Understanding the United States of America (USA) - IV

Re: Understanding the United States of America (USA) - IV

U.S. Officials Defend Integrity of Vote, Despite Hacking Fears

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/25/us/po ... trump.html
The Obama administration said on Friday that despite Russian attempts to undermine the presidential election, it has concluded that the results “accurately reflect the will of the American people.”

The statement came as liberal opponents of Donald J. Trump, some citing fears of vote hacking, are seeking recounts in three states — Wisconsin, Michigan and Pennsylvania — where his margin of victory was extremely thin.
I didnt knew Russia was so powerful that it could infulence US Election , After All Barak Obama Told us a year back that Russia doesn't make anything

ssundar wrote:I smell fish. What is Jill Stein's role in this? Why should the system accept a petition from her unless the recount is going to affect HER chances of becoming El Presidente?
Wont be surprised if Soros , HRC will get in the bogus vote and then recount makes them win , After All the Queen was Born To Rule

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3-uNxmNj5o

Bill Maher & his sniveling roundtable of a "liberal redneck" , a flat friedman , a crazy femi-nit ,and an "its the economy" stupid - ponder on the trump win.
Maher blatantly lifts alt-right arguments lambasting PC culture and presents them as "his" reasoning for the Trump win - only to be shot down/sidetracked by other cultural guardians at the table led by the femi-nit .

I didnt knew Russia was so powerful that it could infulence US Election , After All Barak Obama Told us a year back that Russia doesn't make anything
It is America which has become weak now

OT, but related. Soros gang armtwists EU Parliament to ban Russian media

Looks like RT.com is really doing an effective job! Note that EU types don't mind CNN propaganda!
ssundar

Post by ssundar »

Oh! Wow! interesting times ahead. No wonder BO said he wasn't moving from DupliCity yet. Wonder if camo uniform and chemical portapotty sales are shooting up.

This use of the Greens Party to "camouflage" foreign funding behind the HiClinton :(( , shows just how low the donkeys have sunk. Oh, yeah, we are all too stupid to see any connection.

ssundar wrote: Yes, and popular vote does not determine the President-elect per our current constitution is also an equally factual statement.
That is correct and I can not argue with that.

But my contention is, with Hillary getting 2.2+ million more votes and counting, the nation as a whole voted for Hillary.

Would you agree with my assessment?
These same battleground states went to Obama in 2012. These so-called "Reagan Democrats" voted Obama. Now, they either flipped to Trump or, more likely, abstained. That is more a sign of independent voting than any tag such as "Reagan Democrats".

HillC lost the independents in these states. They either voted against her or just refrained from voting in the Presidential column. This is more Hillary's loss than a Trump win. So, "popular vote win" is a sweet nothing whispered in the ears of HillC supporters.
I more or less did say the same thing, that some Reagan Democrats types voted for Trump and some Democrats abstained. Independent voters are a separate category, they are the swing voters. They probably split narrowly in Trump's favor ( given the narrowness of victory).

Yes, Obama did win these states in 2012 ( he won much more), in fact post Reagan in last 32-36 years Wisconsin, Michigan, and Pennsylvania had always voted democratic, the reason for being dubbed as blue wall states, and were taken for granted by the Democrats ( strategic campaigning mistake).
No disagreements on Trump. The same applies to HillC as well. As someone who voted for neither because of sheer disgust, I can tell that the lungi dance performed by HillC supporters of all ethnicities and colors is no less obscene than the racism and sexism exhibited by Trump.
Slight nitpick, Hillary approval rating though less than 50%, was at still 10% higher than Trump, and I think that is reflected in her winning the popular vote by a handsome margin.
In the end, the guy with the better formula strategy won the election. We can be unhappy about it and move on. All this talk about recounts and appealing to the electors only serve to highlight how sleazy HillC has been and continues to be.
Yes in retrospect we can say that but that has more to do about hindsight being 20/20. The outcome of the election was an upset of the "Dewey beats Truman" proportion, perhaps the biggest upset of all time.

If recount is legal, I don't see any problem with that. Perhaps it will not change anything but an audit is good for the credibility of the system.

I d0n't get what are you guys being so argumentative about?
Its not like super comprehension thing.
Per US constitution Article 2, electoral college decides the President election. So popular vote is nice but not germane. Why waste pages as if it matters?
Being Indian Americans and in the 0.5% , I expect folks to be more understanding. All have children who read up on US history and AP Government.
This thread is becoming more about Understanding Indian Americans then the title.

I'm not sure why the founders had two voting systems to determine the presidency.

