The Cricket World Cup Thread

Re: The Cricket Thread

http://www.rediff.com/cricket/report/wo ... 110331.htm
Spin wizard Muttiah Muralitharan [ Images ] and all-rounder Angelo Mathews [ Images ] are doubtful for the World Cup final against India [ Images ], prompting the Sri Lankan team management to call in Chaminda Vaas [ Images ] and Suraj Randiv [ Images ] as standbys for the the April 2 clash in Mumbai [ Images ].

Where was vaas all this time, looks like SL wants to use his exp in the final

Vaas I thought had retired from all forms of the games, had lost pace appreciably.

possible fallout from pakmatch:
- Umar gul take a break from ODIs to heal his buttock wounds
- end of road in ODI for younis khan
- end of road for abdur razzak (he was already out of test squad)
- afridi might decide to bid goodbye to ODI and hand over to Akmal Sr...he is getting a tad older
- chukhtar has already announced his retirement.

with 20/20 hindsight Gul set himself up for his own fall, going public about his desire to knock out the indian top#3 and the media hyping him up as the next ambrose almost. Taity did the same thing pre-Perth and had to "retire" to sort his messed up mind for a while - woodcutter physique notwithstanding, once mind is lost, everything is lost.

Vaas recall is surprising. Looks like SL are getting nervous already. He wasnt even in the list. I think ICC should reject his application for replacement
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

Vaas is still wily as a fox and SRT always has a problem with left handers who can bring the ball in sharply.
SPattath

Post by SPattath »

Pakis think the Hawk eye was tampered with during the Sachin review :rotfl:

Interview with Poonam Pandey

http://www.rediff.com/getahead/slide-sh ... 110331.htm
If India wins the final on Saturday will you really bare it all?

On Saturday if Team India wins the World Cup I will go nude.

Where will you do this?

I will go nude in the (Indian) dressing room.
Thats KLPD for all you guys :P
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Vass is being roped in as SL sense a pronounced Indian weakness for left arm fast bowling esp after we gave away 5 wkts to that unknown paki yday

TI in general and Gawd in particular has the tendency to gift wikits to unknown bowlers while make mince meat of good ones
Vaas is known quantity his fastest during his last few ODIs was around 120 Kmph and no
movement, fat load of good it will do to SL, i say bring him on, SL has already lost the Cup
AoA
BhairavP

Post by BhairavP »

Sold my finals tickets. Going to Mahabaleshwar with friends to watch at a resort there.
SHQ pressure :(

Faking News: Manmohan Singh has invited Gilani to watch recording and highlights of the Mohali match as well. :rotfl:

Any tickets being sold to bijit the drezzing room after the match?
BhairavP

Post by BhairavP »

Don't ask..family scared of Packee terror threat. Bah
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Simon Taufel and Aleem Dar have been named as the on-field Umpires for the World Cup final between India and Sri Lanka on Saturday.

If I am not mistaken, Dar is a Paki. If so, I prefer Simon Taufel and Billy Bowden as the on field umpires and someone a Bangladeshi or a white Paki or a poddle or a Kiwi to be 3rd upmire.

parts of munaf wasim interview here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ICvAQPATP6E

On the Mohali match, setting aside emotions, from a purely cricketing PoV, I agree with Kapil Dev that it was not the best of matches, at best a mediocre encounter. The terrorists dropped so many catches, while India's batting line up did not live up to its potential after the start.

Guys, here are two observations from a seasoned kirket watcher:

1) I have seen many-a-times that when side batting first gets off to a blinding start, like India did with Sehwag taking gul to the cleaners, its way too good to last, and the fielding side usually comes back roaring. And the Pakis did yesterday. Moral of the story: I prefer a solid, good start say 5.5-6 runs/over first 8-10 overs rather than the Sewahg type unsastainable 8-10 runs per over only to loose 1 or 2 quick wickets and putting pressure on the remaining batsman.

2) Last 5 overs is another huge element. I have observed many-a-times that no matter what the eventual total a side batting first scores, if they belt the bowlers during the last 7 odd overs all round the park, somehow, the batting side which then takes the filed has the psychological advantage even defending a modest total. And I have seen time & again, the fiedling side that was demoralized during the last few overs just wilt under pressure chasing even a modest target.

