Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

b_patel wrote:The Su 30 MKI doesn't lack A2G capabilities. It suffers b/c it doesn't have the wide array of weapons for A2G like the Rafale and the Super Hornet. The Rafale can fire: Storm Shadow, exocet, Apache, AS 30, Milan. The Super Hornet probably has the greatest variety of A2G munitions in the world some of them include: Brimstone, Hellfire, JASSM, Maverick and many more.
The Su-30 MKI uses mainly Russian weapons and can only use a few A2G missiles, while the Rafale and Super Hornet have a huge variety of weapons to choose from. In that sense the SU-30 MKI lacks in the strike role. Also we have dedicated strike plane such as the Mirage 2000 and Jaguar. That's why they are still around and being upgraded.

There reports that the Mirage 2000 upgrades will be more extensive than previously thought. Can anyone shine some light on this? I read that France is offering the Storm Shadow as part of the Upgrade package and the METEOR as well. I doubt the METEOR claims but the Storm Shadow seems like a legit possibility. Maybe that's why the upgrades are costing so much. The cost of upgrading the old Mirages to fire missiles like the Storm Shadow and meteor would be quite high.
The MKI has a whole cadoodle of Russian air to surface weapons that it can use from anti radiation KH31 missiles to surface attack Kh59. It can also use the KAB series TV guided weapons in addition to russian LGBs. Note that recently the MKI has been spotted regularly with the Litening pod so dont be surprised if you see the same Israeli LGB kits spotted on the Jaguar Darin IIs. http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Aircr ... index.html

Thus the MKI has a plethora of weapons at its disposal, whenever a new jet enters service it is normal procedure to first get air to air role sorted out as air to surface is more complicated. Also it has been the IAF's perogative to use the MKI in an air dominance role once enough airframes enter service we will surely see more MKIs in the strike role as well.

France has not yet offered storm shadow or the Meteor. Meteor will be coming online some time in 2015+. The SHornet does not have the brimstone or the Hellfire. They are used by Tornado/Eurofighter (near future) and heli gunships such as Apache/Cobra etc. Also Storm Shadow and Apache are one and the same thing (variants) used by different European countries such as France, UK etc.

The AS30 will not be used AFAIK on the Rafale as it will be going out of service in the near future. One primary weapon for the Rafale will be the new AASM.

b_patel wrote:The Su 30 MKI doesn't lack A2G capabilities. It suffers b/c it doesn't have the wide array of weapons for A2G like the Rafale and the Super Hornet. The Rafale can fire: Storm Shadow, exocet, Apache, AS 30, Milan. The Super Hornet probably has the greatest variety of A2G munitions in the world some of them include: Brimstone, Hellfire, JASSM, Maverick and many more.
The Su-30 MKI uses mainly Russian weapons and can only use a few A2G missiles, while the Rafale and Super Hornet have a huge variety of weapons to choose from. In that sense the SU-30 MKI lacks in the strike role. Also we have dedicated strike plane such as the Mirage 2000 and Jaguar. That's why they are still around and being upgraded.
I am not able to understand your rationale. Su-30MKI is not a good strike fighter because it can mainly use only russian weaponry? By that logic it should not even be a good air superiority fighter for it uses russian a2a missiles. So no matter how awesome a strike fighter russia developes, it would not be a good strike fighter for india coz it would be able to use mainly russian armament? :shock:
Also, as andy B pointed out russian armament for MKI is quite excellent.
Dmurphy wrote:AFAIK, the Su-30 MKI was never meant to be a 'strike aircraft'. They were primarily developed for air superiority role.
I am aware of the fact that Su-30 was develooped mainly as an air superiority fighter. However, MKI seems to be quite different from Su-30. What are the requirements for being a good strike fighter? Long Range, good payload and armament come to my mind. All these requirements seem to be fulfilled by MKI. So I ask the question again. How is Su-30MKI inferior to Rafale and F-18 as a strike fighter. I also have the same question for Mig-35.

I am not able to understand your rationale. Su-30MKI is not a good strike fighter because it can mainly use only russian weaponry?
I dont think b_patel meant that MKI is in any ways inferior.