I think they included a popular vote for the presidency in order to give some extra moral authority to the presidency and also to provide a sense of direction to the newly elected president.

however we are a federated republic nationally and not a democracy in the classic liberal context.

we elect representatives to make decisions for us. there is no way that the states will 75% ratify an amendment to a popular vote presidency. they do not want to be controlled by New York and California for the rest of history.

^^^^under the above context I think what the voters told Trump (if he survives the election recount) is this......

we're sending you to washington to shake things up. the washington establishment thinks half of us are deplorable if not down right expendable. your job is to change that washington attitude.

but mind your manners buddy, or your a$$ is out in four years.

that is what the election telling me. as usual I could be wrong.

Akhil Reed Amar, Yale Law School is the acknowledged expert on the US Constitution. He says the electoral college was created to ensure states don't get divided along partisan lines. The Congressional delegation votes enmasse as the popular vote in the state. This ensures the state house is not divided.
Remember the famous speech by Lincoln about falling Houses due to divisions.

My view is along the way electoral college shows that small states have a voice in deciding the Presidential elections. In history there was the block voting by the Southern states to repeal the Reconstruction deployment of US Army in the South.

TrumPenZee expresses opinion on RecountScam

Short and to the point as always,

UlanBatori wrote: Doesn't it get tiring to read the same stuff parroted over and over and over and over and over again?
Most likely it does, please do reflect on your own posts too.
Many people who stayed home, e.g. in Georgia or Texas or Montana where Clinton had absolutely no hope, and in California and Nevada where the illegals had been given voting rights by the Clinton gang and hence Clinton had a huge majority, would have gone out to vote then, to slam-dunk the Whine Queen. Say 2.3 million or 5.8 million more. Instead of focusing resources in Florida, where Clinton LOST :(( , Trump may have campaigned in Georgia or Montana where anyway he would get more adoring KKK/Aryan Nations crowds.
This is a bogus argument for several reasons.

If Trump can get more vote in Georgia, Texas, Montana, what stops Hillary from getting more vote in California, New York, Illinois etc? Or for that matters in Georgia, Texas, and Montana itself?
(BTW Texas and Georgia were wrong examples to pick as elections are tighter in these two states and it is only a matter of time.)

The combined population of deep blue states ( i.e. non-swinging) is substantially larger ( 20+ million) than the combined population of deep red states. By the reasoning suggested above, democrats should win by 20+ million margin every single time.
Ordinary people like us have to live by the Rules. So we get a bit irritated by those who keep carping about how THEY should not be treated per the rules. Clinton is an eminent example of that Entitlement Mentality, as has been amply demonstrated by their abysmal behavior, post-election. I understand that their musharrafs must be hurting so bad, poor things. :(( Sorry. Apologies in advance. :oops:
Funny thing is it is easy to talk about living by the rules, but hard to actually observe it.
One can start by not violating the basic forum rules/etiquettes such as use of profanity, personal attacks and insult, asking others what to post lest they get irritated or tired!

The entitlement argument cuts both ways, I can cite countless examples.
ssundar

Post by ssundar »

Dipanker wrote:The combined population of deep blue states ( i.e. non-swinging) is substantially larger ( 20+ million) than the combined population of deep red states. By the reasoning suggested above, democrats should win by 20+ million margin every single time.
That is the most convincing case I have heard for NOT changing to a popular vote system. It takes away the need for a Presidential candidate to take into consideration all issues that affect the entire country. The day America changes to a popular vote system, the clock starts ticking of her Balkanization.

The entire EC debate is pointless. Do away with the EC system (not that the democrats can) and you'll have a Ted Cruz/Steve King vs. a Bernie Sanders / Jill Stein like candidates in 2024 and all those that lie somewhere in the middle will get screwed. It will come down to getting out your base in massive numbers and that's it. The ability of moderates and swing voters to influence public policy and who gets elected will be greatly diminished.

If you think that you got two lousy candidates this election cycle, wait till you see what is likely to happen if the election was decided purely on popular vote. Don't be so naive to think that the two major parties won't change their primary process to reflect the new GE reality if that were the case.

What do they mean by "Clinton's campaign will take part". What about Trump's team? Are they going to trust HiC and Stein supporters to do the counting all by themselves? :rotfl: (Sorry, I was imagining Dipanker, HKumar, Hitesh, Lalmohan and Gus being the only ones posting on this thread.)

