Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
rajkumar

Re: Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

Post by rajkumar »

[quote="amit"]{This ties in with the point I've been trying to make, the initial 2G spectrum was given cheap so as to kick start the mobile revolution. I think that was a very wise move on the part of the then GoI}

I and others told the then TRAI Chairman & the Telecom minster in 1996/1997 that they have to switch over to revenue share if they wanted to see a telecommunications revolution in India but in India it takes time for messages to go from the ear to the brain and back down to the hands to change something.

Fixed licence fees do not work when no one has any idea of what the market size is!!

Was spectrum auctioned during Arun Shourie's time or NDA's time? Arun Shourie pioneered so called Strategic Sales (please google on "Strategic Sales" "Arun Shourie") where in shares of PSUs were being sold off without auction. Why is Shekhar Gupta not asking hard questions to AS about what he did during NDA's time, and why he didnt object against lack of auction? And why didnt he object when Pramod was selling out in Telcom Ministry and where as he when ABV took bribes abd kicked out Jagmohan? This "walk the talk" is nothing but a paid interview - just like interviews we saw in 10s of BD , VS shows and articles.

I support auction where in spectrum is rented, not sold, for 1 year period and rent directly goes to us commons. And in renewal auction, the incumbent can bid 20% lower price than highest bid, and if he loses the auction, he gets 25% of highest bids. This will protect the interest of incumbent as well. This will ensure zero corruption, highest revenue for commons and lowest possible prices for telco. But the way AS gave away spectrum, AFAIS, there was no auction at all. So why is insisting on auction now?
rajkumar

Post by rajkumar »

Rahul Mehta wrote:Was spectrum auctioned during Arun Shourie's time or NDA's time?
It wasn't the original 'auction' took place under Congress (I) government back in 1996. The process was corrupted by the then Congress minster Sukh Ram and companies were saddled with relatively high licence fees.

NDA changed the model and switched from the licence fee to a revenue share agreement.

I support auction where in spectrum is rented, not sold, for 1 year period and rent directly goes to us commons.
Before making ridiculous statements, why not look up how much it costs to implement a 2G/3G network? And no, one cannot run "it off a PC" like you claimed one can for a landline switch. The cost of putting in such a network runs in hundreds of millions. You are asking an operator to make that CAPEX with a guarantee that he can have it only for a year... You second statement is even more hilarious. 25% of the highest bid is not enough to even put in a decent NOC leave alone the equipment.

But, but you know, I am going to support you. Not because you are right, or I agree with anything you say. It is because as someone said, you are a narcissist anarchist. You want to create disorder and chaos, and destroy the system. Perhaps that is the way to go given how corrupt everything is.... out of chaos will arise order. It wont have you in it, but by then you will have played your part and will be expendable. :P

Really disgusting how the mainstream media is hiding its own members role in the dirt behind these scams. Someone should open a CBI investigation and chuck Veer Dungvi and Burqa Dutt behind bars.

http://www.ibtimes.com/articles/84868/2 ... anghvi.htm
Indian media's mighty stand exposed on wrong side of 2G spectrum

IBTimes Staff Reporter | November 23, 2010 9:39 AM EST

Indian media is now running for cover. The 2G spectrum scam, which has snowballed into a major controversy involving Indian politicians and businessmen has now become hotter for journalists to handle as it allegedly involves two of their senior members.

Two Indian magazines put the audio tapes and transcripts of conversations between corporate lobbyist Nira Radia of Vaishnavi Communications and her media friends on their websites. Other Indian media houses have hushed it up.

Vir Sanghvi, editorial director of Indian national daily Hindustan Times and India’s television news channel NDTV’s group editor Barkha Dutt are apparently featured in the transcripts. They are heard promising to fix things for Radia, who is known to be close to the sacked minister A Raja, and her clients besides her political cronies.

While Sanghvi allegedly took notes from Radia on what he could point out in his weekly Sunday column of Hindustan Times even as Radia asked him to write against Reliance Group's Anil Ambani and the high court decision on the gas pricing issue.

Barkha Dutt had allegedly assured Radia of getting ruling Congress party’s general secretary Ghulam Nabi Azad to talk to the supremo of his party’s chief ally in the government M Karunanidhi to fix portfolios for the ally according to wishes of Karunanidhi’s daughter Kanimozhi.

The excerpted tapes, which have now been made public, were recorded between May 11 and July 11, 2009. Radia’s phone lines were under surveillance by the Income Tax Department between 2008 and 2009 for a few months.