He only suggested that the range of A2G weapon systems is limited in the MKI compared to Hornet and Rafale. This could be called a drawback for academic purposes(though it is hardly any) since there are not many visible/invisible drawbacks of the MKI when compared to other crafts of the same class.

russians have a counterpart to virtually every western A2G weapon and then some.
it's naive to think that mki is anyhow hampered in its strike ability due to its russi weapons.

for that matter it is likely that most western origin weapons in our arsenal has been cleared for it too.

as to its role, the original su-30 was a pure A2A bird that was envisaged as a pack leader, acting as a mini-AWACS and vectoring the lowly su-27s towards their targets. :mrgreen:
hence the 2 seat btw with the senior officer in the back seat.

su-30mki is a completely different beast. while air superiority or air dominance as it is called would be one of its primary roles, in wartime it would also be tasked with self escorting deep strikes.
it's not for nothing that it has that monstrous range. :wink:
IAF already has enough frames for mundane mud-moving roling and its common sense they won't use their premier bird for that role.
devendra.singh

Post by devendra.singh »

hello all,

I'm a engineer working in a consulting firm (environment&safety).

I have a question about videsh seva padak.

Do people serving in paramilitary/engineering (engineers, BRO/GREF) receive this medal?

The reason for this question is that Project Zaranj is now over and the men of BRO and ITBP will arrive home after completing a important project and loosing their men while representing our nation. :(

I would like to know if the government is planning to recognize these efforts.
KiranM

Post by KiranM »

Rahul M wrote:russians have a counterpart to virtually every western A2G weapon and then some.
it's naive to think that mki is anyhow hampered in its strike ability due to its russi weapons.

for that matter it is likely that most western origin weapons in our arsenal has been cleared for it too.

as to its role, the original su-30 was a pure A2A bird that was envisaged as a pack leader, acting as a mini-AWACS and vectoring the lowly su-27s towards their targets. :mrgreen:
hence the 2 seat btw with the senior officer in the back seat.

su-30mki is a completely different beast. while air superiority or air dominance as it is called would be one of its primary roles, in wartime it would also be tasked with self escorting deep strikes.
it's not for nothing that it has that monstrous range. :wink:
IAF already has enough frames for mundane mud-moving roling and its common sense they won't use their premier bird for that role.
Given our competencies in EW and radar, I wish there was some work into a growler version of MKI. Will be quite a monster given its fuel capacity to loiter around and wait for the lowly radar minions to light up. :twisted:

true kiran, not to forget the insane power the beast can generate.
somehow I guess some work on this is in progress. :wink:

unlike the USAF however IAF will most likely not dedicate entire squadrons or structurally modify a/c to a permanent non-combatant role. in any case in future most if not all IAF a/c will feature internal jammers, including our favourite itsy-bitsy. mki's already carry the elta 8222 jammers IIRC and some others of desi design.

most likely in the near future IAF would have high performance external jammers on-board mki's to be used as escort jammers.
whether we will know of them is a different question ! :wink:

in other things, I'll try to post regarding that armour/NAMICA thing by tomorrow.
regards.
HariC

Post by HariC »

devendra.singh wrote:
I have a question about videsh seva padak. Do people serving in paramilitary/engineering (engineers, BRO/GREF) receive this medal?

The reason for this question is that Project Zaranj is now over and the men of BRO and ITBP will arrive home after completing a important project and loosing their men while representing our nation. :(

I would like to know if the government is planning to recognize these efforts.
depends. do they get other medals for hard service?

One thing I have seen is that the army lists has a number of awards associated with Project Zaranj - and these seems to be for non army ranks. ex - http://sainiks.com/books/republic-day-2009-award-list
visist seva medal to GO-2903 MO-I ANIL KUMAR VOHRA, GREF, HQ (P) ZARANJ, AFGHANISTAN

earlier i have seen those killed get "mentions in despatches" which is sort of a gallantry award i suppose
devendra.singh

Post by devendra.singh »

HariC wrote: depends. do they get other medals for hard service?

