Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): 29 March 2012

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): 29 March 2

Did China order Zardari to go and talk to MM Singh? This might explain why the trip was not cancelled in spite of the avalanche.

Nation

And after ordering the visit China lost no time in issuing another statement appreciating the visit. Is it normal for the Panda to react so swiftly?

Roperia

Post by Roperia »

Green on green in Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

Gunmen kill four Shias and injure three others in Quetta
vanand

Post by vanand »

saip wrote:Did China order Zardari to go and talk to MM Singh? This might explain why the trip was not cancelled in spite of the avalanche.

Nation

And after ordering the visit China lost no time in issuing another statement appreciating the visit. Is it normal for the Panda to react so swiftly?

Narrow minded paki elites cannot think other than = =. Chinese plan is if there is full fledged economic cooperation, there will be less chance for India to get back Kashmir and it control over POK will remain.

Whore sleeping with man need to oblige him

Philip wrote:It would be wrong to gloat over the death of any enemy's troops killed in such manner,esp.in peacetime.
Philip, with all due respect, NO. Pakis deserve such reaction from Indians because of their unprovoked heinous actions towards Indians, even in peacetime.

Imagine bit of a peacetime our troops on Siachen must be getting because of this allah-IED on paki side!

Philip wrote:It would be wrong to gloat over the death of any enemy's troops killed in such manner,esp.in peacetime......

Its not gloating but satisfaction that, that many are not available for jihad on India.
Dont forget NLI was the one that tortured and killed Lt S. Kalia and his troop of six soldiers.

Allah paid them back in his own way even if much later.

Well, Look at it this way. If Pakistani soldiers were not in Siachen, they would be in Pindi and an idle mind is a devil's workshop.

Conflict with India is helping democracy in Pakistan.

This article "Modernizing the Raj legacy" by C Raja Mohan is an excellent read. It presents an alternate viewpoint of Pappi-Jhappi-ism by MMS.
http://www.india-seminar.com/2012/629/6 ... _mohan.htm
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

Many years ago, a younger and more WKK-ized version of yours truly posted here after the POK earthquake and asked BRites to be very sympathetic to TSPians in suffering.

We all know what happened soon afterwards and how the funds meant for earthquake relief ending up IED-izing Indians.

Just saying...

Globally March this year has been quite warm and most likely the snows in the high Himalyas are melting early on. J&K also faced quite few avalanches.

How was the weather pattern in 1999 when also the snows melted early and revealed the Kargil intrusion?

Was this NLI patrol kind of a Kargil redux?

Rohitvats how far from LOC are these avalanches in POK?

^ 15-20km apparently.

Manmohan brings up Saeed issue ‘upfront' with Zardari
“Terror a major issue by which Indian people will judge progress in ties”

The Express Tribune

‘India reluctant to commit to Singh’s trip’
By Kamran Yousaf
Published: April 9, 2012

Officials say an earlier invitation from PM Gilani to his Indian counterpart is still pending. PHOTO: AFP/FILE
ISLAMABAD:

Islamabad and New Delhi have been finalising dates for the visit of Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on the hush, much before President Asif Zardari’s official invitation on Sunday, officials told The Express Tribune.

The invitation was first extended by Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani to his Indian counterpart in April last year, when he travelled to Mohali to watch a cricket World Cup semi-final between the two neighbours.

“That invitation is still pending,” said a Foreign Office official.

“We believe that the Indian prime minister should reciprocate the gesture by undertaking a visit to Pakistan,” added the official, who requested anonymity. “We are in touch with each other through diplomatic channels to finalise the dates.”

However, the official said India was reluctant to commit to the visit. Indian reluctance stems from the fact that it wants to see ‘meaningful progress’ on key issues, including the prosecution of suspects involved in the Mumbai attacks before Singh tours Islamabad.

However, Pakistan has rejected the Indian assertion, saying such an approach would be a setback to the gradual normalisation that has been taking place in recent years between the arch-rivals.

