Deterrence

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Deterrence

NRao wrote:....................And, a nuclear armed China - even with a non-nuclear India + a US goading it to intervene - did not even intervene in a non-nuclear manner.

Here is my position, a nuclear India has deterrence (subject to change on the other shoe falling) and a non-nuclear India also had deterrence vs. China.
Rao sahab, if you are talking about '71 perhaps the soviets too had a part in keeping the international situation balanced. you know, the surfacing of subs in IOR and so on.

mind it, I still think US/PRC might not have intervened but soviet support did move the balance farther in our favour IMO.

@ all those who are arguing that MAD is the only way to maintain deterrence, let me give a very crude example.
<example>
consider you are building a dam to prevent a potential flood situation and you do not know the maximum height the water level can reach because no one has any data.
someone now builds a 150 m high dam and lo! it controls the flood waters successfully !

here comes the important part. another river with very similar flood situation needs to be dammed. can we say that 150 m is the only way to do with ? what if the flood waters never cross 30 metres in over 50 years of records ?

the answer is of course 150 m works, but so would 120 m, 100 m or even 50 m !

now, I expect a few questions.
the first one will probably be "but you don't have the records"
</example>

or putting it back in nuke-speak,
1. "we don't know if minimum deterrence works".
and that is plain WRONG !

these are the examples that we know worked, other than MAD theories of mid 60's to late 80's :
a) FSU against US.
late 40's to early 60's. with a relatively small nuclear force and a handful of nuclear missiles and no bombers that could bomb US and come back the FSU held back what was probably the most belligerent US govt of all time. let's not forget this was the dulles era in the US.

b) PRC against FSU.
late 60's to late 80's. the same FSU that was extremely annoyed with PRC for moving out of its camp and was itching to teach it a lesson.

c) PRC against US
post tienanmen to current ?

d) NoKO against US (thanks rao sahab, I had forgotten about this one)

okay, let's move on to the next objection :
2. It will not work against PRC. Because PRC does not care about its people.
first of all, the evidence provided to support this assertion(mao's comments about surviving nuclear war, the mass deaths of cultural revolution, tiananmen etc) is not conclusive IMHO.
to my knowledge there has not been a single comment to this end in the recent(last couple of decades) past.

secondly, even if we assume this is true, it DOES NOT imply that PRC doesn't care about a counter value nuclear strike on its soil.
to understand why, you need to look at the structure and psyche of the CCP's ruling elite. consider this :
>> today's PRC is no longer the one man show of mao's china. a single hardline leader can no longer single-handedly carry a disastrous policy on his back in today's PRC, a consensus of the senior leaders would be needed. these leaders who carry a lot of weight in the CMC(central military commission) have family, property and influence in the major urban centres and would be most loathe to embark on a route that threatens their position.
they would prefer to believe that easier less violent avenues in their own interest.

>> the CCP elite may not care about the people but they DO care very much about the symbols of modern china, the urban infrastructure and manufacturing industries.
these have the same place in chinese psyche that mecca does in the arab's psyche, or jerusalem does in israel's psyche.
they WILL NOT choose a way that threatens these. remember they are the pro-active party, so they can afford to look for other avenues.

>> even the argument that the CCP is anti-people is unsustainable because of the way the PRC govt functions. the current chinese govt is akin to a contract between the people and the party that the party will look after the people's interests if the people
a) don't seek to replace the party
b) forgo some freedom
now, while whether the CCP actually does all that it claims is questionable, it certainly can't afford to look like it didn't care about the lives of common people.

>> if the last two point didn't make it clear already, let me state probably the most important reason, H&D. losing even one important industrial city would be too big a loss of face.

3.Does India have a deterrence against PRC ?
let's first understand that deterrence is a combination of two factors, your opponent's strike potential AND the log kya kahenge (LKK) factor.
the second factor may not sound too glamourous or good from a H&D perspective (which is why the amirkhans and the russkies don't speak of it) but it is a strong factor nevertheless. without the LKK factor, the US would have used nukes in vietnam and korean wars and probably in NoKo, the soviets would have used them in afghanistan and so on.
it is a combination of both these factors that deters a rational nuclear power.
and china is a rational nuclear power. in fact china has probably been the most rational of the 3 nuclear actors. (not considering france or UK, they are more like supporting cast)
yes, that is in spite of the proliferation. consider it from the chinese POV, it would make perfect sense.
if my reading is right, the chinese have armed two proxies(TSP and NoKo) to engage and sap the strength of its adversaries without the need to fight a potentially nuclear war itself.

so the answer is yes, India does have a deterrence against china.

4. Is our deterrence robust enough ? are all probable eventualities covered by it ?
now this is a point that needs to be stressed.
our nuclear arsenal can be and should be improved.
the current state of arsenal, whatever little we know of its status will hold against 95% scenarios. but the rare 5% scenario whereby a handful of nutjobs (who believe the loss of one major chinese city is acceptable loss) come to dominate the CMC of PRC, the rationality of china's behaviour will deteriorate and our current arsenal may no longer be enough.

as is well known, the ideal arsenal to ensure minimum credible deterrence vis-a-vis china would involve nuclear submarines armed with MIRVed SLBMs carrying 2-3 (preferably TN) warheads each in addition to land based missiles to ensure redundancy.

sometime back I did a very rough back of the envelope calculation on what we would need in the form of SSBNs in addition to the land based systems.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 40#p729340
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 29#p727129
let me reiterate that I'm NOT advocating MAD, nor massive retaliation. I agree with n^3 that once you achieve MCD you should pour all your resources in developing conventional weapons.

In fact this was a very important thought in some deterrence literature, that once nuclear balance has been achieved (NOTE : balance and not parity) it will be the conventional arms that tip the balance.