One thing I have seen is that the army lists has a number of awards associated with Project Zaranj - and these seems to be for non army ranks. ex - http://sainiks.com/books/republic-day-2009-award-list
visist seva medal to GO-2903 MO-I ANIL KUMAR VOHRA, GREF, HQ (P) ZARANJ, AFGHANISTAN

earlier i have seen those killed get "mentions in despatches" which is sort of a gallantry award i suppose
That is nice to know, i got my answer from a google search.
Videsh Seva Medal
Bhutan (1961-) - (a) for service with the Indian army team in Bhutan, 27 May 1961-22 September 1962; (b) for 180 days of service with the Indian Military Training Team, 27 August 1962-; (c) for 180 days of service with a unit employed on road construction in Bhutan, 3 April 1961-
http://www.prideofindia.net/videsh.html

In Bhutan the BRO/GREF has the Project Dantak going on it seems they get the medal with a 180 days service.

Another search got my attention to this
President A.P.J.Abdul Kalam presenting Shaurya Chakra to Shiring Dorjee , Casual Paid Labour in Border Road Organisation at the Defence Investiture Ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on April 19, 2005. Photo: R. V. Moorthy
http://www.thehinduimages.com/hindu/pho ... Id=4739095
Could not find the story behind the medal, will see if BRO responds to a e mail.

Nice to know, i hope people recognize the efforts of these men, or someway i could thank them.

What about ITBP? I guess they will receive the Videsh Seva Medal, any other recognition?

Thank you for the help.
Virender

Post by Virender »

I am new at this forum and I keep coming across the word Khushboo, referring to goats of our western neighbours. I am just curious tp know whether a goat name khushboo actually ever existed in flesh and blood...given the legendary status of hers on BRF, or its just a common name like abdul and aisha in vogue here.

I am just curious tp know whether a goat name khushboo actually ever existed in flesh and blood...given the legendary status of hers on BRF, or its just a common name like abdul and aisha in vogue here.
:rotfl: :lol:

the legend of khushboo arose many years ago on NSN, infact right in the early days of NSN as it was emerging as a leading force in news reporting. it was in the context of the then WANA operations and kaaro-kaari or karo-curry as the case may have been. the frontier force sipahis were first seen to be using her as a regimental mascot, and then the talibs took her during a night raid. on liberation, it was found that she had been fitna'ed and was therefore karo-curried, much to the distraughtness of the frontier force but atleast their H&D remained intact... standard ops in the land of the pure
KiranM

Post by KiranM »

What exactly is H & D (or ech and dee in pingrezi)?

Honour and Dignity, I presume :)
KiranM wrote:What exactly is H & D (or ech and dee in pingrezi)?
kobe

Post by kobe »

Marine Commando Unit for Gujarat

I wonder if every state has its own independent unit, how will one entity communicate with the other (for example with mumbai police or with home ministry or with air force)

confusion ahead!
b_patel

Post by b_patel »

I dont think b_patel meant that MKI is in any ways inferior.
He only suggested that the range of A2G weapon systems is limited in the MKI compared to Hornet and Rafale. This could be called a drawback for academic purposes(though it is hardly any) since there are not many visible/invisible drawbacks of the MKI when compared to other crafts of the same class.
I guess i kinda opened up a can of worms. One of the previous posters asked why people consider the Su 30MKI to be inferior in the A2G role than other fighters of its class. And only thing I could think of was the fact that it had a limited range of weapons. While Russia has a counterpart to every American A2G weapon, the Su-30 doesn't use all of them. Also, I think that Air-superiority was in mind when they developed the SU30MKI, with the Mirages and Jaguars A2G wasn't a priority. Lets wait till the MLU or more weapons integration takes place to re-evaluate its A2G capabiliites.
Does anyone know if the Su-30MKI can carry the following missiles, I don't think it can: Crystal Maze, KS-172 (shown on su-35BM) Popeye, Delilah,etc. If it can be upgraded to equip these Air-to-surface missiles than it definitely would be one of the best A2G fighters in the world. Also, if the Bhramos integration can be achieved than i would rank it top three in the A2G capabilites. The other two being the Super Hornet and the Rafale.

