchased for the CRPF, BSF and ITBP, will only be for surveillance and not armed with weapons.

Despite the huge loss of lives in Dantewada today, the government has kept the armed forces out of the fight against the Maoists, only requesting the IAF for Mi-17 helicopters for evacuation. Till date, the Home Ministry has not used any IAF UAV for surveillance purposes in the Maoist theatre.
Hope this is true...Headlines Today was carrying a ticker which said MHA has requested MoD for UAV's with Thermal imaging.

just thermal imaging will not do, SAR mode is needed but that is costly. just imagine, if we had an UAV keeping watch on that road, this mishap could have been avoided.

IndiaJawan killed in Kashmir gunbattle
REST IN PEACE!
SRINAGAR: A Rashtriya Rifles soldier was killed and another wounded in a gunbattle with separatist guerrillas in Jammu and Kashmir's Kupwara district, police said on Thursday.

The gunbattle started on Wednesday when joint forces, including local police, surrounded the militants hiding in Zachaldara area of Rajwar forests in the district, 78 km from here.

According to a police official, one person was killed on Wednesday while another received injuries.

"Firing is continuing. The cordon has been extended and more reinforcements have been rushed to the area," the officer said.
cbelwal

Post by cbelwal »

What is the strength of BSF helicopter fleet ? And how many of then are armed with HMG's and bulletproofed ? If BSF cannot provide such configurations IAF has to step in till babus decide on technicalities for getting them for BSF / CRPF.

IMO the only function air support needs right now is to provide visual range air support which can be fulfilled by helicopter mounted HMGs. The cabin and fuel/engine area needs to be reinforced against small arms fire.
atreya wrote:We cannot use UAVs. Other fixed wing aircraft are out of question. As for helicopters, it would be better using BSF choppers (if it is possible) rather than dragging in the IAF. I am now starting to realize the reasons for IAF's adamant refusal to deploy its assets in the Naxal ops.

Do the maoists have any known anti-air capability? Like RPG's or heavy calibre guns? Given that they are procuring weapons from 'outside' what are the chances of them getting such weapons?
If air-power is deployed, the last thing we need is them getting lucky and managing to hit a helo.

almost all maoist weapons are either country made or looted from security forces. no "outside" weapons AFAIK. nothing close to heavy cal or RPG so far. one of their eggheads was caught in AP trying to make crude mortars from pipes.

Rahul, the reason I asked is because of the report posted above.
"They buy arms from across the border. There are arms bazars across the border. They bring them clandestinely into the country," he said, citing India's open and porous borders with Nepal, Myanmar and Bangladesh. (Read and watch: Molotov cocktails used in ambush, says top cop)
"Where do the Northeast insurgents get their arms from? Arms are looted from security forces, procured from across the border, country-made weapons are acquired".
It's the 'across the border' part that is a little worrying.
cbelwal

Post by cbelwal »

Another aspect is that Maoists are slowly building up their R&D capabilities. They already have a 'department' that tests and validates improved IED's. I read a note somewhere that they have come up with 'projectile' IED's, which IMO can be scaled up as a crude RPG's. However the possiblity of them having Stinger type weapons can be discounted, since as you point out they cant be stolen. Hence their AA capabilities should not be too much of a factor to worry about atleast for the near future.
Rahul M wrote:almost all maoist weapons are either country made or looted from security forces. no "outside" weapons AFAIK. nothing close to heavy cal or RPG so far. one of their eggheads was caught in AP trying to make crude mortars from pipes.
pmund

Post by pmund »

The Maoists have Chinese-made hand grenades, procured from North East militants. They have particularly close links with Ulfa (admitted by Paresh Baruah yesterday), Naga outfits and insurgents in Burma, where they have a couple of training camps. They used such grenades in Dantewada. I could post pics here but for copyright issues. They do not have rocket launchers but have perfected directional IEDs. They use these as projectiles at a range of 15-20 metres

thanks for the updates everybody.

right now communication, surveillance and intel seems to be the biggest roadblocks.

just thermal imaging will not do, SAR mode is needed but that is costly. just imagine, if we had an UAV keeping watch on that road, this mishap could have been avoided.
coordination is even a bigger problem, media reports suggest that the 62nd battalion moved on its own, what could be done if such a situation arises....

If I am not wrong, such situations rarely occur when 500+ naxalites attack killing so many jawans,

It may be due to a reason that

in general naxals hide and avoid direct clash with the forces,based on the intel they get from local police/recce about an operation being planned. Thats why the DIG took such risk out of frustration .
could it be possible??

