The Cricket World Cup Thread
Re: The Cricket Thread
Discussion on Final involving Imran Khan, Border and King.
http://cricketnext.in.com/videos/56101/ ... final.html
Last edited by Sushupti on 01 Apr 2011 00:46, edited 1 time in total.
Did OZ had some time off between their 1999 semi against SA and final against Pak? They had a similar semi and came back on the Final to royally thrash Pak.Rahul M wrote:I personally am worried whether TI has anything left in the emotion tank to fight it out in the final. Mission Mohali was not easy and there is very little time for the team to recover and refocus.
If things are good then the whole world is with you, when chips are down even your shadow deserts you.

Lo krsna <--- soopar nan maga

(meaning somewhat to awesome guy)
2 day gap. I don't think we are at that level yet though.Gus wrote:Did OZ had some time off between their 1999 semi against SA and final against Pak? They had a similar semi and came back on the Final to royally thrash Pak.Rahul M wrote:I personally am worried whether TI has anything left in the emotion tank to fight it out in the final. Mission Mohali was not easy and there is very little time for the team to recover and refocus.
Cabinet clears Rs. 45 cr tax exemption to ICC World Cup
http://profit.ndtv.com/news/show/cabine ... cup-147426
According to finance ministry officials, the total receipts of the ICC from the ongoing World Cup is Rs 1,476 crore, while the cost for organising the event is Rs. 571 crore.
Does Afridi have a Russian wife?.
I think the most disappointed team of all would be SA.
Our progress is being grossly overanalyzed. First Motera wasn't a good enough 'Indian' pitch and we were going to lose to Aussies. Then Mohali wasn't Indian enough because of dew/grass/closeness to Wagah etc and Gul and co were supposed to play gulli danda with us. Now it's some other thing. Yawn. The way I see if, if TI win on Saturday, they did it the hard way and are fully deserving champions - no luck-wuck or designer 'Indian' Indian pitches.
- BR Mainsite Crew
so basically the aam aadmi is subsidising the event, apart from paying all the security costs, inconvenience of traffic reroutings, jams.Stan_Savljevic wrote:Cabinet clears Rs. 45 cr tax exemption to ICC World Cup
http://profit.ndtv.com/news/show/cabine ... cup-147426According to finance ministry officials, the total receipts of the ICC from the ongoing World Cup is Rs 1,476 crore, while the cost for organising the event is Rs. 571 crore.
did anybody speak of conflict of interest.The decision was taken at a meeting of the Cabinet, which was also attended by Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar, who is currently the President of ICC.
Jai Ho indeed
Last edited by Virupaksha on 01 Apr 2011 01:30, edited 1 time in total.
gah suraj, now you are jinxing us. 
p.s. what do you make of the tax exemption business ?