KS-172 hasn't been developed yet. when it is, mki will definitely carry it, India pumped funds for that only.
regarding the others, if IAF thinks there is a need delilah and popeye will certainly be mated on it, remember that the electronic brain of mki is Indian.
but of course, even if it is done we will likely never know till 5-10 years after it is done !

kobe wrote:Marine Commando Unit for Gujarat

I wonder if every state has its own independent unit, how will one entity communicate with the other (for example with mumbai police or with home ministry or with air force)

confusion ahead!
Exactly!

We are good at reinventing the wheel and Empire building.
BajKhedawal

Post by BajKhedawal »

I have seen a few pictures of the Naizi घुटने टेकना , تنازل , خضوع ceremony on 16 December 1971 and the most popular one is also seen on BR (http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/ARMY/Images/0042.jpg) but I saw this one for the first time and was wondering if BR had it? (Found it on flickr)

This one is just before they sat down to sign it.

BajKhedawal

Post by BajKhedawal »

RayC wrote:
kobe wrote:I wonder if every state has its own independent unit, how will one entity communicate with the other (for example with mumbai police or with home ministry or with air force)

confusion ahead!
Exactly!

We are good at reinventing the wheel and Empire building.
Agreed. But what should the state government do if the center does not want to co-operate, and drags its feet over implementing suggestions made by chief minister? Compromise our extensive industrial infrastructure set on coastline? Compromise national and state security by leaving the longest state coastline exposed to infiltration? Let our fisherman get captured and rot away rest of their life in some paki jail? Let’s not forget Pakistan is Gujarat’s immediate neighbor by way of land, water, and air. For how long are the states to depend on the armed forces to do what is clearly an internal responsibility. We have to lessen the load off the armed forces so that they can do their thing i.e. turn an already excellent force into one that’s par excellence.
AmitR

Post by AmitR »

BajKhedawal wrote: Agreed. But what should the state government do if the center does not want to co-operate, and drags its feet over implementing suggestions made by chief minister? Compromise our extensive industrial infrastructure set on coastline? Compromise national and state security by leaving the longest state coastline exposed to infiltration? Let our fisherman get captured and rot away rest of their life in some paki jail? Let’s not forget Pakistan is Gujarat’s immediate neighbor by way of land, water, and air. For how long are the states to depend on the armed forces to do what is clearly an internal responsibility. We have to lessen the load off the armed forces so that they can do their thing i.e. turn an already excellent force into one that’s par excellence.
I completely agree with you. After the Mumbai attacks while all the major cities were provided NSG cover, Bangalore (BJP government ruled) was not provided any by the center. It baffles me how much dirty politics can UPA play. Bangalore has India's main IT, defence and scientific institutions like HAL, ADA, IISc etc which if attacked will cause a lot of irreplaceable damage to our future. Gujarat has formulated a tough anti terror law which has been hanging because center does not want to clear it. God help India.

BajKhedawal wrote:
Agreed. But what should the state government do if the center does not want to co-operate, and drags its feet over implementing suggestions made by chief minister? Compromise our extensive industrial infrastructure set on coastline? Compromise national and state security by leaving the longest state coastline exposed to infiltration? Let our fisherman get captured and rot away rest of their life in some paki jail? Let’s not forget Pakistan is Gujarat’s immediate neighbor by way of land, water, and air. For how long are the states to depend on the armed forces to do what is clearly an internal responsibility. We have to lessen the load off the armed forces so that they can do their thing i.e. turn an already excellent force into one that’s par excellence.
There is no doubt that the Coast has to be guarded 24 x 7. The defence of the Nation is the Union Govt's duty. For that it has the Coast Guard and the Navy. This should be beefed up. More Coast Guard stations should be commissioned and more fast patrol boats should be built or in the interim purchased; as also Hovercrafts so that in case of inland pursuits after a sea chase is required, the Hovercraft can do the same without changing the momentum of chase.

Our fishermen and their fishermen are captured because the Sir Creek has not been demarcated.

If the Central Govt drags its feet, it is our misfortune. That is why we have the Mumbai types of attack. But it does not mean that each State has its own Army, Navy and Air Force (in a manner of speaking) just because the Centre has a whole lot of incompetent Pollyannas. We voted them in. Let's vote them out!

But will it make any difference?

I wonder. Only the protection of these incompetent people will increase with each attack on India. The common man will just have to whistle for the favourable wind to blow!