IMHO naxals always manage to run away,avoid confrontation and losses , that happens only because they already know ,thats the best weapon they have got, STEALTH
sunny y

Post by sunny y »

Maoists planned Dantewada attack for 6 months

http://news.rediff.com/report/2010/apr/ ... aoists.htm
According to the letter, the attack was meticulously planned over six months and involved only 300 members of the People's Liberation Guerrilla Army.
Among the 76 personnel who were killed were 15 Cobra commandos.

The Maoists revealed that they also took away 75 weapons, including 21 AK-47s, seven SLR rifles, six light machine guns, one stengun and a two-inch mortar and 38 other weapons.

"We meticulously planned the operation for five-six months after observing the movement and other activities of the security forces," Usendi said in the letter.
He alleged the CRPF and COBRA battalion deployed in the Bastar region were killing innocent people, burning villages, raping women and displacing lakhs of people.

He also said that 125 people had been killed in different villages of Dantewada and Bijapur districts.

Usendi said the women Maoists conducted a survey in Dantewada district that revealed that the forces had raped 76 women in 10 villages.
sunny y

Post by sunny y »

The faultlines on Chidamabaram's anti-Naxal strategy

http://news.rediff.com/special/2010/apr ... rategy.htm
This is unprecedented. Even in our wars with Pakistan, an entire company has never been wiped out. This is shocking," a senior officer of Intelligence Bureau told rediff.com about massacre of 76 Central Reserve Police Force troopers by the Maoists in Dantewada district of Chhattisgarh on April 6.
He says, "I know from experience that whenever the government or political leaders in states like Andhra Pradesh or Orissa have challenged the rebels, they have taken it seriously. Mind you, the Naxals are not indulging in mindless and indiscriminate violence. They are choosing their targets carefully. Their violence is discriminate."
It is surprising that on one side a huge budget is given to fight the Naxals, it is on top on the national agenda and the issue has been debated threadbare from every public platform but, today, in North Block there is no exclusive expert of left-wing extremism with vast experience.

Pillai is media-savvy but he has not dealt with the Maoists, he is expert in north-east insurgents. Probably, none of his team members have seen any Maoists, says Pillai's former colleague.

Special Secretary U K Bansal, in charge of internal security, is from Uttar Pradesh [ Images ] cadre and he too does not have any first-hand experience of handling the Maoists.

"You know first-rate pilots can not be asked to do heart surgeries just because they are smart, intelligent and efficient in their job. Similarly, tackling Maoists is a specialised job and any smart or media-savvy IAS or IPS officer can't handle it efficiently," says a former officer in the home ministry.
The police officer, who has interrogated many Maoists, told rediff.com that while the Maoists have read Mao well Chidambaram and Pillai need to do so too. 'When you are prepared, show your enemy that you are unprepared. When you are nearer to your enemy, mislead him by saying you are in far away place,' the Chinese leader had said.
atreya

Post by atreya »

mmasand
Till date, the Home Ministry has not used any IAF UAV for surveillance purposes in the Maoist theatre.
This contradicts with the COAS's statement
He said IAF they had used UAVs in the naxal affected areas 3-4 years ago. "We have used these in Raipur and Jagdalpur
It would be really nice if they can induct UAVs into the operations, but what is this confusion? Did they or did they not use them earlier?

Cbelwal, the current chopper strength of the BSF is six Mi 17 helis. Eight Dhruvs were also on order, according to India Defence Online's article dated June 8th 2009, the first of which was to be inducted within two months. I don't know about that deal's progress.

http://indiadefenceonline.com/789/india ... tion-plan/
Vivek Raghuvanshi

Post by Vivek Raghuvanshi »

I have attempted to generate Insight using Competitive Intelligence to enter the mind of Insurgent Leaders in Iraq, Afghanistan and India, to assist law enforcement agencies in their quest for Competitive Intelligence to outflank and outmaneuver Insurgency in Iraq, Afghanistan and India, thereby making “Emerging Markets” in Middle East and Africa and Asia more conducive to “Foreign Investment” and hence “Mitigating Risks of Globalization for International Businesses”.

Competitive Intelligence INSIGHT – Dealing with Insurgency in Iraq, Afghanistan and India.
——————————————————————————————————————————–