I have lost sympathy for SA. Once or twice it is ok, but now choking has been turned into a habit.SaiK wrote:I think the most disappointed team of all would be SA.
When the bid for the WC was won, it is a quid pro quo with the intl choo** council that tax-free status is bestowed. For example,
There are more tidbits here for those who are keen. The AP folks were YSR & co. if I remember right.
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/site/Story ... d-cup.html
Now there will be a desperation to throw stones at BCCI for being in bed with the colonial oiseaules. Everyone is to blame here, right from Ministry of Finance for giving an indication that tax-free status will be given, PMO for giving official sanction to this event, from the babus to seek free tikkits which forces them to not maintain a neutral standpoint, etc.
Ravi_ku, were you under the impression that aam aadmi is not paying for any event in India? Everything in India is run by tax-payer's money, that is right. There are very few sports event in India that are NOT underwritten by the taxpayer. Either it is the SAI underwriting it from MSYA funds, or the State underwriting it in the form of tax breaks and then seeking a break from the HRD for Development index based mazaa. If it comes to Olympic games' events, there is one more layer of freakishness with the IOC and the Kalmadis getting in with other funds. The Delhi infra development for CWG (in part) were funded from the SC/ST welfare funds, take that. The issue died down after Shiela madam put a clamp on leaks from the Dilli government.
The babus did nt wanna be see as partial to only crikkit, so they awarded tax-free to every sport in 2006. Ditto for this year. The only terrible thing is the 2011 CT in hickey will also be held in India and the FIH chooo* will run away with hard-earned Indian cash to help "others." Not like the WC in 2010 did nt allow them to run away with our cash.India granted tax exemption on income to residents and non-residents gained from international sporting events held in India in 2006, in time for that year’s ICC Champions Trophy cricket tournament.
There are more tidbits here for those who are keen. The AP folks were YSR & co. if I remember right.
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/site/Story ... d-cup.html
Now there will be a desperation to throw stones at BCCI for being in bed with the colonial oiseaules. Everyone is to blame here, right from Ministry of Finance for giving an indication that tax-free status will be given, PMO for giving official sanction to this event, from the babus to seek free tikkits which forces them to not maintain a neutral standpoint, etc.
Ravi_ku, were you under the impression that aam aadmi is not paying for any event in India? Everything in India is run by tax-payer's money, that is right. There are very few sports event in India that are NOT underwritten by the taxpayer. Either it is the SAI underwriting it from MSYA funds, or the State underwriting it in the form of tax breaks and then seeking a break from the HRD for Development index based mazaa. If it comes to Olympic games' events, there is one more layer of freakishness with the IOC and the Kalmadis getting in with other funds. The Delhi infra development for CWG (in part) were funded from the SC/ST welfare funds, take that. The issue died down after Shiela madam put a clamp on leaks from the Dilli government.
Last edited by Stan_Savljevic on 01 Apr 2011 01:36, edited 1 time in total.
I'm fully in support of this antijinxing business, but complaints about Motera and Mohali being unfriendly to India are just overanalyzing. Anti-jinxing should be done in a clear, data- & stats-free, uninformed manner onlee
The tax exemption is Rs.45 crore. That's about the rounding error in the rounding error of the GDP. We're not 'subsidizing' the event - it's a massive moneyspinner and positive stimulus to economic activity, with commercial externalities *far* more than the Rs.900cr that the ICC is making. It's fair to say the tax authorities made much more than Rs.45cr from the event.

- BR Mainsite Crew
Stan,
The article says it is G Venkataswamy alias Kaka and son.
He is an long time MP from andhra.
The article says it is G Venkataswamy alias Kaka and son.
He is an long time MP from andhra.
Chasing against SL in WC brings back horrible memories onlee.Dilbu wrote:Me too think it is better to chase against SL. They will struggle to set a good target if we can get a couple of early wickets. But India will lose onlee![]()
![]()

- BR Mainsite Crew
It was a whine only sirStan_Savljevic wrote: Ravi_ku, were you under the impression that aam aadmi is not paying for any event in India? Everything in India is run by tax-payer's money, that is right. There are very few sports event in India that are NOT underwritten by the taxpayer. Either it is the SAI underwriting it from MSYA funds, or the State underwriting it in the form of tax breaks and then seeking a break from the HRD for Development index based mazaa. If it comes to Olympic games' events, there is one more layer of freakishness with the IOC and the Kalmadis getting in with other funds. The Delhi infra development for CWG (in part) were funded from the SC/ST welfare funds, take that. The issue died down after Shiela madam put a clamp on leaks from the Dilli government.

Subsidising a non-profit making/ cost sink sports is something we can live with.
But when a sport makes hundred of crores of profits, I cant see why we should subsidize it.
The less I speak about CWG and such messes, the better.
Sushupti wrote:
Does Afridi have a Russian wife?.
No but there are many KGB agints in Pakistan
Might be from NWFP.
Typical Paki tendency to find ONE fall guy.
For Mushy's trip to Delhi, Advani was responsible and to be blamed for failure.
For Pak in WC, Misbah was responsible and to be blamed for failure.
For Pakis to be seen as terrorists everywhere, Joooooos/Hindoooos/Christians are responsible and to be blamed
Poor poor pakis.
For Mushy's trip to Delhi, Advani was responsible and to be blamed for failure.

For Pak in WC, Misbah was responsible and to be blamed for failure.

For Pakis to be seen as terrorists everywhere, Joooooos/Hindoooos/Christians are responsible and to be blamed

Poor poor pakis.

