Page 140 of 364

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:40
by Prasad
Sigh. Let me quote http://www.sos.state.tx.us/border/intlp ... enna.shtml
Article 47
Exemption From Work Permits

1. Members of the consular post shall, with respect to services rendered for the sending State, be exempt from any obligations in regard to work permits imposed by the laws and regulations of the receiving State concerning the employment of foreign labour.
2. Members of the private staff of consular officers and of consular employees shall, if they do not carry on any other gainful occupation in the receiving State, be exempt from the obligations referred to in paragraph 1 of this Article.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:41
by member_22872
She doesnt need diplomatic immunity, Vienna convention is appliication to consular employees. Read it

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:41
by GeorgeWelch
devesh wrote:even by any normal standards, no country goes to the length of extracting the family of a foreign consular worker UNLESS that worker had contributed something of vital importance to the country which is doing the extraction. that is the only thing that makes sense in this.
OR they felt that the family was in grave danger of reprisal.
devesh wrote:contrary to Preet Bharara's pontificating, this is NOT a common practice.
It's also not common practice to arrest the family of those making a complaint.

this is the 3rd time you are making this idiotic false accusation.
warning issued.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:42
by nachiket
GeorgeWelch wrote: 2. Sure she was treated fine . . . until she threatened to expose them. I fail to see how having her family arrested can be called being treated well.
GeorgeWelch wrote: It's also not common practice to arrest the family of those making a complaint.
Ah. The classic technique of repeating a lie ad nauseum I see. There is no proof that this ever happened. If they had been arrested, they couldn't have been flown to the US two days before Khobragade's arrest.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:43
by ramana
Guys no need to feed info. People have opinons and will not be swayed by facts.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:44
by bhavani
I think the reason behind this whole things is plain and simple dislike/hatred of India by Obama. May be he was just trying to show what is our place in American Minds/His Mind. The mental slavery of some Indians in US, just helped him in achieving his aim.

I can't think of any major logic. It started with the whole bangalored phase in his campaign. As soon as he came to power, the H-1B and L-1 Application rejection grew by about 50%. The fee on all sorts of immigration things were doubled or tripled. I have always felt that Obama's intentions towards India were not good. Kerry or Hillary are not really pro India either. what a way to lose one of the last large countries which actually does not hate US.

I think Obama and rest of the gang feel that white collar job loss to Indians is more harmful than losing manufacturing jobs to China.

Obama has pretty much reversed US policies about Israel and India. the friends clubs of US looks to be thinning down day by Day.

Hundreds of African diplomats bring in servants and actually don't pay them anything and none of them were ever prosecuted or did US go to any lengths to prosecute them.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:45
by devesh
GeorgeWelch wrote:
Lilo wrote:What's a full diplomatic immunity and what's a half diplomatic immunity hain ji? especially when an official (woman in question) is obviously a member of the diplomatic corps compared to the maid who is not even an US citizen (whose complaint against her employer ultimately and magically prevailed ) .
Full diplomatic immunity means you can literally get away with murder

Limited diplomatic immunity means you have immunity in actions related to your job, but not for other activities.

Thus you can't get arrested for spying (your job) but you can get arrested for not paying your nanny.

this is beyond redneck status. I mean, I've rarely come across this level of potently amusing drivel in a long time.

by the above definition, every diplomat of every country in every country of the world, will have to be thrown in jail.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:47
by devesh
meanwhile what is INC going to do about this?

for all their "friendship", the US has thrown them under the bus. by igniting this cascade of events, the INC is now left to handle the uproar in India.

I hope at least the non-2G sections grasp the lesson. the foreigners are not your friend. eventually, it is your own people who are your friends. if you betray them, you have nowhere to go.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:49
by chaanakya
Prasad wrote:If the US can claim jurisdiction in cases on '84 riots, can't a case be filed against the US marshalls for rape of dk? :)
Yes, crime against Indian citizen, anywhere is a crime under relevant laws. India can very well file fir and start investigation against unnamed persons involved in this like US Marshall and NYPD and demand US provide details They can also name Preet Bharara in that and issue RCN. That all depends on GOI and congis how much balls they can muster and whether amirkhans would care at all but it will be an incident par excellence.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:49
by Rahul M
GeorgeWelch wrote:
Rahul M wrote:use google, start reading up on diplomatic immunity.
She didn't have full diplomatic immunity.
and I didn't claim she did.