Masaru wrote:
Forget US-USSR. US- NoKo is a far better example. The US is STILL deterred!!!
With all due respect, really! Does NK have a delivery system to reach US, forget US mainland?
Does NK have deliverable devices in sufficient numbers to penetrate the BMD that SK, Japan and
US will put in its way? Have you seen any credible reference which ascribes to this deterrence being achieved after the tests by NK? They may use it as a ploy to get funding for BMD but to claim that they are deterred is pushing things too far. By this logic every country except the 3 that US had military action against would have deterrence against it.

IMO the US sees no potential benefit in militarily engaging NK, and is happy with the status quo. The only
possible deterrence that NK has existed since the end of Korean war i.e. the possibility that it can devastate
Seoul with conventional arty which is a mere 40 km from the DMZ. The other one of course is nobody is interested
in invading a country with no resources except brain washed malnourished people. War is expensive; why waste
resources when there is no possible gain and you have to pay the bill for feeding 20 mil people?
Looks like you missed the article I posted - from the ever reliable New York Times?

And, may I remind you that missiles are NOT the ONLY means to "deliver" a nuclear device.

Also, a nuclear "device" does not necessarily have to be one that is in a neat metal case in the shape of what we would consider a "bomb" - spherical or tear shaped for instance.

But, I would encourage you to go a few pages back (2-3) and check my post in this thread.

And, sure, you - like me - are entitled to an opinion, but there are facts out there that we need to keep in mind (of course assuming that all that is published is true/right - I cannot vouch for that).

if you are talking about '71 perhaps the soviets too had a part in keeping the international situation balanced.
Bhai Jan,

1) Deterrence is deterrence. It does not come in flavors.
2) And, age is catching up, but have I claimed that Indian deterrence is India based?

India has boxed her self in many ways. I just hope India does not WRT strategic issues. And, I for one do not think she has. I think Santhanam has good concerns, but perhaps not valid ones. That is all.

saar ji, is that really true ?

NoKo's deterrence against US is same as that of russia ?

If you take the Pakistan ars-e-null as an extension of the Chinese arsenal you can guess who will benefit most from a new series of nuclear tests.

If India tests and sets the ball rolling for others to test, it will be India that faces the brunt of international censure while others who follow will be able to refine their already advanced designs. It will suit both China AND Pakistan to test a thermonuclear bomb and other things in Pakistan.

So future nuclear tests by India are in my view inadvisable. But my view is based by my belief that India has working weapons up to at least 200 kt.

Every nuclear weapon design that has been tested in the world by anyone is becoming more and more obsolete and outdated by the day. The only nations who will be able to keep themselves updated are those few nations who have acquired some capability for simulation, hydrodynamic testing and other advanced facilities. The other will inevitably see their arsenals remaining relatively static.

In fact the latter course must be forced on Pakistan - a possibility that will be irreparably damaged by causing a new round of tests to be done.
csharma

Post by csharma »

Does India have any hydrodynamic facilities? Is it different from the laser facility that people are talking about? From what I understand the laser facility is needed for TN bombs. Is that correct?

csharma wrote:Does India have any hydrodynamic facilities? Is it different from the laser facility that people are talking about? From what I understand the laser facility is needed for TN bombs. Is that correct?
I think India does have hydrodynamic testing facilities. That word has come up several times. You can read about hydrodynamic testing here. the link claims even Iraq had it.

http://www.globalsecurity.org/wmd/intro ... ynamic.htm

Laser testing - I don;t know much - I am guessing one of the usual culprits :D on this thread will be able to educate you and me about that.
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

shiv wrote:Laser testing - I don;t know much - I am guessing one of the usual culprits :D on this thread will be able to educate you and me about that.
ICF is the Laser test...
As discussed in the other thread, as per SBM India does have 2-axis radiographic hydrodynamic testing facility..
Even BK in his book "Nuclear Weapon and India's Security" mentions india's capability of doing both hydronuclear as well as hydrodynamic testing...

is that really true ?

NoKo's deterrence against US is same as that of russia ?
deterrence: Measures taken by a state or an alliance of states to prevent hostile action by another state.

I am not expert in this field. The Russia vs. NoKo is plain to read from American statesmen. Nothing to do with me.

Just that I came to the same conclusion prior to reading all this. As long as India can "prevent" China from acting in a certain way/manner that is deterrence.

There are a few reports in the past two days on this matter. One of them (today) reports that there is concern about Sino-India competition spinning out of hand (http://publication.samachar.com/pub_art ... extIndex=4), while there are reports in the US that India is JUST responding to Chinese build-up in Tibet, etc due to their internal issues.

But, things are moving a wee bit too fast for everyone it seems.

Let us see which deterrents work and which do not.

http://www.russiatoday.com/Top_News/200 ... trike.html
Russia’s revised military doctrine will be submitted to the president by the end of this year. If adopted, it will be a strong change from the military doctrine now in force. The current version allows for the use of nuclear weapons in a response to an attack with weapons of mass destruction, or a large-scale conventional aggression.

But Shiv Porkis are hardly in condition to test. Ombaba has sent proposal to cangress for the biggest Aid package ever to any country for porkis. In fact by testing India can create a huge problem for porkis, their hardliners(99% population) will be crying for tests. While if they test they can say goodbye to the whole economic package + mil package.

Anyway they maybe testing jointly with NoKo whenever they need.
Rien

Make Them Eat Grass

Post by Rien »

Manish_Sharma wrote:But Shiv Porkis are hardly in condition to test. Ombaba has sent proposal to cangress for the biggest Aid package ever to any country for porkis. In fact by testing India can create a huge problem for porkis, their hardliners(99% population) will be crying for tests. While if they test they can say goodbye to the whole economic package + mil package.
If people ask why I want an arms race, this is why. Even the mighty Soviet Union was bankrupted by building nuclear weapons. Pakistan is weak economically right now. Now is the best time because of the IMF package. We can guarantee the economic destruction of one enemy at the *START*.