KiranM

Post by KiranM »

Just my thoughts, but I think we are destroying a lot of our grey cells over this Gujarat 'Marine Commando'.

For all we know it may be conceived to turn out along the lines of a State Police Response Unit. Being a coastal state and a border state, it may have a certain water borne capability to operate in near shore and along shore. As such its capabilities and training may be few notches above the regular police but within the mandate of State responsibility to tackle organized crime and terrorism (Remember, terror modules thrive on organized crime network for logistics and other support)

Now coming to the 'Commando' tag; following the quantum jump in public perception of Army/Navy/NSG commandos, the name Gujarat 'Marine Commando' is a pathetic attempt to portray this unit as equivalent to the Military SF.

If I may say, if there are too many agencies doing the same task, then there is a problem of coordination. Just like the intelligence set up. The Central Intelligence blames the State Intelligence and vice versa whenever there is a flap like the Mumbai carnage and because of the various agencies operating, none actually appear to be responsible or accountable since each has an alibi.

Notwithstanding the noble intentions, the fact is that the more the agencies, more the confusion.

Even the lack of coordination between the CG and the Navy was mentioned in the Mumbai carnage. And both organisation are under the Central Govt.

If that is the case, imagine two agencies under different govts - Centre and State!

Names and nomenclature is not important, action is what matters. By calling oneself a Commando, does not make one so!
KiranM

Post by KiranM »

Well Sir, I completely agree with you. My point was just that folks on this forum shouldnt take it up as State's attempt to raise a mini Army/ Navy. Just doing my bit to maintain the signal to noise ratios. :)
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

RayC, IMHO Coast Guard is what needs to beefed up. Coast Guard has to play defensive role. OTOH, Navy has to maily play offensive role when required. My belief is that its just impractical for IN to check/ do hot pursuit of every suspicious looking trawler in this vast ocean. Its like finding needle in the hay stack finding a trawler or boat behaving suspiciously in vast waters. As you may know these attacks have came from Gujarat sea shore and thus lots of activities must be taking place in sea shore. Preventing Mumbai type attacks mainly falls under accountability of CG.

Somehow this CG and fishermen's needs to co-ordinate with each other so that CG can gather intelligence from them like missing trawler, missing fishermen, suspicious activity etc.
In order to get this done proper arrangements need to be done which includes providing hovercrafts/holding regular meetings/. RayC saar if you have any idea if these fishermen's are provided some contact details of CG if something suspicious? OR There were plans to put GPS in these fishermens boats?

gauravsurati wrote:OR There were plans to put GPS in these fishermens boats?
IMO GPS is a radio receiver which has 3 or more channals to receive GPS data from 3 or more satallites and triangulate it's own position w.r.t those satallites. GPS receivers don't transmit but receive only which helps them to know their position. I am not sure how this will help in tracking the ships/boats.

Cheers....
Suyogv

Post by Suyogv »

neerajb wrote:
gauravsurati wrote:OR There were plans to put GPS in these fishermens boats?
IMO GPS is a radio receiver which has 3 or more channals to receive GPS data from 3 or more satallites and triangulate it's own position w.r.t those satallites. GPS receivers don't transmit but receive only which helps them to know their position. I am not sure how this will help in tracking the ships/boats.

Cheers....
GPS receiver acquires position of three satellites. and then calculates its own position wrt to position of that three satellites; and plots its position on map or display its latitude and longitude. It gets it height from forth satellite.
Coming to track Ships it is possible. ISRO with Ministry of Agriculture
Department of Animal Husbandry, Dairying & Fisheries
have developed a system in which each fishing boat has to install a Transmitter. Has to be activaded when ship is in distress. Once activadet this Transmitter will send a distress signal with its position to Cost Guard. This Kuber ship didnt had this system installed. This system can even be remotely activated to get a location of a ship.

I just wanted to say that GPS cannot be used to track ships as it is one way transmission. Apart from that there are n number of ways to track things.

Cheers....
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Guys, whatever they use it should solve the purpose.