clearly, you have no intention for a constructive discussion, as evident by your constant country bumkin level arguments.
warning issued.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:50
by Dipanker
Dipanker wrote:
Can you point out where exactly I have demanded that US law applies to the rest of the world? My understanding would be that Indian laws applies in India and US laws applies in US.
not to contracts between Indian diplomats and Indian citizens.
Rahul,

Minimum wage of $9+ /hr is American law applied on American soil.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:51
by Abhi_G
err...Welch...
you seem to ignore and may be actually ignorant of the fact that the nanny stayed with the family and had the food at home, maybe insurance was also covered. So considering these as perks her salary maybe comparable to what a local would get. Such practices are common in Govt. salaries - if you are aware. Corporate salaries in terms of number have a huge gap w.r.t Govt. salaries, but several Govt. concerns offer housing and medical coverage which adds up as perks.

Btw, the woman suddenly disappearing without informing should be a matter of concern to US immigration no? Why the sudden change of heart when the Arizona affair is not that far off in time. And how come no red flag when GoI informs US about the absconding maid when immigration is so touchy about illegals?

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:52
by Lilo
GeorgeWelch wrote:
Lilo wrote:What's a full diplomatic immunity and what's a half diplomatic immunity hain ji? especially when an official (woman in question) is obviously a member of the diplomatic corps compared to the maid who is not even an US citizen (whose complaint against her employer ultimately and magically prevailed ) .
Full diplomatic immunity means you can literally get away with murder

Limited diplomatic immunity means you have immunity in actions related to your job, but not for other activities.

Thus you can't get arrested for spying (your job) but you can get arrested for not paying your nanny.
^^ Ahh is that so, thanks for the handwalk,

Then GW ji,
Those who penned the Vienna accord obviously seem ignorant of this new technicality suddenly revealed by the TFTA djineered and "unique" US law with regard to employment conditions of Nannies allowing diplomats do their "work" hain ji?
Or do you mean for a exceptional cuntry like Massa, foreign accords ratified dont supercede its local laws as seen in civilized countries hain ji?

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:53
by rgsrini
^^Deveshji,
INC appears to be more more interested in looting the people. Their behavior, IMO, indicates that they don't give a damn about Indian security, our institutions, our foreign policy, growth trajectory, equality of law. People's outrage is actually an inconvenience to them, as they are forced to pretend like taking action.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:53
by Rudradev
Mr. Welch's sudden appearance on this thread, with attendant obfuscations and allegations, comes at a convenient time... does it not?

I mean, two pages ago the discussion was actually coming to the heart of the matter... the strategic implications of a very well planned, highly coordinated offensive action by multiple GOTUS agencies against India, and the possible reasons for this provocation. Bangladesh. Iran. Headley. What else?

And now we've spent two whole pages covering the same old ground we've been stomping since the 17th. No, she wasn't mistreated. No, she wasn't owed a US minimum wage because of her contract. Blah blah blah. The real story is effectively buried in the minutiae once again.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:54
by johneeG
a_bharat wrote:I think it is unfair to link religion to some conspiracy against India, but, there is a coincidence here:

Army Chief (undeserved recognition from US), PM (US bhakta), US DA, Blackmail of Sonia.

I think this is most likely a coincidence, but there is a very small probability that there could be something.
So, babus are attacked because babus are the only one holding out? That seems logical to me.

The creation of Lokpal and Mehta saar's allegation that this Lokpal is intended to control the babus also makes sense in this regard.

Dipanker,
she has not been proven guilty yet in any court. So, just accusation is enough for state sponsored rapes of foreign diplomats? Regardless of whether she is guilty or not, do you agree with this sort of state sponsored rapes on the basis of mere allegations even before any court has given any verdict?

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:54
by GeorgeWelch
That has to do with work permits and nothing to do with minimum wage.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:55
by Rahul M
dipanker, yes, we heard. :roll: doesn't apply to diplomats. kindly go through the relevant posts on this earlier on the forum before repeating this like some all powerful mantra. :roll:

Abhi saar, he is trolling, no need to make the effort to engage him with data and logic.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 00:57
by Abhi_G
RM boss, I know. That is the last from me.