The tapes are now a major cause for media embarrassment as it exposes how frequent hobnobbing with politicians had given them a taste of power and seats of influence.

Radia, who managed public profiles of Delhi's VIPs with the media. The transcripts of conversations between Radia and journalists suggests that they expect return of favours, which come in different forms from free trips abroad to free stays at suites in plush 5-star hotels.

Politicians also help out visiting scribes along with their families by providing government guest houses at cheap rates. Free all-expenses paid holidays to writers and campaigners are also doled out as part of the deal.

With the tapes out, Indian media is now running for cover, in the name of professional exigencies.

Niira Radia promises to furnish all documents:

Niira Radia, lobbyist and alleged friend of former telecom minister A Raja was today interrogated by the Enforcement Directorate for seven hours.

Radia has now promised to submit all the papers that the ED had asked for. The ED is probingthe money laundering angle in the 2G scam.

Some of the questions the ED asked Radia were:

1 Did Niira Radia have direct or indirect interest in companies given spectrum contract.

2. What was the link between journalists and telcom firms.

3. Did she play a role in bringing foreign funding for any of the telcom operators.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

One last observation on current status of Indians in business and public office/life
no shame or regret what so ever
absolutely convinced that we are at equal equal with TSP
in all aspects on corruption integrity and all those abstract nouns

not proud to be Indian at times like these

does randii have a pio or oci card to do business in india and also stay for lengthy periods in India?

Quottorchy must be laughing to belly ache
jokers all over
added later

I go to rediff to read news here we go

A huge housing scam now! LICHF chief arrested

The Central Bureau of Investigation on Wednesday arrested the chief executive officer of LIC Housing Finance Ramachandran Nair and seven others, including three top officials of public sector banks, in connection with an alleged multi-crore housing finance racket.

Apart from Nair, those arrested are Naresh K Chopra, secretary (investment), LIC; R N Tayal, general manager of Bank of India (Delhi); Maninder Singh Johar, director (chartered accountant) of Central Bank of India; and Venkoba Gujjal, deputy general manager, Punjab National Bank (Delhi).

Rajesh Sharma, chairman and managing director of Mumbai-based firm Money Matters Ltd and two of its employees -- Suresh Gattani and Sanjay Sharma-- were also among those arrested, CBI said. Money Matters was allegedly acting as a middleman for loans.

The CBI has asked for a 15-day remand for those arrested in the case.

The officials allegedly colluded with the firm to sanction large scale corporate loans, overriding mandatory conditions for such approvals along with other irregularities.

Click NEXT to read on . . .

Image: (Inset) R R Nair, CEO, LIC Housing Finance.
Photographs: Uttam Ghosh/Rediff.com

Next
A huge housing scam now! LICHF chief arrested
Last updated on: November 24, 2010 18:07 IST
thisAsk
UsersWrite a
Comment Next
The Central Bureau of Investigation on Wednesday arrested the chief executive officer of LIC Housing Finance Ramachandran Nair and seven others, including three top officials of public sector banks, in connection with an alleged multi-crore housing finance racket.

Apart from Nair, those arrested are Naresh K Chopra, secretary (investment), LIC; R N Tayal, general manager of Bank of India (Delhi); Maninder Singh Johar, director (chartered accountant) of Central Bank of India; and Venkoba Gujjal, deputy general manager, Punjab National Bank (Delhi).

Rajesh Sharma, chairman and managing director of Mumbai-based firm Money Matters Ltd and two of its employees -- Suresh Gattani and Sanjay Sharma-- were also among those arrested, CBI said. Money Matters was allegedly acting as a middleman for loans.

The CBI has asked for a 15-day remand for those arrested in the case.

The officials allegedly colluded with the firm to sanction large scale corporate loans, overriding mandatory conditions for such approvals along with other irregularities.

Image: (Inset) R R Nair, CEO, LIC Housing Finance.
Photographs: Uttam Ghosh/Rediff.com

"The CBI has busted a racket wherein a private financial services company, its CMD and other associates were allegedly bribing senior officials of public sector banks and financial institutions for facilitating large scale corporate loans," CBI spokesman R K Gaur said in a statement.

"Officers of top management and middle management of various public sector banks and financial institutions viz. Bank of India, Central Bank of India, Punjab National Bank, LIC and LIC Housing Finance Ltd were receiving illegal gratifications from the private financial services company who were acting as mediators and facilitators for corporate loans and other facilities from financial institutions," he said.

"They were also gathering confidential business information from financial institutions," Gaur said.