We had a great time here in Southall (UK) yesterday. Check out the below video. This particular area in Southall is full of paki shops and this spot was probably chosen intentionally
[youtube]uluz_dzjb24&feature=related[/youtube]
Somebody has left the comment

[youtube]uluz_dzjb24&feature=related[/youtube]
Somebody has left the comment
punjabis do it big man

didn't we beat SL quite handsomely after 95?
The catch that kohli took to dismiss legless miss-bah, was outstanding in the sense, the ball was hit so high, with full of his max tight ass energy output. it would be very difficult to judge such catches especially at the long off boundary, near the rope. Not sure, if munna would have done that.

Pardon my ignorance but when exactly did Baki team became respectable once again? I had written them off and it was India-Australia match that was new equivalent of Ind-pak match for me. This WC seems to be an anomaly about Baki performance in that sense.negi wrote:Bah Humbug , I see the final as an easier match now that we have won against the Bakis the mental pressure would be relieved and players should be able to play their natural game. I predict that final won't be as close as our match with TSP and we will sail through comfortably.
Are we respecting the baki team too much by rejoicing so much

Boss Log....how is Malinga's record versus India?
I was watching some youtube videos and his yorker is virtually unplayable....especially when it swings low aimed at the leg stump...
He has got Gawd and Dhoni with that ball in an ODI
Has any batsman Indian or otherwise taken this bowler to the cleaners
Honestly I am a little bit scared of that monster
Now, crawling back to my cave to shiver in my dhoti...
India will lose onlee

Added Later: Although Gawd should have figured him out by now especially since they both play for Mumbai Indians
I was watching some youtube videos and his yorker is virtually unplayable....especially when it swings low aimed at the leg stump...
He has got Gawd and Dhoni with that ball in an ODI
Has any batsman Indian or otherwise taken this bowler to the cleaners

Honestly I am a little bit scared of that monster

Now, crawling back to my cave to shiver in my dhoti...

India will lose onlee

Added Later: Although Gawd should have figured him out by now especially since they both play for Mumbai Indians
Yes we did lose in '96 but anyone remember the hiding in '99 at Taunton?
http://static.espncricinfo.com/db/ARCHI ... Y1999.html
So don't fear! We will lose onlee !!

http://static.espncricinfo.com/db/ARCHI ... Y1999.html
So don't fear! We will lose onlee !!

We will lose onlee!!!!