This diagram below shows why India can win a nuclear arms race with China. Forget quick , think about at least 40 years for this one.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_VyTCyizqrHs/S ... mhigh7.JPG

The roundabout way is necessary because China will win a Plutonium or uranium based arms race. They simply have too much money to be beaten in a straight up conventional arms race. This is why the thorium/U233 detour. Notice how thorium reactors can be far cheaper than any uranium/plutonium breeder. You don't have to wait for the AHWR or anything else like that. The Russian VVER Reactor(already in India) is operational with thorium right now. If you throw money at it, this problem can disappear.

A conventional arms race with China is insane. China has simply too much money. India has no cost advantage in producing conventional weapons. Don't forget, all the money saved from the economic destruction of Pakistan ..(no more need for 500 000 troops near the Pakistan borders, no more tanks, etc etc). The removal of Pakistan alone will improve India's military situation enough to hold the Chinese to a stalemate.

^^Rien but destruction of porkis will not mean lesser troops tanks etc. maybe the opposite.

Manish_Sharma wrote:But Shiv Porkis are hardly in condition to test. Ombaba has sent proposal to cangress for the biggest Aid package ever to any country for porkis. In fact by testing India can create a huge problem for porkis, their hardliners(99% population) will be crying for tests. While if they test they can say goodbye to the whole economic package + mil package.

Porkis are such prostitutes that China will send them a bomb to test and they will test for China., which in turn will promise to replace the US. The US of course as per an article linked in the Indo-US thread is charmed by the "aristocratic manner" of the Paki elite and will support Pakis in their right to deterrence against India.

The US "arms race" with the USSR resulted in tripling of the US deficit!!!!!!!

Indian deterrence is far cheaper. And, as far as I can tell India has it. So, why invest more?

Porkis are such prostitutes that China will send them a bomb to test and they will test for China., which in turn will promise to replace the US. The US of course as per an article linked in the Indo-US thread is charmed by the "aristocratic manner" of the Paki elite and will support Pakis in their right to deterrence against India.
:( Sadly true, Chinese having enough much money to replace US as Aidgiver + US, UK fascination with Porkiwhore = Too powerful combination.
Last edited by Manish_Sharma on 22 Oct 2009 22:10, edited 1 time in total.

shiv wrote:If you take the Pakistan ars-e-null as an extension of the Chinese arsenal you can guess who will benefit most from a new series of nuclear tests.
But NoKo is anyway testing?

No Sir, that scare does not stand to scrutinity. Chinese+Al lies are merrily testing away anyway. In NoKo and maybe Iran and in their LIFs.

Er - if Pakistan tests Chinese bombs in addition to Iran and NoKo testing Chinese bombs it is still China that benefits most. My statement does not stand up to YOUR scrutiny because of reasons unrelated to its unquestionable accuracy. Now you can ask if that stands up to scrutiny or not :mrgreen: :((

Rahul M wrote: 3.Does India have a deterrence against PRC ?
4. Is our deterrence robust enough ? are all probable eventualities covered by it ?
Rahul M, as one of the proponents of "India needs more" approach here on the forum, I want to make a few remarks on your excellent summary of deterrence.

First, let me say, its an excellent summation of a particular PoV (this is irrespective of whether I agree with the view or not)

Secondly let me also say that I do agree with most of your post (90%?), and I dare say, a lot of the "uber rakshaks" feel the same -- however, note (and this point is important) our differences or debate points are based on

1) Is some deterrence == any deterrence as long as some deterrence != all probable opportunities, that is the approach that some of us have taken (speaking for myself) that having a deterrence means either having a deterrence which is very very robust, or some deterrence is not credible enough. (Please note I am only trying to put forth a competing point and hence deliberately sharpening what is essentially a nuanced difference)

2) Even for "some" deterrence, what constitutes the minimal.

These are the two essential issues, and the reason I sum up is that because often, in posts and cross posts sometimes the overall thrust of argument is lost.

shiv wrote:Er - if Pakistan tests Chinese bombs in addition to Iran and NoKo testing Chinese bombs it is still China that benefits most. My statement does not stand up to YOUR scrutiny because of reasons unrelated to its unquestionable accuracy. Now you can ask if that stands up to scrutiny or not :mrgreen: :((
No you missed the point, it is completely related.

I am saying that any benefit that China will have in a post Indian test scenario will be a marginal advantage over the position is still enjoys.

The loss we take on that front by not testing is huge.

The analogy of FSU and USA does not fit in ; infact these both countries resemble the two brats on the street who howl and cry call names but never throw a punch . They are geographically isolated have no reason or compulsion to lay claims over other's territory . China and India have fought a war over Tibet and the former minces no words while claiming part of AP as her own.

Also I don't know what is the basis of claims regarding FSU's lagging behind US until the 60's.

Soviets had matched the Americans by making their own version of the B-29 (Tu-4's) in 1947; the Tu-16 and the world's fastest Turboprop till date the Tu-95 all before 1960.

They tested their first bomb in 1949 (4 years behind ?) ; but when it comes to long range ballistic missiles it was USA which was playing catch up even until the late 60's.And another important area where Americans underestimated the FSU might was SAMs and ADS and it was not until a U-2 was shot by the SA-2 missile the former realized the FSU's capabilities (and we are talking about ability to take out high flying objects above 60kfeet in 1960's).

And fwiw strategic arsenal aside in terms of conventional weapons the numbers were heavily skewed in favor of the FSU.
Johann

Post by Johann »

Negi,

Russia and China had longstanding territorial disputes, as well as severe ideological and geopolitical rivalry from the early 1960s until the mid 1980s

I am crossposting this from the "Can nuclear deterrence survive on a bluff" thread
The Soviet-Chinese relationship turned openly hostile in 1963 over the PTBT; this is because both Khrushchev and the Kennedy (later Johnson administrations) could now agree they didnt want to see China with the bomb.

The Soviets began to redeploy troops to face the PRC in 1966, stationing them in Mongolia and the Far East.