Low Intensity Conflict is always dynamic. Insurgents are aware that static defense has no part in insurgency action and that fixed defense has no place except momentarily when the insurgents lay an ambush.
Insurgents action reverses the normal practice of warfare as insurgents seek to avoid battle and tactically evade engagements where they are likely to suffer losses.
Hit and Run is the distinct principle of insurgent action. Dispersion is an essential condition of survival and success on the insurgents side as they never present a target and thus can only operate as minute particles of mercury that momentarily coagulate like globules of mercury to overwhelm some weakly guarded law enforcement objective.
Insurgents “principle of Concentration” is replaced by “fluidity of force”. Dispersion is also a necessity on the side of counter insurgency as there is no value in a narrow concentration of force against an elusive insurgent.
The success in Counter Insurgency in Iraq, Afghanistan and India will lie in being able to extend fine but closely woven net over the widest possible area. The more extensive the controlling net, the likely that the Counter Insurgency drive in Iraq, Afghanistan and India is likely to succeed.
Insurgents strategy is always to increasingly over stretch the physical and mental morale of the Special Forces. What insurgents do is that they try to keep the Special Forces in the dark, while the insurgents try to operate in the light of superior knowledge combined with reliable news about Special Forces disposition and moves.
Insurgency in Iraq, Afghanistan and India is waged by few insurgents with the support of the many ie sympathy of the local population. Insurgent leaders spend a great deal of time in organization, agitation and propaganda work than they do in fighting Special Forces.
For the most important job for an insurgent leader is to win local population over. An insurgent leader uses EPDC tactics:

1. Explain
2. Persuade
3. Discuss
4. Convince

If the political temperature is correct , then the insurgents however few in number will thrive and proliferate. It is the principle concern of all insurgent leaders in Iraq, Afghanistan and India to get the right political temperature and maintain it.
Insurgents in Iraq, Afghanistan and India operating with the greatest speed from inaccessible bases which they change frequently strike at Special Forces in rapid succession at isolated garrisons, convoys trains. Insurgent leaders information is always timely and accurate as they have the support of the local population.
Insurgents leaders in Iraq, Afghanistan and India devote time for OCP:

1. Organization
2. Consolidation
3. Preservation
OCP of regional base areas that are situated in isolated and difficult terrain. Here Insurgent leaders train volunteers where they are indoctrinated and from there agitators and propagandists are dispersed individually and in groups to surrounding areas to enlist the support of the local population in Iraq, Afghanistan and India.
What Insurgent leaders are able to achieve is that around each insurgent base they are able to create a belt of sympathizers who are willing to supply food, recruits and information.
The pattern of the Insurgent leaders process in Iraq, Afghanistan and India is:
1. Conspiratorial
2. Clandestine
3. Methodical
4. Progressive
Next, the Insurgent leaders in Iraq, Afghanistan and India indulges in:
1. Acts of Sabotage
2. Terrorism
3. Elimination of Collaborationists and Reactionary elements.
Insurgent leaders in Iraq, Afghanistan and India then attack vulnerable military and police outposts and weak columns are ambushed.

Competitive Intelligence is the decisive factor in dealing with Counter Insurgency in Iraq, Afghanistan and India. Insurgent leaders in Iraq, Afghanistan and India, monitor Security Forces whereabouts, strength, the state of equipment, the supply chain and the morale of Security Forces.
Insurgents Intelligence nets are tightly organized and pervasive. In insurgent areas in Iraq, Afghanistan and India, any person without exception is considered an agent including old men, women, boys driving oxcarts and girls tending goats, sheep and cows, besides farm laborers, storekeepers, school teachers, priests etc.,
The local insurgent cadres put heat on everyone without regard. As a corollary, insurgents deny all information of themselves to Special Forces who are enveloped in an impenetrable fog.
The Special Forces stand on an lighted stage and from the darkness around them thousands of unseen eyes intently study Special Forces every move, every gesture.

http://corporaterisks.info/blog/?p=57

WSJ

Govt's new anti-Naxal strategy: use of UAVs

Posted on Apr 08, 2010 at 20:23 | Updated Apr 08, 2010 at 22:20

New Delhi: Forty-eight hours after one of the worst attacks against Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel by Naxalites in Chhattisgarh, CNN IBN has learnt that the Home Ministry will approach the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) soon with a new anti-Naxal strategy.

The Home Ministry has requested the Defence Ministry to lend them two unmanned aerial vehicles or UAVs controlled by trained Air Force personnel for their anti-Naxal operations in Chhattisgarh.

The Home Ministry will approach the Cabinet Committee On Security (CCS) soon with a new anti-Naxal strategy.

Since Home Minister P Chidambaram is aware of a possible resistance from some of his colleagues, he would specifically ask for aircraft including bulletproof choppers for defensive operations like evacuation, logistical support, search activities and movement of forces.

However, the request is still pending with the Defence Ministry.

Sources say Defence Minister AK Antony does not want to employ military resources against own people. The Defence Ministry is making it clear that the aircraft and drones will be used only for defensive operations, such as rescue, search and surveillance and cannot be used for offensive operations.