Searches were conducted at various locations in Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Jaipur, Kolkata and Jalandhar, which have resulted in seizure of incriminating documents.

The CBI has registered five separate cases in this regard and investigation is in progress, the spokesman said.

The Bombay Stock Exchange benchmark Sensex on Wednesday slipped 232 points in a highly volatile trade, with banking and realty stocks taking a big hit on reports of the housing scam.

Marketmen attributed the sharp decline in the stock market to the CBI raids at LIC Housing Finance and Central Bank of India offices.

The Sensex finally settled the day at 19,459.85, down 231.99 points or 1.18 per cent.

"Volatility was mainly on concerns of the futures & options clearance on Thursday, besides the market has to digest many factors be it the Ireland issue or China rate hike or the geo-political crisis in Asia," SMC Capitals equity head Jagannadham Thunuguntla said.

He further added that the mood in the overall market was already nervous and the CBI's raid at some of the financial companies further dampened the sentiments.

Country's top lenders, ICICI Bank, SBI and HDFC Bank were the biggest laggard and emerged as the biggest letdown for the bellwether Sensex.

Edgy investors abandoned the financial stocks after news started pouring in that the CBI has questioned several banks, including LIC Housing Finance, Central Bank of India regarding fake housing loans.

I tried to get loan to buy a flat in Hyderabad I was kicked on my butt and was given run around...

Muppalla wrote: The power center is showing an urgency as soon as they got 208 seats to replace MMS with Rahul. This is where I beleive the turf war started exposing one to other and also moves to out do each other. MMS saved Raja and the goings on but may be logging every last detail (more than Subramanian Swamy) as a backup. The power system may be wanting to use this and throw himout but I don't think he will allow anyone to cross his personal redline. His log and Subra Swamy's are matching on a need-by-need basis. That has hastened an immediate statement from Rahul that MMS has to be saved at all costs. We have to wait for the next move. I really want to see the last year of MMS whether it 2013 or 2014 or 2020. Whatever that year may be it will be fun filled. :)
I wrote my insurance post and kept it safely in "conceptual-thread" for this eventuality :mrgreen:
Mauli

Post by Mauli »

Noose tightens over 2G scam; Nira Radia quizzed for second consecutive days

Also under the scanner is the name of two journalists where the ED had found huge financial transaction from Radia account abroad to these two journalists. One is said to be a lady reporter working with an English TV channel who was instrumental in exposing the CWG scam.
The money transacted from abroad is said to have been utilised by the reporter to purchase a flat in the posh South Extension locality of Delhi. The other journalist is a head of TV channels whose name already figures in the telephone tapping case.

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/s ... clnk&gl=in

Mauli

Post by Mauli »

The mediagate dossier

http://viewer.zoho.com/docs/hcbbeca

What all this essentially means is that journalists have turned powerbrokers and run errands such as passing messages. NDTV’s response suggests that they won’t get any leads if they don’t pass messages. This also means that the Indian broadcast media and a large section of Indian print media are united when it comes to protecting their interests.
Mauli

Post by Mauli »

I support auction where in spectrum is rented, not sold, for 1 year period and rent directly goes to us commons.
Tanaji wrote:Before making ridiculous statements, why not look up how much it costs to implement a 2G/3G network? And no, one cannot run "it off a PC" like you claimed one can for a landline switch. The cost of putting in such a network runs in hundreds of millions. You are asking an operator to make that CAPEX with a guarantee that he can have it only for a year... You second statement is even more hilarious. 25% of the highest bid is not enough to even put in a decent NOC leave alone the equipment.
In that case, in first round, no one will bid. So in next round, the rent duration will increase to 2 years, then 4 years and then 6 years and so on. Also, rent is to be paid every month, only 1 year rent is to be paid upfront as deposit. Entire duration's rent is not to be paid upfront in my proposal. After duration ends, the incumbent can keep the bandwidth as long as he is willing to pay the rent on the re-appraised cost of bandwidth. The re-appraised cost can be determined by the latest bids received. The "effective" cost of equipment will reduce once manufacturing will happen in India. And hardware cost is reducing day by day anyway.
But, but you know, I am going to support you. Not because you are right, or I agree with anything you say. It is because as someone said, you are a narcissist anarchist. You want to create disorder and chaos, and destroy the system. Perhaps that is the way to go given how corrupt everything is.... out of chaos will arise order. It wont have you in it, but by then you will have played your part and will be expendable. :P
I dont believe in creating chaos and hoping that order will come from chaos. I believing in fixing one thing at a time. From my software experience, I have formed dogma that better fix one bug in one module at a time than re-write entire system of 100 buggy modules all from scratch. I am 100% anti-narcissisism 100% anti-anarchism and believe in fixing one bug in one dept of Govt at a time only. If you notice, The Book aka http://rahulmehta.com/301.pdf has 100-120 drafts of proposed Govt Notifications, and each one fix only one bug in one dept at a time. I an anti-revolution i.e. "change everything in 21 days".