Meanwhile in South Korea: Why they want Ms. Presidente out.
Park is accused of letting her confidante Choi Soon-sil, who does not hold an official government post, { Humbedin?} view confidential documents and presidential speeches. :eek: Choi is accused of using her relationship with Park to accumulate millions of dollars in donations to her foundations. Choi is charged with abuse of power, fraud and coercion, and two of Park's former aides also face criminal charges.
Park will not be charged because the South Korean Constitution affords the President immunity while holding office.
Although she has apologized several times, Park has resisted the public pressure to resign, infuriating her critics -- who have questioned her judgment and credibility.

TSJones wrote:^^^^under the above context I think what the voters told Trump (if he survives the election recount) is this......

we're sending you to washington to shake things up. the washington establishment thinks half of us are deplorable if not down right expendable. your job is to change that washington attitude.

but mind your manners buddy, or your a$$ is out in four years.
^+1000

http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/jill- ... _click=rss

Does Green party of US really think like this? I though no US mainstream party supports communists.

Singha wrote:
the broilers seen in india are about the 1978 level of massa (we are always behind in high-tech)...about 2kg MTOW.

this is one TOT we need not seek *shudder* - that "creature" will not get off the ground while normal chickens can flap their wings and fly up trees.

broilers at that weight are generally much older birds, usually birds that have stopped laying eggs and the poultry farm owner is simply trying to maximize his profits and these heavier birds have very tough meat.

If you are buying a bird for the home table, it needs to be under a kg in weight. Godrej/venky broiler birds should be 750 to 900 odd gms, give or take. If you need more meat, buy more birds but not the heavier ones.

TS jones
spoken from personal experience? just wondering if there are any meat eaters here......
We hunted wild boar in lower ranges of Himalayas (with my uncles) and I try every year when I visit India but all wild boars have migrated to Pakistan side (Muslims don't eat pigs) and are surviving there.

We use to have our own goats, chickens, horses, cows, buffalos, etc. I still remember my grandmother yelling at all kids to go to the coop and get eggs (freshly laid) if we want eggs with breakfast. There use to be one particular old rooster (kept due to good genes)., who hated us kids and would chase it. One day he physically hurt my cousin., my young uncle (Chacha) was so made that we all had butter chicken of that very rooster as dinner. I have seen goats slaughtered almost every month and sometimes 3-4 during marriages/functions. I have myself slaughtered goats (Jhatka) with one hit of a sword and cleaned up to get the meat. This is the time before people were used to markets and factory meat.

Poultry/Meat at that time was not only tastier due to your own home grown feed of natural grain/grass/etc but also much more nutritious. I do not see the same anymore!

Everytime I go back to India I ask for old grain seeds (desi wheat, cotton, rice, etc) and exotic meat/poultry (home grain fed chickens/pheasants/quails).

SBajwa wrote:
We hunted wild boar in lower ranges of Himalayas (with my uncles) and I try every year when I visit India but all wild boars have migrated to Pakistan side (Muslims don't eat pigs) and are surviving there.
Just type "suar ka shikar in pakistan" on youtube and you will see :

Like Talibunnies, Haqqanis and Sharifs there are both good suar and bad suar in Porkistan. The above videos show the bad suar hunting the good suar.

What a utter waste of time and people to care for and feed these hunting dogs for the pleasure of the feudal lord and his retinue.

No wonder our princely rulers go along so well with the Brits and for most part cared poorly for the common people.

Its an age whise time is over...except in tsp carstans and parts of arabia.

AoA! I come here to Praise Presidente HiClinton and what do I c? Pakistanis accused of cannibalism!
Why are there no Exit Polls and Projections on Recounts?

Trump takes the gloves off, but look at the sheer objectivity of the headline on Clinton Noise Nutwerks
It's pretty obvious to anyone but HiCFans that in California and Nevada, less so in Florida, there was MASSIVE voting by dead and illegally present people. They called it "EARLY Voting" but actually it was more like
WEEK OF THE LIVING DEAD
ManSingh

Post by ManSingh »

The first hunting video seems to be farmers clearing their fields of wild boar. On the Indian side too farmers make such demands but it is banned by law. However in the recent times, licenses have been granted to hunt wild animals by declaring them vermin. For ex: Recently, in shimla region, monkeys can now be hunted if they cause crop losses.