I am very unhappy with people questioning the MOM award for Sachi
You all seem to have missed the critical turning point of the entire
match. It's a well-established truism that if Tendulkar gets a
century, India cannot win. After Tendulkar got to 20, the battle was
well and truly on. Five times Tendulkar tried to give away his wicket
to ensure that India would win, and five times Pakistan refused to
take it, thereby keeping themselves in the match. When Tendulkar got
to the 80s, the tension was nearly unbearable. Finally, the Pakistani
skipper had a temporary lapse of concentration and held on to a catch.
Tendulkar had out-thought the opposition and succeeded in getting out
for under a hundred, making him a deserving MOM.
You all seem to have missed the critical turning point of the entire
match. It's a well-established truism that if Tendulkar gets a
century, India cannot win. After Tendulkar got to 20, the battle was
well and truly on. Five times Tendulkar tried to give away his wicket
to ensure that India would win, and five times Pakistan refused to
take it, thereby keeping themselves in the match. When Tendulkar got
to the 80s, the tension was nearly unbearable. Finally, the Pakistani
skipper had a temporary lapse of concentration and held on to a catch.
Tendulkar had out-thought the opposition and succeeded in getting out
for under a hundred, making him a deserving MOM.
I just am quietly confident. We are peaking at the right time. we are used to pressure situations.. the team spirit is there for every to see.Gary Kirsten seems to have improved the fielding. we are fielding well consistently. The players look happy. Our time to lift the world cup a second time has come! Bharat Mata ki Jai !
So, doesn't it show that "the force" behind the victory needs to be rewarded with MoM?
I am also thinking about Anti-MoM award.. for the opposite side which make them feel they are responsible for the other side winning.
But stilll we will lose onreee.Maram wrote:I just am quietly confident. We are peaking at the right time. we are used to pressure situations.. the team spirit is there for every to see.Gary Kirsten seems to have improved the fielding. we are fielding well consistently. The players look happy. Our time to lift the world cup a second time has come! Bharat Mata ki Jai !
Guys all this sling thing that Malinga dishes out is i think very ineffective against left-handers. Also SRT plays for the same team as Malinga right ? so he would know how to play him ?
My 2 cents:
I could not bear the tension of the match and went to work when India were 200 for 5. It was the same feeling that I had in 1999. I could not fathom watching the terrorist nation going to finals, that had sneaked in Kargil killing and torturing our soldiers then. This time being a mumbaikar (living in the US now), there is no way I could have digested the terrorists playing in the final. I watched the score couple of times at work and when Pakis were 141/4 at 34 over break, I left work and went to a shopping center to stay away from the net and returned back after an hour and 15 min. I was praying to shri. Vasudev for an Indian win on the way back and when I logged in I followed the last 2 overs on the net to see the long nosed joker batting like a test match.
I thank MSD and all Indian players for not allowing the terrorist bas...ds to make a trip into mumbai ever again. Please imagine the scene-Pakis winning the cup in Mumbai and all candlewallahs appaluding and other Pakis insulting Indians on the net. It would have looked like a victory of adharma over dharma. It would have been ultimate insult to those who died on 26/11.
We owe a sincere thanks to MSD and his boys and to the old blood and guts (SRT).
I could not bear the tension of the match and went to work when India were 200 for 5. It was the same feeling that I had in 1999. I could not fathom watching the terrorist nation going to finals, that had sneaked in Kargil killing and torturing our soldiers then. This time being a mumbaikar (living in the US now), there is no way I could have digested the terrorists playing in the final. I watched the score couple of times at work and when Pakis were 141/4 at 34 over break, I left work and went to a shopping center to stay away from the net and returned back after an hour and 15 min. I was praying to shri. Vasudev for an Indian win on the way back and when I logged in I followed the last 2 overs on the net to see the long nosed joker batting like a test match.
I thank MSD and all Indian players for not allowing the terrorist bas...ds to make a trip into mumbai ever again. Please imagine the scene-Pakis winning the cup in Mumbai and all candlewallahs appaluding and other Pakis insulting Indians on the net. It would have looked like a victory of adharma over dharma. It would have been ultimate insult to those who died on 26/11.
We owe a sincere thanks to MSD and his boys and to the old blood and guts (SRT).
sound rhyming Sling Ma-Ling-a.
Indians play Malinga, Murali and Mendis better than anyone else. My only concern is to get Dilshan and Tharanga below 75 runs, if so we will have victory certainly.suryag wrote:Guys all this sling thing that Malinga dishes out is i think very ineffective against left-handers. Also SRT plays for the same team as Malinga right ? so he would know how to play him ?
I am not a Mumbaikar but my feelings were exactly the same. It somehow did not seem 'right' for the national team of Pakistan to come and play in Mumbai after 26/11.Anantha wrote: I thank MSD and all Indian players for not allowing the [Pakistan team] to make a trip into mumbai ever again. Please imagine the scene-Pakis winning the cup in Mumbai and all candlewallahs appaluding and other Pakis insulting Indians on the net. It would have looked like a victory of adharma over dharma. It would have been ultimate insult to those who died on 26/11.