The Johnson administration's decision to bomb North Vietnam destroyed the possibility of Soviet cooperation with the US on attacking Lop Nor, something the US was actively planning for. However the Brezhnev government put out active feelers to the US about this option in 1969.

The Mitrokhin archive shows the extent to which the KGB were actively supporting Muslim separatists in Xinjiang at this time, while the CIA and IB supported Tibetan rebellion. In the east the RoC threat from Taiwan remained, and from within Mao faced deep enmity from those in the party he had purged, and who might seek Soviet or even American support.

Mao *actively* anticipated a joint US-Soviet attack (hence the construction of the massive 'Third Line') with good reason; that was what led to his decision to end the cultural revolution and court the Americans in 1969. Nixon took up that offer, but China still needed to deter the Soviets, and tensions continued to build until 1984.
The Soviet Union and Vietnam signed a mutual defence treaty in November 1978. China invaded Vietnam four months later. This was at a time when Soviet forces (including nuclear forces) in the Far East were at an all time high, when only three years earlier Brezhnev and Defence Minister Ustinov had declared the PRC 'the main enemy'. The only analogy would be if the Soviets had invaded Taiwan or Japan. The Chinese had chosen their moment well - the Soviets were already reeling from the global (not just Western) reaction to the invasion of Afghanistan, but nevertheless, they were prepared for the possibility that the Soviets would honour their treaty obligations and defend their ally Vietnam by attacking China, with attendant nuclear escalation.

The 1983 crisis between the US and USSR, which was taken very seriously by the Soviet leadership who feared a nuclear bolt from the blue from Reagan also created a crisis on the side between the PRC and USSR.
Rien

The Case for Testing

Post by Rien »

In order to be proven reliable, safe and most of all, to demonstrate to enemies what the capabilities of your arsenal are, testing is absolutely mandatory. The DRDO has made some breakthroughs in synthesizing new insensitive high explosives that can survive fire, being shot at and even a plane crash. Since these developments only happened in 2009, it is impossible for warheads of 1998 vintage. All of India's current warheads can be seized by terrorists, or even fail in other unpredictable ways. This means jihadis can blow up Delhi with India's own warheads. Or a simple plane crash or accident can set off one of India's warheads. What meaning is talk of a nuclear deterrence then?

The Problem

A number of older US nuclear weapon designs used high explosive types which degraded over time, some of which became dangerously unstable in short lifetimes (PBX 9404 and LX-09). Some of these explosives have cracked in warheads in storage, resulting in dangerous storage and dissassembly conditions.

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD - Pantex Plant Activity Report for Week Ending January 16, 2004 Accessed 2006-05-03

India only had explosives of the PBX type in 1998, so Indian warheads will suffer from similar problems. Since the new insensitive explosives are very hard to simulate, testing is required to produce assurance.

"Because of this high chemical energy, propeltants and explosives using CL- 20 deliver superior performance (up to 14 % more than HMX) over conventional high energy propellants and explosives. On the other hand, propellant formulations containing CL-20 have the potential for remarkable stability, resistance to external stimuli (insensitive, hazard class 1.3) and burns cleanly, making it more environmental-friendly. "

Process Optimization for Synthesis of CL-20

A new warhead could be made that follows the American idea of a Reliable Replacement Warhead program, a design that is both far cheaper, safer and guaranteed to perform well in all conditions. This could save enough money and enable mass production of just a few designs. Testing is absolutely mandatory since MIRV is to be used on the Agni V.

Are MIRVs and Satellite Integration and Dispensation Mutually Inclusive? An Analysis of India’s Capabilities

Author:Kartik Bommakanti Date:April 10, 2008

As Greenwood notes, “The entire package must be made small enough and light enough to meet the severe volume and weight constraints of the missile’s overall design.” In India’s case, reducing size and weight could compromise the yield of even 15- to 20 kiloton warheads. MIRVing and the use of CL-20 are mandatory to enable warheads in the tight confines of the Arihant as well. So no matter which way one looks, testing is absolutely needed.

Sanku ji,

I love your post.

IF the Chinese and Pakis are not confused I am sure they will be reading it.

We need to wait for MIRV bhai jan.

Rien CL-20 is manufactured by relevant entities in India .

Here a page on Premier Explosives limited.
http://www.valuenotes.com/Ketan/ketan_P ... t=C&Id=773
30 Jun 2009
PEL gets license from the Indian Govt. for the manufacture of propellants, pyros, HNS, HNF, CL-20 and site mixed explosives Expansion of product portfolio and quantity of output, thus ensuring greater revenues
Rien

Thanks for the Reply

Post by Rien »

Cl-20 is manufactured in India now. So why persist with nuclear warheads that are unsafe? Testing has some additional pluses because of the economic situation right now. China already has megaton nukes. If Pakistan tests, that will be the economic finish for Pakistan. And while I hope that the Chinese will bail out Pakistan, unfortunately that is unlikely. A Chinese bailout of Pakistan means several billions less for Chinese to spend on weapons against India. And China is already deeply in debt(30% of GDP?).

Best case scenario for India, is both China and Pakistan test. Pakistan already has well proven Chinese weapons in its arsenal. China has weapons from 1kt to 3.3MT, what the hell can testing give China it doesn't already have? It's not like their weapons are going to get any more effective. That will mean the end of all four letter treaties.

The Indian deterrence does not deter. Russia was able to get its problems with China resolved. This was in no small part due to its large nuclear arsenal. This is cold hard fact. Russia's 10 000 (750 kt ) warheads are enough.

The only way to solve border issues, is via a superpower size arsenal. Likewise Pakistan is proof that fission weapons do not deter. They are still afraid of India wiping them out, of Israel attacking and the US destroying their arsenal. What's there to worry about if 25 kt weapons are enough? ICBM's and fusion weapons were fashionable in the 1950's, they are good today and they will be good tomorrow. If Pakistan had TN's and ICBM's, not even the most uberjingo here would dare recommend war.