BD angle is the key. The spat is interesting. Even more interesting is the way mullahcracy is used to destabilize societies by US typically following the UK mould.....until mullahcracy reaches those very shores.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:00
by GeorgeWelch
Rudradev wrote:The real story is effectively buried in the minutiae once again.
We have people like you in the US.

We call them 'truthers' and point and laugh at them.

You can always make a conspiracy, but the truth is usually far more mundane.

The US takes domestic abuse seriously, that's the only 'conspiracy' at work here.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:01
by rgsrini
^^Dipanker,
Technically, the maid might not have gotten $9/hour. But with the salary, rent, food, insurance, travel, pay in India (Rs 30,000/month to husband) she has gotten more than the minimum wages. This minimum wage issue is only a technical violation which doesn't deserve arrest and strip search even for a normal employer without diplomatic immunity. For US to do that on a diplomat of a friendly country on such stupid technicality, indicates complete contempt and sheer dumbheaded ness (at best) and motivated assault (at worst).

Keep in mind, that if US insists on arresting Indian diplomat for a technical issue, then India will have no option but to do the same thing to the US diplomats.

The best way for both countries to come out of this US created megamess, is for US to take into account these "newly" found compensation details, drop the case, and issue an unconditional apology to Shri DK, and India as a whole. Post facto there is a lot to be done, but this is the minimum US must do, if it wants to mend this relationship and maintain goodwill amongst Indians.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:02
by nachiket
GeorgeWelch wrote: The US takes domestic abuse seriously,
And there was none here. So what's your point? Other than trolling of course.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:03
by krisna
Was Devyani’s maid an American Spy?
When the senior officer in R&AW MrRavinder Singh was spirited away with his family by the Americans, the then National Security Advisor of India had commented that the issue was not that there was a mole but why was he so important to the US establishment.
In the instant case the same question becomes relevant, i.e. why Sangeeta Richard, a domestic help of the Deputy Consul General (DCG) DevyaniKhobragade, was so important to the Americans that her family was whisked away to the US two days before the criminal treatment meted out to the DCG by the authorities in that country.
Was Sangeeta recruited by the US Intelligence Agencies to gain information of Indian diplomatic mission in the US?

The desperation to protect Sangeeta Richard and her family by the US authorities says it all. Such desperation betrays that possibly Sangeeta had been recruited and had been converted into what is called in Intelligence parlance ‘asset’.

Plausibly this asset was discovered and uncovered by the Consul General. It could be this fact that compelled Devyani to seek intervention of Delhi High Court, which issued an interim injunction against Sangeeta, preventing her from taking legal action in the US
This abrupt development may have been engendered by the imminent possibility of the Indian judiciary tightening its noose on the family members of Sangeeta.

It is therefore evident that Sangeetawas not absconding but in the safe-custody of the American authorities. The exposure of such assets, it must be remembered compromises the entire espionage framework of the hostile country. Any price therefore to protect the framework is less.

Devyani, it seems has paid the price.

The entire family could not have been spirited out of India, the manner in which it was done, without engineering some extremely sensational diplomatic incident, which carried both the stamp of morality and the object of provocation.
n any country in the world such incidents involving diplomats is rare of the rarest. Say in India, if a diplomat, at any level, of any country were to be involved in an accident, for instance running over a pedestrian by an automobile the matter would be reported right up the chain, i.e. from constable to SHO to Assistant Commission to Deputy Commission to Commissioner of Police to Home Secretary to Home Minister and finally to the Prime Minister.
It is because the factor of ‘diplomatic immunity’ is of overwhelming consideration.

In Devyani’s case, therefore, it was not a matter of ‘law taking its natural course’, but a clear case of deliberate provocation which entailed hand cuffing and stripping her. India has been provoked and outraged, the Americans have tried to gain a moral high-ground and the US intelligence ‘asset’ or ‘assets’ (Sangeeta and her other family members) have gained sympathy and credibility. A perfect script!
The attempt by the US to acquire a high-moral ground is nauseating. The morality part in favour of the Devyani has been more than upheld by the stance of the Court's in India.

They would not have taken the position, they did, if it was a matter only confined to wages.

The espionage angle seems to be very strong in the instant case.
Morality and the US diplomacy have always been contradiction in terms, rather antagonistic. If the US was so concerned about the sensitivities and laws of other countries, it would have extradited David Headley to India.

If it was so sensitive about disparity in wages, it would not have outsourced the job of call centers to other countries.