Our purpose is to ensure CG and fishermen's can reliably communicate with each other anytime while in sea. I was just trying to know if GPS can solve this. If say GPS is limited to only tracking boats and sending distress signals then it may not be of great help. The more they communicate with each other the effective it gets. What needs to be done on the ground is making every Indian boat going into waters to be equipped with some communication device, making every trawler to have current license or certificate from respective authorities. If there is no such device then needs to be developed by GoI for the sake of its citizens. They can bring togather ISRO, IIT or IISc or whatever but ATLEAST this is the priority. Unfortunately, these people in Paki are very good at planning and way ahead of our impotent politcians are thinking. :oops:
Suyogv

Post by Suyogv »

gauravsurati wrote:Guys, whatever they use it should solve the purpose.

Our purpose is to ensure CG and fishermen's can reliably communicate with each other anytime while in sea. I was just trying to know if GPS can solve this. If say GPS is limited to only tracking boats and sending distress signals then it may not be of great help. The more they communicate with each other the effective it gets. What needs to be done on the ground is making every Indian boat going into waters to be equipped with some communication device, making every trawler to have current license or certificate from respective authorities. If there is no such device then needs to be developed by GoI for the sake of its citizens. They can bring togather ISRO, IIT or IISc or whatever but ATLEAST this is the priority. Unfortunately, these people in Paki are very good at planning and way ahead of our impotent politcians are thinking. :oops:

Its compulsory for a fishing trawler Walki Talkie to keep in touch with CG and Customs, Transmitter which I have mention earlier is not yet compulsory but soon it will be. Main purpose of that transmitter is to help boats during stroms. GPS are used to locate position and fishes (Most of Marine GSP units download latest fish location from satellite) A fishing trawler can inform CG with help of Walki Talkie about some suspicious boats. Since this radio sets have a length licence procedure so most of fisher men make a group and buy this radio sets in groups. (i.e one set for few ships)
Fisherman are really getting Alert. Two days back Fisherman from a village 80Km north of Mumbai spotted two Dinghy and reported to CG later this Dinghy tourn out to be of Indian Army and this soldiers were preparing for a Adventure race lol :rotfl:
BajKhedawal

Post by BajKhedawal »

RayC wrote:If the Central Govt drags its feet, it is our misfortune. That is why we have the Mumbai types of attack. But it does not mean that each State has its own Army, Navy and Air Force (in a manner of speaking) just because the Centre has a whole lot of incompetent Pollyannas. We voted them in. Let's vote them out!

But will it make any difference?

I wonder. Only the protection of these incompetent people will increase with each attack on India. The common man will just have to whistle for the favourable wind to blow!
Notwithstanding the noble intentions, the fact is that the more the agencies, more the confusion.
KiranM wrote:For all we know it may be conceived to turn out along the lines of a State Police Response Unit. Being a coastal state and a border state, it may have a certain water borne capability to operate in near shore and along shore. As such its capabilities and training may be few notches above the regular police but within the mandate of State responsibility to tackle organized crime and terrorism
Modi is acting on this misfortune, and he is not known to do things in half measures. Accountability is big with him; he will make sure that the new agency is in tandem with local as well as central forces. As a matter of fact, Gujarat has a very cozy relations with the armed forces stationed therein. Ensuring a seamless communications would not be an issue.

I knew a Pakistani who earlier used to work for Saudi state owed ARAMCO. He told me that after he retired to his native, his house had to have a solid perimeter security wall; he had to buy couple of German Sheppard dogs; he had to buy couple of hand guns; and he had to hire couple of bodyguards 24/7 for his family’s protection. He was no big shot, just an expat abdul with slightly above average saved income. Fortunately even in its worst case of goundaraj (I don’t know this, but going by bollywood: Bihar may be?) none of Indian states have the above scenario for a local native to be so scared. I don’t see it happening in the near future either.