Chaos can lead to break up of nation, and enslavement or part or whole. I am scared of chaos. If I was pro-chaos, I would have joined Ganapathy and Company in AP forests long back. I am anti-chaos, anti-destruction.

====

Dear All,

The coming year may look fun-filled, but it will be tragic if you take weakening Military into account. The scams will NOT decrease growth rate as much of scam money will be coming back via MNCs, Missionaries. But this will create a prosperous India, with terribly weak Military. Similar to Iraq of 1989. And you know what happened to Iraq. So pls wake up and start insulting all pro-scam leaders like MMS, Sonia, Karat, Maya, LY, MY, Arun1, Arun2, ABV, NaMo etc and pls work for DRAFTS of Government Notifications that can reduce scams.

===

Like all scams, this scam will die with whimper. The tapes have no details about how money went. The corrupt SCjs will wash them off as teenager talk -- after all talking on phone is hardly a crime. Who will corrupt SCjs imprison? Will they imprison MMS , Sonia the biggest beneficiary of scam? Will the imprison MA, Ratan, Mittal etc who also seem to be players? Will they imprison Raja or Nira Radia? Big deal even if they do so. I think SCjs are only making rukus so that activists get a feeling that something will happen, and so that activists dont start working for system change. In the end, SCjs will collect some 15% of bribes, and let everyone walk away. Tracking this scam has only entertainment value.
Ashley Kravitz

Post by Ashley Kravitz »

IBN: Corporate lobbying undermining democracy?
Sagarika Ghosh
http://ibnlive.in.com/videos/135633/fac ... ghose.html
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

http://rahulmehta.com/301.pdf has 100-120 drafts of proposed Govt Notifications, and each one fix only one bug in one dept at a time.
At this rate you should be writing dossiers..

If you reduce your paronia about Rockfeller, EJ's , American Ellites taking over India, then some of your ideas will be useful..
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

RM is atleast trying his best to do something to the country rather tahn report to Admins :rotfl: :rotfl:

Ashley Kravitz wrote:IBN: Corporate lobbying undermining democracy?
Sagarika Ghosh
Sagarika "bitch" ghosh sparing no chance to discredit Burqa "bitch" dutt.After all there can be only one"Queen Bitch".Long live the queen.

darshhan wrote:
Ashley Kravitz wrote:IBN: Corporate lobbying undermining democracy?
Sagarika Ghosh
Sagarika "bitch" ghosh sparing no chance to discredit Burqa "bitch" dutt.After all there can be only one"Queen Bitch".Long live the queen.
Bhai Darshhan why do you feel the need to insult she dogs?

The rephrased line "Sagarika Ghosh sparing no chance to discredit Burkha Dutt. After all there can be only one "Queen Bee". Long live the Queen" carries more weight. It sounds like an opinion where as what you wrote comes across as a rant and will be ignored by most readers. Apne pair par kulhadi muth maro (Do not strike the axe at your feet). Your message is more important and not the insults.

^^Sorry sir.Got carried away.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

Is Miss Radia a Indian citizen (currently or was at any time) or is She British subject, if so when did she receive permission to do business in India? Is she PIO or OCI card holder? When was this granted to her this status. Because all these activities could be Criminal activities not civil if she did not have papers to do business in India.
Thanks in advance for answering

It is mentioned as British born Indian citizen married to a Kutch based businessman. However the following blog has good summary of her saga as opposed to tid bits here and there so posting it here in full:

Nira Radia
Nira Radia is a PR consultant/lobbyist at the center of wiretapping controversy. It is alleged she tried to influence the 2G auction in 2008 by communicating with India's communication minister A Raja prior to the auction.[1]

Radia's family had moved to Britain after they fled Lagos, Nigeria, in the aftermath of the Idi Amin-led upheaval in Uganda in the 1970s, and she, the youngest sibling of four sisters and a brother, grew up in Londons suburbia.

Nira Radia's father, who converted to Islam and was rechristened Iqbal Menon, was an agent for Westland Helicopters in East Africa, and soon started an aircraft charter business in the UK.