Indian youth working in these call centers spend sleepless nights to make America move during the day, for pittance.

Moreover the discerning people of India have abundantly understood the consummate skill with which American spin-doctors create agendas for destabilizing a country so that the economic and other strategic agendas could be pursued.

It began with a concept called 'march of democracies'. It then graduated to 'human rights'.
Then many countries like India were told that they were sitting on the mountain of 'AIDS bomb'. Now the latest in the inventory is a concept called 'modern slaves'.

This theme is being flogged on Western television channels. It seeks to say that 50 percent of India constitutes 'modern slaves', who are hostage to the remaining This is clever device to drive a wedge right through the middle of the Indian population. It is also a propaganda to convey the impression in the world that most countries including India are despotic, cruel and uncivilized.

With regards to slaves, it is another matter that the Father of America, George Washington, bequeathed his property to his wife, which included 'slaves'.
Nevertheless, it would be pertinent to mention that the arrangement and contract between the DCG and the Sangeeta Richard is laudable by any standards, and anybody who questions it is doing so due to motivated considerations.

The US has used this device of Sangeeta Richard to propagate this concept of 'modern slaves' and thus cause disaffection in the Indian society. In this bid they are being served by many Indian-Americans, who love to decry their motherland at the slightest behest of their adopted fatherland.

Echoing the same 'modern slaves' concept but in different tenor, is a newly created political party, known to be receiving huge funding from American entities. Apart from the Maoists, the Church and the jihadis this is a new political US leverage.

This author has taken the opportunity to stick his neck out and proclaim with all the emphasis that Devyani issue is only a veneer to protect a espionage network.

by GeorgeWelch
GeorgeWelch wrote: The US takes domestic abuse seriously,
And there was none here. So what's your point? Other than trolling of course.
Paying below minimum wage and requiring far more hours is a form of slavery and is thus abuse.

by Jarita
GeorgeWelch wrote:

Yeh kaun hai aur kahaa se tapak para

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:07
by Rahul M
GeorgeWelch wrote:
Rudradev wrote:The real story is effectively buried in the minutiae once again.
We have people like you in the US.

We call them 'truthers' and point and laugh at them.

You can always make a conspiracy, but the truth is usually far more mundane.

The US takes domestic abuse seriously, that's the only 'conspiracy' at work here.
sure, seriously enough to make it up when none exist and subject a foreign diplomat to custodial rape ! :lol:
do pigs fly too, in your neck of the woods ?

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:07
by Mahesh_R
GeorgeWelch wrote: Thus you can't get arrested for spying (your job) but you can get arrested for not paying your nanny.

Not sure if you are thinking before writing ...
Are you saying that spying is allowed as a legal job ??
Will US say... Oh well your visa application says you are coming to USA for spying....
We wish you all good luck ... Let us know if you need any help :rotfl:

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:08
by SBajwa
BD angle is the key. The spat is interesting.
Strategic reversal has been going on in the last 10 years of Congress rule under MMS . How much can be recovered is a big IF.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:08
by Abhi_G
Transferring the guilt of slavery by goras to other societies is an old game. Piskological socio research, skin cream and what not- so that goras look lilly white. Wow-now a connection between an invasion into a woman's body and loss of family honor.

Yawn that's for another day.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:09
by SBajwa
Technically, the maid might not have gotten $9/hour.
She speaks english (as per her letter in Hindi) with much difficulty. I am not sure where else should could have worked but in an Indian household, Indian restaurant, Indian store, (or may be with Mexicans/Indians picking berries or in a factory) etc.

Even if she gets a Green Card and Citizen ship in USA she will need to have some skills before getting a minimum paying job.

Who will provide her with those skills?
What are the motives?
What is the gain?

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:10
by pankajs
The Indian gov. has clearly stated that Devyani was the only victim and the maid was trying to force Devyani to commit a fraud which she refused. The Indian gov. also stated that the maid tried to blackmail Devyani and a complaint was filed with NYPD in June 2013.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:11
by anjan
Jarita wrote:The impunity with which a person with court cases in India was whisked away is more troubling
Given that orders to Indian citizens from an Indian court were ignored, I wonder if unnamed consular officials can be held to be accessories and criminal proceedings initiated against them. Then we could throw a couple of them in the clinker, introduce them to the bamboo and do the moral high ground... standard law and all that business as well.