“Look, we have shown great flexibility in our approach. For years we linked the normalisation of trade and economic ties with resolution of the Kashmir dispute, but now we have moved beyond that phase,” said another official in Islamabad.

The official went on to add that Pakistan’s decision to grant most-favoured nation status to India, despite strong opposition by the right-wing groups, was part of its strategic shift towards normalisation with India.

“Our stance on Kashmir remains the same but we are revisiting our decade-old approach to resolve disputes with India,” he maintained.

“But if India refuses to change its stance then I am afraid all the good work the two sides have already done may go in vain,” the official cautioned.
Zardari for emulating India-China model for better ties
Sandeep Dikshit
Share · Comment · print · T+
RENEWED HOPES: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh greets Pakistan President Asif Ali Zardari before a meeting in New Delhi on Sunday.
PTI RENEWED HOPES: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh greets Pakistan President Asif Ali Zardari before a meeting in New Delhi on Sunday.

Combining high-level visits with trade has benefited New Delhi, Beijing

Ever since Pakistan agreed to take trade with India off the taboo list, senior officials here have been talking of following the India-China model of combining high-level visits with trade to improve New Delhi-Islamabad ties.

But it was Pakistan President Asif Ali Zardari who brought this approach to the fore during the lunch hosted by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Sunday. Mr. Zardari said though India had several issues of discord with China, their trade ties were booming. He suggested that the India-China model could help improve the relations between India and Pakistan.

High-level officials have been pointing out that more than action against Hafiz Saeed, this visit could begin the trend of top leaders meeting each other more frequently so that issues that appear to be getting nowhere in talks with bureaucrats — such as the stapled visa issue with China — could be resolved to reduce ill will. ( LOL! Heard this somewhere on BRF before?!)

Frequent interaction

As the officials noted, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has met the present Chinese President and the Prime Minister over 20 times in the past five years and this pattern of frequent interaction has spilled over to senior Ministers and bureaucrats.

This has led to the two countries putting in place several confidence-building and trust deficit-reducing measures such as a joint mechanism to remove irritants in patrolling the contested sections of the border, coordinating the safe passage of their ships through piracy-prone waters and resolving to open dialogue on maritime issues.

Balance of trade

But officials agreed with Mr. Zardari that it was trade that provided the initial ballast to India-China ties and with a second round of economic strategic dialogue in the horizon, they are also on course to address the problem areas which, from the Indian point of view, are the skewed balance of trade in Beijing's favour and limited access of New Delhi's export mainstays — pharmaceuticals and Information and Technology.

While he skipped mentioning the importance of high-level visits that help both sides appreciate the other's domestic compulsions, Mr. Zardari mentioned the third, equally important but underplayed aspect that has improved India-China ties — an incremental or ‘step-by-step' approach for tackling contentious issues.

This has been at work in normalising India-Pakistan trade but has not met Islamabad's expectations of resolving what it calls the core political issues — Kashmir, Siachen and Sir Creek.

Before the two principals moved in for lunch, they spoke of need to step up the volume of trade by easing restrictions, some of which are over four decades-old.

Although Pakistan insists that Kashmir is the core issue and the genesis of bad blood between the two countries, the Prime Minister appreciated the fact that Islamabad has moved forward on trade-related issues, according to Foreign Secretary Ranjan Mathai.

See 10% came on a visit to an Islamic shrine.

To expect MMS to return to TSP on state visit is not reciprocal.

Maybe MMS can go to visit Nankhana sahib.

Wait then the Secular INC will get upset.

Maybe he can go visit a church?

Jaswant Singh already visited the Katasraj Temple in Sind.

Rana wrote:Why I support Baluchistan
By Dana Rohrabacher, Published: April 6
http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/ ... story.html
Well, to paraphrase Shakespeare, methinks Islamabad doth protest too much. In fact, Pakistani elites are upset not about lies but the truth.
Wow! Finally fingering Pakistan for 9/11
We should not remain a silent partner to a Pakistani government that engages in monstrous crimes against its people and has been an accomplice to terrorist attacks on Americans, including those of Sept. 11, 2001. The real irritant to U.S.-Pakistan relations is not my resolution but the policies of the Islamabad government and military.
Why get so happy? You missed the == he does between Balochistan and Kashmir.