There is still no clarity if the Air Force personnel manning the helicopters can fire back in self defence if they are fired upon while engaging in defensive operations

There is also strong criticism of the air chief and the army chief who have argued that there is not much scope for the military to become involved in the operation against the Maoists.

Chattisgarh CM Raman Singh said, "It is not right for the Chief of Army or Air force to come out and speak separately. The PM should formulate a policy against Naxals and it should be communicated as a policy."

It is also learnt from sources that one of the demands of the CRPF contingent was to be airlifted; however, this didn't happen in time.

Already the government has instituted a probe into Tuesday's massacre.

"We have taken a decision to institute an inquiry into what went wrong and there will be a very short time frame for the inquiry to submit its report and when the report is submitted then we will look into it," said Chidambaram.

The final decision will be taken by the cabinet committee on security

One of the proposals also made is that the aircraft can be flown by CRPF and other security forces and not Indian Air Force pilot

good men are dying out there because of this incompetent twit is busy doing a mujra in front of the media. He has the blood of 75 soldiers on his hands. He should resign.
Pat

Post by Pat »

Nayak wrote:good men are dying out there because of this incompetent twit is busy doing a mujra in front of the media. He has the blood of 75 soldiers on his hands. He should resign.
Yeh!! It’s funny that our leaders cannot come up with a comprehensive policy of controlling Nexal menace with all the resources they have.

Generally speaking.. For any internal disturbance we need a robust police force to counter the insurgents or terrorists with a lot of intelligence to deter the locals from committing to this kind of life.

The army chief is really on a roll, making oblique references to the non-existent empty headed home-ministry in their leadership or rather utter lack of it, in tackling the maoists threat head-on.

No medics, no NVGs, no potable water, destitute conditions in the camp, depressing !!
Asit P

Post by Asit P »

How Andhra smoked out the enemy
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 768612.cms
A police officer said experience in dealing with the ultra-Red menace helped cops to think out of the box. The police got down to the brass tacks and ensured that cops fighting insurgents were trained at least in the basics of combating guerrillas. "It was made compulsory for every sub-inspector recruited to train in anti-Naxal operations. IPS officers were posted in Naxal-hit districts before being made SPs."

The cops were backed with sophisticated weaponry, night vision equipment and improved human intelligence. Along with Greyhounds, much effort was also put in raising a specialised intelligence force.

This is a joke. This just strengthens the naxal argument that there is no water, no basic amenities available in the areas tribals/villagers live. When the force that is supposed to restore "law and order" does'nt have sh!t to enforce them how are normal people expected to trust government? Why TF would'nt anyone find joining maoists an attractive option? :x
vishal

Post by vishal »

More from the HT article
The deployment of National Security Guard commandos to maintain inflated egos of politicians was another example. "Recently when the home ministry rotated the Black Cat commandos for some politicians, one of them vehemently insisted on retaining one particular set, arguing that he had trained them to take care of his farms,"a senior home ministry official said.
Vivek Raghuvanshi

Naxals and Maoists and Communists in India?

So difficult for Mother India to join the dots.

It is not really treason if commies indulge in subversion.

I think we have forgotten 1962.

Commies always report back to their chinese masters.

Mother India cannot understand that politicians who are funded by Daud Ibrahim and Chinese masters endorse COMMUNISM in India.

Naxals and Maoists cannot survive without Political backing of communists and of course CHINESE MASTERS

We have forgotten Rezang La.

Maybe if Mother India had its way, we would be following Communist Ideology.

We got Democracy very CHEAPLY. This is why we do not value it.

Single point agenda of ISI and Communists is SUBVERSION of India.

IT IS CONSIDERED BAD MANNERS BY INDIAN POLITICIANS [ POLY TICKS ] to point a finger at COMMUNISTS in India who work for their CHINESE Masters.

Of course, Daud Ibrahim also FUNDS politicians.
Vivek Raghuvanshi

IPS and Bureaucrats are Security experts. Nobody wants to take responsibility for the lives of CRPF men killed in action.

Does CRPF not understand:
---------------------------

1. What Ambush is?
2. What Scouts are?
3. What Primary cut off is?
4. What secondary cut - offs are?
5. Every moron is a state of the art security expert?

Way back in 2003, I had recommended SNATCH Operations to RAW, IB and MI, but the coward politicians will never endorse Snatch-Ops on foreign soil.

Technically we are a Nation of Cowards.

Maj Shaitan Singh ji and the brave Ahir warriors of the 13 Kumaon should have let Chinese rule India.

Maybe we would have developed a better bloodline.
biswas

Post by biswas »

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 776908.cms
NEW DELHI: Home Minister P Chidambaram on Friday accepted "full responsibility" for the Dantewada massacre of a CRPF contingent by Naxalites and said the "buck stops at my desk".