A British citizen, Ridia moved from England to Surajkund, India with her three sons after her marriage to a Kutchi businessman, Janak Radia failed. In 2003, Dhiraj Singh, a business partner, was arrested with an accomplice for allegedly kidnapping her 18-year-old son.

The sleazy power-broking world was jolted into taking notice of her when Nira Radia's company, Crown Express, made an audacious bid in 2000 to launch an airline. The bid was foiled swiftly by an airline czar who apparently sent a damning dossier to the then NDA government on her former businesses in the UK — of shell companies, major debts and bankruptcy.

It was Nira Radias association with Singapore Airlines that brought her in touch with the Tatas, and despite the ill- fated Tata- SIA alliance in India, Nira Radia, through her criminal guile, had begun to impress the Tata bosses, notably Ratan Tata and R. K. Krishna Kumar, who was then the head of Tata Tea, and became her rakhi brother.

Nira Radia's strategy to attack corporate competitors is two-fold - It is about planting stories in the media to gullible or voluntary journalists, forging alliances, creating investor groups, setting up NGOs, threatening media bosses, and taking on the competition. It could be mythical lore but Nira Radia is now credited with fixing Tata Finance in 2001 when she paraded its disgraced boss, Dilip Pendse, to the media; getting the NDA government to allow Tatas to sell 26 per cent stake of VSNL; killing the DLF IPO; setting up NGOs to stall DLFs mall projects; filing PILs to hurt rivals; unleashing a media war in the Ambani vs Ambani gas case; and getting media owners in West Bengal to sing praises of its chief minister and industries minister during the Singur imbroglio. The stories of manipulation and corruption are legion. [edit] Nira Radia, A. Raja, and the largest economic crime

In 2010, the Indian Parliament was thrown into uproar over Nira Radia's unscrupulous and shady deals in business and politics. Were Indian ministries up for sale?, most notably Telecommunications & IT, then under the corrupt and shamed A. Raja of the southern Indian political party, the DMK? How did a Haryanvi-Punjabi sleazy power peddler get close to Dravida patriarch K. Karunanidhi and his third wife and daughter? The Karunanidhi family saga is like a modern-day Ramayana — with three wives, their children and powerful cousins, it is the story of family intrigue, coronations, wicked plots of rivalry and competition. It was in 2004-end that Karunanidhis third wife, Rajathiammal, and his favourite daughter, Kanimozhi, were introduced to Nira Radia. A close family source reports, “Rajathiammals close confidante, Tulsi Gautam, wife of Dr Gautam, who is the foster son of DMK founder C.N. Annadurai, introduced the two.”

A. Raja, a long-time Rajathiammal confidant, together with Nira Radia, soon became a quartet, with Nira Radia an eager companion to the younger Kanimozhi. As the family disputes spilled out into the open, the lines were clearly drawn — Nira Radia and Co. were on their own, though they sided with the family in exiling the powerful Maran cousins. It was no surprise that Raja was the patriarchs choice in replacing Dayanidhi Maran as telecom minister when the latter was shown the door in 2007.

Kanimozhi became an MP too. It was not just loyalty to the family that pushed Nira Radia to campaign for A. Raja — her star client, Tata Teleservices, had also run foul with the Marans. It was in the late 1990s that the Tatas aligned with Aircel owner C. Shivsankaran, a confidant of the late Murasoli Maran who later fell out with him over a financial deal. It was no surprise that Dayanidhi Maran decided to target the Tatas and Aircel after becoming telecom minister.

By 2008, Nira Radia was running one of the most sought- after corporate communications agency Vaishnavi, and through subsidiaries such as Neucom, Noesis Strategic Consulting Services and Vitcom Consulting, she bagged top- drawer accounts, including the Tatas, Reliance Industries, Unitech Realty, Vedanta, DB Realty, which own Swan Realty, NDTV Imagine and Star TV. To add to the firms starry status, Nira Radia also had retired bureaucrats as consultants — former Telecom Regulatory Authority of India chairman and former special secretary to the Power Ministry, Pradip Baijal, former finance secretary C. M. Vasudev, former Airports Authority of India chairman S. K. Narula and former Foreign Investment Board head Ajay Dua.