The Myth Bomber

In an interview with Dr. Santhanam:
Q: But the failure of the TN device bothers you?

A (Dr. Santhanam:)
It bothered me then, it bothers me now. But it does not bother me to the extent that I spend sleepless nights, because in some sense the deterrence with the fission bomb is available. But obviously, India’s nuclear arsenal is incomplete without a TN weapon. India’s minimum credible deterrent remains untouched because the fission bomb certainly worked like a song and, therefore, the minimum part of our deterrent is fully addressed. (But) certainly, we need a thermonuclear bomb, especially for the Agni class of missiles which have a range of 3,000 to 4,000 km. It really doesn’t make sense that you fly the Agni missile 4,000 km and deliver a 20 KT bomb. This will certainly not be in the category of what we call inflicting unacceptable damage on the adversary who attacks us. For sure, we need to carry out a proper thermonuclear test.
His argument (since this interview) is that India has "minimum deterrence" of the nuclear doctrine, but does not have the "unacceptable damage" part of the nuclear doctrine.

{Don't worry about it. thx. Mod.}
Last edited by enqyoob on 25 Oct 2009 23:28, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: For once, a good sport!

His argument (since this interview) is that India has "minimum deterrence" of the nuclear doctrine, but does not have the "unacceptable damage" part of the nuclear doctrine.
But isn't only:
unacceptable damage = minimum deterrance
in other words acceptable damage which has been factored in during the wargaming/planning by the supposed to be deterred country cannot deter.
obliteration many times over (like US and SU) = crosses minimum deterrance or an overkill
Johann

Post by Johann »

Manish_Sharma wrote: obliteration many times over (like US and SU) = crosses minimum deterrance or an overkill
American strategic nuclear weapon strategy in the cold war went through a number of iterations, from inflicting unacceptable damage, and then alternation between assured national destruction, and 'winning' a nuclear exchange.

Both of the last two produced hugely inflated arsenals
- with assured destruction, the number of weapons increased with the number of targets (which grow as countries economies and armed forces grow and evolve)
- with nuclear warfighting, its an arms race as both sides attempt to make sure their arsenal is large enough to take out the other side's weapons (whether first strike or second) and still have enough to deliver assured destruction, or at least unacceptable destruction.

In the Soviet Union, there was even more than the US a split between the Politburo's views on nuclear warfare, and those of the Red Army General Staff.

The Politburo from Stalin to Gorbachev believed that strategic nuclear parity with the US (whatever its arsenal's size) was the key to deterrence - thus Soviet capacity evolved from unacceptable damage to nuclear destruction, to nuclear warfighting. The Red Army General Staff on the on other hand always embraced a doctrine of nuclear warfighting.

This split was very confusing to the Americans, just as the shifts in US strategy were to the Soviets. Maximalists and minimalists on both sides were always able to see what they wanted to see.

The state of US-Soviet talks on arms control were generally an indicator of whether the USG consensus at a given time was on the side of MAD or nuclear war-fighting.

On the Soviet side, Politburo authority over the General Staff meant that the dichotomy although permanent remained stable.

Nuclear weapons make an interesting study - although these thoughts of mine may be grossly premature. Nukes are only about 60 years old, and I wonder if any other weapon in the history of warfare has been sought to be rendered "illegal". Oh - of course chemical weapons belong in there.

The point I was trying to get at is that we will never know if there was an attempt to ban the bow and arrow or the musket - both game changing weapons. I cannot recall a CABT or CBTBT to ban aircraft or battle tanks - or a warship ban treaty to ban warships.

What is it about nuclear weapons that are causing such a desperate drive to "ban their testing"?

One argument that can be made is that the world is really attempting to create a more civilized world order - but I find this argument ludicrous. Nobody in the world can resist gaining an unfair advantage if possible and I do not see the world seriously cooperating to make this peaceful world order without nukes unless you also have a comprehensive aircraft, warship, tank, dynamite and machine gun ban treaty as well. After all the only difference between nuclear weapons and all the other weapons is the rate of death and destruction. You can get to Islamagood by car or by donkey cart. Only the speed is different.

Another argument is that the attempt to ban nuclear weapons is actually an attempt by the "haves" to make sure that nobody else gets them. This explanation is more in keeping with normal human behavior - i.e to gain an unfair advantage over others. I mean - why not start negotiating a treaty banning anti-matter weapons - "CAMWBT"? After all - now is the best time to ban them - like now is the best time to get you flu shot. But with nukes - a few countries have already got them and now those who have them are scrambling to keep other out - using the examples of nations like Germany and Japan as "good boys" who are capable of making nukes but are not actually making them.

But the whole exercise may be totally pointless. The P5 and their "we are good boys" chelas are behaving like you can get infected with gonorrhea, genital warts, aids, herpes and everything after sleeping around at the slightest excuse and then you can appear innocent by dressing up like a nun.

If you look at 1945 as the "coming out party" of nuclear weapons you have in the list of countries who have them or had them

1) USA
2) Russia
3) Britain
4) France
5) China
6) India
7) Israel
8) Pakistan
9) North Korea
10) South Africa
To this list you can add the "probables"
11) Iran
12) Saudi Arabia
Add to that the nations who can go nuclear at the drop of a hat
13) Japan
14) Germany
15) Many other European states, Brazil, Argentina

What we see here is list of nuclear weapon capable states that have appeared in 60 odd years. Simply put the list if states is increasing at the rate of one every 4 to 5 years.

How long will it be before 50% of the countries in the world are nuclear capable?
How long did it take for 50% of the world's nations to acquire combat aircraft? How long did it take for 100% of the world's nations to acquire machine guns?

I believe that it is inevitable that most countries in the world will acquire nuclear weapons. I read an article yesterday that made me laugh. The article was trying to show how sensible "the world" has become. Apparently Germany was punished too much after WW1 and that led to WW2 and therefore at the end of WW2 an attempt was made not to punish Germany or Japan so much so they would not want to wage war again for revenge. But what the "winner nations" of the world are doing is punishing weaker nations in various ways for trying to acquire military strength and in effect treating other nations like post WW1 Germany. There may be no racism in this (there may be too) but there certainly is ignorance.