Yes, on an individual level we can vote against the incompetent government. That’s going to be like a drop in a lake. We need a kranti, and a change in mindset. If we can take the corrupt, incompetent, sycophantic congress as a government for 40 odd years why the heck can’t you take a supposedly immature BJP with it’s perceived to be rightist agenda? (Sorry this paragraph belongs in the whine thread)

By the way, that paki got sick of the situation in his native and immigrated to Canada. This was approx. 10 years ago. I wonder if honorable Dilbuulla was in charge of administrating the Canadian Visa!!!
KiranM

Post by KiranM »

BajKhedawal wrote: Modi is acting on this misfortune, and he is not known to do things in half measures. Accountability is big with him; he will make sure that the new agency is in tandem with local as well as central forces. As a matter of fact, Gujarat has a very cozy relations with the armed forces stationed therein. Ensuring a seamless communications would not be an issue.
Errr... Not to pick, but just because in the near future Modi can ensure good rapport between the yet to be established Gujarat 'Marine Commando', regular Gujarat police wings, Armed forces and other Central agencies does not mean the rapport can always remain. Maintaining as few layers as possible logically will ensure smooth running even when things are not that hunky dory between organizations.

What comes to mind is the spat between Mumbai Crime Branch and ATS over the custody of a criminal.

BTW, my understanding was ATS was supposed to undertake terror related cases and Crime Branch other serious crimes. But in a sort of role reversal we see Crime Branch investigating 26/11 and ATS looking into some narcotics case. What gives?! :-?
Pragadeesh

Post by Pragadeesh »

Some info about the much discussed "Distress assist" device / DAT meant for the Indian fishermen
http://www.business-standard.com/india/ ... ono=311049 - This article provides enough information.Please also check out the ICG publication "Saft Water 04/2008" : pages 14 - 15 (http://indiancoastguard.nic.in/Indianco ... 004_08.pdf). It has all the info we need to understand the system. Actually the unit communicates with the Satellite Aided Search and Rescue (SAS&R) payload of INSAT 3A , which is monitored at Maritime Rescue Co-ordination
Centre,Chennai. I think the antenna for the system is developed by a company "VXL Technologies Ltd." (I'm not sure).

Payloads of INSAT 3A:
1.http://www.isro.org/insat3a/index.html
2.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/INSAT#INSAT-3A
3.http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Insat-3A - Has some additional info.

I hope this piece of info clears up the confusion.
Edited a spelling mistake - 1 time in total
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Good work Pragadeesh

Found few interesting things from CG pdf file. Last year at the CG conference which was held in March 2008 five Distress Alert Transmitters (DAT) developed jointly by ISRO and other private company @ the cost below then Rs 10,000 were handed over to the fishermens of Tamil Nadu for free. These DAT's can be used by fishermens along the coast of Guj & Mah for time being.

Lets see if something really going to happen this year at Coast Guard conference in the wake of Mumbai attack.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Answers some of the questions regarding co-ordination between different agencies.

Navy to head Indian maritime security: Antony
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/Pol ... 204542.cms

What is the difference between :
Company - Division - Brigade - Corps...

Please point me to the relevant info.

AdityaM wrote:What is the difference between :

Start here - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Military_unit

Or, I can also give you a Dummies Guide to Google if you wish.... :D

RayC sir, if you are seeing this, could you give a lowdowm on our regiment system - it doesn't seem to come exactly under any of the above classifications... can you tell us about its operational doctrine if possible.

P.S to posters.... No offence meant, but just coz this is the newbies thread doesn't mean that it is a spoon feeding thread - please do a bit of your own searching as well... if there are any doubts that still remain, please feel free to put them up here.

k prasad wrote:
AdityaM wrote:What is the difference between :
Start here - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Military_unit
RayC sir, if you are seeing this, could you give a lowdowm on our regiment system - it doesn't seem to come exactly under any of the above classifications... can you tell us about its operational doctrine if possible.

P.S to posters.... No offence meant, but just coz this is the newbies thread doesn't mean that it is a spoon feeding thread - please do a bit of your own searching as well... if there are any doubts that still remain, please feel free to put them up here.
Prasad,
Thanks for the information.
But please don't be presumptuous in assuming that i would not have googled prior to posting here.

AdityaM wrote:
k prasad wrote: Start here - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Military_unit

Prasad,
Thanks for the information.
But please don't be presumptuous in assuming that i would not have googled prior to posting here.
I'm sorry if it offended you Aditya, but actually, that point wasn't addressed to you... I had just seen the past few pages, and was quite peeved at some of the questions to which the answer would have been the first google result. Sorry if the friendly fire hit you as well... Collateral damage i guess... my bad.