I was watching out for this yesterday. When Raina was batting and the batting power play was taken during last few overs, Raina did score freely, and you could watch the desparation in TSP. Statistically, it may not be huge, but Raina getting 30 odd runs during the power lay was worth its weight in Gold as far as India getting that respectable total and not letting the psycholigcal advanage go in totaly in favor of TSP. I was telling my buddies exactly this when they were lamenting India's modest total of 260.

Dilbu wrote:GoI has the power to nuke the place if it wants. So why the pooch at all about a few seats?
Recently an Israeli dude kind of looked at me and desh a little puzzled. Paraphrasing the discussions
Israeli: blah blah
Me: Yada Yada
Israeli: Yada Yada
Me: blah blah
Israeli: I think India is scared of Pakistan newking you.
Me: ho ,hum, hmmm, heee.... <thinking what to say, I hardly knew this guy, but I suspected he was the Hawkish variety>
Israeli: India is a big country, large areas.....yada yada
Me: <quickly catching on>. I agree if they take 2 cities, we can take the entire country.
Israeli: <nods and agrees>

krishnan wrote:Interview with Poonam Pandey

http://www.rediff.com/getahead/slide-sh ... 110331.htm
If India wins the final on Saturday will you really bare it all?

On Saturday if Team India wins the World Cup I will go nude.

Where will you do this?

I will go nude in the (Indian) dressing room.
Thats KLPD for all you guys :P
I have my doubts. She'll probably make up an excuse or walk around in a two piece.

Is bitching allowed in the dressing room?

swamy ji, he want you think about preemption.

i enjoyed this video: is it only a semifinal. prolly made by a paki.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t2HA4wacZ7Q
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

This poo-numb bijness is destined to be a major KLPD onlee.
milindc

Post by milindc »

saip wrote:
ajit_tr wrote:has anyone noticed sonia gandhi clapping and raising the victory fist in air after last wicket of misbah fell?
And she looked genuinely happy too.
She also did the Afridi style celebration

CRamS wrote:If I am not mistaken, Dar is a Paki. If so, I prefer Simon Taufel and Billy Bowden as the on field umpires and someone a Bangladeshi or a white Paki or a poddle or a Kiwi to be 3rd upmire.
bowden has been acting more paki than the real paki, remember the lbw decision against england ? dar is a damn good umpire and is unlikely to torpedo his own record in a WC final. I have no qualms about him officiating.

martenullah, bowden WAS a good umpire, his glamour has gone to his head and performance has gone downhill for past 2 years. take the lbw against bell in the 338 chase, he upheld that decision for no reason other than ego. dar and taufel are 2 guys you would expect to have the highest probability of giving correct decisions.

p.s. wasn't sudhir naik the one accused of shoplifting a pair of socks on a tour to england ?

asgkhan wrote:This poo-numb bijness is destined to be a major KLPD onlee.
Indian dressing room turned into a strip club. Very good onlee. What does Thackeray saahab say to this? :D

BhairavP wrote:Sold my finals tickets. Going to Mahabaleshwar with friends to watch at a resort there.
SHQ pressure :(
you just sold your soul maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan! :P :((