In a war between the mountains of Af-Pak and the USA who stands to lose more if it turns nuclear? But if the mountains of Af-Pak acquire nuclear capability who actually gave Af-Pak that capability and funded them? It may sound stupid but what the "civilised nations of the world" led by the USA have done is like the man who infected himself with AIDS so that he could pass it on to his girlfriend while keeping his fingers crossed and hoping his wife would not get it.

What has all this got to do with deterrence or India?

The way I see it is as follows. Indian deterrence is aimed right now at being "minimal" and against only Pakistan and China. But history shows that no weapons can stay in the hands of just a few. It will proliferate and the number of nuclear weapon wielding nations and entities is bound to increase. Besides the nations who actually get nukes - there will be those who actually earn money from spreading nuclear capability to India's enemies or fund them. Just look around the world and see who is getting long range aircraft and refuelling tankers and get some idea of who will be able to reach our chores. All this friendship-shendship business is fine as long as you have ability to kick ass.

I see it as suicidal for India to sit back an imagine that a standard minimum deterrence against Pakistan and China will be enough. Not at all. Massive proliferation of Indian nukes within India as well as delivery capability to hit anyone is essential if we are to learn any lessons from history. Deterrence can never be static. It has to be dynamic.

Just some random thoughts..

Rien above posted the most important argument against getting large numbers of nuclear weapons (or any WMD): statistical probability of a screw-up/ theft approaches 1.0 very rapidly.

I have never been able to understand why there hasn't yet been a nuke explosion triggered by some nutcase using a stolen weapon, given what little I know of the general screw-up probability (SUP) of people in nuke-possessing nations.

But about India I am very sure of one thing: SUP ------> 0.99+, as No. of weapons > say, 100. Those high-sounding super-brains in the BARC, DAE, DRDO etc. are still short dark rice-eating injuns who wear their dhotis around their potbellies the same way I do, and I know my SUP is very high.

The other point to note is this: Since 1945, there have been many Mass Destructions:
1. 1950s: Korean "UN Police Action": > 2 million dead.
2. 1950s- present: Congo "coups".
3. 1960s - 73: Vietnam "Police Action" >>?? million dead.
4. 1969-71: East Pakistan: > 3 million dead
5. 1973-75: Cambodia "ReEducation": > 1 million dead.
6. 1980-95: Afghanistan. >??million dead
7. 1990-91: Gulf War: ??million dead
8. Rwanda-Burundi jollies: >500,000 dead
9. 2001-present: Afghanistan NATO action: ~~ 200,000 dead
10. 2003-present: Iraq "Liberation": > 1 million dead.

All of these have been accomplished without any WMD except the WMD of Media power. Rwanda-Burundi jollies were conducted with machetes. East Pakistan was done using bayonets.

So the only real WMD is the human brain, or lack thereof. What is needed is a CTBT:
Comprehensive Thinking Ban Treaty.
Several BRF postors have already started Voluntary Adherence to this anyway.

IOW, the triggering of a nuke is not going to be THAT much more intolerable for those unaffected by the direct weapon effects, than these machete murders in another continent were to desis or AmirKhanis or Angrejis or Frogistanis.

Manish_Sharma wrote:NRao
But isn't only:
unacceptable damage = minimum deterrance
in other words acceptable damage which has been factored in during the wargaming/planning by the supposed to be deterred country cannot deter.
I am not a fan - at all - of comparing various nations' nuclear deterrence posture.

IMHO, this is the best URL, WRT India, we have in front of us.

K. Subrahmanyam :: Sept, 2009 :: No second thoughts
The crux of deterrence is the survivability of the retaliatory force and the aggressor’s calculation as to whether the casualties and damage likely to be inflicted by the survived retaliatory force on his population and cities can be justified by the strategic gain the unleashing of the nuclear attack will secure for the aggressor.
India has ONLY to make sure that what ever these calculations are that India ensures that the aggressor cannot justify an aggressive nuclear posture.
Very rarely, if at all, can the answer to that question be in the affirmative. In such circumstances deterrence will prevail.
From what I have read so far, countries - today - will need really small amounts of Kt to "deter". For the simple reason the cost of absorbing a retaliatory strike can be quite a bit. It is just not worth it.
In India, the credible minimum deterrent was always envisaged in three-digit numbers; that itself gives sufficient flexibility.
So, .............................. This KS had this info in 1998+ (to 2004)!!!!

Three-digit. Think about that. From all our "Western" source (that we seem to trust so much - not a knock) India is thought to have what somewhere between 50-90 or so nukes?

And, three-digits is from 100 to 999!!!

Which is why I do not like the idea of a blue-ribbon panel of any sorts. This kind of obfuscation is very, very vital for Indian deterrence. No other country may subscribe to it. But then who cares what other nations think about the number of nukes and Kt? As long as India has something out there that they can never verify with certainty? Let them think India has 101 15 Kt nukes and then spend a sleepless night thinking it could be 201 25 Kt or 150 55 Kt or 95 20 Kt and 25 100 Kt ..........

IMHO, once India gets those MIRVs, the topic is closed for discussion.

Let us see.
Umrao Das

Post by Umrao Das »

"Like poverty, Deterrance is a state of mind,
if you feel poor you are poor,
if you feel rich you are rich,
If you feel threatned you never have Deterrance"

Sage Naked Fakir Fukuruddin Baba PBUH, Baba looked down at my skeptical and quizzical look, O devoted one he said, Look at USA it has more than 10,000 nuclear weapons, look at Russia they too have tens of thousands of Nukes, but why is only USA worried about Iran or North Korea having "ek aad" bum, he asked. I said because they are not rational regimes! Are bhola Shiva Shankar, If that is so then TS Pakistan is more unstable with its Army and goverment directly having connections to known terrorists then why is USA not punisjing TS Pakistan but actually pouring their minted paper money down the WC? I give this enigma to meditate and if you fail to see the light, invoke my name even in vain I will still come to your aid.