“It says a lot about our esteemed colleagues,” sneers a senior bureaucrat, “but it ties up with all of Nira Radias achievements in telecom, power and aviation.” If the Tatas bagged the state-owned Videsh Sanchar Nigam Limited ( VSNL) when Baijal was in charge, both Tatas and Reliance were allowed to convert wireless to full mobility when Baijal, again, was TRAI chairman. Nira Radia's clients Unitech Wireless and Swan Telecom bagged the mega-crore 2G spectrum licences under A. Raja. [edit] The largest financial and economic crime in the history of independent India

The 2G spectrum imbroglio has brought Nira Radia out of the shadowy world in which unscrupulous lobbyists operate. Nira Radia is involved with the largest financial and economic crime in the history of independent India and faces severe criminal prosecution in India with reports filed by the Enforcement Directorate (ED), The Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) and the Department of Income Tax. This financial and economic crime scam is said to have caused a loss of Rs.1.76 lakh crore (Rs.1.76 trillion/approx $40 billion) to the Government of India.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

She is British Subject by birth looks like then she should have a PIO or OCI to do business in India even if she is employee, she needs to have PIO or OCI, unless she gave up British citizenship and became Indian citizen like Sonia..

Hmm....with so many women involved; can sex be far behind?

Hopefully her passport has been impounded and close tabs is kept on her movements. Even without passport, people have slipped out via Nepal and BD. If she skips to UK, we may not get her extradited for years if at all. Though we have an extradition treaty since 1992, Brits have not extradited even murderers like Tiger Hanif on one pretext or another. Ditto precautions on Darka Butt and other flight risks.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

SwamyG wrote:Hmm....with so many women involved; can sex be far behind?
I Have been warned about Sex by the admins they thought I had enough .... (latitude not as in longitude)

On a second thoight SwamyG I admire your phrasing "can sex be far behind?" :mrgreen:

Very creative english indeed... I doff my hat to your subtle variation like Bedi used to do.
Last edited by ShivaS on 25 Nov 2010 06:49, edited 1 time in total.

Victor wrote:Hopefully her passport has been impounded and close tabs is kept on her movements. Even without passport, people have slipped out via Nepal and BD. If she skips to UK, we may not get her extradited for years if at all. Though we have an extradition treaty since 1992, Brits have not extradited even murderers like Tiger Hanif on one pretext or another. Ditto precautions on Darka Butt and other flight risks.
Victor the thought that I have when I read about Radia is that India is always throwing up some new name like this, There was some swami in Indira Gandhi's time. Later we had Abdul Karim Telgi of stamp paper scam. Now Nira Radia. Even as I type this some new king or queen will be coming up whose crimes will be known in a decade.

The system allows this to occur. Nira Radia is only a 10 year 10,000 lakh crore phenomenon. A new person will emerge once Radia has been sidelined.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

Swami Dhirendra Brahmachari ....

DoT working on formula for non-rollout penalty
Even as the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (Trai) had recently written to the DoT secretary R Chandrasekhar recommending cancellation of 69 2G telecom licences granted in 2007-2008, the government is looking at the option of imposing a financial penalty on the violating licencees now.

It is learnt that some of the telcos, which show rollout compliance, have very few cell towers in many circles. But, DoT is taking a serious note of such instances, especially in ‘obligatory’ circles like Jammu & Kashmir, and North-East. Along with lucrative circles like Delhi and Mumbai, telcos must have significant rollout in places like J&K and North-East.

According to the DoT licensing guidelines, in telecom circles, at least 10% of the District Headquarters (DHQs) should be covered in the first year and 50% of the District Headquarters will be covered within three years of effective date of license. Also, the licensees shall be permitted to cover any other town in a district in lieu of the district headquarters.

Besides the penalty on operators for failing to meet rollout obligation, the DoT is also looking at an action plan for those with additional spectrum. A source said that one of the options being worked on by the DoT is auction of spectrum for anything beyond 6.2 Mhz.

2G spectrum was given out on ‘first-come-first-serve’ basis to several companies in 2007-08 rather than taking the auction route. The Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG) pegged the loss to the Exchequer at Rs1.76 lakh crore.
It seems there is an additional 28,000 crore loss to the exchequer from licences issued in 2004-2007 when Dayanidhi Maran was the concerned minister:

2G licences issued from 2004 to 2007
However, the CAG report has not talked about the possible loss to the exchequer due to issuance of these licences issued in 2004-07, though the period of audit covers this timeframe.

On the basis of the 3G auction price, the government could have earned an additional Rs 27,908 crore from the issuance of 2G licences, while it got only Rs 2,218 crore. According to available figures, DoT had issued the 51 licences to players like Aircel, Bharti Airtel, Vodafone Essar and Reliance Communications, among others, at Rs 1,651 crore for pan-India, which was fixed in 2001.