Ashok Gottipati wrote:I think India is going to trade Siachen and Sir Creek for Hafiz Saeed that's the feeling Iam getting.This frankly is extremely worse
They will never hand over anyone to India.

KLNMurthy, I see this particular == as a failure for Pakistan, but not really an issue for India.

Not all ==s are created =.

Anujan wrote:
shiv wrote: Zardari in my view is a brave man. He is made of tougher stuff than I imagined. He is hanging in there knowing that the army will get him if he makes one wrong move. Clearly travelling to India is a move that Zardari sees as perfectly safe.
One pisko thing has always amused me. Paki rulers have always craved legitimacy ... from India!! Be it Zia-ul-Haq and his cricket diplomacy or Musharraf who got legitimacy from the Agra summit, to Zardari who seeks vindication as a great leader by making a trip to India.

Somehow Indian leaders talking to them gives them the re-assurance that they have arrived.
What you are calling legitimacy is actually pakis imagining that they are receiving genuflection from the kafir vassal.

It was Noam Chomsky who sort of opened my eyes to something that I used to wonder about. Chomsky put words to descibe the thought. "Right wing" or "Extreme" regimes are dumb only in fairy tales or Mad magazine. They have reached the top because they are rational players.

More to the point, the Pakistani army, while openly admitting that it is focused against India and openly supporting everything that is anti-India, is clever enough to understand that if they suppressed all sentiment that goes against their "anti-India" stance they end up "looking like" extremists/right wingers. Looking like extremists extracts a price of its own because friends and aid givers have their own dynamics and do not want to be seen helping a Hitler, but would be happy to help a more moderate looking despot/regime.

It is absolutely Chankian for the Pakistan army to tolerate Zardari like moves - including One friggin million in greenbacks to a dargah. This may be Zardari's private money but we know how Zardari made his money.

The lesson here is that India too cannot afford to act anti-Pakistan all the time. With Pakistanis being Chankian enough to make gestures that appear like friendship, India will ultimately end up being branded the extremist. It always pays to keep extreme viewpoints hidden from view or expressed as a footnote. That is why India cannot always spurn and reject everything that Pakistan says.

Now consider this. Pakistan makes a move that appears like conciliation/friendship. We all know that Pakistan is not honest in doing that. We detect deceit and guile in what Pakistan is doing. Because we (BRF) know that Pakistan is actually deceitful, we want India to reject that outright. But for reasons I mentioned above India cannot reject such things outright. This is not weakness or softness, it is the way the world works. As a digression I think many of you read the reaction on the forum when one member expressed extreme views on homosexuality instead of nodding, smiling and going with the "moderate, tolerant" flow. In real life it is not always wise to say up front what you believe. Better to pretend and not make waves. That applies to international diplomacy as much as interpersonal relationships. With Zardari being allowed to stay in power AND visit India AND donate money to a shrine in India, the Pakistan army comes across as moderate and tolerant, playing second fiddle to the civilian "administration" under Zardari :roll: . If India makes aggressive statements and actions it will be India that gets branded on the international stage as an aggressor who means ill will to its neighbours. Ultimately these things matter.

It is partly because many on BRF always see Indian moves as stupid or weakness and we brand certain people such as MMS as useless that we are unable to see a funny move when it hits us in the face. Manmohan's offer of "helping Pakistan in the rescue work after the avalanche" was actually a hilarious masterstroke and returned the compliment given when Pakis offered to help after the Bhuj earthquake. It puts Pakis in an Ajit liquid oxygen situation. If they refuse help, India can say "We offered, Pakistan refused". If they accept, it would be hilarious to see the Indian army crawling all over a Pakistan army battalion HQ in the name of humanitarian work - to be splashed in the media all over the world.

ahem ahem....
Extreme positions are not succeeded by moderate ones, but by contrary extreme positions - Friedrich Nietzsche
I think some people will consider quoting Nietzsche on a forum such as this as extreme too :wink: .