Malinga is not a 'surprise'. It is the sheer nature of the lower height and close to stump point of delivery and his ability to be accurate in where he wants to bowl that makes him very effective in setting a batsman up and bowl that yorker.suryag wrote:Guys all this sling thing that Malinga dishes out is i think very ineffective against left-handers. Also SRT plays for the same team as Malinga right ? so he would know how to play him ?
Because of that, he is also not going to be a very effective bouncer (in my opinion...I have not seen him bounce at all) and won't pose that 'bowling into rib cage' problem that many of our guys have/had problems with (ganguly, sehwag, etc)
http://offthebench.nbcsports.com/2011/0 ... r-victory/
But India doesn’t need extra prodding to get worked up over the final with Sri Lanka: it would be like FDR offering everyone ten bucks to go outside and celebrate VE Day. The frenzied passion in India is already at Slumdog Millionaire pitch … where else would you find a fan willing to trade a kidney for a ticket to the World Cup? What we’ve got here is a nation of 1.2 billion people with only one major sport. Imagine if the folks in the condo next door are having a World Cup party, and a billion people show up. In addition to quickly running out of guacamole, there’s going to be noise.
Europe: “Hey Asia, will you keep it down? There’s a tennis match on and we’re trying to sleep.”
As for the level of excitement for the World Cup outside of India and Pakistan, yeah, we’ll probably need to see the breasts. But that doesn’t make us bad people.
India, with five times the population, has just the one sport. And that is the one sporting conduit through which Indians can look the world in the eye. And while in the past, cricketing excellence was seen as a thumb in the eye of the colonial masters, the chip on India’s shoulder is being whittled off with increasing self-confidence, both in cricket and in the world at large.
I'm tired of this "Misbah cost us the game" theory. By 21st over, the RR had crept above 6.0/over. They kept losing wickets at regular intervals and Misbah played the sheet-anchor role. What about Asad and Hafeez? They threw away their wickets when the pitch had eased and they were well set in. The match for Pakistan was lost in the first 15 overs, not the last.
Statbox: India vs Sri Lanka in World Cup final
Facts and figures relating to the World Cup final between India and Sri Lanka slated to be held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday.
Head-to-head record: India lead 67-50 (NR: 11)
In the World Cups: Sri Lanka lead 4-2
In the sub-continent: India lead 59-46 (NR: 9)
Results in last five head-to-head ODIs: 22 Jun 2010 (Dambulla): Sri Lanka won by seven wickets 24 Jun 2010 (Dambulla): India won by 81 runs 16 Aug 2010 (Dambulla): India won by six wickets 22 Aug 2010 (Dambulla): Sri Lanka won by eight wickets 28 Aug 2010 (Dambulla): Sri Lanka won by 74 runs * At the Wankhede, they are tied at 1-1. India won the first encounter by 10 runs in 1987. In 1997 Sri Lanka beat India by five wickets.
* Both teams finished second in their respective groups. Sri Lanka (WWWW,NR,WLW) lost to Pakistan and had a washed out tie against Australia. India (WWWLWWTW) lost to South Africa and tied against England.
* Besides the hiccup against Pakistan, Sri Lanka beat Canada by 210 runs, Kenya by nine wickets, Zimbabwe by 139 runs and New Zealand by 112 runs. They thumped England by 10 wickets in the last eight before defeating New Zealand again in the semifinals by five wickets.
* India have had a more bumpy ride as they enjoyed two comfortable wins -- beating Bangladesh by 87 runs and West Indies by 80 runs -- were stretched before beating second tier teams Ireland and Netherlands by five wickets, tied with England and suffered a three-wicket loss to South Africa. However, a five-wicket win over four-time champions Australia and a 29-run win against Pakistan in the knockout rounds will have boosted them.
* As the Indians have been tested, they are likely to withstand pressure better than Sri Lanka, whose middle order, till the semifinals, had faced a total of 29 balls in six games.
* The top order of both the teams dominate the run scoring charts. Sri Lanka have their top three batsmen in the Top 5 run scorers of this World Cup, with Tillakaratne Dilshan (467 runs) leading the tally. Kumar Sangakkara (417 runs) and Upul Tharanga (393 runs) at numbers four and five respectively.
* For India, Sachin Tendulkar is once close to being the leading run scorer as he is three runs behind Dilshan (464 runs). India have two more batsmen in the Top 10, with Virender Sehwag (380 runs) and Yuvraj Singh (341 runs) at numbers six and eight respectively.
* India have two more batsmen, Gautam Gambhir (296 runs) and Virat Kohli (247 runs) at numbers 15 and 20 respectively, they have no other batsmen in the Top 30.
* India will need to take wickets as the Sri Lankan top order have stunning averages -- Sangakkara topping the league with 104.25, and Dilshan (66.71) and Tharanga (65.50) not doing badly either.
* Sri Lanka will have to curb the rate of run flow at the top of the batting order with Sehwag scoring at a strike rate of 123.37.
* On the bowling front, Zaheer Khan (19 wickets) and Yuvraj Singh (13 wickets) have led the way for India. Muttiah Muralitharan (15 wickets) and Lasith Malinga (11 wickets) have provided Sri Lanka the breakthroughs when they needed it. Dilshan (seven wickets at an average of 14.14) has bowled very well in the last few matches
* Where Sri Lanka seem to have a distinctive edge is in the economy of their bowling figures. Ajantha Mendis at 3.14 RPO, Dilshan at 3.80, Muralitharan at 4.00, Rangana Herath at 4.27. Harbhajan Singh with an economy of 4.41, heads the list for India but is at a lowly 36th ranked place.
* More teams batting first (11-6) have emerged victorious at the Wankhede.