However, while it might be unconcievable to expect the licensees to pay the 3G price so many years ago for 2G, the revenue it could earn depending on what formula is used could have been substantial for the government. Even if the other formulas of CAG are used, the government could have earned additional revenues between Rs 8,000 crore and Rs 10,000 crore from the licences.
Whether the loss is 28,000 crore or 10,000 crore, it is still more than the Commonwealth Games Scam. Why hasn't the CAG investigated any possible scam behind these 51 licences issued between 2004-2007?

oiy babuO....shivas gaaru meeru chala naughty-vaadu. I never even thought about it, no doubt you get warned by the bradmins. Me no more talk on this now.

http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?268163

I am confused

Is he preparing a future defense here :)

Nira Radia

.... It could be mythical lore but Nira Radia is now credited with fixing Tata Finance in 2001 when she paraded its disgraced boss, Dilip Pendse, to the media; getting the NDA government to allow Tatas to sell 26 per cent stake of VSNL; killing the DLF IPO; setting up NGOs to stall DLFs mall projects; filing PILs to hurt rivals; unleashing a media war in the Ambani vs Ambani gas case; and getting media owners in West Bengal to sing praises of its chief minister and industries minister during the Singur imbroglio. The stories of manipulation and corruption are legion. .....
Anyone knows who was the Telecom Minister and Disinvestment Minister when Tata murkily sold 26% of VSNL? Any guesses on how much bribes they each got in cash or kind (kind can be favorable newspaper coverage from Radia)?
It says a lot about our esteemed colleagues,” sneers a senior bureaucrat, “but it ties up with all of Nira Radias achievements in telecom, power and aviation.” If the Tatas bagged the state-owned Videsh Sanchar Nigam Limited ( VSNL) when Baijal was in charge, both Tatas and Reliance were allowed to convert wireless to full mobility when Baijal, again, was TRAI chairman. Nira Radia's clients Unitech Wireless and Swan Telecom bagged the mega-crore 2G spectrum licences under A. Raja. [edit] The largest financial and economic crime in the history of independent India
Corrupt IAS Pradeep Baijal has many folklore of rampant bribery to his credit. He not only allowed Tata/Reliance to have full mobility for throw away prices, he also kept postponing portability so that Telco can rob their captive cell phone customers. Even if Telco gave him measly 5% of profits coming from captive customers, the amount would be in 100s of crores. Must be story planted by Radia and gang. I remember mediamen writing good news on him. No wonder why Shourie and Pradeep Baijal got so well with each other. Like-minded people attract each other. Shame on people who support Baijal and people who support people who support Baijal.

2G puts all scams to shame: Supreme Court
"If you go into the monetary aspect of this scam, it puts all the scams to shame," the bench said. The Supreme Court claimed it had received an anonymous letter accusing its judges of "being managed". Justice AK Ganguly, who received the letter at his residence, said he had thrown it in the dustbin. However, the Chief Justice of India's office received the same letter, following which it has become part of the judicial records.

The writer alleged that former telecom minister A Raja was trying to approach the bench through some people. The letter names Justice GS Singhvi and Justice Ganguly and requests the Chief Justice of India to ensure that the case be taken to its "logical conclusion."

"The letter has been put in the office report. The content of the letter has become part of the office report. That anonymous letter is part of the office record now. Such incidents are going to rise," Justice Ganguly said, handing over a copy to the lawyers arguing the case.
Don't monitor our investigation, CBI tells SC
Advocate Mr Prashant Bhushan, representing the NGO Centre for Public Interest Litigation (or CPIL, a petitioner seeking a court-monitored probe into the 2G scam alleging delay in investigation by CBI), said the apex court should appoint one or two retired police or CBI officers with ‘credibility' and ‘repute' to ensure that the CBI completes its probe expeditiously.

Appearing for the CBI, senior advocate Mr K.K. Venugopal said that considering the magnitude of the case, the CBI is ready to file a status report before the court in a sealed cover every eight weeks or a time-period fixed by the court. Mr Venugopal said the CPIL had itself said that it was surprised at the speed with which CBI had gone about with its task.