Roperia wrote:Green on green in Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

Gunmen kill four Shias and injure three others in Quetta
The death toll in this particular round of Green on Green intra-Mohammadden violence in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan has reached 6.

Being a Mohammadden of a minority sect certainly grants no immunity from religious inspired violence by co-religionists in a country claimed to have been created as a safe haven for the Mohammaddens of the Indian sub-continent! :

Raisani sacks seven officials over killing of six Shias

shiv wrote:It is partly because many on BRF always see Indian moves as stupid or weakness and we brand certain people such as MMS as useless that we are unable to see a funny move when it hits us in the face. Manmohan's offer of "helping Pakistan in the rescue work after the avalanche" was actually a hilarious masterstroke and returned the compliment given when Pakis offered to help after the Bhuj earthquake. It puts Pakis in an Ajit liquid oxygen situation. If they refuse help, India can say "We offered, Pakistan refused". If they accept, it would be hilarious to see the Indian army crawling all over a Pakistan army battalion HQ in the name of humanitarian work - to be splashed in the media all over the world.
Shiv ji,

In addition to that, IMO, it is now time for India to lead, manage, and exert total control on the speed, direction, and timing of initiatives in our neighbourhood. The gap (between I and P) has widened, the dynamics have changed on who we are and what we represent on the world stage.

Our external communication and relationship management has to reflect these changed dynamics and pukistan is just a poodle nation that is in an interesting spot currently. I think this capability has scope to refine and time is now.

The good thing is the 3.5 friends are big enough to magnify our statements 100 folds. So, all we need to do is project a picture on to Pukistan, rest the media will take care of it.

Satya_anveshi wrote:ahem ahem....
Extreme positions are not succeeded by moderate ones, but by contrary extreme positions - Friedrich Nietzsche
I think some people will consider quoting Nietzsche on a forum such as this as extreme too :wink: .

No. This is absolutely true in a two-way game - where there are only two entities. It is the interfering presence of the 3.5 who judge "both sides" as "extreme" that is the problem.

If you look back at all the media bytes and positions taken by nations observing India and Pakistan, they all see India and Pakistan taking "extreme position" just as Nietzsche stated. The interference calls for moderation "on both sides". If YOU start a dispute with me and a third party asked me to "moderate" my reaction and give you "concessions" it is disadvantageous to me. One way out would be for me to moderate my reaction to you in every way but never give in on the core issues.

When India does that, Pakistan is forced to do exactly that after a stage. It has to moderate itself on every issue but stick to the extreme position on what they call "core issues". The Kashmir issue is never going to be solved to Pakistan's satisfaction. Thankfully that will prevent Indians from getting complacent about military preparedness. Ultimately this is going to be a private wrestling match between India and Pakistan. A subcontinental affair. But the external players must be neutralized. it has been in Pakistan's interest to bring them in and keep them in. India needs to do whatever is in its power to neutralize the influence of those external powers.

Lawmakers demand respectable relations with world :shock:

Randi Reminds of Rate not Respect
ISLAMABAD: Parliamentarians at the Joint Sitting of the Parliament on Monday called for relations with world nations based on respect and keeping supreme the national sovereignty.
With majority hailing from the treasury benches and the coalition partners, the members advised the government to avoid confrontation with the United States and have cordial relations with the neighbouring countries.adeem Afzal Gondal of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) opened the debate and besides criticizing the attitude of the opposition invited the parties on the other side of the isle to put in their valuable contribution and unanimously pass the recommendations of the Parliamentary Committee on National Security (PCNS).He said the PCNS had prepared unanimous recommendations after lengthy deliberations and all the political parties were part of the committee.He said that every point and recommendation was thoroughly discussed in the PCNS meetings and no one raised objections over its recommendations.He urged that the Parliament should be not dubbed as handmade as the august House had made history by unanimously passing 18th, 19th constitutional amendments and other legislation.adeem was of the views that hand made parliament could not dare to discuss and frame an independent foreign policy. It is the first time the foreign policy is being discussed in the House, he added.