Dilbu wrote:Every fan an actor on the biggest stage
"Is it a big game", I asked a couple of Pakistani fans. One of them, holding aloft the Pakistan flag, simply said "we just want to enjoy." Minutes later an Indian gentleman walked up to the same fan, and politely shook hands and exchanged courtesies. "All the best brother," the Indian man said very formally. When the time came for the team's national anthems, every Indian stood up and sang proudly. According to Sharda Ugra, ESPNcricinfo's senior editor, who has seen every India match this World Cup, this was the first time the whole stadium was singing the national anthem so loudly. The captains, who need to behave as ambassadors for their countries, can be diplomatic but the fan is always stirred by the rivalry, which is registered in his sub-conscious. And he uses events like today to make sure he is heard. In a bizarre way it does instil belief in the players.
more quotes
Today when India seemed to have floundered after getting off to a bright start and seemed to be losing the plot once Dhoni played a wrong shot, the fans sitting around me started singing religious chants intensely. Men, women, boys, girls all gathered force to give momentum to the prayer. In that moment, these people seemed less like cricket fans and more like belonging to some cult. It was not blind, this fervour. The fans do believe that they can uplift the tempo of the match and they would do anything possible to help their team. :mrgreen: A good example was when superstitions took over instinctively when the Pakistan wickets failed to fall at the desired rate. Many clairvoyant fans kept predicting the outcome on the next delivery and kept failing but did not give up. "Sit down, sit down, wickets are falling," said a fan speaking with a South Indian accent. The rest of the fans obliged. Everyone urged others to join the wave of emotion and support. It was contagious.
A group of Indian teenage girls squeaked "Jitega bhai jitega Pakistan jitega (Pakistan will win)." As soon as they started chanting in support of Pakistan, the Indians around them rolled their eyes. But the girls had not yet delivered the punch line. "India ne joke mara. Ha ha ha (India played a joke)," the girls chuckled their way and drew a good clap.
Looks like brfites in the crowd or more likely brfites are a microcosm of the real world. :D

amit wrote:India will lose onlee at Mumbai. :(( :(( :(( :((

So enjoy these nice bunch of picture in The Telegraph, UK while you can.

:(( :(( :(( :((
In picture 14, did Akmal pick up the ball in FRONT of the wicket?

Dilbu wrote:Munna deserves an apology from me. Maaf karo mere bhai.
Jao kar diya :mrgreen:

SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

got it off twitter...
How does Akmal teach english ? A for Akmal, B for Ball, C for catches, D for Drop, E for exit

Yeah, Munna bhai and Nehra deserve my apologies too. I've dissed them a lot here. but they redeemed themselves magnificently yesterday. I just hope they do not go back to their usual selves in the final :(. Munna in particular, seemed to have suddenly found his inner McGrath yesterday. And Nehra, diving around in the field?? :eek: Now I've seen everything. What a match! I'm still getting over the euphoria.
Sadly, one of them will have to sit the final out. 3 seamers at Wankhede would be a recipe for disaster. We need Ashwin there.

As for Vaas, I doubt the Sri Lankans will play him. He is past his sell by date. Wahab Riaz was bowling in the mid 140s and moving the ball. Vaas doesn't bowl at anywhere near that pace. At Wankhede he'll get no help from the pitch either.

And of course the mandatory..

India will lose onlee :(( God will NOT score his 100th ton at Wankhede onlee :((

munna wrote:
Jao kar diya :mrgreen:

Marten wrote:Mahul R, jo lawhore me... woh Mumbai me bhi...
may be he is not g**** in lahore then. :D I know it's hard to believe but he might be the one unpaki paki in the world. at any rate I have not ever seen any pakiness from him, I have seen billygoat being paki a number of times.

uswin HAS to play, we need a cool headed guy to face dilshan now that jadeja is not in the team. :P

saip wrote:

apparently that is the new thing now. wicketkeepers collect the ball in front of the wickets -- for runouts especially.

pic 6 goras have no idea what is written :rotfl: :rotfl:

those greenchix seem to be doing some ambush marketing... i guess its allowed in kirkit grounds

asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

Plutonium Pandey can redeem herself by dropping her inhibitions(and her clothes) make a hi def MMS clip and post it on gentlemanly sites like deboniar / fsi blog.

hahaha!!! hilarious...
Munaf Patel has the aggression and ferocity of a humanities librarian who has already opted for voluntary retirement.
On the tram back to the hotel, Raghu Dixit is playing on the iPod. But in the heart there is room for only song, an old classic that I will now present as sung by a very Malayali colleague of my father's, many years ago when they had things called the Rothman's Cup and Friday matches in Sharjah:

"Jeetendra, bhai, Jeetendra, Hindustan Jeetendra."
hahahahahah :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

In picture 14, did Akmal pick up the ball in FRONT of the wicket?[/quote]

You are not allowed to collect the ball in the front of the stumps during stumpings

http://dai.ly/emXcec

Watch at 5:21 it seems he collected it fine.....

krishnan wrote:

You are not allowed to collect the ball in the front of the stumps during stumpings[/quote]