And not a few weeks ago on this thread I was arguing that the US should be kept at arm's length for precisely something like this. Unlike the Chinese who are atleast very clearly adversarial, the US extends a hand of friendship and promptly pulls you in to stab you in the back. Does this look like a government which would aid us in any conflict with the Chinese? Or one that would happily find an accommodation with the Chinese? I wonder if Cosmo_R thinks this issue too is a minor thing to be handled at the working level(swept under the carpet) in favor of the Strategic Partnership. I think we should take what we get (trade, technology, equipment) out of it but not make the mistake of believing we're amongst friends.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:14
by Rahul M
the initial articles in US press clearly pointed to a concerted campaign from top to undermine DK.

the very first one (in huffpo IIRC) read "women's rights activist underpays domestic maid". articles since have the same shrill witchhunt type 'OMG dirty heathen mistreated maid' quality to it.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:15
by chaanakya
Jarita wrote:
GeorgeWelch wrote:

Yeh kaun hai aur kahaa se tapak para

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:18
by pankajs
Why is India so angry over nanny dispute?
The government is calling for a full apology over the arrest of one of their diplomats. Even Indian advocates for the nanny are angry about the style of the arrest.
A key theme that emerges from comments from Indian journalists, bloggers, and politicians is that it was the style of the arrest –- which included a strip search – that was particularly egregious and is being taken as a violation of not only Ms. Khobragade's dignity, but that of India's as well.

"t is the US duty to treat a consular diplomat with dignity and respect. A strip-search is in violation of that,” says journalist Siddharth Varadarajan, a leading commentator on Indo-US Relations.

Foreign Minister Salman Khurshid told Parliament on Wednesday that “It is no longer about an individual, [...] It is about our sense of self as a nation and our place in the world,” according to the Associated Press.

It did not help that the State Department's initial response to the outrage over strip-search was merely that “standard procedures” were followed. Indians find a strip-search, especially of a woman, a personal affront which in an Indian jail would be considered sexual abuse.

Even those who are asking questions about the treatment of the nanny whom Khobragade was reportedly paying a fraction of the minimum wage, are outraged at the police treatment of the diplomat.

“Just as Indians are unwilling to think about the plight of the domestic help because it is normal here to mistreat domestic labor, Americans don't seem to be outraged by the strip-search because American society seems to consider it routine. But it is a grave violation of democratic rights of a human being anywhere. Was the diplomat hiding something in her body that she needed to be strip-searched?” asks feminist writer Nivedita Menon.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:21
by sanjaykumar
Rescinding the customary Christmas booze is one thing (probably well stocked anyway), but removing barricades from the embassy is hitting below the belt. Three quarters of the world wants to do the Americans in. Of course that is America's problem; that they are not safe in Latin America, Mexico, large parts of Asia but decency demands that India not, even passively, open them to the truck bomb. The latter is seared into American consciousness and it just would not do to have India associated with it.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:21
by pankajs
http://www.firstpost.com/fwire/diplomat-issue-us-talks-to-india-pm-asks-for-full-resolution-roundup-1297697.html
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who has termed as "deplorable" the humiliating arrest, strip and cavity search that Khobragade, India's deputy consul general in New York, was put through, is learnt to have directed officials to ensure "full resolution" of the issue, sources said. India has demanded that Khobragade be released unconditionally and all charges against her dropped. She has been charged with visa fraud and underpaying her house maid. She has denied the charges.

India also stuck to its demand that the US must tender an unconditional apology for the humiliating treatment meted out to the envoy. Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath Thursday said that to satisfy India the US will have to apologise and admit their mistake.

Read more at: http://www.firstpost.com/fwire/diplomat ... ef_article

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:22
by Lilo
chaanakya wrote:
Prasad wrote:If the US can claim jurisdiction in cases on '84 riots, can't a case be filed against the US marshalls for rape of dk? :)
Yes, crime against Indian citizen, anywhere is a crime under relevant laws. India can very well file fir and start investigation against unnamed persons involved in this like US Marshall and NYPD and demand US provide details They can also name Preet Bharara in that and issue RCN. That all depends on GOI and congis how much balls they can muster and whether amirkhans would care at all but it will be an incident par excellence.
KP Nayyar saab too suggested to conduct a trial in absentia of the Massa officials who raped an Indian Diplomat under Indian law.