At the risk of starting a BRF war, it may seem inhuman but ask the farmers on how herds of neelgai, wild boars can be menacing and ruin entire villages in one night. Just a different perspective.
Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

brar_w wrote:.....
If you think that you got two lousy candidates this election cycle, wait till you see what is likely to happen if the election was decided purely on popular vote. Don't be so naive to think that the two major parties won't change their primary process to reflect the new GE reality if that were the case.
SirJi, in all humility may I kindly remind you that you were majorly wrong in the current election, nothing's likely to change in short or long term regarding US election laws. I did ask a professional about what's going to happen, I checked with my astrologer in Varanasi, he sez Trump will win the next election as well.
Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

Why people get excited about recount? Whether votes or currency, when one counts again the most likely outcome is same result as before.

in the US, wild boar are not native animals. yet in Texas, there are estimated 2,000,000 of them running wild.

and they carry diseases. brucellosis and psuedo rabies. it's a real problem for ranchers and farmers that can infect their livestock.

on a positive note, the black buck antelope and the axis spotted deer are expanding their range north in Texas,

however, the nilgai remain stubbornly committed to the Texas southern coastal area. :(
Last edited by TSJones on 28 Nov 2016 07:29, edited 1 time in total.

duplicate post deleted
Last edited by UlanBatori on 28 Nov 2016 07:26, edited 1 time in total.
Rammpal

Post by Rammpal »

ManSingh wrote:The first hunting video seems to be farmers clearing their fields of wild boar. On the Indian side too farmers make such demands but it is banned by law. However in the recent times, licenses have been granted to hunt wild animals by declaring them vermin. For ex: Recently, in shimla region, monkeys can now be hunted if they cause crop losses.

At the risk of starting a BRF war, it may seem inhuman but ask the farmers on how herds of neelgai, wild boars can be menacing and ruin entire villages in one night. Just a different perspective.
Damn, even if it's not about crop damage, shouldn't they hunt them for the great meat ?!! :D

Rishi Verma wrote:Why people get excited about recount? Whether votes or currency, when one counts again the most likely outcome is same result as before.
Rishiji, u clearly have not wasted your life watching "Sanford & Son" or "Matt Dillon". Many things can change. For instance, check TIME Person of the Year Poll. All candidates have less than 15% Yes, meaning 85% or more NO.
Vladimir Putin has 91% YES.
Q.E.D. :eek:

Even we, ably led by "Vote Early, Vote Often, Vote From Many Browsers" Abishekcc, were only able to defeat the Chinese who were nearly as crooked as us but not quite, on the CNN Poll narrowly.

Rishi Verma wrote:Why people get excited about recount? Whether votes or currency, when one counts again the most likely outcome is same result as before.
You are absolutely right, recount is not going to change anything. However if there are doubts in people's mind about the integrity of the process, and given the closeness and complete unexpected nature of the outcome, you can be sure that there are going to be doubting Thomases, in such case recount helps answer all questions and settle the issue. It also enhances the credibility of the process.

Recall that even before the election Trump had already declared that if he lost then he won't accept the verdict. He had his own doubts about the process!

Hillary Clinton goes to a gifted-student primary school in New York to talk about the world. After her talk she offers to '|answer questions from the kids.

One little boy puts up his hand. Hillary asks him what his name is.

"Kenny," he says.

"And what is your question, Kenny?" she asks.

"I have three questions," he says. "First -- what happened in Benghazi? "Second -- why would you run for president if you are not capable of handling two e-mail accounts? "Third -- what happened to that six billion dollars that went missing while you were Secretary of State?”

Just then the bell rings for recess.

Hillary tells the students that they will continue after recess. When they resume Hillary says,

"Okay, where were we? Oh, that's right, question time. Who has a question?”

A different boy -- little Johnny -- puts his hand up.
Hillary points to him and asks him what his name is.

"Johnny," he says.

"What is your question, Johnny?" she asks.

"I have five questions," he says. "First -- what happened in Benghazi? "Second -- why would you run for president if you are not capable of handling two e-mail accounts? "Third -- whatever happened to that six billion dollars that went missing while you were Secretary of State? "Fourth -- why did the recess bell go off 21 minutes early? "And, fifth -- where's Kenny?”

jelani cobb ‏@jelani9 Nov 26
I'm perplexed by American contempt for Castro given that we've supported and funded Trujillo, Mobutu, Batista, Pinochet, Duvalier...

iraqi F-solah savaging isis sheds in tal afar https://twitter.com/IraqiSecurity/statu ... 3590025216

iraqi heli misses a SVBIED but the confused driver detonates right away to get his 72 asap https://twitter.com/IraqiSecurity/statu ... 4249673733

Haidar Sumeri ‏@IraqiSecurity 12h12 hours ago

#Iraq's Federal Police have reportedly recaptured & secured the main road between #Mosul and Tal 'Afar.