Then it struck me

"Like poverty, Deterrance is a state of mind..."

Sage Naked Fakir Fakuruddin is indeed the wisest of angles...
surinder

Post by surinder »

Responding to Shiv's long post (2-3 post before). Actually, not responding, adding some random thoughts really.

The enormous effort put into restraining others from getting NW (nukelear weapons) is essentially an Anglo-saxoon (AS) idea. Others (Russia, France, PRC) jumped gleefully on the AS bangwagon. For the last 60 years, only the AS's have had the the wherewithal, stamina, clout, muscle, & coercive power to set up such a denial regime. The Amerikhaans have most of the world set up in interlocking set up treaties, alliances, blocks, "special-relationships", to have the reach to enforce this NW-denial fiat.

But getting this regime in place & executing it---inlcuding punishing those who transgress---is almost like waging a war, as recent events which are unfolding with Iran show. This continous "war" to deny the weapons that would be game-changers is basically an AS idea.

But why did the NPT & other denial efforts have taken this specific shape & not some other? This is related to the peculiar psyche & modus operandi of the AS's. NW's are somewhat hard to make & maintain & test. More & more countries are capable now, while 60 years ago only 2-3 countries could. This barrier to make them, & the game-changing capability of NW's gives the AS's an opening: wherein denial to others is pragmatically possible, & desirable at the same time. The AS morals (or ideals for the society) have a very peculiar quality: it is bothe beneficial to them & and it is pragmatically achieveable. When both these requirements are satisfied, then AS's elevate that policy decision to the level of principle, a moral & eithical truth to be pursued. When either of these conditions is violated, the idea is dropped like a hot potatoe.

This is my theses; from this certain conclusions pop out automatically. In another 60 years, NW capabililty woud be most likely be within the reach of every country. When Yemen, Somalia, Bolivia could easily make them. Then pragmatically it would be become impossible to impose this current regime of denial. The AS (with cooperation from PRC, SU etc.) would go all out for a complete ban of NW's. That tipping point is not there yet, but is visible---and you see chatter about a complete ban. Then the moral principle in the AS world would be "Complete Elimination".

(NOTE: This theory also explains why you see a complete ban of Chemical & Biological weapons (because the barrier to make them is dramatically low.))

My Two Paisa...

1. Knowing that you can hit your adversary located anywhere on planet from anywhere on planet is Self-Assurance.
2. Adversary knowing that you can hit him back from anywhere on planet and unleash destruction enough to take back the country's GDP by at least 10 years is fear.
3. Adversary not attacking you out of this fear is deterrence...

Deterrence can't work against paranoid enemies. It works only against those who have something to loose in case of war and lot to gain in case of peace.

From whatever knowledge I have gathered through reading the posts of gurus on mil-phorum is that, when we have economy of at least about 4-5 trillion dollars, 3-4 SSBN's equipped with working hydrogen bombs (with yield unambiguously as much as the one claimed during Pokhran-2) on MIRVed Agni-5 and/or Submarine launched Nirbhay, is the point where adversaries of India will feel deterred thoroughly.

Even this Credible deterrence does not guaranty peace without withdrawal of No-First-Use policy.

Gee! Obviously I need 2 build this up to critical mass: So let me try again:

Will start with the following from shiv:
Can Sri Lanka break deterrence? No. because it has no nukes.

Can Pakistan break deterrence. Yes because it has nukes. Technically there is no way in which Sri Lanka can punish Pakistan, should Pakistan choose to use nukes against Sri Lanka
I claim that there is a fundamental assumption here. That nukes are the issue in deterrence, since they can wipe out cities, and cause megadeath& suffering.

IS that really a deterrent? To whom?

A. Evil degenerate capitalist democratic unbelievers: YES!!! They are deterred quite effectively.
B. Tru Believers already disgusted at the advent of the Epoch of Degeneracy, I mean, wimmens going around with ankles exposed, etc. etc. : Perhaps the prospect of a hated enemy obliging us by wiping out the power of the degenerates in our own dear Pakistan, is a wonderful prospect. If in the process the evil hated enemy is also mass-destroyed, that would the Will of ******. No problem!!!
C. Kind and Gentle, Moderately Enlightened Chief Executive: YES!!!! Because a mass nuclear attack might fatally damage the value of real estate owned by the Fauji Foundation and Al Rashid Trust.
D. Truly Enlightened Mahdi: This would merely be seen as the Will of the ATM. Always thought that Karachi real estate was way too overpriced, and parking problems are horrible. A good clean sweep would wipe out the power of the evil Fauj, the Families and the Foreigners. Leaving the Holy Land ripe for takeover by the Faithful.
E. Poliburo of the CCCCCCCCP: YES! Too many Mercedes dealerships might burn if the cities are hit.
F. True Communist Great Dear Leader Polo Poto who follows the true teachings of Lenin and Mao:

If the degenerate millions in the cities are wiped out, one could again return to the simple times when no one had more than he needed to subsist, except for Dear Leader who had all he could eat.

So - I claim that Nuclear Deterrence does not exist for the three kinds of entities, B, D and F mentioned above.

Now back to whether Sri Lanka has a Deterrent: most definitely, yes.

Because the real definition of "Deterrence" is
Have we made sure that they won't attack us in our Parliament and our Offices and Official Residences?

Not whether they make our cities glow. You want an example of a nation where this is the real definition of Deterrence? Remember 2001? Remember the 60 years of unanswered terrorism before, and 8 years after, December 2001, and the contrast in that one case?
Johann

Post by Johann »

Surinder,

You've more or less hit the nail on the head.