OT

Shiv avure....My ahem ahem comment was in response to your below statement...I thought you are referring to me as I was the one who made those extreme posts with references to "chakkapanthi" etc. I didn't think your views were extreme at all :D .

Obviously in real life, if I meet a gay I will take patli gali, I will praise him big time and might even say...boss you are not purush but you are a mahapurush and an avatar of god..let me know if I can contribute someplace to your cause.
shiv wrote:As a digression I think many of you read the reaction on the forum when one member expressed extreme views on homosexuality instead of nodding, smiling and going with the "moderate, tolerant" flow.

^^ You were not the only extremist.

Thanks Allah...BURUR!...AoA...AoA..AoA

Six shot dead, several hurt in Quetta

QUETTA: At least six persons have been shot dead and several others hurt by some unidentified armed attackers on Quetta’s Prince Road today, SAMAA reported on Monday.

Most of the firing victims belong to Hazara community. After shifting of the dead bodies and injured to Civil Hospital, victims’ relatives and community members turned furious and they started agitation and damaging hospital belongings.

Shiv, Next time can you make your points with out dissing this forum? After all it provides a platform for you to express your views and conduct pisko experiments. Besides its not good to relieve oneself in the pond that one swims in.

Thanks for the consideration.

self deleted.
Last edited by Satya_anveshi on 10 Apr 2012 09:51, edited 1 time in total.

SC gives Chishty bail, cites ‘good Indo-Pak tidings’
The Supreme Court Monday granted bail to Khalil Chishty, an 80-year-old Karachi resident serving a life term for murder in an Indian jail. The court welcomed the “good tidings” over Pakistan President Asif Ali Zardari’s visit to India yesterday.

“We hope what happened yesterday will continue in the future,” the court said, assuring that it would take a sympathetic view in case Chishty desires to return to Pakistan.
:-? :-?
So, now our criminal justice system and foreign policy are inter-twined?

Will Kasab also get a pardon citing "good tidings" when MMS term is ending and MMS tries one last "mega-brotherly deal" with TSP?

I felt some irony when I saw a documentary(frontline?) where Taliban would fire on paki posts early in the morning to wake them up. This was precisely a scene in the movie Vertical Limit when a puki soldier says it is morning and...time to wake up the Indians

The case of siachen too was something like that...they made all the prep to occupy an unmarked boundary only to be pre-empted by India in 1987. Once out of their control...they kept calling for "solving siachen"...now their main base camp is gone...what is there to solve?

it has been in Indian control for the last 25 years and is currently unchallenged...so in that sense...Zardari can claim to have solved the Siachen. It will be icing on the cake if he has signed it on paper as well.

Added later: Movie name is/was Vertical Limit
Last edited by Satya_anveshi on 10 Apr 2012 10:21, edited 1 time in total.

This was precisely a scene in the movie K2 (?) when a puki soldier while having hot tea, starts shelling Indian posts and says...let's wake these lazy indians
Think you meant the movie "vertical limit".

This is that scene which somehow seems to be seared in my memory too:

Besides. pooki laments about the enormous cost to life and nation by remaining in Siachen is also not holding water.