Disputing this contention, Mr Bhushan said though the CBI had enough material against several people for a long time, so far it has not even arrested a single person, including the former Telecom Minister Mr A. Raja who was indicted by the Comptroller and Auditor General in its report.
jimmyray

Post by jimmyray »

Cyber warrirors force TOIlet to publish this report : 2G scam sideshow: Netizens lambast high-profile journalists

I see Rahul Mehta is over active to make sure that the topic is diverted to his favorite "bash all equally regardless of their actions and intentions"

Rudradev wrote:We don't really have time to pound out web page after web page of unimplementable nonsense while pretending to be neutral political reformers with onlee the interest of the "commons" at heart. Mainly because we are indeed common, and we actually have to work for a living. We are not the scions of a highly elite Congress (I) political family of Gujarat, to sit on our Musharrafs 24X7 and dispense sanctimonious equal-equal garbage about how "everybody is equally corrupt."

jimmyray wrote:Cyber warrirors force TOIlet to publish this report : 2G scam sideshow: Netizens lambast high-profile journalists
Actually ToI had a pretty decent column on the culpability of the journalists.

The silence of the hacks
Whichever way you look at it, there is no justification for the media to black out this controversy. Of course, it must be careful about not casually besmirching the reputation of the individuals involved by ensuring that it uses the highest standards of fairness in its coverage. But to argue that the issue does not merit coverage is untenable. If it feels no reservations about covering sting operations, which are flagrant violations of the privacy of those involved, it can surely not hide behind the privacy fig leaf. If the silence is attributed to wanting to make absolutely sure that the tapes are authentic, then that principle should have been applied in other cases too. Also, no one has seriously challenged the authenticity of the tapes. And if, the silence is part of an unwritten code of protection that the media offers to itself, then it is time to dismantle that pact. Not only because it must treat itself in exactly the same way as it treats others but because it is the right thing to do.

sanku - well as Tanaji has put it - its all about how his solution is the only solution

anyway one of the reasons I was pissed off at Gen Deepak Kapoor and his involvement in Adarsh was the opening he gives to the media on doing an equal equal between the services and babus and politicians

2 days ago Time Now had a quarter page add showing Deepak Kapoor, Kalmadi and Raju and how they report on blah blah blah

Ran into someone from the group and asked them why a Babu or a Barkha dutt is not there

and why use Deepak kapoor - with the Army chief uniform that stood out compared to Kalmadi and Raju who just like any mango chors

He said he will look into

the next set of ads now have the ex chief gone but the damage is there.

As the locals tell my ex fauji friend - fauji pan assa chori karta kai

No punishment is enough for the ex Forces shameless who brought this down on the 99 percent decent folk.

Nira Radia is India's equivalent of the mythical monster of manipulation and evil,Medusa the Gorgon.Her face truly resembles that of that masterpiece of a painting by Caravaggio,which is in the world famous Uffizi museum in Florence.The painting depicting Medusa's rage at the moment of her head being severed off acutely resembled NIra on TV,ranting at the "mad media frenzy"!

Check out Caravaggio's image of Medusa/Nira.

http://www.google.co.in/images?hl=en&wr ... 16&bih=454

The unholy nexus between politicos,babudom,business houses and now even the media indicate that "insiders and innside information" are the key to making huge quick bucks in India today,which is in the grip of a mafia who devour the nation's cake of cash leaving only the crumbs for the masses.The latest expose involving media personalities tells us how some of these "peddlars of pelf" came by their "Padma" awards! What is extraordinary is the influence these high class "fix workers" have,fixing ministerial posts for sleazy politicos,cushy deals for corporate czars,ensuring that piles of cash are available to the chosen family of insiders.These promiscous backscatchers of briganti,are in fact he catalysts of corruption and need to be exposed and summarily dealt with in the most stringent and rigorous manner,including incarceration in state "guest houses".
Last edited by Philip on 25 Nov 2010 13:41, edited 3 times in total.
Inder Sharma

Post by Inder Sharma »

It is good that lower and middle level hacks are getting exposed. But a more important thing is that this scrutiny be brought at the door steps of the robber barons. It is they who have swindled India of her money.

It is also important that corporates who have acquired the spectrum through wrong means be blacklisted, and the spectum allocated to them be confiscated and put up on sale through competitive tendering.

I mean come on, if Indian politicos, for the sake of probity endanger national security by continuing to dither on the defense acquisitions, then surely some sham-telecom companies too can find the receiving end of the same stick.

The midle and lower level hack is incapable of setting the aditorial policy of the media. It is the upper levels of the organisations that have the reach and the ability to influence the decisions of the govt. It is those people who need to be exposed.

To a larege xtent the tapes are doing it. BUt the conspirecy of silence in the electronic media is what is preveinting a larger exposure of the concerned persons.

What still bogles mind is the scale of the scandle. The audicity and the brazeness of the players involved and the assurance that they will get away with it all. On top of it you have the GOI questioning the SC and the appointment of the judges.