There's only two things I'd disagree with;
This theory also explains why you see a complete ban of Chemical & Biological weapons (because the barrier to make them is dramatically low.
- Weaponising and delivering biological weapons are not at all easy - at least on the scale where they are truly devastating. There's a reason why Hiroshima and Nagasaki were not hit with anthrax despite research at Port Down and Ft. Deitrick - understanding of the physical properties of the universe was far in advance of our understanding of biological systems. Secondly, its much harder to employ BW as a tactical i.e. battlefield weapon, unlike chemical and nuclear weapons.

The Soviet Union built perhaps the most advanced and terrifying bioweapons programme in history, moving far ahead of the US in research as well as building an enormous production capacity and arsenal, mostly after it signed the Biological Weapons Convention in 1972. As far as can be understood the Soviet conception of operations was that these would complement nuclear warheads, with disease devastating survivors and areas not worth nuking, breaking down any attempt to recover. One of the cleverest and most frightening things they came up with is a mild flu like bug that would give you a bit of fever and then go away - however the virus initiates a lethal auto-immune reaction. Doctors would be left scratching their heads, unable to isolate a pathogen.

Post-Soviet Russia has dismantled most of this, like many countries retaining a kernel of expertise should the treaty break down. This wasn't out of weakness - it was enormously, enormously expensive, and what is the deterrent value of weapons you cant even advertise without huge diplomatic costs?

- I think we are much closer to the tipping point on nuclear weapons for the Americans than you suggest. The real resistance will come from countries that depend on nuclear weapons not just to deter nuclear threats, but to secure their borders. Pakistan, Russia, and to a lesser extent Israel.

If the powers managed to develop an international agreement on nukes as they did with chemical and bio weapons, then like the BWC, the most paranoid regimes are the ones most likely to cheat on a massive scale, or like the CWC, a number will simply refuse to sign.

Yet conventions dont just emerge from the whims of the few, and they have a powerful psychological effect. Both the Axis and the Allies had used chemical weapons on each other's troops in WWI. Both sides possessed stocks in WWII, but neither side used them, even in the strategic bombing campaigns. It was a matter of tacit agreement that stemmed not just from utility, but from the horror with which gas was remembered on all sides. What is the use of a weapon you're not willing to use even in war, and does not deter war?

Since then despite significant use of gas by Egypt in Yemen in the 1960s, and major use by Iraq and Iran in the 1980s, gas has not been a regular part of warfare, either on the battlefield, or as strategic weapons, and the CWC has held.

surinder wrote:
The enormous effort put into restraining others from getting NW (nukelear weapons) is essentially an Anglo-saxoon (AS) idea. Others (Russia, France, PRC) jumped gleefully on the AS bangwagon. For the last 60 years, only the AS's have had the the wherewithal, stamina, clout, muscle, & coercive power to set up such a denial regime. The Amerikhaans have most of the world set up in interlocking set up treaties, alliances, blocks, "special-relationships", to have the reach to enforce this NW-denial fiat.
But getting this regime in place & executing it---inlcuding punishing those who transgress---is almost like waging a war, as recent events which are unfolding with Iran show. This continous "war" to deny the weapons that would be game-changers is basically an AS idea.
If you actually go over the history you see that most of the proliferation has been encouraged by the Anglo-saxoon (AS) countries worldwide. They have used this to increase influence and interfere inside many countries and also create a counter NPT movement to keep countries guessing for several decades. They were able to create their own group of countries which could act in concert and AS countries could benefit enormously in trade and investment.
they have also in the name of providing security created advantageous positions and driven global agenda to their benefit.

But why did the NPT & other denial efforts have taken this specific shape & not some other? This is related to the peculiar psyche & modus operandi of the AS's. NW's are somewhat hard to make & maintain & test. More & more countries are capable now, while 60 years ago only 2-3 countries could. This barrier to make them, & the game-changing capability of NW's gives the AS's an opening: wherein denial to others is pragmatically possible, & desirable at the same time. The AS morals (or ideals for the society) have a very peculiar quality: it is bothe beneficial to them & and it is pragmatically achieveable. When both these requirements are satisfied, then AS's elevate that policy decision to the level of principle, a moral & eithical truth to be pursued. When either of these conditions is violated, the idea is dropped like a hot potatoe.
The NPT and other effort was not a genuine effort for the safety of the global world but a manufactured regime for their closed benefit. That is the reason for peculialrity. Indian elite have this false sense of global order and feel that things are not proper in their own world view. Hard facts were not seen clearly to access Indian security in the world. Indian elite did not take care of their own security during these decades resulting in hurry in a short period to build capabilities.
The AS (with cooperation from PRC, SU etc.) would go all out for a complete ban of NW's. That tipping point is not there yet, but is visible---and you see chatter about a complete ban. Then the moral principle in the AS world would be "Complete Elimination".
Global reality is such that there will always be large states enforcing order and NW will be one of the tools to acheive this. Global demographic change will decide lot of trends in the world.

shiv wrote:I see it as suicidal for India to sit back an imagine that a standard minimum deterrence against Pakistan and China will be enough. Not at all. Massive proliferation of Indian nukes within India as well as delivery capability to hit anyone is essential if we are to learn any lessons from history. Deterrence can never be static. It has to be dynamic.

Just some random thoughts..
:) Shiv Aapne mere muh ki baat Chheen lee!!! If there is a country which makes the case of having a good stock of NWs then its India which has been tirelessly fending herself from outside attacks for the last 2000 years or more without taking the fight to the enemy camp[and will continue to do so].

And these warheads can't be imported overnight like we did the shells for bofors guns during Kargil, they can't even be built overnight.

Yes for now we may have deterrent against China on AP issue. But who knows about future. Just like Saraswati river got consumed by earth one day due to earthquake, what if some similar kind of situation befalls on China and they are forced to take over more glaciers from us for their own 100-200 millions to survive (It may be a lame example but you never know about the future). Well in such case China may factor in the piddly stock of our warheads and take action on that premise. Already TOI had reports on China making another dam on an important river and india protesting.