IA has figured out how to survive and cut down on all manner of casualities in siachen now. Hardly any IA serviceman has fallen to the weather there in a long time.

yes that was the scene...been a while since I saw that movie..

they made all the prep to occupy an unmarked boundary only to be pre-empted by India in 1987.
The pre-emption was in 84. In 87 Paki's launched a massive attack on Indian positions. A cousin of mine defended one such post at 20k plus including close quarter combat. With reinforcements taking time he was ordered by the CO to hold on at all costs and defend the post till the end. Out of 5 men, 2 were killed and the rest 3 injured, but they managed to stave off a fierce attack. He was admitted to AIIMS for treatment of some specific injuries and was recommended and awarded one of the highest peace time medals. I met him when his hands were still bandaged and he was recovering. 84 India pre-empted the Paki's as they were taking tourists out to the Glacier on conducted tours.

satya_anveshi, The pakis wanted to occupy Siachen right after they tested some maal in China. Mrs G pre-empted them by occupying Saltoro ridge which is north of Siachen. This constant whine about Siachen hides their nuclear powered zabaradasti which got foiled.

One thing has to be made clear that giving away Siachen is a negating Mrs G's legacy and hence MMS has to be checked.

No harbans. In 1984 India preemtped their nuke armed thrust into Siachen. Read Jasjit Singh's account. I posted it many times.

IAF in wars
Pakistan, after its first test of a nuclear device at Lop Nor with Chinese assistance in 1983, planned to take over Siachen Glacier and adjoining areas up to the Karakoram Pass (not to be confused with the Chinese built highway of the same name far to the west in Gilgit region of Kashmir).22 The Indian Army, in a pre-emptive move in early 1984 was able to just occupy the high crest marking the watershed before the Pakistan army could get to it the same day.
Please never forget this fact despite WKK spin.

Thanks for the correction.

No harbans. In 1984 India preemtped their nuke armed thrust into Siachen. Read Jasjit Singh's account. I posted it many times.
I'm sorry i missed that completely. Can you refer me to the account?

OK...here is from BR History archives..

SIACHEN GLACIER OPERATIONS
THE BUILDUP TO OPERATION MEGHDOOT
Wing Commander M. Bahadur
Siachen Glacier is the highest battlefield in the world. Here a war is going on for the past fourteen years. It is a conflict where records of human endurance, flying and technical competence are being set nearly everyday. Operation Meghdoot was launched on 13 April 1984 when the Indian Army and the Indian Air Force went into the Glacier. However, very few people know that the glacier operations started a full six years before that! Yes in 1978. It may seem odd to many but Siachen operations were launched in that year. I was fresh out of Helicopter Training School (HTS), a qualified helicopter pilot posted to No.114 Helicopter Unit, then based at Jammu. The unit was commanded by a Squadron Leader. It had ten other Sqn. Ldrs, two Flt. Lts. and here came a Fg. Off. Before I realized what was happening, I was given a dual check and found myself on detachment at Leh on 17 September 1978.
Sqn. Ldr. K.D.S. Sambyal was the Detachment Commander. We were called to the Div HQ and briefed about a High Altitude Warfare School (HAWS) expedition led by Colonel Narendra Kumar to a glacier called Siachen. A look on the map showed an area where we never thought one would ever be going. Col GS gave us a short brief on the genesis of the expedition - it was to show the flag on a territory, rightfully ours, but opened to foreign expeditions by Pakistan. Pakistan had also started showing the area as their own on their maps. To oppose this 'Cartographic Aggression', it had been decided to launch the HAWS expedition. The HAWS team that had gone to the Glacier was to be supplied with mail and fresh rations by the Indian Air Force.

I have a different take on this historic event when rhesus monkeys from padosi mulk paid yet another visit to gobar Ganeshs in Dilli; in the past the TSP leaders have always been keen to meet with the GoI for it gives them good publicity globally and also gives them traction within TSP's power structure (as the ISI and TSPA run the show from behind); so in this case too while Zardari and his band of thugs might have shown personal interest in visiting India the time itself was chosen by Mr. Integrity himself; obviously wanting to console and give personal assurance to TSP as to Nerpa is being leased for peaceful purposes onlee. Otherwise I don't see any reason why the dorks in south block will invite their counterparts from TSP.

BBC urdu has photos of rescue operations for the ghazis who got their 72 in Siachen

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/multimedia/20 ... e_tk.shtml