RD ji,
The Dan Mozana guy floats like a turd with regard to another proposal - I.e a naval base for Massa in Chittagong. Chacha Nehru ji's and IG's benevolent handing over of CHT to Pakistan and a weak BD respectively is coming back to bite us in the back, B ji has been regular on this issue in BD thread.
I am intrigued with India's support to china's port building activity(mentioned in the article you posted which directly competes with Massa's designs in the area) near the same area in CHT , finally showing some good imagination lacking in its FP all this time.
Lilo wrote:
Singha wrote:Myanmar is steadily drifting out of chinese orbit towards the west and by implication good for India....
abhischekcc wrote:Uncle does not want BD to fall to China.
We donot want BD to fall to Unkil either.

US military base in Bangladesh?
..............Earlier, the US Ambassador, Mr Dan W Mozana, had also denied that any such a proposal had been made to Bangladesh. Still doubts are being raised nearer home. It needs to be recalled that US in the past had proposed the setting up of a military base in Bangladesh, and every time the proposal was made, it had faced domestic resistance in the country. Before Bangladesh attained Independence in 1971, the US, in 1969, first proposed to help the freedom fighters, and in return demanded that they hand over the St Martin Island in the Bay of Bengal to them for opening a base. The freedom movement declined the proposal. In the post-Independence period, the US made a similar request in 1974, but Mujibur Rahman, the then leader of Bangladesh, declined it again. During military ruler HM Ershad’s regime in 1984, the US expressed its interest in obtaining landing facilities for the Seventh Fleet aircraft. However, it could not progress much as the Chittagong port was found unfit for berthing large warships.

In 1998, the US proposed that Bangladesh sign the Status of the Force Agreement (SOFA), but the people of Bangladesh expressed their reservations. Under SOFA, the US troops would have enjoyed unhindered access to Bangladesh in times of emergency without having to comply with even visa and passport formalities. Equipment and supply would have been allowed to be brought in without being subject to customs formalities. But this was not received well in Bangladesh and was seen as a sovereignty issue. Although the US clarified that SOFA was not conceived as a military pact that would facilitate establishment of a US military base in Bangladesh, the people were not convinced.

Bangladesh’s strategic location makes the US to turn to this country, often. It is located between China and India, the two emerging powers and also has access to the sea (This is what was alluded by Hillary yesterday when she spoke about BD's strategic location . She wants BD to be a rentier state ala Pakis for the next 50 years , and unkil wants BD to playwith and playoff both India and China against each other). ............
A US military base would have helped not only increase the American footprint in South Asia, but it would have also helped to watch China and India closely. Again, as the US plans to withdraw its troops from Afghanistan, Bangladesh could have been an ideal location to place a portion of them in the region, other than Pakistan with whom its relations are becoming increasingly strained.

The Bangladesh-US relationship itself had a shaky beginning, with the US supporting Pakistan initially during the ‘Bangladesh’s Liberation War’ of 1971. But now, the relationship has come a long way and the two countries share a friendly relations. Now, the US is one of the major trading partners of Bangladesh. The US is the largest export destination for Bangladesh products, with trade heavily tilted towards Bangladesh. Also, the US is a major development partner of Bangladesh. The US assistance to Bangladesh supports health, education and economic development programmes. Besides, defence cooperation between the two countries is very close. Since the Seventies, officers of the Bangladesh Army are receiving training from the US through International Military Education Training Programme. The two countries are regularly taking part in joint military exercises
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 5#p1278935

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:27
by rgsrini
^^sanaykumar,
"removing barricades from embassy is hitting below the belt"
Are you serious? and custodial rape of the diplomat of a friendly country is not? Willful inaction on repeated complaints from Indian embassy staffer on absconding maid is not? Human trafikking of people who have cases pending in Indian courts is not? Oh please...

Anyway, the barricades were removed in retaliation to the conversion of DC parking lot to a public one. There was an article on the Hindu about this, which "ramana" had posted earlier in the thread.

Posted: 20 Dec 2013 01:28
by Prem
Have you guys thought of the bundle of good caused by this unfortunate incident?So many sleeping souls now awake and so many "Sleeper" souls will go to sleep.
This kind of idiocy sow the seeds of wind potentially shaking the balance of power from Turkey to Tokyo. Not a thought out plot.